Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Thamel 3 stars

Thamel Marg, Thamel, 11767 Kathmandu, Nepal

#101 of 208 hotels in Kathmandu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 92 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    i,ll be staying there again,thats how much i loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing,never change the hotell,,it,s perfect

    the staff were AMAZING,very friendly,always smiling,so helpfull aswell.the location is perfect,away up an alley so its peacefull.very nicley decorated,a beutifull hotell.the rooms are perfect,immaculate,hot showers,toilet,and the beds are clean and confartable.i highly,,highly recommend this hotell,,,,top class

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    A convenient and guest-friendly hotel to both see the sights of Kathmandu and use as a base in Nepal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The difference between the different standards of room was not completely obvious!

    The staff couldn't have done more to be helpful. We used this hotel as a base for a hotel in Nepal and stayed there on three separate occasions over a two week period. The location in Thamel is great for seeing sights in Kathmandu and for travelling to other locations in Nepal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    3.3
    Very bad
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Behaving, when I call they was telling airport pick up free. But when I check out they charge 1200 rupees. Another taxi only 500 rupees

    They do everything wrong

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More lighting in the room, its quite dim.

    The food was brilliant! Complimentary tea coffee during our arrival and our in room service. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel , nice , polite and helpful staff. M
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thamel hotel is located at central of thamel, its at shopping paradise.i.the staff are very polite and helpful.i continued my stay at thamel hotel for another 2 days

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.3
    Staff were courteous and welcoming! Excellent location with great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath tub was not properly maintained, cleanliness should be encouraged. There was no trash can in the bath room. The water heater takes 10 minutes to work.

    Excellent location!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel in an excellent location, very welcoming staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness in the bath room should be improve, as well as the amenities.

    Hotel location is excellent, such a lively environment with many tourists staying. The staff were polite and very welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Loved Nepal. Used this hotel at the beginning and end of trip and they happily stored a bag for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi wasn’t always the best but that is not a problem at all.

    Comfortable beds, powerful hot shower!! The only balconies in Thamel!! Perfect location just on the fringes so you can get a good nights sleep but still only a couple of minutes away from it all. Easy to walk to/from the tourist bus stops. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing , its very good

    Location is awesome and food is very tasty , specially chicken biryani . Service is very good . The room is very clean and comfortable . The receptionists are very smart and friendly .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    6.7
    Not a good please to stay with family or single
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator . poor in breakfast . Thy don't have there tuore brochure that throw 3D person in commotion ways

    It's in city CENTURE only close for shopping

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.9
    Single traveller staying for a couple of days
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff. Friendly and willing to help with anything. Great view from the top floor too. Right in the middle of town, everywhere can be walked to from here

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.3
    Convenient place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well. It was okay to stay but I didn't really enjoy that's because of the location. It was the best location for travelers however it was noisy till in the morning. I could hear music playing all night long and there was construction working as well. Anyway if you want to rest,it's not the place but if you're looking for a place to be convenient. It is the one.

    The staffs were friendly and nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    5.4
    Disappoin ting, not sure how it scored 8 on trip advisor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room on 4th floor no lift, restaurant staff tried to be helpful but not efficient, breakfast poor came down at 8am some of the food seemed like it had been sitting there since breakfast started at 6am. There was a problem with electric power durung the day

    location in the tourist area,reception desk helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Perfect place in Kathmandu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They picked us up from the airport (free of charge if you stay at least for 2 consecutive nights) and we could have dinner at the hotel restaurant by 12.00 am because their restaurant opens 24/7... I think this is fantastic and even more, when u do not know the town and u arrive super late after a 20 hours journey. On top of that the staff was amazingly helpful and friendly. The room was excellent: clean, comfortable beds, nice bathroom, with loads of plugs to charge the electric devices, with a balcony... and very quiet because it is in the centre of Thamel but not in a main road, so it is perfect. I also sent them a lot of emails before my arrival with many different queries and they replied to all of them almost immediately. I was very lucky to find this lovely place and I am glad I am coming back in 3 weeks time. Thanks to Mr Pema and to all the staff for making my experience there so great. See u soon!!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    Hotel Thamel The Place To Be
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    internet connection was bad.

    the staff are really nice and breakfast are good and plenty. i got a lot of free coffee and hot lemon and honey. i couldn't think of a better place to stay than here.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    6.3
    Room was upto expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being an asian and being in an asian country was surprised to see NO bidet shower spray to clean ur butt. That made my whole stay uncomfortable and it was value for money deal since I paid more here being 3 star hotel than my last 1star hotel and got more facility at half price, quite surprising though.

    Room was upto expectations

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.9
    The staff was totally helpful , polite and always available...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flight of stairs! Place is under renovation,.would come back next year to check it out after renovation.

    The staff was totally helpful , polite and always available for assistance. They had a welcome drink upon arrival (fresh juice) which was very much appreciated on a very hot afternoon!! Help always svailable every which way you turned! Thamel street is a busynplace wd lots of hotels, shops, stores,, restaurants, bars and not far from sightseeingnplaces (one still needs a taxi )

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    8.8
    A great place to stay for budget travellers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WC in the washroom was broken. The rooms are a bit gloomy due to the yellow lights.

    The location is perfect if you want to stay away from the noise. The owner Mr. Pema is an amazing person- very humble and generous.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    6.7
    The room is comfortable. However please be very careful as we got cheated by a staff on the bill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on the reception charged us higher than the booked price! I was in a hurry to catch my bus for pokhara hence didn't realise untill I started counting.

    The location is a bit secluded from the busiest area which makes the place noise free. The breakfast was good. Room was okay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    5.0
    Terrible noise during the day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The internet was not available for several nights I stayed. When wi-fi was available, the internet speed was terrible. Worse still, is the noise made during the day due to the on-going renovation. Drilling / Hammering noise all day long, and i could feel the vibration in my room. I came back from trekking at about 4pm and was looking for a good rest and wasn't able to have one due to the noise and the renovation work.

    Good location. Friendly staffs

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    6.3
    Good breakfast with moderate room facilities.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator.No complimentary water bottle & sandals in the room.The manager is a nice person & is helpful.

    Good breakfast even in the early morning.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I didn't have a clock in my room (but most people would have their own) and the shower was a bit slow

    Excellent value hotel. Clean well decorated room, all staff were friendly and helpful, convenient and quiet, thank you

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.8
    Wonderful friendly place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff who are very helpful and friendly. We got the suite both times after booking a deluxe :) the staff helped with organising everything for us.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Traditional Nepali hospitality in the heart of Thamel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Roof Top Bar would be nice

    Attentive service, a nice touch was the free pickup from the airport. Cozy traditional feel to the hotel providing a welcome getaway from the hustle and bustle of Thamel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Service excellent, staff very kind and supportive when my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service excellent, staff very kind and supportive when my wife got sick.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    The environment is neat and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet needs to be improved, Wifi network is poor in the room.

    The environment is neat and clean. Friendly stuffs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.3
    good
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no lift

    staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality and friendly staff ( Management & staffs ) Specially front desk

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.5
    Standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Standard, nothing to write home about but couldnt fault it either. Breakfast was top class!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Brhsviour
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service

    Brhsviour

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Super budget hotel I centre of Thamel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if the toilet seat had been attached to the bowl

    Location was fantastic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    People are really nice and of extrem help.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    People are really nice and of extrem help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Best place in Kathmandu!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing service. Great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.8
    No experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location at a reasonable price.

    No experience

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    10
    Very good for price.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For price we paid, there is nothing to complain.

    Very good for price. Excelent stuff, central location. They are taking care of my ill friend.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    10
    Excellent staff and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Every thing was nice.

    Excellent staff and service.Clean room and Good Food. Reasonable Tour Package.24 hours hotwater.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    8.8
    Because of the staff, this is my hotel every time I'm in Kathmandu
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I read that all rooms have a private balcony. This isn't true

    The staff we extremely polite, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in a great location for a good price and best of all hot showers
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi kept dropping out

    People were great helpful fun and friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    9.5
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast. Hot showers.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    7.1
    cost effective but physically tiring
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator,

    Location, front desk staff , good food

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    6.3
    Ok for one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bidet spray in the toilet. It was fixed to the left side of WC and very hard and difficult to use.

    Only the bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    5.8
    Only Location at Thamel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift Worst Breakfast

    Only Location at Thamel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    nice hotel with hospitality service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of electric from morning till evening around 6:30pm. wifi signal not stable.

    Service is good, location is easy to found

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    2.5
    Can't find anything is good !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. Location is difficult to be find. The Booking.com GPS direction shows a wrong place. 2. No body answer phone call. 3. The front desk staff uniform are dirty, very poor presentation ! 4. The room is gloomy, bad smell, dirty bedding. 5. Small toilet 6. Poor view, viewing to the neighbourhood old buildings.

    Can't find anything is good !

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    9.6
    very clean hotel and rooms, extreamly helpful and kind staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    maybe the breakfast could include more options besides the basic continental style

    very clean hotel and rooms, extreamly helpful and kind staff, they know everything about the city and they are willing to share any information, I had very good, meaningful conversations with the receptionists. They can basically organize any kind of city trip for you that fits your budget.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    9.2
    I found myself traveling on my own as the person that was to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I found myself traveling on my own as the person that was to travel with me had to cry off at the last minute. So being on my own I was a bit apprehensive but there was no need to be. I found the staff extremely friendly and helpful. From Bishnu at the desk to staff in the restaurant, staff in the lobby and to the cleaners they were all great. The hotel was very clean and the showers were roasting hot. My room was cleaned each day with fresh towels and sheets were changed regularly. Breakfast was limited because of the Indian fuel blockade but this was no fault of the hotel. The Hotel is centrally located in Thamel the main tourist area. The only down side was that there was a night club nearby which you could hear music from early in the evening but not after 10pm so no real bother. If I was returning to Kathmandu again tomorrow I would definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    The overall service was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The overall service was good.The hotel is equipped with power supply during the time of power cut and wifi was good. The room was clean with plenty of hot water. The staff can converse in English and are very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    9.2
    I will stay here again when I come back to Nepal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I will stay here again when I come back to Nepal! The location is very good, in the heart of Thamel.The staff are very accommodating, the rooms are clean, there is strong wifi everywhere in the hotel. Breakfast and meals are very good - no need to go to any other restaurants outside! Can't wait to come back!

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    10
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great value for money. We stayed in a Standard room and the room was very clean and cosy.. The hotel staff are always smiling and friendly to us. It is in an ideal location in Thamel, 5min walk from Garden of Dreams, 10min walk to Durbar Square and 25min walk to the Monkey Temple. Thanks so much to all the family of Hotel Thamel. You made our first experience in Kathmandu a memorable one!

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    9.2
    It's my 5th stay at Hotel Thamel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There's a lot of work going on to upgrade the rooms so it could be noisy at times.

    It's my 5th stay at Hotel Thamel.It's ideal for me as a solo traveller. Staff always pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2015

    8.3
    Staff are always helpful with arranging trip with good...
    • Solo traveller

    Staff are always helpful with arranging trip with good price. Rooms are well sized, power back good and of course , good hot water which is a must for every travelers. Will definitely come and recommend my friends.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    10
    Very nice with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice with friendly staff. Good location off main street & quiet at night. Good food & service. Plan to stay again when return.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    Cleaniness,hot shower,complementary WIFI,modern TV...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleaniness,hot shower,complementary WIFI,modern TV,knowledgeable staff,good restaurant and great location

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    9.6
    Free wi n comfortable bed
    • Couple

    Free wi n comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    10
    Clean room,great customer service, free WIFI, Great location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean room,great customer service, free WIFI, Great location with easy access to shopping areas and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2015

    5.0
    Cheerful bartender.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No lift, poor service, Travel service,Credit card fees,unpalatable food,lousy bathroom.

    Cheerful bartender.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff, great food , comfortable big bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and helpful staff, great food , comfortable big bed and great location

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Browse Hotel Thamel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: