Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Thon Hotel Gardermoen 3 stars

Balder Allé 22, 2050 Gardermoen, Norway

#6 of 12 hotels in Gardermoen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2116 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    The location is convenient to the airport, and is easy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms have no air circulation or AC; during hot weather it is very hot in the rooms, even with the window open. Unfortunately, our room's window got stuck and would not open. It took a few hours to resolve the problem which was moving to a different room, at around midnight. Fortunately, another room was found - despite the hosts' insistence earlier that there are absolutely no other available rooms. It would not be possible to stay in the original room with the closed window due to extreme discomfort of stifling air and heat.

    The location is convenient to the airport, and is easy to find. The hotel was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Very good location and easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's a big parking area, but you need to pay for parking. Fridge in the room would be nice.

    Very good location and easy to find. Really great breakfast, we enjoyed it a lot. Overall a really good stay and if we ever return to this area, it's easy to choose where to stay. :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Room was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food selection other than breakfast was poor. The unexplained fire alarm at 7am wasn't the most fun...But did save me a wake up call. :-)

    Room was great. Breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very difficult to access once you miss the last shuttle bus, the only way to get there is by taxi that will cost around 400 kr from the airport

    Breakfast is excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Akuratt passe bra for en natt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom light EXTREMELY bright, to the point where you can't walk straight in after waking up. The sink design is also quite weird, and the soap dispenser is located over the toilet. Cereal very stale in the breakfast buffet. Also going to cost you 350-400NOK for a taxi there despite only being 3-4km from the airport.

    Quite comfortable beds and bedding, clean and tidy. Front desk guy was nice and answered whatever questions I had. Breakfast buffet had lots of different options. 70NOK pp for a airport shuttle service that comes every 30 minutes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    great hotel near the airport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Important! The shuttle between airport and hotel runs only until 0:30, after that you have to take a taxi — and be super careful when you give the address to the driver as there are several Thon hotels in the area. They tend to mix it up! I would also mention that the entrance area can be somewhat crowded in the mornings when large groups are waiting for their buses. Maybe providing some more benches for them outside could do the trick. Other than that, I can't think of anything bad in this hotel.

    Everything is great, just perfect for a business overnight stay if connecting through Oslo Airport. Breakfast is ample and delicious, rooms have all you need, the hotel itself has a modern look, staff are super welcome. Would recommend!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Great airport hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. For an airport hotel it was excellent.

    Large rooms. C Comfortable beds and very clean. It was also very close to the airport and was connected to public transit which made it very easy to arrive at the airport for early morning flight. Additionally the rooms were quiet. I could not hear any of the other guests although it seemed there were many people stain on my floor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Great service for great value !
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great! No complaints;)

    Very nice hotel , great price performance , very good breakfast and super helpful and friendly staff! We had a confetence near by, so the location was very convenient and I can really recommend this place!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Location.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room for four is congested. The single bed is not enough wide for an average person.

    Location. Also, the hotel provides early breakfast from 4:00 am for early flight.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    We love our stay
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be great to provide children playground. You have so much space at the property to profide it. The hotel is perfect for family and group traveler.

    The family room or quarto beds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Had to book a hotel urgently from the airport after my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If they can reduce/eliminate the airport-hotel bus charges, that would be perfect.

    Had to book a hotel urgently from the airport after my flight to London got cancelled. Randomly found this hotel via Booking.com. They have a shared bus service that you have to pay per person to reach the hotel. The room is comfy and well ventilated. The highlight of the hotel is the breakfast. I had stayed in bigger branded / higher star rated hotels, but not seen this kind of variety of food items that this hotel offered. Caviar & Salmon for breakfast? Let me know who can beat this.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful and relaxing. Perfect with Airport shuttle
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    `The single bed was nice. I spent the night in a family room - but needed only one single bed. But I sleept very good. The hotell seemed quite newly buildt and clean. Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    Staff did there best, but would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Long queue at check in, and then had to stand in it 3 times (to check in, to get extra room key, to order a drink). There is no lobby with a bar, television etc, just a sterile breakfast room. Airport shuttle costs 70NOK and only goes every half hour.

    Beds are comfy and room size good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.7
    Early flight out of OSL
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The listing should make clear that there are NO eating facilities in the evening for most budget travellers except from takeaways (pizza). Also it would be helpful to provide information on the S22 shuttle bus service to/from the airport for 70 NOK.

    I stayed because I needed to catch an early flight out of OSL. Breakfast (fairly basic) starts at 4 am and the S22 shuttle bus at 4:37 am.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Touch base in Oslo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The parking lot outside the hotel is costing.. I would have expected that for the Hotel’s customers it would have been already included in the fee. - The breakfast was quite ok, all the basics were available: coffee, tea, fruits, juices, and lot more ...; unfortunately not many alternatives for vegans.

    We’ve been only 1 night, just landed in Oslo, so the location is really handy; The room was good and clean, staff was friendly and WIFI had good signal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    The location close to the airport for early or late flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The location close to the airport for early or late flight. The breakfast was fantastic and the rooms were clean. There is a McDonald’s which is 10 min walk and even u can order for Peppes pizza as room delivery.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    Good food, clear place , good price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely hot in the summer, cant open the window vertically in the first floor, no air conditioner in the room min 25/27 degrees.no shower gel , if the windows is open the noice from the street is very loud

    Good food, clear place , good price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just one thing - You have to pay for parking! Something like 67 NOK.

    The breakfast was really good. Room was clean and spacious, nice big TV. Comfortable beds. Good shower. Late check-out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Great service by staff when I accidentally travelled to the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was incredibly hot, some form of cooling (fan or air conditioning) would have been appreciated, but as everything else about the room was so good this was not a deal breaker :)

    Great service by staff when I accidentally travelled to the wrong location (two Thon hotels with similar names are located very near each other). I was transported to the correct venue by staff immediately without additional costs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.5
    Good choice for basic lodging near the airport. Breakfast yes but no lunch or dinner options on site
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not ver appealing to the eye, externally, but I wasn’t here on vacation, so it suited my purposes. Didn’t like having to pay for parking.

    Nice basic room with a comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Great, clean, and comfortable stay close to airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom on our second stay was not quite as clean as I would have liked but it was clean enough and we still enjoyed our stay. On our first stay the bathroom was perfectly clean so I have no issues with the hotel.

    Great location for an overnight stopover in Oslo, close to the airport with an airport shuttle service. The breakfast buffet is varied and delicious, with allergen warnings on everything which is much appreciated since my brother is allergic to dairy. We stayed here twice, first as a stopover on our way to Japan and then again on our way back home to Iceland. Our first stay was great. The room was exceptionally clean and we had a nice trip to downtown Oslo. Our second stay was shorter and was mostly just about getting some much needed sleep. The beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Convenient to airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant in hotel however their sister hotel 600m away had an excellent one. No in room facilities for drinks. No fridge in room. Breakfast lacking choice compared to other Norwegian hotels we stayed at. Soft bed.

    It was easy access to airport via the frequent shuttle bus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff and very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant is on the negative side.

    Friendly staff and very clean. Good location for an early flight. Good connections to the airport by shuttle bus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    The staff was very helpful and polite, breakfast very good,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only breakfast is available. I arrived around lunchtime, had to walk to nearby MacDonald, about 10 minutes walk for meal.

    The staff was very helpful and polite, breakfast very good, room comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.3
    near to the airport but enough quiet to rest
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paid parking, as an additional cost for renting a room? Bedding in the rooms, especially the pillows with a sponge inside. Woke up wet.

    Enough comfortable mattress on the bed to rest? The hours of leaving the hotel are just right. The breakfast is abundant in quantity and to be chosen in dishes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Good for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice airport hotel and probably a better choice for travellers staying only one night. Big rooms and very nice bathrooms. Breakfast was incredible.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    A stay at this hotel is a must.....comfort, staff, breakfast...all exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located short shuttle bus ride from airport... very large hotel...room was sparse, with essential facilities...space, space was incorporated in the thinking of this hotel...when travelling you need the basics...open shelving, hanging space and bathroom. This hotel has perfected this..well done. No restaurant attached but snacks and drinks available from vendor machine which were adequate. Breakfast was superb, but don’t eat at peak times as hotel often has groups. Food variety and quality was excellent...congrats to chef and staff who were very efficient in replenishing food, and showed no annoyance at guests frequent requests. Allow time to enjoy this breakfast experience which would equal, if not better, what you would receive from any top 5 star hotel...the quality was something to savour....thank you to all staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.8
    Parking in the vacant lot is not free!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do not tell you that the parking costs money. In their very empty lot. We got a parking ticket that cost us $100. Which made this hotel a horrible value. No one said anything to us, no obvious signs. Also, even though the buffet food was decent there were zero clean dishes and zero clean tables. We had to clear a table off for ourselves and I put my yogurt in a drinking glass. I would not stay here again.

    Buffet was decent, except that there were no clean tables or bowls or cups! The bunk beds are nice for kids.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Super clean and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shuttle bus is 70 NOK per adult.

    Super clean and modern. Bunk bed in the family was a great treat for the kids. Good early breakfast that starts at 4am. Shuttle bus to airport was easy and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    I overall enjoyed my stay. A fair service for a fair price, definitely recommending.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the cleaning detergent in the lobby after the breakfast. It leaves an inconvenient smell on the floor, should be taken care of for the sensitive guests.

    Wifi is really great, never received any connection issues in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Love. This. Place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything!!! The breakfast was so good, even for a picky eater like me. The interior of the hotel was dope, of course I had to take a few photos for Instagram. I like hotels with comfortable beds, plus a TV with good channels. Just great all around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable location for a stop over.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a/n

    Rooms is nicely decorated, the beds are comfortable, internet is quick and reliable, close to the airport. The best was the breakfast. You can get fish, cake and cookies, diary and more. If you stay hungry, then you make a mistake.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for an overnight stay between flights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were looking for an overnight stay between flights, so this was a great option. The hotel is modern and has great facilities. It is located close to the airport and there is a shuttle (70NOK/pers) to/from the airport. The breakfast was rich and very tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    The hotel has a shuttle bus that leaves from right outside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a shuttle bus that leaves from right outside the airport and only cost 70kr, my flight didn't arrive until midnight and I still got a bus no problem. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was AMAZING. Minimalist style to the bedrooms but everything was comfortable and very nice. Bed was very comfy, I had a great night's sleep. Also appreciated the coffee machine in the reception area with to go cups to take with you on your way. 10/10 would definitely stay here again for an overnight stay for the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Family rooms with bunk beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Family rooms with bunk beds. Super clean. Fabulous breakfast. Shuttle bus from the airport was easy to find - the hotel emailed me with the instructions when I asked for them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Good stay for an airport convenient stop over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to pay extra for car parking (approx £13 overnight).

    A good stay in the Thon Hotel Gardermoen, convenient for the airport and a decent family room with everything we required. Thank you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is nice and elegant, rooms are clean and beds are comfortable, the location is suitable for early flights, shuttle bus was ok, staff are very helpful and friendly, breakfast was delicious with lots of varieties.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We needed a bed between an evening flight and a morning flight. Bus to the hotel took about 10-15min and with the bus fares of Norway we payed 30 euros for two people there and back (and 60 euro for the hotel). Definitely not the hotels responsibility, but next time I'll book something closer by.

    Best hotel breakfast i have ever experienced. Other than that, everything very clean and comfortable and everyone very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Stay was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to pay for my shuttle to the hotel which it does not say on hotels.com most shuttles are free that I've ever taken .top it off the shuttle dropped me off at the wrong hotel ..I walked a half hour to get to my proper hotel

    Booking.com needs to not put so much deceiving information on there sights I will not book through booking.com again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Amazing.
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing. After traveling all over the world,and knowing what is hotel all about(3 months a year) this one is my favorite for the amount per night. Absolutely perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is so close to the airport.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is so close to the airport. Just catch up the shuttle bus from Nettbuss, stop 40, outside the airport. The hotel also has shuttle bus every 30 minutes to go to the airport with the price kr 70.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    great breakfast, and early.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i'm not sure why the parking outside has to be paid, it's in a pretty remote place, felt a bit unecessary, but it wasn't too expensive.

    great breakfast, and early. good standard hotel. friendly staff. airport shuttle.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    4.6
    Hotel and staff were fine. Transport to and from the hotel to the airport was terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shuttle service was terrible. I ended up walking to the hotel through the snow and on my return to the airport had to wait over 40 minutes again in below freezing conditions for the shuttle. The first scheduled shuttle bus did not arrive so I had to wait for the next which was so full the driver had to leave people behind and it was rediculously full. I would not stay at this hotel again for this reason. I wanted a hotel which would be convenient and quick to get to the airport. It would be much easier to simply go into Oslo.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    5.4
    The only good thing is that is clean and close to airport.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only good thing is that is clean and close to airport. That’s the only good thing! Super expensive for nothing! The bed is sooo narrow that I fell 3 times from it. It’s almost impossible to turn without falling. To find the room or to get back to reception you need GPS. Ridiculous. The fire alarm started at 2:30am and didn’t stop for half an hour. So loud and stressful that was impossible to sleep normal again after that. Terrible hotel!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that the only food item to get was a take away pizza which had an expensive delivery when I was just ordering for one person.

    Very convenient in every way for an early start from gardemoen.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    5.0
    Not recommended.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fire alarm had a fault and set off in the middle of the night. We had to evacuate, but nobody told us what to do. We just followed other guests. We also wrote the gm to ask for a compensation because if we pay this much we'd like to rest smoothly, but we have been denied. We won’t come back.

    good breakfast, room clean and spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.3
    Bargain price, no facilities to talk of.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Information that it was B&B. We had early breakfast (before 7 AM). The breakfast room was not tidied up after people had their meal. Selection of foods very limited. Very isolated area south east of airport terminal.

    Very nice price for room. Short walk to other Thon hotel with excellent food. Very nice bathroom (newly renovated). Very good wifi, and very polite staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    2.5
    They are renovating
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived at the hotel I saw that they were renovating and there was no information about that at all, if I had knew this I wouldn't have done a reservation, also the breakfast was one baguette...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.3
    very convenient choice in between flights!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    to have something to do like a swimming pool or a gym or anything. The majority of costumers are just killing time between flights....

    It is a very convinient choice if you have connecting flights in Oslo. Clearly the surroundings are the best, but I doubt costumers choose Gradermoen for the surroundings. breakfast is great, very well connected with the airport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.9
    A good overnight option if transiting in Oslo.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no affordable restaurant nearby. No lunch or evening meal available starat this hotel and the nearby hotel restaurants are really expensive.

    The staff were friendly and helpful, the beds comfortable and the breakfast buffet was really great. Huge choice of tasty food. A great start to the day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    Good for a short stay, breakfast was lacking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very much like a maze with sprawling hallways that looks exactly alike even with the signs I still made the wrong turn several times. The breakfast was very basic. They serve two different breakfasts one early bird from 04:00 and one "full" from 06:30. I was there for the "full" breakfast. And I have to say I was underwhelmed no bacon and no fried egg. Only beans and scrambled eggs in the hot compartment. Other than that there was bread and a limited selection of ham and cheese. I did not have very high expectations but what I do expect is eggs and bacon.

    Pleasant and inexpensive accommodation, typical airport hotel with basic facilities suited for short stays. No restaurant but a microwave and "TV-dinners" are sold from the reception. Very nice room with a large smart TV.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.1
    Good eco friendly hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small window, no fridge/mini bar (where you could store your food in case you brought it:) ) The biggest "-" it is too faraway from the airport. If you dont want to use shuttle and expect to get there by foot - there are no sidewalks.

    Comfortable bed, spacious room and bathroom. Big + for heated floor in bathroom. Quite clean. Public shuttle stops in front of the hotels door. Healthy food for breakfast like oat porridge, boiled eggs and nuts.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Would definitely go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t as great as I would have liked (broken waffle machine and not much cereal)

    Facilities and comfort of the property were great value for money. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.3
    Ok fit for a airport pit stop or a short business stay as its far off from OSLO centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was construction going on - Was not warned before. Room is minimalistic. No toiletries or a hot water maker for coffee in the room. food at night is a problem. only a pizza prder is possible!!!

    Clean rooms, sheets. Nice wifi connection and a good smart TV. A big one actually. Staff spoke good English

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    Near to airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was full of water (it was rainy), and it was difficult not weatting my shoes to get into the hotel. Being rooms so nice, aisles are really awful, yellow with purple.

    Room has a good size and was very clean. Good breakfast and it's leas than 10 minutes by car from airport

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    Near to airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was full of water (it was rainy), and it was difficult not weatting my shoes to get into the hotel. Being rooms so nice, aisles are really awful, yellow with purple.

    Room has a good size and was very clean. Good breakfast and it's leas than 10 minutes by car from airport

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.3
    Early breakfast, at 4:30 was OK .
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very cold. Took a long time before I was told there was a radiator I could turn on, on my third phone call to the reception ! Tried to phone the reception two times about that, but no reply ! Check in took terribly long !!! Bed too narrow. Bed covers almost fell off !Had to use the covers of the two beds !

    Early breakfast, at 4:30 was OK .Nice room and bathroom !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    Clean modern hotel, nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shuttle to the airport was kinda pricey at $8 or so.

    This was the nicest, most modern hotel I stayed at my entire 10-day visit to Norway. Very clean, comfy and quiet. Close to the airport, super convenient for early flight the next day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant and modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an excellent facility nearby the airport for a short stay. No restaurants around the hotel except for MacDonald. Bit far to walk to nearby restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    3.8
    This hotel does NOT have an airport shuttle. Just a public bus.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel does NOT have an airport shuttle. They tell you to take the public bus- S22 - from the airport which costs 70 NOK and goes to a number stops in Gardermoen.

    Very basic room- does not even have any hangers or a trash can. Room was cold at night, even in August!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.4
    Conveniently located near Airport but overcrowded.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overcrowded facility

    This hotel is perfectly located if you are catching an early plane out of Oslo. However, it hosts too many guests for the facility. The breakfast room was overcrowded, it was difficult to find a seating and the food was not of a proper quality for the price. Not good value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Perfect option for transfer passengers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good value for money. Clean and comfortable. Good breakfast. Easy access by airport shuttle (70 NOK one way). Free tea & coffee in the lobby 24h.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.0
    No frills, comfortable hotel close to Oslo airport
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel offers a simple buffet breakfast spread, starting at 4am, but that is the only meal available at this location. For dinner, it is necessary to call a taxi or take the shuttle bus to a hotel a couple of miles away.

    We chose this hotel for its proximity to the Oslo airport because we had an early flight. It actually was not especially close to the airport, but frequent shuttle busses made the trip easy. It is a basic, inexpensive hotel offering clean, comfortable accommodations. We stayed at two other Thon Hotels during our visit, one was a high-end conference center in Oslo, the other, a less fancy, but well-appointed hotel in Bergen. All Thon three hotels were well-run and comfortable, and each offered the level of service we expected there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    Good for a simple in and out stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Were not able to eat breakfast due to early flight. Takes approx 10 min with Taxi from Airport - reccommend the shuttle since it is much cheaper. Had to walk a bit from the hotel to find restaurants for a bite in the evening.

    Good staff. Nice room. Airport shuttle.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel stay at the last minute!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet needs to be logged into frequently, but that's probably the service provider's fault. Also, it would be great if there was a small restaurant there, even if just for snacks.

    I had an unexpected extra two days in Oslo, and needed to find accommodation in a hurry. The Thon Hotel Gardermoen was available and turned out to be the perfect place to stay. One of the staff members immediately answered my questions about getting to the hotel via the shuttle via booking.com. Throughout my stay they were helpful and informative. Everyone seemed glad to be there and enjoyed talking with guests. Even the cleaning staff was smiling and friendly. The beds are wonderfully comfortable and the shower is hot and powerful. I didn't make use of the smart TV, but I could see how this would be great if I wasn't travelling with a laptop. The hotel is surrounded by small forested areas, so it's a great place to stay if only just to take a walk and enjoy nature.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.7
    It's busy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's busy... total of 260 rooms so it can get crowded and there are 'group' breakfasts when it is almost impossible to eat. Quite a long way out from the airport.. expensive shuttle bus and only runs every half hour

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.5
    Budget hotel...very affordable for being in the airport area.
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast very basic and almost impossible to eat in peace when all the bus groups are there...unless you come early or late. Very little selection of food or drinks behind the reception. No restaurant....just breakfast so breakfast should be better...more selection, etc.

    Nice staff and short walk to food, services. Good price and shuttle bus to airport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    5.8
    Bad location, bad facilities (food), nice rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is far from airport. You need the shuttle bus which is expensive (70 kr each way), and only departs every 30 minutes much of the time. This means that you have no margin should you miss your intended bus. No restaurant on site or even close to the hotel. There is only a McDonalds not that far away. There was a menu for delivery pizza (Peppes Pizza) in the room, but it was outdated, so when I called them to order, they didn't any longer offer what I chose. There was a large group of tourists there when I visited, and the breakfast buffet did not have the capacity needed to accommodate the amount of guests. It was mayhem trying to get some food. Way too many people, and those lucky enough to actually reach the food table in time to catch the shuttle bus had to take whatever you could reach and get away before someone knocked the plate out of your hands as they tried to cut what can only be described as a sorry excuse for a line.

    Cheap. Large, clean rooms. Big TV. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    The hotel is located in the forest area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located in the forest area. Nice for forest walking tour, but too far from restaurant facilities. The continental breakfast is served from 6 am. There is also possible to have some bread with cheese and ham and some vegetables from 4 am, but don't expect mote.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable nights stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive shuttle to airport (70 kroner one way)but this applies to all the airport hotels so nothing to do with this hotel in particular.

    Comfortable bed. Bright Spacious family room with large bathroom. Very large Smart TV. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.3
    Functional hotel with excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Functional accommodation and building but at a good price for an airport hotel. The quality of the breakfast however was far more than functional and was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.1
    Ok to spend a night between two flights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the morning around 7 AM they started some works on the side of the building where my room was...it was unpleasant, especially that I would have liked to sleep more...

    Close to the airport. 10 minutes by shuttle bus (price 70 NOK one way), the stop is in front of the hotel. Ok to spend a night between two flights. Good breakfast. Clean room, very new inside.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    9.6
    Ok place to stay for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast for those who have a early morning flight was dry, cold and not so many options for those who don't eat meat.

    Fast from and to the airport when you only night a place to stay for the night.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    8.3
    It's easy to arrive from the Oslo airport by bus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and shower space were clean, but only the toilet was not clean. (The bottom in the toilet was dirty. It was brown.)

    There is a big TV that we can watch You Tube is awesome! The staffs who's working are so friendly and kind! There is a shuttle bus from the Oslo airport, and can buy the bus ticket in the hotel. The price was cheaper than other hotels near the airport, but it's a breakfast in it!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money for just an overnight stay for early...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No evening meals available in the hotel. There is a McDonalds around a 10 minute walk or grab something to eat at the airport first if arriving in the evening.

    Good value for money for just an overnight stay for early flight the next day. Clean room, good shower and relatively quiet.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Thon Hotel Gardermoen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: