Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Bergen This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Rosenkrantzgate 7, Bergenhus, 5003 Bergen, Norway

#1 of 49 hotels in Bergen

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 808 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    10
    pleasant stay in Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, close to major sightseeing sites and restaurants. The breakfast was outstanding and the breakfast staff extremely nice. We stayed in several Thon Hotels while in Norway, this was our favorite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    9.6
    recently renovated, very friendly staff, breakfast best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not low-budget of course; to put it into perspective tough: in Norway high-quality breakfast & evening meal is very expensive anyway

    recently renovated, very friendly staff, breakfast best choice and quality ever seen, evening meal included (possibly not for every room)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    10
    Fantastic location right in the middle of the town, very modern interior design and delightful food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff are a real asset to the hotel, very attentive and friendly but the real gem in this hotel is the food the breakfast was absolutely wonderful not only was there a huge variety but the flavour was amazing and the free evening meal was delightful I would have paid and booked in to eat it so being free was a huge bonus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    10
    Me and my friends really enjoyed our stay here, it was quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just one thing, we arrive 7am and as expected the room is not yet clean but we are willing to wait so we ate breakfast first. We came back 10am to check if the room is ready and it is still not. That’s fine so we sit down at their lounge. We can see a lot of guests that are also checking in and going up. Means their rooms are ready. We asked again by 12noon. Still not done. Again, we are seeing a lot guests checking in and going up to their rooms. 1pm still mot done, By 2:30 it’s finally ready. I work at hotel industry too, and if we have guests that are waiting we make sure that we prioritize their room by communicating with the housekeeping dept so it will be done soon. We don’t make our guests wait for almost 8 hrs. That’s just my complain but we had an excellent and comfortable experience overall.

    Me and my friends really enjoyed our stay here, it was quite expensive for 1 night but it was all worth it. Everything is perfect, clean and the staffs will reakly make you feel welcomed. But the best part of our stay is the breakfast!!! It’s the best! I have yet to find a hotel that can beat my breakfast experience with them. Kudos to all the breakfast staff you are just so wonderful. Will surely be back again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    8.8
    Awesome staff sure made the difference!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first room we were given was small, cramped, and noisy on Saturday night, so we asked and they switched us to a much nicer quieter room facing the courtyard.

    The staff, from the people at the registration to the breakfast and dinner, they were all genuinely friendly and so helpful! By the time we got there it was the last leg of our European vacation and we had been at six different hotels and on an 8-day river cruise and this hotel had the best staff of all!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    9.6
    Right behind the Bryggen, this hotel is located perfectly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Right behind the Bryggen, this hotel is located perfectly for sightseeing, although the city itself is very compact anyway. The breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    10
    The evening meal was a lovely touch and the two meals I had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The evening meal was a lovely touch and the two meals I had were beautiful, lovely staff. Fantastic breaky. Gorgeous hotel in the perfect part of Bergen. Loved it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful modern decor, great in-room amenities, really good breakfast & dinner, super location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At first they put us in TINY room--we insisted on being moved--next room was fantastic.

    Beautiful hotel, accommodating staff, gorgeous room, fantastic breakfast and dinner served, super location, great views from our room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    9.2
    Would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weather was warm and no A/C. Opening windows may city noise loud...oh well.

    Great Breakfast...marginal dinner...don't opt for dinner but don't miss breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    5.8
    Excellent location & breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No aircon & room and other parts of hotel were uncomfortably warm, bedroom window wouldn’t stay closed, not 100% clean upon arrival, safe broke, effective communication with some staff was difficult & young blonde woman on front desk gave me attitude

    Excellent location & breakfast. Some staff tried hard. Room was big.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    9.6
    Great location in the center of Bergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was expensive but by Norway standards a good value.

    A good location very close to the waterfront but back a block so noise, traffic and pedestrians are not an issue. Our room did not have a view and I doubt any rooms have a good scenery view. If you're driving there is a parking structure across the street. It's not affiliated with hotel but it's really convenient. It won't be full because it's a little expensive - like everything in Norway. The included breakfast is a spectacular.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    8.8
    Location, staff and breakfast make this hotel a winner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No AC, rooms were too hot to sleep some nights, even with windows open. A few things did not work, the Bose speaker wouldn't stay connected properly, the hair dryer worked intermittently. The Nespresso machine was broken 3 of the 4 days we stayed there, so there are a few things that need attention but nothing that cannot be fixed:-)

    The location could not be beat and the staff were all amazing! The breakfast has to be one of the best I've ever had in a hotel. Overall I would recommend this hotel highly and stay here again, but I'd recommend splashing out a bit more for a different room as the standard rooms are quite small. We only had the evening meal once, it was okay if you want just a salad and fruit, nice of the hotel to offer it as most don't offer any evening meals. The afternoon tea and coffee was much appreciated!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    10
    The view over the historic area and water and the most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room very tiny with sloped ceiling - literally in the peak of the roof. But had nice views

    The view over the historic area and water and the most amazing breakfast buffet in all of Norway!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    10
    Hotel Rosenkrantz is the Best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Everything about this hotel was superior. The most outstanding thing was the massive and delicious breakfast. The staff members were unobtrusive, friendly, competent and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    10
    Very friendly and knowledgeable staff - they gave us great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly and knowledgeable staff - they gave us great recommendations for places to visit and nearby restaurants. There is also a Nespresso machine in the lounge that guests can use for free!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    9.6
    Good location and a great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Complimentary dinner was not worth the trouble. Lobby is smart and efficient but not very welcoming.

    Good location and a great breakfast. Spacious, clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    10
    absolutely fabulous hotel and staff serving fantastic food in the most perfect location EXCELLENT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff helpful in changing my mother's room as I had asked for rooms near to each other but her room on 5th floor and ours was on 2nd floor but our room not the nicest location by laundry cupboard looking out onto flat roof ...hopefully a more favourably located room on next visit

    Fantastically enjoyable long weekend ....excellent flight, excellent airport bus connection, excellent hotel and location, fabulous quality and choice for breakfast BEST EVER, very tasty light evening meal which was also delicious and a generous touch to guests having complimentary tea and coffee throughout the day and all staff very helpful and friendly......we will definitely be returning to this hotel in the very near future

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    10
    10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is amazing but didn't change at all in the 3 days we spent there. I see it as a minor improvement point from excellent to perfect ;-)

    Perfect location, right next to the Unesco heritage site in the center. Very helpful, smiley staff. Excellent breakfast. Nice to have the light dinner as well, as limited as it may be.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location close to airport bus old town Bryggen and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Norwegian prices! and the rain

    Perfect location close to airport bus old town Bryggen and waterfront and also to Flobahn. Staff friendly and food very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    10
    Best Hotel in Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel quoted me a fixed price taxi to the train station for 150 NOK but the taxi driver charged me 210 NOK

    Helpful and friendly staff, nice size rooms with comfortable beds and pillows, delicious complimentary breakfast and evening meal, great location for sites in Bergen, reasonably priced with free WiFi. One of the best hotels I have stayed at in Europe!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    10
    Couldn’t ask for more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Couldn’t ask for more. This hotel has a perfect location one street back from Bryggen and a short walk to the funicular for Floyen. We used the light railway from the airport, gentle 10min walk from the last stop at Byparken, cheapest option from airport to Bergen 37kr. The staff are tremendous, so friendly and polite, can’t praise them enough. As all will tell you, the breakfast is amazing. I can’t think of anywhere else we’ve been that had the choice as this hotel. Loved the local delicacies and canapés, liked when the chef came round with freshly made cakes and Bloody Mary (minus the vodka), nice touch. Complimentary light evening meal was perfectly adequate but may not suit all. Coffee, juice and snacks where free in the afternoon. Our room was on the sixth floor with views of the harbour and mountains, not the biggest room but perfect for a short break. Bathroom was nice with underfloor heating. Liked how the elevator only went up when accessed with your room key. If we’re ever back in Bergen, this would be my first choice for accommodation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous Hotel in an excellent location with staff who are
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really missed the fact our room had no bathtub although I do accept that this is a personal preference. The only negative I can mention is that the walls are quite thin and obviously not sound proofed, as a result our sleep was disturbed quite frequently by noise from the adjoining rooms, we were however unfortunate in that the next room seemed to be a family room with a young baby and as such we were regularly woken by the crying throughout the night. Not really the family fault or the hotels but worth remembering that a pair of ear plugs would be invaluable as it really did seem like the walls are paper thin.

    The staff at the hotel are fantastic,always willing to help and with a smile, nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast buffet was second to none, with every possible choice you could wish for. The location is also perfect, one street back from The Bryggen, 5 minutes from the airport bus stop, just yards from the funicular to the top of Mount Floyen and within a short walk to the shops, restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    9.6
    We really enjoyed this hotel and would highly recoomend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast buffet was unbelievable! The light supper was wonderful after a long day with Norway in a Nutshell. Recently re-done, the hotel was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    10
    Best place in Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect!

    Amazing breakfast! Best we’ve experienced! Fantastic location, so close to everything Bergen has to offer. Situated in the Bryggen heritage area, near the funicular, city centre, fjord cruise departure, airport express, restaurants and museums. Wonderful staff, all day hot drinks and snacks, light supper included in the price!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    10
    A wonderful stay, we did not want to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect, nothing could have been better!

    Huge and comfy bed in our superior room, great view looking over rooftops to the water and St Mary Church, amazing choice at breakfast, the staff was friendly, courteous and an absolute credit to Thon Hotels. Loved everything about our stay and so glad we finished off our holiday (Hurtigruten cruise) with two nights in this luxurious hotel in such a lovely city!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel in the heart of old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Fantastic breakfast. Coffee and cakes all day long, and proper coffee too from a N’esspreso machine. Light evening meal was tasty and filling after a cold day walking the sites. Central and quiet location. Clean, tidy, reasonably spacious modern bedroom with all the mod-cons. Beautifully appointed bathroom. Excellent staff - polite, communicative and helpful, especially Senta on the front desk who was wonderful. Spic and span the whole place. I can’t think of any fault. Rosenkrantz is top notch at a good price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    9.6
    Incredible breakfast, great value, excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We read in the reviews that the breakfast was great so had high expectations; even so the breakfast still blew us away! So much choice, so fresh, hot, cold, savory, sweet - we had to skip lunch we were so full! Staff were great, always super friendly and helpful. Location is perfect; right next to funicular, old town, bars, restaurant and harbour.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel with great breakfast in the heart of historical Bergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our first room was tiny and there was too much furniture it in for the size of room. So we could open our suitcases we put a table and chair in the shower. There was a terrible drain smell in the bathroom, we stayed in the room one night and tried flushing the loo and running the shower etc. to clear the smell. We reported this and when we came back from exploring they said they had cleaned the room better. We had pointed out the issue was the drains so no surprise the problem was no better. I was disappointed that nobody from the front desk or a manger had gone to check, they had relied on the cleaning staff. So we had to go back to the terrible smell and then back the desk to say we couldn't stay in the room. It would have been nice to come back and be told we need to move you. Once it was clear we needed to move they dealt with it very well and we got a lovely upgraded corner room. The booking said dinner was included. For me this meant a meal with choice in a dining room. What is actually provide is more like what you might get in a business lounge. It is a hot dish, with a side dish that also doubles as the vegetarian dish, some bread, salad, and something small and sweet maybe chocolate brownie or something. It is help yourself and is not in the dining room but a sort of lounge area. Within the price of the hotel this is actually probably still good value but it is just not what was expected.

    Location is ideal, easy walking to everything. We even walked from the station with our suitcases - might be a bit far for some. Breakfast was excellent - big focus on high quality ingredients etc. There was free help yourself tea, coffee, hot chocolate during the day often with cookies or something left out as well. Huge choice of teas and Nespresso coffee. All this was free, so a great bonus when everything in Norway is so expensive. They moved us to a fabulous room after the problems with the drains. We would stay in this hotel again but would probably pay for a better room if all the cheap rooms are in the roof.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were extremely friendly, very helpful and accommodating. The bed was extremely comfortable and the location of the hotel was excellent. I would definitely stay in a Thon hotel again and i would recommend this chain to friends and family

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    9.2
    This hotel stands out due to its excellent breakfast,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel stands out due to its excellent breakfast, cheerful stuff and amazing service. Thank you very much, Rosenkrantz, you will definitely see more of me soon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    7.5
    Would go back in a heartbeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was outstanding!! Evening Supper included in the price was outstanding!! Rooms were well appointed. Front office staff was polite and well spoken. The breakfast was excellent and so much variety z

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    10
    Breakfast was extraordinary, and overall I could feel that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A sauna would be nice after the ice cold trips in the mountains.

    Breakfast was extraordinary, and overall I could feel that the hotel did everything to make my stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    7.5
    Great breakfast and evening meal.
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The internet is slow, and inefficient at times. They have a smart Tv, but I will not use it for private matters. The minibar prices are inconsistent. I believed it cost 110NOK for a bottle of red wine, but discovered by chance that the price is 255NOK. Since this is a big hotel chain, and the custommer is always wrong in Norway I had to pay 255NOK. Great service, but this brings it down a bit.

    Great breakfast and evening meal. The gym was great and included a free protein bar, and a snack bar. Free coffe, and mineral water.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely loved staying in this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely loved staying in this hotel! The breakfast was incredible and the evening meal in the lounge was exactly what I needed after a day exploring. The rooms were fantastic as well as the general service! Views from the rooms were beautiful and the hotel’s location was perfect. Will definitely stay here again as well as other Thon hotels!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    9.6
    Good breakfast in Norway during my trip and the staff is very nice and helpful
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    nil

    The hotel located near the city center. All the sightseeing point located nearby the hotel. The bed is very comfortable. The staff is very nice and helpful especially the one she carry out the check-in for me. She also explained to me where can I park my car as the parking lot of the hotel are fully booked. The breakfast is very good that the good I eat in Norway during my trip.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel, conveniently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great hotel near attractions, good restaurants, museums, Floibanen funicular. Included were extensive breakfast, light dinner, as well as tea/coffee all day in lobby. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Decor is a very attractive mix of bright jewel tones, room was clean and functional. We really enjoyed our stay here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very minor point---Room was small (but functionally appointed)

    Great hotel next to water, funicular, major attractions, and good seafood restaurants. Interior was clean, rooms were attractively decorated. Best breakfast! and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are sleek, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast is unbelievable!!!! There is anything you can think of and lots of things you wouldn't. Try the dark chocolate with your oatmeal or muesli. The "light" evening meal is different and freshly prepared each evening. This hotel has an Italian chef and a wonderful young staff that he mentors. The food is really terrific, but is limited with no menu "per se" to order from. There lots of good restaurants close by if you want other food. Hotel staff are lovely and really helpful. Perfect stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    10
    It was a perfect stay & we will certainly come back. Staff, food, comfort & cleanliness all a big ++
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room (606) under the roof was somehow very hot: also with both roofwindows open during the night. I can imagine that this room during summertime is kind of a sauna.

    The breakfast is unbelievable! Perhaps one of the best I've ever had. The included dinner is also very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    10
    I have never had such a marvelous breakfast in a hotel as in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have never had such a marvelous breakfast in a hotel as in Rosenkrantz! Really spectacular. When we stayed at Rosenkrantz (October 2017) they had just won the third price of excellent breakfasts in Norway.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    10
    Amazing !!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They nailed it!!! I got everything that I needed during my visit. My room is awesome.

    Amazing breakfast, room is efficient even though small like other European hotel room. Staff is nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    10
    Great Hotel very convenient in a super expensive Country!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As usual the super fluffy pillows become too thin for my tastes, anyway a doubled towel can resolve this issue.

    Excellent Mini Bose Bluetooth diffusor in the bedroom. Evening light dinner very good and satisfactory (with the exception of the "Italian" fettuccine with red sauce and mini meatballs!).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel location & fabulous breakfast to start the day— Bergen not to be missed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    While the view from the top floor room was grand, our headroom was impinged & care had to be taken not to crack our heads during the night. But the bed was quite comfy for us.

    Fabulous breakfast options & lovely breakfast room. It was great to have the option of having an evening bite but it was not as complete as the morning meal. Loved the area — don’t miss the funicular— & had a nice meal close to the hotel. Be prepared for rain! Rain gear and umbrella both are called for.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast, dinner and location are reasons to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was pretty small and we couldn't put the suitcases under the bed so had to be careful moving around the room. This got old since we were there for 4 nights. My husband kept hitting his head on the slanted roof. Don't know if there are larger rooms available or not. No drawers or shelves to unpack on. Luckily we brought an over the door hanging storage bag.

    The breakfast was great - lots of hot and cold choices. Their bacon and scrambled eggs were wonderful. My husband loved all the different types of bread. Also providing a light dinner (we had pork and dumplings, and pasta with chicken meatballs so not really too light) at night for free helped us keep within our budget. Eating out in Norway can add up in a hurry. Glad there was an elevator too. No AC but the windows opened for fresh air.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    9.6
    A delightful place to begin a long journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we didn't like.

    The staff were especially kind and helpful. Moments before stepping into the reception area, I tripped and fell flat on my face on the sidewalk (my fault/suitcase hit a sidewalk drain). Without asking, the front desk took one look at me and rushed to make an ice pack for my bruised lip. The room was a delight. The bed was so comfortable, especially welcome after a long overnight flight. The room so clean. Hotel is well situated for easy access to the harbor and in-town sites.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    9.2
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room the first night was extremely noisy due to a neighboring apartment with all night activity! We were able to move to a much quieter room, but make sure you specify "quiet room!"

    Location was excellent. Complimentary breakfast and dinner buffet were outstanding. Staff very friendly and helpful. Pleasant, spacious lobby with bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    8.8
    Great city, great hotel and staff. Remember the prices are steep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing in particular. All good

    The staff were perfect and could not do enough for you. The food was good but could do with being a little warmer. Norway is expensive and the hotel reflects this in its prices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    10
    Great location - one of the best breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Great location. Everything in the room worked. There was a vast selection of tasty things on the breakfast buffet. They also had what they called a "lite" meal, which was included, each evening that was more than enough for dinner. But the included breakfast buffet was the best.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    5.8
    Based on the above I would never stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not get the room category we reserved which was an upgraded room. At check in we were told we were getting an upgrade but that was very deceptive. The ground floor of this upgrade has a small area in which there was a tight spiral stair to the upstairs actual room. It was impossible to lift suitcases up this stair so we had to leave them on the floor. The bed was in a tiny tent like alcove which was very claustrophobic. Lesson learned for me- don't take such a room without checking first.

    breakfast was very extensive and good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    7.9
    Good location but service not that great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rude front desk staff who embarrassed my friend. Street noise and paper thin flooring that keeps you awake at night.

    Great location, spacious, well decorated rooms and a delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    8.3
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor is a little dated. However, the rooms are well appointed with toiletries, bottled water and a coffee machine.

    Staff both at the front desk and in the restaurant were very friendly. I accidentally left my rain jacket at the Hotel and the staff made arrangements to mail it back to me in Canada.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    10
    Everything at this hotel was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything at this hotel was wonderful. !!!!! Best Hotel in Beautiful Bergen,and Best hotel breakfast in Norway. When in Bergen Norway, go to Hotel Rosenkrantz.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is in front of the hotel and costs 250 NOK for 24 hours.

    Excellent location. Very good breakfast and light lunch in the evening. Comfortable beds. Nice lobby with free coffee and tea.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    9.6
    Great breakfast and light evening meal at an excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything that needs improvement.

    Breakfast was excellent. The hotel also offered a light evening meal which was not only convenient, but very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    10
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower a bit tricky to use without getting the floor wet

    Amazing buffet breakfast and nice dinner included in price. Location central but quiet. Rooms great size and set up.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    9.6
    I would definitely stay at this hotel again, mainly because of comfort (and breakfast!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Duvet and pillow were of synthetic material, which made bed very hot, a personal hate. No wardrobe or anywhere to keep clothes other than suitcase, or hook with hangers. I was there for a whole week, but this wouldn't have been a problem if you're only staying one or two nights, as most people seemed to be.

    Amazing breakfast buffet! Young waiting staff in restaurant super friendly and helpful. Light evening buffet - free! - good and adequate. Lovely friendly chef on hand to chat to guests. Location perfect, walking distance to major sites, and public transport. Although room was small, it was very quiet and bed very comfortable. Great shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful Bergen and a very nice stay at Bryggen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no air condition. So the room was very hot. And the street was quite noisy at the nighttime.

    The breakfast was perfect. Location of the hotel was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although in general the staff was good but while checking out I called for a taxi to go to Hurtigruten terminal. The taxi came within 10 minutes but I was surprised to see the cost and ended up paying a lot more than otherwise people would have paid. I think the staff could have been more transparent on how taxi operates when you call them from the hotel, which would have set my expectations right!

    Very friendly and welcoming staff. The room was also nice, although a bit smaller than I expected. Location is good and close to all the tourist destinations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful city, friendly and helpful locals, worth the trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little bit of a hike from downtown. This was the end of a 10 day trip, and I was getting a little tired. But if that is my only complaint...

    The staff was great! Very helpful and accommodating! Our room was excellent with a good view. We were on the top floor, which was a little stuffy as first. Kept the windows open, and it was fine. The food was very good, and the wait staff were fantastic! My friend is allergic to tomatoes and dinner was lasagna. The chef made a special dish for her!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    8.8
    Great
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing obvious.

    Having the evening buffet waiting when we got there after traveling all day. Finding suitable rooms for our party of 17. Providing toiletteries.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    7.1
    The room was quite small and weird layout - a MASSIVE tv...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite small and weird layout - a MASSIVE tv pretty much cutting the room in half! it had a lovely view though and overall we really enjoyed the stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    7.1
    Very close to the old part of the city and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small bathroom. "Chemical" fragrance in the corridor.

    Very close to the old part of the city and shops. Very nice breakfast and dinner, lot of choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    7.1
    Economical but good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was small and I bumped my head on the eave

    I was busy there do opted for the breakfast and light dinner included; this worked out well. The food was simple, but fresh and good, and a welcome change from some of the heavy meals I'd encountered

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2017

    9.6
    Great Pĺace to Stay in Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Complimentary dinner was poorer selection of food, the only negative of the hotel. Something to use for a quick bite.

    Great location with a friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast buffet was excellent,great selection and high quality. Room is quiet and an adequate size.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location easy walk to harbour waterfront and all restaurants and attractions. Nespresso coffee and jug supplied in room. Ironing facilities. Evening meal included (set meal) handy for the tired traveller. Free coffee and tea making facilities in the foyer, ice machines on every floor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    7.1
    Very tiny room, excellent food and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was too small for queen size bed - barely able to move on sides of bed. Felt like they converted a single room to a double. Big screen TV was mounted on foot of bed. Very awkward space, poorly laid out.

    Breakfast was terrific. Hotel also offered a complimentary "light supper" which was a full meal and prepared by excellent chef. Hotel staff was also great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    tiny little ones: I do think the receptionists do things very slow, I am sure they want to do check-ins and other things carefully . But really really slow! and the hotel charged me 0.25 dollars when I checked out. I haven't figured out what the money is! And I am quite sure it's not guaranteed money or other fees. And the receptionist also couldn't tell what it was. So , I will keep on contact with the hotel until I can know what it is!

    the breakfast and the service are both very impressive! My friends and I like it very much.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2017

    9.6
    Exemplary Norwegian standards: superb breakfast and friendly, professional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Superb quality breakfast, with locally sourced dairy products, meat and jam, a fine example of Norwegian high standards. Everything is fresh and we especially liked the wide range of energy shots (fresh hotel made juice with bits). The complimentary light dinner is delightful and the service is memorable too; staff are very friendly, helpful and smiley. We moved to Radisson Blu hotel as our booking was done by an agent- although the hotel charged almost double the price for a similar sized room, the quality of their breakfast was very poor in comparison. Thumbs up for Norwegian chains; thumbs down for US chains.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2017

    9.6
    Worth considering
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much for views, but spent most of my time outside anyway. It appeared one of the lifts was out, but never really waited either, so really stretching here. It was a good choice although it does come at a price too but it is in the heart of the Bryggen area.

    Location of property to all Bergen sights, excellent breakfast, very helpful staff and although small room (fine for Norway!) it has everything you need, including drapes that keep out the light. Helpful and professional staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2017

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is noisy overnight with garbage trucks so it is necessary to sleep with the windows closed, When the windows are closed the room is too hot and there is no airconditioning to help. This is the only issue with this wonderful hotel.

    Frilly staff, god facilities alway clean, open availability of snack, tea coffee water at no additional change, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2017

    10
    Staff were very helpful and breakfast dishes had a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The toaster for breakfast broke and wasn't replaced.

    Staff were very helpful and breakfast dishes had a good variety. The chance to have a free buffet evening meal was a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    9.6
    Much more than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff did not understand what was the meaning of deposit credit card when we checked out.

    The breakfast is very good.Also the evening meal made us very happy as it was healthy and fantastic. The hotel also provides Nespresso all day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    10
    staff very cheerful and helpful, breakfast was fantastic,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff very cheerful and helpful, breakfast was fantastic, location central to touring highlights of Bergen, free light dinner each night was a plus given the cost of eating out in Norway

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    7.9
    What a breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The 'complimentary' evening meal on arrival was very poor and rather off putting but fortunately in the end, a complete contrast to the rest of our experience.

    Comfortable spacious room with good facilities. Pleasant helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Very good location in centre of city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    10
    Amazing location and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is in a great location in a charming part of Bergen, just a block from the waterfront, and close to the funicular, fisherman's market, cafes, and the airport shuttle bus stop. We had a suite with a pull out sofa for the kids and the room was a nice size and well appointed, with the service genuinely friendly and very helpful. The breakfast buffet was fantastic - including fresh squeezed juices, and the light dinner offered a hot pasta option or 2, with various salads and cold cuts. We would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Bergen Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: