Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chalet Eiger 5 stars

534 Gillespie Place, 2730 Taupo, New Zealand

#19 of 71 hotels in Taupo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 41 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    10

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room, extremely clean. We areived to complimentary wine and a cheese and fruit board. Wondeful space and the jaccuzi tub was such a treat after a long day of driving!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Couple
    • King Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not i can think of, i booked in last minute before a long weekend, so price a bit high than usual.

    nice garden and lake view, clean and modern. we have lots chat,feel like a sweet home. food fruit and drink and lots options to choose. breakfast is awesome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    The room was stunning. The room is hooked up to a radio which plays through speakers in the ceiling. The hosts are incredibly friendly, welcoming and helpful. The bathroom is spectacular. We were greeted with a complimentary cheese and fruit platter. The mini bar contents are complimentary. The breakfast in the morning is excellent and Nina will cook breakfast for you on request on top of the continental bar. The house is incredibly beautiful and the views from the rooms are great! The beds and comfortable. My favourite part is that I got to meet and hang out with Bella the dog who lives there. I can’t rate this place highly enough!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful ambience created by friendly, attentive hosts (and Bella, the dog). Delicious food. All the intimacy of a "B&B", with the luxurious feel of a top hotel. Everything made for a very memorable and happy anniversary treat, away from home. Thoroughly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com had a "glitch" and we were unable to book for a second night

    Peter and Nina were wonderful hosts, it was like staying with good friends. The accommodation was outstanding and Bella the dog was a total bonus. Nothing to complain about at all. This is the only place worth staying if visiting Taupo. Thanks Gina and Terry

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all to dislike.

    Chalet Eiger was just lovely. Peter and Nina were fabulous hosts. Very welcoming and friendly. The property is very modern and the attention to detail down to the decor is spot on. The room was spacious and had all the modern luxuries you could hope for - heated bathroom floors and flash lighting and music controls. The room we had included complimentary mini bar, we were greeted by a wonderful welcome spread of cheeses and fruits and a lovely bottle of champagne to congratulate us on our honeymoon :) Nina made a delicious breakfast. Would highly recommend Chalet Eiger if you are driving to Taupo and so have a car to get into town... or if you aren't and don't mind paying the taxi to and from town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was too much trouble. Drinks and nibbles on arrival were served with smiles and friendliness. We had dinner with Peter and Nina on 2 nights and the food was delicious. The accommodation was fabulous - loved the under floor heating in the bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful scenic location away from busy roads and town lights. Nice dark quiet room. My husband was especially rapt that he could watch his beloved Australian rules football team play on the tele. Nice touch being welcomed with chilled wine and a cheese platter. Nina cooked the most beautiful breaky and was shared in good company with our other host Peter. Congratulations you're doing a lovely job. Best wishes we'll be back for sure.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We hadn't realised this property was a good 10 minute drive from town. That was initially disconcerting but ultimately immaterial. We would have liked to have been able to show up for breakfast when it suited us, rather than needing to give a time the night before.

    Comfortable, spacious private room and a very nice breakfast with convivial company meant we enjoyed this accommodation more than we originally expected on arrival. Our hosts were friendly and pleasant to be around. My husband enjoyed his first experience of staying in a lodge.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING!

    this is a 7* establishment. Our hosts were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed home cooked Thai food with lovely wines (very reasonably priced dinner). The breakfast was amazing - all freshly sourced. Our room with balcony, over looking the bay, was sumptuous and the shower was amazing! Thank you.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, i found the bed and pillow hard but my husband found it comfy!

    Hosts were welcoming, dinner and breakfast was amazing! They made us feel so special on our wedding anniversary!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very welcoming and friendly hosts. Excellent food and really good company. A most enjoyable stay. It is a very nice spot to relax and take in the beautiful view of the lake.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hosts were very accommodating & friendly and the location would be fantastic during the warmer seasons of the year.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect hosts.Superb rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Purpose built to a very high specification. Immaculately presented.unexpected extras not usually seen.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wonderful accommodation!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that the bed was fairly firm.

    Quiet, kind hosts, great breakfasts!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ultra modern computer controlled light and sound system. It took me too long to work out😊

    The food ,wine , Peter and Nina were fantastic

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great facility and owners. They made for a great stay with excellent meals and hospitality.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge super comfortable bed, quiet surroundings, excellent breakfast & warm, friendly hosts. Very highly recommended to everyone!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Great location, friendly staff. Well looked after.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    comfy bed food fresh and beautifully presented

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Girlfriend spent all my money

    Bed and jacuzzi were brilliant and the hospitality exceptional

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was outstanding : hospitality, a lot of small details, very clean, excellent food etc. It is just the perfect location to stay in Taupo. Big thank you to Neve and Pam.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    Friendly hosts, nice rooms, tidy.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The whole experience

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26