Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. New Zealand hotel reviews
  3. Waikato hotel reviews
  4. Hamilton hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Backpackers Central Hamilton

Reviews of Backpackers Central Hamilton

846 Victoria Street, Hamilton Central Business District, 3204 Hamilton, New Zealand

#46 of 52 hotels in Hamilton

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1481 hostel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2019

    10
    Very enjoyable! Will stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room with private bathroom was very clean and lovely. Communal kitchen was modern, always kept immaculately tidy and clean. The desk staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    10
    Wonderful and clean excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't anything I didn't like amazing stay

    Wonderful and clean excellent staff. Just like being at home big ups to staff. Would book again in near future

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    3.3
    Location only
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reservation I booked online was not the actual room that was provided by the host. Their was no free parking and didn't know where the free breakfast was?

    Location only

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    7.5
    Good place for a night or two in central Hamilton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Breakfast too simple, all people in a room, very busy, only one hour from 8 to 9 o'clock.

    + Nice kitchen + Fast WiFi + Laundry + Bedroom was not the cleanest, but OK for a hostel

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    9.2
    Great value
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was my fouth stay here. The people are lovely and the facilities meet all my expectations. I find the location extremely central for visiting Hamilton City and access to the bus station. They do a very well presented breakfast included in the price of he room.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    6.7
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit old styled need to modern up , better shop on premises than currently , bigger sitting area to accommodate more people towels maybe

    Location is super adding breakfast was great idea what was on offer was great

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2019

    5.0
    Too many parking passes were given out for a limited number...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too many parking passes were given out for a limited number of parking spots on the second day of our stay, so we had to park on the street far from the hostel. The staff were not very helpful or friendly.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    7.5
    Within a 5 minute walk of the transport centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There's three floors of rooms in the hostel, and I was in the basements which had no windows and a noisy air conditioning uni.

    Within a 5 minute walk of the transport centre. Nice common area, and the breakfast including bread, spreads and cereals. Rooms lock behind you automatically and use cards to get in so are secure, with lockers within rooms.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    7.9
    Basic rooms with great common areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small rooms, but big enough for 1-2 days. Our room did not have an a/c only a fan.

    Big common areas for cooking and relaxing. Free parking at the back. Near the countdown supermarket. Free breakfast, but only for 1 hour from 8-9 (so it’s super crowded at that time).

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    10
    every thing was close by
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was great

    it was great having our own bathroom, The beds were very confortable, There was even a TV in the room and to top it all off there was free breakfast

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    7.1
    Good location, secure property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hallways were very cold...too much A/C. Needed more pancake (waffle) batter the first morning. Not much chit-chat with other backpackers.

    Good location, secure property. Decent family place to stay.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    7.5
    Free parking if you arrive early enough.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff (I advised two different staff members) ignored advice that a kettle was broken. It was still broken on the 5th day when I left.

    Free parking if you arrive early enough.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    2.5
    I feel ripped off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff the black hairs all over room dirty sheets the room was nasty

    Big black hairs in the room tv didnt work sheets looked used staff were rude then they stole money from my account without my permission saying room was in a state when it was left tidy. It hadnt been vacumed in days because no cleaners came by and they dont provide a vacume the manager was cocky and arogant never again

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    3.3
    Never again what thieves and how rude they dont service there rooms even after ten day stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The manager was rude and spoke to me in a discusting mannor i stayed two nights and they didnt service room so charged me for vacuming didnt contact me just stole from me

    They stole money from my card without my permission

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    5.8
    First impression with the manager was extremely rude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First impression with the manager was extremely rude. I greeted, ask how he was, he just looked away and carried on talking with his buddy. I politely asked if he was with a client since he gave me mixed signals, he said no and continued talking to his buddy. I had to repeatedly say I'm checking in, he hastily gave me the keys and overall that was very unwelcoming to start.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    7.1
    it was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Like I said the breakfast could have lasted another hour or so to let people that need to go to work get in first.

    we had a issues with one of the bunk beds ( lower ) and they came in and put slates in and changed the matters as well so that was great. Not a bad breakfast as well could last a little later, as a lot of younger folks getting ready for work so it gets very busy.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    5.4
    Will NEVER go back - not for us.
    • Couple
    • Double Room Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too many stairs, having to go outside the building into another and go down more stairs to get "continental" breakfast --juice was cordial, bread for toast was frozen and lack of seating space as standing room only when crowded. -Too much for us and we had to exit the building and climb more stairs with breakfast in hand to secondary kitchen (communal) to eat in some sort of comfort but no milk available to have a cup of tea.

    Good water pressure in the shower. Thank goodness for the fan in the bedroom

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    6.7
    An ok stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hostel is kind of messy and not quite clean. Not even the furniture goes with one another.

    Location is good. The private rooms security is also good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    7.5
    Free breakfast, good WiFi, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not enough mugs/glasses in the kitchen for everyone during breakfast There’s just not a lot to do in Hamilton..

    Free breakfast, good WiFi, nice staff

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    5.8
    The location was great, room wasn't good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room wasn't clean, found some toe nails beside the bed and the bathroom floor was stained, same with the shower curtain.

    The location was great, walking distance to the mall and going around town with a car was really good.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    7.1
    Would have been fine if it weren't for the noise levels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed felt very worn in, the pillows were comfortable though. The main issue I had was the noise level from other guests. The guest in the room next to me had very loud music/tv on till around 12am at night, I was told that backpackers usually have someone on watch to control noise levels and disturbances, however no one was around to help that I could see.

    The room was quite spacious and the proximity to the city was excellent, also a very good quality shower. Very happy I was able to get easy access parking at the back of the building.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    4.6
    When I woke up in the morning I had dozens of itchy bites...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When I woke up in the morning I had dozens of itchy bites all over my feet. The ‘free’ breakfast in the morning was cereals and juice but I had gotten there maybe 15 minutes after it got put out and there was nothing left; would have been better if things got topped up. Staff were quiet and didn’t feel like they wanted to be there (when I checked out that lady was pretty lovely)

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    7.5
    I will be back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Toilet and Basin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No free milk in the upstairs (ground level) kitchen. Should provide free tea and coffee making facilities.

    Great location and facilities to meet all price ranges.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    7.1
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hand wash...i understand for what you pay that there may not be shampoo, but some soap would have been good Free breakfast is a great concept, but the area is too small for all the guests at one time so we opted out in the end

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    8.3
    Good place to meet a few strangers and get back to your transit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were a few dangerous people up there- who didn't know their existence.

    They allowed me for late check-in and left the keys for me in locker- which was really helpful

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    6.7
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Facility
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fan in the room had broken. The receptionist wasn’t very helpful at all, more concerned that her boyfriend was waiting for her on the sofa. She didn’t explain where everything was in the hostel or give us a photo of the layout, if there was one. She didnt inform me of the checkout time or if there was free wifi. She didnt explain the parking situation until i had to ask, nor did she explain which parking spaces were okay to park in if the hostel spaces were full.

    Great location. Bed was okay. Facilities were fine. Bathroom was clean. Bed room was clean.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    6.7
    Good location, parking, close to restaurants, easy to find,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be improved and held in the larger venue with the couples room. Cleanliness questionable. Some confusion as to how to access breakfast (via the side laneway door). Needed more cutlery and crockery. Needed better layout for breakfast and not enough kitchen equipment. No room airconditioning (only the access corridor was air conditioned)

    Good location, parking, close to restaurants, easy to find, price, lots of info available on surrounding attractions etc.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    7.5
    Hamilton backpackers is a very reliable place to stay. Strive to keep it this way.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    May be time to upgrade the Duvet inners. Check the bedside lamp bulbs. Be more alert about the alcohol. Other than this great place to go and be.

    It was a help that breakfast was provided and a nice selection also. The toilets,showers always clean. Very freindly place. Staff helpfull always.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    5.0
    Location and kitchen area
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking not enough, rooms were smelly and dusty same goes with linens not clean. Staff not very helpful and hallways were stinky

    Location and kitchen area

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    7.1
    It felt safe.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I thought $62 for a single room with a private bathroom (tiny) was quite steep for a backpackers, but I haven’t stayed in one for years. Would have liked Security windows.

    It felt safe. It was well located and had parking. I had a fan in my room which I really needed. And it was very clean - the room and shared facilities

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast, clean bathrooms and kitchen, enough cutlery and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Floor in the kitchen was always sticky

    Breakfast, clean bathrooms and kitchen, enough cutlery and crockery, card system instead of key, comfortable, good location, deck outside, quite

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    5.0
    Yeah nah, not again
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The whole place was musty and the room had no ventilation only a fan pushing hot air around. Within 20mins of checking in, someone tried the door handle and kept trying to get into the room while we were in it. I found it very unsettling and didn't sleep most of the night because of the heat. I had asked for parking yet I got to the hostel & there was none available so I had to park in an area that wasn't allowed, just so I could unpack my belongings and feel safe. In the car parking area there is inadequate lighting making it extremely unsafe. I felt if someone hid behind a car they could easily approach a person without being seen and take advantage of the situation. The fridge in the room sounded like it had seen better days and the continual hum was annoying so I turned it off just to get some peace and quiet. During the night I spoke with another person who stayed there and he told me never go out back to the carpark on your own it's too dangerous and lots of people hang around out the back in the car park. I regretted booking a night there and will never do so again unfortunately

    Shower in the room and toilet, however no ventilation for this either.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    6.3
    The staff were really friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds in this hostel really need upgrading, the mattress was very uncomfortable and the bunk above me was very unstable

    The staff were really friendly and helpful The hostel was easy to find and the location was good The showers were clean and there was a lot of room in them

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed my time there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thoroughly enjoyed my time there. The owner was an absolute pleasure to deal with and ended up staying a few extra nights due to the relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location for where I needed to be. Thankyou for having me
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hygiene to be honest. Blanket duvet still had hair from previous and so did the shower in my room. Everything else was great 😊

    Friendly and helpful front of house. I would stay again.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    4.6
    not recommended
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Facility
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The kitchen was dirty and the kitchen fires were not efficent. The room had no window but only a skylight on the ceiling which opened laboriously

    The location is the only good thing. Not too far from the bus station.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The dorm doesn't even have a window. The whole kitchen is like a base and also has no window.

    Included breakfast Isn't that much, but it's for free...

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    7.5
    Hamilton shuts early, but is fun when its open!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room with Toilet and Basin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit limited on breakfast front, and lots of chidings to clean up etc. Bit schoolmarm ish but maybe they have good reason.

    Nice room, close to the Waikato River and on the main Street.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    10
    More than meets the eye
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Have stayed here, amongst other places in Hamilton, quite a few times and find it GREAT value for money considering the location. It is clean, tidy, welcoming, homely and a lot more than expected. I found it quiet and professional. No alcohol is permitted which I think sets the bar quite high for a backpackers immediately. The shared facilities are clean and have most standard comforts of home. It's become our new go to 😊

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    5.4
    The location was relatively good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The facilities were a bit dated and the staff member who booked me in could have been more hospitable by showing me around the place rather than just providing me with a key and verbally telling me.

    The location was relatively good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    2.9
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed uncomfortable, old matress, loud ventilation, the staff even put my hot tea in the sink while i was in the bathroom, weird atmosphere, ground floor (very dark), wifi password about rules, price too expensive for service

    Shower was okay

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    7.0
    Pleasant, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Shared Facility
    • Stayed 1 night

    Site said there was an airport shuttle. I specifically chose this hostel over two others because it had one and they didn't. Need to update website.

    Nice idea to do pikelet mixture. (not sure if you are aware, but the pikelet machine doesn't cook them properly as thhe hole is to deep.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    7.1
    Decent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was pushed against wall, making it less comfortable to get in and out with two people. Room was right next to kitchen area and when thin walls, it got somewhat noisy. The room had no window.

    I like the en suite bathroom which was tiny but nice to have privacy while showering. The breakfast was a basic continental breakfast. Cereal, milk, juice, toast with jam and peanut butter and butter, and juice.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    4.2
    The late check in was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was dirty, the floor mat for the shower was dripping wet from t god knows how many people that had used the shower before us, only one shower and one toilet to facilitate all of the people on the ground floor. Room was basic and dated.

    The late check in was good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    9.2
    Quite pleasant middle level of backpackers especially nice and modern.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to see drunken people not being able to get back inside.Perhaps little labels saying " going out? Got your card? Keep it safe it's cold outside" stickers above room door handles inside and out and or on cards.

    Comfy rooms,nice and quiet and great ameneties.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    4.6
    Bed bugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    BED BUGS! My friend and I got bitten several times by bed bugs. At first we weren’t too sure but I saw one on the last night. The pictures just show some of the bites we’ve gotten. It’s terribly itchy.

    Stayed in a private twin ensuite room for several nights in Nov 18. The room was alright but with the TV placed too far to the right that it coincided more with the toilet door than the beds. Nothing to complain bout the WiFi and water and did not used much of the shared facilities.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    3.3
    Would not recommend this hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms felt very unclean due to the stained bed sheets. We were bitten by bed bugs so we requested to move rooms. We were then bitten again in the second room so we requested to check out early.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    7.0
    Practical location for a night, very basic. The
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The back stairway was just outside the room, so curtains need to be drawn at all times to prevent other people who use the staircase to view from outside. The mini fridge was placed on a small side table and it was unstable and wobbles when I opened or closed the door.

    Central location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.1
    The staff were lovely and location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was right at the end of the corridor.. It was EXTREMELY loud. I was woken up at about 6.30am by people going up and down the stairs. However. My main complaint is about the fridge in my room. It didn’t work at all as I cooked food on the Friday night and when I went to reheat it on the Sunday is was COVERED in mould. Also, the hot water took about 5 minutes to turn on which was a bit annoying.

    I really like the location as it was very easy for me to go to the supermarket and only 15 mins to Centre Place.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    6.7
    Handy location, staff were okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    While the bed was comfortable the sheets either hadn't been changed or were a bit smelly from old age. Bedside drawer wouldn't open, toilet roll holder was broken and they hadn't left any soap (as it says in their add). The kitchen was very short on basic utensils and half of the toaster didn't work.

    Handy location, staff were okay.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    7.1
    That the staff were accommodating and helped with unexpected...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was small.

    That the staff were accommodating and helped with unexpected late arrival outside of check in hour due to flight delay. However, instructions were wrong, resulting in us having to call them.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    5.0
    It was everything that should be expected from a city hostel, so can’t complaints.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sound proofing is poor. Stain on sheets. Towels need to go and be replaced with new ones. Shower couldn’t make up its mind hot or cold Shower floor was sticky. Cleaning product? No shampoo provided. A single top sheet was provided for a double bed?? Found this out after since the top sheet is folded on the bed for you. The office manager was a no non-sense type of individual. Which is okay, but perhaps not all the time.

    Privacy The lay out was nice I like the security feature with the card on every door. I imagine I ou’re screwed if you leave your card behind in your room though or lose it after hours.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    7.5
    Great place to stay if you are out and about during the day and just need somewhere to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is not enough parking for guests. People are asked to clean their dishes and put away however, they don't - this is not a fault of the facility.

    The place was lovely and clean, staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    7.5
    Simple, very affordable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kitchen area looked a bit shabby. However, this also has to do with how guests leave it behind. The walls aren't very sound proof.

    Very affordable. Nothing fancy, but everything you need is there. Nice hot shower, simple but comfortable private room. I liked the electronic key card lock on the doors. Free parking space behind the building.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    6.3
    The location is good, staff are welcome and the breakfast is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked a double private room for getting more comfort experience. However, the room is quite close to the living room, it is too noisy and I can hear the voice clearly outside the door, insulation is disappointing, I can hardly sleep for the period of stay. The linens are not clean, have smells, and seem to have small bites. Suggest to clean all the fabrics even thought it is only for backpackers.

    The location is good, staff are welcome and the breakfast is pretty nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money, but don’t expect something more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Kitchen and shared facilitiea were pretty messed up, but I guess thats because of a lot of young backpackers living here and not cleaning after themselves.

    Its in a great place.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money and comfortable accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Toilet and Basin
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would put a strip of foam on the bathroom door frames as they slam loudly. An extra blanket would have been nice also.

    Excellent security, great shower

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    6.3
    Really great location and was a functional place to stay in central Hamilton
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Facility
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Visible black mould on the window frames that wouldn’t be hard to clean off maybe once a week Place looks generally run down, pillow inners had yellow stains on them First shower I tried didn’t work and only dribbled water. One bed had a thin mattress that meant when I sat down fast I hit the hard bed base

    Great location and didn’t hear any noise from the street

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    6.3
    The room was nice and spacious.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lounge where breakfast is served could do with some windows or can be served in a different room because it was too closed doors for me. Hallway could do with some painting or canvas because it's too closed and it feels creepy

    The room was nice and spacious. It seemed clean but carpet was a bit dusty..close to where the bed is

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    7.5
    So far it is was good except for that noisy & annoying neighbor in the middle of the night.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Facility
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thin walls, you can hear the neighbors. We did not have enough sleep the first night bec. one of our neighbors kept on knocking on one of the doors (i was wondering why he did not get extra card key) for about an hour at around 12-1am. It was quiet & we woke up to that knocking, It was so disturbing & we could not sleep until 5am. Need to change the thin pillows Need to change the carpet in the room, its too old, its clean but it looks dirty bec its too old & also the room needs to be repainted.

    The cosiness of the room. It was warm enough to have a comfortable rest. Security- i like the way you go inside the premises, you need to have the card to get inside makes it more secure & safe. Bed & linens are clean Room is clean The ref & TV inside the room No alcohol inside the premises. Wifi is great!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    5.4
    Spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff is kinda annoyed. I asked if there’s a space heater i could have for my room cos it’s pretty spacious and cold. He said he will come and check for me in my room. But I never heard from him again. And it’s not even a busy day. I only see one staff at a time the who time I stayed there.

    Spacious rooms. Good location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    7.5
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have appreciated being informed at time of booking that designated room didn,t have exterior windows,although were aware that some were that way.

    yes, bed comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    5.0
    Won’t be bavk
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ran out toilet paper in room nothing by kitchen lounge area Coming away with irritating bites frm rm 15😔 eww myself and my adult daughter thtbsharedbyhe

    Everything you needed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    6.7
    Good value of money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff on front desk (female) looked bored and not very interested in her job. Not very friendly welcome and I felt like I was bothering her. Bed too small for 2 people. Take out some of the not that relevant furniture and buy a bigger bed. Room was located next to an entry so the door was kept slamming all night long.

    Good value of money. Tv in the room was a nice touch. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    8.3
    comfortable bed, suited us for the one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    could not get television to work and being in the room right by the back door to the exit stairs was very noisey with the door banging all the time with people coming and going having smokes.

    comfortable bed, suited us for the one night

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    7.5
    Apart from the noisey back stairwell. I loved my stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mmmm the back stair case is noisey. Room 19 is so exposed. All night long people up and down. I also noted a lot of Alcohol being drank. This is a super back packers i dont like to see it abused, Room 19 needs attention in regards to the very loud back stair-Case. Maybe back packers use the front entrance say after 10pm.

    This back packers was so freindly. Simple and i felt right at home. It was average nothing over the top.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    5.8
    Free car park
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had trouble with the WiFi I paid less in other backpacker for a better place 30$/night even if I choose « no breakfast »

    Free car park Able to have a breakfast Unlimited WiFi (when it works)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    6.7
    Don't stay in room 11, no window and no sound insulation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They didn't hesitate to change our room when they realised we were on a different floor to our kids room. Upstairs kitchen and lounge area. Bed really comfortable.

    Don't stay in room 11, no window and no sound insulation. We could hear the conversation next door. And were woken up several times. Staff showed no interest, barely looked up when we left. Unfortunately not much choice for accommodation in Hamilton in the winter!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    4.6
    Yeah nah, dont think so.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Toilet and Basin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff not exactly helpful to resolve an issue. Quite noisy and very cold. Car parks are first in first and not enough of them. The included breakfast was served too late to be able to attend. A frustrating stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    6.7
    Clean rooms, friendly staff, good location, and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a room with no windows. Was really stuffy and hot. The bed was really cheap and average

    Clean rooms, friendly staff, good location, and good facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    5.4
    Shower did not work and bed and pillows uncomfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower in room 14 did not work, I mentioned it to staff and they said they would get onto it, but the next morning it was still not working. Plus the mattress was uncomfortable, needs replacing, and the pillows were very lumpy and need replacing. I have stayed here a few times lately and have been pleased with the rooms but when I upgraded to a private room with shared bathroom I was very unimpressed

    The private bathroom was clean and tidy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    7.5
    At the price, you can't complain!
    • Couple
    • Double Room Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would have liked a hairdryer in the bathroom. There were no instructions left to show where breakfast was held. Perhaps it was because we let ourselves in late. But on the notice board would be helpful in the corridor.

    We needed to arrive late at night, and they accommodated us by leaving very good instructions. Breakfast was provided, and plenty of choice. Easy to log in free wifi.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    7.9
    Free breakfast, good wifi and free and secure parking around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds in the dorms had wooden slats running across them so they weren't the most comfortable to sleep on.

    Free breakfast, good wifi and free and secure parking around the back of the building was a big help.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    7.1
    The private bedroom was good enough and had a fridge and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff could be more friendly. The breakfast was served in a kitchen different that we used, and it was a little dirty and messy. There was not enough tables and places to sit.

    The private bedroom was good enough and had a fridge and a private bathroom. The kitchen we used was clean. There was parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    3.8
    I had a terrible night because of the awful bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had a terrible night because of the awful bed... The dormroom was dirty with cigarettes on the floor (and all of the backpackers were new on the room !) The personal was not friendly at all. I won’t recommend this hostel to anyone

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: