Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ascot On Fenton 4 stars

247 Fenton Street, 3010 Rotorua, New Zealand

#41 of 91 hotels in Rotorua

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 530 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    6.7
    Relaxing stay away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower was a dribble - maybe owners intend you to use the hot tubs for washing instead so ladies, it's the hot tub or give this place a miss if you need to wash your hair. Tight parking. After servicing, bed didn't look made properly. Sky Premiere Movie channel occasionally had interference but not too bad. Due to school holidays, some noisy kids but not too bad.

    Value for money. Wonderful hot tub! 6 mins walking distance to town; supermarket, petrol station. Adequate kitchen. Gracious hosts.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    3.8
    Not a pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean dining table, bath tub looked tired and unclean, milk was supplied for tea in an open milk jug and kettle had greenish deposit that looked like mold but the staff said it may be due to Sulphur in water. Over all did not look clean.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money, very clean, nice staff and easy walking distance to shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit uncomfortable (but I'm used to a firm mattress). Water pressure was very high in the shower!!!

    Owners were lovely and the staff were really nice too. It was also exceptionally clean and very good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    We had a good stay. Thanks
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place just smells a little. Like it's old or something. The place needs vacuuming.

    The staff were nice and very accommodating. We had a good night sleep and very warm place. It made our stay so comfortable. The WiFi helped us a lot to do what we can for the night. Thank you for everything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Excellent Value and Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great value for money. Very friendly hosts. Private spa pool was an added bonus. Walking distance to The Pig and Whistle' Pub with delicious Lamb Shanks. Close to everything. Very warm heating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked 2 bedroom but it turned out to be 2 seperate units, one upstairs and one down which wasn’t right layout for small child. Fine for children that were a bit older though. Very noisy neighbours. Could hear everything so hard to sleep.

    Great location. Could walk to town. Private hot tub in room. Room had everything you needed. Staff nice and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Great getaway for a couple of nights - would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As its an older motel - it's getting a little tired and could do with a spruce up.

    Loved the fact that we had our own hot tub, Lots of things were walking distance. Also was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    A really great place and convenient. Would come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent rooms. Having the 2 bedroom 2 bathroom was the best choice. Seeing the little fridge upstairs with kettle and microwave makes it convenient for breakfast in bed idea. The spa pool was really relaxing especially when you turn on the switch to make it a jacuzzi.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Quiet Enjoyable Warm Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to do with the hotel itself but sadly hubby dropped his phone cracking the screen. So not a happy camper :(

    Enjoyed the private spa in our room. It was quiet despite being close to a shopping centre and main road. Staff were friendly and pleasant to talk to. Room was warm and inviting. Bed was comfortable for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    We loved our stay at the Ascot on Fenton and appreciated the wonderful hospitality of the owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen is very small and close to the bathroom. Wouldn’t recommend cooking but it was adequate for our needs as it had toaster, kettle, microwave and fridge.

    Location was great and the owners were very welcoming. We enjoyed our stay and wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    A comfortable stay.
    • Couple
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The unit next door didn't read rules for using spa pool, as the started up spa pool at 6am and noise from there unit started at 5am.

    Rooms starting to need TLC but apart from that accommodation was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    Location was good, central to everything we wanted to go to
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds were quite hard and uncomfortable Shower & Toilet Fans only worked sporadically TV Channel Selection very basic (not a biggie as we spent most of the time out) Shower water mixer was terrible - went from extremely cold to extremely hot and vice versa no matter where setting was - would not recommend leaving young children alone in them Free Wifi was bad (again not a biggie as we were out most of the time but would have been good to have at night time)

    Location was good, central to everything we wanted to go to Decent sized rooms Very friendly staff Hot Tub was great A TV in the Lounge and another in the Bedroom was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Central and loved the spa
    • Couple
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The driveway was narrow and with a bigger vehicle it made it very close at getting past other vehicles that were parked The towels were hard could be a lot softer

    Central and loved the spa

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Great, handy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Taps were very noisy, could hear the rooms next door too, that is the only fault I could find

    Location was perfect for us, we were able to walk to nearby eateries, shops and supermarkets, rooms were clean, linen was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Fulfilled the needs of stay in Rotorua
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    Very spacious, well organised and with good facilities rooms, own spa is brilliant, beds comfortable, TV is big. Brilliant location, close to the city centre and other tourists sites.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Clean and comfortable motel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was a wee bit tight for our SUV (so happy the gate was open in the morning on the other end of property to avoid reversing all the way out!). The water temperature fluctuated a little when showering.

    Clean and comfortable motel. The outdoor spa is a wonderful touch. The room was so warm and cozy. Perfectly located opposite a supermarket and a few minutes walk to food outlets. Friendly and attentive staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Possibly a hair dryer handy in the room?

    Extremely happy. We have stayed in many motels in Rotorua and this is the one we'll be going back to from now on. Fresh interior, excellent private spa pool area out the back. Easy access and exit from car parking area. Excellent shower pressure. Great beds. Fabulous owners, thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.0
    The convienence of it being close to town and plenty of...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    hot water issue there was none when we arrived. So no showers were able to be had. That was disappointing.

    The convienence of it being close to town and plenty of space for 4 of us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Had a great stay. Would return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sofa bed was really uncomfortable!!

    The room was clean and spacious. Was great having 2 TVs so there were no fights about what to watch when we had down time in the evenings. The hot tub was awesome! Wifi was good. Nice location handy to activities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor was overall rather on the dark side.

    Convenient location. "The Screening Room" restaurant one very narrow block away was superb. Also great to have bedroom separate from the lounge/diningroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    6.3
    Good location, not too far from the shops and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is very very very very slow. The outside looks fairly new, but the inside is rather tired, everything looks a bit grubby even though the cleaning staff is very thourough.

    Good location, not too far from the shops and restaurants. Spacious apartment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    most enjoyable and one to repeat and tell friends about the ascot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked another nite but thats on us not the ascot :-)

    Location was ideal, facilities were more than our expectations, spa was great, room itself was huge, so nice to be able to spread out...all staff were friendly and attentive....we will be back :-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    4.2
    Stay somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were extra single beds in a double bedroom and in the lounge which already had a bed settee! Could sleep 6 like sardines in a can!

    It was functional

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable, cute and cosy. Value for money if your looking for a mid range budget accomadation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alittle squeezed for parking space, however, very convenient to have a flowing access in and out of carpark. Wouldn't take a trailer though.

    Very comfy to arrive at a late hour, nicely located close to town, easy access to everyting. Spacious enough for the two of us! Enjoyed the spa. Would happily return again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    The host is a deadset legend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The host is a deadset legend. He was friendly, accommodating and experience focussed. He went out of his way to be genuinely helpful to us, to make for a cracking stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    friendly staff, great home base for North Island
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit of a hike from the I-Site (bus stop) with luggage. not bad without luggage. one room the jetted tub didn't work.

    Loved the staff. very helpful, and went out of their way. in room spa was a nice end to our day!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Friendly welcoming staff. Spacious clean rooms.
    • Family with young children
    • Double 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air conditioning. With the extremely hot weather air conditioning would have been excellent.

    Comfortable sizes rooms for our family of 5. Friendly welcome by staff. Convenient location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Great Location. Great spa bath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were very hot overnight, could have used airconditioning. Bed was ok, not the best. Showers pressure is too high for a curtain so you have to be careful that you arn't soaking the bathroom which I noticed must have happened alot in the past.

    I liked the location of this property as it's not too close to the city centre that it's noisy but it's super handy to everything. The spa bath is great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    A very nice place, a little tired in some ways but very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy neighbours, but you can get them anywhere. The car parking was a bit tight and I would be surprised if vehicles are not clipped occasionally by others passing through the car park.

    The suite of rooms was very large. It gave us room to spread out a bit after several nights in smaller accommodation. The reception staff (owner?) were very friendly and when I needed to get a couple of emails printed off they obliged quite happily. The provision of an ironing board and iron after over two weeks travelling was useful extra.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    lovely and happy family
    • Family with young children
    • Twin 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    my sky tv wasn't working downstairs lol

    I loved the fact that my family could fit , our personal items were safe, and everything was central and close countdown burgerking kfc cob&co valentines the warehouse everything we needed for our weekend away as a family

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    It's a nice, clean & tidy venue and I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Depressing spa area, brick bed,super bright lights in bedroom - maybe invest in lamps.

    Very nice unit, though being executive I expected more, like a full stove or a fridge/freezer. Excellent location - 6 houses from mall. Nice friendly staff, clean & tidy venue. Thanks all.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    Visiting from Australia, 2 nights in Rotorua.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The in room spas are a little dated looking, but perfectly functional & private. No air conditioning however, the buildings are of an era that air conditioning didn't exist. A few little areas that could do with a tidy up or a lick of paint.

    Visiting from Australia, 2 nights in Rotorua. So convenient to town (5 minute walk to shops & restaurants with a supermarket & bottle store directly across the road!)). The in room spa was a wonderful treat after a long day at the luge & skyswing. Our room was very spacious! Frank (manager) is friendly & funny! Our 15 year old thought he was "the man!" - highly recommend Ascot on Fenton for Location & just to meet Frank if nothing else

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.9
    Facility was comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Corporate Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom needs subdued lighting....overhead lights only and too bright. Heat pump or fan in bedroom would help....felt stuffy in hot weather

    Facility was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    Ascot on Fenton
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are old, they're run down and for the price you pay - there is an expectation of newer facilities. Lots of chips, scratches, watermarks etc. Also - cleaning service start early and they drag their trolleys around loudly so not much chance of a sleepin.

    Fantastic hosts, really lovely and welcoming. Big facilities, clean rooms. Comfortable beds and pillows.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Met all expectations and more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corporate Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we were self catering there was no guest laundry.

    Easy parking access outside of apartment door, contained shower & a separate spa bath(pump quite loud), towels changed daily. Town centre & food shops within walking distance. Sulpher smell drifting over most parts of area (Rotorua renowned for this is what people go for) easy to find geysers and sulpher and mud pools.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for a short family getaway with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the fixtures and fittings are really dated and are in dire need of refurbishment.

    The beds were comfortable and the lounge area spacious and the carpets looked fairly new. The kitchen is a great bonus for families and for the budget. The supermarket is across the road.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.9
    Overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A rubber mat or railing is needed in the bath tub to avoid accidental slip and fall. Should allow a little flexibility on check out times.

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice but was a bit on the old fashioned side and beds need an upgrade as they are uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corporate Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was really uncomfortable. Both of us woke up with sore backs every morning. Spa was nice but looked dirty. Small container of spa bubbles smelt of disinfectant and looked cheap as if it was being measured out.

    Staff were lovely. Facilities good. Spa nice. Lots of towels were excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay and would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corporate Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is tight but adequate for back block. Front two storey block could be difficult as there are 4 rooms to two spaces.

    Great location very close to town and opposite supermarket and liquor store. Rooms clean and comfortable with TV in both lounge and bedroom. Private outdoor spa. Good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    In general a great stay. We enjoyed Rotorua!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise of the fridge is a bit loud. The single bed is not very comfortable.

    Location is supreme. Countdown supermarket is just 3 minutes walk from the hotel. The kitchen facility (oven, plates, knife) is very convenient for guests to prepare simple meals. Nice in-room spa pool. My daughter loved it!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    5.4
    Go somewhere else and pay 5$ more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 1 Bedrooms spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is like walking on a tight rope. Shower spills into bathroom floor. Wi-Fi was horrible even after manager tried connecting to adjacent hotel and found out they had changed THEIR password so he couldn't steal it. No screens on Windows allowed many insects inside.

    Spacious arrangement inside and bed was comfortable. Hot tub in back was nice enough, I liked that we fill it and no residue from previous guests...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly hosts - so welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly hosts - so welcoming. Nothing was a problem and everything met our expectations. Super easy walk to town - Close to McDonald's for late night ice-creams. Hoping to go back soon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location & amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs that separate rooms not suitable for 1 year Olds but there was a door to close this off so no real biggy

    Staff were amazing, especially the cleaning staff they were just lovely. One especially (English woman) who always said good morning to our 1 year old twins. Love that we were near everything, excellent location. My 10 year old loved that we had a private spa and made good use of it during our stay. Not the flashest place but definitely great value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.6
    A great place to stay with great hosts who gave us very useful things to do brochures that we used!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise level of the spa pool and showers and not enough ventilation in the bathroom areas.

    The hosts were very friendly and had our room clean and ready even though we were early. The family unit is very spacious and it was great to have a lot of towels available as the kids used up most of the towels and there were still plenty available.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.9
    cleaniness, location, spa pool, friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was airconditioning only fans for the price of the room Fridge was hellishly noisy parking was terrible, no room

    cleaniness, location, spa pool, friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    5.4
    Not suitable for 3 people as the sofa bed is not good to sleep on. In the pic there was three beds.
    • Group
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Domestic – people arguing slaming doors. The Sofa bed was so uncomfortable, I slept on the floor its because the sofa bed consists of 3 different levels. at least the floor is flat. In the pic there was 3 beds in the room there was 2 and a sofa.

    Friendly service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Highly recommend !!!!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect close to the centre of town, nice spacious rooms and very tidy. The owners of the motel were so happy to deal and made my stay a very memorable one , I highly recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in Rotorua.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    At a conference in Rotorua
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet was a bit slow ... not really an issue for us.

    Friendly staff with sense of humour; great service; rooms and facilities and spa pool excellent. Close to town and conference venue - 10 minute walk.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    4.2
    The unit was very run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The unit was very run down. Basically clean but very much in need of upgrading. Quite antiquated. Not good value for money. Communication with staff difficult due to language barrier.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a little awkward. Large 4WD's and Vans took up a larger area than a normal vehicle and it made it difficult to manoeuvre out.

    Lovely and Clean and very helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    The best host you can have!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was good.

    The best part about the accomodation was the motel owner: Frank. Frank is such a nice guy. He will help you out with anything. My friend and I didn't had a car so he drove us to Wai O Tapu as well as the car rental. The reason was the shuttle services that are really expensive. The motel was very good as well, with our own hottub! Thanks Frank (and wife) for the nice stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.5
    Parking was rather tight especially when parked next to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking was rather tight especially when parked next to the large vehicles. Also, when driving past the large parked vehicles, we found it was very tight, because they stick out alot into the driveway

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Location is awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very ideal for young children as there is no outdoor space for the kids to play and we had a homeless man hanging around outside our room searching for butts.

    Location is awesome!!! opposite countdown and there was a fantastic fish n chip shop just walking distance, and the staff were wonderful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it could have been MUCH cleaner and fresher.. and the spa pool was disgusting.

    Breakfast advertised, but not available. Toilet and shower not clean.. nor safe ( no safety grips .. now essential under Health and Safety. ..toilet mat not no-skid) Would not stay there again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay . In easy walking distance of the shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi just didn't connect, although we were the last unit so maybe it didn't quite reach that far

    Loved the fact we could walk across the road to the supermarket and liquor store. There was a fish and chip shop 50m up the road. Easy walking distance to McDonald's, Cobb n Co and Burger King. Also the Warehouse and shopping mall.The unit was very clean, the staff were very friendly and even came to wave us goodbye.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could feel the bed springs through the mattress. The Spa pool looked as if it could do with a new one as gave it a look as if it was dirty when it probably wasn't.

    The Spa pool and the spacious space.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    We really enjoyed the friendliness and wonderful welcome we got, we knew we were going to enjoy .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corporate Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating on earlier before arrival, very cold in the bedroom. We purchased a little heater to make it cosy.

    The locality was excellent. The individual outdoor spa the highlight after a wet cool day out!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Would stay here again :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Towels were clean but were 'scratchy', not soft; water didn't stay hot enough for shower.

    Liked the spa pool and how warm the rooms were when heating turned on; liked the sink for washing dishes and filling kettle as I don't like using bathroom tap for kettle; beds were comfy :-)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    5.8
    OK, but needs a few things fixed.
    • Family with young children
    • Double 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy plumbing. Every time someone turns on a tap it wakes you up. Electrical outlets need replacing, they look very old and unsafe, most were black around the sockets and some didn't work. Electric blankets are too old and do not look safe, plugs were rusty. Shower heads were tarnished green and sprayed every direction, great pressure though.

    Nice and tidy, spa pool was lovely. I would stay again, just a few things need updating. Massive rooms, nicely renovated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    6.3
    Comfy stay if you are not doing any cooking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's no kitchen hood. When you cook, the little smoke triggered the smoke alarm either in the room or living area. The pans were all normal pans that sticked on the pan when you cook. The bathroom were old and the water gets hot and cold while you are in the shower. We booked for 2 rooms down and up but when the housekeeping, they only cleaned the upstairs and not the downstairs which is kind of weird.

    Parking right in front of our door, which was great. The Bedroom is spacious, the sofa bed was comfy. I love the heater in the living area, it gets warm fairly quickly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    5.8
    Very poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Downstairs TV faulty. Showers totally unacceptable. Everything dated and poor value for money. Road noise another issue

    Friendly hosts - central location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Very nice cheerful owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing in this category!

    Very nice cheerful owners. An older motel , but nicely renovated. Very convenient to the city and major access routes. Very good value for money. Just a little tricky to park , but not really a problem. Would definately consider staying again. Cheers

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Lovely, warm atmosphere in central Rotorua
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi connection was not strong, very intermittent.

    Brilliant location, close to the CBD and supermarket. Very clean, comfortable and warm apartment, we had everything we needed for our stay. We will definitely be back for another stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.1
    Good for a night or two's stay, but in need of an update.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as high a standard as expected from the photos. Some issues with cleanliness, and the facilities were generally worn and could do with updating. The spa pool was in a walled area at the back of the property, with no view and enclosed. The smell of sulphur (like rotten eggs!) Was particularly strong outside the property, which inevitably seeped into the property.

    Good facilities, unlimited WiFi and plenty of room. Onsite parking, and received a warm welcome from the owners.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.5
    Average but good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Insisited apon us paying cash. They told us the internet was down and that we would have to pay cash, which I found rather odd considering I made the booking with my credit card. So we did not use the free wifi as it was down as well. The bed was very hard. There was mould in the toilet and bathroom. The milk was in a jug in the fridge so was not in a sealed bottle like you would expect, the tea and coffees were basic.

    We liked that is was a short walk to town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    5.0
    Old on Fenton
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean at all. Poor WiFi and very old style for a place which claims it was "completely refurbished as of October 2014'. Not great value for what we paid.

    Spa and location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking for larger vehicles was a little tight - not a major.

    The Spa after playing Petanque at night was divine - also the two TV's, Very comfortable and would definitely recommend again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.1
    Our Third Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found it odd that the heating was turned off at night and on again in the morning. With the temperature dropping our kids woke up cold both nights. They should reverse the timing of the heating.

    The private spa (that could be filled as and when required) was the best part of our stay - the kids LOVED it! The location was great too, we walked into town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    6.7
    Ascot on Fenton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The spa bath looked awful and curtains don't match.

    Property was said to be refurbished in 2015 this is not true. The fully self contained kitchen did not have an oven.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    4.2
    Has potential need standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Get here he has all our details on the booking form in front of me but makes me fill in again. No milk Cheepest ecerything from coffee to plumbing Towels all air dried Soap scumm on all the corners super budget shampoo. It could be a good place just needs propper standards. Worst showers Swing from full cold to dangerous randomly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    7.1
    Just an average night stay, nothing exciting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin 2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Spa-Pool Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen facility was basically unusable, the "full kitchen" was small and without rangehood. Not much to play with, so we decided not to cook dinner and breakfast.

    Value for money, location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    9.2
    A very pleasant stay to be had at Ascot on Fenton in Rotorua
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive spa-pool Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The woman who met us in the office was extremely nice, friendly and accommodating. We felt welcomed by her warmth and by her going out of her way to assist us

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    5.4
    Won't be back.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Couldn't understand the receptionist very well (Chinese), had to pay for the entire stay in advance, only 3 Sky channels, had to fill the ooutside sa pool (didn't bother in the end), had to wash own dishes, decor was old and paint flaking in places, hairs in shower on arrival.

    Was very handy to town, supermarket, alcohol outlet and eateries/takeaways. Manager was helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    8.3
    Layout of rooms and very comfortable beds
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of full cooking facilities i.e. oven or electric Frypan. Difficulty in parking larger vehicles with narrow access way.

    Layout of rooms and very comfortable beds

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    3.3
    Most Disappointing Accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Most disappointing as after reading reviews, we were expecting a really lovely unit with a spa. Very old and antiquated, didn't use the spa as it looked old and uninviting - stains on the bottom of it. Linen was yellowed, not white. Bedspread had stains on it. Pillows smelly. Noone got a good night's sleep, so we checked out a day early as we couldn't bear to stay another night. Spoke to owner before leaving and we agreed he would put unit back on line and if he could book it out, which he did, he would refund the 1 x night's accommodation, but alas no refund. Would not recommend.

    Nothing

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: