Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Bella Vista Motel & Apartments This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

193 Bealey Avenue, Edgeware, 8413 Christchurch, New Zealand

#95 of 163 hotels in Christchurch

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 96 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable, clean, and close to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One bathroom with toilet inside bathroom. Not enough for a unit that sleeps six. No washing facilities inside the unit yet a tub in the garage and plenty of room to have them. Asked for checkout to be extended 1/2 - 1 hour because of flight time and wouldn't oblige us with that.

    Roomy, good heating, good beds, free Wi-Fi,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    7.0
    Unbelievably tiny room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    However this was the smallest room I have ever been in. So small and crowded that you could barely turn around. We had to put the suitcases in the bathroom to be able to walk around.

    Property was clean with everything you need. Hostess was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    5.4
    A great place to stay locality wise but not so good if you like your bed firm & want a good sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was incredibly soft & worn. The pillows pretty much the same. The apartment is very small & there were no exhaust fans in either the kitchen nor bathroom.

    The location of the premises was great. The apartment was clean & we got a choice of being upstairs or down. It was good that when you left the apartment all electricity was turned off however it meant coming home to a cold room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    10
    Short but accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our stay wasn't long enough this time ,road in rain , wind.:-(

    Lovely sunshine, great room, good facilities , that's why we keep coming back :-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    7.9
    This room was exactly what it said it was, compact.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the most expensive and smallest room we stayed in on our South Island holiday.

    This room was exactly what it said it was, compact. However, it was fine for the one night my husband and I stayed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Spa Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely place to stay. Comfortable, clean, well-equipped townhouse-style apartment. Helpful reception. Bedrooms on upper floor with bathroom, balconies off living room/kitchen. Good parking. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    7.5
    The standard of the accommodation was good but we would have preferred the apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had booked an apartment for us all to share but a few days before our arrival we were infomed that it would not be available and this was a disappointment.

    We liked the close proximity to Christchuch centre. We thought that the property was clean and modern.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    6.3
    OK stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Bed was very uncomfortable - Not as consistent as other Bella Vista Motels in Group - Just seemed like it was due for a refit

    - Good location - Friendly Staff - Room was clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds could be a bit bigger and more comfortable in the main rooms. The heating could be better. The shower over the bath is a bit small.

    It always feels like home when we stay. Great venue nice and central to town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay, lovely motel, in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable and clean Motel, Lovely hosts and very helpful. We did hire a care which was a cheaper option than taxi's as there were five of us. 20 minute walk to great restaurants - King of Snake well recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2017

    7.1
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In need of renovation and modernisation. Poor WiFi. No toiletries provided. Very noisy plumbing! Very noisy location due to traffic noise from Bealey Street.

    Plenty of room for 4 people.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2017

    9.6
    A lovely, comfortable place to stay in Christchurch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights

    It was a bit noisy at times, with people thumping up and down the nearby staircase, and talking loudly in the car park. The internet connection was abysmal, very unreliable, and I needed it for my ongoing travel arrangements. I had to go to Northlands mall to get a connection. Disappointing in this day and age.

    I had a very comfortable stay here. Everybody was very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay and helpfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Steep stairs to get to unit so not so good for elderly people although we were staying in a three bedroom apartment.

    Convenient location and plenty of room space

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2017

    7.5
    Good location. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom/toilet very small for a family unit. Overall the unit is a bit bit run down but comfortable.

    Location within walking distance of city centre. Staff friendly and helpful. Kitchen well equipped.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2016

    10
    Great place to stay in Christchurch
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have used 2 packs of coffee instead of one but if we asked they would have complied.

    Bed was comfy. Owners were very nice and helpful. French press coffee maker.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2016

    7.9
    Very very small studio unit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely small studio unit; we do not think this was good value when compared to other studio units in Christchurch that we stayed at. No cooking facilities, no room to even put a suitcase down. No table.

    Close proximity to city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2016

    7.1
    Good for one night
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unlimited wifi available would be a bonus to the stay.

    The gentleman was amazing at taking care of everything that we needed. It was good enough for a one night stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    10
    bella vist ch ch recommended
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    I left a personal item in the room and was promptly phoned to say I left it there. much appreciated the call as it had quite a monetary value.. excellent friendly service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    7.5
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Spa Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stopping at traffic lights

    Price was very fair. The garage would be handy for long term stays

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    7.9
    Good plan e 2 stay .will stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All Ok in the room as I was just passing by

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    10
    Fantastic unit Extremely spacious, .modern and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Unit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nohing

    Modern and clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    8.3
    There are two sets of stairs to get to bedrooms so perhaps...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Spa Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are two sets of stairs to get to bedrooms so perhaps not for the elderly in these rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    8.3
    Had everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had everything we needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    9.5
    Bella Vista chain are modern clean and reliable in all respects. Well priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good value

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Graham was fantastic and gave us a complete route to do on our bikes around South Island.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    10
    Friendly and helpful owners. Clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleanliness and close to town

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant stay, great that they offer outdoor BBQ area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a bit on the small size

    It’s a good place to stay for a night or two. We made use of the outside BBQ area which was very pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    7.9
    Will definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfortable bed and shower had good pressure, quiet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    8.3
    Lovely comfortable stay with nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was fine

    Staff were exceptionally helpful and accommodating

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    9.6
    This is a great place to stay, parking, cleanliness, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single room has little or no ventilation

    Clean, tidy and quiet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    10
    We will definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The apartment was very spacious, perfect with 4 children. It was modern and clean. Great location,walking distance to town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    10
    Great would stay there again
    • Group
    • Twin/Triple Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Great would stay there again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2017

    6.3
    Small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Size of the room. It was rediculasly small and I had paid for an upgrade

    Manager was nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    7.5
    A bit disorganized
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit disorganized

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable bed, little road noise, convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small. Only the bed and an office chair. Had to lie on bed to watch the tv

    Comfortable bed, little road noise, convenient location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2017

    10
    Well worth looking at
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfortable and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great place to stay

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2017

    7.5
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I'm used to a very soft bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2017

    10
    Bed - very comfortable with
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No comment

    Bed - very comfortable with nice surroundings ....

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2017

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great sized apartment - we had so much space!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2017

    10
    Great Stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient location ! Felt very welcomed and had a great over night stay here.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2017

    10
    Lovely hosts, very accomodating. Would definitely stay again.
    • Family with young children
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a lovely wee compact room, very clean and adequately set up.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2017

    10
    The owners were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was a bit firm but that's just my preference not a fault!

    The owners were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2017

    6.7
    bed and pillow hard.
    • Couple
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed and pillow hard. room smelt musty.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2017

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2016

    3.3
    The cover was dirty and had marks on it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cover was dirty and had marks on it... Unsure what it was but definitely dry and crusty!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2016

    9.2
    Excellent Accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately had loud neighbours second night.

    Very helpful and friendly. Accommodation clean and tidy. Booked for 1 night and extended to 2.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2016

    7.5
    Tidy with comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing

    the owner were very flexible they allowed me to check in at 9am n also gave us a late check out

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2016

    8.8
    Very well equiped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Handbasin waste was substantially blocked

    Very well equiped.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2016

    9.6
    The people working there were very friendly and always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The people working there were very friendly and always willing to help

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2016

    8.3
    It was a very pleasant stay. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slow internet.

    The place was really clean. They have properly maintained their property. Good value for your money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2016

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Carrying big suitcases upstairs. Not enough good heating in lounge area.

    Great location and helpful friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2016

    8.3
    Excellent accommodation with compact kitchen facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charge for wifi seemed excessive so we only used on one day and used free wifi elsewhere.

    Excellent accommodation with compact kitchen facilities. Comfortable bed. Handy position.

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2016

    9.2
    Really happy with our stay, and the owners were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The third bedroom is very small, but it's only a small detail which didn't worry us too much.

    Really happy with our stay, and the owners were very friendly and helpful. It worked well for us as we were two families staying side by side in two of their three bedroom apartments, and it was easy for the kids to pop next door to see their friends. Good location too, we walked to Speights Ale House for dinner several nights 😊

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2016

    7.5
    The location, we could walk in to all places,botanical...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We didn't realise when we booked that we would have 2 flights of stairs as the 3 bedroom apartments are in a separate building and are like town houses. Our party had two elderly people who struggled with the stairs

    The location, we could walk in to all places,botanical gardens, Hagley park, and the city where all the renovation is taking place after the earthquake in 2011

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2016

    10
    The hosts could not have been more friendly or helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hosts could not have been more friendly or helpful and the room facilities and quality were of high standard. We had our 6 years old grandson with us & he loved it, especially as we were so close to a park with thermal features. Also easy to find and then to get into town.

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2016

    6.7
    Staff very friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Apartments are waiting to be redecorated and upgraded following the earthquake. This had not happened at the time of our stay. The Apartment was well appointed but tired and in need of an upgrade.

    Staff very friendly and welcoming. Good location. Will be good when upgrade to accommodation completed.

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2016

    8.8
    The owners were lovely and gave us milk and free internet ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    An extra toilet would be good, however we managed just fine.

    The owners were lovely and gave us milk and free internet for the two days that we were there. The apartment is on 3 levels with the kitchen and lounge on one level and the bedrooms at the top. the location is quite central.

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2015

    9.2
    It is an excellent place to stay, especially if you want to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    It is an excellent place to stay, especially if you want to do your own food in the microwave. The studio room is excellent and spacious for one person. The staff and friendly and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2015

    9.2
    Unusual to find a 3 bedroom apartment, which suited our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our room was right next to the road and was quite busy with boy racers and construction noise.

    Unusual to find a 3 bedroom apartment, which suited our group perfectly. Loved having a full kitchen. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2015

    10
    Had a two night stay at this motel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Nothing

    Had a two night stay at this motel. Overall, the motel was really good, good value for money, customer service was outstanding, location was excellent and the bed was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2015

    7.1
    Location, good size of apartment, car garage, easy walk for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Needs better wifi system (available but is charged for), 3 bed apartments would benefit from second bathroom

    Location, good size of apartment, car garage, easy walk for food of all types.

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2015

    6.5
    Good location to city and surrounds.
    • Couple

    being next door to heavy smokers. their smoke went through into our room-ghastly. Our room was upstairs so it was an effort for a couple of oldies trudging up and down stairs.

    Good location to city and surrounds.

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2016

    9.6
    good location especially when cruise ship in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    good location especially when cruise ship in town.

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2016

    8.3
    Studio to cramped in Christchurch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Studio to cramped in Christchurch.Fox Glacier excellent.

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2016

    9.6
    The heated towel rail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A

    The heated towel rail. The friendliness and communication of area knowledge by the managers. Helpfulness of the managers / staff.

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2016

    10
    Nice and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice and comfortable. Ideal place for the purpose of our visit as location was within walking distance for an evening meal out.

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2016

    7.5
    Short walk to centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room very small

    Short walk to centre of town Staff very helpful

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2016

    9.2
    Lovely rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Lovely rooms! Very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2016

    6.7
    Comfortable lounge area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Time for an interior update. Bathroom needs bit of attention.

    Comfortable lounge area. Comfortable beds

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2016

    8.8
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Great staff. We're more than happy to assist with any requirements. Would stay again.

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2016

    5.8
    Proximity to good restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms were small.

    Proximity to good restaurants.

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2016

    8.8
    Warm, welcoming hosts.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Warm, welcoming hosts. Great location. Comfortable apartment.

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2016

    10
    Location and well equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location and well equipped. Staff helpful.

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2016

    7.9
    Good value for price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms were a bit dated and could use some fresh paint.

    Good value for price. Good location, walking distance to downtown.

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: