Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Base Queenstown 3 stars

Shotover Street, 9348 Queenstown, New Zealand

#70 of 71 hotels in Queenstown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1562 hostel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.1

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    2.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    The location couldn’t be more spot on and the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you aren’t into partying until the late hours, it is really noisy.

    The location couldn’t be more spot on and the staff were really relaxed and friendly. Our room was really big and the beds were comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    3.8
    The bed, pillows were very lumpy and the blanket was dusty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed, pillows were very lumpy and the blanket was dusty. The hot water took a very long time to heat up and when it did it was only luke warm. The carpet was dirty, there were bits of crushed chip through it. The walls were thin and the amount of noise coming through from other rooms and clubs/pubs nearby kept us up.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Great staff, but loud and crowded
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom wasn’t cleaned the five nights I was there. Also, it was hard to air out the room so everything felt a little damp. The bar downstairs stays pretty loud late - I was on the third floor and could hear the base from the dj until at least 2am some nights.

    The staff here were super helpful and friendly. They can help you book rentals and trips, and when I met people in the bar downstairs they ended up being hostel staff. Beds were comfortable though.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    I definitely recommend this accommodation for anyone who wants to save money on transportation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are awesome and really willing to help you have a good stay. The location is PERFECT! Everything from the famous ferg burger, bars and cookie bar is within walking distance. Would definitely go back and stay here!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    2.5
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people who are working there don’t know there job, as we have booked 4 beds in 6 beds room, when we arrived there they couldn’t put us together so one of them suggests that they can put is in 8 beds room and they will refund us the the difference, but at the end they haven’t refund us anything and they were lying.

    The location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Staff is just amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is just amazing. Special thanks for the american guy with dark long hair from california (sorry honey I forgot your name). On the check in I was stressed and thought about going to another hotel. This guy convinced me to stay and did the impossible to make me happy and find me a nice room. Serious amazing conflict management skills, if there is hope for world peace is this guy. Best employee ever. When I open my business I am hiring him as a manager. Another guy was also very informative about the city, I think was Jack his name.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    Will not be staying again. Plenty of other backpackers in Queenstown
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had an 8 person dorm and 2 of our friends ended up not having a place to stay becausr they weren't allowed in. Had talked to one staff member earlier in the day and given the names of the boys staying and she had made a note of it and assured me they were open all night for check in and it wouldn't be a problem but when they got there that night another staff member wouldn't let them stay although they already had their keys. Not impressed and will not stay again!

    The price is good and location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Base amaze
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need more interaction between staff and guests but it was really good. Also there should be stipulations that there is no parking at this location

    Close to everything. And the staff services

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.2
    Avoid! Pay a bit more and get a lot more in Queenstown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communal areas and bathroom were dirty, free “breakfast” was just toast and butter, with just 2 loaves of bread for the whole hostel! Expensive for what it is. Basic hostel. Worst hostel we’ve stayed in in NZ

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    A nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy at night as the room is just right above the bar but not a bit problem Should check the toilet as water keeps running down. We do fix but it breaks down again and again

    All the staff is so helpful and the room is extra comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice hostel, bad experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a private room for 2 with private bathroom, that means something. But at night, we were taking a bath and dressing up and somebody knocked the door and opened it, once it was opened ask if could come in and we said "NO!" and she kept opening the door, we ran to close it and she kept pushing. Then she just left and walked away. We never knew if she was staff, stranger or who knows. This was very bad from the hostel.

    Really comfortable bed and sized room. Basic bathroom. Excelent location and view. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.4
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is 7am-7pm only reception area and connection is bed. The room window is broken and no hitting system. The room is Colder than robby(Room 220) Toilet and shower places are not clean Weekend night is noisy 2French girls bring wiskey and drink in the room , singing yelling

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    Looking forward to meeting more and great outgoing friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers were really tight squeeze to fit in level 3 room 315. Was expecting a good real breakfast at least cereal but all goods toast and coffee/tea is ok I guess! ...not that I had any

    Great room mates they weren't noisey or nosie . Good people to chat with.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Awesome Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact there was no iron or ironing board in the room amd the fridge froze my food and drink even on a low setting

    Great staff great views and great location. Jack the activities manager was awesome at organising trips tours and activities. Really added value to my stay in queenstown. Would recommend to anyone travelling in a group or solo and want value for money in a location close to everything queenstown 😁

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Noise levels were not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise

    Noise levels were not good. Also had a private room with a smoke stack beside window which didn't cause smoke in the room but the smell gave me a headache after 6 hours of it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could be more tidier than now and didnt have enough hot water in the early morning(early means 5-6 after 8 was really nice)

    Room was nicer than what i expected,nice clean sheet and a decent size room :) A lot of people mentions its quite loud and noisy but it wasnt that bad didnt bother me that much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.1
    Great facility and location but not for you if you are looking for something more quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is ridiculous with just white bread to toast and one kind of jam. Moreover, if you leave the window open you might have a lot of noise coming from the air ventilation engines outside.

    Location and privacy for the private rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.8
    Meh
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad WiFi even though you've paid for it, the bunk beds had wire mesh to keep the top mattress up, which resulted in your hair being caught in it a lot and half of the bathrooms had broken locks.

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    The young woman who checked me out was the only staff member...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Attitude of staff.

    The young woman who checked me out was the only staff member who was polite and engaging. Location very central. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Not quiet but not bad! Served it's purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bunk bed super squeaky and bottom bunk has very little room to sit. Also came into our room to go to sleep and there was a party going on at 10pm. Not party people then maybe check somewhere else.

    Big kitchen. Lots of toilets and showers which were all relatively clean. Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    the location for the stay is very good since it is at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities (i.e. kitchen are overcrowded) maybe because of many tourists here. The environment here is very noisy up till 10pm. The corridor is not that clean and we have to pay extra to have a private bathroom. If we have known earlier, we would have book other properties which have better value for money.

    the location for the stay is very good since it is at the center of the town where all the attractions are there. And the room design and cleanliness is quite okay for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, friendly staff. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed a bit of attention, loose towel rail, loose wardrobe door. Average wifi.

    Comfortable bed, roomy for a backpackers (we had an ensuite room), excellent staff and location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    Was an okay place. Kinda wish we stayed somewhere else though. Much more rundown than photos show
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was muchmore rundown than in the photos. And the double bed was two single beds put together which was not comfy. The mattress had stains down the side and the bathroom was pretty averagely cleaned...

    The location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Location was ideal and the kitchen was well equipped and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit loud at night but it's a budget party hostel, so ya get what you pay for.

    Location was ideal and the kitchen was well equipped and a good size! Staff were all very friendly !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.0
    The location was nice and central .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very uncomfortable . The room needs to be a lot more sound resistant for comfort sake The rule about no alcohol in the rooms was understandable as there is a bar down stairs but it did inconvenience me as i had purchased drink for my self and my guest and was forced to carry it back to the vehicle

    The location was nice and central . The staff where friendly , approachable and accommodating . The fact that the bar was just down stairs suited my guest very well and helped me to entertain her in her isolation .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.7
    Good for meeting other travellers and parties only, not good for facilities or noise levels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) You have to pay for internet...and it's not cheap either.... 2) You have to pay $20 deposit to borrow a hairdryer 3) my room had a bath but no bath plug to actually use it 4) There was only 1 poor guy on reception on a friday evening and I had to wait almost 40 minutes to reach the front of the line to borrow a hairdryer...Not his fault but they should have more people on reception to avoid long lines. 5) My shower was broken and the water not hot

    It is a really good location and the staff work very hard. My private room was quiet and very clean :) If you're a young traveller wanting to meet people to party with then this is for you. I am not in my teens so just wanted to sleep in my private room, but I saw there was a bar next door and lots of young people around, so I would say it's nice to meet people if thats what you are looking for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Not so great for choosy people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet wasn't working. Should be fixed fast, as there are many people, so we need to use it often.

    I liked that they gave free breakfast like bread and jams, which was a good service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.7
    bearable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bunk beds were very squeaky and slightest movement would make noise. The Wi-Fi policy means you have to pay for Wi-Fi after 7pm and it's slow and unsteady. Some of the staff were typical douche guys. 2 groups before (all girl) us received free beer tokens but we received nothing (all boys). The place attracts inconsiderate guests. 2 different couples deciding to get jiggy during the night in an 8 bed dorm. one couple person bringing there partner in both nights so the room had 9 instead of 8 which meant the smell got worse of body odour and smelly socks and leaving bags on floor despite lockers provided. going toilet in the night became an assault course.

    Located in the town centre and cheapest place I could find

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.4
    cheap but rather spend more to get better place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    there is a bar for party just under our room, was really noise whole night, didn't change our towel even we stay there for 4 nights!!!

    the bathroom is clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    the location is really perfect, and the most famous just...
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the shower is not warm enough, so if you wanna stay there in winter, ill say do not take a shower otherwise, youll feel cold after showering

    the location is really perfect, and the most famous just near from this hostel. it locates almost in the center of queenstown so it's easy to go anywhere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.8
    If I have choice, I don’t want to stay in this hostel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow was too thin, can’t sleep very well. My neck was hurt... There is no cold water tap in the showering room, only hot water tap, but the water was too hot... The light is not working in the showering room, it turned off automatically during shower... The reception was all day busy... The Wi-Fi is not working, brought me so much trouble... Even the phone in the reception was not working too, the contactee can’t hear my voice...

    Friendly staffs There is lift for big luggage

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.1
    Hostel for the youngest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy with other guests talking and laughing in front of the door all night, and we could hear the base/music from the nightclub. One of the bed had a separation in the middle and made it hard to sleep. Kitchen is crowded.

    Great location, lovely and helpful staff. Room and bathroom very clean, with great views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.1
    Only thing was the people kept the curtains closed in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only thing was the people kept the curtains closed in the and the windows which made the room quiet pongy body odour smell which was unpleasant to enter the room ion the morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.7
    Soft private bed amongst the action.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was $117 and the shower was not hot. It had a bath which I thought I might be able to boil the kettle for, but no bath plugs. Bed was a soft twin pushed together to form a queen and could get quite noisy in the hall in the wee hours re drunken hostel guests, but the latter was to be expected.

    I had a private room which had a window, a small fridge and a few channels of television. Location was excellent and staff were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    4.2
    Would definitely pay another $30 to stay in a nice hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I assumed paying $130 for a room would have similar service to a hotel. I didn't expect to make our own beds and not even get new linen and towels each day. The room was tidy, buy very basis with flimsy bunk beds. The TV didn't have Sky and the remainder of the building was pretty rough. There were no photos of the Base online. I actually thought I was booking for Nomads which I stayed at previously and remember being much nicer.

    Handy location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    It would be better to have more one-gender only room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access of free wifi, as well as the paid wifi

    It was not easy to connect the free wifi. I could not complete the payment of paid wifi, which was a little disappointing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.7
    Lovely location and good for younger, drinking folk
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's was the loudest and most crowded hostel we stayed of the 5 we visited on our NZ trek. It's full of younger, party-focused people. So if that's what you're doing on your trip - it would be fun. But I would have personally wanted a more quiet, relaxed vibe. The beds were fine (and the other ladies in the all-female room were super nice). But there were not enough outlets for each person to charge more than one device at a time. And the outlets were all at the front end of the room - none by each bed. And the "view" from the window was of an alley.

    The location was great. Right in the heart of Queenstown and not up a hill. Check-in and out processes were quick and simple. This hostel also offers virtual check-in thru the Tipi app. (You'd be directed to download if you book here. But it's actually not required.) The bathroom in our 8 person room was a welcome surprise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.0
    Beyond Base-ic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start? Because the hostel is right above the loco bar no matter what night of the week it is the dorm rooms shake...impossible to get a good nights sleep. The showers are always cold no matter what time of the day you use them and the kitchen is vile. The beds are also really uncomfortable and so low that you constantly scalp yourself on the "barbed wire" that holds the mattress up above when you sit down. Avoid like the plague (stay at Nomads or if you have the money K2 Adventure hostel)

    Staff were friendly and helpful and good central location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.7
    Just so so
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The club downstairs of the property is so crazy which makes small earthquake every night. No hot water in the shower room. No free Wi-Fi after 7 pm.

    It is in the town center and you can access to many stores in less than 10 mins on foot. For InterCity buses, only 15 mins on foot. For city buses service, only 5 mins on foot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.9
    Probably wouldn't stay there again. More suitable to younger people needing budget accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    PARKING.... maybe a clock radio in room, and a kettle cord that can reach the table that it sits on

    Good place for backpackers, for oldies like us would've preferred parking nearby, few more comforts. Parking nearby is horrendous makes it hard to unload luggage etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.3
    Central location, free toast at breakfast, good mattress.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud music from the bar below, small kitchen for quite a big hostel. WiFi is good but they turn it off at 7pm.

    Central location, free toast at breakfast, good mattress.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    4.2
    Location good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was freezing cold! When we asked about turning the heating on we were told this was controlled by head office so not possible. This was during a cold patch in which it snowed. When leaving I spoke to a staff member again about the cold room and they informed me the radiator should of come on at 8pm and if it wasn't working they portable heaters; it would of been nice to have know this 2days prior. The wifi was awful, I paid for it and it didn't work!

    Location good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Good, reasonably priced stay in a very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Twin room with en-suite. Clean and with amenities such as kettle/fridge provided. Good sized bathroom which was nice and clean. Generally the room was bigger than anticipated. Great location - very near good restaurants and bars. Even though our room was street-facing, we did not find it particularly noisy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.0
    Not a lot of good points unfortunately
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chained hostel with not personality. Too big and no charm... This means checking in was chaos, the beds are uncomfortable, they wobble and creek, plus the pillows are like paper. The internet shuts off at 7pm and common areas shut too early, leaving you with no where to eat past 10pm. It’s noisy and unpleasant so onr night my girlfriend and I had to book into a hotel to avoid this place. Expensive and staff were average because they are always so busy!

    Not a lot of good points unfortunately

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    Not what I had hoped for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 single beds pushed together to “make a double bed” was not what I expected when I booked a double bed. Also Room 104 should come with a warning that you will not get any sleep until the bar closes after midnight since the room is located directly above the bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    2.9
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check-in took us much more than an hour - only two staff members and a long waiting line with lots of frustration. All facilities were really used and worn down. Everything seemed dirty, cheaply established and poorly maintained. The TV room was a joke - three couches stuffed behind each other in a tiny room. The sink in our bathroom was blocked and the shower leaked.

    Free ear-plugs at check-in. We only stayed one night, had nice room-mates and left early in the morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    4.6
    Do not expect to sleep until after 12:30
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Club on ground floor meant that there was music until 12:30 on a Tuesday night. Staff kindly offered ear plugs but I couldn't sleep through the vibrations I could feel up on the second floor. Had to brush teeth in a basin coated with dried vomit.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.0
    Only the location and nothing else!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was not flushed/cleaned when we checked in. Bed was super uncomfortable. Room was smelly . If you plan to get the private ensuite room, spend another 30 bucks for a good hotel. I had to learn this the hard way .

    Only the location and nothing else!! Right opposite to fergburger!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.7
    Location was great, staff were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free wifi only available between 7am-7pm. After that you had to pay for it. In all other hostels I've stayed at it's free all the time. Showers were cold. I knew it was a young persons hostel so went armed with ear plugs and eye mask. Don't go if you aren't prepared for noise from the bar next door and people coming in late and loud. I didn't mind but others did and were annoyingly vocal about it, but what did they expect!?! Let the youngsters have fun!

    Location was great, staff were helpful. Good kitchen facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    Cheap, Great Location, Nice Staff but Noisy and Rough Around The Edges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    In one of the double/twin rooms that we stayed in, the facilities weren't great, in the sense that it was clean, but it didn't feel nice. Things had fallen off the walls/door, like coat pegs, leaving holes and gaps. The window didn't close properly and the fridge made a strange noise. It's understandable, that as a backpackers place, its going to be busy and noisy, which is great. I stayed there as a backpacker myself years ago. But everywhere around the building there are signs encouraging quietness from 10pm onwards, which seem a bit pointless. Bass music pounds away downstairs past this hour and in the very early hours, the screeches, screams and bangs of returning backpackers are very clear.

    Base is located perfectly in Queenstown - right in the middle near everything you need (and not up the hilly parts!) It fits a range of budgets, the staff are really nice and helpful, and the space of the rooms and general areas are good. Beds are comfy and en-suite rooms have good facilities. If you sleep in a room at the far end of the building (i.e. furthest from the lift/stairs) it will be quieter as you're not on the main corridor where people walk up and down.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.7
    OK as long as you don't expect to sleep before 1am or after 6am
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from properties own bar went on until 1am We were told it was a quiet night and given ear plugs. Wouldn't have been so annoying it were not for all the signs threatening eviction for noise after 11pm

    Large room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.8
    Overused and busy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is very busy with high turnover, my biggest gripe was cleanliness. And noise. Loud music from the bar downstairs made it difficult to sleep.

    The location was great, right in the centre of Queenstown. And the staff were so helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    4.6
    Value for money for location but overall extremely dirty/unhygienic compared to other base hostels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    extremely dirty bathrooms throughout the day, broken locks, no hooks in bathroom, broken bed - top bunk mattress sunk down towards bottom bunk! Smelly room, only 4 working plug sockets for an 8 bed dorm !! WiFi only free from 7am-7pm in reception. Thin walls.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    2.9
    I had a horrible expérience. I couldn't stay more than one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaning not done: really dirty Bed not comfortable Smells bad Noisy No handwash in the toilets !!! (I mentioned it to the reception but they did nothing)

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.0
    Bring ear plugs and a eye mask and you will be fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sanitary bins in bathrooms looked like they hadn’t been emptied in weeks. On Saturday night walked out (at 8:30pm) to have to jump over piles of vomit outside of the bar next door

    Get what you pay for in a hostel but don’t expect to get any sleep on the weekends. Great location central to everything and can help organise activities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.7
    Meets expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have been more quiet. Also, probably not the best place for solo travellers.

    I can recommend the female dorm. Hot shower. Free tea and breakfast. Great location and meets expectations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    4.6
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold showers, WiFi only worked on the ground floor, it was noisy, people knocked on doors in the evening asking if anyone wanted to bar crawl. The toilet flushed continuously unless the buttons were messed with. The beds creaked so bring ear plugs otherwise you’ll hear anytime someone rolls over or goes up/down the top bunk. Washer machines also didn’t work

    This place was in a great location, cheaper than anywhere else in Queenstown but that’s about all that’s good about it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    We were in a double room so we’re not sharing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a double room so we’re not sharing. Super comfy bed and pillows. Room was very clean but only had the minimum in it..which was ok. It had the necessities. A little noisy as the heavy doors close with a loud bang whenever someone close by opens or closes their room. Would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    4.2
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI just from 7am to 7pm not as shown on homepage and very weak,unfriendly staff, no free parking!!, extremly load, no cutlery in the kitchen, dirty rooms,toilets and kitchen.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.9
    Can’t complain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was loud but that’s to be expected in a hostel

    Location was amazing, 2mins from Fergburger and around the corner from the lake. Room was clean and facilities were great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    near main street
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One roommate close the light too early about 20:00, and don't allow others open the light. Actually she also awake , but there is another 6 people who need light in that room.

    near main street

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    4.2
    Worst place ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is very dirty and kind of scary. The beds make noise at every movement. The lift was not working , so we had to carry our bags to the 3rd floor by stairs. The bathroom disgusts even from taking a shower. It looks like an abandoned place and I felt in a ditch. If I could give you some advice, I would say never to stay in this place. The cost benefit is not worth it, it ends up being expensive. If you can afford to go somewhere better, do it. Staying in this place can end the joy of your trip. I suggest the hostel management to read the feedbacks (there are many saying the same thing) and to make the necessary improvements.

    Nothing. The only good thing is location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.7
    cheap, city based, can be cleaner
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    could have been cleaner, the communal fridge looks like no one cleans it. the hallway smells a little bit. there is a pub next door downstairs so you kind of hear them party if you're am early sleeper / light sleeper this place is not for you. there is no power plug next to your bed in the room so I could only charge on near the mirror. ensuite bathroom for the shared female room is quite clean and adequate. there is no switch to cold or hot shoer though so you kind of hope the water temperature has some instinct

    value for money and the location is great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    Helpful staff members, great female only dorms.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need more eftpos terminals at each PC for checkins. Another microwave in the kitchen would help.

    Helpful staff members, great female only dorms. Best location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.0
    There was only one toilet / shower available on our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only one toilet / shower available on our floor, and it was "out of action" for some reason. Also the lift was out of order, which would have been ok had we been told we needed our pillowcases for check out (and didn't have to climb back up to get them!)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    3.3
    Dirty, crowded backpacker in centre with no free wifi in the evenings!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paid wifi (4$ for 1 hr) most of the day (whole evening). Room not very clean. Kitchen really dirty and a mess in the fridges. Hardly any ventilation in the kitchen, which means the smoke from cooking just stays indoor. Cold shower in the morning and smelly toilets (urine). Breakfast was offered but only consisted of plain bread and butter/jam. Not enough for everybody. Would not stay here again. One of the worst places I stayed at in my 4 weeks in New Zealand.

    Located in city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    5.8
    if you need a place to sleep for a night or two it’s fine. But I wouldn’t consider it ‘nice’.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bar right next door bumped beats all night long, the room had a terrible smell, you had to sign up for some weird app with your passport number to get WiFi, and my shower was downright cold.

    The bed was clean and comfortable, the guy at the counter took a while but he was slammed so that’s ok, he was really nice though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    6.7
    Okey, but dirty kitchen with birds flying around
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free breakfast was bad because it was toast with jam...but the problem was the birds inside that kept flying in and out eating of the bread on the counter!(poops everywhere...). The laundry room was dirty After you washed the clothes they were still dirty..it was very bad machines.

    Liked that it was big with a lot of people. The staff knew the area and was helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Cheap, great location and comfortable
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of taxi from airport 😡 nearly $50, found buying a go card an catching bus back to airport best option.

    The location was perfect Having our own ensuite in room and away from the bar was great Bed was comfortable The on-site bar and meeting different cultures was awesome

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    3.3
    AVOID IF YOU CAN!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - UNFRIENDLY STAFF - noisey rooms - filthy beds and bathrooms - wifi only from 7am to 7pm available, no free wifi in the evening/at night - elevator was not working during our entire stay although we were told it would only be out of order during the night ( don‘t really understand the sense of that either)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    4.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in our beds were not even made yet and the floor with filthy covered in hair. The showers were cold so I couldn't shower for my entire stay. The beds are so old they creak at any slight movement making it impossible to sleep with 7 other people all moving around in their sleep. Do not waste your time staying here, stay at nomads it's better value for money and it's cheaper!!

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    The check-in process was slow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check-in process was slow. There was a long line waiting but only 2 staffs working. We had to wait for >30min. Other than that, everything else is great! I highly recommend this one

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.8
    The ladies at the front desk were lovely at check in/out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds make loads of noise,not all the beds have lockers and the rooms weren't that clean. And if you stay on the first floor you can hear the bar underneath all night. But still, it was really cheap.

    The ladies at the front desk were lovely at check in/out. They tried to help me stay in one room rather than two but couldn't. I appreciated the gesture.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    3.3
    To get out of there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could’t bare the kitchen. The staff was CONSTANTLY calling me ‘darlin’ and ‘babe’ while not even looking me in the eye. Beds were squeaky, the whole place was gross and having a bar at the hostel sucks. Wouldn’t go here, even if you are 18 and just wanna party.

    To get out of there

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Took too long to check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took too long to check in. Should be more staff working considering the large volume of people going in and out of the hostel each day. Or even get a staff member to be in charge if taking phone calls. It was a joke.. I was waiting half hour outside and I have a bad knee so it was quiet a struggle!

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: