Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Apollo Hotel Rotorua 4.5 stars

7 Tryon Street, 3043 Rotorua, New Zealand

#17 of 24 Holiday rentals in Rotorua

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 669 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor toiletries. Had to change swipe cards a couple of times because it wouldnt let me in , apart from that simple decent hotel.

    Reached too early, and they accomodated me by getting the room ready earlier

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fridge wasn't working and I had to make the complaint to the reception but as he promised to get the answer from his manager but still didn't get his reply. Also, room was quite cold no heat pump.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Interconnecting Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    mould in the showers, some left overs from previous residents under the beds, someone else's underpants left on the balcony

    Location was good, staff pleasant when around

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Interconnecting Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirt on floor in bathroom. Shower glass not clean. Shower itself hardly had any water coming out. Hate bedspreads on hotel beds. Like the new style using sheet on top and bottom of duvet. Far more hygienic! Very dark decor, and little bit untidy. But have stayed in a lot worse in Rotorua. But was cheap. Didn’t think this room was value for money.

    It was better than the last place we stayed. Comfortable beds. Relatively tidy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot water was lukewarm Excessive noise from other guests Water running through pipes hard to get used to Bigger TV

    Room was acceptable Nice kitchen Comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marks on the wall in our room. The property overall looks outdated, requires a revamp.

    The studio room was larger than expected. It was definitely value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in shower. Bowls not cleaned properly. Edges on wooden furniture damaged. Hand basin not cleaned properly. No extra mugs or glasses to serve friends tea. No bodum . Lights too dim. Couldn’t read at night. Some lights not working. Dark lampshades not helpful.

    Bed was fine. Heat pump excellent. Decor pleasant. TV worked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place had a very musty smell. The pool area and pool itself was very dirty. The spa water was merky and the whole place was not what the photos portrayed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier One-Bedroom Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    front desk staffs, usually no one there, and after pressing the bell still have to wait

    setting, environment love the blue pool even not jumping in still a great sight to see.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few little paint scuffs and scratches on walls that would just need a small touch up and would make room look more looked after and walls were abit thin. Other than that it was really nice.

    The bathroom was outstanding. It was really beautifully done. Room was a good size and was nice to have a balcony looking down to the pool we also liked that their was a spa aswell.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Interconnecting Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy with foreign guests leaving room doors open and talking loudly in corridor early morning and late at night... also not that clean..checked under bed day we left and found mans sock and milk containers under bed neither of which belonged to us.

    Good location and reasonably priced

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Interconnecting Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t very welcoming. Didn’t feel like we were staying in the tourist town of Rotorua felt more like little India with the decor/condiments. Cobwebs in windows, tiles in bathroom were not clean.

    Beds were comfortable & clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really dated needing serious renovation. The pool looks unusable. Very cramped rooms.

    Location was great and staff helpful. The laundry was a god-send and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are super thin so you can hear EVERYTHING that’s happening in the room next to you. The outdoor area near the pool and spas could do with a tidy up. Detail cleaning in the room was missed for example, the wall ledges were dirty with dust, the bottom of the sink was dirty on arrival and the toilet paper holder was the same. The fridge in our room was extremely hard to open as the seals stuck and to fill up the jug/ wash your dishes you had to do it from the bathroom as there is no kitchen sink. Both lamps in our room did not work and one of the wires were starting to fray. Pool tiles were loose and could easily cut you if not careful.

    General cleanliness was good, staff were friendly and polite. The corridors/ reception area is clean and easy to find your way around. Balcony was in a tidy condition. Our toaster in our room was broken which was frustrating but the staff replaced this first thing in the morning without any difficulty. Parking was good. Spa was always hot and was really enjoyable as is semi private and they were clean. My partner and I personally enjoyed our stay, it was easy to check in/out and the negatives in our opinion were only tiny things that didn’t make a huge difference to our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room chair as broken. Very dangerous. Lounge not vacummed properly. There were feathers under & behind the bed in the lounge. Bathroom is dark, needs better lighting. Could have been cleaned better. Paid for the room for an overnite stay. We arrivef at 10am but check in time was 2pm. Had to hang around for 4hours.

    Location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was awful got to second floor and felt like it was going to fall back down to ground level, First arrival had a quick look around and there was a huge hunk of hair on the shower wall, mould underneath the shower door and the curtains were shut when we arrived.

    Staff were friendly and the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lift when you go up and it jumps but I got used to it. And for the most part I took the stairs.

    Friendly and welcoming when I arrived. I liked my room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was shabby with stained furniture and stained carpet. The bathroom was not clean especially the toilet and glass in the shower. We paid significantly more than our friends who stayed in the smarter 4 star accommodation across the road. This motel is not deserving of it’s rating.

    Size of the room- that’s about it really

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon was poor, and they turned it off durin the day whilst we were out, return to a hot apartment that took 10 hrs to cool

    Clean and service was primo

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maintenance and decor were tired. Many of the lights in the bathroom did not work and the extractor fan was dirty. In the bedroom, the air-conditioner controller bracket dropped onto the carpet when removing the controller.

    The room was reasonably comfortable with direct access to the pool area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier One-Bedroom Spa Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toaster didn't work properly. Not very soundproof. Could hear other guests in hallways and could hear lift everytime someone used it as our room was close to lift.

    Serviced apartment felt like a home away from home. Staff friendly and helpful. Even had a bath which is great for my 4 yr old. Iron and ironing board provided. Modern bathroom and kitchenette.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the overall upkeep and cleanliness of the hotel was NOT good. the stone vanity unit in the bathroom was falling off the wall and we were scared to put even our toothbrushes on it. The gardens around the pool were overgrown with weeds and not a pleasant place to sit, the spa pool could not be turned off, the kitchen sink drained under the cupboard not down the pipe (an easy fix but they didn't seem to be in a rush to fix it), the curtains didn't cover the sides of the windows, the décor was dated and there was bllod on the bathroom door which was not ours. We had to ask each day for soap, coffee, milk and toilet paper and the rooms did not get made up on a Sunday

    the location was good for tourist facilities and the car-parking was free and accessable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel staff were friendly, bed was clean, sheets were clean. The room definitely needs a deep clean, marks all over the carpet, drink stains over the walls but all and all value for money!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like how we had a door invetween the room next to us so we could hear everything they were doing like their tv and them talking. The breakfast too needs a lot more variety- we went across the road for our breakfast.

    The room itself was nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property was quite run down, pool was filthy, reception area wasn't overly clean or inviting. Lift facilities were old and clunky. Our room was next to the lift which we could hear whenever someone used it.

    N/A

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C didn’t work and there was no 24 hour service number to help and when I mentioned it the next morning all I got was a sorry. No comp breakfast, no partial reimbursement, just a “whoops”

    Drying rack that was heated in the bathroom was a nice touch!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier One-Bedroom Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took a very long time to be checked in. On arrival reception staff had to go and check if room was ready, even after stated check in time. Very strong sulphur smell.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Interconnecting Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not getting one of the rooms serviced no flannels teaspoons ice trays also could do with a good clean all around the building.Pool had all green around it .

    Close to city

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room, awsome staff, reasonable size pool, great hot tubs, coke machine on ground floor was a great touch, I got a bottle of ice cold water at 1am when everything else was shut.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty, cobwebs on ceiling, broken curtains, missing parts on light fitting exposing live electrical terminals and a PowerPoint in the kitchen did not work. Uncomfortable bed. The spa pool was filthy and had lots of floating bits all throughout the water. The administration did not offer any suloution to any of this and seemed as if he didn’t care.

    There wasn’t a lot to like about this place unfortunately. Although reception did get in touch to see what time we were checking in which was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was located very close to the elevator and this was really noisey it kept us awake most of the night. Also the tea and coffe option only offered one type of milk and I am lactose in tolerant a soy milk option would have been nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the little things, there was no aircon just a fan that we used. There wasn’t much lightswhen you closed the curtain and it got very dark and the lights weren’t very good either. The pool needs a upgrade as the tiles were falling off around the pool! Overall only little things to work on!

    I loved that the room was couple of steps away from the pool. I loved the bathroom and beds were very nice, everything was clean and our room smelt nice and fresh!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Interconnecting Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the outside when entering it looked old and looked like it needs a revamp, for a Hotel I thought that it would look at least 4-5 stars quality. It needs renovating and a bit more appeal. The lift felt a bit weird as it gives you a fright when stopping at your floor eg level 1, it jumps as you approach the level. Ended up just using the stairs, bit annoying as we have a 10kg size baby that's fairly heavy. Recommend a service I think? On the day we left a couple got stuck In the lift, they were a bit shaken up. The swimming pool was dirty and didn't use the spa coz it needed a clean Inside nothing was really appealing.

    It was clean & comfortable in the rooms. Good size rooms, bathroom was really nice compact and clean. Bed was comfy and enjoyed the rest after a big day. Nothing to fault on the inside. I liked the statues on level 1 on corner of the hallways. Nice feel of serenity. The outdoor area looked big, had a family size table & some beach chairs around the poolside. Outside of each room had a clean ashtray & Chairs. Impressive. Manager was warm & friendly, very helpful and good sense of humour.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con, the single stand alone fan was that worn out it was a joke. There was mound along the shower fittings, the dishes had to be washed in the same sink as you shave in. The power points in the small kitchenette only worked once and then both stopped working altogether. Got back to room at 3.45pm and it had not been serviced and was only done so after we called the front desk. Front door didn’t seal and the light from the hall way poured in.

    The temp of the pool was perfect

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    They forgot to put a baby cot in the room and I had to go and ask several times. They kept promising that they were going to do it, but they did not until we told them we need it now! This is after I talk to them on the phone and asked to make sure they had one in the room at arrival.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Interconnecting Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place said it was air conditioned but found out after the first night the studio family connecting rooms don’t have, so had two nights of poor hot sleep. Spa pools water was dirty. Swimming pool had a green strain around the top and pool area had not seen a broom in the last couple of months. Complete place is tired and run down

    Room size and layout is good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Interconnecting Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two rooms- both rooms very worn and tired looking (dirty crumpled carpet, dangerous power point hanging out of wall, stains/mould in shower and floor seal lifting, ugly brown bed covers- did not look clean, rusty utensils in kitchenette, stained ironing board cover, etc), beds lumpy and uncomfortable, lots of noise from other guests in hallways and by the pool, very old crumpled carpet in hallway-challenging to wheel a suitcase over, the lift gives a huge jolt every time it stops. The place needs refreshing and modernising.

    Good location, reasonable price, free wi-fi and parking, reception staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was small and the toilet was in the wrong place to close to the rack the door also was in the way the room was dark and the kitchenette well a working progress I guess.

    I enjoyed the spa.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard,& I will not recommend a studeo appartments for a family as they don't have a kitchen sink,had 3 fill the jug out of the sink in the bathroom 👎👎👎👎👎👎👎

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Transport & shuttle bus to go around Rotorua could be more advertised and organised to make them available for convenience.

    Clean and reasonably good value for money & helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately it was so noisey, other guests, slamming doors, shouting, phones going off, I barely slept all night.

    The room was big, clean & comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Interconnecting Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean rooms. Torn towel (I mean really?!). Unpainted plaster repair work on wall. Blown light bulb in bathroom. Pool area is in a bad state of disrepair with tiles coming off, etc. Broken bedside lamp. Soiled bed sheets. Paint peeling off the ceiling. The place really needs a facelift, refurb, etc., etc. The photos shown on Booking.com are misleading.

    The spa pools are the only redeeming feature of this facility.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was green algae slime growing around the tiling edge of the pool and on the floor of the pool in the broken tiles at the shallow end. When Insteped on it, the green slime all mixes in the water. Many of the tiles around the outside and on the steps going in are broken with very sharp edges.

    The pool was a good size. That is the only good thing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear the neighbours tv going all night. Spas seemed abit dirty.

    Once looked like a flash motel but has been let go a bit. Friendly polite staff with warming welcome when checked in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    the holes in the walls, the shower leaking all over the bathroom/hallway floor the dirty windows and half used shower gels and how the staff when advised didn't really seem to care

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Interconnecting Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Big disappointment, this place can't be rated 4 + stars!! The whole place is so dingy and depressing. There was also a strange rule about no room cleaning provided on public holidays (never heard of this, maybe it's normal in NZ??). We had interconnecting "apartments" but they were just rooms with a microwave.

    Guys on reception were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A better range of hot drinks would have been awesome, other than that we don’t have too much more that we didn’t like!

    The big was nice and big and comfortable. Free wifi the whole time and lovely staff made the trip really memorable. The bathroom is lovely and clean. The hotel also offers a pool and spas which were lovely after a long day!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning within the room that I was allocated; the room only got partially serviced and the pool tiles were in disrepair and bordering on dangerous

    The hotel was very near to the geo-thermal village

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture was outdated, the chairs and table kind of falling apart (didnt matter though as we disnt need to use them). The staff at reception was not very friendly.

    It was well located in te puia and practcal for the camping van to park. They had washing machines which was useful and the room was quite big. It was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior of the hotel could do with an upgrade i.e.the grey colour of the hotel makes it look gloomy and slightly uninviting. Not all rooms have a/c.

    My husband and I were booked in for one night and were blown away by the accommodation, which I describe as a first class room. We loved the hotel so much we stayed an extra night, this time staying in a one bedroom apartment at a fraction of the price. We will definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Interconnecting Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning not working and kettle not working. Staff unwilling to help during the stay but offered to rectify the issue the next day when we were supposed to check out.

    Cleanness of the rooms and the bathroom

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier One-Bedroom Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Felt like criminals at checkout - the person checking us out took ages. The room was already paid for. Never sure why places like this even take a credit card - there's no mini bar or restaurant or telephone to run up any costs and the room was already paid for - seemed pointless and slow

    The guy that greeted us was extremely friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Interconnecting Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked 2 nights Fri & Sat as a group of 6 for an event. Fairly tired complex overall not really inviting, but reasonably clean. Pool area could have done with a spruce up & unfortunately our room was not serviced on the sat. Arriving late friday night parking was hard to find, nothing at the hotel & we ended up parking down the road, admittedly the large hotel across the road was busy that night. The room was very hot as the large radiator panel was on full the whole time - could not be turned off.

    The location of the hotel was the reason we were staying there

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was really scary, felt dodgy. Was too fast and stopped real fast. Imagine the Willy Wonka lift! Our room was also right next to the lift so we could hear all night. Would also prefer one big mattress rather than 2 single beds placed together - can't sleep in the middle! One other thing was we found that the lighting in the room was too dark.

    Room decor was very nice and modern Pool was nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's no sound proof walls/doors so we could hear people talk clearly as they pass our room or walk down the hotel stairs.

    Great staff, free wifi, just 5 mins drive from town centre

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A small table to put our breakfast on would be useful, but we appreciate this was a technically a studio apartment, and a spacious one at that.

    Clean, tidy with modern feel, warm cosy room. nice shower facility. Nice walk nearby around whakarewarewa area. Ability to make our own breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was just two singles pushed together.. Wasn't too bad though but a proper double would have been nice!

    Everything ran smooth and easy (check in/check out) and the room was big and clean.. staff were friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The basin facility - wash dishes in bathroom very awkward, toilet roll cramped- knocked elbow at first use, staying 2 nights sat to mon but no cleaning of room in weekend, no tissues.

    They provided extra towels and flannels on request, came to assist with tv channels

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier One-Bedroom Spa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is featured with a bathtub and a huge shower box, however, the water pressure is so so so weak. We had 3 people staying in the room and it took us more than an hour to have a shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a old leak in the ceiling above the bed, room was suppose to be serviced all they did was give us toilet paper, we left our towels in a pile in the bathroom which the left there, I had to take the towels to the cleaners and ask for clean ones which they only gave us one there were 3 of us staying, rubbish was not emptied, and they did not top up the sugar and coffee etc, When you made toast or coffee there was not enough room above the fridge to do so it would benefit from a pull out bench above the fridge. No spare pillows in the cupboard and one spare blanket for 2 beds. The outside area with the pool was dowdy and needed repainting the pool had loose tiles and looked yuk and the spa looked dirty and brown, the area needed plants and life nothing like the pictures.. it was not worth the money we were charged at all and I would not recommend to anyone and would never stay there again.

    The location was good,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Interconnecting Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some loose tiles around the outdoor pool which we thought were dangerous and the decking could have done with some non-slip mats. The rooms could do with a couple of new rubbish bins and it was very dusty behind the bedside tables. They might want to pop a few more bath towels in the rooms, 2 in each room was not enough.

    We had interconnecting rooms which was really good. The rooms were warm, comfortable and spacious. The Bathrooms were roomy and modern. The facilities at the Hotel were good, Spa pool was relaxing, clean and private. We thought that the outside area was really nice, open and private. Staff were friendly and helpful. We will consider staying again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Interconnecting Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was rubbish under the bed but that's my only dislike and the parking was at a premium with no availability. First in, first serve policy I am guessing. I am reading bad reviews about TV reception and I thought the TV reception was great. It was just the small pile of rubbish found under one of the 4 the beds that was our main dislike.

    Apollo Hotel was a very comfortable stay for 4 friends travelling from Northland for a weekend getaway. I would be happy to stay at the Apollo hotel again in the future. Friendly, no fuss staff that welcome with a smile. It was great that there was someone awake to answer the front door at 11pm and gave us easy instructions to enter the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    A low pitched hum that continued throughout the night. I was in room 211 and it sounded like an air conditioning unit or something similar. It was constant so I eventually fell asleep.

    Nice premises and after hours check in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from courtyard of neighbouring guests and room right next to noisy elevator shaft Bed somehow looked like it was not completely stripped and made up so unsure how clean it was we unfortunately booked the very last room of the hotel

    One of the few places available during school holidays and for last minute booking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Interconnecting Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Came back to the motel at 9pm to find no parking space available. Had to park on side of the road. It was especially annoying as it was raining.

    adequate space for all

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet paper wasn't changed on a regular basis. Pool is not safe for little kids. No fence . No rules around the pool area.

    Love the rooms. They catered to our situation. Friendly staff . Awsome spa .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only the inescapable sulphur smell

    Free wifi is essential in these types of accom. Very good. The shower was excellent (important after being out in rain hail sleet and snow!). Location good too. Rotorua's roadworks though, Jeez.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 118 - Maintenance has been neglected a bit - one power point in the tea making/microwave recess not working when switched on, light above hand basin not working, screws loose in bathroom door handle

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Interconnecting Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not viewing photos of the room you book we booked a family joint room not realising it didnt have have a kitchen sink you use the bathroom to fill the jug and no dinning table but we upgraded room

    I loved how modern the motel was decorated bedding and furniture was lovely tone The Shower pressure was amazing didnt want to get out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Interconnecting Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the angle parking for my ute was a little tight .the pool was cold looking out of my room at green roof a good waterblasting is needed

    nice and quiet easy to get too

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the in-room facilities were odd, e.g. Door in bathroom opens wrong way, towel rack interfered with the toilet, kitchen bin wouldn't open, can't drain dishes. Niggly but annoying.

    Modern and clean. Friendly reception. Warm. Spa and sauna was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was extemely overpriced and only had to take it because the city was just about booked out. Would never pay this much for a very average room again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier One-Bedroom Spa Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the advertisement stated there was a tv in the lounge and bedroom - there was only 1 in the lounge. the bathroom and spa was nice but some things were rusty. the pictures advertised for the premier spa suite looked stunning. when we got there it looked nothing like the pictures which started off out trip not great

    the location was great. very close to take outs, attractions and shopping centre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price of the room was expensive however this was probably due to it being during the DHL Lions series.

    Good Location for getting to and from stadium. Easy enough to walk into the centre of town but will take about 30-45min to walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    That i booked a superior room with double bed but ended up with a room with double and single dissappointed me but was a good stay

    Had a nice stay rooms were nice and clean

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: