Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Thon Hotel Munch 3 stars

Munchs Gate 5, St. Hanshaugen, 0130 Oslo, Norway

#54 of 157 hotels in Oslo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 974 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Intelligent receptionists, all Norwegian and with excellent local knowledge. Full breakfast buffet, not just a couple of tough croissants and a yogurt

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had no complaints.

    WE found our room incredibly comfortable. Our room was small but perfect for the price. They had a breakfast buffet that was superior to anything we ever expected. It was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff exceeded my expectations - everyone from helpful receptionists to the best chef ever Marius serving breakfast were professional, friendly and made us feel at home. The room was perfectly clean. The breakfast was superb. The location of the hotel is very good - it is within a walking distance from the majority of tourist attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little bit small for the two of us. Rowdy Thursday night singing crowd at restaurant across from our open window.

    Great location, able to walk to museums, city hall. Post office and drug store around the corner. Restaurants within 3 to 4 blocks. Fantastic breakfast spread.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was great - even sunnyside up eggs. Bathroom was small but had enough space for all our stuff. Real hangers in the closet were plastic and so we could use them to drip-dry our hand wash. The small room ended up being large enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only complaint I have is that my room did not have very hot water for the shower, maybe a little cooler than luke-warm at best

    Staff was very friendly and the included breakfast was great. Hotel was very central to everything and you could easily reach any major area nearby or a travel hub within a 20-30 minute walk at most

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Not that far off the beaten path. Ten minutes from a major shopping, restaurant area. Ten minutes by taxi from the central train station. Great breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wipe dust and make sure the floor is clean.

    I like the enviroment, breakfast was so delisious, internett was ok, staff are so qualified. Rom was ok, but was some dust flew over in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main downside is the thin walls. On the first night we wanted to go to bed early at 11pm but were unable to fall asleep until the early hours due to listening to a group of girls laughing, screeching and playing music. It sounded like it was next door but above us at times. The same on the second night. You can hear feet stamping above you, people talking. The cleaners also give a small knock and then just open the door! It was only about 8am so it wasn’t like it was late. I had planned that me and my dad would knock on each other’s doors in the morning so I hear a knock, jumped up to put on some clothes to answer but suddenly there’s a woman in my room while I’m not dressed! Not the greatest start to our first morning haha. Don’t expect much of a view either it’s a pretty standard building.

    The beds were extremely comfy. It was not how I assumed it would be from the pictures I saw when booking, it was a lot nicer. The pillows are stupidly comfy. Good location. Easy to get to where we were going and to transport routes. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Good choice at breakfast. Although the check out is at 12 they have a free locker room so we were able to leave our things there and come back to collect them later on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like some vegan options for breakfast, like dairy free cheese, yoghurt and nut milk (they had the cheapest soy milk that does not taste very good). The bread and cereal not listet with allergens, so there was not much to eat besides vegetables ( that were not organic) and som fruits. Would rather have eaten at home and that’s not the feeling you want when you have payed for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Very good breakfast, selection & quality. Good location, easy walk to the centre and central museums. Nice bonus of free goulash at reception on one of the evenings.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Очень приятный отельчик, чистенько, на следующее же утро после заселения пришли убираться. В нашем обычном номере были: чайник, кружки, бокалы, чай, сахар, рабочие телефон, телевизор. В душе всегда горячая вода, туал. бумага с запасом, мыло жидкое и мыло твердое, шампунь с дозатором, на каждого по 3 полотенца. Кстати достаточно тихо было, то ли соседи попались не шумные, то ли хорошая шумоизоляция. И самое главное Оочень хорошие завтраки. Предлагался шведский стол:присутствовала и местная рыба разные виды, много фруктов, мюсли, йогурты, нарезки мясные, сырные, здешний хлеб зерновой очень вкусный, овощи, яичница, соки и много чего другого.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming. The rooms were clean and the shower room with underfloor heating was excellent. Beds were extremely comfortable. The smorgasbord style buffet breakfast was fabulous with an excellent selection of cooked breakfast, cold meats, cheese and fruit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The prices in Oslo are extremely high and this hotel was no exception. It is a basic, good hotel but doesn't offer any extras for the price you pay.

    The hotel was conveniently located in the city center. The room was nice and comfortable. The breakfast was good with a variety of foods.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked an extra, or bigger duvet.

    Breakfast included fresh Norwegian breads and fish and generally there was a good variety. The showers were fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant or bar. Room was quite small. Location quiet and convenient but unattractive.

    Comfortable room with good shower. Nice breakfast. Quiet location just a short walk from the city centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The twin room was so small and plain it looked as if it could have been in a youth hostel. Our room for the first two nights was on the front of the hotel, and the noise from traffic and people partying kept us from sleeping. The third night, the hotel upgraded us to a double room and moved us to a quieter location, which resulted in a better night's sleep.

    The staff were nice and helpful, the rooms were clean, plus the breakfast was plentiful and fast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The halls were a little non-descript but this might be expected for a larger hotel. While well located it was a little confusing navigating the streets.

    The location was quite convenient to public transportation and the sites we wanted to visit. The breakfast buffet was extensive and good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything perfect!

    It is very easy to get with the Flytoget to the hotel. You have only to walk a few minutes from the station National Theatre. The breakfast is amazing with almost everything you can image. Unfortunately, we had lots of rain, but an umbrella is provided in each room. The heating did work in September! :-)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I did not like anything, the room is small ,the staff is not help for the guest, we ask for the bus hop on hop off and I rcvd another ticket and I ask for refund me and I rcvd only part of half refund.i left Tham the ticket 700 kr

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A modern, clean hotel in central Oslo, a short walk from the Town Hall and the waterfront. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good, extensive breakfast buffet!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really except the key card had problems. The front desk staff was always busy so you had to wait for a long time if you needed to talk to them.

    Room size was decent, breakfast excellent, and location really great. When we first got there, we were nervous about the safety issue of the neighborhood and concerned that it was a place for the young. But it turned out fine. After we stayed in a tiny not-so-good hotel in Stockholm with higher price, we really appreciated the lower cost, the convenient location and much nicer room and breakfast ! We highly recommend it to older travelers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, but adequate for a one night stay. A longer stay would definitely require a longer space considering we were two.

    Everything I needed was provided.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was nice and clean, great location and good breakfast. I had no problem finding a parking space amazingly but that could be due to the late hour I arrived also.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom had a sliding door with a small inconvenient handle. I can easily imagine a person (eldery / child / disabled / having a minor injury...) who could have a real problem opening this door. I hope the hotel will sooner or later replace all such doors with something better - or at least attach another handle from inside.

    Comfortable soft bed, good breakfast, wonderful view from the window... And - most importantly - it was quiet, despite of the view. On Sunday evening we opened the window and hardly heard any sounds. On Monday after 9 AM there was, of course, some noise from the ever-rebuilding Oslo, but I think it's unavoidable in the city center. When leaving, we asked the reception for a little advice on a problem not related to the hotel (but related to Norway), and they were extremely kind to solve the problem completely :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exterior of building could be better, its looking "old". Price of very the near underground car parks, very expensive but then again its in central city location !

    Great location very near the centre, can walk easily to all main tourist spots. Close to many restaurants, try Elias just 400m away. Nice bright colours everywhere in the Hotel, especially the dining area. Really good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to find when driving into Oslo. Needed directional app to find hotel. The drive-in entrance to a parking garage is visible from the hotel, but the people access elevator is on the opposite side of the building.

    The staff was very welcoming when we arrived. The breakfast buffet was great. Lots of seating in the breakfast room. A brisk 10 minute walk to the town hall and old harbor. A nice base for exploring Oslo. Nice room with comfortable bed. Nice (free) coffee machine in lobby, also provides hot water for tea.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have loved a fridge/minibar in the room and maybe a gym in the hotel. It was a little bit far from the next train station, but that's really not a problem.

    A simple, but very comfortable hotel. Large rooms with everything that's needed, modern furniture, nice bathroom, comfortable bed. Breakfast is really awesome, with a large selection of different fresh and healthy (and less healthy :) foods. Personnel is very nice and helpful. 24/7 reception, free coffee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no fridge in the room but the receptionist (all 3 of them) were very kind and help me with the wine bottle

    -The breakfast was very good. It saved me money from lunch (as Oslo is EXTREMELY expensive). - the room was very nice; I was on the eighth floor with a great view -enormous TV - cleaning every day; very clean and tidy -they let me go in the room early in the morning

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room space but that is the norm in Oslo, so you get used to it.

    At that point in time the best value for money option for a quick business trip in Oslo. Especially if you know your way around the city a bit. Good clean helpful hotel with nothing to lose versus some much more expensive options.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Towel rack did not provide enough room to hang towels because of a shelf underneath it.

    In a quiet part of the city but a quick walk to everything and close to public transportation. Reception was very friendly and proactively accommodating. Outstanding breakfast with many substantial choices and friendly staff. Lots of hangers! Washcloths provided. Heated bathroom floor. Free coffee, tea, cocoa in lobby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hair-dryer and TV-remote did not work, tv-screen-update too slow for movies. Shower run-down despite recent renovation. Breakfast: The scrambled "eggs" contained something else. Bread and coffee could have been better. Breakfast starts late (7:30).

    Quiet. Good price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing I can think of..

    Found the bed very comfy, and the variety in the breakfast selection kept me happy for days. The room is by no means massive, but perfectly good size for my stay. Excellent location - I was able to walk to nearly everything I wanted to see, and it is literally round the corner from the National Gallery.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the breakfast was wide-ranging and looked good, the 'hot' breakfast items were actually cold and unappetizing.

    Good location, clean room and friendly staff. Value for money in an expensive city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was to soft for me and I was not able to heat up the room as the radiator did not work properly, it was -6°C outside though.

    The breakfast was superb, best I've had. They had hot soup in the evening and always fresh fruit in the lobby you could grab with you. The staff was very friendly and helpful! Would stay there again!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    * The location is perfect, close to the center, you can walk everywhere. * The breakfast indeed is fabulous! There is so many options what to eat and the food is delicious. We even skipped our lunch later on :-) * The room was very clean, bathroom as well.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excessive noise that staff ignored, no milk in the rooms (not even the little UHT sachets!) - only creamer, which is gross - breakfast hot selection was poor.

    Long breakfast hours, very clean, location moderately good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is a bit small, but it's simple and has everything. Good enough for me!

    Breakfast was amazing (like what everyone else says)! Great value for money, good location, free fruits (really appreciate that) and Internet/printing, super friendly staff! Really happy that I stayed there.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower didn't get hot and some towels were marked. The room was a little smaller than had pictured.

    Great choice of breakfast for coeliacs- even had fresh waffles!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The standard room is pretty small but good value. It was a little tricky to find the first time but we asked directions at the Thon Rosencrantz.

    Out of all the hotels we've stayed in I can honestly say this hotel serves the best breakfast for variety, quality and quantity. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was small but very clean and comfortable - we weren't expecting luxury for the price but the shower was good and the bed very comfortable. It's in a good location, just 5mins walk from Karl Johannes Gate and 15mins from the waterfront. The trains for the airport run every 10mins from the National Theatre stop which is about 7mins away. Access to trams and buses is good. Lots of good restaurants, cafes and delis/supermarkets locally. I recommend a visit to the Viking Ship museum and the Fram museum - No. 31 bus.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of furniture despite of enough space in a room.

    Good location, strong wifi connection, good heating, very good breakfast, complimentary free coffee in the lobby.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I received the room key in an already used folder with the number erased and written again I thought "where am I?" :) but it is a nice hotel

    The breakfast was way beyond fantastic! The room was small but clean and comfortable. And its quite close to the Karl Johans Gate and the Natonal Gallery, the surrounding are a business area though so tend to be dead by evenings and weekends...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room staff need some training. Dirty coffee cups still dirty on our evening return. Sugar/milk/coffee not replenished. Shower room shelf not cleaned. Value for money? We have nothing to compare it to in this city.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area outside is not too great and hotel doesn't look very welcoming from outside. I could hear the restaurant opposite my room having deliveries and putting out their bins . Although Oslo is small some people might think the location is too inconvenient. I would have liked a couple of shelves for my clothes. Plenty of hangers but nowhere to put undies/socks etc

    Super comfy bed, huge tv with cable channels. Extremely clean bathroom with masses of hot water. Tea/coffee making facilities and two wine glasses which were appreciated. Hot drinks machine in the lobby so could grab a hot drink to go which was perfect on the icy streets. Fantastic range of food at breakfast and staff kept the area clean and tidy. They also circulated the room offering pastries and coffee. Very friendly lobby staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We unfortunately came at the same time as the entrance being cleaned with alcohol or bleach. Whatever it was I felt sorry for the front desk staff as the fumes were overwhelming.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    single room is tiny! had to change to double

    great rooms (double), great breakfast, super clean and comfortable. located in the middle of everything, yet in a very quiet area

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a minor comment, the keycard system did not always work reliably.

    Comfortable room (single but with enough space). Excellent breakfast, abundant and of good quality.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is on a high hill. Not sure if this is a feature of Oslo but it makes things harder to reach the property itself. The shower was leaking and the shower chair wasn't stable.

    The room. The bathroom was huge and super wheelchair friendly. Also the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't say anything negative about this hotel.

    Good location. Nice and helpful stuff. Comortable rooms. Breakfast buffet deserves special attention - it was splendid, rich and diverse.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great.

    Breakfast was fantastic. So many options. Beds were comfortable. Downtown convenient to public transportation and major sights. All amenities especially good for the price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The value for money is not that good, even if Oslo is an expensive city... It could be a bit disappointing.

    Comfortable bed, excellent breakfast, coffee for free thanks to the coffee machine at the reception, computer with free Internet access and a printer. Most of the receptionists were nice. Good location, a five-minute walk to the city centre, and therefore close to most of the attraction sites of Oslo

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Larger room than most in Oslo. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was roomy. Also, the front desk was very helpful with helping us figure out train schedules and even packed us a too go breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great. Close to the national gallery and walking distance to the central area and the pier. The check-in took some time even though we arrived after 3pm. The breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I believe the front desk staff could have protected me a bit better from a taxi driver whom I consider harassing.

    The chef was brilliant, friendly, and appreciative of our gratitude for his excellent cooking. The breakfasts are out of this world--simply delicious and delightful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No frills, basic accomodation, good for a night or two at a relatively central location, only 15min walk from the central train station. The breakfast was good with a variety of choices.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not close drapes and get any air from the window and there was no other air source.

    Staff were very nice and helpful. Location was fairly convenient.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I always wondered about the options for international TV program offers, being reduced first to Russia TV and now Sky. Googling the name of the owner provided an interesting insight of political leaning that I have no interest in supporting. Sadly, I will not coming back to this hotel or any of the chain.

    The hotel is only 15 min walk from the National Theater and quite comfortable. Breakfast is quite acceptable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location farther from subway, but very close to pedestrian area

    This hotel has wonderful rooms, large spaces, all very clean; breakfast and all services are excellent

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were a bit small and there are few places to get items out of suitcases but we managed. We did hear noise from other rooms or perhaps the street, but we were able to sleep just fine.

    The staff were helpful and we found the beds comfortable. The shower is very nice. The breakfast was good. The location is fabulous - easy walking distance to palace, train station or the opera house.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first two rooms they gave me didn't have windows that would open. Since it was warm and there is no air conditioning this was important to me. In the second the lock didn't work. In all, I had to make 6 trips up and down before I had usable room.

    This is a typical economy chain hotel. Rooms are quite small, but efficient. Breakfast was good. There is also a good Iranian restaurant across the street.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i would like more cheese on breakfast .had no ketchup or souse to eat with egg. corridor carpet was dirty. Hotel did charge from my visa card, but i did not use something extra

    breakfast was good, bed comfort was good. clean and fresh apartment and toilet.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Area around hotel is not nice but within one block, you are near square with lots of folks sitting outside in the nice weather. Rooms could use a rug or something to ease hard floor.

    Location to the heart of Oslo. Staff is very nice and professional. Breakfast is well done and the chef in the morning is very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking close to the hotel is expensive

    The breakfast was really good! Good location, close to the city center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, great location. Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grubby, overcrowded, horrid breakfast frenzy, dirty carpet in corridors, linen cart in corridor, no enough light in the room

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good bed, great breakfast, really great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    How hotel looks outside

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything is good , Especially breakfast amazing .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted to stay longer but process went way up, couldn't afford.

    Great breakfast spread

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The soup on return in the evening was a very nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold water at midnight.

    good enough for the price!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast, included in the room rate, was very good - wide range of food and beverages for guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath

    Great bed!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken TV (although it was repaired quickly). Only empty pots at 9 am at the breakfast.

    Good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs services were friendly and food quality of the breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Thon Hotel Munch traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: