Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Newmarket Inn & Suites 4.5 stars

112 Great South Road, Epsom, 1005 Auckland, New Zealand

#57 of 161 hotels in Auckland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 73 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved our stay here while we were visiting in Auckland. We were having a hard time finding a place near the city centre that offered all of our needs--free WIFI, free parking, inexpensive, etc. and this place hit all of those things we needed! It's a little bit of a walk or Uber ride to the city centre but not far at all! Great location for the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we did not like.

    We loved the property for tidyness and how clean it was.The beds were comfortable.The bathroom and lounge/kitchen was spacious.We loved staying there,we would recommend to family or friends.Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I asked at the reception about restaurants and golf courses, I just got a magazine, in which was even not the location / area of the Hotel included. Hence useless.

    Restaurant is for Breakfast only, which was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV remote didn’t work well. Asked for a change of batteries, still didn’t work well, so didn’t use the TV at all after that. I stayed for a full week - a reduction in price for long stay would have been welcome.

    The staff were helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little information on locality. Very noisy room overlooking carpark. Smallest bathroom we have used for a very long time. The door couldn't open properly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Triple Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not vacuumed during our stay and the bathroom floor was not cleaned either. We had to keep getting log in cards for free wifi.

    Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn't like

    Very comfortable beds, really well equipped, excellent location (2 stops on the train to central Auckland). Very friendly and helpful receptionists.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Executive Double Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very good.

    My wife and I were in Auckland for the World Masters Games in April. This was a perfect location for us. The Remuara train station was a five minute walk with only two stops before Britomart and downtown. The room was perfect for our twelve day stay. A small kitchen area with sink, microwave, fridge, dishes and cutlery. Even had tea towels a kettle and coffee and tea. There is a Countdown supermarket about a mile down the road for all your grocery needs and if you don't want to cook your own meal there are several good eateries within walking distance of the hotel. The staff was wonderful. Very friendly and helpful with local information.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear noise from the trains but it wasn't a big major. I didn't have any trouble getting to sleep

    The great service I received from the lady at the front desk. When I made my booking I selected bed preferrance to be two beds. It was a very busy period when I made the booking for my stay due to a concert being held so I rang to confirm days prior to make sure I got what I wanted (as I had booked well in advance) She explained due to the busyness its not garanteed and it's not looking too promising but said she will do her best. When I arrived she had pulled through and sorted it for me. I really appreciate it. Also the breakfast included with my stay was delicious. Coffee is on point

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The upstairs bedroom ad and ensuite was less than satisfactory given the steep stairs and NO window outside for fresh air

    the staff were exceptionally good and helpful and good restaurant

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I couldn't find my way to the pool, and when I did, it was hard to actually find a way to enter the pool. Not a big problem though

    The bed was comfortable and everything was clean and tidy. Remarkably quiet location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was massive but French toast a bit cold.

    Reception Welcome and departure excellent. Discounted price offered as spa bath did not work. Room and bed really comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Triple Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception was unattended and we couldn't find anyone to help us with our queries. We used the phone provided at reception to try and contact a staff member but to no avail. Free breakfast was included in our room rate but didn't mention weekend hours were only from 8am. We had an early flight so missed out. It would have been helpful to have hours/availability made known as we would have made other arrangements.

    The bed was comfortable. Location was great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Triple Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    WIFI kept logging off, when trying to send important emails. I ended up going to a friends house just to send my email. SKY MOVIES, unless somebody puts in the password then we may of been able to watch a movie sometimes. Obviously the SKY setting maybe set as PARENTAL CONTROL.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The small fence in front of rooms sliding door was annoying. Had to lift suitcases over to put in car or walk around to back main door. No tourist map or brochure on where to catch train, where to eat or shop.

    Very nice room, everything we needed. Location was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Executive Triple Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thank you, Liz at the front desk, for your help and warmth...also for letting us stay an extra hour the next morning! Very comfortable, super clean, great size for family of four. Up the hill from the city but easy to get to by car.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Triple Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise from roads/ railway. Cleanliness of parts of unit (under choppoing board).Fridge set on frezze. Not enough crockery.

    Location. Staff assistance with issues.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a shelf in bathroom as no room around the sink.

    Clean, beds are comfortable, staff super friendly and willing to help. Close to eateries, dairy, caffe, bakery.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No electric blankets on the bed. It was cold in Auckland. Internet(Wi-fi) access was poor. Felt that the cost per night was a little on the hgh side for standard of motel.

    Location to 90th Birthday we were attending. Staff were pleasant to deal with.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a free upgrade which was very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleaners can be a bit noisy at times.

    This is my 3rd stay. Clean, comfortable and very handy location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The large bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whats not to like

    As we arrived late didnt have time to enjoy any meals

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small.

    Comfortable room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff were extremely friendly and helpful. excellent location as remuera train station only round corner. good local amenities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great room and I felt safe!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price

    The kids had so much to do after their sports comp they made full use of the spa and sauna

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise from Southern motorway

    Friendly staff, comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very comfortable. Wish we could have stayed for longer.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Convenient location for what we wanted to do over the weekend in greater Auckland area

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely cooked breakfast! !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think we were forgotten re change of linen

    Everything great

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and neat establishment.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sky movies was out for first night due to set up features - though staff did everything they could 😊

    Fantastic location and staff were very helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfy,plenty of hot water but the shower head would not hold in place,we had a television but no controller so unable to use it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Couple
    • Executive Triple Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door key was difficult to use

    It was expensive for what it was . We had to wash the cups before we used them

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed extra comfy. Loved the bathroom. Fancy lamps 😊

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa needed maintenance and it didnt work 😣

    Front house staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Triple Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To far away from restaurants

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet flush breaking down

    Room and bathrooms neat and tidy. Staff extremely helpful polite and friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs replacing basically. Sad looking for a $298 a night unit.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisey. No kitchenette as such - not even a sink except in bathroom. No cooking facilities in room

    Bed comfy

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom was a little pokie and the deck wasn't the best.

    Rooms were nice and comfy. Our receptionist was so lovely and helpful. We were really close to our concert we were attending which is why we chose it. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Guests should be made more aware of the on site cafe which was good, when open!

    The motel had everything we needed. There was a cafe on site which was great, but not prominent! Also the cafe was not open on public holidays, and we were there over Easter!

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    MIsleading pictures on website. The room I got was in the old part of the motel. Faucets were leaking and lose. There were hairs in my sheets and also on bathroom floor. Pillows were stained and you see these through the pillow cases. Limited TV channels. Kitchen knives and cutlery were all store in a bench top box. Nearly cut myself getting a fork.

    Comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was two singles pushed together, so not comfortable. The kitchen cupboards seemed to have a lot of kitchen utensils missing and we had to ask for a coffee plunger in the morning (which didn't come so we ended up going to reception to collect it). Appalled by housekeeping who knocked on our door at 9am on Sunday morning when we had a late check out until12 wanting to clean the room - thought we had checked out. Very poor!

    The receptionist was lovely - very welcoming and polite.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed too soft and walls are thin so could hear the neighbours moving around and the key card which is also your power card. Should be given 2 cards on check in

    Layout of the room, great shower and the amenities were awesome, air con and the friendly as staff

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No coffee available in cafe at breakfast! (Machine out of order} No suggestion so we took our plunger jug from hotel room and also used the packet coffee, which was poor quality anyway. You need to change to a decent supplier!

    Cafe French toast good value Brilliant Bed!!!! Is now our favourite stay for Auckland and a fair price. Good safe free Parking

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The noise of the whole place, the walls are so thin you can hear everything thats going on in the next unit. Staff from the restaurant talking outside very loud. From over $300 per night I would have thought our unit would have a dinning table. We had one chair pushed hard up against the bed, one dinning chair by the desk, not good enough for the price.

    Free parking

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a good service at all. We asked for a taxi to the airport to be booked for us, they confirmed they would do it and failed to do so. Extremely overpriced for what is offered; dated, unclean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They gave us a single bed and king after I requested 2 queens (2 larger beds). When I complain the staff where less than qualified or trained to handle basic customer complaints. They kept repeating "but you booked with bookings. com". When I asked to speak with the manager they came up with every tactic for me not to be able to speak with the manager. They put the blame back on me. THEN two of our clean white towels had black stains on them. Plus we booked two nights and they only loaded our room keys for one night. The second night we could not get back in the room.

    The pool

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    cleaners or other workers making a noise early on a Sunday morning! People smoking directly outside our door on the stairs

    Good location beds were comfortable and unit very clean

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a good sight seeing chefs from the adjoining restaurant having a cigarette break on the doorstep.

    Position was excellent for public transport into Auckland. Plenty of parking and a comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The sink had been removed from the kitchen so unpleasant washing your breakfast dishes etc in the bathroom sink and inconvenient. Our neighbours had sinks, the receptionist said the owners were considering what to do about the lack of sink. My suggestion is just put it back in the lump of timber sitting on the bench is off putting.

    Good location although initially difficult to find, great south road is confusing to say the least. Comfy bed and couch and good blackout drapes. Spacious bathroom. Helpful friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room cleanliness...still crumbs on the kitchen bench. There were skid-marks in the main toilet downstairs...drips of fluid around base of toilet (urine?) and an obviously pre-used towel hanging on the back of the door in the bathroom. Broken hinges on kitchen cupboard was awkward and one of the wine glasses had a crack in it.

    Room size, location, value for money and overall hospitality.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was just 2 singles joined together. Towels were stained. Room had a funny smell when we checked in but was okay once aired out.

    Pool was nice and clean. Room was spacious enough and had a decent kitchenette. Staff super friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a bit outside town just so you know, but close to bus stops. We used Uber and had no problem.

    The rooms were really spacious and clean. Bed was really comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Noisy people staying in several units upstairs who partied out on walkway and continued very late on consecutive nights.

    Easy access to tourist attractions yet not right in the city. Clean, comfortable beds. Ground floor rooms recommended. Parking good. Restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location not as ideal as need transport to go city for shopping.

    Friendly staff who have good location knowledge. Safe environment that puts your mind at ease out enjoying the places of interest.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A very worn out facility. Well over priced which gave false expectation. food marks on walls length of used dental Floss hanging over shover glass door.

    Close to concert venue.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower pressure in our room the head was a bit funny but I wasn't strong enough to change it

    Close to our venue for concert and the most biggest comfiest bed I have ever slept in at a motel! Bummer we weren't there longer to use the pool. Brekkie was yum also. We wished there was a diary somewhere close though.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite a lot of road noise Shower head could not be moved Way from door so sprayed out when shower started. No lift

    Comfortable bed and no noise from neighbour's. Good kitchen

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The shower head didn't work very well because it looked like the water wasn't coming out of the shower head in fine sprays - it looked like it may have been clogged up or something? Water pressure wasn't good either. No tea towel either in the kitchen.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking at a bit short when when we came home at 2300. Managed to sneek into a non parking designation in Motel grounds

    Handy to City. Clean and tidy. Staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The sky TV channels were limited and there was not much of a selection for tea or coffee.

    It was immaculate as far as cleanliness and the bed was very comfortable. Also it was quiet for an inner city location. Shower looked dated being a cubicle but pressure was good and plenty of hot water. It would better suit a family stay than a couple's getaway in our opinion.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms were very clean and newly decorated. I liked that the children had their own bathroom. Plenty of room. Excellent location to get to the University. Car parking was safe and plenty of parking. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A few stray hairs in the bathroom and a shower that left the entire bathroom floor soaked!!! View of the trash bins!

    The location was good and the staff was very nice and accommodating

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The sink in bathroom was too small for toiletries (on another stay there was plenty of room, I think it is because a spa bath has been squeezed in leaving no room). The walls are a little thin if the neighbors are being a bit noisy.

    Everything was very clean and tidy, staff friendly and very willing to help. Fantastic restaurant onsite.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Family with older children

    House keeping service was very bad, never did vacuum cleaning, not clean the bathroom sometimes during my 7 day stay; the toilet was old with water leaking.

    Receptionist service was helpful.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Family with older children

    Close to everything, easy to find once off the motorway. Lots of parking. Friendly reception. Nice to sleep somewhere newly renovated with good heating.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The walls are very very thin. Every little bump and lightswitch noise is heard. Unfortuanlty I think it is the layout of the units.

    Great bed, shower and comfort of the rooms.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Neighbours! Banging, sounded like they were renovating. Stopped when reception told them to keep it down but started again just before midnight! Grrrrr! Not Best Western's fault, some people are just really inconsiderate.

    Awesome reception staff. Upgraded which was great with younger kids. Nice, clean modern room.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not that bad but did get woken up at 4.45am by the baby next door, as the walls are a bit thin, but my husband didn't hear so maybe it was just the mothers ears picking up on it lol

    The room was great with lots of space for us and are 5 month old girl, loved that she had her own room, but with it being right above we could easily hear her. Very comfortable room and great location

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Toaster didn't work but I don't mind. Bed was two singles out togther so I could feel the split in the middle. Was a little annoying but no biggy.

    The staff were amazing! the unit was very clean.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: