Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Base Auckland 4.5 stars

229 Cnr Queen St & Darby St, 1010 Auckland, New Zealand

#138 of 161 hotels in Auckland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1767 hostel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.7

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Paid WiFi

    4.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was right next door to a club and the walls were paper thin and there are just somethings you don't want to hear! Only one socket, was disappointed for such a well known hostel

    The staff were brilliant and loved the roof top bar!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Sanctuary Dormitory Room (Female Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free WIFI from 7pm to 7am (weird).

    Great place to crash for a couple of nights. It’s a hostel, right in front and at the bar there is a lot of party, etc. going on. But - oh wonders - the rooms are heavenly quiet. Check in was superfast (I arrived in the middle of the night and all I needed was a bed).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The soundproofing of the room was very poor. There was a variety of bars next to it. The weekend night was very noisy, but the price and location were very satisfactory.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't have anything to say about it. Only the noise from the clubs.

    It was great. It was the best accommodation we have stayed in Auckland. Could hear the clubs near by but I was tired and just had the best sleep. The shower was amazing. Thanks for a lovely night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Sanctuary Dormitory Room (Female Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom, not so spacious and old.

    Based Auckland is in the heart of the city and just short walk away from Sky Tower and interesting places. Very convenient for me :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was pub near by. And the whole room was actually shacking like we were in a middle of dance floor. Couldn't sleep at least until 4am cuz of noise. Also we could hear really loud the shower of next door. Bathroom could be better

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was above the club next door and it was Friday night. It's like trying to sleep inside a subwoofer with bonus loud rattling from the toilet seat, bathroom door and windows. It seems this is an issue unique to that one room (201, lower floor) though as the corridor just outside was far quieter. Went to the desk at 1am to ask if there was anything they could do, but computers were down so they didn't know if they had any free rooms to move us to - gave us ear plugs instead which did very little. Last time check before I finally go to sleep was 3:20AM.. I guess the music stopped at 3:30 or maybe 4. We had gone to bed at 9 as we were both totally knackered. Asked for a refund and got told to email management... We'll see if that gets us anywhere.

    Cheap Nice and central Room wasn't exactly nice, but it was functional

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I mean its a backpackers, not a 5 star hotel! Can't really complain though to be Fair!

    Its a 24/7 backpackers, so it saved us from sleeping in the airport, can't complain really!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean at all, I took a room for 4 days no cleaning service no towls changing, carpet so dirty the cortans too no free internet unless you are in the lobby till 7pm only The Landry room so smelly the kitchen all the appliance are dirty

    Very young helpful staff Location is in the right area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is focus more on selling extras than taking care about base things. It gets noisy at night. I saw some homeless people getting in to use facilities.

    Ithas good location in the center. And its cheep :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms could have had more storage facilities / bed side light and looked less like an old tatty office. Kitchen was a long way from the room and neither that or the communal areas were conducive to socialising or feeling comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No curtain in the showers - My new clothes nearly got wet. The elevator on corner night wasn't working which make travelling to different floors a bit slower (Last Sunday one lift was only working so I waited nearly 10 minutes for the lift). Other than that it's good.

    The staff were really friendly and helpful especially Cam. Everything I needed in the kitchen is provided - Last time I came here there were cabinets but it's great that they took it down and used the coat hangers thing to hang our food bags so that it's not too congested. Bed was comfortable. Other guests were friendly too. Excellent accessibility to city and public transport & 10-15 min walk to Britomart train station. (just walk out the ground floor and voila you're there). I would really love to come back for the 4th time and would strongly recommend it to other people!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booking an expensive tour through the hostel then explaining the cancellation rules and fees isn't very cool. The smart approach would be to explain all possible cancellation or booking issues before someone spends their limited money, just like every other organisation does. If i lost half of my booking fee to the hostel for something out of my control, and something they have no association with, definitely wouldn't have heard the last of me. Be smart and nice to the people making you money!

    The beds, rooms and bathroom were pretty good for hostel life, so that was great. There was one specific older dude staff member that actually liked his job and always ready to help out, legend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slow checkout. We were leaving for the airport and my husband went to return the keys while I held the lift as we had lots of luggage. The receptionist took ages to complete checkout, causing inconvenience to us and others waiting for the lift. Also problem with shower head, needed tightening which we did.

    Excellent location. Check-in staff very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners (some of them backpackers doing it for free accomodation) and staff member enter into the private room with their own card to remove the trash just knocking and opening the door directly even if it was locked from the inside with us. No privacy at all. Also could have been more clean. Stains on the duvet, some hairs in the bathroom.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More coins for the washers :)

    Really friendly staff and a great social atmosphere. Facilities and Area was a typical base hostel. It was a really busy night and the staff had alot to do so was grateful for their help with eashing/luggage facilities. Not for the more fussy traveller, but it is a great location to see sk kilda.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in the room a little cold and can not be regulated and the wifi must be paid

    Great location and the room excellent. Everything clean and tidy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was great just freezing cold with no heater. Also the bathrooms could have been cleaner, although we were there during a very busy time and I understand it probably would be hard to keep up with that many young people there for a ed sheeran.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very noisy till early hours so found it hard to sleep but it's a perfect spot for party people

    Very close to everything that is needed, transport, shopping, food and more.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed had a spring poking thru, a/c loud and on 24/7, had to pay for wifi, only free wifi on rececption floor from 7am to 7pm with daily password change.

    Location, water pressure in shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets and showers were disgusting, also couldn’t shower without spare clothes getting wet. Also need to check beds if they have pillows when doing the rounds before someone is checked into a room

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean and tidy, with all the facilities ready for us. The kitchen and bathroom were clean. The room was spacious and comfortable, specially the double bed (we stayed in a familiar room). The location is great (in the center of Dunedin).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets in men's on the 6th floor could have done with some love and care from the cleaners

    Meeting with younger generation and enjoyed being able to help other from other nationalities that have never been to this part of the world.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Broken equipment and no lockers in my first Mixed Dorm.

    First few nights was in a Mixed Dorm room and was the worst experience I have ever had at a Hostel, as the room was SUPER cramped and had no lockers, along with everything falling apart! Then finally able to transfer to a Female Dorm room and the room was much cleaner and had lockers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Sanctuary Dormitory Room (Female Only)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place needs a serious deep clean - it’s so dirty. It’s massive, with a high turnover rate and therefore I don’t actually think it’s the cleaners fault particularly as I’m sure it’s impossible to keep up. It’s a hostel and therefore having basic facilities is fine, but there is absolutely no reason for it to be this dirty and frankly unhygienic.

    The location is in central in the city and therefore it’s convenient to get around. The staff were also friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel is smelly. The bed sheets and pillow case are dirty which you wont want to sleep in. However, you cannot complain with this cheap price. The kitchen is messy and dirty.

    It’s in the central of Auckland. Many restaurant and shop near by. Toilets are clear.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was stuffy, and not being able to open a window, even a little, made sleeping a little uncomfortable. Housekeeping didn't always announce themselves, and the toilets did run out of TP once, but was rectified before morning.

    The beds were great and the bathrooms were clean. Our room was easily accessible, and reasonably quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little cleaner like stairway areas, bathrooms serviced more frequently.

    Great staff, warm vibe of the place! Great breakfast! Diversity of people staying!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The walls in our room is not soundproof. We can hear the voice of occupants in the other even in moderate and soft tone. Our room was never made up in our 9 days stay even if we are repeatedly requesting

    Very convenient location. Near to everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi, cleanliness, setup, lounge area

    Free WiFi sucks, considering nz has one of the communications in the world, the base is an emvassment to NZ for WiFi

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Level four where I was accommodated in, the carpet was wet near the bathroom

    I like the location of co's it is in the CBD area walking distance to the big casino, sky city. Bus stop just right outside where i dropped from the airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon made it so muggy

    The bed was extra comfy, the place was amazing! The atmosphere was awesome! The balcony bar and club was amazing! The whole place is seriously awesome absolutely loved it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very dirty. The building needs to repairs.

    The hostel is near to the main places and attractions in Auckland. There is a bus stop a few meters of the hostel operated by SkyBus shuttle bus service. It’s a great option to go from the airport to the hostel and go back to the airport after staying there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That u needed photo Id to stay at the backpackers,i had a lot of different Id that I have used to check into some very expensive hotels with no issues,

    The base was close to town

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very tired and could do with a good clean. Noise from street below meant sleeping was difficult.

    Very handy location right off Queen Street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny double room, with dirty carpet and bathroom, uncomfortable bed. Fire alarm went off several nights in a row. Homeless people and beggars are peeing in front of entrance, elevators are dirty and half broken. Bed is impossible to sleep on. Mold and thick dust on a ceiling and vents.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleanliness was terrible, the showers and toilets were digusting, I know it's a backpackers but there should be some sort of hygiene standard, health department should take a visit. Would never step foot in this place again and will be telling everyone about my experience there so they don't make the same mistake we did.

    The location was the only good thing about this place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I realize places are more expensive here, but it still felt very overpriced for what you got. I stayed in a private room with no bathroom or windows. Only 2 showers and 1 toilet for the whole floor. And they didn't feel very clean, and in urgent need of updating (peeling paint...).for the price you pay you'd expect brand new and clean facilities. Reception is also closed 11-2 which felt a bit weird (even though there were some signs up, some of the staff were rude about it to people).

    Good location for the bus. Some of the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there's thermostat control in my unshared room. One night, central heating dipped too cold for comfort.

    Near to everything a traveller needs. Smacked in the heart of downtown Auckland, there's easy access to public transportation, shops, eateries, theatre, cinemas, tourist and historical attractions and banks. Most are reachable on foot!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Sanctuary Dormitory Room (Female Only)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning in room 715 was not working. Got really stuffy. In the end had to put 2 jandals in the door so that fresh airconditioning from hallway could come in.

    Breakfast lovely, mattress comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared Showers and toilets unlabelled and literally filthy. Moyes everywhere I. Showers Waiting areas and lounges dirty upstairs bar very small and smokers abounded. Isn’t this illegal? Enclosed and hot and unwelcoming. Main lounging areas just okay. Barely standard and worked as a quick overnight but for someone whose sixty. - wouldn’t want more than an overnights get on the way to somewhere else. Which is why I booked it.

    Great location relatively cheap for area - upgraded to single room which was neat , clean, even had toiletries and kettle etc. All requirements for price and standard in room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Middle lift not going to 2nd floor was a pain sometimes. 2 room service guys were not talkative, in fact just kept their earphones in and didn't return a hello. One even dropped my jeans on the floor when tidying the upper bed and just left them there.

    Very well organised. Great security throughout the building. Big array of activity choices and advice on hand. Good bathrooms with seperarte toilets.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I failed to remember that at the end of the day, it’s still a hostel. I had a bunch of young girls sit outside my door drinking into the wee hours thinking that my room was a certain guys room. Obviously, this is not Bases fault.

    Location is brilliant as was the price for the location. My room was exceptionally clean and whilst the room was small, it was exactly what I needed for the one night I was in Auckland.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning was awful. Walked in our room to a bin which had vomit in it. The fridge had drinks all inside off it, there was no lamp.

    Cheap drinks at the bar. Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows can't open so the room are too stuffy. The pillow case are yellowish. Bathroom door can't be locked and can't close properly.

    Best location, right in the middle of Queen St.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was a farce, with too few staff. The room was dirty - the shower hadn't been cleaned and the tile grout was disgusting. There was nowhere to hang clothes. The central heating was very loud and made sleep difficult. A shocking experience - I will never stay there again and definitely do not recommend it to anyone.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been cleaner, the showers were a bit gross. No check in staff till 2pm, which means everyone tries to check in at the same time. Creepy drug dealers out the front.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor was a little dated and could do with some refurbishment. The shows weren't the best not a clean as other Nomads but its due to the number of users against the number of showers. I had a private room and the fridge hummed and their was only one spare socket to charge your phone.

    Great central location in the heart of Queens Street. Staff were very nice and friendly and the backpackers was very welcoming for all guests. The airport bus drops you off just next to the backpackers so its a easy location to find.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Sanctuary Dormitory Room (Female Only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    when i was booking the accommodation it was written that there was wifi. it should be clearer on the bookings that is not for free. that didn't become a problem because i used McDonalds free wifi just across the road. ;]

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn’t recommend staying here if you’re travelling alone. The hostel is HUGE - 10 floors with about 10 dorm rooms on each floor and meeting people is just too much. Also, the main clientele were large groups of under 20s so if you’re not keen on clubbing this isn’t for you either. WiFi only available between certain hours and you have to pay a charge to use it outside of this time which is ridiculous when you think of how much money this huge chain must make.

    The hostel was clean (as can be with so many people) and lockers under bed was a nice touch. Also location is in the centre of town so good walking distance to lots of things.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers are a little dated, elevators were a little hit or miss too.

    Location is perfect, staff were very friendly and willing to help. Great deals at the bars above and below too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Bed broken- super soft - Smelly room - Bad ventilation in the room, not possible to open windows - Old and dirty - really expensive, payed 42 dollars for a bed in 4 person dorm! The most expensive and also worst hostel during my nz trip.

    +Close to sky bus + Relatively calm hostel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were super friendly and it was located smack bang in the middle of the city centre. Rooms were clean same as the showers. We had a fridge in the room too which was handy 🤗 Only thin that could be improved was the lifts. There were no stairs so you could be waiting 5 mins or so on a lift

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff (bar 1) were not friendly, the rooms were badly ventilated, the kitchen was quite dirty.

    Location was great, and it was easy to get to transport links for exploring/back to the airport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Queued for long time to both check in and out. The lifts were very slow in arriving The room was situated between the lifts and the showers- very noisy all night

    Room was basic but bed was comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very stuffy. No air ventilation at all. Didn't know alcohol was banned until we got there. Swipe unit to get into level two hallway to get to our room didnt work properly.

    Right in the heart of the city. Great location. Rooftop bar quite nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't have high expectations, but it didn't even meet that, not a single openable window and no air con made it barely bearable to stay in the room they provided. There was no free wifi which at the price I was paying I figured should have been included, considering I wasn't paying for a lot else except for location. I could have booked a hotel up the road for about $20 more, which to me seems ridiculous compared to the difference of standards.

    Location was good, the bar was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mildewy roof in bathroom. Shower wasn't clean. - had toothpaste (we hope) over the shower floor and used soap still in the shower, No ventilation in our room. Vomit in the elevator one morning. This place just needs some bleach sprayed around.

    Staff were friendly. The location was convenient. Flyers were left daily on our door to promote the daily events, which would be good if we were backpackers and wanted to mingle.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevators for accessing the hostel were always slow which was frustrating and it was not possible to use the stairs from the ground floor. Very big and busy hostel which doesn't help you to relax.

    Great central location in the city. Bed was comfortable. Easy to get to from the airport. The airport bus stops very near the hostel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main thing was my room smelt horrendous. Not a very clean hostel but bearable. If you are there to party then this is for you...but that’s all it’s good for it seemed

    24/7 reception.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is very small. Bathroom door needs some attention.

    Location is fantastic. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very convenient by Skybus from and to the airport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed against the wall. Also the carpet outside the ensuite was very wet from the shower. The Fluoro lights were very bright

    Location, staff. Bed was ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    for us, it was not a good accommodation for a couple, better for backpackers. there is no free wifi at the rooms, you have to pay for it and the gym is not a gym, it’s dirty and the treadmill does not work.

    good location, nice view from our room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the place was very unclean. our bedroom had not been vaccumed along with stained duvet covers, the carpet was actually disgusting.

    this is a great place to stay for amenities and the location, the staff are excellent and the rooftop bar serves good price drinks.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms and kitchen not always clean, some loud parties at the bar that could be heard from our room (to be expected at a backpackers' hostel on the weekend)

    Great location, very friendly staff, clean room, good atmosphere for young travellers

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There weren't enough clean pots/pans/cutlery in the kitchen because nobody did their dishes and it was a mess. One of the fridges was leaking stuff. My 4 bed dorm had just enough space for the beds and bags.

    The showers and toilets looked clean. Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air con in our room. Also as a packpackers with 3 bars it was most till early morning (though we didn’t mind)

    The social events at the location are great. Really good way to meet other backpackers and the staff were very friendly. Lots of good facilities to help backpackers with future travel etc Amazing location too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Sanctuary Dormitory Room (Female Only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lazy travellers not cleaning up after themselves in the communal kitchen. Check in time to accommodate early arrivals.

    Friendly and helpful efficient staff. Location was great. Comfy and clean room. Women Sanctuary Room and little lounge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathrooms! Bathrooms are like the one's you get to see on abandoned bus stations. No free wi-fi in bedrooms available. Terrible free wi-fi in the lodge area (7am-7pm). No coffee, no sugar! Kitchen closes at 10pm. The whole place is really crowded, it's like a tube station.

    Room was quite nice, spacious and neat. Solid non squeaky bunk beds. They have pinballs on property and a small gym. Heaps of comfy lazy bags in the lodge. Good place to meet new people and go out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I was initially put in was filthy, tatty, and the air conditioning wasn’t working. The first member of staff I dealt with was rude and unpleasant, though the second member of staff I dealt with was delightful and professional, and she sorted out the problem with my room immediately.

    One member of staff was very responsive when I complained the the air conditioning wasn’t working in my room, which was also filthy and tatty. She immediately upgraded me to a much better room, where I was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    How about everything? Can't believe that you still exist.

    The breakfast was disguting, the room was awfully dirdy with bugs, the shared bathroom and toilet was absolutely disgusting. I will never go back there, and I will strongly derecommand anyone to go.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a room next door to a dorm and the walls are wafer thin therefore it was very noisy. The group next door didn't quieten their conversations until we requested them to do so. We had had enough by midnight.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed - uncomfortable and too short for my husband and he is under 6ft. The shared bathroom was not the cleanest but I think that has to do with the people staying there. Too noisy - can hear everything from the room next door and in the corridor.

    The location was great and the air-conditioning in the room was great. The towels provided were thick and fluffy. The staff at reception were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers and toilets weren’t very clean, felt very unhygienic

    Good room and good staff around! Made the stay very pleasant and it’s in a great location at a great price!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lifts were very badly organised and you had to wait to much for them. Too much advertising of their tour services. They could try to encourage a little more meetings for travelling among the guests.

    Centrally located. Good kitchen facilites. Bed linen provided for no extra cost. It's a good hostel for being as busy as it is.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Base Auckland traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: