Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Base Wanaka 2 stars

Level 1, 73 Brownston Street, 9381 Wanaka, New Zealand

#26 of 27 hotels in Wanaka

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1434 hostel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Paid WiFi

    4.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Room was clean and close to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers were broken so only cold water, Wi-Fi was quite weak, kitchen was very dirty and half the laundry facilities were broken. Also it's above a bar and there was loud music and shouting until at least 1am.

    Room was clean and close to town. Provides breakfast which is a nice touch and also provide earplugs (Obv cos of the bar) so that's something.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice staff, clean bathrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud music at the reception so you couldn’t understand a word, kitchen way to small, too many beds in too small rooms. Wifi only from 7am to 7 pm, but even if there is wifi, it’s so slow.

    Nice staff, clean bathrooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay, central location to explore Wanaka and surrounds. Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Central location to explore Wanaka, excellent place to stay for a ski trip/holiday. Bed was comfortable, although the room was small it was clean, cosy and enjoyable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.8
    WiFi is not good, they don’t clean and tidy the beds the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is not good, they don’t clean and tidy the beds the same day that the people leave them, when I got there in the afternoon 4 of the 8 beds in my room were free but with dirty sheets and untidy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.8
    Reasonable price but not the best value for money compared to others in NZ
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smell in room and rest of hotel. Walls not very soundproof and doors could not be shut quietly. Cleanliness of kitchen and dining area was sub-par (no dish washing detergent for the two days we were there..)

    Good location close to restaurants and bars. Room was okay size with ensuite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    4.6
    The location just next to Supermarket (New World)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very dirty, some rubbish on the floor and dirty carpet. It feels like they did not get clean for a week or so.

    The location just next to Supermarket (New World)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Staff was really nice, the hostel was not fully booked so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets wasn’t the clean, but was ok!

    Staff was really nice, the hostel was not fully booked so they upgrade our room for free. Location was amazing and awesome valeu for money! I will come back for sure!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    It was worth the penny!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More effort in maintaining cleanliness would be much appreciated, especially in the bathroom and toilet. Otherwise it was still okay.

    The room was warm enough to shield me from the winter cold. I was lucky I was the only one in the room that time hence I was able to experience utmost comfort and peace. Definitely worth staying!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.0
    Came in for check in at night after a long travel and rainy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Came in for check in at night after a long travel and rainy night then met with an unpleasant greeting.. Oh first of I stood there without acknowledgement for a good few minutes until receptionist finished talking with another person. Would've understood if it was something serious but based from what I heard it was just a chitchat. After which was just greeted with an annoyed face. Plain Rude.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were super hot. It was a very uncomfortable heat. We asked staff and they told us the heater couldn't be turned off.

    Location was really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen can be a little messy when there are too many users. Might require some constant cleaning to maintain the cleanliness of kitchen especially in the morning.

    Strategic location. Clean room. Friendly staff. Quick and easy check in / out process.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    4.2
    Location, close to supermarket and the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First come last served. Staff at the counter asked for my ID proof during my check-in, I get back after taking my driver licence from my car but was put at the end of the long queue which is more than 50 people ahead. The staff offered no assistance even I asked twice, I have no choice but to carry all my luggage and get back to check-in two hours later. The kitchen and dinning area is too small for such size of motel, and lack of utensils. There was a watch guy doing nothing in the dining area but instructing people to clean and dry the dishes after used.

    Location, close to supermarket and the beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    Was the only available hostel for my time there and Kiwi and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Base is really budget, WIFI off after 7pm, the kitchen was the smallest I've ever seen and the hostel was quite big. Cooking at certain times was impossible, the whole hostel was heated so much that the floors where impossible to stay in, bathrooms ok but clean, there is Mint Bar in the hostel which had at our last night (3nights) a drum and base event ($30 entry fee) and kept us straight in bed till 2.30, options of free earplugs though but still extremely annoying. No areas to meet people other than the reception.

    Was the only available hostel for my time there and Kiwi and stray guaranted accomodamtion, every bed had individual lighting and ply, TV room seemed nice, balconybof kitchen was nice, underbed lockers in rooms, right next to New World, location very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.8
    Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen facilities are totally inadequate for the number of people using it. Counted 4 coffee mugs! Outdoor areas littered with buts as there are no bins. Only found out it's "dry" when checking in so no wine with dinner if you could find space to cook.

    Central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Good, we'd come back again.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were very uncomfortable. Some guests were noisy moving about with luggage and talking loudly, but the majority were quiet and courteous.

    Very convenient place to stay making it easy to walk around town. Room had everything we needed. Staff efficient and friendly, knowledgeable about the area. Thermostat on radiator worked so we could turn down the heating. Why did the heating come on again as we were booking out; surely it would save money if you only heated the rooms when guests were booked in!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smallish toilet/shower. Better tha no toilet though

    Prime location. Ontop of a nightclub, they supplied earplugs and gave a heads up about the club. Very convenient location, center of the town. No noise complaints.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.1
    The bathrooms are very clean, internet is running from 7.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price range is the same as many other places, but because the place is so big and not really cozy, you feel you are paying more than you should, but I still liked the place overall. Reduce the squeaky noise of doors and bed bunks.

    The bathrooms are very clean, internet is running from 7.00 am to 7.00pm. My dorm was a quiet dorm for 6 people far from the club, the only thing that woke us up was actually the noise of the bed bunks and the noise of door - both were squeaky! Big locker under the bed. Plugs and lights available for each bed too. The staff was nice. The kitchen is big but may be too small when it's rush hour, but no particular complaints here. The score on booking does not truly reflect the place, it is an ok place with again clean rooms and bathrooms :)!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    3.8
    the worst we have ever had!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff werent helpful. - to hot couldnt turn heater down asked for night staff to come and have a look and they said they would never showed up! Had to open windows then had a lot of noise from traffic. NO SLEEP. cancelled second nights booking and no refund was given. VERY POOR

    nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    3.8
    Worst place I have ever stayed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roach in the shower, the doors were broken, I had to wait behind 30 people checking in after a bus dropped them off. The oven knobs were broken and no room in refrigerator

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    All what I needed 😍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    I had a very good time there. It's a Base hostel I know, but a good one. You will defo appreciate the terrasse in the kitchen with the view over the Wanaka's lake. The location is great, the supermarket is next door, the bus stop as well, right in the middle of the town. My room was perfect. I know there was no hair dryer... but well I don't need one. No seriously, great view, clean shower and WCs, TV, heating system ON, and the kettle, tea bags and coffee in the room was a bonus. Thank you 🤗

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    4.6
    Needs a very good clean!! And don't forget your earplugs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    DIRTY! There was an apple core and a pair of socks under my bed that looked to have been there a while. The kitchen was absolutely packed with people making it very hard to cook a meal and find somewhere to sit. Showers were so dirty, hair everywhere. No hand soap in bathroom. I didn't find a female only bathroom but there was a male only one? 8 bed shared dorm ... absolutely stunk!! The noise from the bar was ridiculous - could be heard in our room 2 floors up! Definately a "party hostel", even one of the staff members (I assume - he didn't introduce himself?!) came into the room one night to give us drinks vouchers. Won't be staying at another Base hostel again.

    Good location close to lake and village. Cheapest accommodation we could find at short notice. Free WiFi in reception during the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.1
    Great room - but comes at a price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen was dirty and overcrowded. Even at 9pm people were fighting for a stove.

    Great room - but comes at a price. Had no other options available when booking for Wanaka.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    4.2
    Staff was friendly and helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed linen and the towels were not clean we found hair everywhere in the room - hygiene standard failed us Also very noisy during the night people were talking loud and laughing in the corridors for hours There was no free wifi you had to pay

    Staff was friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.3
    It was a warm place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I checked into the room right at checkin time and the bin was overflowing with female hygiene products... It wasn’t empire at all.

    It was a warm place to stay...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Room was really clean and there was even free things in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was bad. Kitchen was a way too small and pretty dirty all the time. Bad facilities too. You have to pay for wifi.

    Room was really clean and there was even free things in the bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I consider this backpacker runs like clockwork ! We spent one night in dormitory with 8beds (it’s our choice) but we don’t have place to put our backpacks aside and we can’t move ! For the second night we spent in a other room of six beds and our roommates cooked in the bedroom some vegetables and rice during the night ! And there are a lot of noises ! Seriously we spend a lot of time in different backpackers and it’s the first time we see this conditions.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    A wonderful surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little noisy from what I think was a nightclub close by

    Only hostel left in Wanaka with availability so didn't have high expectations. Staff were delightful and room was very comfortable including a tv, hairdryer and shampoo/conditioner

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.0
    I won’t go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A noisy guy of the staff was living in our dorm and went back every day in the middle of the night talking loudly alone and waking up everyone...the water jet of the shower is really slow and even disappear if someone else takes his shower at the same time. There is bar/club downstairs open every day till midnight 30 and you can enjoy the music from your bed as if you were in the club...

    Electric plug for each bed, the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Value for money stay - clean hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillow wasn't great very hard, but otherwise had a good nights sleep. Note that they do have a bar underneith the hostel that played pretty loud music until 12:30am (on a Wednesday night). I can sleep through anything, but this could definitely annoy some people.

    Basic but comfortable, good value for money and located right in the middle of Wanaka, short walk to the lake. Bathroom attached to the girls only dorm was small but clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.0
    Not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was small and noisy. Not much sleep had between people banging doors across the hall and next door until around 2-3am then a constant fan noise started around 5-6am that none of us could sleep through. Will not be stàying here again.

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    This was the only accomodation availabe for under $150.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, little room for a suitcase and nowhere to hang anything. The heat could not be turned off so we slept with the window wide open. Our room was on the main traffic route so was noisy early in the morning. Kitchen facilities were fine but could have been cleaner. We stayed in much nicer places for the same money.

    Bed was comfortable. We had a private room with a king bed although we looked for twin beds. Bathroom was spotless. Staff were very friendly and gave great recommendations for eatting out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolute joke that for $39 per night WiFi only works from 7am to 7pm. And furthmore only works in the reception and is of such poor quality. Big enough chain of hostels to have better working WiFi. ovens which is such a pity considering the amount of guests thay are there. Definitely wouldn't stay in Base hostels again. Also noise from the licenced bar nightly meaning a very poor night's sleep.

    Location was good and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    2.9
    I would never stop here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we paid extra for a private room, the bathroom wasn't clean, the window was right by the kitchen outdoor area where everyone was smoking and our room was smokey and smelt of cigarettes. The blanket on the bed looked as if it never gets washed as it had makeup and drink stains across it and was so worn and old. At check in the guy was eating his dinner and more bothered about that than checking us in. We have kiwi licences and bank and he tried to charge us the extra to use an international card. A girl came over to get his number and he walked to the end of the bar to do that and left us standing there. I know this is a hostel but it's still not cheap, you still expect good service and a clean room. Also to be warned if your in a smokey room with noise from the bar. The hostel is old and tired and over priced for what it is.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    It was a bed for the night! Convenient and quite comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise at night from people walking past our room chatting or laughing . The crowded kitchen facilities.

    It was close to the restaurants and the lakeshore of Wanaka.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    4.6
    Not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen was very dirty and there were no spoons at all. I booked a 4dorm and I arrived the first, the shower had hairs which indicated they didn't clean it. There is only free wifi at reception from 7am to 7pm and it is super slow. Would not recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    The location is excellent with plenty of great food choices...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in our room didn't seal so a breeze was coming through all night. Fortunately the bedding was warm so it wasn't a real problem. The staff member on duty at check-in could have been a little friendlier (and need not have "dropped the f-bomb" in front of my 84 year old mother when talking about his bad day) however as Base Wanaka is a youth hostel and not a hotel, we didn't take offence.

    The location is excellent with plenty of great food choices nearby - restaurants, supermarket and terrific food trucks (particularly the Crepe caravan).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    4.6
    A bed to sleep in for the night when you're in a pinch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen was underequipped and dirty. There were no matchs to light the gas burners. Bathrooms and showers were dirty. Staff was marginally helpful. Free wifi and breakfast were not provided as advertised.

    Posters on the walls in the lounge were good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location, very close to the lakefront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could get very crowded in the kitchen

    Great location, very close to the lakefront. We booked the triple room, and the room was very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.3
    Not too bad for a back packer place, and the private bathroom was quite nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The public kitchen was almost just next door, and its balcony just outside my window so the curtain has to be shut all the time (what a waste of view) and the noise from other visitors (drinking and talking) was quite loud and go through late night.

    The city view from window was quite nice and the private bathroom was very clean or say nearly new.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.3
    Basic rooms - no wifi after 7pm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Advertised free wifi but it is only available in the reception area and is switched off at 7pm which was very inconvenient for me as I needed to upload routes to my garmin

    The room was as expected for a backpackers

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    4.6
    Personal was not very helpful - couldn‘t answer any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal was not very helpful - couldn‘t answer any questions, always chatting with other people while you are talking to them. The whole bed was full of a lot long black hairs. Even the new bed linen. I asked for the housekeeping, nothing happened. After my second complaint they changed it. the worst thing: something like this can happen but no one apologized for it. So I assume that it happens all the time or they are not very interested in their guests because they know that they will even never come back. If possible, choose another hostel, but don‘t miss Wanaka!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    During the evening, the music was so loud which i assume from people coming out from pub or other backpackers who stayed at the hostel. It lasted until about 1am or so.

    Good location. About 5 mins walk from Lake Wanaka. Close to restaurants and a big supermarket at the back of the hostel. Ok size room and beds. Decent size bathroom. We stayed in a private bedroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    Good location, rooms small and stay affected by unnecessary changing of rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had one night booked with kiwi experience and an extra one pre-booked ourselves however they made us check out in the morning and check back in again in the evening and move rooms- this was inconvenient for everyone and created Base with more laundry and paperwork-would have been easier for all and improved our experience of the hostel if we could have stayed in the same room for both nights. 24/7 Free WiFi should be standard in all hostels at this stage-time limits are unnecessary as is charging extra after 7pm for use.

    Good location, clean and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.5
    Well located, nice staff, room clean and functional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy but it’s a hostel so you get that I guess. Had to evacuate at 10pm also due to the fire alarm (someone smoking inside) “free” wifi doesn’t work but of course there’s the option to pay $4 for some that does...

    Well located, nice staff, room clean and functional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.3
    Unlike other backpacker places we felt a 'little old'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Blind did not work properly. No air-con so very hot, by road so unable to open window as very noisy. Decor around the building.

    Comfy bed. Location. Good shower. Cleanliness of communal cooking facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.1
    The people downstairs in the bar were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small so we moved the beds together and there was rubbish under the beds .

    The people downstairs in the bar were very friendly. Had a nice view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Close to everything, good hostel vibe and love the bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes noisy and the kitchen was always dirty. But that’s just a standard hostel.

    Close to everything, good hostel vibe and love the bar underneath it always stuff on every night!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.8
    Not the best stay but decent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free WiFi from 7 to 7 only! Feel like I’m 15 and in my parents’ again Tiny room for 8 beds, ridiculous Almost fall in the kitchen because there was lots of water on the floor

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    3.8
    Loud, overcrowded and dirty with no internet or parking. Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and building were run down and dirty. Masses of backpackers, Long lines at check in/out. Free internet only between 7am and 7pm but did not function. Common kitchen area was disgusting and too small for amount of guests. Due to masses of guests it was very loud at night. No parking anywhere nearby. No outdoor seating. Only stayed one night and could not wait to leave

    Nothing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    2.9
    Not coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a pub/club under the accomodation. Loud till wee hours of the night. Dirty. Shower was overflowing out to the toilet floor. I went to grab something under my bed and the floor under it looked like it has not been vacuumed for months. The kitchen was a nightmare. So filthy. And we were the first ones up to cook that morning. I didnt even bother boiling water on the kettles.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.1
    Great location, average stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a bar downstairs so that could be a positive or negative for you. It can be quite busy and the kitchen can be crowded.

    Good size double room and bathroom. Location is great, next to the supermarket and close to everything you need.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.9
    Good value for backpacker traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, literally next to supermarket, near the lake and restaurants&shops. The staff was friendly and helpful. Individual charging points for each bed were super good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.0
    We arrived following the arrival of a bus of back packers,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived following the arrival of a bus of back packers, the que was down the stairs and it took over 30 minutes to get to the check in desk to discover they didn't have the room that was booked via booking.com (I had confirmation number & pin)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    4.6
    I would never consider staying in a Base hostel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The nightclub should not be allowed to run music at that level until 3am. We paid extra for our room with a private bathroom. We did not stay at the hostel to listen to unbearably loud music the entire length of our stay.

    Whilst our room was very small (it fit the beds and nothing else), we did have our own bathroom and it appeared to be clean. The location is the only positive thing about this hostel, but there are plenty of other places to stay, all in close proximity to the bay. However, you need to book very early as there was nothing else available when we planned our trip.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location within the city. Clean and comfortable room, this a backpacker hotel, we had a private room with bathroom room that was OK for a night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    5.8
    Pretty poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was basic. But considering the price it was ok. The kitchen facilities were small and filthy, there were often not enough bowls in the morning with it being so busy people would shove past you moving around the the kitchen. The staff need some serious customer service training. On arrival we were told free wifi was available between 7-7 but you could purchase wifi for 4 dollars to have in your room. We did this however the wifi was extremely poor and hardly worked. You had to sit half way down the corridor to get any signal at all. Not a service you expect to pay for. On check out we mentioned it to the staff that you shouldn't really be charging for wifi if the service is that poor. The response was well no one else has complained. Then another colleague abruptly and rudely said just give them a refund why didn't you tell reception straight away. Found the hole experience pretty negative compared to our other hostel stays and won't be staying with them again.

    location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice comfortable stay. Close to everything
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Noisy on the New world carpark side due to party goers finishing up in the carpark when Mint pub closed, but Basecamp had supplied ear plugs for this so all good

    Everything was as I expected from a back packer accommodation. Additionally, Basecamp was close to everything, and reasonably comfortable. Staff were friendly and nothing was too difficult

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    5.4
    It was our first try with our baby. Good experience but little bit uncomfortable with a baby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small for our family with an active boy. Facitilies in kitchen were not pleasant. Our room was too close to next building and during the night it was noisy.

    Close to the lake and city center/markets.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    3.8
    Wouldn’t stay again, rundown and dirty is only some of the things wrong
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down, kitchen was a Joke, microwave, hobs, toasters where broken, and serious shortage of cooking utensils Bathrooms where dirty, didn’t feel clean even after a shower Rooms did not have aircon, was a sweat box Check in process was laughable, way to many people trying to check in with only 2 staff working!

    Location that’s it

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.1
    It was lively and close to amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was far too cramped and airless! 3 beds was one too many!!! There was less than 6 inches between the beds! No aircon! No towel rail nor hooks in bathroom. Noise from revellers until small hours - despite provision of ear plugs, which was an amusing touch. Only 1 of 4 washers & dryers worked but we did manage to do our laundry, despite this.

    It was lively and close to amenities. Most of the Base was spacious enough. The atmosphere in general was very relaxed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    3.3
    Terrible experience with very small rooms and VERY dirty beddings and furniture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are extremely small, we could barely move around. When the bathroom door was opened, it would hit the bed - this was the size of the room. The entire room and facility/beddings/furniture are very dirty and dusted. The whole family were bite by some kind of insects in the hotel which lasted days. It was a terrible experience for the entire family which affected all our New Zealand travel experience unfortunately.

    The location was alright.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small. There was no table, for example. No air-conditioner in the room itself which was very bad during the hottest days of the summer (35 C).

    Location was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.8
    Good accommodation for couple of nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfortable but sliding from side to side a lot. There was a single fork and couple of spoons in the common kitchen for the whole hostel.

    Our room was clean. Stuff was very helpful. Laundry worked well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    3.8
    Terrible and never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were stained and needed to be changed. Sheets looked like they had been used and not changed and were stained. When someone came to change the sheets the next one was dirty as well. Toiletries hadn't been restocked from previous guests. Room wasn't serviced. Although we had some money refunded we left this place feeling dirty. Room was extremely hot and stuffy. We know it is a backpackers but that is no excuse for dirty rooms

    Location was the only good thing about this accommodation

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a cost for in-room WiFi but only cost $4 for 24 hours

    Great location near the town center and beach. The women’s only dorm includes a toilet, shower and sink which was nice to have. Beds were comfy and it wasn’t a crazy party as I had expected it would be. I would stay here again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.3
    It is a place for young people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor value for the money for the night I paid $49 for the same 6 bed room. Rate increased just because it was Saturday. Paid $4 NZD for wifi but the internet speed was too slow, even though I could only log one device per use. The sound of a bar nearby goes all night long. There should be screen on the window to avoid flies and insects getting into the room.

    shower in the room. Good value for the money for the night I paid $35 for a 6 bed room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    5.0
    Parts are dirty and it is loud. Difficult to cook in Kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen and Toilet dirty. Not enough stuff in kitchen to Cook. Beds and doors are very loud.

    Good thing: only two people in 6-bed room. Near to City. "Mint Bar" in the basement.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    5.4
    The location is really good but no parking place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed at triple room. The room was very small with no view. The bed is small and not very comfortable.

    The location is really good but no parking place. needed to park in the street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    3.3
    Not as described, very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of hygiene, staff didn’t have a clue, hairs in shower base and bed sheets on arrival, kitchen a mess and a reasonably thick covering of food waste under the worktops

    Location was very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.9
    Ample for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception. Music was so loud you could not hear what the Receptionist was saying. First impressions weren’t good but all good once we saw the room 🌻

    Shower room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    4.2
    Uncomfortable , lack of sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower base didn’t drain & your feet were in cm of grey water. Very hot & stuffy room, no cooling & no screens on windows so at mercy of biting insects. Kitchen across hallway was cleaned early hours so very noisy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice enough for one night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedding (top blanket) was a bit old - would suggest an update to make the room more inviting and fresh.

    Good location, close to the town and a supermarket for supplies. A variety of room options - glad we were able to have a private room rather than shared. The bathroom was fairly nice and modern - didn't have that old dingy feeling that some hostels have...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't sufficiently cleaned, and was missing certain facilities that online it had stated it had. Room itself looked rundown and haggard. Shelf and tiles broken in bathroom. Stuffy room with little air flow.

    Central location, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    4.6
    Each bed had 2 plugs each.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place was too hot and the windows in our room didn't open fully. The room was too small and the cages under the bed were so awkwardly placed that no one could get in or out when we had to get stuff out from under the bed, which was a nightmare in the morning! There were many other little problems with this hostel but the main problem was the kitchen. It was filthy, small and not well equipped. I know the cleanliness is mainly down to the guests but it looked like it hadn't had a proper deep clean in months. We refused to cook there as we felt we would get ill from using it. It was a massive hostel but only enough cooking equipment for 3 people to cook at a time. We couldn't wait to leave.

    Each bed had 2 plugs each.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.1
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is too small comparing to the price and the usual size in New Zealand. Also you have to pay for internet after 7pm which is OK for us, but be noticed that concurrent user is one, so if you are using wifi with your phone, your wife's phone or your computer can not connect to internet.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: