Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City Lodge - Backpackers Accommodation 5 stars

150 Vincent Street, 1001 Auckland, New Zealand

#49 of 161 hotels in Auckland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1127 hostel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Paid WiFi

    4.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    You need to pay for internet, but for 20 Dollars you have good internet for 7 days. Not to bad at all. Not so soundproof.

    Great value for the price. Lots of students living there for longer periods. Good kitchen facilities. Rooms were small, bed OK, but everything was there what you needed. Close to city centre. Great restaurants and coffeeplaces in the neighbourhood

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet roll holder was broken and keep falling off. The beds were unstable and kept moving. Also wasn’t happy they charged for parking.

    Location close to queen street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints! But bring a pair of earplugs as the Auckland nightlife can get a bit noisy - this is absolutely no fault of the hotel though.

    Location is great and for the price point I was definitely impressed by the standard of the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Rooms were serviced every day. I especially liked the environmentally friendly attitude; free enviro-friendly washing powder, worm farm buckets in the kitchen, enviro-friendly cleaning products and the option of having towels replaced in your room each day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is limited and expensive. Ambulance & Fire services are nearby - light sleepers be prepared.

    I stayed in the double room.It is clean, basic and right in town. Also good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    a double bed against the wall.

    The location was ideal for our event. It was clean and tidy, next time will get twin beds as we don't like a double against a wall. Small but was all we needed for one night. We will use this venue again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow cleaning,staff had not cleaned or refill soup in the room probably sometimes

    Room looks neat,have kitchen area for cooking, game room for table tennis and lounge area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our bed could have been better, you could tell it was very old and you could feel the springs and the impressions in the mattress because it has been used so much. I woke up feeling achy and for how much we paid for the room i would have liked a more comfortable bed. The bed was on wheels which isn't ideal when sitting propped up watching TV as the bed rolls forward and you always have to move it back. When we asked for the room to be serviced not much was done. We just about had enough toilet roll and they didn't change the sheets they just made the bed for a 7 night stay in a superior queen room. We were not aware when we booked that we would have to pay for the wifi, it was $20 for a week but the overall price was quite a lot so would have assumed it was included. You could also only have one device connected at a time and so when you wanted to swap devices you had to log out and then log in. It was a lengthy process. It is also located close to the police and fire station so there is a lot of sirens going off at all times of day. When we stayed there was a building project going on and the noise was quite loud from that.

    We really liked the staff, they were always friendly and said hello, always happy to help. The kitchen was really clean and well stocked, we saw the cleaners in there every morning. The common area was nicely set out and would have been great for socialising if it was the right kind of customer. We used the laundry facilities and they were $4 for a large wash and then we had the option to use the tumble dryers or to have an airing dryer in our room, was nice to see them being eco friendly. Our room was fairly big and the bathroom was clean and modern. We had two lamps next to our bed so we had nice lighting to use. The location was okay, it was about a 15 minute walk to the city centre and 20 minutes to Britomart train station. Overall a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    May be if water bottles were provided.

    The location was great, near to the sky bus stop within a walking distance. It’s quite worth the money for the stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a very social atmosphere. Blinds do not really prevent light from entering the room. No free Wi-Fi, quite expensive.

    Billiard and ping pong in the kitchen.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and no shampoo conditioner available Could do with updated face cloths

    Lovely tea and coffee Close to queen st skybus Shower was great pressure and very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was run down. Also very hot and stuffy (tho they were in the middle of installing aircon while we were staying there! So could be a different story now)

    It was in a great location easy walk to Queen Street hidden down a nice quite street. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I asked about a Parking spot, they were all taken. They could've referred me to the Wilson Parking lot. I had to find a park myself. The Police were very noisy, being on the corner of the same street

    It was comfortable and clean. The Staff were nice. Close walk to most of the main attractions of Auckland central.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laundry was downstairs but you had to pay to use it

    The room i was in had a double bed that was so comfortable. Shower small but plenty of hot water. The rooms are compact but perfect for what i needed it for as a solo traveller. Downstairs was a huge shared area incorporating a large kitchen, dining area and sested area. This area also included a table tennis table, pool table, tv and pinball machine. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Nothing was a problem for them. There were items you could borrow if you needed them eg clock radio, drying rack. Location was excellent. Short walk to shops and close enough to bus and ferry stations to walk. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Better than many luxury hotels that we’ve stayed at, very clean, tidy, well kept, great communal kitchen facilities, basic amenities in the room but everything that you need including proper fridge, kettle, tea bags etc, great en-suite shower, comfy bed and an opening window for fresh air, really great, also super easy to walk to the centre, only a few minutes away to the shops, sky tower etc, we didn’t use public transport, just walked everywhere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is not equipped with AC! Not even a simple ventilation system, nothing! No parking was provided, so I had to leave my car on the street. Bed is very bad with cheapest mattress ever I've seen. Generally, room was dirty. Do not recommend to stay there, avoid if you can.

    Location is ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet connection was intermittent and in the room the signal was very poor. In addition to that you had to log in anew every time the connection was cut off. The staff were helpful and friendly, anyway lots of time was wasted because of this

    A hostel with perfect location in the center of the city. Clean with basic facilities yet clean and with nice staff. Ideal for visitors who intend to explore central Auckland

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking available eventhough I asked for it days before arriving. And there is not much they can do for you once their parking lot is full.

    Very professional staff. We left a bottle when checking out, and they contacted us to give it back to us, or keep it for charity. Others would have simply gotten rid of it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room very small for 2 people. Didn't like the double bed against the wall, very hard to get in and out of. Being charged $20 a night for parking!

    Good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Part of the reason I chose this place was because it said it had parking, but when we arrived the park was full and we were told there was no room unless we had reserved parking separately - I didn't see any mention of the need to ask for parking during the booking process. Fortunately we found another car park close by, but we did have to pay for that. Those of us who shared a room found it fair value for money. But obviously it was far less good value for the friend who had to take a double room for himself. We didn't see a common room of any sort, although luckily we didn't need one as we weren't looking to spend much time here or meet new people.

    We were only there for one night to recover from the flight from the UK. It absolutely did the job as a clean, calm place to regroup. Bed was comfy, shower was good and shower gel was provided, lift worked fine, room had enough light, decor is fresh, double room was indeed ok for two people. Tea making facilities were nice, including fridge. Nice leafy and quiet location, close enough to walk to town (three able bodied people in their 20s, moderately active types). Staff on the front desk were calm and friendly. We were a couple and one single person. I'd definitely come here for the same purpose again, as a couple or with a friend who didn't mind sharing a room, for the sake of making it worth the money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room configuration forced one side of double bed to be against a wall. Perhaps due to rubbish collection being due waste bins in communal kitchen were very smelly, on our return for further stay two nights later they were empty and fine.

    Very friendly, helpful staff. Reasonably close to Auckland centre. Reasonable value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, so it was hot in the room. There was a fan, but in the closet so we only find out the last day. The bed is a bit small for two people. It was also noisy at night...

    Good location, it is a convenient place to stay. This hotel has the best price we could find in the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to everything.Town, The Sky Tower and bout half an hour walk to the Spark Arena. Comfy room and good to have own shower and toilet. Good staff too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Only 5 mins from Sky Tower, restaurants. Brendan at reception was so friendly and helpful. Room was compact but quite comfortable. Great to have ensuite for the price. Huge kitchen/games room/ lounge. Everything needed to self cater. Highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rates are a little bit high!

    Good location, near Queen st and the Skybus stop. The room was perfect for two nights; complymentary coffee and tea in room, minibar, kettle, towels...very good option! Friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is fine, but I can't help but feel like I should have just stayed at a cheaper place, as the price is pretty high for what you get. You have to pay extra for the wifi, per person. The room was a little hot, but in their favor, I did not see the available portable fan in the closet. It may have been perfect otherwise. If we paid less, the place would have been outstanding.

    Staff was very helpful and the location was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That WiFi isn’t free, but Auckland Public Library is a 10 minute walk away so I went there.

    This is the third time I’ve stayed here, it’s so convenient to everything. 8 minute walk to Skybus stop in Queen Street is a bonus!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    decent sized room with a clean and well maintained bathroom. very low noise, access anytime with a key fob for the external doors. didnt try out the kitchen / chill area in the basement. more of a private backbacker / hostel than a hotel but perfectly adequate. 24 hr store over the road. parking is limited on site (about 5 parks) but if you can get a park on the street, go for it...just check the parking meter. id stay again anytime.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi. Room was very warm and there were no shampoo or soaps. Also hooks in the bathroom needed attention.

    Clean. Staff were friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tiny shoebox room , very very stuffy , can not open windows very far for air , did find a fan which we had to ballance on suitcase to use .all night , Wardrobe took up valuable floor space . Very exspensive stuffy shoebox .

    Location not too bad

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked for a car park.Didn't get a response so assumed was ok.Arrived at hotel and found they had no car parks left. Would have been good to have been advised beforehand.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited city lodge parking. Needed to pay for street parking or other parking Needed the fan on to keep the room cool.

    Very clean, helpful, quiet, great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I asked for my genius late check out (2 hours) and it was authorized, but during check in I was informed that I only have 1,5 hours. Even when I showed the e-mail (which unfortunatelly was in Portuguese) they were very inflexible. It made me upset but I complied and left just before 12:00 a.m., otherwise I would have to pay an extra fee.

    We stayed in a private room. It was clean and we had a fridge, some coffee and tea. The kitchen was huge and clean. Location was quite good, close enough to the main attractions. It was quiet at night but a bit busy during the day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a bit noisy and traffic from street below is clearly audible as windows are a bit old. Beds are not really comfortable and need updating.

    Room was very clean and in good condition. Staff are really awesome, providing excellent service and are happy to provide recommendations about what to do in Auckland. Bag storage available, arrived there in the early morning to drop off our bags after the flight.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was overpriced at over $200 a night for a VERY basic room. The room was tiny and noisy. There were no hand towels, budget toilet paper and a very old bed that felt like you were sleeping in a boat. And for this price you should provide free wifi.

    Location and the lovely staff are the only good thing about this property.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've booked a parking more thsn a month in advance and that was missed by staff. Eventually I just parked on an open one as there was NO street parking either and was charged $20 for the night. Very noisy and no proper airflow in room. Bed needs replacing. Carpet is sticky and dirty. Trouble opening the doorknob- send like it has been forced and now don't work well.

    Very disappointing. Won't stay there again or recommend it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Location. Everything was in walking distance. Took bus 5 from the airport. Was dropped off at stop 4 and it is about 10 minutes walk from thete

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service could have been better

    The private fridge, TV and coffee, tea and (coffee) milk in the twin room I booked for myself for 1 night to recover after a 30+ hours travel to NZ. And the free WiFi!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location perfect and staff accommodated us by keeping our luggage until later in the evening. Lots of information about Auckland and things to do while visiting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building has very noisy neighbours. Room was right by lift. No alarm clock Reception was shut over night, despite being advertised as having a 24/7 reception.

    The actual room is exactly as described, nice and clean. Location is easy to find

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was very little ventilation. The windows only opened a fraction and didn't let any air in. Small and cramped.

    Security service, we came in after hours and staff were extremely helpful with giving us directions for parking and also access to our room and the building.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A soap holder in the shower would be good. Also, a second stool in the main room.

    Friendly staff, room clean and well maintained. Excellent value for money for Auckland.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning! Auckland was HOT and the room was tiny with no air conditioning. We booked out after 2 nights as we couldn’t stand the heat. The staff didn’t bat an eyelid.

    This place is comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free internet.

    It was basic, value for money, clean and comfortable. Location was good. Close to everything. No ceiling fans or aircondtioning. On hot days it could get stuffy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no AC at all. It was almost 30 degrees and very difficult to sleep just with a small fan.

    Location was close enough to walk around the city. Nice kitchen facility and parking space (limited) even we had to pay extra.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The show door was broken. We booked parking but there was no secure parking available. As we were in town to see a concert and didn’t have a lot of time to spare it was a real pain and was stressful trying to work out where to park.

    This is a very cheap place to stay in Auckland. It is centrally located. Room is small but has everything you need.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shampoo/soap combo would have preferred separate and a conditioner, also this was located outside the shower so floor got really wet needing to access it. No free wifi

    Nice clean secure rooms with friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy at night. Sounded like the other residents were right outside the window despite being on 3rd floor. Also very close to noisy road

    Great location, not too far away from anything. Nice clean and comfortable, good facilities in kitchen.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked and paid for parking, but there were no spaces. Had to park in the no parking zone.

    Basic but a private room and ensuite for around the $100 is very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expansive parking, a bit far from Auckland center. Many floors, only one slow elevator. Most of the place is great.

    The staff were very helpful. Facillities also great and clean (room also). quite, and nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great twin room with an en-suite, fridge, counter top with stool, a small wardrobe and even a fan which I thought was a nice touch. The room was made up each day too which was brilliant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was unfortunately too soft for me to have a good sleep.

    Nice staff, clean room, small but with everything you need, super convinient to be able to relax and take a shower before our late flight. Good location between Ponsonby and the city center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the wifi there was an extra fee to be payed (luckylly many bars and restaurants have free wifi).

    The room was very nice and clean although a bit small. It was everything there. We didn't have breakfast. It's easy to walk to the harbour and city center because it's near.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con in rooms, got far too hot, only 5 parking spaces available so had to find parking elsewhere,

    Very clean, common/games room downstairs, location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking area very small, it did the job but hard when full, book well in advance. Rooms stuffy, hard to get air to circulate even with the fan but not entirely unbearable. Still had a great night sleep.

    Great location, within walking distance to the city without being right in the centre of it, staff available 24/7 which helped for our 3am check in, clean rooms, big enough for our 3 night stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too samll to fit 4 people with large luggage. There is only 1 elevator, so it takes some times for waiting.

    Soft bed. Clean bathroom. Good staff, he recommended us a great steak restaurant. Very big kitchen.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel was actually as expensive as nicer hotels, we had to pay 20$ for parking and we had to pay for wifi. In general, there are better hotels for similar price and more facilities.

    The hostel was clean and the staff was friendly. Also, the common kicthen is well equipped.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location in the centre just near the Skycity was very comfortable. Skybus to the airport stops only in 500 m. A lot of bars, restaurants, money exchange and grocery shop within 10 minutes walk. Place is nice and clean. Kitchen is incredible!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was above reproach but to get a perfect 10 your reception staff need to be less shy, more outgoing and friendly.

    this was the perfect place for a quick overnight stay as in our case but we have agreed that we will stay more often and longer each time we come to Auckland from now on .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very close to city, walking distance to Skytower just 10 mins. Very clean and environmentally friendly, they even had a bucket for the Wormfarm! Beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ac but the room got kind of cool with the windows and fan. Maybe a second fan will help future guests.

    Convenience to queen street and CBD. Staff wonderful and you can’t beat the price. Game room was a plus and the kitchens too. Met all of my expectations and very kid friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The complimentary fruit basket in reception was empty, maybe remove it if there is nothing to put in there. The beds on wheels were a little bit odd - I understand why they are that way but it's better if they could be locked into place so you don't lean against the wall and roll away- but I didn't check to see if I could lock them myself. The walls are pretty thin, was woken up twice at night by noises from the next room.

    The room was lovely and comfortable, I was surprised by the herbal teas and coffee and hot chocolate provided. The room was spotlessly clean, well done to your cleaners. The soap dispenser for the shower is located OUTSIDE the shower but there was plenty in there and it's not that hard to reach. The make up remover towel is a great idea ! First time I have ever seen that. Overall, I would recommended this place to anyone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff was friendly and informative. we arrived in the AM, after a long journey and could use the shared facilities to change and take a shower way before our check-in, which was very refreshing. i also made a mistake in the booking (booked the room for the wrong dates at first), but the staff helped me by changing it before our arrival, which saved us a few NZDs. location is superb!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bunk bed was rather noisy when turning the side and the window had to be open to get at least some air into room. Small room for three people.

    Ensuite shower and toilet in a triple room (we were three adults). Close to SkyBus stop (airport to town and back)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My window in the bathroom didn't close but the staff were really good at finding a solution ( full hotel that night) and I had a very comfortable experience overall.

    It was a really lovely hotel. Room was very spacious and lots of light. Very quiet and not too far from the CBD (walking distance to everything). I also love the steps they are taking to save the environment and trying to reduce pollution.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was on wheels and moved all the time, which was a bit weird. Activity guide in common room has some amusing errors (that building isn't in Christchurch - it's not even in NZ- and there's no river called the 'Canterbury River'). But no major complaints

    No frills but everything you need in a clean, tidy facility. Communal areas of good standard too. Staff friendly and helpful. Much better than your average backpackers!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator taked ages to come down cos everybody was using kitchen downstairs. Finally we found the stairs fortunately (they were outside)

    Nice, clean rooms. Very good location and quite quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is purchased per GB

    The rooms and bathrooms are very clean. The location is great as you can walk to CBD. Easy to access from airport. Extremely good value overall.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I arrived at night by airport shuttle and it was a bit hard to know the way to the property from Aotea Square. The easiest way is to walk back along Town Hall towards Grand Millennium Hotel and walk up along Vincent Street.

    The cleanliness of the property, convenient location (between Aotea Square, K-Road and Ponsonby) and friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are compact but very efficiently designed - complete with wardrobe, fridge, desk & TV. Loved the bright lighting for reading at night time. The bathroom cabinet is quite big (therefore a big mirror - girls would love it!). Everything is so clean that you'd feel bad if you make a mess (ha ha). Two thumbs up for the large communal kitchen and coin-operated laundry... it's got everything travellers need. P.S. - Their Halloween decoration was awesome, too!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, fabulous staff, clean single private room with a clean ensuite znd a surprisingly comfortable bed. This place even had an elevator. Excellent value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too uncomfortable. Also there was none toiletries, wall mount fom/ shampoo container was even empty.

    Staff at reception very nice, location aswell

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not being able to have a carpark booked/confirmed via booking.com and then having to pay extra for the carpark. Even though I had put in the notes of the booking I required a carpark, it hadn't been booked for me. Thankfully there was a spare space. Also I had no recollection of this extra cost for the carpark being mentioned on booking.com at the time of booking. With the bed being against the same wall as the door, the corridor light shines under the door and it is very bright. I ended up having to put a towel across the gap to stop it from coming through and interrupting my sleep.

    It was a simple and clean room with everything I needed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise early morning in corridor because i was next door to reception

    Great stay. Slept well. Excellent central location. This is the 3rd time staying here and i will stay again. All staff were excellent and totally focused on giving superb service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a bit too Spartan in decor but that is hardly a big deal. Have to keep blinds shut as so close to adjacent apartments.

    Very helpful staff. Spartan room but perfectly comfortable with a fridge and TV.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small.

    The place is well located giving an easy access to any Auckland location. All basic facilities are there and you can leave your bag at the reception once you checked out.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: