1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. New Zealand hotel reviews
  3. Waikato hotel reviews
  4. Hamilton hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Backpackers Central Hamilton

Reviews of Backpackers Central Hamilton

846 Victoria Street, Hamilton Central Business District, 3204 Hamilton, New Zealand

#32 of 38 hotels in Hamilton

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1210 hostel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.0

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2021

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the other guest i shared a room with were quiet rude.

    Very clean & tidy the owners were amazing & friendly, i enjoyd my stay as this was the 1st back packers ive stayed at

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2021

    7.0
    met expectations, perfect for the price
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pillow case may have been recently washed but it didn't look like it, so not sure??

    check in and check out was easy. room was what we expected so no issues there. great value for money. car park available was a bonus, very helpful

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2021

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being confined to crutches the only thing I didn't like was that the elevator was out of order

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2021

    6.0
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Handy to the stadium. Basic but clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2021

    7.0
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not find any controls for the heater. My bed was right under the vent and I almost boiled.

    It's a backpackers. I like the vibe of a back packer experience. It's not however flash. You don't expect it to be.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2021

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Close to town and restaurants. Quiet and tidy room

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2021

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was at the back of the lower floor close to car parking and a service lane so was noisy during the night.

    Good, clean basic accommodation. Close to town with food close by.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2021

    6.0
    Decent if you need a cheap place to stay - but don't expect too much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I advised them that I would be arriving right at the close of reception, so they got everything ready for a late check in. Except reception was STILL open when I arrived right at 2100. By the time I had parked, unloaded, and had a walk around, they were only just closing up. I had no other dealings with the staff, but not pleased. The actual hostel itself appears to be split - despite appearing to be several floors with a rooftop area, I only had access to the basement level which only had a couple windows looking out onto the back area behind the buildings. Apparently the other floors are actually being used by WINZ... and despite looking like a hostel (albeit a bit run down), it does not feel like a hostel but rather a halfway house. Because I was kept to only the basement areas, I didn't have any interactions other than outside... but then you also feel like you're just being shoved down into the basement which isn't very receptive either. There is parking - but limited spots that fill up quickly (especially by those living there. Of the couple cars I saw coming and going, NONE of the passengers entered the basement hostel area). The four bed dorm only had a single outlet - crammed into a spot that only works for one of the dorm beds.

    As a hostel, it matched my expectations - a cheap bed in a dorm, kitchen and bathroom facilities, and a place to park my car. The bathroom is mixed with single toilet stalls and single shower stalls - it actually is a decent layout to accomodate a morning rush.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2021

    7.0
    Good
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not enough socket outlets in the room

    For a backpackers it was surprisingly quiet and peaceful and I had good parking for my car

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2021

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the only reason I did not give top marks is, because: I would have preferred to share a room with a backpacker and not a long term resident.

    Location is great, you could have a good walk around town. Price wise is another bonus very reasonable prices for accommodation and the good Wi-Fi is good. Also, the staff are friendly and nice.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2021

    6.0
    worthwhile
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    decor wasn't my taste everyone kept themselves to themselves and weren't keen to chat

    good central location close to good eateries great value free parking comfortable bed clean amenities free wifi

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2021

    7.0
    Suited my situation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    can't tell

    It was ok I only stayed for a few hours so I didn't experience much. I cam at 10.30pm and left at 3.30am to drive back to Auckland.

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2021

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location and parking. Also the noise of the upstairs and other residencies.

    We enjoyed the comfort of the room we stayed in.

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2021

    6.0
    Pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room doesn't have any window, very stinky and dam. It is different from the photos. I felt like I am locked in a cell. Many long-term staying guests are there.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2021

    8.0
    Overall it was a good stay just the bed was a bit too small for 2 people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I thought the bed was to small for two people and the tv kept glitching out

    It was central to the city it was a overall good stay

    Stayed in March 2021

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2021

    8.0
    Satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking was at a premium. Had to park on the road overnight and would have needed to pay for daytime parking. This was not needed as we only stayed one night.

    Stayed in February 2021

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2021

    8.0
    The staff were friendly, helpful and happy. The place was a lil dated but nice and clean. 😁
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place could do with a sproose, some new duvets and trendy painting in rooms would definitely make it more modern. Maybe a armchair in room also.

    The location was awesome, close to everything u need.

    Stayed in January 2021

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2021

    6.0
    Pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All was too easy

    Not enough parking

    Stayed in February 2021

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2021

    8.0
    Overnight stay
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only 1 shower & toilet on bottom floor.

    Spacious room, fan, fridge, big, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2021

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2021

    8.0
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a tiny bit of noise from other guests after the "quiet" hours, but this was a girl talking loudly on her phone outside my room. Nothing to do with the backpackers, I have no faults to say about them :)

    I booked a four bedroom female dorm and nobody else showed up! That was pretty awesome to have a whole room to myself. The wifi was also really fast, the atmosphere felt safe and the staff were extremely welcoming. Good customer service goes a long way and they genuinely care for their guests :)

    Stayed in January 2021

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2021

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location and I could secure my bike in locked room from baddies

    Stayed in January 2021

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2021

    7.0
    First night I was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Moved to a bigger room and TV remote wouldn't work, and it was like I we were getting the blame. So we had to watch nothing. That's what I didn't like, should've got some reimbursement or something.

    Location is handy to town,

    Stayed in January 2021

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2020

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Love the kitchen...🥰🥰🥰 clean and tidy...good facilities 👍👍👍staffs are very accomodating...

    Stayed in December 2020

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2020

    7.0
    Overall, happy with the service and room but bigger bed would have been nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked a Queen bed

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in December 2020

Showing 1 - 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: