Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hamar Vikingskipet 2 stars

Åkersvikveien 24, 2321 Hamar, Norway

#4 of 6 hotels in Hamar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 860 hostel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a non smoking establishment but some people next door sat outside their room smoking and that smoke smell penetrated our room as we had the door open in the evening. When I mentioned this to the reception they took note and would ask the people who were going to be there for some time to move away from the verandah when smoking. That was an excellent respons from the establishment.

    Quiet room in complex build for the Lillehammer Olympic winter games in 1994. Room was small but satisfactory for one night stay. Breakfast is buffet style with excellent choices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the small side. The soap dispenser in the shower did not work. There is no air con in the room but this was known prior to booking.

    Easy to find with helpful friendly staff. Good breakfast buffet with good coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is in a other industrial location and far from restaurants or so. It was OK for me as I needed just a bed for the night. Otherwise, I would not have stayed there.

    It was rather a small apartment, and the fridge/freezer in the kitchen was really handy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom smelled, but this could be minimized by keeping the toilet lid closed. Not much space if you slept on the top of the bunk bed.

    The room would be good for young people as they could easily climb up the bunk bed. Also good for people who would spend their time outdoors most of the time. The room was hot/stuffy so you had to keep the door and window open.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOISE, NOISE, AND MORE NOISE....NO SLEEP!!! Building is poorly insulated so could hear EVERY car to drive by (even with windows shut...so then got hot). Someone within a few blocks played LOUD music from 10pm-4am. It sounded as if in room next door but we went outside at 1am to check...it was not. Our chests could feel the beat of the drums despite noise being blocks away. Check in staff was young man...pleasant but not too helpful...could tell he'd rather sit out front with his friends and talk.

    The breakfast was a good traditional Norwegian breakfast. Was walking distance to the downtown and train. Room was clean and facility "appeared nice." Morning staff was nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably the most expensive cheap budget place I have ever stayed at. The scrambled eggs at breakfast (even though served on a hot plate) are apparently supposed to be cold?!?!?!? Yum! This is a place to simply stop for a quick sleep on a drive thru, not to be stayed at for a few days. Room is smaller than most bathrooms at other hotels. The free wifi is about 1 or 2 bars in the room.

    Cheapest place available in town.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    SOME WARM FOOD SAME EVERY DAY SALMON CHEESE HAM? BE NICE FOR A WARM BREAKFAST AT THIS PRICE WHICH IS 5 STAR PRICES

    NOTHING BREAKFAST LIMITED COLD NO HOT FOOD

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived in Oslo via Munich from Singapore. Long flight to Munich with 5 hrs of transit plus 2 hrs flight from Munich to Oslo. We rented a car and wanted to travel out of Oslo to stay for the night since we were heading north. A short 2 hrs drive from Oslo. Near the expressway, good decent breakfast, quiet. Although the room was small, it was adequate and functional. Convenient as the car can be parked outside the room (easy to load and unload luggages).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noice

    Nice place. Good breakfast. Good bed, but couldn't sleep much because of noice from some kind of electrical installation. Tried to call reception at night, but no help. Was like having an old refrigerator in the room. No idea where it came from, but definitely somewhere inside the building. Even if rest is good, sleep was all that I came for, so a huge disappointment.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish people interacted more, but the facility can't make them do that.

    I liked the mix of people. It was very quiet. One can eat right there and the food is good. Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restuarant was very expensive and they did not have childrens food or pricing so we had to make our own food.

    Nice clean hotel with kitchens in the rooms

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We felt the rate charged was too high for what we received. The room is very small. It was quite warm the night we stayed there and there is no air conditioning. If it were really hot, it would be most miserable. We paid extra for our breakfast, based on a review of how good the breakfast was. We did not share that view and I would not pay for breakfast again if I returned for another stay.

    Although the name of the property does not identify it as such, this is a hostel. We did appreciate the fact that the bedding and towels were included in the price.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot.

    Staff friendly. Breakfest very good!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed room was hot better ventilation such as air conditioner would be a help.

    Beds were comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely hot in the room and we couldn’t ventilate much

    Nice people Nice room and bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mainly cleanliness and price!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There not enough parking spaces

    Small and cozy room with a private bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    all was ok

    Clean quite nice place. Parknig near the hotel, beautiful srounding, good breakfast, very strong Wifi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room a bit tiny but ok for the price

    Good price, helpful staff...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall good value for money; great breakfast; overall happy with the experience

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a facility used to house athletes in 1994 Olympics. Rather strange rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Vary tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be more diverse.

    Rather small and quite hostel, each room has a separate entrance and heating system. Very nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very close to the Hamar Vikingskipet. Close to the center.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is too small. Shower curtain smells really disgusting.

    Delicious breakfast.free parking and good WiFi.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small cottage, quiet area, good breakfast. 15' from downtown by walk.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice room, good food and a great breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor soeeking

    Facilitiesr

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scrambled eggs were always cold.

    Comfortable. Friendly staff. Interesting people coming and going.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not ready when I arrived.

    Late check out was no problem.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic but very clean and has all one needs. Decent breakfast. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting system in our room was more complicated than necessary. Bedside lamps are placed too low.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brekfast very good, clean!! 😁

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Located very close to the road. We arrive very late due to a delayed, and the staff was waiting for us. He gave us a better apartment than the booked. It was heated and very comfortable. Very good and complete breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Bad Ventilation (wett windows in the morning), train-trak near by. bad acoustic isolation.

    God access with the car, Parking-space and best price in town.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's very nice, clean hotel, 15 walking from railway station, exactly opposite of Olympic Stadium. Breakfast was good, specially the omelet☺️ Highly recommended this place☺️

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The kitchen is only suitable for 2-3 persons at a time. It's too small. The porch lights stayed on for too long, which made it more difficult to sleep. Also, it was raining through the night, which made a lot of noise when the rain hit the roof of the building. We hardly had any sleep because of this. Also, there's nothing really in Hamar. I guess most people only stay here if they are going further north or coming south and don't want to spend the night in Oslo (like us). In my opinion, it was way too expensive for the location and the facilities you get.

    The breakfast was amazing. Lots of choices and the ability to have it at 07:00.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bed was rather uncomforable and a full ashtray on the terrace was directly appalling.

    Nice and clean in general. Very practical for a small family on tour.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we had Karbanada with fried egg & salad, sadly the meat let the meal down as it was dry & chewy

    All the staff were very helpful & Friendly, the breakfast was fresh & tasty

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We heard the guests above us very well.Sometimes we wondered if they were elephants. We could also hear snoring from neighbouring rooms!

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great breakfast friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice room, good breakfast and nice staff

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Couple

    Close to E6.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The curtains could have been more obscurating.

    Very comfortable little flat with perfect accomodation, in a quiet neighbourhood.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small room , there was a problem with the lights. Not in the centre but if you have a car than it's no problem

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    waste bins not emptied daily, towels not replaced regularly

    friendly staff and good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi did not work in room.

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse Hamar Vikingskipet traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: