Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Nepal hotel reviews
  3. Kathmandu hotel reviews
  4. Reviews of Potala Guest House

Reviews of Potala Guest House This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

P.O Box 5390, Chettrapati, Thamel, , Thamel, 21218 Kathmandu, Nepal

#158 of 289 hotels in Kathmandu

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 61 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    5.0
    The courtyard and cafe downstairs is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room had damp smell and the beds were not that comfortable. The room was right next to the road so we got disturbed all night. The new wing might have been better as it is away from the road.

    The courtyard and cafe downstairs is great. Very peaceful and clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    10
    Very clean room, helpful staff. If I come to Thailand again 100% sure I will stay in this Hotel .
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location for an extraordinary stay at Thamel The room was incredible everything went well during my stay , extra pay breakfast was also delicious with a lot of different culture .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    9.6
    A safe, convenient place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The standard rooms we stayed in on the first night with hard beds, poor shower and some cockroaches. We then upgraded to a very good room

    The helpfulness and friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing that would make the room better is a fan in room. It got very muggy and humid in room.

    Great location. Room was nice and clean, probably helps that it is a newer fitout. Just keep in mind that this property is in the main busy tourist area of Thamel which means noise. Our room was street facing and you could hear everything going on outside. This didn't bother us but maybe something to consider for others. Enjoyed the quiet courtyard in the morning with my coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    4.2
    Worst stay ever.!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Customer service & facilities are worst. All they care about is money. Service was not upto the level of what you pay.

    The only good thing about this hotel is clean room as it was deluxe room but then again those standard rooms are cold, dark, dampy. Hence, overall i would not reccomend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2017

    3.3
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Despite booking with you, we were shown a room at the top of the hotel that was sparsely furnished, tatty, gloomy and depressing. Bed uncomfortable too. We would never stay at this hotel again. Not a good start to our holiday in Nepal. Will not book with you again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    7.1
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First of two stays here. The desk had mixed up our booking. Ie the room we had booked on booking.com wasn't available. They then didn't seem sure about our second booking either on arrival. Our room wasn't cleaned so we kept having to ask for fresh towels and new toilet roll. We didn;t expect to need to put the sign out unless we didn't want to be disturbed.

    The deluxe rooms were great. Semi-deluxe were fine too, but slightly more basic. Most of the staff were very friendly. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    8.8
    Great location, clean rooms & good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi was almost non-existant for my room, so I had to sit in the lobby.

    I was traveling alone. The hotel contacted me after my booking and offered complimentary pick up from the airport. My room faced the inner courtyard on the fourth floor - I am glad for the location of the hotel, it is located in walking distance to Freek Street but is wonderfully quiet if you want to just spend the evening in your room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2017

    6.7
    the restaurant tarrace, quiet and pleasant and you can drink...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the room was budget and the water stayed od the floor - was not going to the hole in the floor, it was wet

    the restaurant tarrace, quiet and pleasant and you can drink your own beer

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    7.9
    Cleanliness, good location in the centre of Thamel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They don’t have double bed. Only double single bed.

    Cleanliness, good location in the centre of Thamel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really good location to explore Kathmandu. The rooms at the back are well worth the extra couple of pounds. The staff were so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    7.5
    the room was clean and quiet
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I asked to take me up from the airport . Nowbody was there.

    I liked that my room was quiet at the backside and I liked very much the courtyard

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    10
    Restful Stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The renovation work is going very well. Soon, the Potala will be finished. It will be very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    7.5
    Amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the staffs tried to open the room, by mistake perhaps ....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    9.6
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2017

    10
    Nice and comfortable stay
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service is average

    Clean comfortable and rooms are good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    6.7
    Basic but fine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi not good.

    Desk staff helpful. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2017

    7.1
    Change the mattress
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Change the mattress

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thamel is awfully place because of dust, crazy architecture and roads.

    Very nice hotel and administratos.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2015

    7.5
    Staff is helpful and friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Too expensive. U can find similiar places for 1/2 the price or less. Its being remodeled so lots of noice and dust.

    Staff is helpful and friendly .Roof garden nice but their is no restaurant. Better rooms on high floors&/r facing courtyard.

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2015

    8.3
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    All well. Stairs a bit steep to 4th floor.!!!

    Great staff. Local atmosphere. Small hotel

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21