Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. New Zealand hotel reviews
  3. Canterbury hotel reviews
  4. Arthur's Pass hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Bealey Hotel

Reviews of Bealey Hotel

State Highway 73, 7654 Arthur's Pass, New Zealand

#5 of 5 hotels in Arthur's Pass

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 784 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7

  • Paid WiFi

    4.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    8.3
    Perfect location, great views, quiet, helpful staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony - Room 5
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No storage/cloth hanging space - one had to live out of the suitcase (had it rained and had we needed to dry our cloth it would habe been rather unpractical); food as expected for the region;

    Perfect location, great views, quiet, helpful staff;

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    8.3
    Excellent food and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio - Room 9
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom could have had a fan. Fridge could be defrosted and was a bit small

    The view from the room was amazing. The food was the best we have had for a long time. The chef is really talented.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    5.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Bungalow with Balcony - Room 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tv didn’t work, space heater dirty, furniture old, bedding old and torn, windows couldn’t shut cause of screen, no table space in bathroom, shower mat dirty and torn

    View

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2019

    7.1
    Mostly just for a nights sleep, but was still an enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room D
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very smelly to start off with, strong body odour smell through the hallway.

    Loved the location right by the mountains and a short walk to the river nearby. Nice beds too

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    4.2
    Was totally disappointed in the communication regarding the sleeping arrangements
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room E
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a double plus bunk...but this does not mean a full bunk it means a bunk over top of a double bed. I even rang the Hotel the day before to double check that it was a double plus a bunk and told the person it was for three people but still mean they arrived it was not suitable sleeping for everyone and so one of the guests slept on the floor!!! Given that I phoned and given that the symbols for the beds do not show the bunk over the double and only suitable for one person I think the advertising is not clear and that the person I spoke to on reception was not at all well informed about the actual Hotel they represent as the front person. I was so disappointed about this as lot of thought had gone into organizing this adventure to Arthurs Pass for my son who has special needs and the other two guests were his carers!!!

    Location

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2019

    7.0
    Comfortable beds, good shower, nice views of the valley and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room D
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not the cleanest common areas we've seen (windows full of spiderwebs, dead bugs on counter, funny smells in the cupboard).

    Comfortable beds, good shower, nice views of the valley and close to some of Arthur's Pass trails, shared kitchen and TV.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    5.0
    Set in a magnificent location with beautiful scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio - Room 9
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Confusion with our booking on arrival at Bealey. Poor management. Poor maintenance. The Rooms & hotel very dated.

    Set in a magnificent location with beautiful scenery

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    3.8
    Likely because of the location, the place is not maintained but they still charge like a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room C
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The checkin procedure was not working, have spelt name wrong, complaining about bookings fee, and not very friendly staff to show us where to go. The beds (bunks) absolutely shocking. Saging springs, madrasses should be replace. The room needed walls repaired and painted, door looks in bathroom not adequate. Broken windows lock.

    The cleaning staff did a very good job even the the rooms were dilapidated and in need of repair and painting. The shared facilities was clean, but old. Kitchen ware would need replacement. The bed linned and towels were clean.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    2.5
    Unfriendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Bungalow with Balcony - Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When arrived, our booked and confirmed room was occupied. They put us into host's bedroom. They blamed the booking.com for double booking. Be careful

    Unfriendly staff

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2019

    6.7
    Beautiful view from our room, large living room area, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room A
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Kitchen cupboards were mouldy and smelt badly of damp so it wasn’t nice to cook there.

    Beautiful view from our room, large living room area, good wifi

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2019

    2.9
    no electricity, unfriendly host, no hot water provided until...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Bungalow with Balcony - Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    no electricity, unfriendly host, no hot water provided until we need to get the water by ourselves from the restaurant. No sign of wet floor until my friend fall down from the staircase, the host didn't response on this. we decided not to stay for the above circumstances, asking for some refund coz we didnt use any of the facility but the host refuse. so disappointed!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    8.8
    Good place to stay or stop over if you have activities in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Bungalow with Balcony - Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When you enter the resturant to book in or go for a meal (upstairs) the first smell that hits you as you open the doors are is a strong whiff of toilet deodoriser blocks (Toilets right in entrance) Luckily the smells dissipates upstairs but not very nice way to greet guests.

    Good sized meals are available from the on site restuarant. Great views from property, would be amazing in winter. Rooms comfortable and warm, but well used.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2019

    8.3
    Great location, comfortable accommodation, excellent meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room A
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm afraid the hotel/accommodation is still stuck in the 1960-70s and doesn't look as though it has been updated since the rebuild after the original burnt down. Could do with a really good make over. The unit we were in was very drab, everything needs to have a real good update, but it was comfortable and clean.

    Location is great and is excellent for travelers before going through the Arthurs Pass. The meal provided was excellent (venison hot pot) a good bar with character.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    8.8
    The view was stunning, you can walk right down to the water,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room A
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One had toilet no light, but everything else was great

    The view was stunning, you can walk right down to the water, good bar and restaurant on site. Really good location if you're looking to stay near Arthur's Pass with a great view.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    5.4
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room D
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We called the place for late check in, because we were still a long drive away and the guy we spoke on the phone with was just plain rude. He made it sound like the hardest task ever and really set the tone for our stay there.

    Good location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    2.9
    Unhygienic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room A
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed cover had obviously not been washed in a while with bodily fluid marks on them. Completely unacceptable for my family. Who I assume to be the cleaner came in and used the communal bathroom (which was fine) however he left the bathroom in a mess. We hung around for 2 hrs before leaving and not bothering to check out.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    7.1
    Nice pub, good food, heaters in shared kitchen and rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room C
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Light bulbs not working, toilet paper in shared toilet ran out...!! I slept in one of the steel bunk beds and very sorry, but those are crap. Felt like sleeping in a hammock.... The wooden frame beds seem to be better.

    Nice pub, good food, heaters in shared kitchen and rooms

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    6.3
    This place is good if you are a backpacker or on budget and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room E
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    our room if you can call it one was way too tiny for 2 of us and my kid. We couldn’t even open the window since it opened to a common area where folks were hanging out Food was avg and expensive - better to stay a little further in Arthur’s pass village

    This place is good if you are a backpacker or on budget and are ok with shared facities, tiny bedrooms and bunkbeds

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    3.3
    Bad times at the El Royale. Push on to Christchurch or Hokitika (depending on your direction)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Bungalow Plus - Room 6
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is a disgrace. For the money charged, the room was dirty, aged, and not fit to stay in. Bathroom was terrible, with visible mould on the shower curtain. The facilities in the toilet and bathroom were those normally used in public facilities. The bed mattress was torn and smelled. In fact, the entire room smelled and was dusty. The amenities in this room have not been updated for many, many years, and were appalling in light of the breathtaking price charged for this room. The staff behaviour around the accommodation was poor, and the food served in the "restaurant" made two family members ill. The staff had no local knowledge of the amazing area, and were unhelpful. Not sure when or where the photos shown online were taken but they are not a current reflection of this place.

    The location was scenic, but beneath the high voltage power lines.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    2.9
    The food within the restaurant and the kitchen staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio - Room 7
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was extremely basic. The room was smelly. The facilities poor. Nothing cleaned for the second night. Bin not emptied. WiFi connection was slow. Arrived after 5 to be told only place open was own restaurant plus one cafe 12km away. Please arrive prepared as local store supplies very limited goods.

    The food within the restaurant and the kitchen staff were really good. The bar was ok

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    7.9
    Great place, stunning scenic surroundings, the large cabin catered to our families needs perfectly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow with Balcony - Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I'd read a few bad reviews but was pleasantly surprised upon arriving to find a peaceful, secure, warm, comfortable place that yes might be a bit dated (especially the bathroom) but it provided just what we needed for our 1 night stay.

    Loved this place. Don't expect luxury that's not what it's about, but it's clean and the large cabin had all that our family needed with amazing surroundings and a cute little balcony to soak up the beautiful view. Would definitely come back.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    10
    Simply beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Bungalow with Balcony - Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is not a single thing that we didn't like.

    The Bealey Hotel cabins are just magnificent in a priceless location. Staff are so welcoming. The food is superb. We just couldn't believe the whole stay.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    7.1
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow with Balcony - Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi wouldn't work, old and outdated building and fittings. Filthy windows, uncomfortable beds, old horrible shower. Doors that wouldn't close properly

    Clean linen, friendly staff, lovely views, good size room

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    8.8
    The best stay I had in my 10 day road trip around NZ in terms of its natural views and peacefull set
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony - Room 5
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish there were fly screens as the sandflies got to us and as we were staying here in summer we were more inclined to keep the windows and doors open so I think this would really add to the comfort of the place.

    I absolutely loved this place and was sad that we were only going to stay here for 2 nights. The balcony scene of Arthur's pass was incredible and there is so much calm and peace in the area as its a standalone hotel. The facilities were sufficient, and generous space inside our cabin. Looking forward to coming back to this exact same hotel for longer. I really loved going for walks straight from our place. Very well rested after staying here.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    7.1
    clean and superly good view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow with Balcony - Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) Hotel didnt notify us or notice posted to indicate there are many insects/ bees/ mosquitoes during the evening and it is not advisable to open the windows even though the weather was good and breeze. 2).we cant find the exact location . base on the address given, the waze /gps took us to some jungle and old unattended houses and police station . called the hotel , the person taking the call said there are NO waze location there. only directed us to drive pass the river and bridge. we had to ask few people around for help. . it is easily additional 7-9 KM away from the waze location.

    clean and superly good view. Magnificiant view of half curve rainbow which is just after the rain. fantastic view and experience.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    5.8
    Fantastic location with amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Bungalow with Balcony - Room 4
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very run down and unclean. Shower was full of hairs and so was bed when we pulled back the quilt. Quilt cover was stained.

    Fantastic location with amazing views

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    7.1
    Location was beautiful, price was good, bar/restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room D
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds werent v comfortable & it's very noisy at night time in the lodge with other guests etc but not the end of the world

    Location was beautiful, price was good, bar/restaurant on site was handy esp w free wifi available in the bar

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    10
    Very nice staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking down by the rooms was a bit tricky.

    Very nice staff very helpful. Good food from the restaurant and everything was reasonably priced. Would stay again anytime.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    7.5
    Awesome location and a heritage hotel; truly naturistic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Bungalow - Room 8
    • Stayed 1 night

    No microwave is room. Beds were split into singles; mattress not too comfy.

    View from the room with beautiful mountains, river landscapes and hopping bunnies was incredible. Great location away from the hustle bustle.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    8.3
    Wont stay budget accom again due to small lounge/small bedrooms, but stay at bealey hotel again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room C
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lounge to small to cater for communal kitchen/lounge area for guests staying at about 10 different rooms and only 2 showers. Lounge gets to crowded at times, unless some people go to bar and restaurant at hotel nearby.

    The views, location, restaurant service, prime live for sport on tv. easy parking, easy commute to Arthur's Pass

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    9.6
    Nice lodge
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room C
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were two shared bathrooms in the lodge, but two would not be enough if rooms are fully booked.

    Location was very nice and you could access to Waimakariri River easily from the hotel. You could enjoy nice view from the riverside.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent, tranquil and peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room C
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Joint bathroom and toilet facility which meant If someone in any one of the other rooms was having a shower you couldn’t use the toilet. Small kitchen/ fridge for the large number of guests staying.

    Excellent, tranquil and peaceful location. Beautiful river, amazing weather and cosy room. Clean, white towels and sheets provided with heater in room and sandfly screens on windows to keep the bugs out!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    6.3
    The food was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't see the view out of the windows due to condensation in the double glazing. Overall the place was a bit tired looking. Limited bathrooms (toilet is in the bathroom) so limits access between 6 rooms.

    The food was good. Location is good

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    8.8
    It was simple, but clean and had a enough space for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was simple, but clean and had a enough space for us. The food in the Restaurant was really lovely. Nice sunrise few in the morning directly from the room/balcony.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    7.5
    Atmospheric hotel and a great outlook. Rooms are basic but comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow with Balcony - Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are looking their age - but are comfortable overall.

    Whilst the hotel accommodation is relatively basic, the hotel itself has a great atmosphere and a great outlook over the river and mountains. Our family of four (with older kids) had a really enjoyable stay here

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    4.2
    Nice view. Food good. Wouldn't recommend for the money we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio - Room 7
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a total let down!! No love. Felt like we were using a public restroom. Invaded by bugs in a stifling room.

    The view was beautiful and food was really nice,kitchen staff friendly.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    6.3
    Wonderful location but lodge in urgent need of some TLC ( tender loving care)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room A
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Facilities in lodge are tired and in need of basic maintenance which is a real shame Leaks in bathroom not fixed have led to rotting floor and a hot water tap was constantly running. Place was full when we were there - please use some of the income to look after the place and don't let it deteriorate any more!

    Location is brilliant

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    4.2
    Good from far but far from good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio - Room 9
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Terrible value for money. My partner and I booked a studio room for two nights. Although the outside of this accommodation is presentable the interior leaves a lot to be desired. A faint smell of cigarettes and overpowering air freshener lingered in our room. The decor is in desperate need of updating. Staying for two nights I expected our room would be made up whilst we were out for the day this was not the case we were lucky to catch the housekeeper for a new towel. When I enquired about breakfast I was told it would be an EXTRA fee because we had booked through booking. com, disappointing considering the lack of amenities available in Arthur's pass and the high price of this accommodation. I chose this venue mainly because of the view and the restaurant attached but for the high prices it is not worth the money. Keep driving or stay elsewhere.

    Room was clean enough

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    3.8
    Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room C
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very very small, dirty and dusty. It was more a room for animals. Its really not an hotel ! Worst experience ever in twenty five years travelling !

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    7.1
    The location was absolutely stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room A
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My partner and I payed extra for a private room because we like our privacy. It was super tiny and right next to several other rooms..we could barely get our backpacks in. We desperately needed to do laundry, which facilities were available but we had to run the dryer for 3 hours to get a small load finished.

    The location was absolutely stunning. Mountains all around and gorgeous views! Good at the lodge was yummy and the staff was friendly. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    4.2
    Disapointing and dirty, would not stay again. Sad, this place has so much potential...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room E
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirty place. The bed was very dirty, linen full of crumbs and dead insects, and they were crumbs on the floor. The nice cleaner was sorry and fixed it when I requested it, but the manager did not even apologize. The curtains of the showers were stinky, the windows were dirty, and most of the kitchen equipment and floor were greasy. I do not expect amazing amenities when I book a "budget" room, but I at least expect it to be clean. I was honestly happy to leave. Beside the big TV, all the furniture and equipment look old and used.

    Nice location in the beautiful Arthur's Pass national park.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    8.3
    Friendly and welcoming and couldn’t have been more welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room C
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly and welcoming and couldn’t have been more welcoming. Bar had character and served tasty food. Good range of facilities. Rooms basic but comfortable and clean and quiet.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    7.1
    Decent value for money ten minutes from Arthur's Pass,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room A
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room begins to turn cold the minute the heater is turned off and the bathroom is a little chilly first thing in the morning.

    Decent value for money ten minutes from Arthur's Pass, right off the main highway. Shared kitchen has all the usual facilities.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    5.0
    Noisy rooms, dirty bathrooms, wouldn’t stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room D
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was tiny, the bed very small double, very uncomfortable and hard mattress, noisy people in rooms either side of us,

    The location was great, scenery was amazing

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    6.3
    Good location & nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room A
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Kitchen kits are not clean. No any signal for phone and Internet. The whole electricity in bedrooms were cut all night. That made us freezing cold without heater.

    Good location, nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    7.9
    Very cosy accomodation at a gorgeous location :-))
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room E
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed three nights at the Bealey Hotel and absolutely loved it!! It felt like a warm, cosy home. Very welcoming staff. Especially Dotty is such a lovely girl. My room was in the lodge with a shared bathroom and toilet. Everything was very clean and worked perfect. There's a full kitchen where you can cook your own stuff and a fridge to put your groceries in. Parking is free and right in front of the accomodation. The reception and restaurant are in the main building just a couple meters away. Prices of the food are quite expensive.. but so is everything else on the South Island ;-) These are normal prices for this area. There are several places in Arthur's Pass towncenter where you can have some food. There is no cellphone reception at all in or around the Bealey Hotel. You get a free 50MB wifi voucher per person, per night. If you need more you have to buy them. In Arthur's Pass you will have cellphone reception again. The walls are like paper, so it was pretty noisy. You can hear everything from all the other guests. Depends on the other guests if you have a good night of sleep or not. Cleaning staff is very loud with loud music. There are plenty of gorgeous walks in this area. I could easily spent a whole month up here. I hope one day people are going to stop feeding the poor kea's.. a fed kea is a dead kea.. please keep that in mind when visiting..

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    5.8
    A mixed experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Bungalow with Balcony - Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really everything in the cottage is old and needs renovation, unclean fridge, coffee stains from last user, WIFI for additional charge, no mobile connection.

    Friendly staff, gorgeous view over valley, river and mountains.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    8.3
    Really beautiful spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio - Room 7
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    An inspection of the room would have been useful, as the bathroom was out of hand soap, and the electric blankets did not work.

    Really beautiful spot. Great views. Nice and friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay and it was an excellent way to relax and get away from the city life! Also, might be worth mentioning that there’s no transport available to/from the Arthurs Pass train station for any travellers who are not arriving in their own vehicles. Luckily we called the hotel and they were able to pick us up ($60 fee for a return trip)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    6.3
    A mixed impression, the location is great and food is also great but no one is there to solve issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Bungalow Plus - Room 6
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    By 1 am the entire property lost power, no one came to evaluate or solve the issue afterwards, we left the property by 10 am and still no power, so we couldn't cook or take a hot shower and had a terrible night without heating. There's no mobile signal anywhere near, you can't call or use your own internet, the paid internet option is too expensive and without power that wasn't even an option.

    The location and views are excellent

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    4.2
    The location is magnificent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room B
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed cover had cigarette burns and fluid stains. There were dead and alive bugs in the room. The layout of the room is cramped and the walls are so thin you can hear EVERY little thing. I couldn't wait to get away honestly.

    The location is magnificent. The view down the valley is the only thing worth going for.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    8.8
    Cosy room with a view over snow capped mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio - Room 7
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was an excellent stop over on our road trip across the South Island of New Zealand. It was a romantic setting in front of snow capped mountains and we enjoyed ending our day overlooking this panorama with a glass of red wine. We hope to be back one day.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    7.9
    Arthur’s passed the test!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room A
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful location - we had a completely unspoilt view. It was spectacular. We were booked into a room and decided to change to a cabin which the owners more than happily obliged to.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    10
    More kitchen facilities in the units with kitchen would be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony - Room 5
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was a pain, there is no cell phone reception which is great but it means you rely more on Wifi, a small allowence per room per night would be great and make the rooms much more suitable for people traveling for work or staying for a few days (thus needing comms to the outside world)

    More kitchen facilities in the units with kitchen would be good, the electric frying pan thing didnt really give us much options, and a few other kitchen utensils etc would be great, nothing fancy, just practical things.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    7.5
    Amazing View
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow with Balcony - Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's abit small for a group of 5.

    The views are amazing and breathtaking. Away from light pollution although it's located at the highway. Good location for star glazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    8.8
    Very cheap, people around us were quiet which was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room B
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kitchen / lounge pretty basic would be nice if it was a bit bigger. Wiring needs a bit of work as the power kept turning off.

    Very cheap, people around us were quiet which was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    8.3
    It was a good experience. Room was cosy and our purpose of leisure and relaxing was fulfilled.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio - Room 7
    • Stayed 1 night

    No microwave oven in a studio room.

    Following things we liked about it: bed, bar, food at the restaurant and the heater (worked good in the chilling weather). The lady at the restaurant was very helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful location with simple accommodation and great, honest food in the restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room C
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Communal areas very cold - heater ineffective in Lodge lounge and restaurant toilets had no heating or hot water taps. Tired bathroom in Lodge with no ventilation except for having window wide open - not good on a snowy night.

    Stunning location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    6.7
    Always love the Bealey while a little overpriced for facilities provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio - Room 7
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As expected- thank you.

    A must stay when traveling through Arthur's Pass - we wouldn't stay anywhere else. A little over priced value for money but great location and hospitality- many thanks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    8.8
    Great view from the rooms, and a cosy pub just up the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio - Room 7
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great view from the rooms, and a cosy pub just up the driveway to have a meal at. A good little stopping point as we traveled through Arthur's Pass.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    6.3
    Stunning view, Restaurant/bar was a pleasant place to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room D
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place including the grounds was rather rundown and outdated. Kitchen/lounge in accomodation had an unpleasant smell. Could seriously do with a freshen up with some paint and update the funiture.

    Stunning view, Restaurant/bar was a pleasant place to relax, great fire.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    4.2
    Cabin 6 had a rodent in the main room during the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Bungalow Plus - Room 6
    • Stayed 1 night

    No rodent in the bedroom/kitchen room. General update throughout.

    We were in cabin 6; first impressions provided a hostel style cabin, which was adequate, although tired. We ate in the restaurant. where they provided a gluten free dish for one of the party & the food was home cooked, including a proper pie!-which was good. However during the night we were awoken by an unwanted visitor- a small rodent! It appeared to of come from under the bed where the carpet was chewed & scratched. As we were in the countryside & only staying one night, we managed to laugh it off as a holiday experience! When we reported it as we left the next morning, we received no apology & were not believed! I actually saw the rodent myself & it crawled between the bed covers over my husband's leg! - I hope this has been sorted now!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.9
    You got what you booked and paid for. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room C
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were supposed to open for breakfast at 8:00 but weren't open by 8:15, so we left in the morning without breakfast

    although the shared facilities area where older style, they were clean and tidy. The room had a double bed and a set of bunks, which were comfortable. The place was warm inside. The hotel staff were really friendly. The dinner we had at the hotel part was really great. The steak was the best i have had in years.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    7.5
    Served the purpose of transit: unfortunately not enough time to explore the tracks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There seems to be need for some refurbishment/maintenance e.g. insect screens. I was unaware, probably my own fault, of the shared backpacking type facility it was with shared lounge and bathrooms.

    The position beyond Arthur's Pass Village was satisfactory with a beautiful view of the river valley

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    5.0
    Place very dated and basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Bungalow with Balcony - Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place very dated and basic. Kettle was old and dont appear usable. Heater not strong enough, room will be very cold for winter. no aircon for summer too. Wifi doesnt work. No amenities. No cupboards and hangers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    5.8
    LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room A
    • Stayed 2 nights

    2 shared bathrooms for 10 double/triple rooms wasn't enough. 2 more toilets would help. Those and the common space could use refreshing. Seemed kind of pricey for backpackers but probably on point for the comparables in area.

    It's all about the location and view- near Arthur's Pass but not in town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic customer service, accommodating our unplanned late...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite noisy hearing others in the same block come and go, but this was expected and not really a problem

    Fantastic customer service, accommodating our unplanned late check in. The staff went over and above and were incredibly friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    9.6
    Loved this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room C
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t mind but WiFi is limited to in the restaurant and 50 MB a day.

    Loved this place! The views were absolutely spectacular from the whole property. I loved the cabin feel to this. The area is very remote but so glad to have had this place to stay so I could get in multiple hikes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    7.5
    The restaurant/bar on site was great and food delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio - Room 7
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hair dryer which is handy when travelling in a cold rainy place. Bed wasn't very comfy either.

    The restaurant/bar on site was great and food delicious. Views out the window were great too, once the rain and low cloud disappeared!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    7.1
    Location perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow with Balcony - Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom really does need updating and the kitchenette /communal laundry were very basic. I actually hate giving the feedback that the menu/meals at the restaurant were below par and not great value for money. It felt like death by bread sadly :(

    The room size was fantastic for families with a truly beautiful view /location. The character of the restaurant /bar area was a novelty too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    7.9
    Alpine lodge, great stopover in Arthur's Pass.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room D
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ski lodge type facility in need of upkeep eg lino around shower and tap handle missing in bathroom. One bathroom for 5 bedrooms could be problem in ski season as toilet also in bathroom.

    Lodge facility with stunning alpine views. Restaurant and bar on site but can self cater.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    2.9
    Don't stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Bungalow Plus - Room 6
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    10km out of town. Rooms are down hill and not connected to the main restaurant and reception. Breakfast not available until 9.00 am. Bathroom was tiny and had no space for your toiletries. TV was difficult to work and instructors were out of date. Carpet was old and a loose piece was covering a hole. Cupboards were dark and one set contained the hot water system. Beds were very soft as were pillows. Not enough carparking at bottom level and stairs uphill were closed as they were condemned.

    Heater works

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    7.5
    A good stop, good food, halfway through Arthurs Pass
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were particularly old and quite small and the bathroom also pretty old. However, everything was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The only other problem, was that they had a band playing in the restaurant and although it didn't keep us awake all night, you could hear the base through the night until about 1 or 2 am.

    We actually had a very nice meal outside overlooking a nice valley and that was very pleasant. The food was good and not expensive. That was our highlight.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    3.8
    Crap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio - Room 9
    • Stayed 1 night

    Considering the price, the room was very basic, cramped and in desperate need of an update. Restaurant offers limited menu, food and wine very expensive. As you are out of town, seems like they "gotcha"

    Driving away the next morning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    6.7
    The location and beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room A
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first night there was very loud music playing till 6 am! It was hard to sleep. Also we ordered a room with a mountain view and didn't get that.

    The location and beautiful view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    9.2
    Charming valley hotel in the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Budget Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Room A
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Autumn was rolling in when we visited, making the place less busy, but also pretty cold. There was no central heat in the communal areas, although there were space heaters. And the space heaters in our room and bathroom heated those small spaces quickly. Just make sure you come prepared for the temperatures and fast-changing weather of this mountainous area. Warm, water-proof, and wind-proof gear is highly recommended. There were no other facilities around this hotel until you get to Arthur's Pass (which we didn't mind), but don't expect a range of options when it comes to where to get meals or coffee.

    Great location, with fantastic views from nearly any window. This historic hotel resides just east of Arthur's Pass. Which makes it a great jumping off point for doing any if the hiking trails located there. The food and coffee were also top notch!

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: