Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Nepal hotel reviews
  3. Pokhara hotel reviews
  4. Reviews of Fish Tail Lodge

Reviews of Fish Tail Lodge

P.O. Box 10 Lakeside, 33700 Pokhara, Nepal

#126 of 249 hotels in Pokhara

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 74 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    10
    A beautiful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The very special location of the hotel as it is surrounded by the lake and the beautiful Himalayan peaks views (if weather permit). It is very easy to access the hotel as there is a 24/7 boat service and it only takes a minute to get across. The food was also fantastic. It is a unique place to stay when in Pokhara as one of the oldest hotels in the area. The staff is very helpful and willing to assist with any bookings or treks. You are also allowed to leave your luggage when going on trekking which is much appreciated and helpful. We very much enjoyed our stay there.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    6.3
    Good place, quiet and away from the hustle bustle of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Value for money isn’t great. If you are planning to just sit at the resort it might be a good pick. But if you’re spending more than half of the day exploring lakeside and rest of Pokhara you can go for a much cheaper but very good options in the lakeside.

    Good place, quiet and away from the hustle bustle of the town.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    6.5
    Overall Disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were extremely uncomfortable. So much so that I awoke with a sore back. We were in room 68, perhaps this is not the case throughout the complex. The duvets has lost their fluff. The booking stated that bathrobes would be provided which were not present. When requested, the ones that showed up were old, grey and musty, completely unacceptable.

    Beautiful and quiet location. Friendly and attentive staff. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and considered it good value for 1250NPR.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    8.3
    Very nice lodge but very expensive for what it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast not included in high price. Staff somtimes a bit rude at dinner time. Réceptionnist not very helpful.

    Room very nice and clean. Beautiful park and calm area. Restaurant is good quality.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    10
    Authentic Pokhara vacation - gorgeous views of the lake and mountains!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is great! Feels far away from the hustle and bustle of the touristy area. The garden setting is lovely and the staff extremely courteous and helpful. We will definitely stay hee when we visit Pokhara again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    9.2
    The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We felt the breakfast at $20 was overpriced and although OK wasn’t good value for money.

    The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the staff excellent helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    3.3
    Its a very bad place to stay, no power plug was working ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its a very bad place to stay, no power plug was working , very often the power was going , intercom was not working , we found more stressed out than leisuring the stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.6
    Fish Tail...we will see you again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Simply put...we will return to this place again when we are in Pokhara. Almost everything, was spot on. Their envious location (view of Fewa lake and the Annapurna range), warm staff, food options, you name it. Bird lovers will simply love this place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    6.7
    Loved the barge ride across the lake and waking to verdant green, flowers and sunshine on the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As mentioned lumpy mattress...my friends had a good king-sized bed mattress. Poor range of beverages at the bar

    Location and grounds. Rooms good but ‘tired’ my mattress firm (which I have at home) but lumpy! Good satellite including World Cup Good breakfast - attentive staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    10
    Relax and enjoy this fantastic lodge with glorious mountain views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fish Tail lodge is in a unique location - to get there you go across on a hand pulled barge. The view from the lodge across to Fish Tail mountain and Annapurna ranges is spectacular!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    9.2
    We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff looked after us so well that we stayed longer than planned. Food was delicious and freshly prepared. Hotel is located on a peninsula, only reachable by short boat ride. On a clear day the mountain views are breathtaking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2018

    9.6
    Full of old world charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food. Although the buffet was extensive, one of our party was ill after the meal.

    The view, the boat trip across the lake on hotel's boat, to get to town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    4.2
    THE WORST EVER EXPERIENCE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I just leave this terrible hotel with the WORST experience I have ever met in my more than 40 countries travel history. When I check in, the reception man named Nevis (or Navis, Nervis) was very indifferent and cold. He spent much more time on trying hard to persuade us buy Ultra-flight service by him than explain the hotel's facility and service. Because we know if you go to the Flight club directly it will be cheaper , we denied his suggestion. Today when we check out, I can't find our passports(That man keep our passport when we check in and I really forgot it at that time). I opened all our luggages to search the passports. I just stand around the reception desk within 2 meters but that man say NOTHING. I spend 15 mins searching and become very anxious but he pay no attention to me. Then his colleague came in saw I were worried and he asked me what happened. I told him I can't find our passports and we have to go asap to the airport. At that time that man also say NOTHING!!! Then I suddenly remember that man didn't gave the passport to me at all! So I ask him, his answer totally shocked me! He said slightly he forgot to give back! He showed no sorry! His excuse is he try to gave back to us but can't find us.Actually,at least 2 times we passed by the reception to have lunch, he saw us, but do NOTHING! I totally understand his behavior. Only because we don't buy any amuse project from him. What a rediculous hotel and service!! I hope such guy never stay at hotel. I also hope the Fish Tail Lodge's manager can handle with it seriously. It is really really ugly and bad! To the hotel part. Room is old, long time no renew. Food is expensive and bad taste. Location is good. Enviorament is excerllant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    9.6
    I'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Given that the property is isolated, it would have been a plus if they had had a store for "essentials". Specifically a shop with sun tan oil and a few swim suits would make a lot of sense. They did not, but they went out of their way to assist with finding and bringing back a swim suit. It worked fine, but its a shame that so much extra effort was required. The place is amazingly beautiful and all staff do their best to make one feel at home. Great memory!

    Lovely, quiet facilities. A joy to be there. The place is amazingly beautiful and all staff do their best to make one feel at home. Great memory!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    10
    RELAXING,REJUVENATING REFRESHING AND REVISITING FOR SURE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE RESTAURANT HAD LIMITED CHOICE OF MEALS FOR THE INDIAN PALLET AND ALSO THEY DIDN'T GIVE US THE INDIAN TASTE AS IT WAS BLAND.COULD DO BETTER.THALI SHOULD HAVE SWEETS INCLUDED AS IT IS A HINDU CUSTOM TO SERVE A SWEET TO OUR GUESTS.

    NICE SMILING,COURTEOUS,HELPFUL,WELCOMING STAFF WHO WERE ALWAYS READY TO ASSIST AND GUIDE.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2017

    5.0
    we paid the room fare in reception when we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we paid the room fare in reception when we arrived. However, the hotel charged the same amount again to my credit card! We knew it when we back to China.... Now still waiting for the hotel to return the money back! This is a crazy mistake!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    5.4
    Fair stay but hotels staff and policy need reviewed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disappointed that the hotel is making money on wifi unnecessarily. If a couple take a room both should have access to wifi unlike paying for the other person on a separate play MENA plan. Staff should knock the door and wait for response before entering. Front office staff can at least pretend to be polite.

    Unique Location and easy access to the airport

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    10
    Beautiful and idyllic setting away from hustle and bustle of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful and idyllic setting away from hustle and bustle of Pokhara.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    7.9
    excellent setting of hotel with great views of the mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    excellent setting of hotel with great views of the mountains. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    10
    Beautiful lakeside property, comfortable rooms, and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful lakeside property, comfortable rooms, and good food. All staff were lovely and helpful. Loved taking a kayak to the temple!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful setting / kind and helpful staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location / lovely garden

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    10
    perfect!!! Good for Family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i like the location and ambience

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    6.3
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Smell old building and really old and needs to be upgraded .

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    7.1
    View is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too expensive and without breakfast. Location is not good, long walk to the streets

    View is good. With sufficient facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    8.8
    Good relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No indoor sports or leisure activities One one massageur in the spa

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    6.3
    Beautiful canoe trip To the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff unfriendly at reception and prices extortionate

    Beautiful canoe trip To the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    10
    Staff was outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was outstanding

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    10
    Excellent!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No.

    the design of room is so nice. Beautiful hotel. Restraunt is good. Thanks a lot! hope the next time to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    10
    Staff was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    9.2
    A beautiful facility, all th staff are nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I hope they have a package with breakfast.

    A beautiful facility, all th staff are nice and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    9.2
    An idyllic lakeside getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was OK BUT NOT OUTSTANDING

    Fabulous location and amazingly relaxing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    7.1
    Good location, average facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Facilities , buffet spread , wifi

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    10
    A retreat in the midst of sheer natural beauty
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Views are spectacular of the Annanpura

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    9.6
    Most gorgeous location, cannot beat it in Pokhara
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to pay (quite a bit) for wifi in the rooms. (access in the restaurant is free)

    the restaurant garden is amazing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2017

    6.7
    The staff was extremely helpful, and the setting was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room should have been remodeled 20 yrs ago.

    The staff was extremely helpful, and the setting was beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2016

    8.3
    Really nice location & great place to relax from lively...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    About 170 US-$ (excluding breakfast) for one double-room is simply too much even though a certain part (how much?) is donated to a foundation, breakfast was too simple for 12 US-$, only one free WiFi-code for access in the room

    Really nice location & great place to relax from lively Pokhara, comfortable rooms, lovely hotel complex with swimmingpool

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2016

    9.6
    Very nice and relaxing surrounding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends

    Very nice and relaxing surrounding. Helpful staff and good spa treatments for "after trek". A beautiful place! I would go back if I ever come to Pokhara again.

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2015

    10
    Great views from the room and the reataurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Great views from the room and the reataurant! You can see the mountains and the lake while eating or chilling in a hammok. Really peaceful and beautiful place.

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2015

    5.8
    location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    WiFi is always disconnected , if you didn't touch mobile 2 minutes, it will be break . one room only offer one wifi password only can connected one machine ,the second person connect wifi need to pay 1700 Rs.

    location is good

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2015

    7.5
    Very rustic and authentic hotel with an outstanding location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Food is average, not much variety. Service is also average

    Very rustic and authentic hotel with an outstanding location, probably the best in pokhara. We stayed in a garden room, very nice with a small garden area, careful of the Mosquitos though! Restaurant offers stunning views of the fish tail mountain in the morning, and great Lake views throughout the day.

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location and staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Excellent location and staff ... It's a must visit place

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2015

    6.3
    Over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Over priced.

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2015

    7.1
    For $186 one would expect breakfast would be included and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    For $186 one would expect breakfast would be included and there would be a good internet connection in the room. Otherwise everything was fine.

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2015

    6.7
    Good very peaceful very nice to see lake view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good very peaceful very nice to see lake view

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2015

    8.3
    All good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little expensive

    All good

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2015

    8.3
    the view definitely but we came at the wrong time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    500 steps.. :)

    the view definitely but we came at the wrong time. it's foggy and we can't see any peaks..

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2015

    7.9
    beautiful view in hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    wifi

    beautiful view in hotel

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2015

    8.3
    Overall facility is much better than elsewhere in Nepal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast is not free, staff tried to sell puti, only one guest is allowed to use wifi

    Overall facility is much better than elsewhere in Nepal.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: