Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tyrifjord Hotel 4 stars

Sundveien, 3370 Vikersund, Norway

#1 of 1 hotels in Vikersund

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 431 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Tesla charger, which is unacceptable for the price of the hotel and in a country like Norway which has so many teslas. Only ancient normal plugs available, which don’t give enough charge.

    Rooms were clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Assigned seating at breakfast, by the kitchen entrance, far from the view. Room was very small, window on lake tiny. Seemed to be much smaller than website indicates. Parking on a grassy field as a large convention of youngsters and families on the night we were there. They were clearly given priority over people just passing through. We departed early in the morning.

    Hotel is located well overlooking a lake (not a fjord).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though the food is delicious, the drinks and meals are overpriced.

    The hotel is situated on the lake. The room was quite big and everything was very clean. The breakfast was delicious. They have a nice lounge and terrace where you can have a drink or dinner outside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had a rowboat for hire but it was out of the water. Not sure if it was out for repairs or simply storage. In hindsight, I should have pushed them a bit more to see if they could launch it for us.

    The location is beautiful with a lot of outdoor activities possible - swimming, hiking, boating, biking... Short distance to Blaafarveverket cobalt mines.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We want to stay anonymous but want to give our feedback because they really deserve a thumbs up. We were two Danish families arriving from the ski slopes in Hemsedal, Norway. After two and a half hours drive, we arrived at Tyrifjord Hotel tired to our bones. We check-in, showered and headed to the hotel restaurant where we had made a table reservation the evening before our arrival. It was just heaven. Imagine having cooked 3 meals per day during 4 days for 7 people, we were so happy to be served that evening. After dinner we moved over to their lounge area. Really cozy place with a little fireplace. Next morning we enjoyed the breakfast buffet with a beautiful view of the water front. Breakfast was open from 07:00-10:00 and check-out at 11:00 so it suited us really well. The restaurant filled our thermos with coffee for the long road back to Denmark. That was really appreciated. We had the Family room for 2 adults, 1 child (age 9) and my sister-in-law and her family had the adjacent Family room with 4 single beds. Hint: if you are travelling 2 adults + 2 teenagers, I recommend you book the "Family" room and then call the hotel and ask for the Family room with connection door. If the hotel is not fully booked, they will maybe be willing to give you two stand rooms with the connection doors for the same price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom requires renovation, on evenings wifi not strong enough, dirty beach with sunbeds

    Very nice surounding, quiet place, nice personnel, good food in the restaurant - we had breakfast and dinners there, triple room quite large but with small window.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed became a bit uncomfortable over a longer period. A small fridge would have been helpful

    This breakfast was the best choice on our trip of two weeks. We had a view of the water with chairs to enjoy in our room. Peaceful except for a bit of noise in the hall

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a bit more information about what's available at the hotel such as prices for activities and where the sauna was....( yes I know I could have asked) but it's also nice to have it written down too

    Good selection of breakfast and room was very pleasent and spacious, beds were comfy. Shower is amazing !

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bed arrangement not as requested

    beds were useless and not as requested

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is very comfortable, good location and has very good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    dinner was very very expensive

    staff are super and never rejected any request except the refund for the esrly check out if one day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Non-aplicable.

    Best bed I have ever slept in. Great scenery with beautiful gardens & outside areas. Very welcoming receptionist.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee was really bad. Taste and smell.

    Thr view was amazing. The lobby of the hotel was very welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel on a lake. Room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very good! Very calm

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Lake view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent breakfast. Possibility to play minigolf. Quiet place. Good dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle.

    Great place, very peaceful, large and comfortable rooms. Awesome breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, lunch

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive food in the resturant

    Nice hotel close to the lake. Great for families with small kids.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ales bestens

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    not helpful staff. they don't even smile

    The Apartment size was good for a big family

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    party at night was noisy

    location next to a lake good breakfast replace a family room with two rooms at no additional cost

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beach with dogshit (or other) all over (not cleaned and therefore not usable)

    Nice hotel room, good breakfast buffet

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My breakfast eggs were burned...

    I liked the scienery both from my room window and the restaurant's. The room was clean and comfortable. The dinner a la carta was delicious. Breakfast bufet was beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing at all

    Very friendly and helpful reception, good service in the restaurant and excellent quality food for reasonable pricing. Nice views from the windows

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Surly breakfast staff. We wanted a quiet twin room. We got a cramped double too far to pick up the wi-fi. When we requested a room change we got a noisy twin right next to the front door. Did not sleep well.

    Nice spot on the fjord.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful staff, beautiful location,

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location on the lake is beautiful and outdoor areas are pleasant

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Amazing lake view from balcony. Clean rooms. Rich breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location Friendly staff

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Browse Tyrifjord Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: