1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. New Zealand hotel reviews
  3. Waikato hotel reviews
  4. Hamilton hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Backpackers Central Hamilton

Reviews of Backpackers Central Hamilton

846 Victoria Street, Hamilton Central Business District, 3204 Hamilton, New Zealand

#24 of 28 hotels in Hamilton

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 928 hostel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.0

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2022

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing that I can think of

    Comfortable & inviting rooms

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2022

    8.0
    Above average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The door did not work properly

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2022

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hanger in the bathroom.

    Location. With parking area.

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2022

    6.0
    Comfortable and handy to town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No outside window

    Clean private room

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2022

    7.0
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We all enjoyed our stay. Everything was as it said in the ad. The staff were friendly, The room was sound proof and the people were friendly. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2022

    7.0
    A convenient and reasonably priced bed in the city.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked a window in the room

    Easy check in

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2022

    6.0
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Music playing early morning , and arrogant people,staying there probably on benefits,

    Location and parking was good

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2022

    7.0
    BACKPACKERS CENTRAL HAMILTON
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    ROOM smells and creaking beds

    Location, free Parking, WiFi, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2022

    8.0
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think the property is a good place to stay.

    Great location. Stayed here a couple of times now. Friendly staff. Rooms are fine and clean. Definitely would recommend.

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2022

    8.0
    Back home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I always stay here when in Hamilton, a home away from home

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2022

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast not provided, which I knew beforehand. Location was nice and close to where my event was.

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2022

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfy bed, met some Kool people Handy location, safe parking,

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2022

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very clean am impressed and good value for money

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2022

    7.0
    cheap and easy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the shared area smelt bad, the toilet door in our room was not working properly

    good value, close to seddon park and town. could accommodate 5 people in one room. they also were able to change our room at short notice as we had and extra person join us. so a 4 bed room to a 5 bed room

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2022

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice little room. And loved the shower.

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2022

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable rooms, basic but had everything you needed. The kitchen and bathrooms were clean and tidy.

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2022

    6.0
    convenient!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    my only complaint really was that the room could have been cleaner but it was not that bad really! just swept in the corners of the bath room. there was dust and other peoples hair etc in there.

    Was an easy place to stay nice and central and the late check in was really simple!!

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2022

    8.0
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    none

    good

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2022

    7.0
    Thanks for the experience...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No bad comments

    Thanks for breakfast pretty ideal... will most definitely tell friends and family

    Stayed in February 2022

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2022

    7.0
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You can hear footsteps above you, and banging on the wall next to you 😅

    Good staff and nice residents. Very clean and tidy room.

    Stayed in February 2022

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2022

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Centrally located

    Stayed in February 2022

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2022

    6.0
    It was a nice holiday before starting a new potential job next week .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I enjoyed a traveling conversation with my room mate on both nights .

    Stayed in February 2022

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2022

    7.0
    Sound splash
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Shared Facility
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately I left my pillow in room and which was thrown out

    It was clean and tidy With the bonus of air conditioning

    Stayed in January 2022

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2022

    8.0
    it was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    cleaning in room. no seated outdoor smoking are

    location price and staff

    Stayed in January 2022

Showing 1 - 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: