Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo 4 stars

Rosenkranzgt. 1, 0159 Oslo, Norway

#4 of 157 hotels in Oslo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1418 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Close to most sight areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction around the hotel is bad, if you are a vacation and want that few more outs of sleep, that’ll not be possible, it’s noisy, otherwise it’s perfect

    Close to most sight areas

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    There was heavy construction literally in front of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was heavy construction literally in front of the entrance of the hotel so, no driving up, hauling luggage from another street. Also, construction noise wakes you up early every morning. At the very least this should have been communicated and compensated for somewhat. Staff never mentioned it or even tried to come up with solutions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Frustrating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Major street construction were taking place at the door steps of the hotel which was annoying, dusty and noisy. Evening meal was terrible, can’t consume it. It’s said in Booking.com that rooms are air conditioned but they were not , what is there is an air ventilation system that works poorly and not satisfactory. We were forced to ask for a fan to give some help.

    The location was absolutely terrific, reception personnel were very helpful and welcoming 👋. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    It was a great Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a great Hotel. The location was just 2 blocks off the main street which is like 3 minutes by walk and the airport shuttle stops right outside the hotel as well. The Hotel may not be "plush" or luxurious but is has everything you need from lounge access to a light evening meal to gym and even a nice Bose speaker in the room to play your own music. The rooms are spacious and well lit. The day we got in our room was not ready, they told us to use the lounge for free coffee and water and we could use the toilet outside it to freshen up. It was a nice touch and thoughtful of them. I must highlight that the breakfast at the hotel is simply immaculate. I have stayed at many five star properties but the quality and effort these guys bring into their breakfast is amazing. On the last day we left early before breakfast was ready for hotel guests. They gave us some muffins and croissants to take away. All reception staff are very helpful and friendly as well. Overall I would highly recommend this property to anyone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    The entire staff was incredible courteous and helpful but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is currently a large construction project on the street in front of the hotel entrance. You have to walk about a block through it to enter the hotel. If you stay get a too away from the construction if still ongoing.

    The entire staff was incredible courteous and helpful but the general manager, Christopher Arnet is an absolute gem. From the moment we we checked in until the moment we checked out he took great care of us. As other reviewers have pointed out the breakfast is out of this world. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel but construction sites around the hotel made it worse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little bit too busy. There are construction sites around the hotel look like they are building train tracks in downtown Oslo. We couldn't drive to the hotel but we had to park 100m faraway and scratch our heavy suitcases across the construction site which was dirty and dusty. The hotel doesn't have a garage. We had to park in the garage (expensive) next to the hotel which is 2 minutes from the hotel by walk.

    The best breakfast I've ever had in a hotel. The room is newly renovated, clean and nice. The bed is comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Central location, spacious rooms with everything you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything so much I went back for a second visit.

    Central location, spacious rooms with everything you need. Late check out on Sunday offered by staff as a matter of course. Friendly helpful staff and an amazing breakfast. Evening light meal in the upstairs lounge was lovely and very welcome at the end of a long day sightseeing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Great value for Oslo. This hotel gives a generous welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is centrally located in a busy but charmless commercial area

    Fantastic breakfast buffet. Complimentary supper in the 8th floor lounge. Oslo is such an expensive place to eat out that the excellent food service at this hotel sustained me for the weekend. the supper was simple but tasty. There was also a good fitness room with machines and a weight rack

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    The staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was great. Included late dinner, which we where able to eat after they closed the restaurant. Late check out. Non of our requests where any problem. Great stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    all room sin Also will be small for what American typically...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is a lot of street construction all around the front that makes getting to the entrance tricky - especially with luggage as cars canny get to the front - not sure how long the construction is going on for but it was there at the end of May 2018

    all room sin Also will be small for what American typically expect but the rooms are very comfortable and have everything you will need. the staff goes out of the way to help with anything one needs- the restaurant and th breakfast rules- one of the best morning buffett anywhere- you wont go wrong staying here

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Modern hotel in good location marred by construction noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a major road and tram track construction project right in front of the hotel, with excavation involving heavy equipment. Starts early and sometimes ends late. Looks like it will be ongoing for quite some time. We were told that all the superior rooms faced the street and the ones in back were much smaller. Double glazing not sufficient. Would advise against street facing room until construction is completed.

    Nice hotel in central location. Very good included breakfasts. Comfortable beds. Lack of adequate storage space in our superior double.(According to the photos the size of these superior rooms vary.) Poorly designed sink in otherwise good modern bath.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    This hotel was very comfortable, and it had the most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was road construction that is temporary. But be aware that their are bars across the street so ask for a high floor or room in the back of the hotel.

    This hotel was very comfortable, and it had the most comfortable bed. Great breakfast and I liked the light evening meal that was included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel! Fantastic breakfast!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there is a nightclub very close to the hotel and my room was located on the 2nd floor, meaning a lot of noise/loud music during the night (Saturday). Otherwise, all went really well! Very nice and friendly staff.

    The breakfast was absolutely fantastic!!! Very modern and well equipped room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    * Price * No soap tray (leaving the soap bar sliding around on the sink top) * Faucet on the side of the sink with very little room for your hands * Very cold toilet seat * Linens were not changed during the stay even with clear chocolate stains (caused by us, of course)

    * Great location * Great breakfast * A/C * Comfortable pillows

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    The room is very nice not too small and not too big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    The room is very nice not too small and not too big. Very good breakfast with wide range of dishes including healthy smoothies etc. Comfortable location, quite close to the center by walking distanse. Sunday check out up to 4 p.m. ! Perfect!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Conveniently-located hotel with great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is conveniently located about a 15min walk from the central station and within walking distance to attractions such as the Royal Palace, the Akershus Fortress, the pier to catch the ferry to Bygdøy. As previous reviews had mentioned, the hotel's breakfast comprised a wide range of items and was delicious. The lounge area for guests was a relaxing place to unwind and get a drink, and the included light evening meal was a decent option for guests who want to save on eating out. As a vegetarian, I wasn't able to eat the main course but I helped myself to the pasta salad, green salad and bread.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay in a great town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accross the Street at the corner there are 2 famous Bars located, noisy sounds until 2:00 o‘clock in the morning, ask for silent room if you have an appointement in the morning or carry some ear protectors

    Lovely prepared breakfast, every wish fullfiled,very nice personal,rooms as prescribed on webside ,perfect located closed to center of Oslo ,600 meter away from train station national Theatre, fancy furnitched , even the Lounge area,hotel offered there little dinner for free ,strongly recommented

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was outstanding from the welcome by reception, the supper in the lounge, the well equipped rooms with comfy beds, then one of the best hotel buffet breakfasts I have every had - great selection for all tastes and great quality. It’s a no brainer - value for money - great location- we will be booking again - can’t wait!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel, hopefully construction is over soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our stay was late April, early May 2018. The room, hotel and staffing was wonderful. The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety. Our only complaint was there was A LOT of construction outside, making it difficult to get to the front door and unload luggage and noise. Even on a higher floor it was a bit noisy. Not something the hotel can manage, as its street work. Good news is that is the only negative and its temporary. So check with hotel on construction status of construction and room location as part of booking process.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Great Stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    om cozy and well equipped. with water and coffee corner, iron, umbrella and toiletteries. breakfast made with love. very wide variety staff most professional and polite close to center and train station Lisa and Jonathan were so kind

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    The meals were incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meals were incredible. Large selection for breakfast and also the light dinner (which we considered to be a proper dinner) was excellent. The hotel was centrally located, walking distance to most of the tourist attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    One of the best hotels I’ve ever stayed in. Little details were thought about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed with memory foam mattress was so comfortable. The tv, slippers provided and water. The free light dinner included in price, the view from top restaurant. The convenience of it all, made our short visit very relaxing. Would definitely stay in a Thon Hotel again and will recommend. Had the comforts of a 5 star hotel, and I’ve stayed in some. Didn’t want to get out of the shower it was so good with 2 shower heads for choice. This is the first time I’ve felt compelled to right a review for a hotel, it was so good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, tremendous breakfast choice and quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a noisy bar opposite. On ascension day in particular the loud music travelled up to the 8th floor of the hotel where we stayed until the early hours (earplugs 100% required).

    Very friendly staff, tremendous breakfast choice and quality. Fantastic restaurant for dinner (we were heading out on last evening but rain started to pour so stayed in), by far the best meal we had during our week in Oslo.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Wise choice
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The room rate includes both breakfast and dinner. There were lots of breakfast options. Although the dinner was not varied as breakfast, it already exceeded my expectation. After all, which hotel would offer dinner as part of the room rate? The hot dish at dinner was especially impressive, be it lamb stew or chicken. We enjoyed our stay very much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    We stayed in room 811, across from the elevator, and I was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing- it was great!

    We stayed in room 811, across from the elevator, and I was worried about noise but the room was quiet (as we requested). The room was huge and comfy with plenty of storage. Loved that the windows could open since Oslo was having amazing weather while we were there. The breakfasts were wonderful and the evening dinner, while light fare, was perfect for travelers weary of eating out or heavy meals. We used the dinner the first night after traveling all day and it was perfect. Reservations at Hanami (Amazing!) the next night. We would have tried Paleo which had very good reviews but we were only in town 2 nights and wanted to eat on the water. Location is excellent, too with easy access to train, bus and tram stops. It was an easy 15 min walk with luggage from train station, 11 min by bus. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    It was a perfect place and very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I took 2 meals, Breakfast and Dinner at the Hotel and the spread of Breakfast was very nice. I wish they had provided more choice in dinner because I do not eat Beef.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Spot on
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothin that would prevent me rebooking.....Road works outside are major but being there Sat and Sub night did not impact....I organised a room at back of hotel which was quiet! Except for the noise if the fridge! Evening meal more of a snack and nothing to write home about....

    Great location and friendly helpful staff; booked superior room why but was spacious and well equipped.... Breakfast and location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Large room with a lot of useful stuff (coffee machine, BT...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although at the reception I was informed that in the lounge with dinner offer, I can serve everything for free, I was puted in the embarrassing situation when I try to take a beer from the refrigerator, immediately someone in the staff told me it was paying , i.e. 330ml 90 koronas (although there is no notice , price or price list).

    Large room with a lot of useful stuff (coffee machine, BT bosse, iron).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good breakfast, comfortable rooms, nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good breakfast, comfortable rooms, nice staff. Ask for a room on a higher floor/away from the streets, otherwise it can be noisy at night (bars&pubs across the street)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Cool hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has an excellent location, amazing breakfast that is included on the room rate The hotel also has an amazing and super cool interior design

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Well worth a Kroner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing bad to say about this hotel !! This place tivked every box you could want when staying at a hotel

    The staff was more then helpful and accommodating with request the breakfast selection was simply incredible and the rooms were spotless with all the gizmos and gadgets one could ask for

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    i am a vegetarian.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    i am a vegetarian......, the chef went out of his way to prepare a very tasty vegetable mix which the kids n I enjoyed a lot. Thank you so much for taking such good care of us!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent! The personal and attentive service of the staff made all the difference.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only minor thing was that the service staff at breakfast was a little too eager to clear the tables as soon as you left it for just a second it seemed (e.g., to go to the buffet). A little more coordination of staff would probably help. Rooms to the front of the hotel can be problematic if you have a light sleep (even in a room on a higher floor and with well-insulated windows) due to bars and night clubs nearby. Ask for a room to the back or side street.

    The staff was very polite, friendly and accommodating in general. The front desk staff (esp. Peter) was very helpful and had an exceptional service orientation all around. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. The location of the hotel is perfect for a city break in Oslo. I would stay there again and wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Modern hotel with great location and delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spots on the floor of the room, road works in the street, BOOSE sounds station in every rooms = lots of noise if your room neighbour like loud dance music in the morning : (

    Very large and delicious breakfast, great location, modern hotel, decent and well equipped room, compulsory light dinner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    This is a great hotel with lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more coat hangers.

    Great breakfast buffet with a huge selection - one of the best we've ever had and we've visited many luxury hotels round the world. We stayed in a superior double room - very spacious, large bathroom, very comfortable beds. Helpful, very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    one morning I left at 9.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    one morning I left at 9.00 am, and got back at 3.30 pm and my room was not done. And I've not been offered of anything to show the good will to meet customer expectations. Shame, because a part of this, this is a great hotel in Oslo center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel with awesome breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were told that the closest station is Oslo S but I would say it is in the middle between Oslo S and Nationaltheatret station. It will be somewhat a walk, especially if you have wheel luggage. We went to Nationaltheatret station when we left which was very much less crowded. The evening meal was a bit lacking compare to the awesome breakfast. It will be breads, salad, penne and 1 hot meals. It was okay if you want to save cost on meals but we ended up went out for something more anyway.

    The breakfast was superb which overshadowed the evening meal. Nice room and bathroom. There was a construction site outside but no one was working on it so we got away in terms of noise. Bed was big enough and comfortable. The location was a short walk to the Royal Palace.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Worth the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could be a bit bigger.

    Great Breakfast. Lounge to use whenever you feel like. Good beds. Free simple and enjoyable buffet dinner. Totally clean. New bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Had a lovely experience there, all clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have to admit the room was a bit dusty (for example, there was dust on the kettle), although clean in general. There was some construction outside so we were awoken earlier then we planned on Saturday :) Nevertheless, none of the above points messed up our stay, we enjoyed it anyway!

    Had a lovely experience there, all clean and comfortable. Special thanks and reward goes to breakfasts :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Most amazing breakfast! Helpful friendly staff, heated bathroom floors!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all great

    This place has got the most amazing breakfast! Helpful friendly staff, heated bathroom floors and if they installed heated toilets, I would move in there! 😁

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.8
    A good place to stay with an outstanding breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The evening meal was average. It was the same each night except for 1 changed hot dish each day. The room was small with no where to fit our luggage except on the floor. We couldn't even move the chair at the end of the bed as it was locked in by the desk. Apart from that the room was beautiful.

    The breakfast was fantastic and the staff were most helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can not find anything we didnt like. There was a construction outside, the whole hotel was shaking when they were working, but sound isolation was good enough and they have nothing to do with that so I can not say that’s bad for Hotel.

    Everything was just superb. Really. Staff was just amazing, smiling all the time, super helpful. Breakfast is one of the best we had in Scandinavia. They even offer evening snack, I wouldnt call it dinner, it was tasty nevertheless :) but free meal is a big plus :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect

    Check in was allowed a little early when we were just expecting to leave our bags, the girl at reception(Sofie) was extremely friendly and helpful and as were the rest of the staff every day. The room was warm, spacious, fabulously decorated, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was beautiful and the light supper was tasty too and handy as food in Oslo is expensive!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay. Will definitely choose this hotel next time in Oslo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to go home.

    Loved the style of the hotel...modern and well maintained. The staff were consistently friendly, greeted guests always, helpful with questions. The big suprize was the hotel's restaurant, Paleo. They have a basic philosophy thta's amazing. But even better our dinner there with friends was exceptional by any standard. You can forget looking for Oslo restaurants....#27 of 700 restaurants in Oslo is right there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel, great staff and the best breakfast in Norway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only small niggle with this hotel was the housekeeping. The staff came in to clean the rooms very early before we'd set out for the day, and they also didn't refill the toiletries during the 3 nights we stayed. The rooms were spotlessly clean, however the towels we left on the floor to be changed on the second day were just hung back on the towel rail and not replaced.

    Really stylish, modern hotel. Staff were incredibly welcoming and rooms were clean and well presented. Breakfast is the absolute highlight of this hotel! Amazing choice of food and drink options, prepared fresh every day. The inclusive evening meals were a welcome bonus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Enjoy your business trip and relax during weekend here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I missed nothing.

    Absolutely friendly and helpful staff. Modern in-room entertainment equipment. Great choice of high quality food at breakfast. Located in walking distance to plenty of shops, bars, clubs, only ten minutes walking from Oslo central station. Perfect quality per price ratio.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Great staff and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room heating was a little weak.

    It looks beautiful, the front desk staff were very kind and norwegian breakfast a must. Good shower and bluetooth speaker.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault!

    Before we arrived I’d read previous reviews and found myself increasingly curious about this amazing breakfast that almost everyone mentioned. Going with High expectations I was surprised to find I had under estimated just how AMAZING their breakfasts are! Not just that but everything about this hotel is above standard. I can’t recommend it highly enough

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    Beakfast was excellent, staff was helpful , Location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are diffent taxi companies .if you take from street it cost more. There is flat fee and taxi meters from airport. When arrive to airport get information from desk first. I am only dissapointed with taxi drivers nothing else from my Oslo trip.

    Beakfast was excellent, staff was helpful , Location was easy to access.hotel was very clean. I will stay again in the future.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel in interesting area of Oslo, wonderful breakfast and light supper was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was tight for two large bags as there was not a bag rack.

    Comfortable beds and large bathroom , and our room was on level 8 near the club lounge, great breakfast each morning, and the light evening meal was a pleasant surprise. Hotel is close to main attractions and shopping area. We travelled to and from the airport by train the National Theatre station. Heated bathroom floor was wonderful as weather outside was mostly below freezing during our visit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely! Apart from
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way that the booking.com advert promotes Bedroom and dinner is not quite clear as the dinner is simply a free optional extra served for all guests whether you pay for the dinner rate or not. The standard of the dinner was below expectation compared to the options and standard of the breakfast. We did speak with the hotel about this and they compensated us and offered us a complimentary night.

    Staff and rooms are excellent and it’s all in walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    Best breakfast anywhere, any country, any hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish it was closer to the train station. Room was fine. Clean, but bathroom light would not go off. Herr Nils bar has been there 25 years and is open till 3:30. Friendly owner, great place. But the crowd is a bit loud even with the thick windows. If you want peace, stay on the other side. I would stay there again.

    Best breakfast of any hotel ever, anywhere. I've been traveling 50 years, 30 or so nights a year. Staff was great too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Perfect city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel has everything and more you could want for a city break trip. Lovely clean modern rooms, wonderful staff, amazing breakfast and nice light evening meal. Great location too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.5
    Excellent breakfast and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light evening meal that was included in the price was a disappointment. If you are for example vegetarian, you won't have much to eat there.

    The room was comfortable and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. The location was good, close to everything but still not in the middle of the hustle and bustle.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast was lovely, so much variety and so tasty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldnt get your hopes up for the evening meal included it was a simple buffet of stew, cold ham and cheese and bread but still nice

    The breakfast was lovely, so much variety and so tasty! The reception staff were always happy to help and really friendly. Also the beds were so comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pub accross the road can get noisy.

    Great breakfast! Great included supper too! The restaurant downstairs is underrated and serves delicious dinner. The rooms are very comfortable! The smart TV is great too! The hotel is in a good location too. All the staff we're very friendly and always smiling!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Great staff - very welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature control in the room didn’t allow to make the room warmer, so a space heater was provided on request.

    Great staff - very welcoming and helpful. Awesome breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's amazing stay here and we met the very helpful and humorous owner, Rolf. We lost way to get the cabin and he drove quickly to find us and guided us. And then he introduced the fabulous place(I don't wanna mentiond the name and you can ask Rolf directly :) )to look the northen light!(even though you can see the light at the cabin's balcony!!!) . We spend the Xmas holiday at Leknes and Rolf gave us the good restuarant suggestion and guided us to the town. The cabin is very new decoration and it's also our favorite northern type! The balcony is above the sea and you can see the beautiful sunset. We think we will be back in the future summer and Rols said he will let us use his boat for fishing at the polar day's night! Rolf, don't forget that! :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location with the best breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little tough to navigate from the train station because of construction around.

    This is a business hotel but you wouldn't know if they didn't tell you. Super stylish with a great location... The breakfast, which is included is the best I've had for a hotel. This is a really good option if you want to save some money and experience Oslo. Short distance from Opera House.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    I wll defeinitely come back and recommend this hotel to others who is seeking for a good stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the breakfast selection is one of the best I ever tried not only in Oslo but also in Nordic Countries in general. staffs are friendly and helpful. the room is very comfortable. Just quite some walking distance from the railway station. Could be tough if you travel with big luggage and have to walk under snowing weather.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would be better if the house keeper replenished toiletries daily.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was amazing, spoilt with endless choices. Excellent location, easy to get to anywhere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Perfect and Charmingly Comforting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect Perfect Perfect. Everything from the welcoming staff, the cool decor, the decadent breakfasts was just superb. The demeanor of staff and ambience just made the perfect and pleasant stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    the reception staff were so welcoming and friendly- the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bathroom could use a bit more counter space to put toiletries

    the reception staff were so welcoming and friendly- the rooms had a great bathroom and very comfortable ebed- plus the food at breakfast was 1st rate- very happy staying there

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    An excellent hotel for a tourist stay in Oslo, great value and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds we had did seem a little soft and saggy which led to discomfort.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast chef was particularly amazingly helpful and concerned that everything was of great quality and what was needed. The breakfast was probably the best we have had on this extended trip in terms of variety and quality. We really appreciated the evening light meal and thought that this was a very nice return to classic hotel management. We also appreciated the fact that you could heat the bedroom and bathroom separately.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, fantastic staff, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Totally impressed by this lovely hotel. Everywhere was clean and tidy with all the expected, usual amenities. The breakfast provided in the morning was absolutely delicious, with a huge range of fresh juices, smoothies, tea and coffee. A 'light supper' was also provided which was more than adequate for an evening meal. The staff at the hotel were all very happy and friendly. Maria made our stay at hotel particularly enjoyable, serving breakfast in the morning she was incredibly cheerful and friendly and we found ourselves looking forward to seeing her on the second morning of our 2 day stay! Value for money was excellent considering the prices in Oslo!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t figure out how to make the room temperature warmer

    Everything- seriously a fabulous hotel with lots of little perks like dinner in the lounge, unlimited tea and great coffee and an AMAZING breakfast. Liked the smart tv to access my own Netflix etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Don't book a room on the street site during weekends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a standard room on the street site. We stayed friday night. Opposite to the hotel there are 2 nightclubs. At 3:00 during the night we were woken up by a lot of noise. Looking true the window, we saw about a busload of people standing on the square, smoking outside, loudly being drunk. Some fighting and screaming. A bouncer that was drunk and therefore was more of an agitator than a peace keeper. This lasted about half an hour, afterwards there was loudly beeping cleaning machine, sweeping the square. Off course you can't really blame the hotel. But a good advice, if you stay the weekend, inform before you book, don't except a room on the street site. Value for money ratio is not as good as a business room.

    Staff is helpfull, service with a smile. Breakfast superb. We stayed in a business room the 3 nights before, but had to move to a standard room for our last night. The standard room is a lot smaller felt a bit cramped. However clean and comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    We had a nice stay in a business room. Staff is helpfull , service with a smile. Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A door stop , behind the door of the bedroom would be an improvement, but now we are nitpicking. We wanted to book our entire stay in a business room, however had to spend our last night in a standard room. And this turned out to be a quite different experience. See our review of the standard room.

    We booked a business room on the 8th floor. The room had a seating area, separate bedroom and spacious bathroom with rain shower and a bath. If you travel during winter , a bath is really recommended.After sightseeing , a citywalk in the cold, a bath is a dream. The room was very clean, up to date. Actually this is one of the few hotels we have encountered were we couldn't find the smallest spot of mold in the shower. Excellent breakfast,we couldn't find anything,and we mean anything, that was missing. The chef was very helpful as well as all the other personnel. Service with a smile. The free included "light evening meal" is actually more kind of a snack but tasted excellent. WIFI worked perfectly, 2 flatscreen tv's with internet acces. OK these rooms don't come cheap, but considering that you are in Oslo, good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's nothing I can say I disliked. This was definitely one of the best stays I've had recently.

    Everything was excellent at this hotel, especially the breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.9
    Fair choice with good amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. The complementary water was only sparkling. All the info on the room was in Norwegian. I think most of the customers are foreign and they don't speak Norwegian.

    Great location. Excellent breakfast. Good evening lynch.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gluten free bread for breakfast would have been beneficial - whilst there were gluten free options, bread is helpful

    Free dinner was brilliant, so helpful and convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Hotel very well located in downtown Oslo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in downtown Oslo between 5 to 10 min walk from main bus or train stations. Beds are very comfortable. Rooms are very quiet. Staff friendly and very helpful. The breakfast is fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.6
    Great stay, fab location and welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were wonderful, friendly and always happy to help. The location of the hotel is excellent, within walking distance of pretty much everywhere and access to public transport, tube, bus and tram close by. The room was a good size, not huge but room for everything and nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Overall nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was our 25th wedding anniversary and I don’t feel they recognised this even though they knew. The chap on reception asked if we were celebrating a birthday ! It doesn’t take much ...

    Decent hotel in a good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    The breakfast was amazing;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy at night given the close proximity to the high street! Otherwise it was extremely comfortable.

    The breakfast was amazing; and staff were really friendly. Requested late check-out as my flight was in the evening without any fuss. Room was modern and the heated floors in the bathroom is a nice touch for a cold winter's day.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: