Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Thon Hotel Moldefjord 3 stars

Storgata 8, 6413 Molde, Norway

#5 of 6 hotels in Molde

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 302 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.7
    Very poor first impression,redeemed somewhat by bright,cheery,professional last impression of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In a private e-mail to the management,which has received no reply, I have expressed my disappointment with a major problem on arrival,which I am sorry to say upset my stay.

    Hotel on main street,very short distance from bus terminus and the MoldeFK stadium,both easy to find.Staff were very tolerant of the many Scottish football supporters in town,hope the other residents were as tolerant of us all! Atlantic Road bus trip was an interesting insight into the problems the remoter areas have to overcome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel in the centre of town, with special parking just for motorcycles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ☹️cruise ships parked next to the hotel in the harbour ☹️ Cruise ships EARLY morning tannoy was SO loud, that it woke me with a fright !! (& I had the windows shut)

    The room was clean, tidy, modern & generally, excellent condition. Plenty of cupboards & places to put my stuff during my stay. Very good bathroom, in ‘as new’ condition & overall cleanliness. Buffet breakfast was excellent (as all Norway seems to be) This hotel has a special secure indoor parking area JUST for motorcycles ! Cruise ships docked next to the hotel in the harbour (a fun sight to see !)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice comfortable hotel in a excellent location. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not large. Hot food at the breakfast buffet was not hot.. Seems to be common issue in Norway.

    We had a very comfortable room with a harbour view. Note - Not all rooms may be this good and may not have such a good view. The bed was comfortable, the shower good. Heating worked and if hot the windows opened to cool things off. Breakfast buffet was good with a generous selection of nice food. Complimentary parking was good (but limited supply) and the location was great in the centre of town on the wharf. Restaurant was good for casual dining. We had a nice stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Convenient and central location, with friendly staff. Breakfast alone is worth staying there !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to its very central location of this hotel, there was a lot of traffic, but the windows were soundproof and mitigated the noise. Parking was free but the number of spaces is inaquate for the number of guests; we got the last spot.

    The best feature of this hotel was the breakfast buffet, which was out of this world and probably the best we've ever had in 16 years of travelling together. The room was small but adequate.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Enjoyable, friendly with nothing to much trouble
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Earlier breakfast as we had to leave to get first flight in morning but not a big deal

    Staff absolutely tremendous even working past their finish time

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    3.3
    I was happy to get a room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not open the window. The staff told me it was broken. The room was very hot. They did not give me a disqount. The inhabitans of Molde are famous for being greedy. The breakfast was in a "Egon" restaurant. It had this phony western design and they did not have any bacon.

    I was happy to get a room. I think i got the last avaliable in the whole city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.5
    Just OK but we would stay down the road at the Sandic next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The door hit the bed keeping it from opening all the way. Had to enter the bathroom sideways. The room was clean. Tiny bathroom could barely move in it. Room was hot. NO AC.

    Staff excellent, Good breakfast, room too small for two people we could not open the bathroom door all the way. The room was clean. .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.0
    Slept well the first night (no noise outside), slept very bad nigt 2 because of noise outside.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from outside (motor from a boat?) The bathroom: The distance from wall to toilet so short that I had to use the toilet from side to side. The toilet should be turned (180).

    Very nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable stay, central location with a good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The water pressure in the shower was quite bad. There were some stains in the shower....not sure if they could be taken out or not....... But every thing else was nice and clean.

    The central location and decent choices for breakfast (even though I must eat dairy free and gluten free ). The stuff in the restaurant were extremely nice and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.3
    In the heart of molde
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a challenge, even though we requested it when making our reservation. No gym.

    The breakfast was excellent. The view from our bedroom was terrific until a cruise ship arrived. Very close to centre of town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Friendly personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking place could be bigger. In the evening there was no free place in hotel's parking, we used public one.

    I can emphasize that people are important, that they create special feelings and emotions for the new places. Personnel of the hotel was friendly and welcoming. Location of the hotel is good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    7.9
    Satisfactory. Will come back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room (I stayed in a single bed room). Smells of food from the restaurant located below the property. The wondows can't be completely open so you may enjoy the view only from behind the glass Not a practical shower cabin (the entire floor in the bathroom gets wet) A little bit dust on furnitures. Dirty windows. The minibar (fridge) was off when arrived. One of the lamps was not working :D

    Very nice & helpful staff. Great central location. Nice view to fjord. Very clean bathroom. Electric kettle and tea/coffee in the room. Good breakfast from 6.30 am. Electricity plugs close to bed :p

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    near the fyord
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    near the fyord

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Located right on the water in a beautiful little town.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located right on the water in a beautiful little town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.6
    A dedicated garage for motorcycles free of charge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A dedicated garage for motorcycles free of charge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Clean rooms and wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish that the breakfast was optional. Or at least a lower price for people with gastric bypass surgery.

    Clean rooms and wonderful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Another hotel with superb breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are not wide enough for two

    Another hotel with superb breakfast. 👍🇸🇪👍🇸🇪

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Nice hotel with MC parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dedicated MC parking garage, close to town centre and restaurants with outdoor seating. Nice quiet single room. Perfect for me.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    The staff especially the night manager and the meal at Egon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window needed repairing and parking a problem

    The staff especially the night manager and the meal at Egon

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    3.8
    Knøttlite rom og bad, ok for en person, men ikke for to.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Knøttlite rom og bad, ok for en person, men ikke for to.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Business traveler
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bathroom is perfect for business traveler like me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Easy access with parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy access with parking good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    The breakfast at Egon was wonderfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast at Egon was wonderfull. The view from the room was amasing. The staff was friendly. Good choice to stay at Thon in Molde 👍

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.1
    Great breakfast and location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single rooms are quite small and bed narrow. Some dirt/chilli nuts were left in the floor.

    Great breakfast if you have time to eat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Estupendo
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive beer!

    Waterside location overlooking Molde fjord

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service is perfect

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Finally a hotel that had parking included, and it's...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finally a hotel that had parking included, and it's possible to use a gym right over the street from the hotel. The gym was awesome!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Great staff and friendly as you ever seen them
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Packed breakfast to bring was poor

    Great staff and friendly as you ever seen them

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    7.1
    Bedtime
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One Large Comforter for the Bed is better than two small comforters.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    5.0
    Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room

    Staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    7.1
    Good breakfast;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed did not allow easy access to bathroom. Flat floor shower - water everywhere - stupid fashion! Toilet seat would not stay up (man's problem!) No bedside tables- no space.

    Good breakfast; friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.5
    + excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - no air conditioning, no possibility to open windows (security lock). Fortunately, in my room it was broken, otherwise +35 Celsius in the room would not change overnight - bed is too soft, double bed is in fact two separate beds

    + excellent location + great breakfast + free parking + friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    7.9
    Staff on reception very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view wasn't good from our room.

    Staff on reception very helpful. Egons Restaurant serving American-style food. Location right in the middle of town near other bars and restaurants and shops. The best located hotel in Molde.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room could have been slighter bigger. It was a bit of a squeeze.

    Great location. Within walking distance from the bus terminal. Breakfast had great variety.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    9.6
    View!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was a little on the small side and very warm with no temperature control. Having the window open helped but was quite noisy when ferries were docking. I didn't mind these but may put off others.

    View!

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    9.6
    The staff were excellent especially the staff at reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were excellent especially the staff at reception and at the bar

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    10
    brilliant hotel staff where lovely and aways willing to help!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    brilliant hotel staff where lovely and aways willing to help! we where over for celtic game and they happily accommodated for all the fans thank you

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.9
    Awesome buffet breakfast, best I've had in Denmark so far
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Awesome buffet breakfast, best I've had in Denmark so far

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    7.9
    Unfortunately we had to cut short our stay & the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately we had to cut short our stay & the staff were very helpful in facilitating this. Beautiful breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    10
    We were at three hotels during our visit in Norway and this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were at three hotels during our visit in Norway and this was the best one. It has all necessary facilities and polite and helpful staff.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: