Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. New Zealand hotel reviews
  3. Auckland Region hotel reviews
  4. Auckland hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of JUCY Snooze

Reviews of JUCY Snooze

62 Emily Place, 1010 Auckland, New Zealand

#108 of 171 hotels in Auckland

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2471 hostel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    5.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    7.1
    Nothing flash but a perfectly fine place for a night's stopover
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was somewhat off the beaten track and a bit of an uphill slog.

    Good sized room with well appointed bathroom. TV was handy, wifi was fairly OK. Check-in/out was painless.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    6.3
    Jucy's location is quite good right in the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room seems very old and not well maintained. We stayed with Jucy in Christchurch before. It was really good and newly furnished, but this time the facilities plus its decoration is below our expectation

    Jucy's location is quite good right in the city center. The staff were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    5.8
    Location is top, very close to a car rental (Europcar) .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathrooms were dirty, the windows didn’t close fully so it was quite cold at night, there was a hole in our wall and the carpet was pretty ugly

    Location is top, very close to a car rental (Europcar) ... 3 minutes

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    9.2
    Clean basic room with on-suite shower, very good value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air-con. There was a standing fan but it isn’t suitable to have on when sleeping.

    Clean basic room with on-suite shower, very good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    8.3
    Location is good for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff upon arrival could have been friendlier. No smiling, looked liked she’d have rather been anywhere but there. Which might be true but at least try and fake it

    Location is good for the price

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    7.1
    Nice bed, clean sheets that looked new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a gap between the door of our room and the floor that meant that sound from the corridors/bathrooms woke us up very early in the morning. Toilet/shower was clean but seemed pretty old

    Nice bed, clean sheets that looked new. Good location- especially for concerts at spark arena. Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    10
    Nice Value For Money Place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Awesome value for money place, neat and clean rooms and shared kitchen facility also available in case you want to cook, also they have a luggage room which is pretty convenient

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    7.1
    Great staff, average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Budget doesn’t have to means scruffy. Place was due a makeover. We have paid less for better presented backpackers places. Noisy neighbours seemed to have no consideration for other residents

    Great staff good location.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    6.7
    Had a private room for a oke price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilet seats where just peeling off. And it didnt smell too good inside the room. For auckland standards its a goos hostel :)

    Had a private room for a oke price.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    7.5
    lobby, lounge, and garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Up a hill from Britomart and on a different hill than Skycity terminal. Only one electrical outlet and one overhead light in the room (hostel room #9). could use more hooks in the sleeping rooms and shower rooms to keep items off the floor. Room #30 was missing a towel bar, desk, and nightstand, so I moved to Room #34, which was better equipped.

    lobby, lounge, and garden

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Carpets worn and not clean, paint chipped and stained. I did not feel comfortable walking in my room without shoes on because of the ‘look’ of the carpet... and I am not a fussy person!

    Location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    5.8
    Shower was clean and had good water pressure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was advertised at a different rate than what I ended up paying. It would have been good value at the discount rate but at the higher rate, I don't feel it was worth the money. Having said that it was the only room available in that price range on such short notice so I didn't really have a choice.

    Shower was clean and had good water pressure. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    8.8
    Loved the spacious studio and the kitchen facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom not very well lit. Couldn't even see in mirror to put makeup on. Stinky dishwasher dont feel it had been rinsed in ages and same smell coming from insinkerator.

    Loved the spacious studio and the kitchen facilities.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    Perfect cheap night in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Great location!! Very clean private room for 3 friends, great bathroom. It was all we needed. Great to be able to park onsite prior to our check in time!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    7.9
    For an old property, it was nice and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasnt enough toiletries for our stay so we had to buy them from the supermarket (but in saying that jucy is also a backpacker hostel so probs why). Hilly much to get to and that awkward bend to drive on. This is minor stuff.

    For an old property, it was nice and tidy. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Prompt in responding to a message query. There was parking available when we got there even though they said it FCFS.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    8.3
    Location amazing, staff super friendly makng our weekend away enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price should match what is offered but that will no doubt will not change with the overall lack of facilities in Auckland

    The location is amazing, it is possible to walk to Queen street, Britomarkt and the viaduct in a couple of minutes with a great choice of shops, restaurtants and bars. Also that there is parking available is helpful but I did think an extra $15 was abit steep bringing the room close to $200, which is really over priced for what is offered.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    10
    Jucy snooze were absolutely brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Jucy snooze were absolutely brilliant. Our luggage hadn’t arrived with us when we got to Auckland and the staff were very accommodating. They lent us bits and bats ( charger and plug and hairdryer etc) they gave us a late check out due to us waiting for baggage to arrive at no extra cost. They printed a map off for us to take on our travels. Location was central and brilliant ! Couldn’t fault them one bit. Rooms were comfy and tidy.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    8.3
    Kitchen facilities were fab and the huge living area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lighting in bathroom very poor in studio. For us girls putting on makeup was not good. Would have been nice to have a full mirror in hallway too.

    Kitchen facilities were fab and the huge living area.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    7.5
    Great location, clean, friendly staff and alright shared...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really noisy place to stay. There are notices to say keep the noise fown from 10pm however these are largely ignored and there is no one ensuring that people adhere to the quiet time. In all honesty it wasn't drunk kids maying sll the noise, it was mainly famillies screaming at each other in the hallways until 2am then starting again at 6am! Wonderful! Bring good earplugs.

    Great location, clean, friendly staff and alright shared kitchen.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    8.8
    A Nice comfourting calm energy, the avantages of à hotel and...
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A Nice comfourting calm energy, the avantages of à hotel and at the same time the advantages of à hostel, si you can meet people if you want to. A great place to land after a long trajet!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    6.7
    Nice enough place to stay, but lacks atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place is a decent budget hostel. But I feel like since JUCY is a big company they could have done better. So here are some small things: Lounge area and kitchen are basic and too small, they are also locked in the evening, I think this is part of the reason that this hostel lacks a social atmosphere (there are no regular activities either). There were also no forks in the kitchen, I know it's minor, but it's frustrating and easy to fix (another side effect of locking the kitchen, people will eat in the rooms). You have no key to the front door, so once it is shut you need to to ring the bell each time. Could perhaps do with a revamp, paint is chipped everywhere, my window didn't lock properly, no aircon (But overall the level is good for the budget)

    Friendly staff and a 24hr desk. Great garden space. Good location. Good bed. I really like the JUCY colour scheme that is seen throughout the place (even the bed sheets). Everything is as you would expect a budget hostel to be (except for the lack of a social space in the evening).

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    4.6
    Average accommodation. The amount we paid for one night did not match the accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelt musty and awful and needed to be aired out, however there was no ventilation in the room and the window could not be opened. It was not particularly clean and very outdated.

    The location was great. It was close to where we needed to be and only a short walk from the center of town.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    6.7
    Basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Air-Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Security of the bag storage is not great - almost all places that we’ve been to have a ticketing service or at least the staff member looks at what you are putting in or out but here they just give you a key to room and it’s a free-for-all. The place was just as expected - basic. The room was a good size but lacked in comforts. If you wanted a hairdryer or ironing board you’d have to ask for one. The 2 pillows supplied were very uncomfortable. I think for the cost you’d be better spending a tiny bit more and getting something a bit nicer.

    Location was great, staff were friendly, handy carpark underneath and the place was very clean and tidy

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    8.3
    Jucy Goodness
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was at times a little warm. With the window open the street noise was clear as!

    It was central to all we needed, close to transport. Room was clean, staff were friendly and helpful. Coffee shop out front made great coffee in the morning. Exactly what I was after on a budget!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, cheap and simple
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Doors slam in this place ALL. THE. TIME. Shared bathrooms are always messy (not dirty). The single private room is SUPER sparse. Like you get a bed. A desk on the wall. A chair. A rack to hang shirts etc on (if you brought coat hangers). And a mirror. That's it. But it's clean, sooooo.... It could be worse.

    I stay here, for better or worse, every time I come to Auckland from Great Barrier if I need to stay. It's gone from $50 p/night to over $70 in 4 years, but I guess that's life. The rooms are SPARSE. But that's fine. Because if all you're looking for is a bed for the night, job done. The shared bathrooms are a bit overage, but mostly I keep coming back because it's SOOOO CLOSE TO EVERYTHING in central Auckland. That's the biggest selling point. It's kinda noisy at night, but not with parties, just with people on different schedules. You don't get traffic noise etc either.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    10
    Great location , quiet sleeping in the heart of Auckland . Stay here !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing , juicy Auckland was great .

    Close to the sky bus , room was clean , bed great, groovy location and the staff smiling and helpful. Just a great place. Thank you juicy

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    7.1
    quiet, clean and good ubication.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    they show pictures of computers but now they don't have and they give us just one keys for two peoples so if you are a couple and gonna be more than one week could be tedious have just one key. In our room, ventilation wasn't good enough.

    clean and so quiet, is for family and couples that they don't want a noisy place, and the ubication was good for me. have wifi, and have a supermarket really close, in general it's fine.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    10
    Brilliant hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very clean, even the space behind the bed looked clean. The feel of the hostel was great and the staff were very helpful. The bed was really comfortable. Such a nice hostel, would go back in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay and had a great sleep. Easy to find and fabulous staff\
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedding and towels were exceptional. Super clean. Room was warm and comfortable. Staff were very accommodating and friendly. Great to be greeted with a smile. Would have been nice if the room had small fridge.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    9.6
    We’ve got our room upgraded with no extra cost!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was not sure if it was a maintenance or road works but there was a really loud “drilling” sound that started at 7.30 am, which lasted for about half an hour. Basically disturbed our sleep.

    We’ve got our room upgraded with no extra cost! Isn’t that awesome?! The staff were really accommodating. Easy check in. Clean room. Working TV and airconditioning, though might need an exhaust for the bedroom and bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    8.8
    Nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathrooms looked quite old and were not that clean on my first day. However after that they were pretty spotless

    Nice staff. They helped me out with my laundry (which is an overnight service since there is no laundry machine) Bed was comfy

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    8.8
    Fun, comfy and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only criticism is that there was no shelf or anything in the shower, which made using the provided soap a bit annoying. Also the colour scheme is lime green and purple, which is fun but might not be so welcome if you wake up with a hangover.

    It's a budget hotel, so you get what you pay for. That said, the bed was comfy, the room was clean and the shower had great water pressure. We were only there overnight (not even 12 hours all up) but it's a convenient, comfortable place to stay. The staff were friendly and answered our queries about parking, check in was a breeze and the room was spacious and quiet - a bonus, considering that it's really quite affordable!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    4.2
    Staff were welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything apart from the staff. It did not meet any expectations at all - room was like a prison cell, tiny kitchen. Toilets stunk of pee, toilet seats were peeling, door handles falling off. Shower had good pressure but so much dirt and mould around the edge. Would not stay at a JUCY again. Very disappointed. Totally gross place to stay....

    Staff were welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    9.2
    Easy overnight accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls were quite thin/noise travelled a bit. Soap dispenser in bathroom was empty (but there was also a hand sanitiser dispenser).

    Lovely staff, nice environment, room size not bad. Bed more comfortable than other backpacker-style accommodation I've stayed in (having a bunk bed with the lower bunk a double was great!) Would stay again for short-stay. The 24-hour desk, while we didn't need to access beyond check-in/check-out, meant the reception area was well lit and friendly, which was great for when we got back late after our event as it felt safe and comfortable to return to.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    2.5
    Ripped a pregnant mother off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They did not tell me about bond money untill the following day , then I was charged $150 for ash on the ground which wasnt mine as I dont smoke.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    10
    -Friendly staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Air-Conditioning
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Housekeeping only comes clean once every three days, so if you want to empty your trash you’ll have to ask reception! It’s not a bad thing per se...just need some time to get use to!

    -Friendly staff, -amazing room, -close to the city -reasonably priced!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    7.5
    Great budget property close to downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not the hotel's fault, but there is a steep hill to walk up to get to the hotel. Reading lamps in the room get very hot (I burnt my arm one one). Breakfast was advertised for $5, but not available.

    Within easy walking distance of downtown area, including buses, trains and ferries. Large room & bathroom. Helpful staff. Clean room and bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    7.1
    Value for location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. easy to hear noise around (sound insulation of the door not good enough)..... 2. light sensor of bathroom is too sensitive that the light keeps on flicking when taking shower

    1. Good location for everything with this value. 2. with kitchen for cooking. 3. friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    2.5
    DONT STAY AT JUCY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didnt like... everything. The room was absolutely filthy with black mould growing all over the walls/bathroom. One staff member was utterly rude and made assumptions we were smoking in room when we weren't, the assumptions being made due to an "apparent smell" .. they have then retained our $150 bond because of this, they have then been delayed with response emails re the issue and I have had to call multiple times to get it followed up, with the issue still on-going. Disgusting, will never stay at JUCY again and ensure everyone I know doesn't either. I would give this place a -100 in rating if I could but this app works it out for you unfortunately

    Location was OK but i liked nothing about JUCY itself.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    9.6
    The Hostel was pretty nice and all the staff was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Hostel was pretty nice and all the staff was very friendly. I got a double bed room für me alone. The parking is charged extra but it's better and saver than on the sideway.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    5.8
    Not the usual Jucy you’d expect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    . It’s old and rundown, walls and ceiling are in holes and scratches, bathroom and showers are in bad condition too, light in shower would go on and off all the time. The walls are very thin so you can hear everything what’s happening in the corridor, in the room next to you, in showers , and even upstairs. I stayed during warmer season but I’m sure that in winter it’s very cold, because of the old thin windows and no heating in the room (maybe they put smth in winter - don’t know). Kitchen is tiny and is open from 7am(?) to 10pm, the same with lounge. Couldn’t get there, as came in late and checked out early.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    9.2
    excellent
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having stayed before was not expecting our own bathroom and the single beds were much better than two tierted bunks. The fact of being able to garage my car was also a large plus, will certainly stay again.Excellen

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    8.3
    Got easy access to the CBD, which is what was needed.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heinous guests down the hall smoking and yelling for over an hour from 10pm. Felt really sorry for the family with the baby across the hallway.

    Good location, lovely staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    10
    Fun and easy to get around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi not available in room Lighting not too good

    Location to city....shuttle from airport easy to take leaves u outside JUCY snooze Staff very friendly Kitchen handy and sitting area to eat

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    10
    Great Auckland cbd stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to mention.

    Good size room which had 2 single beds. Comfortable beds. Clean sheets. Good pillows. Good size bathroom/shower with great water pressure. Lots of tea, coffee, sugar. Great staff who were friendly and helpful. Close to spark arena, only 5 min walk. Lots of eating places nearby. Queen street about 5 mins away. Parking is under the building. Britomart only a few minutes walk. Awesome accommodation!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    4.2
    Won't stay again in future
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's a terrible smell in my room. I requested for another room and unfortunately it smell the same! The receptionists were very helpful by offering to spray air refresher and ventilate the room for an hour. The smell did leave for like 2 hours and I spent my sleepless night in that room. The smell is simply unbearable due to the filthy damp carpet. Toilets & bathrooms aged a century, too cold to take a bath. The designer of tap water should be fired, lol, who can brush teeth using 2 different water taps that 1 got bubbling hot water and the other 1 freezing icy cold water ? I need to find a small pail to mix the water prior washing face :/

    Friendly receptionist. Location is good. That's all.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    6.3
    the stay was okay. Nothing upset me but there shouldve been more provided for the price.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I did not like that the rooms (hostal) were not provided with toiletries or towels. It was no big deal. Not a deal breaker but it is a red flag. Small things like this and teas or coffee are usually provided even at a lower price hostal.

    I like the 24hour reception and staff. They were very helpful. The location was great. The wifi was excellent, one of the best wifi ive used at any accomodation and was free of charge.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    6.3
    Much too noisy street-wise, not worth the price to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not expect such loud street noise, given the venue is on a smaller side street. Very noisy traffic all night, I had to put a pillow over my head each night. Very very disappointing. Staff were apologetic, but there wasnt anything they could do - very old building, not doubleglazed, and evidently my room was over a different street. I have stayed a bit further away on different visits, closer to Queen Street - no noise problems, and around the same price.

    Updated bathroom and very good, powerful shower. Friendly staff. Quiet inside people-wise.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    4.6
    The staff are really lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The floor of my room had a wet patch...not sure what this was. The bathroom needs renovating it was so disgusting that I wouldn't use it and the room was like staying in Grand Central Station. Found out that I had been booked in the hostel accommodation when I checked out. Paid to stay two days and booked out after the first night.

    The staff are really lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    10
    Pretty good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The colours hahaha

    Beds were amazing!! Didn’t live in the dorms so can’t speak for those. Lived in a private 3 person bedroom with own bathroom. It was pretty good for the Price

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.2
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Doors could do with some maintenance. Even when locked the door didn’t lock and there was a slight gap. Could hear all the noise, people coming in etc via the door. Room’s air a bit stuffy and not a very fresh carpet. Wifi bit slow but other than that it was good and great value for money and would recommend.

    Location! Very nice and friendly staff. Great water pressure in the shower

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    8.8
    Great location and a comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattress was very very soft!

    Great central location, the size of the bedroom was great. Facilities were all functioning and in good order. Staff were always on hand and approachable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    9.6
    Cozy and affordable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    walls are too thin. can hear slamming of doors. noise of guests. suggest heater option inside rooms also.

    affordable. great location: countdown supermarket, bus station to airport and other areas, walking distance to shopping and harbour. 6-12mins walk around city. great Wifi speed. very clean rooms. great and approachable staff. checkout is at 10am but may extend up to 1pm for NZ$15. may store luggage outside also if early checkout. complete kitchen tools and living room stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    7.9
    Perfect for one night sleep after concert
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being woken up by staff v/Early but on saying that she did the right thing to check with the customer under the circumstances but unfortunately it was not us that she wanted

    Coveniant location to food, spark Arena and britomart

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    5.4
    The whole place is dirty floors look like they havent been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place is dirty floors look like they havent been vacumed in weeks beds uncomfy i should and would next time pay extra for quality good short notice option

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for out one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would prefer my own bathroom but knew what I had booked and was fine

    Stayed for pink concert. Clean and comfortable and met our needs. Would stay again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    8.8
    Nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Let down was no hairdryer even though it said in the room booking that it had one, which is why I didn't bring my own! 😐 Also no free WiFi , which is dissapointing, especially in these times where free wifi is everywhere you go. And the booking between booking.com and juicy snooze was a disaster. I ended up having to ring at my own expense to sort it out because the two companies apparently don't talk to one another 😯

    Nice room. Very clean. Lovely shower, Basic tea and coffee was provided which was nice. Basic everything which was to be expected ( except for no hairdryer!!!!) Happy to stay there again .....as long as the points raised in my comments are rectified !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    6.7
    Have stayed at same prices hotels with better facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Carpets dirty. Door didn't close easily so left room and came back and door was still open. No soap dish in shower. Bedding mediocre. No bin in bathroom.

    Location and on site parking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, above what I would call budget accommodation and would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room smelt very musty and damp. With having coffee making facilities and ensuite a bar fridge would have been great and worth paying a little extra for.

    Comfortable bed and great water pressure in shower

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    5.0
    Ok if desperate. Don't expect a great sleep with uncomfy bunks,thin sheet&noisey doors all night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were cold with no heating. The smell in the rooms was damp and musty. Toilet seats are so worn and marked could do with replacing as just look filthy. The showers could also do with a serious clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    6.3
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was terrible. Springs popped through and there was a "channe"l in the mattress. Window didn't shut so room was cold. Noise from hallway was as if people walked through my room.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    10
    Great stay....
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all..all.perfectly great place.

    We were so lucky as being upgraded to ensuite room. Room with 3 single beds and enquire bathroom.room is so spaces..walking distance to main road and supermarket. Perfect location..Great staff..Kitchen is a bit small but it comes with complete facilities. Total overall PERFECT!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    4.6
    Don’t think of getting any sleep while you’re there, but fantastic friendly staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place is just awful to try and get any sleep at all. The walls are paper thin, just the worst I have EVER stayed in. Noisy, three flights of stairs no elevator, dirty filthy bathrooms, the only thing this place had going for it was the staff......Jucy is lucky to have them! But regrettably you could not pay me money to try and sleep there again. The staff deserve a medal for how wonderfully welcoming they are.

    The best thing about this property was the staff....Lee in particular gave me outstanding service - friendly helpful, cheerful and helped carry my bags AND helped me put them in a taxi and sent them over to my hotel the next afternoon

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay. Have stayed before and recommended to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park was smaller than expected but good to have. Noise from outside during the night was a bit annoying.

    The room was very spacious and comfortable. Short walk to Train Station. And the ALL BLACKS game was awesome!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    3.3
    The room was completely different from what was shown in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was completely different from what was shown in the pictures. The washrooms were dirty and not maintained well at all. Very unhygenic. We were given a group floor room and there was absolutely no air circulation so it smelt weird

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    6.3
    Not that great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No breakfast yet stated breakfast was $5 per person. We took our own blankets etc as the sight said there was an extra charge for these however there were sheets, blankets etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    7.5
    It was just what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There wasn't a lot of control over noisy people in the hotel after 11 pm. We were kept up a couple of nights with people talking loudly after midnight.

    I liked the freedom of being able to come and go as we pleased, and the staff was nice and unassuming.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    7.9
    Great location!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff very good, I just would recommend they could have more info what is going on around, for example I asked about the Money exchange on Sundays, and they didnt know if they open or not, I think it would good for them to have more info about those little details. Is just a recommendation. Staff was very good.

    The location is excellent!! Very close to everything... supermarkets, stores, Queen Street, the harbor, bars, restaurants, etc It was clean, I had a room with shared bathroom, and everything was good. I didnt have to wait for the shower or anything like that. The kitchen clean too. Pretty quiet the place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    4.6
    Stayed in single room, which was located in underground.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed in single room, which was located in underground. I didn't mind size of the room. But the smell of mold was seriously awful. I would pay another $5-10 more next time and I'm sure I will be staying much better place than this accommodation.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    9.6
    Great Value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have stayed there a few times. Some more blankets/duvets on cold nights would be awesome. Towel in the bathroom would be nice. Soap in the shower.

    Very clean, professional, private, quiet, checkin and out easy. Price is competitive. Very reliable and excellent friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    10
    Cosy, Clean and Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs better vending machines, potentially one that dispurses bottles of water?

    All the basic amenities, very comfortable and clean. Very central to everything. Private car park is very handy and late checkout is a bonus!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    7.5
    Staff were super helpful, the room was awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The duvet provided is a little bit thin, but the heater seemed to make up for that.

    Staff were super helpful, the room was awesome! Private, clean, & it was good to be able to make a cup of tea the morning of my departure.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    8.3
    Jucy Snooze a great place to rest.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly helpful staff and great location.

    No wifi unless I go up to desk and pay for it. The remote is small and didnt work. I had ro change rhe channel via the buttons on the back of the flat screen tv which was tricky to find and do.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    8.3
    Love Jucy, just needs a tweak.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room smelt like old urine and when we told the guy at the front desk he said he couldn't smell it and then tried to blame your cleaning products. Big difference between old urine and oranges. The room just needs a carpet clean.

    The other staff members were FANTASTIC and really nice to talk to, we loved the location of Jucy as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    10
    Great value, nice clean rooms good location. Will book again to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I actually can't say, was happy with my stay

    Really liked how big the room was and a full length mirror and private bathroom in side very happy will definitely stay again. Plus reception is open 24/7

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: