Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Yess! Hotel 3 stars

Tordenskjoldsgate 12, 4612 Kristiansand, Norway

#14 of 30 hotels in Kristiansand

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2417 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel with hostel character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a hostel character. We know it is a low budget hotel, however, we booked a room with a double bed - the room we got had a double bed but also a bunk bed inside. The bathroom is really tight and small. Beds could be a bit more stable and comfortable. Breakfast could have a bit more of a wider range to offer. We felt that the price was not justified for the overall quality that was offered, mainly due to the hostel feeling.

    The hotel is located near a shopping street, so if you need to buy anything you have all kind of shops nearby. The hotel itself seems new and modern. It was clean. Breakfast is provided. Parking spaces available for 140 NOK per day.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.6
    This hotel has excellent price-performance ratio and is in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit too small

    This hotel has excellent price-performance ratio and is in perfect location close to the ferry terminal as well as to the city center.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Ran our of toilet paper.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ran our of toilet paper. And the sink is too small plus only one towel . The breakfast on saturday morning started at 7.30 So i could not make it , they could start earlier at 7 for example.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    4.2
    Basic hotel at a price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic hotel at a price. However the rooms are so basic they are not really comfortable. The place had dirty corridors with used linen piled up from the previous day Breakfast minimal and run out of some things Wont be staying anymore

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.4
    Close location to the station and the ferry terminal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unit was very spartan in appearance. It was dirty. The toilet hadnt been flushed. The breakfast was inadequate

    Close location to the station and the ferry terminal

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.3
    Good if you take the ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The photos on Booking.com for the small double room we had, do not match the reality. Very small room without wardrobe, a single chair and a tiny (however practical) bathroom. In this bathroom I washed my hands in the smallest sink ever seen; you can barely put your hands inside. Less comfortable bed with one side access and a very soft mattress. The quilt is too heavy or summer days. Overall, the room seems to be one for a single person with a larger bed

    It is a hotel for one night practical for those who take the ferry to/from Denmark. The location of the hotel is at 2 min. drive from the ferry and just in the heart of the city. A very helpful receptionist who helped us with all the information we needed to be oriented in the city. Parking is free between 4pm-8:00am on the street, just in front of the hotel. An acceptable breakfast served starting with 6:30 allows to catch the ferry at 8am. The hotel, as well as the room, were very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    Excellent for travellers who don t want to miss the ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    maybe old fashion , but we missed a water-cocker on the room

    Well located hotel near the ferryterminal. Very nice staff.... helpfull . For one-night staying was our room oke with view on the secured parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice cozy hotel in the middle of the city, with close proximity to public transportation - train, bus, ferry. Staff was courteous. Room was tidy, but the trashbin in the toilet still contained trash from previous guests. Breakfast was okay, basic, nothing fancy. Extra linens and pillows under the bed/in the beddrawer.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.7
    We were cozy, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking lot was super tight and the room was slightly larger than a parking spot. It is the smallest room I have ever seen, smaller than our room in Paris.

    It was clean and the front desk (when open) was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    The staff was really friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing that I didn't like. I didn't try the breakfast though :)

    The staff was really friendly. The location is rather good. The room is cosy (even though some might find it small). The wifi was working fine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    We had a very cozy bed and it was good for two nights,a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not good,it was a poor choice....no fruit at all....staff on the other hand was very friendly in the kitchen....

    We had a very cozy bed and it was good for two nights,a little small but cozy..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.8
    good for overnight with little luggage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely small bed for two persons, no place to put luggage in the room, problems with adjusting water temperature and probably the poorest buffet breakfast for the hotel ever

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    The location was very convenient for our trip on a ferry,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one minus was the bunkbed and the ladder which was very uncomfortable and dangerous to climb

    The location was very convenient for our trip on a ferry, there was a supermarket right next to the hotel. The room was very clean, the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    A good choice if you are passing by Kristiansand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking lot was full when we arrived, so we had the leave the car on the street. Thankfully, it is Norway! The rooms are really small, but this is a low cost hotel, so it’s understandable. Apart from that, nothing else to say.

    Great location, close to supermarkets and restaurants. Good shower and clean room. The staff was really kind and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    Good. Functional and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floors were Lino (easy to clean) but very functional Small bathroom No tea or coffee in room but downstairs

    Very close to Color Line terminal for the 8am ferry to Denmark Parked outside safely. (Need to pay until 630pm) Breakfast from 0630hrs so enough time to get a coffee before we left Easily accessible on foot to the main part of town

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly staff Anna.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff Anna. A most excellent person who couldn't do enough. It is not a luxury hotel and is only cleaned when you move out but you can always get fresh towels

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    4.6
    he airco was turned on cold (too cold) and when we asked the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    he airco was turned on cold (too cold) and when we asked the staff to turn it off, they said it's for the whole building and that they cannot turn it off. The previous days were hot, but during our stay the weather was rainy and cold, making the airco very unpleasant. The room was very small and the second pillow of the double bed (room was for 2) was in the drawer underneath the bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.8
    Nothing special, just usual hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is literally tiny, if you put your bag on the floor, there will be no empty space The breakfest was really poor In general, everythng is ok, but it should cost at least two times less

    Nothing special, just usual hotel However, doesnt worth 3 stars

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    Simple and clean hotel with great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Simple and clean hotel with great location. Perfect for business travels! Simple breakfast with wholewheat/white bread, cheese, ham and jam. Juice, coffee and tea.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    Extremely friendly staff, nice for that price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't know that you have to reserve a parking spot, otherwise we would have done it for 140 NOK/night.

    The staff was perfectly friendly, we nearly never had so nice people working in the hotel. You can walk to the city center in some minutes, the highway is near (but you don't hear anything). The room was clean, also the bathroom - and the breakfast was good. For that price, I like it!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Ok for one overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking place for the Hotel customer, we had to take the easy parking App for public parking place

    Good breakfast, functional room, enough for 1 night

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    We misunderstood the type of hotel this is!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air conditioning. We misuderstood the hotel description. The rooms are tiny. However, we were still quite comfortable.

    Very close to ferry terminal for connection to Denmark. Clean room. Staff very friendly and helpful. Parking available. Close to city center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Smooth!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra pillow was missing in the bed drawer below :-(

    Very well arranged, smooth and fully automated even for late arrivals. Comfortable bed and clean and well prepared bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value for Kristiansand with breakfast included and a comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The male member of staff failed to inform us that the car park had a security gate which required a code, which he failed to give us. Consequently when we went back to our motorcycle we were unable to get into the car park, along with another family.

    Availability of free tea, coffee and soft drinks in the dining area during reception open hours. Cheerful Female member of staff who checked us in early as my husband was feeling unwell and was very helpful. An asset to the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Very nice budget hotel close to the shopping street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small, but it was quite OK just for a nights sleep.

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They had kept one parking for us, as I had asked for, even thought we came a bit late. The room was very clean and had good ventilation. The breakfast was simple but good, and the shopping street was just around the corner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny. I had to climb over my wife to get in and out of bed. But you get what you pay for. In Norwegian terms this is an economy level hotel

    The location was excellent and the staff exceptionally helpful. We liked the breakfast too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Worked for a night, probably not longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was soo small but cute.

    Breakfast was adequate, we liked the sayings on the walls very positive. Everything was so nice and clean. Both of the young women who took care of us were friendly and very efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    Cramped but it worked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above, also very cramped.

    Breakfast was not available until late on Saturday, so we missed it, as we needed to catch a boat. A bit of a wait for someone to show up at the front desk to register.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for one night stay before/after taking the ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be better

    Good Location - close to the ferry and the central street with lots of restaurants and cafes. Great view from the highest floor - if you get the right room with the wide window. Convenient parking for 140 NOK/night, pretty cheap for Norway. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for one night stay before/after taking the ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be better

    Good Location. Great view from the highest floor. Convenient parking for 140 NOK/night, pretty cheap for Norway. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location in central Kristiansand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise comming from A compressor installed not far from our window.

    Anna, the lady in the reception, was absolutely fantastic helping us in every single detail. Room was very big, clean and confortable. Wifi connection was OK. Big parking space (paying).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Very friendly and welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed air conditioning, windows needed a clean from the outside.

    Very friendly and welcoming staff. They were so helpful, and made the stay wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Great for weekend get-aways
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was a bit expensive - given Norwegian standards it was decently priced, but still higher compared to other European cities Room was rather small and had a small bed

    Good location and good breakfast Room was clean and warm

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Absolute recommend place to stay..good value for money...Not many hotels has employees with such
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit better space in room for heavy weights as me:)

    The hotel is what you can expect. Economic.Simple concept..but with excellent staff.. breakfast incl. very clean and parking involved to the hotel property,, For me great location... Since it's only 1 to 2 minutes fr

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    Okey hotel for one night, an affordable option for a family of four.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn’t feel clean, found traces of hair on the bedsheet. The bathroom was very tiny. There was some traffic noise during the night that made it hard to get a good night sleep.

    Nice staff, helpful and smiling.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.8
    It is an okay hotel, but you don't get anything other than what is absolutely necessary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is absolutely depressing and considering what we paid, it is quite basic. Nothing extra, not very charming. You get nothing more than what is necessary. Choose only if there is a good offer.

    The property is quite new and the staff is very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not so much choice of food at breakfast. It was missing warm food.

    The location. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was really friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome hotel with great basic ammenities for the price! Friendly and accommodating staff in reception and also at breakfast. Fresh bread at breakfast! Clean rooms, good beds! Our 2nd time here and we will definitly use this hotel again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Best choice for a short stay in Kristiansand. Pets welcome !
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    since it's listed as a budget hotel, it attracts all kind of party crowds on saturday, which were loud until the early morning. No staff around at night.

    Excellent location in city center, very friendly and helpfull staff everywhere during the day, clean and modern hotel, very good bed and shower, nice breakfast. Small but adequate secure parking behind the hotel at 140 NOK/day . Pets welcome for an extra fee of 250 NOK/room/stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Location and staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is really poor. I was really upset with it as there is not many options for vegan people. They just have oranges, but slices (very tiny ones) so basically it’s better to have breakfast outside the hotel

    Location and staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    Clean, simple, very straight-forward.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very sparse and the hotel lacks personality. But overall that is expected wrt low pricing. The staff are very warm and welcoming though.

    Clean, simple, very straight-forward. Easy to check in and easy to park. Parking costs 140nok per night. Very easy to access from Motorway, and everything in city centre is within walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    Anna was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It said that they offer parking spaces but there was no more place so we had to park the car on the street.

    Anna was amazing! She is super nice and helpful - I’ve never felt more welcomed at any place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    nice, clean, staff was nice, beds were comfortable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there were summer duvets used (and it is still winter) so warming up took a bit of time. the breakfast could have more variety.

    the rooms were clean and comfortable, the bathroom was nice and warm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Convenient and hassle-free; food can be a struggle
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited food choice at breakfast! Mainly eggs, cheese and bread. It can become a struggle if you are staying for more than one day and you find that you have to supplement with your own food.

    Amazing staff! Ways smiling, positive, chatty bit genuine! Warm, dry and a clean place where everything is always working just as it should.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    Would stay there again now that I know what to expect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have no complaints...for the most part...maybe another chair in the room? but again, the hotel is upfront about its business model.

    Breakfast was simple but to the point if you are used to a Norske Continental breakfast. Since I had many Norwegian breakfasts in the past, it was delightful for me. Too me aback. The bread is to die for. The staff bends over backwards to accomodate. The location is awesome. The rooms are simple and to the point as advertised in this type of "unique" hotel. Kind of a Ryan air business concept...except they will serve you food at no additional cost! No frills, no thrills, just good, clean economical lodging.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    great city centre option
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location, great friendly and helpful staff, parking outside and behind hotel. Basic but good facilities. For Norway this is a great value hotel. Oh and includes breakfast and access to tea and coffee included!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    I will book it again - no problem.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing was negative.

    The room was clean, but it could also have been some other light, moor dimmed light. There are no shelves or more bugs in the bathroom, therefore, a little more space to place you things, otherwise fine. It was also nice with a fridge. A few more comfortable chairs will be nice when staying there for several days. But very nice that you can bring you dog. Breakfast fine.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.3
    Location is perfect.
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom sink is way too little, not easy to use without getting water all over the place. Sometimes was getting cold in the room because the whole wall under the window is actually not the wall but window glass with a picture taped to it. It is a big window from floor to ceiling. It would have been much better if the bottom part was somehow covered with more than just a sticker picture. The fact that reception only opens at 3p.m. and closes at 22p.m. can also be problematic at times. But arriving and getting your key outside reception hours is not a problem, it will be left in special mailbox for you. Ckecking out in the same manner.

    Location is perfect. Staff extremely nice and helpful. Breakfast is very simple but just enough, without unnecessary waste of food etc. Beds are very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Very pleasant, convenient and issue-free. Staff are truly wonderful, positive, smiley and helpful!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited options of food at breakfast which is exactly the same every day. To be honest the bread is delicious, crusty, warm and tasty, but... If someone does not eat bread or cereal they have to expect to eat only boiled eggs and cucumbers every day. For a one day trip this is not a problem. For a week long trip this is difficult. A simple addition of few more veg (like tomatoes), some cottagge cheese or real (as opposed to processed) ham or some sausage etc. would be perfect.

    The hotel is warm, dry, clean and generally well looked-after. The staff are absolutely amazing. Very positive, helpful, with big smiles and buckets of energy. The location is great - right at the centre of the town. Close to shops, restaurants, caffes. A connection with the university is brilliant, with busses available almost every minute and within a walking distance of 5 mins from the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    6.7
    The breakfast was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like the room. It was almost like a room at a hospital. The bed was OK, but I did not like the small table and the plastic chair!

    The breakfast was good. The staff were very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Comfortable and perfect for our needs!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We arrived 3 hours early for check in and had large suitcases and a member of staff saw us and allowed us to lock them in store room so we we free to walk around town! Little things like this have a big positive impact!😀

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit earlier check in would be appreciated.

    Very convenient location, easy to find and to reach from central bus station. Easy to navigate around the city, as hostel is located in the centre of everything. Check in is late, however you can stay downstairs and enjoy free coffee/tea, which is provided all the time. Excellent choice for Kristiansand.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    GREAT!! thank you Rose and Louise. Strongly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small thing but signage on the front might have improved hotel visibility.

    The staff were welcoming and helpful-Louise and Rose were excellent reps for the hotel. Breakfast was one of the better ones and the room was clean, warm and relaxing. The hotel was close to the ferry terminal and train station-we arrived by ferry and left by train and walked to both. We loved this place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    Barracks type lodging
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too spartan for my taste.

    Barracks type hotel. Clean but no frills. There is a tv and free wifi. Parking easily accessible for $15 US. Location good for catching ferry and pedestrian walkway for town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    We felt safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We needed twin beds and what we got was a multi-level arranged bed. I pulled out the bottom of the bed so had to sleep near the floor (which as an older person can be problematic). My friend got the main bed which was a double size.

    We felt safe. Large room that was very clean. Shower had lots of water pressure. Great breakfast. Staff were helpful. Room was quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.1
    The room was ok for us although this was The only hotel in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ok for us although this was The only hotel in Norway that charged us for a crib for our baby. The warm bread at breakfast was really fine and it seems that Its ok to make some Sandwich for The travel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel in the centre
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I rang as advised because I was arriving after 10pm. I was told that everything was fine and my keys would be in an envelope. They were not there, i had to ring and somebody came quickly but after a 15 hour journey the 20 minute wait was a little frustrating.

    Very close to the station and right in the centre of Kritiansand.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.9
    We asked twice if it everything was OK for the check-in,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked twice if it everything was OK for the check-in, because we would arrive at night. Everything was okay they said. Then on the day of arrival, they called that they needed more information.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    We loved the falafel wraps from across the street!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't get to our car once the parking was closed in the evening.

    We loved the falafel wraps from across the street! Super friendly people, delicious food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    I love this hotel and i'll be back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff is very nice, So surprise with breakfast because i booked the room without breakfast. Apple juice is delicious. Location is great. I walk from pier only 10 minute. Supermarket is very close to hotel. Car parking is behind the building.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    Close to the centre of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There only seemed to be one member of staff for the hotel at one time and it is fairly big hotel. which caused queues at checking in. The the girl sorting out the breakfast bless her she was working so hard but couldn't keep up with demand. The room was tiny, comfortable but small and I think we were both bitten with bed bugs over night. I had quite a few bites on me the next day but I couldn't say for sure it was the bed. The breakfast though was something else, I know this is a budget hotel and I have stayed at many budget hotels but I have never had to eat off paper plates and plastic knives and forks before. They claim it environmentally friendly but surely if you just use a reusable plate and wash it that is more environmentally friendly than all that waste to be recycled. The breakfast was awful it was a free for all, there was food everywhere and spilt all over. I ended up just having a coffee because I couldn't face the fight to the food. We paid a fair amount for this hotel and you pay for the location. If we stay in Kristiansand again I think I will stay out of town and bus in.

    Close to the centre of the town. Its a bright budget hotel and querky which was nice. Has parking too but they hadn't secured our parking although I had requested it but they were very accommodating. Staff looked about 18 but they were always happy and polite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    Clean hotel, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could have been bigger

    Clean and comfortable no frills hotel. Good breakfast and super friendly staff. The rooms are very small so with lots of luggage it is pretty cramped.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.9
    Helpful staff, disappointing breakfast
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is not more than a very basic selection of the cheapest bread, cheese and ham types known from Norwegian grocery stores. And it's served in a too small, hence overcrowded room.

    The room card can be picked up after the reception closes, so late arrival is not a problem. The staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit small

    Friendly staff @breakfast. Nearby parking. You can use the parking of the shopping center on opposite site of road Good value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Very good service, good breakfast, and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It could have been air condition on the room.

    Very good breakfast. The bread was fresh. The hotel was good located in Kristiansand. It was very good service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    good location, everything you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sink was so small that it was hard to fill up water bottles and there was no cup provided. The room would have been fairly small for two people, but was fine for just myself.

    the location was perfect for what I needed - restaurants within walking distance and just minutes from the Ferry for the first morning ferry to Denmark. Parking outside the hotel was easy. The rooms are minimalistic, but have what you need.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.1
    Good stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a few parking spaces available. We booked one in advance but upon arrival there was no place to park our car.

    Soft mattress and easy late check in service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.3
    Acceptable with reservations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely small rooms, even by european standards. Most Cruise ship cabins/bathrooms are larger and more comfortable. Parking can be an issue in the area as there is often very little space and it is public parking which means high prices. We had to walk several hundred yards to the hotel.

    Staff is very helpful and friendly (speak very good English). Breakfast buffet was okay...typical European, don't be looking for hot stuff. Wifi is excellent and free. The hotel is in town and all of the town is easily accessible by walking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    5.8
    No!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A cold, sterile, clinical hotel experience. Everything is geared to cutting costs. Room not serviced every day, thin towels, tiny room, tiny bathroom, the list goes on. And the travesty of paper plates, bowls and cups and plastic cutlery at breakfast. Not even worthy of a backpackers hostel.

    The staff member at breakfast. Reasonable location close to the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    6.7
    COMPACT ROOM, ALL BASIC BUT FUNCTIONAL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Postage stamps have a bigger area than the room. Bed is stuck against the wall and 1 person has to shimmy up over the other to get in and out. Bathroom has a toilet, shower and sink, but the sink is smaller than the old spit basin at the dentist chair of yore. Shower works fine, as long as you don't extend your arm. If you are the kind of person who needs a belt extender on an airplane, don't go there. YESS is basically a cleaner (I mean more aseptic) version of an IBIS hotel: compact, basic, perfect for 1 short night: arrive late, go to sleep, wake up early, shower, eat and leave. However, the price is too high for the value received. In retrospect, if I have done enough research, which I did not, I would have gobe elsewhere. One last thing, you can pay cash, but they don't have change. so if your cost is close enough you the bank notes you have, no big deal. If not, well, credit card is better (I paid cash because I wanted to get rid of all the NKR left)

    Location OK, close to center of town, pedestrian area and port. Very spartan but clean. Breakfast was much simpler than what we had been accustomed to while traveling through Norway, but plenty enough to feel good before hitting the road.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel in a good location with very problematic parking situation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Huge problems with parking! Very, very limited number of parking places. Please correct this at booking.com that you have almost no parking available or preferably create some parking booking system!

    Breakfast was ok, nice was getting some sweets from the hotel staff for our onbound journey. Hotel was clean and really close to both, the ferry terminal and the city center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    2.9
    Budget but overprized , I would not recommend
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super tiny cheap room with even more tiny bathroom. poor and budget, Asked for another room but been told there is nothing available. The key does not work properly. The breakfast is poor. Very budget, but overprized, did not get anything for the price 1090 NOK we paid . I would not recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly staff, Anna was very cheerful and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small sized room, although for the money paid I guess it was ok. Would have been a bit tight for 2.

    Very friendly staff, Anna was very cheerful and helpful. Excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.9
    Friendly budget alternative in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Budget savings included limited opening hours of reception, disposable breakfast cutlery and plates and no cleaning of rooms during multi-days stays ( possible on request). Poor lightening in room and no mini-safe available.

    This is a modern budget hotel, with friendly and helpful staff and acceptable room comfort, but with limited services, compared to traditional hotels. Bed comfort was adequate, and there were beds for 3-4 persons. Bathroom was well working, but cramped. Breakfast offer is straight forward, parking is in the backyard (extra charge) and location is great for city visit. Good value for money, considering the tourist season.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Very modest, but value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Modest facilities and comfort: small rooms, no lobby, paper cups and plates for breakfast, nothing extra anywhere. But you get what you pay for. (Half the price of several alternatives in the area.) The location is great. Close to railway stations, ferries, shopping and restaurant area. Friendly and welcoming staff. If you just want a place to sleep and eat breakfast, it is an excellent alternative. Second time I stay there, and would choose it again. Value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: