Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aspen Hotel Queenstown 3.5 stars

139 Fernhill Road, Fern Hill, 9300 Queenstown, New Zealand

#58 of 76 hotels in Queenstown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1094 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    The reception is super nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room has a little bit new painting smell

    The reception is super nice. Especially Christopher such a friendly guy and gave a lots of information to help us had this perfect vacation.:)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Great overall value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall very good, the only minor comment is the shower pressure / flow was very low which meant it was difficult to get warm. Parts of our body were still cold when we got out of the shower. The showers appear to have restrictors fitted as the hand basin water pressure is very high.

    Friendly, knowledgeable and helpful check in guy. Very clean, modern room with good heater and comfortable bed. Nice view and not too far to town on the quieter side. 3 x nice little eateries and a dairy right behind the hotel so great if you don't want to head into the busy town centre each night.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.9
    Great room, beds, pillows and towels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren’t informed the restaurant would be closed and that was part of the reason we chose it, so that we didn’t have to walk into town if we didn’t feel like it.

    Great room, beds, pillows and towels. Lovely view of mountains.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Modern Rooms, High quality service, amazing views, awesome staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was under renovation so couldn't use it.

    Unfortunately, the restaurant was under renovation so We couldn't enjoy it. but the staff and the rooms were so amazing that we didn't care about that.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Kamana King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure a little low but this could be due to renovations.

    The staff were amazing. Polite, welcoming and genuinely lovely people. We stayed in the new block that was stylish and super warm. The facilities is undergoing renovations that will be stunning when finished,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    The staff was exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was exceptional. Chris and Brittany worked to secure a booking for an activity and went beyond expectations. Although the hotel is undergoing renovation there was no noise during the evening or morning hours. The location is great and the views are stunning. Looking forward to the completion of the renovation work.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    we managed to get our business done and take in a few sights
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the inconvenience for building construction, noise etc around the facility...if I knew that was in progress I probably wouldn't of booked there

    location was pleasing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    It was a lovely place to stay, really enjoyed it and would come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little too far walking back from town at night, a few night shuttles to the hotel would have been amazing

    The bed was very comfortable and the shower was great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    Overall the staff made it a worthwhile place and I’d come back when the renovations are done
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tahuna Lakeview
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren’t warned about renovations So there was no restaurant or bar for nights we wanted to stay in and no hot tubs which was part of why we picked this hotel

    Breakfast was good the view was good and the staff were amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.5
    Will be nice after Reno’s
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tahuna Lakeview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The renovations were a bit of a hassle to navigate and parking wasn’t ideal

    It was a nicely renovated room and everything was nice and new. The view from the lake view was beautiful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    Newly renovated room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are in the middle of a renovation. A bit noisy from the construction. Access to hotel restaurant limited to breakfast only.

    Newly renovated room and bathroom. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have liked to have known that the property was under construction. There was a lot of noise and the restaurant was being remodeled.

    The view from the hotel was breathtaking. It was great to walk outside every morning and see the mountains and the lake. Also, the beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    It’s clean and it has everything that you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kamana King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Currently some renovation is being made. But no loud noises heard

    It’s clean and it has everything that you need. The view from the balcony is spectacular esp the lake view. It’s a bit further up from town but not that far. My whole family was happy with our 3 days stay here

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely clean comfortable stay with a great view and amazing bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tahuna Lakeview
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was renovations going on which was fine but they were supposed to be 10 am - 5pm and they started right outside our window and the builders could see us in bed at 9:30 am which was slightly awkward!

    The view from the room was lovely. Bathroom and bath amazing with great view! Bed very comfy. We enjoyed our stay here very much

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    3.3
    Was paid for bar fireplace and restaurant and ALL not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was paid for bar fireplace and restaurant and ALL not available and staff provided NO recompense except “comp water” and lies. I booked 3 months in advance of renovation and they failed to consult or compensate. I just got DUDDED I said I bottle of red wine and all would be good BUT NO Ashen on reception said cant do that Forget this property ROSCO LLOYD Sydney

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Staff were very friendly and rooms were exceptionally clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tahuna Lakeview
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite annoying not having a microwave to heat any food up. The mini fridge was also the smallest Id ever seen that we had to pull the drawers out to fit any drinks in. Also no cutlery apart from teaspoons in the room. I did ask reception for bowels and forks which the happily gave me. There was also construction going on the whole time, I understand nothing can be done about that, however we were woken up when napping twice and the constant sound of hammering got quite annoying.

    I loved the view from our room, it was breathtaking. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was very modern.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Stunning views from the lake view rooms, situated away from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tahuna Lakeview
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Major Renovations going on at the time of our stay (woken at 8am on Tuesday by hammering)- would’ve been good to know this prior to our stay and maybe a rate reduction offered for the inconvenience. The staff were doing their best to smooth things over in the interim though, and the property will be stunning when these renovations are completed.

    Stunning views from the lake view rooms, situated away from the bustle of the city centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Exceptional customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tahuna Lakeview
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptional customer service. Beautifully decorated room with big quality finishes - full of natural light, too! Beautiful view from our room. Highly recommended and would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Great views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tahuna Lakeview
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the on going construction but is well confined.

    The proximity of the hotel to the town centre. The staff was also excellent in terms of efficient bookings of everything we need during our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    The property was being renovated during our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The property was being renovated during our stay. This meant that only a small amount of rooms were on offer and there was construction workers and equipment around all the time. The hotel made an effort to deal with this however and we really were not affected by it. Our room was newly renovated and was beautiful. The bed was very comfortable. If you have the budget for a lake view room it is totally worth it. Otherwise the views from the otherwise of the hotel are nice as well. The dining room was only open for breakfast but this was okay considering the vast amount of work going on. All in all we had a great stay here regardless of the construction. The staff were lovely and very helpful and we look forward to seeing the finished renovations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Was lovely and clean. Nice that we got given a new room, room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were things missing. We only got two towels with 3 occupants. No bin liner and no bin in bathroom. Limited crockery and no toaster in room. Only one pillow per person. Not comfortable for long stay. Only good for overnight.

    We got a new room, the hotel is undergoing extension with all the latest fixtures.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.4
    We complained of noise and they moved us to better located room with very good lake view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from construction. They also closed facilities for repair. No available toilets in lobby and restaurant only open for breakfast.

    The view of rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    Beautiful views if you get the right room.... Avoid the breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tahuna Lakeview
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of construction work at the moment (July 2018) with all the noise and mess that comes with it. AWFUL continental breakfast at $19pp!

    Lovely refurbished rooms with beautiful view (lake view room).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Staffs are very helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t get the room with the nice view though asked for it

    Staffs are very helpful! Place was renovating so couldn’t get enough hot water but manageable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    The room was very nice and the view was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tahuna Lakeview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like that they were having work done on the Hotel so alot of construction noise during the day.

    The room was very nice and the view was amazing!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a first floor room that had only a little view but the second story looks like it would get more!

    Freshly renovated and close to town, lovely place to stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Clean room and great customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no hot water on our last night and morning of departure due to upgrade but staff were fantastic and compensated us :)

    Very clean and room had recently been upgraded

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful room, very stylish & the bed was a 10/10
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just renovations but looks like it’s going to be well worth it in the long run.

    Would of been nice to know they were renovating, but the staff went beyond the call of duty to lift the short fall. Noise wasn’t to loud. The price was very affordable for such a beautiful room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations were going on during our stay meaning we couldn’t use the restaurant to it’s full capability

    The price was lowered due to renovations and the renovations didn’t affect our stay at all!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    The staff were all very welcoming and helpful !
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our heat pump wasn’t working the first night. But they fixed it for the second night :) Thank you ! They also gave us a portable heater which helped.

    The staff were all very welcoming and helpful ! Very nice people :) Room was clean and very nice, modern.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    definitely recommend for the hotel and will come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything is just perfect, apart from the beautiful holiday time, the most impressive thing is that one of the staff there call "Bean" is just so kindly, and help us a lot. My partner and I are both like her so much, she gave us a lot of useful information and tips about Queenstown, food, activity, event etc... If anyone has a chance to stay in this hotel, I would definitely recommend you guys to have a chat with her, you will get some useful experience from her.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Great Place to stay - and more better if you have a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In case i need to point out - may be the breakfast could have been a tad better

    Great place to stay. Great views, specially from their restaurants. From the room you cant see the lake , only the snow. Big rooms, with two queen beds and a very decent bathroom. Could'nt ask for more. The towncenter is just a 5 mins drive. Ample parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Delighted by the brand new room, so happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tahuna Lakeview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the renovations of the restaurant is all.

    Beautiful room, brand new everything, plunger coffee is a bonus. Most amazing views of the lake and Queenstown. Watched the clouds roll in and out. Pure bliss

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Every thing was as expected.

    The hotel was undergoing a major upgrade. Prior to booking in we were told we were being upgrade to a recently upgraded room. This was good. The only down side was the restaurant was closed the night before for meals for its upgrade. This we knew in advance and the accommodation price reflected this and we had to get meals off site.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    I only liked that the staff were accommodating and friendly. Otherwise, nothing else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was brushing my teeth after shower. I just put on my night clothes, then my the faucet accidentally came off when I turned it on. The water blew in my face, and I got all wet. The whole bathroom was literally all wet as well including the toiletries and the ceiling. One staff came to check, and he got wet while checking the problem. They moved us to another room but it was very inconvenient repacking everything when we just have unpacked. It wasn't a good experience especially when you're tired. The heater took so much time to heat up.

    I think room was recently renovated, and hotel is still under renovation on some of it's parts. Room was very clean and looks new. We liked the interior.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.7
    Suitable for our needs at the time, the room was small but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tahuna Lakeview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place was under renovation, and the bar longe area had worn carpets and was not very inviting

    Suitable for our needs at the time, the room was small but recently renovated so tidy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Great modern superior room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some renovation all over the hotel and unfortunately we could not enjoy our staying at the restaurant as it looked really messed up.

    Our room was super modern, cozy and well-equipped with a lovely local soap.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure could have been better; but not a big deal.

    Beautiful rooms with the comfiest bed! Toiletries were luxury and the bathroom was immaculate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Disapointing
    • Group
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    No external lighting at all and with lots of steps and slopes between reception, car and unit this is dangerous. Poor internal lighting also. Bathroom old, patched. Cant hang towels without them touching toilet paper which is directly under towel rail - strange.

    WiFi speed almost okay. Shower hot water eventually.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Great stay but think it should have been stated that they were in the middle of renovations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tahuna Lakeview
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No eating utensils in the room.

    Modern refurbished room. Enjoyed that they are looking after the environment by supplying the bigger bottles of shampoo/body wash and conditioner.Great quality as well. Beautifully set up room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    We will start again but most likely not eat there .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meal left much to be desired. My steak was good but my wife’s meal was very poor. The chicken was good but the vegetables were almost charcoal and oily . The chef did apologise but we did have the time to allow him to prepare something else.

    Facilities like room were very good. Cleanliness was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.5
    Amazing and well done update to the hotel. Best lake views queenstown has to offer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shampoo and conditioner unfortunately does not smell good nor feels good. :-(

    Mr. Escobar the hotel manager was exceptional and the ideal host. His professionalism and kindness were above and beyond. Truly a pleasure to interact with.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed there for one night with my husband and 14 month daughter. The staff where very friendly and helpful. The reservations manager is amazing and understanding with all the changes that we made due to unforseeable circumstances. Had a great stay thank you!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.4
    When I booked it didn't tell us that we have to pay for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kamana King
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I booked it didn't tell us that we have to pay for car parking. There is a car parking. But we must be informed that we have to pay for it. Very disappointed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfort with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property would be a hassle to get to if you don't have your own transport.

    Amazing view from the rooms and the dining area. Rooms were cleaned very well every day. Real value for money and not far from the Lake. Parking provided on site was a major plus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    4.6
    Good amounts of parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold on the ceiling and around the window sills in the bathroom I do not feel is acceptable. When raised with staff they promised they would look into it however did nothing

    Good amounts of parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Aspen Attraction
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very minor, but when the rooms key cards would not read and allow us entry into the room. (Do not have cards next to cellphones, as they have to be reset)

    Location of hotel was great, boosting beautiful views of Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables. Sitting in the lounge having a quiet evening drink over looking the lake was simply delightful. We are blessed to live in Aotearoa with natural beauty and landscape. Staff were very friendly and accommodating at all times. Rooms are comfortable and cosy providing you with the essentials.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Best living experience in South Island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tahuna Lakeview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    19 Nzd breakfast has very limited choices so I have to buy the upgrade buffet with is little bit expensive for me.

    Very friendly reception staff Bean. clean and comfy room with great view. Delicious breakfast buffet. Compared with other days’ stay at other hotels with similar price, Aspen is the best.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Friendly hotel with some great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a little old & needed some TLC, but are in the process of being renovated anyway which didn't affect our stay. I would stay here again. A covered access to the restaurant main building would be a great addition as we had heavy rain when we were there.

    Friendly welcoming staff & good sized rooms with comfortable beds. Location had wonderful views of the lake and far enough out of the chaos of Queenstown. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.8
    Good view from restaurant area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very run down room. Cracked bathroom sink and toilet, toilet top under bench was very dusty and dirty

    Good view from restaurant area. Lovely staff at reception

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.7
    a great location with helpful reception staff but very disappointing breakfast /restaurant offering
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tahuna Lakeview
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the breakfast was the worst we have encountered in a long time. We stayed 3 nights and it did not improve for each of the 3 mornings. The owner needs to look at the offering and presentation and staffing.Perhaps visit other hotels to see how they do it.This is letting the Aspen down in many ways and is a shame as the setting is so good.

    the view was wonderful the room was a new room with a wonderful view.it was very well appointed with a comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.1
    A comfy stay and stunning lake view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little pricey. If we could book earlier, it might have been cheaper. And since it is open roof in the balcony, and it was rainy during my stay, the floor of the balcony was wet and we couldn't walk out there to enjoy the lake view better.

    We appreciate that the receptionists were very nice and helpful to us. Although the buildings look a bit outdated, some of which were being renovated, it's a comfy stay there. The supplies in the bathroom were replaced and filled up everyday which matched the price. The view in the restaurant where we had breakfast was so beautiful as we could see the sunrise through the large windows.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing views and very comfy rooms. Restaurant had amazing meal options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tahuna Lakeview
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a little underwhelming as only toast and cereal/fruit on offer, would of expected eggs and bacon minimum included in breakfast for the price paid.

    Amazing views over Queenstown, perfect location a short walk out of town if you are game enough to climb the hill back up at the end ha ha. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Restaurant was amazing for dinner though and we ate there on multiple occasions and were impressed every time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.3
    The location in Fernhill was excellent as we had family just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    However the hotel and the room we stayed in was very run down. They are renovating, and I believe the new rooms are lovely, but ours was un-renovated. The water pressure was non existent, shower door didnt close, a spring was broken on the bed. It was just a bit shabby and the continental breakfast was the worst Ive ever experienced. The choice was very poor with some basic cereals, while or wholemeal sliced bread - unappetising melon, and a few pastries. The place just looked very sad with outdoor area covered in cobwebs and dirty floor to ceiling windows in the dining area. Overall I feel that we paid way too much for this hotel

    The location in Fernhill was excellent as we had family just around the corner. The view from the dining area is spectacular The staff were lovely in spite of the disrepair all around them.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful views and lovely rooms . Comefy beds and tastefully refurbished
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Kamana King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the restaurant is lovely ... but the walk from town is terrible . Would stay here again if I had a rental car OR would just be prepared to taxi up the hill

    Lovely beds And nicely updated rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was in need of maintenance. Shower pressure was extremely low and was leaking. Bed wasn't too comfortable.

    Great location and view. Breakfast was good too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Nice room but extremely average service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly but we were very misinformed. When we got there we got told we had breakfast in the morning included with our room so we didn’t organise for breakfast in the morning (we ha a 7am shuttle to catch the next morning so it was important for us to be informed correctly). When we got there in the morning they told us we didn’t have breakfast and had to pay (not cheap prices either). When we got back we got given a different room even though we had booked for the same type of room for both nights. When we enquired about this they then told us that we had actually got upgraded the night before. Also we ordered a coffee the morning we checked out. They agreed and told us to take a seat at the restaurant but later came and told us that the restaurant was actually closed and they couldn’t make us a coffee when we saw them making a cup of coffee for someone else. Customer service is really important to me and this hotel really didn’t deliver.

    The room we got the first night was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    A Real Treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good Friday. We had to buy a meal to get a beer. We didn't want a whole meal. It would have been good if we had been offered a 'plate of chips' so we could have enjoyed a drink, on the balcony with that amazing view.

    Friendliness

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    In need of a splash of paint, but with fantastic staff and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall, the main building is pleasant and has a modern feel, but the majority of rooms are detached from that building and look more like a motel. The standard courtyard room we stayed in was quite dated and worn out- in desperate need of new furniture and a coat of paint, but I believe the courtyard rooms are about to be fully renovated, indeed the renovations had already started during our stay. No noise issues there, although parking was marginally more difficult. Our room was cleaned every day (and cleaning staff were great) but still seemed to have a musty smell about the bathroom possibly due to the cistern being under the bench and screwed in permanently so it can't be cleaned. Also, please be aware that they mention a possible balcony in the standard room, but they do not guarantee one. We were aware of this but still sad to see we got the ONLY room on the upper level that didn't have a balcony through some architectural oddity.

    The restaurant/bar has the most incredible view across Queenstown, the lake and the mountains. It has full floor-to-ceiling windows and a cosy fireplace with a chateau feel about it. The staff were fantastic across all areas and always so helpful. The bed was very large and comfortable The consumable toiletries seemed of a high quality and locally made. The location was great, obviously fernhill is slightly out of town but that just means you get the benefit of views and it really doesn't take more than 5 minutes to get in via car or taxi or shuttle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    It was adequate for our two night stay.Comfortable and clean Value for money? Yes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was good although it was quite a steep walk up from the city.The staff were all lovely and helpful .The breakfast was ample and fresh.Parking easy and access in and out of motel was easy.Also the view from the dining room was terrific

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    We had a big window from our room overlooking Queenstown, the lake and the mountains. Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tahuna Lakeview
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our lamb dinner.

    The front desk and restaurant service was friendly and excellent. Our lamb dinner at the end of a long day was undercooked and grizzly so a bit of a disappointment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location for views, beautiful beds, friendly staff, lovely room decor, great menu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lounge and dining area is dated and needs modernising from colour scheme and furniture. Also the balcony rail height is quite unsafe for young children venturing out there in there own and step uneven with wooden lip on concrete step. Needs addressing.

    Beds lovely and comforty (even asked staff what brand of beds they were) decor in room was lovely and had been upgraded very nicely. Dinner was Delish. Staff very good , friendly, helpful so pleasant made our trip extra nice. Wonderful view from lounge area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    Bed size was generous and so was bathroom size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    We requested a late check out and were told that would be fine but when we went to get back into our rooms the key cards wouldn't work and they had no idea about the late check out. Was rectified though.

    Bed size was generous and so was bathroom size.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tahuna Lakeview
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suggestion maybe a happy hour in the bar? And rooms with a view and balcony maybe a little outdoor table to put drinks/coffee on while sitting outside enjoying the view😊.

    Bed comfy staff friendly and helpful. Loved the hot cross buns for Easter at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, great view, but not great breakfast and bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tahuna Lakeview
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was incredibly uncomfortable and the breakfast was very basic.

    The spectacular view from my room. And the room had better lighting than most hotels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location and the apartment was very nice . Only the shower size was a little small but easy to deal . The staff helped with a early checking and able to keep the car in the parking lot after check out .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel, reasonably priced, gorgeous location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking should be dedicated per room : having to look for an empty spot at night can be cumbersome. But all in all a great stay.

    Firstly , I chose this hotel because of the fantastic rate that I was getting which was $160 a night over Easter which is amazing for Queenstown! The pictures and accompanying reviews were decent as well and hence all that combined to encourage me to choose this as my nightstay destination. I was not disappointed on any account whatsoever! The location was scenic with Lake Wakatipu lurking right behind the property and the check-in process was very smooth. I got a lake facing courtyard room which was a small upgrade from my original selection and a special call-out here to the Duty Manager Anshul Nagpal who was courteous, friendly and very helpful indeed. The views from the dining room were gorgeous and the fireplace lent an added edge to the already mind-blowing ambience. The room was very comfortable as well with an extra bed which is always useful when you have kids or for dumping stuff when you don't! :) The property was very conveniently located if you have a car and parking was ample. The views from the breakfast table were something to savour and I can cheerfully recommend this room to all and sundry! Great Staff and a good experience overall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Staff were very accommodating and helpful with the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tahuna Lakeview
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing we didn't like.

    Staff were very accommodating and helpful with the area. Great views of the lake. Very comfy beds. Wish the hot tub was operational but they were doing renovations at the time. Very easy to get cabs to go downtown. Best thing - they had air conditioning which is apparently not standard everywhere in NZ.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic view over Queenstown but with easy access in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are upgrading the hotel. The restaurant would be a destination spot when refurbished but plenty of eating nearby in The meantime.

    Fantastic view over Queenstown but with easy access in. Staff were great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Room with a view of the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tahuna Lakeview
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived too early to check in but the staff were happy to secure our luggage until later. The staff gave us great recommendations for activities in Queenstown. We had a small issue with dinner, as the restaurant was incredibly busy, but this was rectified by staff offering to bring food to our room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.7
    Ok stay although wouldn’t return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can someone please print a menu!! Stayed 2 days and when asked what the bar menu, was I was answered with “chips, wedges and things like that” Things like what?? Turns out there was a variety of other items. As we needed a snack before heading out we tried the pizza bread (garlic bread) but was so burnt it was tasteless, rock solid and we returned it. Up your food game and you’d have an all round good offering. I don’t care if you’re winding down after the summer, you should always function at 100% customer service. There’s no menus or hotel information in the rooms. Can someone please buy these guys a printer!

    The room was very clean and bed super comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.5
    Work in progress
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Kamana King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No work desk in the superior rooms The breakfast offering needs a complete makeover!! Ended up having breakfast elsewhere. Strange though as the dinner menu and quality was excellent

    These guys are trying hard to raise the standard to 4.5 star. The superior rooms we stayed in which had been renovated were very comfortable. They are likely 12 months away from a full tidy up

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Located on local bus route.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana King
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Ordered cooked breakfast one morning, the poached eggs were over cooked and the bacon was so so.

    Located on local bus route. Near to convenience store, take-away and restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.1
    Room was nice and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana Queen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had very low pressure and water temperature kept changing from cold to very hot which really made showers an unpleasant experience. Also, we got a room next door to construction works, which woke us up at 8am and made staying in the room impossible. This room shouldn't have been rented out at all IMO.

    Room was nice and clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    Good for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kamana King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift to the second storey (but they are installing one at the end of the year). Driving distance to town centre.

    Room was newly refurbished and modern and clean. The room was big with plenty of room. Good view from the lobby over the lake.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: