Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Abbey Motor Lodge 3.5 stars

209 Bealey Avenue, Edgeware, 8011 Christchurch, New Zealand

#107 of 163 hotels in Christchurch

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 549 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Love this place so much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    This is the best place I have stayed throughout my entire New Zealand trip and I have stayed in some big name 4/5 stars hotels. Definitely coming back if I am in Christchurch

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Simply amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    Simply amazing!The room comes with electric stove,oven and all sort of cooking utensils.Also worth mentioning that both the bedroom and toilet are equipped with heater(really nothing much to ask for if u come during winter). Highly recommend to everyone coming to Christchurch

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money, though a coffee plunger would have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in the shower was dismal, but the bed was very comfortable

    Good value for money, though a coffee plunger would have been appreciated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Great central Christchurch accomodation at reasonable cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good.

    Friendly helpful reception, with unit change to my advantage. All very helpful and fit for purpose on attending a function in Central Christchurch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Quite good overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Family Triple
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was facing the road and thus caused some noise especially at night but not very serious.

    The staff / manager is really friendly. The facilities are clean and tidy and we got all we need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.5
    We were barley there so actually didn't see any staff -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were barley there so actually didn't see any staff - however instructions (because we landed middle of the night) were easy to follow and we greatly appreciated the clean, comfy room to grab a few hours sleep

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money but a bit loud
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a great location but also very loud because of it been on a main road. Our room was one of the rooms right next to the road so i think we got the full brunt of the sound so could probably do with some sound proofing especially for the rooms closest to the road. We could also hear our neighbours very cleary threw the walls even though they werent been that loud. Shower was hard to get the right tempreture it was either too hot or too cold.

    I liked that it was walking distance to the city centre was very beautiful room for the price. Had all the basics that we needed in the kitchen.staff were very friendly and helpful!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    A lovely unit well worth the price!
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Family Triple
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing. The place is perfect!

    The room was spacious and furnished very nicely! It looked more like a hotel room than a motel. The facilities were also all in good condition. We had to check in after-hours as we were coming from the West Coast and the staff were very helpful with providing information for after-hours check in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Best ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stay at Abbey Motor Lodge was amazing. The owners are very friendly, considerate and really care for the guests. They are always ready to help whenever asked. We were really lucky to have chosen to stay here and received a lotttt help! The room was clean, decent, fully equipped and very comfortable. Location is very good. Definitely worth the price. My friends and I really enjoyed our stay there and I came back again to stay for another night. The second stay was even more amazing. They are not running a motor lodge, but a home away from home. Thank you very much for wonderful rooms and kind help and everything! I have recommended you to all my friends! My first choice in CHCH and one of the reasons I fell in love with this city. Hope I will go back again. All the best! Zoe and her friends, from China and Greece

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Excellent value, clean, spacious, a home-away-from-home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to disappoint except the WiFi was quite intermittent at night (frustrating) and we noticed there was no DVD player, but they do have SKY TV.

    Spacious 2 bedroom apartment, very clean, new bathroom with the best shower rose we've ever used, plenty of clean/fresh linen, electric blankets to warm our beds, lots of large windows and double layered curtains for warmth and privacy. Bronny (reception) was very friendly and helpful, also booking our airport shuttle and making local recommendations for activities. 10 minute walk to centre of Christchurch but a great base to stay in, like a home away from home. Would definitely stay here again. Thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous clean, modern, warm unit with very friendly helpful staff. Will definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Twin
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It would be great if some more kitchen utensils were available for those who request it eg a second pan, a colander, cheese grater.

    Excellent modern facilities and exceptionally clean throughout , very warm and cosy, soft and comfortable beds, great set up of apartment with kitchenette, bathroom, living room (with single bed), double bedroom, very warm with efficient heating. Very helpful and friendly staff. Room was serviced every day with fresh towels. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    A good choice near CBD
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Family Triple
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's located near the CBD and popular attractions. very convenient. And the accommodation was tidy and clean. We received a warm welcome by the hostess Jacqueline on arrival. very impressive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Family Triple
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of any.

    We arrived after midnight. After picking up the keys from the safety box, we opened the door and found a room with lights and heater on. It instantly warms up our heart and makes us feel welcome. Really appreciate it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    Love the friendly staff, Jacqui.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Family Triple
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its quite difficult to cook as there’s no kitchen hood so the smell won’t go away and because of that most likely you will be charge for malodour fee, the wireless connection is fair but not smooth for youtube...otherwise everything is ok.

    Love the friendly staff, Jacqui. She did her best to ensure my family and I enjoy our stay at the motel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Great inner city stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy being next to a main road and other units very close so sounded like they were coming into the room.

    Really friendly owner, lovely comfortable room with nice facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower missing a shelf to put soap or shampoo for convenience.

    Super easy to find and very friendly staff. Cleanliness is great overall. Had a great night here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    Great experience, would definitely recommend and stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bigger rubbish bin wasn’t emptied, the one under the sink.

    Manager Jackie was all smiles and super helpful, even loaned us an umbrella! Would definitely come back again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    Worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Family Triple
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon in the room but fan was provided.

    Great location & easy to find. Easy to park. Very friendly hosts. Rooms has got everything we needed. Very worth the money I booked one room for 4 people when there was a promotion for only 96NZD. Strongly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Family Triple
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Manager was extreamely helpful and friendly.The staff was friendly n helpful too.It was clean n very comfortable.great location n easy excess to every where in christchurch.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Amazing. It's the people that make your stay and give you a reason to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative to say

    The rooms were clean and comfortable. You can walk into Christchurch City. James and Jacqui are outstanding Hosts. Nothing is too much trouble and they go the extra mile to make your stay amazing. So accommodating. Definitely our Motel of choice next time we visit Christchurch Thanks again James and Jacqui for helping us to make the wedding special.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.3
    Very nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Family Triple
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nobody was at the reception during check-out time or responded to calling, so I had to leave the key with a note in the office.

    Super clean and nice place. Although located just off a main road, it was very quiet during the night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location. On a busy road but no probs with traffic noise. Room spacious and comfortable, appeared to have been recently upgraded and painted. Kitchen area had everything we needed. Tub/shower combination. Manager exceptionally friendly and professional and we were able to check in a couple of hours early. We highly recommend the Abbey.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from traffic on bealey ave was awful, especially in the wee small hours of friday night/ Saturday morning.

    Comfortable clean apartment, close to the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice staff, good rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nicer to be a little closer to central Christchurch.

    Jackie was very welcoming and accommodating, helping ensure we could do laundry and that we had what we needed. 2 separate rooms were nice. Critical items have been renovated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Comfortable,clean,friendly - a home away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints what so ever!

    Being greeted by someone that wasn't of another culture was top of the list. Some of my close friends are of other cultures but understanding them at times is difficult. The lady at Abbey was so friendly, couldn't do enough for us. Travel to Christchurch often and never stayed at a place I'd stay again until I found Abbey Motor Lodge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Other than no sleep was very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Family Triple
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right on the main street and very noisy with cars n sirens most of the night.

    Was a really hot day n air con had been on was great to walk into a cool room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    I wish I could give a special award to James for his...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish I could give a special award to James for his "uncommon amazingness." MY 6 year old left his toy owl (you know, the one he's dragged with him to every trip and country his entire life) in the bedding. We realized end of day after check-out. James scoured the room, followed-up with the launders and found Owl! It returned to us to New York safe and sound (and extra clean). Kudos for incredible customer service. ALSO! Comfortable, clean, courteous. Would recommend over and over again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.1
    would not stay at 136 Bealey again.
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The road noise, light outside the front of the room which shone through the curtains and the foot steps from the room upstairs.

    Half an hour prior to leaving for the airport we were phoned and told we had been moved from Abbey Motor Lodge to 136 Bealey due to fire door installation. 136 Bealey was very noisey as our room was close to the road. However, the people were very friendly and helpful and the room clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Cheap and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we paid for a courtyard it was all dug up for trenching works so not a pleasant place to sit and the heater didn't work properly - very hot one minute and turning itself off the next! Despite this it was comfortable enough.

    It was the cheapest of all the places we stayed in on our tour of NZ and although dated and under obvious repair works around the building it was comfortable and value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    A great value for money place to stay in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air freshener used at cleaning was somewhat overpowering.

    The bed was very comfy - the unit was compact but had everything you needed, including a heater and electric blanket! Also a heater in the bathroom. It was surprisingly quiet despite being on a major city road.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay and would stay again. Staff very, very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise Noise from Reno's on the last morning Room didn't get cleaned while we stayed, just new towels. Could have done with a vacuum Could have done with a hot plate No coffee plunger!!

    The room was new, tidy and comfortable. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.8
    Great stay except for the busy road keeping me awake for most of the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The units near to a busy road - very hard to sleep - would prefer to have another room away from the road.

    Nice friendly staff, clean rooms, nice room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    Very good value for money, for the price range that we have paid for at 14 different accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the second time we stay at this motel in Christchurch . The rooms are all spacious, they must have been refurbished recently they are exceptionally cleaned, comfortable. The kitchenette, the bathroom are all excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    Very nice motel located close to town. The motel is good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The unit was very clean and tidy. Bedroom had a good comfortable bed. The motel is very central for going in to the city and being located on one of the main roads it is easy to get to any other areas of Christchurch. The lady running the motel was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My major negative would be that there are no heaters in either of the bedrooms. Although they do provide electric blankets. In addition, they didn't have any baking trays which makes it difficult to utilise the oven.

    Do not be put off by the exterior. Once inside the rooms are large, spacious and cleaned to the highest standard. They even do a maid service daily which we didn't expect from a motel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.3
    Warm room, nice curtains, comfortable couch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room advertised as a double/queen bed and actually it was two single beds with a sheet over them. Had we known that before booking room we would not have booked with them. It is not comfortable to have that ridge inbetween. The bathroom has had water damage ? earthquake damage? not sure but it needs attending to

    Warm room, nice curtains, comfortable couch

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Very clean motel with great service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We generally slept really well during the week, but Friday night was different with horrible boy racers on Bailey Av. until 3.30am! Although the rooms are very well insulated, it would be great if local authorities would do something about this, because it is a known issue. Not really related to the motel quality, which was excellent!!

    Very spacious room and tidy new bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.3
    The place was clean and well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was rude and slam the door onto my face when I checked out in the morning as she was still sleeping.

    The place was clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise from main road. Outside condition of motel a bit shabby but my room was lovely.

    Host friendly -helpful with directions. My suite was modern, spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at Abbey Motor Lodge were lovely and went out of their way to allow us to have an unexpected early check in. This place is serious value for money - we really enjoyed our overnight stay here!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    The man working at the motor lodge was very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man working at the motor lodge was very friendly and extremely helpful when we asked for suggestions of places to see in NZ. Would definitely stay here again if I ever come back to Christchurch!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.3
    A nice place to stay..clean & comfy & will book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldnt open the top cupboard in the bedroom to get extra pillows out as the double wooden curtain rails blocked it & some taps and cupboards are wonky in their settings which is a bit dangerous

    Free wifi was great..rooms spacious & comfortable. The lodge is in redo mode from the earthquakes but getting there slowly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    This place was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Family Triple
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly there was nothing I didn't like. Maybe just that there were no bowls so we are ice cream out of a mug but that's being picky

    I liked that the staff were super friendly and helpful. Location was great and room was very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Amazing time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were friendly and accommodating, we were able to walk to Cathedral Square and some of the CBD shops. Westfield Riccarton was accessible by taxi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    This motor lodge is very clean the manager super friendly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only two draw backs were the road noise which you can hear a bit if your in the room by the road and at peak hour times it can be tricky crossing road to get into motel.

    This motor lodge is very clean the manager super friendly and helpful. It's so close to city centre which is great and plenty of parking. Would definitely stay again.rooms are lovely and warm.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the morning the office was closed and that was okay but there was no instruction on what to do with key so just left on table in unit perhaps a slot to put key be an idea as I didn't feel that good leaving it unlocked

    My taxi driver seemed a bit reluctant about my choice of accommodation with me travelling on my own and I wish I could see her again to say she was wrong. Yes on a first look it's a bit tired but in the light of day I think is under some renovations. I was greeted by an extremely friendly young lady in a temporary office who took me to my unit which she had very kindly put the heater on so it was nice and cozy. The unit was simple but very clean, well appointed and all I needed for a night. Bed was very comfortable and linen and towels spotless. There was a restaurant available only 3 mins walk away which I appreciated being on my own. For the very good price I was very happy and think I got a good deal. And actually would stay again with my husband if in Christchurch again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.3
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    road noise, not too much a problem as in line with the value of room, wasnt there long enough anyway

    great customer service especially as we arrived after hours

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    Excellent comfortable accommodation for elderly & young alike.
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Twin
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, esp Bronnie were so nice & friendly. Was a great & easy for my 89yr old Mum (bathroom was great) was warm, comfortable & we had all we wanted. Was easy to travel to & from for all we were in Chch for. Well done team.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.5
    Great location and value.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom needs a complete redo. It smelt VERY mouldy. But as we stayed at another room there recently and it had a new one, I guess they are working on it.

    It's a bit worn but priced accordingly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.5
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my opinion,the beds were less comfortable to sleep on.

    The place had a kitchenette with the necessary facilties to make any small snack. The property was worth the price we had paid for 2 nights.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.2
    Receptionist was very obliging when she realized I...
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen utensils need checking e.g. tin opener didn't work and carving knife blunt. Not big issues just annoying when we were in a hurry. I forgot to mention these but I'm sure the receptionist would have replaced them as she provided a basin plug when we told her it was missing

    Receptionist was very obliging when she realized I hadn't been given a unit away from traffic noise as I requested. She upgraded us to a 1 bedroom unit from studio so we could have the unit at the back. Didn't hear any noise and slept well. Many thanks

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.3
    Good spot to stay overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit solid for me. Close to the road so there's a lot of traffic noise. Fine if you're a heavy sleeper but I'm not. Parking is a bit tight

    Nice modern room, good size bathroom and kitchen area. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Wifi actually works (very rare in motels these days!)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    8.3
    Great quality motel in Christchurch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooker was old but we didn't actually need to use it.

    Very comfortable bed with great quality sheets and fluffy towels. Everything was really clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    9.6
    Simple accommodation with everything you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple accommodation with everything you need. Grey beds, clean, warm room, excellent kitchenette, spacious study/ sitting area and lady in charge very friendly and helpful with every request. Very comfortable place to stay. Thank you.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Under renos but don't let this deter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Family Triple
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under renovation after earthquakes and age . This made for very reasonable rates. Had two bedrooms . One to pack up n before we went back to Australia and one to sleep in. Staff excelkent. Bathroom had not been renovated but was spotless as was shower and kitchen . Perfect for our budget and our needs .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    10
    Lady very pleasant allowed us to park long before check in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints very comfortable no noise very clean n very central

    Lady very pleasant allowed us to park long before check in time also to use bathroom. Very welcoming

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    8.3
    Love the Shopping Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed needs replacing, it was okay by myself but if my husband had been with me, we would have had "roll together"

    Great location for shopping

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    3.3
    I went to check in , turns out they didnt have my room...
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality motel and too noiset u can hear every car drive past at night . Need an upgrade at 136 Bealey ave

    I went to check in , turns out they didnt have my room available and booked us in down there as they are owned by the same people. We went down the road the lady said there would be no extra charges as it is there muck up . The receptionist from new motel gave me a receipt before we left the next morning and it had an extra booking fee charge of 17.80 which I will not pay as it wasn't my fault for the error

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    8.3
    Few days in Christchurch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern facilities. Nice staff not bad location. Refurbishment was being carried out at the time so it had it had the air of a building site about it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    9.6
    Noisy location but only due to main road running past.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy location but only due to main road running past. Motel under renovation and there were a couple of unfinished bits in our room but these did not disrupt our stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    9.2
    shower needed shower caddy or similar, bathroom would have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower needed shower caddy or similar, bathroom would have been better with it's own waste bin, and also a couple of hooks on the back on the door. Only small items really.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    8.8
    part of an enjoyable stop in Christchurch
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The residual smell of the cleanjng products gave me headaches. 24hr roadworks outside made sleep difficult but this is not the motel's fault.

    Location excellent facilities fine. bed fine

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    Amazing staff and very close to the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    If booking.com would have mentioned that currently the motel was undergoing renovation. Even though it didn't interfere with the stay at all - still would have been nice to know.

    The motel was great. Especially liked the super friendly staff. The manager was more than helpful with everything I needed. Would return there.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    A perfect experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is really spacious, which is a surprise! The lady who colored her hair is really nice and helpful. She told us a lot of fun place to go and also helped us to book a bus shuttler to airport next day. It is a perfect experience!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    8.8
    The staff at Abbey motor lodge was very cooperative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi fi left much to be desired.

    The staff at Abbey motor lodge was very cooperative.When the with fi was not working properly the staff showed lot of concern and tried their level best to restore the connection.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    5.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower broken no hot water first day toilet roll holder broke left hobs on ovenue didn't work no oven trays to cook with n no discount was offered fr issues only a room down grade

    Comfy beds

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    8.8
    Very spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise from the main street circulation at night.

    Very spacious room. Very good facilities. The manager was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Very good value for money with the deal we had on Booking.com.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and kitchen were a little outdated but still clean

    Had everthing we needed! Beds were comfortable. Friendly staff. Close to city. Good value for money!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    5.4
    Had issues with oven, wifi, hotwater, and no dvd remote.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had issues with oven, wifi, hotwater, and no dvd remote. Place was also overpowered with smellies upon arrival. Room was supposedly redecorated but was missing framework around a door and flooring was lifting.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    7.5
    Clean and comfortable family accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Family Triple
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the front unit next to the road which was quite noisy. Some of the units were being renovated but this did not affect us on the weekend. The wifi was slow in the unit.

    The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The free wifi was fast if you stand outside. Fairly good location not too far from the city centre.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.2
    Value for money central location accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Twin
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was tight due to construction happening at the motel but only a minor inconvirnce

    Friendly helpful staff. Comfy beds and quiet even though on main road. Well serviced. Great central location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.5
    Bed very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very good. Kitchen average,poor utensils,tap dripped. Bathroom average ,basin taps not working properly.I understand it may be renovated in near future

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.6
    Friendly staff and location was great for the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They were having repairs so parking was a bit of an issue as there were only half the normal spaces and we parked on the road. As soon as the building work is done this would be fixed though. Price was good so not a major issue

    Friendly staff and location was great for the city

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    6.7
    Manageable but wouldn't stay again
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couch was ripped . Sky tv wasn't full channels, was advertised heat pumps and were given heaters. Lighting was an issue as we have a baby and the lights when on were dull and didn't help. Shower pressure wasn't good. Kettle was broken

    Pillows comfy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    8.8
    Great stay, wonderful new owner!
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love how the new owner was upfront, mentioned about how we had a older room, but it was due for a reno the week we left! Overall good experience, would love to see how it looks after the reno!

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: