Stays Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Attractions Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. New Zealand hotel reviews
  3. Waikato hotel reviews
  4. Hamilton hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Backpackers Central Hamilton

Reviews of Backpackers Central Hamilton

846 Victoria Street, Hamilton Central Business District, 3204 Hamilton, New Zealand

#39 of 44 hotels in Hamilton

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1043 hostel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.0

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.0

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2020

    7.0
    okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    party people

    Yes

    Stayed in July 2020

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2020

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dorm room, kitchen and lounge are in the basement. So no windows! Bedding could have been cleaner.

    Free parking spots behind hostel.

    Stayed in July 2020

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2020

    7.0
    Good hostel for a couple nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit of a walk into town. Bathrooms are dark and not particularly clean. Could do with an upgrade. But not too bad

    Comfy bed, spacious room. Nice staff

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2020

    8.0
    basic room for a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    we couldn't open the window

    basic twin ensuite room for a good price big kitchen and living room free brakfast

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2020

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No fans in the bathroom so after two showers it was like a sauna.

    Location was great. Staff really nice. Room as described and nice for a one night stay.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2020

    7.0
    cool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all good

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2020

    8.0
    No, haha. See above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not like anything. Happy with all we encountered, so once again, thanks very much. We will use your accommodation again in the years to come, running the Kirikiriroa Marathon. Many thanks again. Take care. Rob and Dan ter Braak

    We left very early in the morning to run the Hamilton Marathon, so did not use much. Just had a cup of coffee, whcih was lovely. Did not use the shower, had a shower at home after the Marathon :-D. Thanks very much

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2020

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Male Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was cheap. And the location was fabulous. Pak'N Save nearby.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2020

    8.0
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2020

    8.0
    Great for short inexpensive stay in Hamilton
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sofas bit old & lumpy

    Location & free breakfast

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2020

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were lovely room was clean

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: February 29, 2020

    8.0
    Suitable hostel for couple of nights in central Hamilton
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Guests eating hot smelly food in room - notices to not eat hot food in room would be great. Instructions on operating air conditioning would have been very helpful

    Free breakfast including pancakes. Only 10mins walk from Hamilton Transport Centre

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2020

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked the single room with toilet and sink, which was excellent. Very quiet room, good privacy.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2020

    8.3
    Rugby
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s in a good location for the rugby staff are nice and helpful

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2020

    7.0
    Was good, would stay there again. Check in/out was seamless
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no soap or any basic toiletries supplied which I would have expected for the price. I had to walk down the hall and carry back liquid soap in my hands.

    The room was exactly as described.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2020

    6.0
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    TV in the room would play up and couldnt watch anything. No windows at all in the room. Only supply a fan which wouldn't cool the room down

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2020

    6.0
    request a room with window when book.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a single suite with private bathroom. Room has no window, very poor ventilation, very stuffy. The ventilator in the bathroom is not working. Even though a fan is provided but the poor air ventilation makes the whole stay uncomfortable, hard to breath at night. After shower, the whole room is humid & stuffy.

    Overall clean & friendly staff, very good wifi!

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2020

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kitchen wasn't the best people need to clean up after themselves more but not that bad.

    I liked the bed and quietness and friendly people.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2020

    8.0
    Quick and easy, lovely staff. Great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Facility
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room had no windows, but there isn’t much you can do about that haha

    Awesome! Didn’t take advantage of the breakfast but the stay was good nevertheless. If the company could be more clear about where we are able to park that would be wicked. I checked the box for parking but when we arrived one was reserved and I wasn’t sure if it was for us.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2020

    6.0
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Facility
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check-In was quite simple and the guy showed us around,which was good. Later on there was another guy sitting at reception and we asked for a shuttlebus to the glowworms. He wasn't really helpful and seemed to be annoyed of us. So we did not book it with him then. The prices on there website are not correct - please fix this! Kitchen wasn't clean all the time. One day the floor was super sticky and the stoove was just dirty (so was the fridge). Another day were used glases and dishes in the sink.

    The 2 bed-dorm was tiny but alright. The beds were comfy and the wifi was working all the time. The location itself is fine, just a few minutes away from Pak'n'Save. The breakfast was pretty basic,but alright (they even offered pancakes!) So for a couple of nights it's alright!

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2020

    7.0
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Shared Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very warm in the room.

    Comfortable bed. Room with fan and fridge. Good WIFI. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2020

    6.0
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room I was in had no window and the air-conditioning didn't work. The room got very hot and stuffy.

    The staff were nice and the overall place was good. Free breakfast in the morning was a nice touch.

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2020

    6.0
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not having a window and the feel of sleeping in a dungeon was not very appealing to me. Total darkness however certainly helped me sleep well on the worst matress ever (which is true for all backpacking places). Also the toilets and showers are shared by everyone so keep this in mind when it's full house. Towels can be hired for few bucks.

    Breakfast included and very generous so big thumbs up! Wifi was also good. Location was not bad. Rooms, bathrooms and kitchen were clean and tidy and despite some rooms not having windows, the air conditioning does a good job at keeping the place cool. Staff were nice and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2020

    6.3
    Pleasant
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Toilet and Basin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had to call 4 times just to get my late check in instructions. Also, not much clear on the instructions as well. Tried to call and I understand that it was 3am but no one picked up so that one I understand.

    All rooms are accessed by key card.

    Stayed in February 2020

Showing 1 - 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: