Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St 4 stars

157 Hobson Street, 1010 Auckland, New Zealand

#132 of 329 Holiday rentals in Auckland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1495 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level with Queen and Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Auckland City Hotel in September. The location was great- close to city, Skytower and buses. Staff were friendly. The restaurant had lovely food and great service, especially from Abraham.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    6.3
    Was ok for what we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is extra to booking $30 per car is quite expensive explained car wasn’t going to be there that much. Hard to get wifi on my parents lap top and also states has sky but only one sport channel, no oven racks or trays for oven to cook in.

    Looked tidy, access to the basement from our room was easy

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    8.5
    Great apart from the question our Nationality quite offensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One staff member asking what Nationality we were when clearly we didn’t look Asian had Maori & European name spoke good kiwi English

    Accommodation/ laundry facilities

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    Wonderful overnight refresher
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were so helpful and welcoming! Before we came, they suggested we reserve a Supershuttle for our late arriving flight. I chose the location to help with bus connection and was not disappointing...just a couple blocks.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    6.7
    Not our cup of tea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was horrible. We were told on arrival it would cost an additional $30 per night and they wanted to keep the car keys to move it if necessary which we refused. The car park itself was like a sardine tin.

    A close walk to Auckland city and harbour.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Quiet relaxing and again the staff and cleaning team were great. Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe have tomatoes and normal porridge a variet of muesli included in the breakfeast and toast to be cooked faster instead of standing there waiting to put it through the toaster 3 times.To have a room with a bath and shower I think I requested that before online? Thanks

    The restaurant food at breakfeast and dinner was tasty especially the morrocan lamb and buffet nice and healthy. Our room beautiful and quiet atmosphere. Cafe was awesome. Thank you to Auckland city hotel for a great weekend friendly and helpful 😊😊

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced and dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was mouldy and hairs (not mine) in the bed. The walls had many marks and dents. The air-conditioner (heating) only worked in one room. Parking was terrible.

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.5
    Great stay, would book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ring reception a few times....wifi, didn’t know to put card into slot for power Very noisy hydro vac truck in the morning...not your fault though

    Bed was comfortable. Tv channels

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    6.3
    Not as good as it seems
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is not for free (500 mb per day, which is actually nothing), management should change it, as it's not common anymore. Very poor window isolation, wind and rain coming through.

    Staff at the check in was very nice. Location is ok.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Clean, well-maintained and strategically located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no doorbell, you have to bang the door to get attention. It says ample parking but actually parking is quite a problem

    Generally we are happy with our stay in the hotel. The services are good and quite efficient. Most of all, the hotel is easily accessible and centrally located.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    Was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dirty hand basin, and i was told there was valet. Also not very good signage if not known to auckland city can barely see the sign to the hotel. Having to wait 15mins to check out.

    Friendly staff on check in.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.1
    Location was great and handy to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly there was a power failure in the middle of the night & then no hot water in the morning. The staff offered another room in another part of the hotel to have a shower but it was too late for us. They did discount the parking though

    Location was great and handy to everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Very happy with our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only two little things were wrong. No dishcloth and no rack for oven. Otherwise everything was fine. Getting a little bit worn in places but very clean. Probably a little bit expensive.

    The hotel was in a reasonably good position. Not close to Spark Arena but close to The Civic and Aotea Centre. Staff were very friendly. We needed a couple of things sent to room and they arrived promptly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel but room conditions so so.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room rate and the facilities is not worth for the price value. Hobsln street is further from queen street but price is higher than hotel there. Overall comment is the price is a bit steep even I booked a month ago. Price drop last minute.

    Location acceptable, within walking minutes

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    Good as i have come to expect BUT this time shower experience again has me feeling i paid too much
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the third visit in a row i have experienced shower fittings not up to standard. The shower heads are not checked and tightened by staff and therefore it has not sat in place. Needs to be held by hand to use. Really poor of staff not to note these and have them fixed. Once is ok but three times in a row is not. I may have to reconsider my hotel choice again now.

    Coffee shop at front excellent service and product. Handy to CBD.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    3.8
    dated and rooms are dirty. Not to international std for the stars it has.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room carpets torn and full of stains Only 500MB of free wifi when all other hotels nearby have free wifi. Paid $29 for wifi and never got it. Took it up with Manager and she just shrugged her shoulders saying you have to phone the provider.

    Staff were friendly but couldn’t solve any issues and had little control over wifi etc

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.7
    Clean and tidy facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level with Queen and Single
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff and miscommunication about bond.

    Clean and tidy facilities. Though the shower leaked. The freezer didn't work. The washing machine leaked. The phone didn't work.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    3.8
    The location of the Hotel is great, close enough to the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level with Queen and Single
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds had very thin blankets, and only extra blankets we were given were also thin. Made for 2 cold nights meaning little sleep. Traffic noise was quite bad, also contributing to lack of sleep. Advertised as having full kitchen, but is very basically equipped with minimal utensils etc. We had an unpleasant incident where an item was removed from the room whilst the housekeeping was done. Although the item was returned, staff were apologetic and we were offered free buffet for our family due to the incident(which we asked to exchanged for free parking instead) it's very unnerving to think that this would happen during our stay. It does unfortunately mean we wouldn't stay there again not would we recommend family and friends to.

    The location of the Hotel is great, close enough to the main center of town without being too busy or hard to access. 24-7 reception and check in was great also as we arrived late in the night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking. Had to park at hotel down the road. Limited parking in front of hotel to drop off luggage. Was a mission!

    Location. Close walking to city and comfortable clean room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.8
    Auckland City Hotel is OK - great location, room was disappointing. I doubt I would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was located directly across from the lift and there was minimal sound-proofing. We were woken up multiple times through the night from people coming and going which was disappointing.

    Location was great and bed was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Central location, had a car park (good for small to medium...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had didn't have much of a view except for other apartment buildings.

    Central location, had a car park (good for small to medium cars, tight for big cars) and the rooms was decent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    Staff were super friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level with Queen and Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It might be time to freshen up the rooms with paint and re grout showers.

    Staff were super friendly and helpful. We were in Auckland for a concert at Spark Arena and a shuttle was available for $5pp, great idea. Fondue Cafe was amazing ... great coffee and fantastic food! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    I will definitely continue using the hotel as my first Auckland CBD pick out of all the others.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Downstairs layout of hotel was hard to fathom, better signage, less signage. Information on restaurant was hard to find on website. However not big issues.

    Location. Space of the room. Quietness of the room. Value for money. Room service was tops. Food was tops. Hard to fault.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Affordable, central to everything very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment with our 3 children the room & hotel was very clean & spacious car parking was cheap too would definitely stay again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I asked for a rug for warmth and coziness and this was delivered to my room very quickly. Maybe a soft rug for each room during the winter months would be appreciated by others.

    Wonderful welcoming reception staff. I arrived unexpectedly at 12.30pm and they kindly let me check in early. Clean, well appointed studio room. Had a conference at Sky City Hotel and this was very handy to that. Great value for money considering the excellent location. Also impressed with the heating options during winter, portable oil heater/wall heater and dehumidifier heated the room up superfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.6
    Not a good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level with Queen and Single
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is not professional and not helpful. Internet is limited by 500 mb a day. They tried to give me a room that is different to the one I booked.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Close to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning made whiring sound all night. Got an apology when checking out. Splashed out on a $28 breakfast each. It was cold & scrambled eggs was like rubber. Advised staff that it was cold & unpleasant. There was a staff member vacuuming around our table at 08:30 it was noisy & unenjoyable. Not your typical style 'kiwi' breakfast. Disappointed & not a nice experience.

    Very close to Sky tower & Queen Street is a close 10min walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    3.8
    Wont be staying there agsin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Boutique Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was filthy...parking was a joke.....no rubbish bin in room, door lock was dodgy and had to be reset. Couldn't even see outside the windows as they were filthy. Shower door was slimey and toothpaste marks were on wall from previous stayers

    Was right in the middle of town

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.1
    Sharing Auckland with Japanese friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Boutique Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although there was a small kitchen, the facilities in this boutique unit were basic, especially considering how expensive it was. Car parking at $30/day was expensive, and it was quite difficult to get the large van we were driving into the space available. The Wifi was limited to 500 MB per day and this didn't last long, which was very frustrating.

    Very helpful and friendly staff, and great having reception available 24/7. Comfortable room with useful kitchen facilities. Handy to central Auckland.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    Auckland City Hotel was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level with Queen and Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think that the price for the room per night was way too expensive. The bed only had a thin cover on it. There was a heat pump in the bedroom, but who wants to sleep with a noisy heat pump blowing hot air above your head all night.

    The location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location for downtown area and bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cup or tissue box in the room. Was there in winter and for some reason the hallway was freezing although the room and lobby areas were fine.

    Perfect location for downtown area and bus station. Lots of places to eat nearby. Very quiet. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    i would definitely stay here again. awesome staff, awesome service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    just the view from our bedrooms. wouldve loved a city view but it honestly didnt bother us too much as we only used the room to sleep & freshen up after our event.

    loved everything. the room was spacious for us and our friends. the beds were comfy and clean. everything was just perfect for our trip. the staff were so awesome. thank you ACH for making our stay great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Loved the apartment - it was so quiet and comfortable, and perfect to come back to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level with Queen and Single
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oven wasn't really usable - no racks or ovenware. But we only considered using it once, and were able to use the microwave and hob instead, so not a big deal.

    The apartment was perfect for our family group. Great to have a dishwasher and washing machine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Clean, tidy and the staff were lovely but would not stay again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was controlled by the room card so we couldn't heat the room up when we left for dinner and there was no electric blanket on the bed which was surprising, we had to ring for an extra blanket cos the room was cold and there was none in the room, the room service were apologetic but it took a while before the room was warmed up

    The room was clean and tidy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Very comfortable and relaxing stay. We could cook our meals and we were close to the attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked having a kitchen to cook our meals in. I have 3 fussy children and it just made it easier to cater for them and less expensive. Thank you, we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Welcoming and comfortable 🤗
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level with Queen and Single
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good just a little nit pick would be the shower had a lot of mould in it.Told reception and they cleaned up straight away. Thank you.

    Central to everything great cafe within the building very comfortable with everything you need🤗

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    The room was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Boutique Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditions was cold and I couldn’t work it to warm the room up. I also requested a crib in my booking but never received one or was told why I didn’t get one. I also dislike having to hand over my car keys when I pay for a car park.

    The room was lovely. There was a welcome basket of treats. The room was very clean. The location is so central.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Good value in the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have been larger, but it was acceptable.

    The room was clean and tidy, even if a little small. Comfortable bed. The bathroom was clean, and the shower had good pressure which was a luxury for us. The location was very good, only a short walk to the Sky Tower. We felt quite safe walking around the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Very good hotel but noisy neighbours next door
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy students' apartment (2nd floor apartment) next to hotel. Perhaps it was a one case off situation- awful yelling, laughter and screams by groups of young people till wee hours in the morning (2nd floor apartment next to hotel)

    Everything else was fine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.3
    Good central location, excellent facilities , nice and clean
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant was not operating, so there was no room service etc. Car parking is an issue as there are only a few carparks. However, the staff were accommodating and moved their own cars!

    The room had great facilities and the central location was good. Cleanliness was to a good standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Good location good value and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very sound proof, rooms are different to the pictures (pictures I saw were for the boutique hotel which is next door) but still nice and comfortable enough

    Good location good value and nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Staff were very friendly no task was too hard. Hotel is only a short hike to the center of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a heater/ dehumidifier right next to the bed the green light was right in my eyes. There was no hot chocolate to drink only tea & coffee.

    Bed comfy, staff very friendly 8th floor view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Stay somewhere else and avoid the disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself was clean however the shower had mould. We changed rooms as the first looked nothing like it was advertised and there was so much mould and grime in the shower there was a smell to it. The second room also had mould - Not as bad but still present. The bed was supposed to be a double bed but ended up being 2 singles pushed together that started to seperate in the middle of the night. Wifi would not connect and you only get 500mb. Also be warned with the parking! The hotel charges $30 a night and cram as many cars as they can into the garage even if there are no spaces left. You then have to leave your car keys at reception so the staff can move the cars around if required. They state they will be careful when moving the cars yet all signs indicate they accept no responsibility for damage. Overall this hotel was a disappointment. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    All this space in a city hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park could be crowded but saying that, we did always manage to park.

    Fantastic amount of space in 2 bedroom apartment and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    room was good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level with Queen and Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    area of hotel-especially walking back at night,. Because it's off the main street it was just seemed a bit dodgy as there were heaps of people mulling around.

    room was good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    2.5
    BEWARE OF ADDITIONAL CHARGES. I would warn other guests to steer clear of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    BEWARE OF ADDITIONAL CHARGES. We were charged an extra $70 after our stay, due to a stain on the sheets (blood from a cut on my heel). I called and spoke with the Ops Manager who advised this was standard at their hotel, they did it all the time (several times a week) - even gave me an example of another customer that they had recently done it to also. They have refused to reverse the charge. I would warn other guests to steer clear of this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.0
    All would have been well but for the smell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overwhelming dislike which coloured all other feelings was the smell in the room. I think it was probably the smell of air freshener used to mask other things ... but it was strong, unpleasant and I never got used to it. Also the room in no way replicated the quirky look in the photos.

    There were cotton sheets on the bed which was comfortable and lots of hot water.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    The kitchen was very good with hotplates and a microwave...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was really only set up for 2 guests though (we were a family of 4), as there was insufficient glasses, plates, towels etc. More towels were provided when requested though. It appeared more to be an oversight. There was hair in the bathroom sink drain, which was off-putting. I guess there was a bit there as the sink didn't drain overly well.

    The kitchen was very good with hotplates and a microwave which meant we could cook meals. The beds were comfy and the wifi was pretty quick and they were generous in their amount we could use.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Would recommend, good location, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great, room is good value for money and has basic amenities. Staff are friendly and helpful. Would recommend! Will definitely be back to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was that although the bed was super comfy, it being 2 separate beds meant that I ended up sleeping in the little crevasse in between the two beds which grew as the night went on, so not the greatest. But overall amazing place to stay, just would’ve liked an actual double bed

    Lovely staff, room was very big, the whole room was quiet. It genuinely felt like we were the only ones at the whole hotel. Really nicely set out. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, will definitely be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Disappointing hidden costs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was convenient and beds comfortable. However there was no prior warning that the ‘secure underground car park’ came at a cost of $30 per night, and the wi-fi allowance very small was quickly exhausted, plus 2% surcharge on use of credit card. The hotel cost quickly escalates if you have a car much better to pay for a slightly more expensive hotel with free parking and wi-fi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    3.3
    Very disappointing.
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level with Queen and Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    couldn't find parking building, and when we did it was blocked by a laundry truck. Miles to reception with elderly parent. Split level room most unsuitable for elderly parent. Very small room. Paid for parking, but went out and returned to find our park taken. We were expected to hand over my car keys, no way, I wouldn't be insured!! Hard to communicate with staff, unhelpful.

    clean bedding

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Hobson Street Hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel breakfast was very average coffee was horrible.

    The little coffee shop in the hotel foyer made excellent coffee and lovely food. The hotel beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    2.9
    Location is what u are paying for
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is what u are paying for. For $350 per night and we had 3 nights, The room is needing a face lift as very dated, from needing new paint, new carpet, to the smalls things like new pillows, a fitted mattress protector and topper - not nice when sheets moved to see dark coloured stains on the mattress that I slept on. Bathroom could do with hooks and/or heated towel rail - they ask us to think about the environment to re use are towels but there wasn’t anywhere to hang more then one towel. Due to this we needed new towels each day as they were wet, with no were to hang The bed was very very firm/hard and I didn’t get a good sleep for any of the 3 nights I was there, then to have old flat types of pillows not comfy. Bad enough that u could hear everything from the next room were doing from shutting there door, flushing there toilet and to hear them having sex as bed bangs against the wall where our bed was. For wifi we where given a code for ONlY 500mb per 24hrs this worked for 20mins on the first day and never worked again - it never connected to the wifi while frustrated myself and friend so when I rung to get help was told I would is used all to wait till the 24 hr time had gone passed - which when I call it had been - for the money paid I would of thought u would have unlimited.

    The cafe hot chocolate was amazing the best thing about the stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    Pay more and choose elsewhere......................
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level with Queen and Single
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had to call front desk daily just to have coffee and milk refilled in room, garbage not collected one day, wifi sucks .................washing machine/dryer combo was awful!!!!

    Comfortable beds, no window covering in single room ........ air conditioning in bedrooms and living room which helped the stuffiness.......

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Neat and clean hotel in the heart of Auckland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in a three bedroom apartment but there was only one toilet. Bit disappointing.

    Cleanliness. Located in the heart of Auckland, close to Sky tower and ferry terminal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.8
    Good place to stay overnight without any real issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was hair in the shower. Bathroom needs refurbishing. Decor quite drab. Location not the best although I did know that before I booked.

    Big 2 bedroom unit on 10th floor which was very quiet. Efficient reception staff. Reasonable price for 2 rooms with a kitchen in Auckland city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Recomendable hotel in Auckland city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest the carpet was quite dirty

    Super location in walking distance to the harbour. Very friendly staff. There is an awesome cafe located in the hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    Aussie traveller
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I could not alter the dates of my Booking with Booking.com--only cancel it, which I didnt want to do as Ed Shearan was in town--so had to pay an extra nights accomodation when I wasnt there!

    Comfortable Hotel with food available at the Hotel and nearby A 20 minute downhill walk to the Events Centre each morning--took taxi home--didnt try uphill walk,one way streets and lots of construction going on!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable room in a good location, but some of the staff did not seem to be very helpful.
    • Couple
    • Studio King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They couldn't guarantee parking although I requested it and was lucky enough there was 1 parking spot left. And they only mentioned that there onsite parking was $30 once we arrived.

    Did not eat at the restaurant, cant comment

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location, not expensive for Auckland but probably wouldn’t go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot with windows closed to keep noise out and horrendously noisy aircon unit. Very basic in terms of added extras.

    Comfortable bed, quiet on 5th floor at back of hotel when windows were closed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    6.7
    I won’t book through booking com again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Boutique Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being question on leaving and having the room checked and being locked out.unable to change the room because I was through booking com

    Comfy bed and coffee machine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.0
    Dreary and tired.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the room depressing and overpriced. No hooks or rails in bathroom to hang anything. Miserly amount of teabags;2 which equals one cup of tea each for a couple.On request I was given more.

    The fantastic NZ bacon for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    Liked the whole experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay to park my car at the hotel.

    Liked the whole experience. Just thought the toilet was placed weird in my room. Next time will book a room with a view and not being a car because I thought the car parking was outrageously priced considering we have a room I thought parking would be free but no.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.0
    Disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The foyer smelled of an old building, unkept and musty. Hadn’t been scrubbed for months so much so that my wife had a severe asthma attack on entry. We didn’t bother unpacking and went to a clean motel nearby.

    Bathroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    Good value and great size room for the price I paid. Staff were pleasant and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some basic kitchen items were missing, bottle opener. A brush or dishcloth to clean dishes. The cleaning of the room was a little later than I am used to compared to other places. The toilet paper was a little thin.

    The room size was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.3
    big room but service could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower head was loose meaning it would not stay in one position once the shower was on we requested this to be fixed and while it was fixed it only stayed that way for one shower than the waterpressure loosened this again. The room requires some repairs where there are chips in walls and pieces of furniture coming apart. Better signage or instructions on where to park on arrival would be useful we parked on Hobson street and ran in to find where to park the car and were approached by two parking wardens in the space of 2 minutes. We requested a bottle opener waited 1/2 an hour called again to be told they had forgotten which room we were in and would bring this straight away after another 1/2 hour wait one of our group ended up going down to see them. Our room was not cleaned the first day and the second day it was not cleaned until 4pm while we were in the room t was almost like they had forgotten. Us.

    I was happy with the room size and overall cleanliness. The front desk staff were relatively friendly upon arrival

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    A little pricey but perhaps there was a lot on in Auckland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con leaked and carpet got soaked lucky my suitcase was closed.. but at least there was another room available for the rest of our stay.

    Location was great. Clean and tidy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    2.9
    Nice friendly Asian girl at the front desk tried her best to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They made us wait 2.5 hours to check in as the room wasn’t ready, then they insisted we be “upgraded” to a room with only 1 queen and 2 single beds for two couples which was not what we wanted so we just had to wait for our room. Bathroom wasn’t very clean there was grime on the walls. We paid an arm and a leg for our room so incredibly disappointed with what the room turned out to be not worth the money at all. Swimming pool is a 10 minute walk away with far too many people using it. Car park that we booked online was not available due to first in first served system. They insisted that we leave our keys with them for the one car park we were able to secure which sucked because we had to wait in the long line at reception just to get our car keys anytime we needed to use the car. Will never stay there again!!! Hotel grand chancellor is far better in every single way!

    Nice friendly Asian girl at the front desk tried her best to make a bad situation better but no such luck.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking. This is located around the corner from the hotel entrance which i was unaware of nor that it cost $30. I booked via booking.com. have suggested to the hotel staff that they make this known on booking information.

    Good value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay in a great location with easy access to the central city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single bed - although travelling alone I prefer to sleep in a queen bed.

    The friendliness of staff eg; I was on the 1st floor with no lift access but the staff carried my bags up which was appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel, room was basic but comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of parking - their website said secure parking was available and no need to book except when we arrived about 4.30pm on Saturday afternoon the carpark was full. We had to park overnight in the public carpark down the road and did not look that secure. Luckily it was okay. Also you may need to go around the block a few times if you want to stop to unload bags in front of the hotel, there is only one park for drop offs and no other parking available and being on a one-way system it took us three times around the block before we could get a park

    Nice hotel, reasonably close to the Viaduct. Room was basic but comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.8
    Over priced, poor noisey aircon, unable to sleep
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning system was very poor. They use stand alone units that are very noisy and make it difficult to sleep. See attached photo.The first room offered had no bedside table , as the air con unit was there right next to the pillow. Though the location was good geographically, it was opposite the city mission for the homeless. We experienced anti social behavior including urination in the street. Not the hotels fault , but very unpleasant for guests

    The staff here very helpful, The location was handy to the amenities of the city. Handy coffee shop on the ground floor. The rooms though basic where clean and well laid our

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested seperate beds in our room but unable to organise. Bed was atrocious .....shower was dangling off the fixture in shower and had to secure and prop with towel to shower. Paid $499 for room .....worst value we have experienced and unlikely to ever recommend

    Stored our luggage securely while we toured locally....staff extremely busy but pleasant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Cosy hotel near to city area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    lacking in toiletries without toothbrushes nor tissues provided; only 1 set of shampoo and conditioner and a small round hand soap were given; along the walkway outside especially opposite side of the hotel are few homeless people parking themselves laying on the ground though they are harmless but not a good sight

    the location is very central only 5min walk to the Skycity where we start our hop on hop off bus tour of the city; the hotel is quite inconspicuous but have a colonial feel and generally well kept; we were given a room on the 1st floor without lift service; overall the room is big and spacious and clean

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: