Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Admiralty Lodge Motel 5 stars

69-71 Buffalo Beach Road, 3510 Whitianga, New Zealand

#6 of 18 hotels in Whitianga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 154 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we werent able to try the outdoor pool during our stay, due to the weather of course.

    Location and a great view from the window of our room. Also the option of having the outdoor patio section enclosed was a treat as the weather wasnt that great whilst our stay but we still enjoyed It as we could open or close the deck patio windows

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room fitting and furnishing are too old and need upgrade. There were very loud noise when next door guests using water.

    The location and view is good. Very detailed with all bathroom nessossity, such as shampoo, condition, shower gel, hand wash & moisture, are provided.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    For having breakfast you have to drive to a near-by cafe, vouchers for the breakfast are provided by the motel.

    A good motel located directly at the seaside, comfortable stay in a very spacious appartment with a good bathroom. The appartment is furnished basicly but absolut sufficient, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    huge room, right across the road from the beach with a lovely pool just a short walk in front of the deck. In-room spa and kitchenette with space to make meals etc. Friendly owners and very clean and tidy, will be back in future to relax again here. Whiti town is a couple of mins drive or a 15min walk along the beachfront.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    great location, short walk from town centre but across the road from the beach. Comfortable, spacious rooms/suite. Would be extra good value if you fill to accommodation capacity.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The living room had two extra single beds that detracted from the room's use and comfort. If we were staying more than one night that would have been an issue.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blinds in the living room were broken and it was impossible to manoeuvre them to screen the beds in that room. The shower drained very slowly. There was almost no bench space in the bathroom.

    Comfortable, clean, very helpful and accommodating managers.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really struggling to find anything. One or two spiky plants could be cut back on our 10 step walk from our patio to the pool, but easily side stepped.

    Everything. Size of unit, private patio, very good size pool perfect water temperature and condition. Fantastic sea view, staff and comfort. Free use of bikes. Aircon and Sky chanels. DVD player and a selection of free discs. Offered free bottles of water on arrival and when we went off on the bikes. Owners and staff very helpful and friendly. This place ticks all the boxes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The double bed would have been better in the lounge - in order to watch TV at night had to put the 2 kids in the double bed in the bedroom.

    The pool was brilliant. Great having a stove. Lovely view and outside area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a problem with wet carpet in the main bedroom, which no one mentioned upon arrival. When we went to make them aware of it, apparently it was a well known problem that they didn't know how to fix. Slightly strange that it wasn't mentioned and no apology was offered.

    Very comfortable and clean rooms, with lots of space and outdoor area (downstairs room) and a beautiful view over to the beach and water. Kids loved the heated pool and staff went out of their way to get us what we needed. Laundry facilities also handy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spacious, clean, full kitchen with plenty of dishes. Private patio, view of beach and close proximity to everything. It felt like home away from home.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place has everything you want! The addition of free use recreational equipment was awesome added service from our last visit. Huge range of dvds for those crap nights you’d rather stay in, all free. The views from the whole room are amazing and the balcony rooms give great privacy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing i didn't like

    This Property is amazing great friendly staff would definitely recommend and will stay there again :) loved the room great shower pressure extremely immaculate.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The blinds broke on night one, so we couldn't open them again for the remainder of our stay (another 3 nights). We were told they couldn't be fixed and would be replaced after we checked out. It was difficult to use the balcony area, with blinds blocking the door. A discount on the remaining 3 nights of accommodation would have been nice, since we were paying peak season prices. The rooms were dated and in need of a do-up. The motel was located a bit far away from the main shops / cafes / bars. We had to take the car, as it would have been a 20min walk each way.

    Nice outlook across the road to the beach from our level 2 room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The little extras they have for yourself and the kids like bikes , fishing rods and boogie boards and the owner is onsite and a very nice man , makes you feel very welcome

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome 3days kitchen had everything you needed plus extras Staff was friendly also we used motels fishing equipment Swimming pool was warm enough for kids to have a blast because weather was terrible at the beach The whole experience was on point Thanks

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    My stay wasn't longer!

    From the the staff to the view everything was amazing. Inviting staff, large comfortable room and a windowed balcony with a stunning view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On arriving all the room's windows were open although it was winter. It took ages to heat the place and get rid of the humidity. Breakfast must be ordered by 7pm previous evening which I find a little too early. If returning after dinner the reception is closed - too bad if you forgot to hand in the order earlier in the day.

    Location directly on the beach. Spacious room with big bathroom and kitchen facilities. Breakfast served punctually in the room and delicious. Service with a smile.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers were luke warm & wouldn't get hot. Our room wasn't ready for the early checkin that we had requested & had been confirmed. I understand this was due to staff shortages though so didn't bother us too much.

    Great location! Right on the beach, nice large rooms & every room faces the ocean. Friendly & helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window was left open in the rain so the bathroom floor was quite wet but this was just because of the weather.

    Great accomodation right by the beach. Nice spacious rooms with huge bathrooms.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was lacking. Toilet very high. Spa bath with shower inside has very high sides to step over.

    Position opposite beach is great. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the pool closes at 10 haha

    I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone !! Had an awesome view from our room upstairs, was close to shops right across the water 👌🏼 And the room it's self was nice ! We ended up cancelling dinner reservations and decided to stay in an make dinner because we didn't wana leave our room :) already planing our next stay! Thanks guys !!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    10:00 check out for a vacation venue was a little inconvenient.

    Friendly staff, great location. Pool was clean and the rooms were spacious and very well kept. A bit pricey compared to other NZ prporties we stayed at over the past two weeks. But overall a very good choice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a criticism, just noting something odd - the toilet is the tallest toilet we've ever come across and a little uncomfortable to use as your feet dont touch the ground properly - even for my husband who is 5'11"

    Stunning view. Lovely big open plan room. Super comfy bed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few things wrong with our room plug in sink couldn't get it out,blind couldn't be shut properly and the freezer door wasn't attached properly

    The room was lovly

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    The receptionist was super helpful as we needed a cot and didn't bring one with us. She also was very welcoming. Bathroom had a lovely bath in it too.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Someone could have paid a bit more attention to the bathroom/toilet cleaning as it looked like a rushed job. Someone must have had a late checkout and they had us checking in right afterwards. The next day our room was not cleaned either however we did see cleaners moving around for turn-down service.....so don't know what happened there. Was a long weekend though so it could almost be forgiven!

    Seemed like the nicest place on the strip of lodges/motels. A lot of room in the apartment, apartment was fairly clean (besides my comments on bathroom). Location was great, close to the lost springs spa and the town but far enough to be away from the noise and traffic. Great view of the beach and close to the beach. The staffed help us out with ideas on what to do and which service providers to go with for outdoorsy stuff and their recommendation was great! Also, they provide free water, free Kayak and bikes for guests to use! Will definitely go back and stay here again!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not being able to take the wonderful view from our window home with us lol

    when we asked for a pack of cards and some matches[ a substitute for money] he the manager searched high and low ,found cards and a handful of straws as a fill in for the no find matches, excellent ,very much appreciated,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spa needed to be run, went to have a bath, turned on the spa (at the wall, the button didn't work on the bath)and brown stuff came out, second night was OK as we had cleaned the pipes.

    Good to have toweling robes available

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is absolutely nothing negative to say about our stay :)

    The accommodation was super clean, very comfortable bed with toasty heated blanket and heat pump.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am generally fussy about cleanliness, in this particular instance the facility far exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were great, Brian and Paul were awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awesome room, friendly staff, beautiful views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is above standard so there are no question about any negative marking.

    Just keep it up.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor tired Rooms can hear plumbing from other rooms

    Good size room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nil

    The excellent view. Very accommodating staff with our delayed arrival due to the Road closures Napier-Taupo Highway.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated , especially for cost.

    Spacious room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of local info from the motel reception.

    Lovely dressing gowns provided.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed is too soft even i put a request bofore

    the lounge and bathroom are spacious

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family that runs this place were super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property was a little far away from center of the town . There are no WIFI in the rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close tobeach

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very Dated. In need of refurbishment.

    Great Views

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking when we came back on Friday night. We had to park on the road.

    Comfortable big bed. Clean room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was slow, almost unusable in the room.

    Clean and with helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy plumbing,

    The pool, the proximity to the beach

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Awesome friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Loved it all

    I loved everything about our stay, ❤️❤️

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other guests held party until midnight, shouting and talking at 3am in the morning. Unbelievable

    Views are good. Swimming pool is warm

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Treffen noise

    Ocean views a pool

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly helpfull staff and spotless huge room looking straight into the ocean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a hike to restaurants

    Comfy, spacious, great view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location with great facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not sure about glass doors to the bathroom. Not to everyone's taste!!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were excellent to deal with and the room was a great size with everything needed for a lovely stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is very tired. No sound proofing between rooms meant we were woke at 530 am. Cooking fumes from other rooms came into ours as well

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The hot pool was so nice and the extra king size bad was so comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have to drive to restaurants

    ou could open the windows and sliding door to the enclosed veranda and hear the ocean and feel the sea breeze coming in.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly dated with the design of the shower & the mirror with the lights weren't all working.

    Very clean, nice, spacious

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Friendly and helpful staff. Great PR. Thanks for the bottle of wine. Nothing was too difficult.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was really close to the bath Bit uncomfy and weird

    Loved the heated pool and the view The room was lovely Having sky tv was great too

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They offered free use of equipment susch as mountain bikes, paddle boards, surfboards, fishing rods dvds and more was awesome

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone was great no complaints

    Lovely views over sea

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's great location, stunning views and tidy nice room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with modernising.

    All facilities well presented.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful view of the sea

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean, peaceful. Nice touches like fresh milk in fridge every day, friendly staff, room made up wvery day. Also great views!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weatherNice

    Very confortabl bed, lovely sea view

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn't work.

    Perfect location , spacious, free equipment to use, spa bath, daily cleaning, view, clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location excellent and a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location fantastic, facilities were clean and comfortable, and staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is extra comfy!!!! Loved the little private conservatory- coffee with a sea view!!!! Amazing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Condesation in bathroom

    Rooms were nice and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glass front door did not like bath plug broken

    Bed comfy veiw beautiful

    Stayed in June 2016

There are also 65 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: