Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Thon Hotel Orion 4 stars

Bradbenken 3, Bergenhus, 5003 Bergen, Norway

#4 of 49 hotels in Bergen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1358 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was fantastic which I could enjoy for three days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dark for me and sink was not drained out quickly.

    Breakfast was fantastic which I could enjoy for three days. Dinner was also good. It was walking distance to famous spots.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in a good location with lots of value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing whatsoever.

    The Thon Orion exceeded my expectations. I never heard any review about what was for breakfast and as i like a cooked one i thought its a continental. Wrong - fried eggs, hard boiled eggs, lovely crispy bacon, mushroom, tomato and sausages. All very nicely prepared plus loads of fresh fruit, home made yoghurt, all different breads and rolls, croissants and even smoked salmon ! Tea and coffee in all bedrooms and help yourself to the same in the comfy lounge whenever you like. An evening meals included in the cost which is very welcome as eating out is pretty pricey. Classed as a light supper it is more than this in my view with a hot choice and cold hams and salads with breads, potatoes and fresh fruit. The bedroom was very clean indeed with an excellent shower (rain or hose) Hairdryer, trouser press large flat screen tv with british channels and internet connected. Location is really good for the centre of Bergen, handy for everything, liked the great museum at rear of hotel featuring the Norwegian Resistance during World war 2. The airport bus drops you just 2 mins walk from hotel. I can strongly recommend this hotel and will definitely return.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.6
    Good location, room not big but it has all what we can need,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, room not big but it has all what we can need, even umbrellas. Very clean room and hotel. Breakfasat was very good. We also enjoyed the light meal in the evening. All staff are very friendly and helpful. I recommend this hotel !

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    An excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    An excellent hotel. The location is central, perfect for the airport bus, the room was clean and comfortable (underfloor heating in the bathroom!). The staff were very friendly and helpful. A wonderful buffet for breakfast, and the added bonus of a complimentary evening buffet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    The hotel is in a perfect spot for much of what Bergen city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a perfect spot for much of what Bergen city offers; Bryggen waterfront, funicular to Mt Floyen, Rosenkrantz Tower, airport transfers and fjord cruises are all a little over 5 min walking and honestly time does not matter as there is so much to look at, even when weather is tipping it down. The hotel was superb, room possibly small for 2 but being alone it was fine. The hotel is spotlessly clean, great facilities, buffet breakfast and evening meal were great with plenty of choice, perhaps the addition of a second hot option would enhance it more but the stew/chilli on offer was lovely and filling. Helpful and efficient staff throughout, a great hotel for a weekend visit or longer, will not hesitate to stay there again for my next visit.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    The evening meal which was included in the room charge was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal which was included in the room charge was always delicious and plentiful. After a long day of sightseeing we were grateful not to have to look fir places to eat.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Favourite hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved our stay here and didn’t want to leave! Complementary breakfast and evening meal was lovely and very generous! A great idea considering the food is very expensive in the city. And the staff! Wow!! So friendly, helpful and just always smiling! Great hotel :)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.2
    A very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a very nice hotel with excellent service. Staff there are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very good and free light evening meal (actually plenty of foods and fruit) is a very nice standing-out bonus in comparison with other hotels in Bergen. It’s location is good, easy walk to popular places and airport bus stops. I strongly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    Great stay, great location, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Modern hotel with great proximity to the city center. Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of choices. Room was small, but it was just right for a one night stay. Staff was welcoming and reception was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    Good value hotel with incredible breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, we were delayed and arrived too late for the included dinner. It would have been nice if they'd offered some kind of snack since we missed that. The dining room is huge, but the lobby sitting area is not big enough - it was always packed with guests waiting to meet up coming/going.

    Breakfast spread was incredible! The room was comfy and rain shower had great pressure.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.1
    The staff is nice and efficient, the location is close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is disappointing Poor dinner-better hotel not to offer this , the general atmosphere in the dining room is not pleasant The design of the hotel is quite cheap. The room smelled unpleasant. Overall the hotel is no more than just fine but not for those looking for luxury.

    The staff is nice and efficient, the location is close to the city center, the shower room is excellent, the room is well equipped the waiters in the dining room are very kind

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Great Place to Stay in Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    By North American standards some people may find the rooms a little small.

    The location is great..just far enough away from the town to be very quiet and peaceful but close enough to be easy to walk to even in the rain! The staff are very helpful and we even met the manager who was serving coffee in the restaurant. It is a very comfortable hotel with a lounge where we could read and chat with our friends. There was always tea and coffee available in the reception and lounge. We were also served both breakfast and dinner buffets which were really delicious. It is a lovely hotel and we would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Location was great, rooms were small but nice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were huge groups often taking over the whole lobby which was tricky coming and going on occasion.

    Location was great, rooms were small but nice, tea/coffee in room and lobby were great. Loved the breakfast. The dinner was soso, but with prices in Norway it did the job. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    3.3
    Not happy at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twice during our stay my husband and I suffered upset stomach eating in a Thon Hotel with their evening light meal. They have repeated the sausage and potato soup three times within a period of 6 nights we were there and often times running out of fresh food around 8pm when it was advertised open up to 9pm. Our room was also not cleaned properly and luckily we brought our own toiletries as they never replaced any that were finished for the time we were there. Not very happy with the stay we had here. We were so happy at Thon Hotel in Oslo but this one in Bergen was definitely not up to standards.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    excellent value in a costly country
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was aimed at the traveller staying one night as the was little storage was clothes. The bathroom was very compact.

    Hotel was in a great location for all the top spots in Bergen. The room was clean, the bed was very comfy. I loved the underfloor heating which dried endless wet clothing. The room even had a bose sound link and a big tv with some english content. Norway is a very expensive country to visit so to get an evening meal was a brilliant idea. The meal was not lavish but you wouldn’t stave and even without this meal the hotel was good value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Superb Location for a KYGO concert fan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Darker lighting during the evening meal in the hall. Was little uncomfy to look for the food.

    Superb location for Kygo Concert last August. Very accessible for me and my friend. Friendly staff and extend good service. Good breakfast. I was glad at they have free evening meal too. During late at night they have free coffe or tea in their lounge area. Plus to chill out there!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    I would recommend this hotel and I would stay here again if we make it back to Bergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Orion. The hotel was in a great location. We were able to walk around Bergen and see the sights. We had just stayed at the Thon Terminus in Oslo and we loved it so much so we were looking forward to staying at this one. The breakfast was quite good. It was a busy hotel. The breakfast area was quite busy. The staff were very nice and helpful. Our room was a bit small but ok. I really enjoyed the fitness room. It was clean and the equipment was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small dark room, getting heat on wasn’t easy, light dinner wasn’t very good. Hotel had some problems with the reservation the changes didn’t come through to the hotel system.

    Excellent location, big breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Great Location for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Next door to the outdoor concert area can be noisy until late at night and very busy with people passing the hotel to get to entrance and leaving the concert area. When windows are closed in room it blocks out some of the noise. The hot food served I feel could have been hotter the temperature was warm the food was good but just not hot enough

    Very friendly staff from all in hotel room ready a few hours before time lovely idea to have all day coffee machines to use free of charge around hotel buffet breakfasts had a wide range to offer hot and cold also the complimentary snack buffet in evenings offering one hot dish example each evening soup, another meatballs a pasta as well as salads and cakes and fresh fruit . Location is excellent and airport bus stop is only 5 minutes walk from hotel Quiet location if NO Concerts

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Two thumbs up for Thon Orion
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Excellent breakfast AND evening meal buffet. Cozy rooms with tea, coffee, bathrobes and heated bathroom floor. Great location near the center but tucked away from the main road giving it a more peaceful, quiet feeling.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything met or exceeded expectations. It the room had been a little bigger it would have been perfect!

    Great stay! Staff couldn’t have been more helpful, kind or courteous.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    we inform them we are all vegetarian and they confirm no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    we inform them we are all vegetarian and they confirm no problem but when we reach there nothing vegetarian was there and we have to argue for that . not happy at all ....

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is situated right next door to a loud music venue that disturbs people until the late hours. It is also next to an outdoor concert venue that has outdoor music festivals. We would not have booked this hotel had we been aware of the amount of potential noise that made it impossible to relax and sleep normally.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast and light supper were very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was difficult to drain water from bathtub. The room door had some issues.

    Breakfast and light supper were very good. Especially light supper was very convenient even though it served only soup, bread and some salad. Tasete was very good. Reception was kind and answered our requests nicely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is great. Staff was very helpful. They have a great breakfast. Also include an evening meal, which is OK, nothing special there but definitely saves you money as eating out in Bergen is expensive. The hotel is beautiful. Rooms were very nice. Small by US standards but typical of European hotels. Free use of umbrellas, definitely used those! Very secure. You need to use room card to activate the elevator. Elevators operated pretty quickly and were larger than many European hotels.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Loved the breakfast spread! Great location right around the corner to all the sights and the old town. Very peaceful at night. Very helpful staff. Evening light meal and coffee at the reception was a nice touch

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    The hotel is spotless, food wonderful, very friendly staff and is in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My only complaint would be that the room had very little wardrobe space and several items of clothing had to remain in my suitcase. That said, many customers are going to or coming from cruise ships and therefore only spending one or two nights maximum whereas I had a 5 night stay.

    The variety of food at breakfast was unbelievable - it catered for any and every taste. The light evening meal was more than anticipated with one choice of hot food (e.g. soup, chicken stew, ) and a wide selection of bread, cheese, meat, salad, fresh fruit, etc., etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.0
    Well worth the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, good reception. Very comfortable room with all aminities, even bathrobes to relax at the end of the day. Bright and colouful room. Very inviting. Nice breakfast also, with A good variety. We chose a light dinner option and it did come in handy on one evening.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee lounge on 11th floor is not always stocked up with supplies. Also it would be helpful if the coffee machine had instructions. Took us about 4 attempts to get a full cup of coffee.

    Location was excellent. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Bedrooms were very small but well equipped and with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.7
    Great location and convenience to catch our Viking cruise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small crowded rooms. No help with luggage. I don't think the price quoted and the price charged ended up the same.

    The meals included in the price were better than expected. The location was perfect. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    You won’t make a mistake staying at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 11th floor lounge did not have the coffee and tea available as advertised.

    The hotel is located a short walk from the boat dock and all the Old Town attractions. The room is comfortable complete with TV, coffee/tea, safe, and fully supplied bathroom. Free coffee and tea are available in the lobby. Breakfast choices are abundant. The hotel also offers a dinner buffet that is more than adequate and a good alternative to the high restaurant prices in town and the likelihood of walking in the rain.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    A good deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a big hotel and therefore attended by a high number of guests and lots of groups and families with kids. If you are looking for a quiet and romantic place for a couple holiday this may not be the right choice for you, on the other hand, if you have family or you are in a group this hotel can offer a very good deal.

    Good facilities and good service. We had a standard room, which was comfortable and clean. Breakfast is good and rich as well as the light dinner included in the price of the room, which is more than enough for a proper evening meal. The hotel has a well-equipped gym and a comfortable lounge with a beautiful view on the top floor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Everything perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern, good facilities, heated bathroom floors, lounge with coffee and fruit, next to historical town and fort, fabulous evening buffet and breakfast buffet!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location, good rooms, two meals a day included
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, close to everything of interest to tourists. Very good breakfasts, and in addition free evening meals as well. A reasonably good value for the money, at least by Norwegian pricy standards.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, exceeded our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful, location good for centre of Bergen. Having evening meal included worked really well - lots of choice and good for families. Liked the fact coffee, tea and water available at all times in both lounges.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice stay in beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A busy hotel due to group tours staying there. It therefore didn’t have the personal quality that the other Thon hotels had that I stayed at. Quality of food also wasn’t quite as good as the other Thon hotels but it was more than adequate.

    Great location. Decent breakfast and dinner. Small but well equipped workout room. Room nice and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel and good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is away from train station. You have to walk at least 1 Km to reach the hotel. It will be difficult to locate the hotel if you dont have google map.

    The rooms were comfortable and spacious. The breakfast and evening snacks were good. The location is near all major attractions

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    we loved our stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing :)

    the room with the view is amazing I could sit for hours just to admire the view the room is spacious and it has everything you will need.. it is provided with Nespresso coffee make, kettle and tea, small ironing facilities.. and they offer light night meal for free.. the breakfast also was really good I highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is very well located but the rooms are very very small! Regard dining hours!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms for couples are exceedingly small ! To a degree that makes the room hard to move in, let alone managing the luggage if you stay longer than one night. When you make an order, beware of the "standard" rooms. They open breakfast at 07:30 and end supper at 21:00 at night. We took cruse trips that ended at 21:00 each day. These cruises are very popular and the hotel is well acquainted with them, yet they did not give us the option to eat supper in 2 of the 4 nights we stayed. Also we had to leave early on the last day and could not eat breakfast. Very annoying!

    The Thon Hotel Orion is wonderfully located in the lively center of Bergen. The price per day includes both breakfast and supper. The hotel is innovated and is very modern including state-of-the-art TV and a safe&fridge comfortable unit. The service personal is very efficient and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.8
    We enjoyed Bergen, and the hotel was generally quite good, but there were a few annoying points.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was very small for the quality of hotel and it was almost impossible to get a proper "normal" teabag at breakfast.

    Good location and breakfast … the evening meal was a bonus too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel in good position,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself was very quiet, Bergeners love their light nights and will celebrate, there was a bit of musik from nearby, take earplugs.

    Nice quiet room - to the back. Room small, tastefull, clean and well equipped. Comfortable beds. Plentiful, good choice breakfast and buffet dinner. Lovely receptionists. Restaurant staff hard working and efficient with a smile. Very close to centre but tucked around a corner, so a bit quieter.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The smile of the receptionists, the perfect location, the nice and clean room, and excelent meals (breakfast and dinner that we got for free). All this for a very reasonable price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Very good location - close enough (easy, safe walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location - close enough (easy, safe walking distance) to the evening activities in Bergen, but far enough away to have a quiet stay, even with the windows open at night. Delicious evening meal and delicious breakfast included in our room rate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location for a weekend in Bergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I honestly can say that there wasn't anything I didn't like about this hotel. It was absolutely perfect for our stay.

    Great location. The breakfast was very varied and well stocked. The light evening meal was a welcome addition for after a long day out sightseeing. Rooms were lovely, decor was nice, facilities were good, great shower. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    3.8
    not nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal wasnot friendly, was very bad, but nice food was only ready for group guests, why? No parking but bus can park anywhere, why?

    breakfast and location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Good location, friendly helpful staff, nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inclusion of evening meal confusing. It is a limited additional buffet for this who have had their main meal of the day. One hot meal choice - so salad, lettuce and tomatoes for the vegetarians.

    Good tourist class hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable, conveniently located to pier and town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of a thing I would change. It was great.

    We spent the night here after our 7 night viking cruise. It was so close to the pier we could have walked there in 4-5 min. It was located right in town, so after leaving our luggage we walked around the town. The "light dinner" was served from 6pm-9pm was very filling. We had vegetable stew, salad, cold cuts, cheese, fresh baked bread, deserts, potato salad and many other items. Breakfast contained too much food to even mention. Our room was comfortable and we lacked for nothing. Great place to stay. I would stay here again if I ever get to Bergen again, and I hope that I do.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Hotel in front of an outdoor rock concert venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t withdraw ‘pending transaciton’ from our credit card well after our check out and payment. They informed us about the 1am rock concert in front of the hotel only a couple of weeks before when we had no chance to re-book another hotel.

    Staff were nice and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.0
    The room was very small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very small. It was hard to find place for two luggages. Bathroom was also very tiny, someone large may find it hard to take a shower. Do not expect much of the free dinner. We couldn' t find anything to eat. The price of the hotel was expensive then most of others and unfortunately this dinner was a reason for my choice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice central allround hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found the hotel to be appropriate for our needs, these being a sentral, quiet and comfortable hotel with a nice breakfast and evening meal included.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel with very friendly staff, spotlessly clean, and great food at a very reasonable cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only negative was, buses tend to park at the rear of the hotel, this was were our room was, and having the balcony door open due to the hot weather, could be noisy.

    This is a great hotel. Just in the right place to visit the attractions of Bergen. The room was airy and light with a small seating area. The added benefit if a light buffet style dinner was perfect for us. It saved us money on eating out. The quality of the food in general was excellent. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was busy and you could tell they were struggling with it...

    Bathrobe and sleepers in the room, lounge on the 11th floor, welcoming room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    I would absolutely stay here again, it was near perfection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were there during an unusual spell of "hot" weather, and of course there is no air conditioning - I only wish the windows would have opened further to flush out any hot air. But it did cool down enough to sleep.

    The location is superb; Just around the corner from the very busy Bryggen area, but the key phrase here is "around the corner" - it's quiet, relaxed, and it would be possible to at least briefly park a car.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was in a good location. The room wasn't very big but comfortable and clean. The evening meal was of a good quality and saved us substantially on eating out of an evening. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast and location were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room and bathroom. No air conditioning (we were there during a heat wave)

    Breakfast and location were excellent. The complimentary evening meal was a pleasant surprise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    We were very pleased with the location and priceof the hotel. We couldn't have made a better choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything was excellent.

    Pleasant setting - copious and varied menu for both breakfast and the evening meal. We had not expected anything more than a very light supper and were surprised and delighted to find the supper menu so copious, delicious and well presented. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    great hotel in a prime location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    My partner and I really loved this hotel! Comfy bed, great breakfast and the meal in the evening was very good after a long day exploring Bergan. Lovely views from the hotel and in a great location close to the bus that drops you to the airport. The rooms aren't huge but it was plenty big enough for us. Really enjoyed our stay - thank you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Decent hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small, had little storage. There was a major heat wave while I was there but the windows could only be opened 3 inches at the top (and no AC as they had never needed it). The food at breakfast and evening meal was abundant but basic quality. The breakfast was better though. The coffee was not good.

    The location was great although few rooms had views of the harbor. Bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was a good size and was well equipped.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Would I stay here again? Definitely would 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was really well furnished if just a little tight for space.

    A modern hotel, centrally located with very helpful staff. The meals here were a real highlight - scrumptious, an extensive and plentiful range of food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location, 1 block from airport bus, great,helpful staff, and wonderful food buffets
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Buffet breakfast was incredible. A wide variety of cold and hot foods. Their included light buffet dinner was also fabulous and saved us a great deal of money not eating out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice place but unhelpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They lost our laundry and never informed us or returned it. My roommate and I each lost 2 pairs of pants. No apologies, no help, no contact, no reimbursement.

    Nice place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay, but the noise and disruption caused by tour groups spoiled our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The large group tours took over [ noisy and rude--in the dining room and we found it difficult to be relaxed and enjoy our meals.

    Very central to the water front. The room was small, but had everything we needed and wanted. The evening meal was well received and the breakfast was the usual buffet. Access to a computer and printer was very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice but not spectacular
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy and room was small. Asked for sofa bed to be set up three times! No parking at facility. Had to park two blocks away

    location and cleanliness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our family of 3 stayed only for a couple of days at this hotel. Hotel is very clean, provides breakfast and dinner, self-serve style. Both are included in room price. Breakfast has good choices and plenty of food, dinner was limited choice but very tasty. Hotel seems recently renovated. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel is located walking distance to most tourist attractions. It made our stay in Bergen lovely. Room was decent size. We would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect venue for Bergen-good value with evening meal and breakfast, recommend great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Standard room was small but adequate

    Location is great, close to shops, funicular and easy stroll from light railway (connects to Airport).Fish market and museum nearby and if attending bergenfest- its right outside the door!.Great breakfast and a light evening meal was included which really helps as everything is expensive!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    This hotel was in a great with nice clean comfortable room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel was in a great with nice clean comfortable room and lovely outlook, breakfast was adequate and a meal was provided every night free of charge. Fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    The Thon Orion is in perhaps the BEST location in Bergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Thon Orion is in perhaps the BEST location in Bergen. Just around the corner from the historic Bryggen wharf and next door to the fortress, the Orion is protected from all the crowds and noise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice job, loved the location, nice hotel, good meals!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 6 nights

    lack of wash clothes for washing my face & shaving. Also, it was very warm while we there, so a fan would have been very welcome.

    breakfast, light evening meal, very updated hotel, heated bathroom floor, comfortable bed, great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That when the coach tours came they had a reserved most of the dining room and the other customers had limited dining space.

    The hotel was clean and the staff pleasant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Delightful hotel in a great city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, close to waterfront, old town and cruise terminal. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Very comfortable and convenient place to stay in Bergen. A bonus was the evening buffet offered at no charge. This was most welcome after returning from a full day exploring this delightful city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Would stay again if the rate was competative !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing !!

    Location was very close to airport bus drop off point; also walking distance to fish market & other tourist sites in downtown area. The light evening meal was a fantastic bonus ! Hotel is set back from main street thus very quiet .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    ok apart from the sleeping /noisy room
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very noisy from a generator outside the window .It stopped me getting a restful sleep.That was very poor and the staff were unhelpful when I mentioned it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Loved the colour schemes & the staff on reception were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms with views are largely blocked by trees so it’s not much of a view of the port. The buffet for the evening meal had no healthy hot food & the buffet breakfast was the most limited of all the Thon hotels I’ve stayed at. Ok but not amazing. There is no air con so the rooms get stuffy although there are windows which can be opened a bit. There is a small step leading into the bathroom which many people would trip over. It’s not as convenient as some other hotels in Bergen including Thon Rosenkrantz, but it is very new which is nice.

    Loved the colour schemes & the staff on reception were generally great. Massive tv in front of bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant stay in fantastic city, would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only downfall for us really was that there was no air-con in the building so due to the weather being lovely during our visit the room was too hot whilst getting ready and of a night when trying to sleep. We resorted to leaving all windows and door open of a night however we were regularly woken by buses and coaches passing through the night if not already from heat.

    Breakfast was brilliant, great selection and wide range of options for different nationalities. Also free evening meal, we didn't eat there due to pre arranged commitments however did go in to have a look and the food looked just as nice as breakfast, including salad, fresh bread, pasta dish and fresh fruit. Drink selection at breakfast was also good. Free coffee throughout day and fresh cold water in lobby. Nice modern hotel with great facilities and PC available to check in and print off boarding passes etc. Staff were friendly and complementary water in mini bar was appreciated. Gym was great and numerous different machines to use.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location, fantastic value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good value for money with a very good breakfast and ok dinner included. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Fantastic location as a base to explore Bergen.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: