Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alta Private Apartments 4.5 stars

89 Thompson Street, 9300 Queenstown, New Zealand

#58 of 81 Holiday rentals in Queenstown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 269 apartment reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Alta 11B
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid top money out of season..access to the was near impossible. Two couches unnecessary . Small table and two chairs to replace couch. Cups too small. Internet near impossible for 90%of times

    Bed good .bathroom good . Laundry excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 5a
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driveway entrance and parking a bit dodgy if your car is a little low. A few dents in walls and down pipes from people entering / exiting garages. Close to town but a rather steep hill back but not too bad. Getting out of Shower / bath could be a problem for older people .... Also not impressed with continued transaction fees, inlcuding loosing $28 on payment & subsequently refund of totally unnecessary $500 ‘Security Deposit’ - also paid about an extra $40 in other transaction fees due to CC’d payments made from Oz. (Only way I could pay). Was overcharged $25 for linen fee and refund only came to about $17 ?. Beware the extra charges !

    Excellent villa apartment with gorgeous 180 degree views of mountains, lake and town. Comfy, nice gas fire, excellent for home catering if you wish and quite close to town. Large rooms all mod cons and teenager enjoyed privacy. Nice balcony with spectacularly view if the weather is OK.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 8
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wastemaster didn’t work in only kitchen sink, driveway was difficult in low car - scrapped the bottom of car when entering and leaving despite having all passengers hop out of car and driving slowly.

    Lovely view and fireplace, heated floors in bathroom and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The agent charged me more than the Booking's price. Double charge, administration fee, haven't refund my bond after a week, etc. All these charges I never seen on Booking's contract but the agent just charged me without any notice or explaination. I booked other accomodations in Christchurch, Lake Tekepo, Te Anau through Booking, all of them just charged the price when I booked except this one. So bad feeling!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio - Alta 10B
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the price, SKY Tv would have been nice. A desk instead of one of the couchs would have suited me better. The bed is pretty uncomfortable. Overall pretty good though.

    Good size room, good shower. Easy to get keys on arrival i.e dropbox

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 4
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wrong code given to obtain keys, 2nd door wouldn't open and no keys were given out, sink didn't drain and was not fixed despite letting them know, no plunger so we couldn't make a good coffee thpugh there was instant coffee. No salt and pepper, bedroom had a tv that didn't work.

    Views, rooms, heater, ensuite

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio - Alta 11B
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dark. The neighbours were really noisy and did washing at all hours. This was right outside my room. I didn’t realise the property was up a hill. I was walking everywhere, so even though it was close to town, not ideal when you’re going out etc.

    The room had everything I needed (facilities wise). There was nothing I was looking for.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 4a
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Said there was a coffee plunger but none was there, empty salt and pepper shakers, limited pots and pans, no paper towels or napkins. Since we were only staying for a few days it wasn't worth it to buy those things, would have been nice if it was provided. But generally a fabulous place.

    Huge, clean, beautiful apartment with amazing view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 10A
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Supply your own washing and dishwashing detergent. Wifi was terrible, always cutting out and making you sign back in. No fan in the bathroom. Dining table blocking the heater which just caused the whole dining table to heat up. Garbage disposal didn’t work on arrival.

    The kitchen facilities were great. Lounge room was cosy. View was pretty good. Bedroom was nice. Heated bathroom floor was amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 11A
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both bedrooms were small and the beds were only doubles. Would have been nice to have a big bed. We had no where to store our bags at the end of the stay.

    Good location although was up a pretty steep hill. Had everything we needed with a full kitchen, bath and balcony.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 11A
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The rooms are small, and the space overall poorly designed with lots of wasted volume. Had I come in ski season I would have been furious: not a single hook to hang anything. The kitchen lacks essential utensils.

    Location, clean premises in a relatively good state, good communication from the company, nice gas fireplace in the common room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 8
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartments are a bit of a walk uphill from the CBD, but we knew that when we booked. The main problems were (i) poor wi-fi (slow and I had to enter the password every time I returned to the flat), (ii) poor lighting (several of the bulbs had blown and not been replaced), (iii) the sofa is very uncomfortable. These are each quite small issues, but they took the edge off our stay.

    The Alta Apartments are past their prime in terms of fixtures and fittings (a bit old) but the apartment was comfortable, spacious and the view from the balcony is among the best in Queenstown. The bedrooms were quiet (soundproofing from adjoining apartments was good) and the bathrooms were spacious enough and had underfloor heating. The cooking facilities were adequate, although it would be good to have a few more basics supplied (like salt and pepper). The garage is large and useful to store bikes, etc as well as a car. While there are some issues (poor wi-fi, notably) the apartment would be a good base for a longer stay in Queenstown.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - 1B
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was certainly no parking space and we initially had to part about 150-200 metres away. There was no view but a patio about 3 x 2 metres with whitewashed walls about 3 metres high open to the sky. Unfortunately someone nearby was having a new driveway tarmaced and the noise vibrated throughout the studio and went on until mid evening.

    We were in Studio 1B which is perhaps the smallest of Alta Apartments. The room was quite large with decent sized shower room. The studio was clean and quite a nice feel to it; the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 5a
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    kitchen fry pans terrible! need to get some non stick.. key difficult to access at night from lock box. annoying having to log on to wifi every time you come back to apartment. other than those few small details it was fantastic and would stay again.

    Views! lots of room.. great facilities..great location.. walked into Queenstown every day. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 3
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The Drain pipes overflow - this is analogous to the whole apartment. It has been overflowing for so long that there are wear marks into the concrete driveways from the constant dripping (and the noise that will keep you awake should the rain come down at night and you happen to be in the better room and only room with a view - unless you like a view of a building site). It's analogous because this is what has happened to the apartments in general. So many little things are slightly off or worn that it's like the dripping from the drainpipe - it's known about but has just been left to happen. Unfortunately it has been left for so long that there are now wear marks in the concrete of the apartments substance. The sofa is so worn that bits fall off when you sit on it. The middle seat on our sofa was broken. The standard lamp was broken. The light bulbs are all wrong and so the lighting is woefully inadequate. The light shades are stained and broken in most rooms, the shower door in the main room was coming off at the top hinge (very dangerous) and was known about by the house cleaners as a towel had been rolled and placed at the foot of the door as it wouldn't close properly. God forbid it would fall onto someone when they are showering! The master room only just had a view, blocked by the house in front and the views from the rear two rooms were of a building site - the curtains, thus, were constantly drawn as builders have an eye level view into the rooms and would start work at 0700 every morning (this is temporary obviously). The lights in the second room were underpowered and so even at night reading wasn't possible. The shower in the en-suite/main bathroom was like being urinated on by someone with prostate trouble - the shower in the master was lovely but had the dangerous door and I don't think, being 34, showering with my parents is an option anymore.

    Ease of key collection, easy layout to apartment, everything in borderline working order, quick walk downhill to centre of town, even shorter walk to beginning of Ben Lomond Tracks!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 11A
    • Stayed 5 nights

    on booking, the website originally said that you can reserve to secure the apartment, make changes and pay later. Shortly after this you we were locked in and could not alter the booking. 3 reasons why I wanted to change the booking was the 2queen beds, cost, and preferred something slightly close to the town centre. It was not until later that I read that it was 2 double beds, had sent a message via Bookings.com to change the beds (to include 2 single beds) and was told I had to pay an extra $100 for a rollaway bed (which I did). On arrival there was no rollaway bed and was told that I would have to pay the $100 and an extra $70 for someone to come and bring it there. I declined and Alta staff called and said they could do it for $125 instead which I declined again. They were apologetic and let a bottle of wine (which was appreciated). Had asked for a room change as the view was very limited given the rate we paid- was told the other rooms were booked and assumed there would have been a decent view as per the website (we had booked this accommodation 6 months earlier)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - 1B
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We booked a self catering studio apartment (Apartment 1B) for the last 5 days of our three week New Zealand tour, to allow us to sit back, relax, and reflect on our trip from Auckland in the North, down to Queenstown - our first overseas holiday in 10 years. We imagined preparing our own foods, drinking local wines, sitting on a balcony, and enjoying the local Queenstown areas. What we got actually spoiled our holiday. Be very careful what you sign up for at Alta Apartments. Check what you expect to get, and make enquiries as to whether those things actually are present. The upstairs apartments are probably a lot better than the downstairs, and much more likely to be representative of the advertising. 'Apartment 1B" is not a studio apartment. It is a bedroom with an ensuite, king sized bed, wall mounted tv, and 2 parts of a modular sofa, a microwave, fridge, toaster and kettle, all leading off a shared vestibule. It is ground floor at the front, without direct access to the outside, and subterranean at the rear, at the bottom of a small 3m deep light well. Whilst safe, the light switches in the bedroom and bathroom have no covers on them - the wiring is clearly visible. The lack of Air Con and Fans makes for a stuffy room, and a need to leave the windows open. This was particularly bad, as there is an active building site across the road. No one told us about the building site - We booked in October, stayed in February, and as a builder myself, I know that the building site existed prior to us booking the holiday. It should have been declared on the advert. Described as Self catering, it is NOT. There is no kitchen, just a half size bar fridge, with ice cube capability. Sat on top of that, a microwave, and beside it another bedside table to hold a toaster, a kettle, some crockery, cutlery in a drawer and some coffee tea etc. A working kitchen needs a sink, running water, food storage and preparation spaces, and cooking facilities.

    It was a reasonable sized bedroom and ensuite, clean and tidy, and relatively new. The bed was comfortable and the bedding was fresh, but we had to pay extra for that. There was plenty of hot water. The Property Managers were fantastic, fast, helpful, attentive, and sympathetic, even whilst being unable to actually help us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 4a
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t work out how to open/close garage without entering the apartment and pressing the button in the garage.

    Great sized apartment and the view from the living room was pretty special.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 2
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The excessive gouging of money - security bond and processing fee and extra linen fees. Kitchen was not well equipped - e.g. lack of chopping board and large pots.

    Clean and comfortable, great view and very quiet with the town in a walk able distance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - 1B
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. When we arrived at 2.30pm, the room wasn't ready yet! 2. Advertising on booking.com will be provide Free WIFI, but when we arrive, NO FREE WIFI AT ALL!

    Good water pressure.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 3
    • Stayed 3 nights

    some kitchen equipments are not working. There are rubbish on the balcony. apartment is a little bit far from town centre.

    beds are comfortble, view is great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 2
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some small improvements to the decor could improve the feel and enjoyment of the stay, eg. good well fitting curtains on windows would improve sleep quality and feel of bedrooms. Heat pump for cooling of apartment or ceiling fans would also improve comfort levels

    Spacious modern apartment in good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 10A
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real grumbles apart from there was no aircon so the rooms were really hot at night and there was only one fan provided

    Good location with excellent views of lake wakatipu nice set up and the perfect size for us

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two bedroom apartment - 1A
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No airconditioning in summer meant it was quite warm/muggy in the rooms during the morning and daytime. I've been staying here for the last 4-5 years for work and holidays (mostly in winter or on the fringe), and the particular apartment we had (Room #1) was showing signs of wear and tear. But it was very clean and well presented aside from a few holes in doors and marks on furniture.

    Great location, close to everything. 10-minute downhill walk to centre of Queenstown (2-minute drive). Fully self-contained apartment was perfect for my wife and I, with our 11-month old baby. Spectacular views out to the Remarkables, Cecil Peak, Devils Staircase and the lake and harbour. Your own lock-up garage is great for easy parking if you have a car, but also to store large items (MTB, Pram, Snowboard, Skis) and as a wet-room in winter. Internal staircase means that once in the garage you have immediate access to your apartment.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 5
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hosts response was tardy. Could never get them on the phone, always answering machine during business hours. Reply by email was late, so we checked out earlier than they eventually allowed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 11A
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Took forever to work out the TV only to find it wasn't turned on at the set - a little button underneath. Also couldn't get the surround sound system to work which would have been nice. Speakers on the TV were OK though. Grounded the car on the way in - there must be a way that your driveway can be re-graded so that this doesn't occur.

    Loved the view, the layout of the apartment also suited us perfectly (nice dark bedrooms needed while daylight saving is happening). Coffee, tea and milk a nice touch.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Alta 11B
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was advertised as bright and airy with a balcony but when we got there it was dark and dingy with almost no natural light and no view. Very depressing room to be in! I wouldn’t book through RelaxAway again as I wouldn’t be confident I was getting what was advertised.

    Short ish walk to town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 10
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Entry driveway is not good for cars, needs to be levelled Very warm upstairs in summer with no cooling

    The view is really pleasant Town is accessible without being too close

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 11A
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No notice of $500 bond when booking through booking.com. Should have referenced on site before commitment. As ww were there for eight days should have option to change sheets and towels.

    Tidy rooms clean and comfortable and good location. Apartment was well equipped and good size for three adults.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 5a
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to supply more of toilet paper and washing liquid and to get your car in out out of driver way is difficult as its very narrow other that that really good thanks.

    The view was by far the best part. :) And was quite area. Lovely apartment too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Studio - 1B
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was on the bottom level, with two storeys above us. I wasn’t expecting lake views, but this was dark and dingy. It said in the advert it was a self contained apartment. It was more like a hotel room that had no facilities! A small bar fridge and a kettle is not what I perseeve as a self service apartment. This was certainly NOT what was advertised and we feel completely ripped off! Upon arrival there was only 1 x sharp knife, a butter knife, 1 x teaspoon and two small cups. There were no forks, no spoons, no toaster, no glasses and no cooking facilities whatsoever! All the food we had bought to cook with went to waste! One of the beside drawers didn’t open properly so we couldn’t put any of our clothes in there. The ‘courtyard area’ was surrounded by 3 metre concrete walls and felt like you were out for your break from a prison cell! There were old cigarette butts from previous occupants in a container that you could smell the minute you entered the ‘courtyard’. There was an old piece of plywood and paint pot lid in the ‘courtyard’ where it appeared some tradesmen had tried to fix a drainage problem and hadn’t cleaned up after themselves. We did not sleep well at the property, due to being woken up by the people staying above us. We could hear them upstairs walking around. They even tried to unlock our door twice whilst we were trying to sleep! They obviously thought that this room was part of their apartment. The room got extremely hot at night and even though we had the windows and door open, there was no breeze that could get in due to the 3 metre wall blocking airflow. A fan in the apartment would have been nice to ease this. The instructions were to park on the road. That’s ok, if you can actually get a park! 90% of the time we had to park on yellow lines as there was no sufficient off street parking.

    I liked Queenstown, but nothing in Studio apartment 1B met our expectations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 4a
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen utensils and laundry & drying facilities needs upkeeping.

    The apartment is large and comfortable for our family, and the Unit 4 is good view of the lake!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 3
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The glass door at the back, was not very private as there was construction work happening.

    Rooms were spacious and clean We appreciated the fact that it was smoke free We had a great view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 4a
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There could have been more cooking equipment / utensils. Although we were there at a period of hot weather and there was not way to allow any breeze through the bedrooms so nights and early mornings were quite uncomfortable. We understand that the hot weather is more of an exception rather than the norm.

    The location and facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 8
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Spacious apartment, good kitchen and cooking facilities, washing machine and dryer, great views from the living areas, free wifi, secure car parking. Travelled as a group so having three separate bedrooms and two bathrooms was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 8
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the facilitators are a bit worn out and should be fixed. Although the apartment is about 10-15min walk from town, it is on the top of the hill and thus more effort to walk up to the apartments.

    The apartment had a great view of the remarkables and parking was easy and apartment is fully equipped

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 11A
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No service which is fine as has washing machine wash towels, but not enough toilet paper supplied, neighbours bit noisey, disappointed with view as blocked by neighbouring unit and trees unfortunately, so not really as advertised. Light bulbs need replacing in laundry area as unable to see.

    Beds comfortable, upstairs clean and warm, adequate kitchen.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 9
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hill climb to the apartment from town, we had 4 people had illnesses and couldn't come but we still got charged for their linen even though the beds weren't usedl

    The view, the space, wifi, sky tv

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The locks on both bathrooms were broken and there was no salt in the kitchen which made cooking a bit less flexible, but this barely took away from a great experience overall.

    Apartment 8 had amazing views, a well equipped kitchen with great appliances and the rooms were clean and spacious. The garage had ample space. The operators were also very helpful in answering all the questions we asked them.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Alta 11B
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures show apartment has views of the beautiful scenery in actual fact we were allocated the bottom apartment tucked in the corner of the apartment block with no view at all.

    Included washing machine and dryer

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 4a
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think the property is not as private as I would have liked. Although there were curtains on all all bar one window, it required you to have the curtains pulled to allow privacy in the bedrooms during the day . The other properties are very close and noise from all the neighbouring properties was a little annoying.

    The property was much bigger than I had thought. It was very clean and easy to find. Beds were comfortable and the view to the Remarkables was fantastic .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 10A
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    open space so everyone can see in every angle... Can’t have curtains open in rooms or lounge room ever Being top floor means smoke rises and people below us were very very heavy smokers

    View from verdanah was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 11A
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The driveway entrance was tricky. You couldn’t help but scrap the bottom of the car.

    The apartment was very clean and well maintained. We had a great position overlooking Queenstown. Close enough to be convenient but far enough away to not get the noise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 2
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were driving a 12-seater van that was too tall to fit into the garage. I assume most visitors hiring a 3-bedroom apartment would be in a similar type of vehicle, or multiple small ones that would not fit into the garage (not all of the vehicles would fit in there). We had to park at the nearby tramping entrance every night. A closer parking place that would fit a tall van would be good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 5a
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was very very tight. Too far away to walk to restaurants etc. You couldn't open the street entrance to the apartment with a key. It would only open from inside.

    View was lovely and the amount of sunlight the apartment got was very clever

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 3
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A few more utensils in the kitchen would be better, eg egg flip/lifter, chopping boards

    Great space for the whole family, loved the fireplace, it kept us warm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 11
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were deeply disappointed with this accommodation. Upon arriving the whole place smelt and was freezing as though nobody had stayed there in a while. We had an infant travelling with us - we hired a portacot for the outrageous price of $50, which we discovered had been set up right next to a heater. We ended up having our baby in the downstairs room as this was the only place we could have her not next to a heater. However, this room was freezing and we arrived late in the day so had to put her to bed for the night shortly after arriving - yet it took about 5 hours for this room to finally reach a decent temperature for her. The beds were atrocious - it was like sleeping on wood and we may as well have been on the floor. To top it off, the king size bed downstairs was actually 2 singles pushed together and joined with a king size sheet! The fireplace upstairs was a mission to get going and the internet barely worked. When it did you got logged back out all the time. And to top it off the toaster cord was taped back together - highly dangerous! Furthermore, the views were nothing like advertised. We will definitely not be staying again and would not recommend to anyone either.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 11A
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only downside was the downstairs hallway and bathroom did get very cold (but it was winter after all), and no-one sits ina hallway. The heaters in the bedroom and the gas fire burner upstairs for the lounge / kitchen made it super warm so definently not a reason to skip this apartment. The property is around a 15 minute walk up a hill from the centre of Queenstown, but you could easily get a taxi if you wanted too for $10.

    The views from the living room were amazing, and the overall facilities at the property were good, with big comfy beds. Perfect for four friends who are looking for better facilities than a hotel would offer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 11A
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mouldy shower curtain, poorly placed light switches, narrow car park for large vehicles

    Spacious apartment, plenty of room to spread out, well equipped kitchen, nice fireplace, gorgeous view of the mountain just like the photos

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio - Alta 11B
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in 11B which was wheelchair accessible but there is no lighting on the path which felt an it dangerous, we had to buy a torch!

    The location was just out of town within walking distance but nice and quiet at night time. Nice and spacious room and loved the heated tiles in the bathroom!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 5
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We were a family of 6 and struggled a little with the small pots and lack of baking dishes/trays when we chose to stay home and cook. The dining table was very tight - perhaps more slim-line chairs would allow 6 people to fit comfortably around the table.

    The property was modern and clean with a "homely" feel - and a dishwasher to boot! We had great views in both directions and appreciated the easy access to the center of town. It was great to have a garage and modern laundry facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Alta 10B
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that most of the details were sent to our home computer long after we arrived in Queenstown and were of no useful information to us. This would be better attached with the original booking. We did think we were booking an Apartment but discovered that it was just a studio unit which was not advertised on the original request. The unit appeared not to have been used for some time and was cold, damp and stale smelling. A small table inside would be much better than two large sofas. My name was mis-spelt on the nice welcome letter and we got two (late) confirmations signed by two different people!!??

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 4a
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking quite tight for larger cars.

    Modern serviced apartment with good facilities, fantastic views, short walk from centre of town. The family really enjoyed it, will come back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 8
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not recommend this accommodation for a stay, beware!! This accommodation is not like it has been advertised. Also extra money was charged after we paid The advertised amount, with no cancellation. One of the beds were broken and there was old food in the cupboard, with a broken lock on the main bathroom.

    Beds that weren't broken we comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 11A
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just a wee thing, 5 light bulbs in the apartment weren't working.

    Great amount of space, good view, great kitchen and very nice decor. We had a great stay, thank you.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - 1B
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As above put in wrong box

    We had no Bed change for the time we stayed 4 nights. Could of been more milk and coffee. Having to do our own dishes and empty the bins on departure? never heard of this before.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - 1B
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their lack of concern. There was no 24/7 hotline that you could call for emergencies. The answering machine recording was not clear.

    When we arrived, we were given instructions to get the key from a combination locked box beside the door. It was a Sunday and when we tried to take a shower, there was no hot water. We tried to call the number that was in the printout but the reply was just an answering machine. We also didnt know how the room heater worked so that night, it was very uncomfortable since we come from a tropical country. I sent them a complaint email but they never replied. The following night, we had to take our showers in our two friends' rooms. It was so embarrassing! It was only when the cleaning staff came next day that we were able to communicate our predicament to them. So, on our last night, we were able to take hot showers in our own rooms.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio - 1B
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. No staff on site - had to email them . We were disgusted to find a prison- like room when we arrived . It was a studio without any kitchen facilities located below the street level.There was no windows. There is a sliding door leading to a space bounded by a 8 ft high wall, exterior light comes from it. We were lucky to find some cleaning people who assisted us and called the manager if there is another unit available. We would have left had we not prepaid or if we had transportation ( a cab dropped us off ). We had to pay an extra $1,000.00 to transfer to the only available unit( they say ) a huge 3 floors, 3 BR 2 BA with garage, laundry room. We didn't have any choice! 2.Poor location - a 15-20 minute walk uphill is no fun from downtown. No available cab to flag out there . Not a good place if you have an emergency! 3. The glass front door from the street level leading to the second floor offers no privacy and hence some safety issues. I was not comfortable esp at nite staying in a glass bowl! 4. No service - at least provide some garbage bags. You have to take out your garbage at the end of your stay to outside. 5. The master BR was facing a neighbor house Windows so no privacy . You can't open the curtains !

    Nice view of the lake above the roof tops from the living room . Very clean linens , looks new Washer and dryer in unit Modern kitchen

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 5
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More toiletries & toilet paper would have been great.

    Really clean & a lovely place to stay. Very close to Mountain Bike trails & a 15 min walk into the town centre.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 11A
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Several lights broken & not replaced. ADVISED office on arrival but no response Some kitchen equipment blunt or broken. $500 deposit taken but only $452 repaid even tho property left exactly as it was found.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 10A
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower

    Nicely furnished 2 bedroom apartment with large balcony + stunning views of the lake. Bedrooms and bathroom are on the small side, but comfy beds make up for it. Quite a steep walk back from the centre. Quiet area of town.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio - Alta 11B
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't replace toilet paper upon request. Unit did not have a kitchen as expected of an apartment - only a kettle and toaster

    Beds very comfy. Bathroom was nice with heated floors.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 5
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a bit of maintenance.No privacy locks in the toilet and bathroom ,broken locks in d bedroom .Though small makes a difference when you pay a bumper price for d day.

    The location and d views

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - 1B
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking facilities only available parking 200+m down the hill after it stated private parking, no fan/cooling device for hot weather, stated views from balcony/verandah all we got was a cement prison cell.was told on website laundry facilities but couldnt find nor did it say in the booklet left in room. Light didnt work in entry was pitch black and couldn't see way into room.

    The water pressure

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - 1B
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not make it clear how different studio is to the apartments. Was clear there was no view but what was not clear - no onsite parking (and street parking hard - approx 400m at least from the unit), no cutlery/crockery. Could have paid same or less for a hotel room (or even hostel) and been more comfortable. Totally non refundable booking as well.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 5
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3rd downstairs bedroom has no view and feels like a cave....although very comfortable. Door handles missing from the main bedroom door.

    Great views and spacious.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Alta 10B
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a little dark. Some bulbs had blown, but even with them, it would have been quite dark. Nice to have tea/coffee - but no microwave, so really, you couldn't make things to eat, apart from toast.

    It was a handy location. Nice shower / bathroom. Good to have Internet. Good, large TV, with range of channels. Very clean & comfy.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio - Alta 11B
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A friend did call and ask for Wine and Chocolate to be delivered to our room with a note - there was no note or Chocolates.. So the wine alone was a bit odd we didn't know if it was free or ours - we did drink it in the end

    Easy walk to town, comfortable quiet location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Alta 10B
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dark, only natural light was through the front door. Room was also advertised with a large double bed, infact it was two singles pushed together, made for horrible sleeping due to the join down the center of the bed. The driveway entry is horrible, be carefull or you will destroy your undercarridge. Theres no reception or staff so it doesnt feel welcoming. They took a $500 bond out of my account over a month in advance, not necessary at all. No daily room cleaning, extra cleans during your visit will cost you extra.

    Apartment block was close to town, only a 10-15min walk to the Center of Queenstown. The room was very clean and tidy upon arrival.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio - Alta 11B
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hated being charged a $500 bond. If every place I stayed in NZ charged that, I wouldn't have had a holiday. Nowhere else charged a bond. Maybe the owners had a bad experience in early days and I understand this but 90% of travellers do the right thing and they have our credit card for accidental damage anyway. Also didn't like being charged a cleaning fee, should be included in the rack rate. Given the cleaning fee I was ordered to clean up the unit before departure. Greedy and inhospitable.

    Bed very comfortable. Shower amazing.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Alta 10B
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a shared laundry with the upstairs room. Wouldn't have been a problem if upstairs neighbours hadn't decided to put dryer on at 11.3pm at night.

    Friendly cleaning staff. Private location. Appreciated having a car space outside the room. Nice spacious room and bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 11A
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very modern, clean split level apartment. leaving room superb with beautiful views of the lake. 15mins walk from city centre. so finding food is easy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Alta 10B
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's really more like an unserviced hotel room than a serviced apartment. There is only one sink (the bathroom sink) and no dishwashing detergent, which made cleaning dishes difficult. Also, only providing 2 rolls of toilet paper for 6 nights is pretty stingy.

    The location was really good, only a 15 minute walk to the town centre. The shower was also excellent!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Alta 9
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater in the showers & warmer took sometime to adjust as it was very cold unfortunately during 'Summer' at 5°C, on 13Dec. Only provided with basic necessities such as sugar packets, coffee, tea bags and 2 laundry powder packets. Just nice for a short stay 4 days 3 nights. If you are planning to cook, you will need to purchase your own condiments. Apartment is abit too high. 1 small room on 2nd floor together with the living and 2 rooms (1 master bed) on 1st floor. It is tiring to get up the 2 flights of stairs from level 1 garage / main door up to the room especially with heavy big luggages. There was an overcharged from the apartment. I had to contact booking.com numerous times to get a refund back. Security fee $500 was collected way in advance before the trip. Best to monitor your bank after booking is confirmed.

    The bed was comfortable and provided with sufficient towels and kitchen cooking equipments.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio - Alta 11B
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only accommodation in an entire holiday where the freezer was broken. The squeaky floor of the apartment on top of us, the dirty cutlery and the strong unpleasant smell on our arrival made the place a real disappointment.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: