Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Mercure Auckland 5 stars

8 Customs Street, 1001 Auckland, New Zealand

#18 of 161 hotels in Auckland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1113 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    A special experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the middle of a construction zone at present - nothing Grand Mecure can do about that .. it will improve.

    Convenient - c lose to retail, great eating places, ferry etc

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Very good location and staff were great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mmm taking $100 from my debit card ... as don't have credit card. Did not tell me it would take 5 days to return to my acct. they could have explained this better and advised me if I wanted to pay in cash.

    Warm room. Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    The car valet service.
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car valet service. We asked them to bring everything out and then they had to go and collect things 3 times. I went to go out on the final night to find my coat had’t been brought up to the room either. It was a fast walk to the venue!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    The stay was great just a little noisy at night and early hours of the morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 1 night

    We gave our credit card when we checked in as a holding deposit, then when we checked out we paid for our stay with a different credit card which is okay. However, it has been 5 days and we are still waiting for a refund on our original credit card, which shouldn't take this long.

    The room was great we got an upgrade to a room up on the 11th floor with a harbor view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    I was in on a 14 day business travel trip and this hotel was my best hotel experience so far.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Plenty tv channels. the breakfast food was heathy and balanced. Restaurant on the top had superb views of the harbour. Staff were all extremely friendly and very helpful. Reception staff were very professional super friendly and the service was fast. Late checkout of 6 hours was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing. It is not a 5* or a 9+. Suggest elsewhere at these rates. Too noisy for business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Where to begin: 1. it is noisy, the hotel, Doors slamming . Lacks insulation. Don't go for a quiet night. Use ear plugs. 2. Room service patchy. My room left for final day, had to call 4 service

    Great location. Great food. Room service for food was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.3
    Wouldn’t stay again. Probably many others hotels in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The noise on the Saturday night was extreme as there was a party in the event area of the hotel. No notice was given to guests (apparently it happens every weekend!). It went til 4.30am which I think is unacceptable to most. The gym was also so small that it really could only accommodate 2-3 people at any one time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Was a short stay but the customer service was excellent overall.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really bad but if anything, Possibly that it was on the city side and there is a lot of building going on around the bottom of Queens street and they start early in the morning.

    Good bathroom and condiments.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    The experience was just amazing!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wifi was good however it would be more convenient if it could increase quota to 2GB per day :)

    The first impression is the best impression. I loved the setup of the room with rugs, mini bar and amazingly comfy bed. The view was just amazing from my room 1007.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Great service, room and view, great location, will definately visit again! ☺
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar in the room was a bit pricey. The clock was an hour ahead. And the room and bathroom were a bit dusty. Fluffier/newer/larger towels would be nice too.

    The bed was real comfy, the room was a good size, loved the tea and coffee station and the goodies in the bathroom were excellent especially if u forget something! Unfortunately I didnt get to try the restaurant as I was only there for 1 night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Adequate and centrally located business hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were cold and drafty, seemed to take a really long time to get the room anywhere near warm. It was a cold evening.

    Good showers in the rooms, beds were comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Love the location as we were able to walk or catch the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Love the location as we were able to walk or catch the train to wherever we wanted (plus always taxis outside) Check in and Check out were so easy thanks to the Reception staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    Stay was fine, but this will be the last time I stay at the Grand Mercure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and bed was uncomfortable, inconvenient parking! Had to wait in the bus stop and we're getting rooted at by buses.

    Bathroom was clean and modern.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Great handy location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The attention to detail, the glass, some were dirty and unwashed, some were just dusty, if they were turned upside down .........no dust inside

    Handy location to the heart of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Not very happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a room with city view on upper floor. Received room on 2nd floor facing another building. When asked if we could change to an ocean view, told hotel was full yet very few at breakfast or in the bar. Bed was too firm

    Close to the cruise terminals

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant service AAA
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the weather......

    Extremely comfortable beds, great pillows, super powerful shower & in a great central location right in the heart of Auckland’s cbd. We stayed here as we were going on a cruise & it was only a 5 min walk to the departure point & 2 more mins to the viaduct harbour were there are fabulous eateries. Carn’t rate the Grand Mercure high enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Food was fantastic and their bathroom products were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely but only having valet parking was a bit of a pain because we had to lap the block a few times before we could pull up. Probably to be expected right in the heart of the city though.

    Food was fantastic and their bathroom products were unexpectedly great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Awesome Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was amazing. My son who is 10 was so excited and loved every mi it's of the stay, especially the dressing gown and slippers The staff were super friendly and happy to help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    Prepaid booking but additional $100 ded from debit card on arrival as a bond.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 staff trying to check us in another staff member asking if we had luggage & another asking if we had veh to park. Overkill!!!! Bathroom had no ventilation or fan

    Perfect location fr US Embassy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    'Okay' stay, good beds, ineffective heating
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airconditioning (heating) was not working, in 2 different rooms. Staff didn't follow up on this.

    Breakfast was good variety, good view from restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    The perfect spot for a night out in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit daunting arriving by car - I wasn't sure where I could stop and it is a busy street. There are various yellow lined bus, taxi?, tour bus areas, fortunately I had a passenger who could leap out and find out what to do while I drove round the block! Being an inner city hotel, I should have checked before arriving, but perhaps it could be something they could add to their info when booking.

    Fantastic location for accessing central Auckland - easy walking distance to Viaduct, Britomart etc. Our room was comfortable - not huge, but no complaints for the two of us. Good in room facilities. Great staff, and loved the views from the in-house restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Two Single Beds - City Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small cups for tea at the breakfast :)

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location right next to the port, nice room, breakfast with big selection of food and drinks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Location was good, walking distance to the Sky Tower and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was poorly laid out, with the bathroom as big as the main bed area. There was also loud music and street noise throughout the night, we assumed there was a nightclub nearby.

    Location was good, walking distance to the Sky Tower and near a number of cafes and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location for downtown Auckland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - City side
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms on the city view side are noisy overnight with sound from the traffic below a disturbance. Also the windows dont open so you have to rely on the aircon in the room which just seemed to have a mind of its own and blow hot air or cold air as it felt like it - solution just set the aircon to the coldest setting.

    Great location for downtown Auckland. Good & clean hotel with staff on hand to answer any questions. Rooms size OK for two people with two suitcases.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    I loved the feel of the place, clean, modern and great...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I checked in they had obviously been busy and I respect that, but I felt like i was in the way and need to done and gone. If I was being super picky the bacon was tough.....

    I loved the feel of the place, clean, modern and great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really disappointed in the buffet breakfast, food was cold & average definitely wouldn't recommend eating at the breakfast buffet again, not for the cost.Bad food & average service. This would be our only negative towards our stay.

    Enjoyed the upper level bar area and views great service, Bedroom was really clean with great shower water pressure and room layout,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location and great hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room - City side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The loud noise from the ship horn at 6:00 am, although that was outside the hotels control.

    The bed was so comfortable. I got the best night sleep I've ever had whilst travelling

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was limited to 1000MB dor 24hrs. If you wanted more you had to pay. Also nowhere or no clear indicators for valet parking apart from a reserved taxi lane or bus lane

    The room was nice. Modern design

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    Very comfortable and without any hassle
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room service menu and magazines in the room felt a bit sticky and dirty

    Comfy bed. Nice toiletries. Good shower. Fantastic breakfast- slightly cheaper if you pre-book it at reception

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Great night away!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect, we enjoyed the comfort of the room. The small touches with the sewing kit in the bathroom was able to mend a jersey that had a loose thread. On leaving the cleaning lady asked us how our stay went and genuinely said she was glad we enjoyed it! Was a nice way to depart.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice modern hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - City side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice modern hotel in a great location. Adjacent to the shopping district, lots of nice cafes and restaurants nearby. Also close to the ferry docks for an easy trip out to Waiheke island.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Small room but convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room and bed were a bit small, you can't really move around while in there but totally fine for a couple nights.

    The location is very convenient, the room very confortable and the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.3
    Staff are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room - City side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is above a nightclub that’s omen until 4am and a 24 hour McDonalds. Even on the 7th floor the double glazing couldn’t keep out the noise. Avoid if you’re a light sleeper.

    Staff are great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Awesome facility, close to the Auckland CBD, Walked to Spark Arena for Show. We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Ocean View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only 3 tea cups when we had four adults staying in the room!

    Views in all directions from our room...........level 8 Bar and views The Hotel Renovations have turned it into a very upmarket experience at very reasonable rates

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    i didnt have breakfast - i wasnt advised if it was included...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i didnt have breakfast - i wasnt advised if it was included in my room rate, or even told where the restaurant was. The staff didnt tell me if breakfast was included. If it was then i would now expect some sort of refund

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    The staff an the convenience of being close to where I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so uncomfortable it was two singles joined together and the middle was not flat it was higher an harded an the breakfast was not up to my standard

    The staff an the convenience of being close to where I wanted to be

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Stylish hotel at very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's a data-limitation for the wi-fi. That's a bit last century... If you want to work or maybe stream a movie, you'll meet the limit quite soon. Shouldn't be too much of a hassle to provide enough bandwidth...

    nice, stylish rooms with very good facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Loved it, will be back for sure!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Two Single Beds - City Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, staff were absolutely fantastic and all friendly and smiled at us when we walked around the hotel. Room was a good size and bed was comfortable. Bathroom would've been the cleanest bathroom in any hotel room I have stayed, it was immaculate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Nice modern hotel close to shopping and harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Ocean View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room with ocean view is slightly obstructed by another building. Otherwise, it would be awesome to take in the ocean views.

    Hotel that is located conveniently by the harbour and is close to Britomart restaurants and Viaduct. It is also a short walk to Queen street for Shopping. To the airport, it is located just next to the Skybus stop which connects to the Airport directly or via their lounge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Superb Centrally located City centre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra parking fee

    Super comfortable beds Staff were nice and accommodating when we turned up late because of our flight being delayed Gave us a late checkout and reduced vale parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.8
    Did not feel like a luxury hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room and see through wall between bathroom and bedroom which let the light shine through during the night. Also very noisy on the street side but no earplugs provided. Had an 11am checkout but could not get anything to eat at that time for breakfast in the hotels resturant?

    Location to Train/bus station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.5
    The hotel, staff and location are fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I found the internet connection limited for such an otherwise excellent hotel (1G per day, multiple desconnections whilst working).

    The hotel, staff and location are fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Really relaxing and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to park at britmart and walk some distance to hotel as no room at hotel car park. $36.00 for a beer and a small bottle of wine in the minibar really. If cheaper would use it more what’s the business logic behind this pricing just dumb.

    Loved the Restaurant Veiw. Loved the modern deacor in the room & lifts etc. loved the location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Excellent customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late check out was not available even though I booked months ahead of time and asked during the time of booking. Was told to ask when I checked in. We could have paid and stayed a few hours to make use of our long overlay since we flew in late at night.

    Excellent customer service. Staff was very helpful. Hotel and room is very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Clean and comfortable as expected from a Mercure - nicely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is $40 an extra night and the location leaves no alternative options. Room service took almost an hour, and wasn't quite as ordered

    Clean and comfortable as expected from a Mercure - nicely done out, and a good CBD location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.7
    Overall good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Costly for what you get. Asked for late checkout and the room attendant knocked twice and opened the door while getting change so not particularly ideal nor expected that.

    Good location. Restaurant view is good. Friendly front desk staff. The rate included breakfast but didn't get the chance to try the breakfast buffet so can't comment

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    All staff are friendly and attentive.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Two Single Beds - City Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Single beds were small and uncomfortable Noise from other guests was very loud one night at around midnight and for a while after - noise seems to travel easily throughout the corridors nearby. Also street noise/rowdy passers by, was loud and went until at least 3am (when I finally fell asleep) - my room was above the street that leads to britomart.

    All staff are friendly and attentive. If you look lost they will ask if they can help. The lovely Italian Customer service lady upon checking out was fantastic! She was friendly, efficient and asked me how my stay was, she listened to my complaints and offered satisfactory replies, not that I expected any compensation as I only wanted to leave feedback.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location was excellent - within walking distance to the cruise terminal, close to bars and restaurants, and near to shops. The room was very big, with great facilities. The staff were lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    Not 5 star but pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were adjacent to the lifts and it was a little noisy at times. Also strange running water noises from the bathroom. We had to ask for more tea in the room as it wasn’t restocked.

    Great location. Easy booking. Rooms clean and cool. Cafe on the ground floor had yummy food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - City side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a city side room, the noise from the street was quite loud at night. Car stereos were blasting after the bars closed. They could use some better windows.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The bed was very comfortable. The shower had great water be pressure and was good and hot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    4.5
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - City side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in a disabled bedroom facility. The bathroom was just horrible. We were only there 1 night and were told the hotel was full and that was all the rooms they had, this despite the fact we had booked months earlier!! No compensation offered, as it was in our view, now poor value for money. We were offered a free breakfast but had no intention of eating breakfast there anyway. We feel we should have been given some money back!

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location by wharf and ferry terminal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi limited to 3 devices and we each had 2. That was not stated upfront and lags international standards/norms at this type/class of hotel.

    Excellent location by wharf and ferry terminal. Comfortable room for a family.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.1
    We liked very comfy beds and high quality bed sheets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in was not smooth as not enough staffs were at the reception. Also one staff at the reception didn’t give us good impression as she (helped checkin )had terrible mouth smell from smoking and also she should wear long sleeve tops to cover up wrist cutting marks. Except this staff, all other staffs were great!

    We liked very comfy beds and high quality bed sheets. Also location was great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.5
    .Felt welcome during our short stay. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Piano too loud and the music chosen was not apropriate during pre dinner drinks. Conversation with others was nil. Went elsewhere for dinner.

    View from Dining Room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect. Lovely décor, clean and comfortable rooms. Great breakfast. Excellent location. Efficient and helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    lovely hotel overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had a broken door into the bathroom, the staff couldn't fix it right away and offered to move us but it was too inconvenient at the time so we stayed in the room. They did ask what they could bring us complimentary for the inconvenience. Next time, the room should be inspected for broken items before giving it out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - City side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms. Much too pricy for what it is, just a normal business hotel

    Great location. Nice touch with yoga rooms. We could check in before the official time

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    2.5
    Disgusting and will never return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My whole stay it was atrocious, considering I own a business and thought I wou try out the hire for conferences and to put my staff up in the hotel for when they go to Auckland for work, wasn’t a good first impression

    Rude service, got kicked out at without even a warning Will never go back for the price we had to pay for being treated like absolute peasants

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told there was a fixed rate with Taxi company that hotel order for me to airport of $65 this was not the case I got charged $88 I did mention to taxi driver the deal with the hotel but he said was not the case

    Close proximity to everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    Location excellent, food good, nice view from restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small with little room for cases, it would be fine for 1 person (business trip). Needs a clothes hook in the bathroom .

    A newly decorated room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast included in rates NOT
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon check out we were told our breakfast was to be paid for. I had already provided the details that the rate included breakfast upon check in. The supervisor was rude and insisted I paid for breakfast until I challenged it. He was also rude when I asked when my bond would be released. I do not understand why a bond is charged and held for so long if the room was prepaid? At $1188 just for two nights come on

    The staff at the breakfast and the cleaners were amazing and friendly. Location was great for the concert we attended

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location and comfortable, but don't eat or drink there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sleep there but do not eat or drink. The bar and the restaurant were deserted and seemed poor. The barman had never heard of a cocktail (though advertised there) and they had run out of the drink we finally ordered.

    Room small but comfortable, and well equipped. Bigger rooms are available but we chose the cheapest one as only there for 1 night. The location was absolutely perfect for a quick visit to the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    A great introduction and au revoir to New Zealand on our first trip there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - would stay there again without hesitation

    The location lived up to expectations as it was very close to the waterfront and an easy walk to the ferries and harbour. We had booked to stay in another Auckland hotel at the end of our trip, but after staying here at the beginning and realising just how good the location was, we changed our booking to come back. At this point we had a hire car, and we parked it with the hotel as well. The rooms were well appointed and the restaurant had great views over the water, being positioned high in the building. In particular the staff deserve a mention - we had a midnight flight on our last day back, so wanted to check out as late as possible. Arranging a late checkout was made very easy for us, and they stored our bags, and kept our hire car parked until the evening of our departure for the airport. They also very kindly supplied a bathroom and shower for us to change in to our travel clothes when we picked up the bags and car in the evening. All of this was done with no quibble, and everybody we spoke to did their best to help (we even had to insist on giving a tip, as it was initially refused!)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    Nice downtown hotel with great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Two Single Beds - City Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The young woman who checked us in at the front desk was truly exceptional. She was pleasant, had a great sense of humor, and answered all our questions. She gave great recommendations for dinner and for the next day's excursions. The views from the 13th floor at breakfast were very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Very convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room and bathroom are on the small side. Maybe I missed it in the booking information, but didn't realize there is a 2% charge for using credit card to pay for the room. This was the only place we stayed at in New Zealand that charged for using a credit card.

    Location is great for easy access to the wharf/pier, shops and restaurants in the Auckland downtown area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Excellent location for limited time in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely welcome with herbal tea and hot flannels after a long journey. Fabulous views from the restaurant/bar area. Excellent location for the harbor and Waiheke ferry. Airport bus drops off outside the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a littke small . Twice we were woken by staff knocking on door asking if we had rung about air conditioning. One time a female staff just walked into our room

    So close for getting to the cruise terminal. Right in the city. Very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location for a one night stopover in Auckland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room - City side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a deluxe room and it was not as I'd expected - it was like a normal Premier Inn type room, at 4 times the cost, so rather disappointed.

    Hotel location is excellent and even though we were on 3rd floor above a very noisy street, we couldn't hear any traffic noise. Staff were very friendly and efficient, helping us with directions etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    3.3
    Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with King Bed - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is apparently overpriced, not a little but a lot The room was very small even I booked a suite, so don’t judge by the pictures from booking.com, the room is very noisy that seems a big machine besides the room is running and viberating every minute I stayed 3 nights but none of it I could sleep The staff of this hotel is not professional either Anyway, other than location this hotel is not the one you want to spend a min with

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Staff incredibly helpful and polite with every request, my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door doesnt make the bathroom very private - only slight oddity! Everything else was lovely.

    Staff incredibly helpful and polite with every request, my other half even suprised me with flowers in my room which he organised from back in the UK. He couldn't praise them enough about how helpful they were! View over the city was beautiful, lovely big window! Comfy beds and everything you could possibly want in the room, inclhding a coffee machine!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    This great hotel is one that we will use again without any question. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The large Nesspresso machine is great if you know exactly how to operate it and have 10 minutes spare to queue! It would be a nice idea to serve pots of coffee to tables for those who do not need hassle at busy Breakfast time.

    The duty reception staff were fantastic and managed to get us to a room for a very early check-in, which was great to be able to freshen up after a long flight from Doha.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.1
    It was good, however it would have been more comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shortage of cupboards for family of four and not filling tea- coffee box on second day.

    It was good, however it would have been more comfortable with one double bed and two single beds for adult children.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast was very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room - City side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Wifi disconnected every 5 minutes, I had to reconnect each time I wanted to access. 2. Cleaning services were bad, my room was not made one night during my stay, and towels were left the day before just where i left them. 3. Bedrooms are too small for the price. 4. Waitress were slow and not helpfull at all.

    Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    5.4
    Not great value for money, probably won't return.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Night Staff - we arrived at 1am, the staff were slow and had to be asked to help us with our bags. Check in took way too long! The rooms were so small we could hardly fit our luggage in them. For a new hotel, they have not been maintained very well.

    Location was the only great thing about this place. Staff were friendly at check out but not helpful and slow at check in (it was 1am... ) but just expected them to help us with our bags as our taxi pulled up outside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    This hotel was convenient to the Strand railway station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little small, but we were only there to sleep

    This hotel was convenient to the Strand railway station where we were catching the Wellington train early the following morning - which we took a taxi to, & were very happy we didn't walk, as it was too far to walk with suitcases!!

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: