Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Carlton Mill 3.5 stars

17 Bealey Avenue, Merivale, 8014 Christchurch, New Zealand

#116 of 163 hotels in Christchurch

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 639 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    enjoyable and handy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom bath and show looks as though recent up grade. Slip mat provided but as one still has to step and over bath rim to have a shower felt there should be a hand rail as well. Tricky exercise for an elderly person.

    Rooms are always clean and warm on arrival.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit confusing at first where the hotel was (behind the restaurant) and two driveways at entrance so a bit confusing there (one leads to apartments).

    Nice to have a bath in the room and good kitchenette

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Not bad, have stayed at better places for similar cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi kept dropping out while watching netflix every half hour or so. Laundry use is overpriced.

    The bed was comfortable and there is a private bathroom & kitchen.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Warm, inviting, comfortable. Room alot nicer than online photos.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fridge was very noisy woke me about 3am making a vibrating sound. Had to turn it off.

    Room was warm when we got to hotel. Pillows were amazing and extra blankets as well as an electric blanket.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Clean, great location and very good value for our one night...
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found it difficult to find reception for the first time in the dark. The folk in the next room were a bit noisy.

    Clean, great location and very good value for our one night stay at short notice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    It was one of the best place for me, peaceful and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish the laundry area wouldn't close at 9pm. Wish there was more ventilation in the laundry room for the dryer not to cause moisture everywhere. Wish power plugs are more visible and easy to find. Otherwise, it was a great place.

    As above, it has exceeded my expectations plus the booking deal made it really worth the experience. Very comfortable bed, very approachable staff, and clean room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for my needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were fantastic; even noticed I was heading out walking in the rain and called out to ask if I needed an umbrella......sometimes it's the little touches like this that make all the difference. Thank you. Resturant attached was great too. Had an amazingly delicious meal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Very close to the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything we didn’t like. Would stay here again!

    Very close to the centre of town. Rooms were nice and quite back from the main road so couldn’t hear traffic. Really enjoyed our stay!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    Handy location, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet in the room was unacceptably dirty and the stale dirty smell from it permeated the room, as did the damp, fungus smell in the bathroom.

    Handy location, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, with great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, with great communication from booking through to checkout. The location is excellent - right in the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    Carelessness, need new room attendants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not cleaned! After an evening out we got back to the room where there was a body odor smell coming from the bed as it turned out had a previous guest clothes in it. I'm not sure how a seemingly made up bed has a clients clothes in it. The entire experience ruined our vacation. Since the reception closes at 10 pm and doesn’t open again until 7 am we were unable to switch rooms and stayed in the dirty room. To top it off in the morning after a restless night the coffee plunger was dirty as well!

    The gentleman at the front desk was very attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely accommodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist I was greeted with didn't really know how to multi-task and there were times the receptionist desk was unmanned and required a small bit of wait time before the person came back.

    Comfortable beds, really nice bathrooms, and lovely location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hitel carlton Mill and will definitely stay again in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor in the bathroom got swamped after we had both had a shower. Those partition doors over the bath don’t really work that well, the water from the shower leaks out and goes everywhere. We stayed in room 36 and I asked for more towels as we used ours to mop up the water on the floor. I did let reception know when I rang for more towels. Otherwise everything else was EXCELLENT. We will definitely be back to stay.

    The size of the room. The bathroom including the lighting. Strawberry Fare restaurant was excellent, we ate there twice. A real bonus for the hotel. Fantastic parking. Price was excellent too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Free parking is a big plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though there are lots of power sockets, none was at the bedside so it’s important to prepare power bank. The glass shower shield above the bathtub does not close tight so water leaks all over the bathroom floor after each shower, a large bath towel is needed on the floor at all time.

    Free parking is a big plus. Kitchenette was well equipped. Plenty of power sockets. Large bathroom with best ever shower pressure. International TV channels available. Good value for the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    An elevator would be useful, especially when the room is on the third floor.

    Convenient location with a short walk to city centre, and very friendly staff (special thanks to Amir).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    wish all hotels/motels had staff like these people! Made us feel at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really? There was nothing at all that we didn’t like.

    Staff were extra friendly, allowed us to store our luggage earlier than book in time, happily explaining how to get from A to Z the easiest way, just jovial and happy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.0
    Great location, but overall the whole hotel needs allot of TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was very little clothes storage space, very pleased hadn't booked in for more than one night. After one of us had a shower, the bathroom became a full wet room, and didn't dry for several hours, the bathroom still had hairs from previous people (wasn't our hair colours). Due to the busy road near by, there was allot of road noise, the room didn't have any soundproofing against this. The bed and pillows, felt old and soft, it was also odd in a double room to only have one chair to enjoy the deck. Overall it was tired room, needs TLC.

    The location was excellent for going into town, great to have parking (car spaces a little narrow). Lovely little balcony for the sun, (pity only one chair in a double room). Great to have tea/coffee station in the room and the ability to make toast etc. Nice to have a restaurant on the door step.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Exceptionally clean and pleasant stay..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t find any breakfast menu in room, would have been nice to know what was on offer.

    Check in was seemless, very pleasant welcome by front desk. Room was exceptionally clean which was a pleasure after a long day of traveling. Check out was quick and easy! Would definitely consider staying here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Loved Christchurch in general pity so much damage by the quake a while ago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Road noise from hoons along Bealey Avenue on Friday and Saturday night apparently a regular event in the area.

    Really enjoyed our stay. Across the road from Hadely Park and Botanic Gardens were also close. Short walk to city centre. Staff were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.3
    Location was good right next to hagley park.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities were a little tired and the parking was minimal in fact I was parked in after my first night and had to climb through from the passenger seat to access my car when another guest parked in what was clearly not an actual carpark.

    Location was good right next to hagley park.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    Overall OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smelt a little damp and shower holder was broken Booked room wasnt available (superior studio) small discount received but would have liked original room as had a bath

    Small balcony

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place for us to stay
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Off road so noise for city ok except for Saturday nights boy racers, sure that's the same for a lot of Christchurch though

    Family appartment spacious and relaxing , evening sun thro balcony windows into room and just looked like in pictures. Hardly heard other motel guests. Easy walk to park and city. Large bathroom. Good room service. And connecting door to good restaurant with amazing puddings. Stayed as child had hospital procedure and then for a couple of days recovery and lovely relaxing place to be. Didn't feel like being in a motel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    Central location in Christchurch
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All good

    Central location. Has the benefit of being right by indepently run restaurant which has great food. From breakfast to late dinner. Really recommend ‘Strawberry Fair’.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.4
    The room was a non smoking room but had an extremely strong...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a non smoking room but had an extremely strong smell of cigarettes from the previous guest. The staff didn’t notice the smell when it was brought to their attention, but did facilitate a move to another room, which was a smaller room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Awesome! Loved it! Really great location handy to everywhere!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No sky tv but not important as I only wanted to watch tv really late at night.

    Great staff - friendly and helpful! Onsite restaurant delicous food and their staff were great as well. Really happy with my stay here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed every minute of it.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing really. It is not always easy to get out of the restaurant by car, but that is not the hotel's fault, it is just where it is situated.

    We liked the staff which was very friendly and extremely helpful and our room was beautifully cleaned every day. The restaurant in the building (which was leased by another company) was nice and good food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    I asked for a quiet room and I was given a room on the third...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a quiet room and I was given a room on the third level, at the back of the hotel. It was quiet, but it also had a balcony with an outlook, which I appreciated. The food at the restaurant in the same building was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable bed. Convenient location near Hagley Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The styling was quite dated. The traffic noise was loud. It was a pretty basic hotel room especially for the price. Shared balcony.

    The bed and pillows were very very comfortable. The room was clean and welcoming. The internet worked well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    We arrived pretty knackered at this place but the staff was...
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet has seen quite a few spills already and was sticky in some places. However, it wasn't that much of a deal. Room only had a small door to a 'balcony' which was located between two sets of stairs - meaning, sitting outside wasn't really a deal and we didn't get much light. However, for staying to sleep and shower and just having a night in, this place was great.

    We arrived pretty knackered at this place but the staff was amazing, super friendly and helpful. Very accommodating and even called in later on to make sure that we were all right. Definitely the best staff I've experienced at a Hotel in forever. The room was nice, bed comfy and bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay - great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door to the hallway is not thick enough and it can be a bit noisy when other guests don't pay attention...

    Good location, clean room and extremely friendly staff :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    Good location, friendliest staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that wasn’t too grand was that with my room, there was shared balconies and the people next door to me must have been having a disagreement so they were talking very loudly outside my room. There wasn’t much of a noise barrier but mainly it was pretty quiet because it was school holidays and there were mainly families staying in the hotel.

    The bed was comfortable, the reception and cleaning staff are kind and nice people. The location was only a 20 minute walk from the Canterbury Museum and the Botanical Gardens. The room was large and there was a desk provided. Another positive was the restaurant that is located in the hotel was very professional and tasty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.6
    Everything I needed for a week-long stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nicely presented modern spacious room. Clean and tidy. Comfortable chairs. Good kitchenette space and desk. Quiet room and spacious bathroom with good hot water.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    Everything! Especially the location! Literally 2-3 minutes from hagley Park that nearly always has something going on! The restaurant attached strawberry fayre is amazing too! Great food especially the deserts! The room we had was awesome really spacious,clean and really powerful shower! Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.3
    All the staffs in this hotel are very friendly and helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the staffs in this hotel are very friendly and helpful, the receptionist are very thoughtful and changed our room to ground floor as we carried 4 luggage. Location is convenient to down town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.2
    A great place to stay at
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit far from the city, but a great bonus that if you walk far, at least the view is great! It is such a great place I came again.

    We were promoted to the suit which was really nice of the hotel. The hotel is just near the park, great for a walk (but far from the center). staff extremly nice and helpful. big rooms, great shower.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Adequate for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room smelled of smoke and was very dark, we needed the lights on all the time - I guess the location of the room was a definite factor in this. Obviously other guests smoked outside on the landing and the smoke has just filtered into the room. The beds could do with updating as they had definite sways in them.

    Nice restaurant, convenient etc - handy to town, park etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    No much of a view.

    Comfortable room. The guy at the desk went to a lot of trouble to get sky sport on our tv. Great to see a toaster as well as a kettle.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Excellent, great value for money and exceptional staff service.
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Property access, but this is beyond the control of the hotel...

    The reception staff were exceptional, we had the most amazing service, especially from Felicity, she was supreme. Thank you for your fantastic service and assistance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.3
    Spacious room with great restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed aircon!! No fan or aircon in room and window didn't open very well - was very warm at night. Location - slightly too far - half hour plus walk to shops/restaurants

    Comfy, spacious room with lots of amenities. Restaurant upstairs was a separate business but amazing food!! Also parking on site was a bonus and night time fob access was very useful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    Everything was perfect we stay there 2 times
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect we stay there 2 times It is not fancy maybe need to renewal and change the door lock but it was a good price, good food, very nice stuff. Thanks you so much can wait to come back again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Absolutely perfect for our requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    From our point of view everything was just fine.

    It was perfect for our purpose - staff Xmas function in town. The room was spacious and quiet. The in room facilities were great for making a cup of coffee to preparing a light snack if required. Good on have on site parking. Proximity to town is a real bonus. Thoroughly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.4
    Poor value for money, we will not be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small dark room with a depressing outlook onto a six foot fence (lower floors) Property due for upgrade, building exterior looking shabby, vehicle access to hotel difficult due to road layout and there is limited parking on site.

    Room was clean and hotel is located close to Hagley Park

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.8
    the property was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the property was clean. The room I had, had a separate lounge area and a balcony. The bed was comfortable. A great restaurant adjoins the property easy access for breakfast etc

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    Fit for purpose.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The house restaurant menu pricey for the calibre of food. Reception staff helpful but I got the impression they were overworked.

    The room & bed were very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. Service was great whilst checking in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower window was not fixed resulting in water all over the floor. Very noisy from other guests

    Loved the spacious room and updated TV. The bathroom was extremely spacious also thus resulting in a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Room was clean tidy and spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower over bath could be dangerous. No grab rail or non-slip mat provided Kitchen rather dated

    Room was clean tidy and spacious Good location Helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    6.7
    Ok stay, probably would stay elsewhere next time
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in staff very odd, they seemed confused as to why three couples would be staying in the hotel together in two rooms (a single and a double) and it was almost like they wanted to turn us away when we said another two couple friends were checking in later on as well. We explained we were I'm town for a wedding but the front desk lady sort of gave us a very odd sideways judgemental look. Our room was clean but had a very musty old smell like the corridors, or friends room smelt damp and like drains.

    It waa very handy for our trip to Christchurch and our double room seemed clean and tidy although I didn't feel it was worth the price. Some things seemed odd like an adjoining bathroom between the main bedroom and the lounge only locked on one side and not from the bedroom side. It was like a half wall as there was a very high ceiling which I guess would be ok but wasn't very private for two couples. Check out staff member was very nice although it took a while for someone to come to the desk as it seemed he was doing quite a few other jobs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    Does what it says on the tin, clean and tidy and well located. Would stay here again
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was positioned next to the footbridge that connects the hotel to the restaurant in front which made it quite noisy and meant the balcony looked into the footbridge so had to keep the curtains closed. Also the door to the room didn't feel very secure and rattled every time the main corridor door opened, and even flung open in the middle of the night.

    The room was exactly as described and was good value for money. Staff very friendly, great location beside Hagley Park and walking distance to shops and restaurants, and a short bus/ taxi/ walk into the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    Reception staff excellent. Felicity in particular
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above!

    Room area too small to accommodate a large double, and standard single bed. Suggest main light in the room should be stronger. Does anybody use the toaster? The table is already contested. Get a smaller kettle that will fit under the bathroom sink tap to refill.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Had a great stay. Would definitely come back.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have had two comfy lounge chairs. Was only one in the room plus a standard chair at the desk under the TV. The one lounge chair ( in room 35 ) wasn't that comfortable according to my wife who used it most of the time.

    Bed was very comfy and shower was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    We only stopped by for the evening so only really needed a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stopped by for the evening so only really needed a bed to sleep in - we generally try and stay here as it easy to get to and rooms are exactly what we require. Price is always pretty good too! The girl who checked up in was amazing and really went out of her way to help us with parking and dinner/breakfast ideas - will definitely be back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not enough natural lighting in the bedroom ,(although kitchen lots of light) bedroom window too narrow and small resulting in no view and having to put the light on during the day otherwise a little dark.

    accessible to the beautiful Haggley Park and walking distance to city. Peaceful and very quite room with kitchenette. Comfortable bed and accommodating and considerate staff....especially the ladies who cleaned the rooms each day left me a full set of clean towels in a bag outside the room, along with coffee tea, milk and sugar whenever I chose to leave the do not disturb sign on all day. Front desk staff friendly and given my flight departing mid afternoon. allowed me to stay an extra hour in the room after normal checkout time .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    very good would stay again would recommend thumbs up !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly car parking tight too get out(reversing) other couldn't fault

    Receptionist Saturday afternoon 21.10,17 brilliant could do enough to help very obliging great guy great personality for the job Thumbs up !!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    convienient to the hospital and was good to have a restraurant close by
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was a bit worried about the shower as it was a bit slippery when getting into it however there was plenty of hot water great

    The bed was comfortable as I had surgery all I wanted to do was top be lying down

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.0
    Very unhappy with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view, Beds very uncomfortable, Lack of lighting in bathroom, Says in booklet many items will be available in room but were not in the room anywhere, parking price is absolutely RIDICULOUS

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    Good overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room quite stuffy - could do with more ventilation. Option to open balcony doors but was a little noisy

    On site restaurant and cafe plus restaurants within walking distance

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    A really good stay (three nights) over all no issues that effected stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Personally I would have liked that the shower pressure was higher. But it was hot and overall did not matter in the end.

    It was situated in a great area in Christchurch that was central but nice and close to the park.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    A really good start to our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient on the edge of Hagley Park, roomy. Brilliant restraurant Strawberry Fare on the premises. We didn't t need to go out with the interconnecting passageway just book because its very popular. Breakfast at french coffee n crepe place nearby good too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.1
    ideal place to stay if meetings close to town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comment passed at reception at booking in comparing my name with someone else not very professional as never had meet the person before The person in the room next door would have to be the worst snorer and could hear him all night

    Handy for meetings planned and close to fine restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff, easy check in. Nice comfortable room. Will stay again on our next trip south.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of security on the door and window to the balcony is of concern for not being child friendly, only of concern if you have kids though. The balcony is easy for a child to climb over and being on the 3rd floor this is a safety concern. A lock on the bathroom door would have been nice as well. Minor things though.

    Lovely friendly staff and the place has been renovated nicely. Convenient location and being from the country we are used to quiet and we were pleasantly surprised as to how quiet it was. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.1
    Good value for short stay but would upgrade for longer stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed and pillows ok for short stay but not so comfy for longer stay. It's value for money but you get what you paid for. Decor quite old, could use a refresh. Shower screen leaked on bathroom floor. Some noise from adjacent rooms.

    handy to restaurant. Helpful staff. Good value pricing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Room was large, clean, warm and the check in clerk gave me a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com said this hotel in the town center. Not really in the town center, more on the periphery of the town center. But I did not mind the walking time since it was not raining.

    Room was large, clean, warm and the check in clerk gave me a great recommendation for dinner. Just spend a few hours here before an early morning flight.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    Great thanks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't like little milk pottles, or squeeze bottle shampoo/conditioner 2in1 but at that price it wouldn't put me off staying a night again.

    Great location, warm sturdy and secure rooms. Good value for money. Surprisingly quiet given its location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    A good option
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access is a bit tricky, first finding entry to hotel from online maps, then tight parking. We were late in one night and there were no spaces left as onsite restaurant was busy. Quite noisy.

    Nice rooms Lovely staff Warm Good facilities Clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Would definately stay here again, great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like....we were very happy with our choice of accommodation

    The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. The room was clean & comfortable, and easily warmed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    A low stress / lower price version of all the other higher priced hotels in the area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    little bit tricky for uber to find on the map, though that's not really an issue... possibly more signage out front?

    Just a low stress / lower price version of all the other higher priced hotels in the area, will return for sure. Fantastic staff - great room - great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay in Christchurch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shampoo, showergel was in dispensers on the wall and not very good quality, no conditioner. Normally wouldn't mind but I'd forgotten mine and struggled to find somewhere to buy some! Towels were really small!

    Very comfy bed, heater in room so controllable, fridge, microwave, kettle etc so really easy to sort yourself out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    3.8
    Awful smell!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms had been painted recently!!The smell was awful and unbareable!! Left as early as we could just to get into the fresh air!! Both my sister and I vomited at the smell!! It was that bad!!

    Close to town

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.2
    the shower had a ceiling head loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower had a ceiling head loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    6.7
    Good location and spacious room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My colleague couldn't work the heater in his room and thought the room looked a bit tired.

    I think the area of the room is quite spacious which is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.8
    OK nothing flash, but OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wasnt happy they charged my credit card with a fee instead of a pre approval and it has taken days to get sorted.

    The location is ideal to Christchurch's city centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    4.2
    Would not stay at this location again over priced and dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and over priced. Not value for money at all. WiFi was not good at all hence no value. First room we were given was old, dark and very dated. We were then given another which was brighter but the wifi didn't work.

    Location only

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    6.3
    Only Adequate
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was much too soft, tv above the built in desk made it impossible to sit, work or eat while watching so no option but to sit on bed. The three flights of stairs (no elevator) dragging my luggage behind me was a real turnoff as was the outdated listing info (there is no room service).

    Clean and decent sized rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no air conditioner and bathroom had no exhaust fan..... very steamy and wet after showering

    Great location. On-site restaurant has great food and service

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    5.0
    Spacious
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No instructions for air con and no one able to assist, ceiling fan either faulty or dangerous or both. Couldn't cool room on hot night. Very noisy, need to double glaze

    Spacious

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: