Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. New Zealand hotel reviews
  3. Wellington hotel reviews
  4. Wellington hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of C Hotel Wellington

Reviews of C Hotel Wellington This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

213-223 Cuba Street, 6011 Wellington, New Zealand

#36 of 63 hotels in Wellington

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2207 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    6.7
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not advised at booking of $300 bond - came as a shock at Check In time! Please advise online at booking time. Street noise - double glazed windows?

    Decor. Free Express Breakfast Location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    7.1
    Good for business traveler for short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The size of the room is just too small for two adults. Ventilation is poor and you need to open the window to get it cooled down. There's no refrigerator in my room and the shower is weak.

    The staffs are very friendly and love to help. The location is just great - lots of restaurants, bars, shops on the Cuba street. The walking street is a few blocks away.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    6.3
    Handy location, clean and close to the city for a nights...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi proved unreliable and a lack of an available park was a bit stressful when we arrived. We were advised to 'find' a park on the street somewhere which wasn't optimum, as they were very much in limited supply. No fridge in the room, and windows didn't allow enough air through when open to cope with the fact there is no air conditioning.

    Handy location, clean and close to the city for a nights stay. Restaurants really handy which was great.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    4.6
    Just the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I don’t know from where to start. The room has no air conditioning. It’s terrible. It’s a very very old building. Room is very very tiny. It’s not a four star hotel. It’s a budget hotel. Do your research before you book. It’s a terrible terrible hotel! Hated my stay there

    Just the location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    5.0
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When I arrived my room was located over the kitchen extractors; the noise was really high and food smells coming through the window. The bathroom walls also had mould. I requested another room, but there were any room available for that night. Thankfully, I was moved to another room the day after, but the bed was not a double bed, just two single mattresses put together, with the hard edges in the middle of the bed, so not very comfy to sleep on. Booking said I would need to pay $100 when you arrive as a deposit (which I was aware of, and agreed), but the hotel charged me with $200 saying that Booking was wrong and because I was staying more than one night. In general, my stay there was quite disappointing.

    The staff was friendly and a nice basic breakfast was included on the price. The location is very convenient, just in the city center, with plenty of restaurants in the same street.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    10
    Comfortable space easy and relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool was a bit cloudy seems like needs a clean but other than that really enjoyed my time here.

    Loved the bed so comfortable. Staff were extremely nice.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    6.7
    Pleasant area, friendly staff, comfortable bed.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not being in informed that 1 breakfast was included in cost 2 not informed about how the key cards are used. 3 the terrible noise from air conditioner 4 air conditioner being turned offduring night making room very hot and Un comfortable. 5 would be better to ask for holding fee when booking. 6 show pictures of smaller rooms on Internet. Bit of a shock when arrived as not what's shown.

    Most of the staff were exceptional. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    6.7
    Stuff was really friendly and nice, nice locations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioning (at summer time this tiny room was just like an oven. No even small fridge for water, two towels for two person, the room was not really clean and a pillows just useless

    Stuff was really friendly and nice, nice locations

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    9.2
    Overall it was lovely, id stay here again and would recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a very hot day so the room was quite hot and stuffy and the fan didn't do much to cool down the room. Breakfast restaurant took a long time to refill the cooked food, we were in the restaurant for over 30 mins and there were no eggs. They were asked to be refilled and said they were coming but didnt before we left.Not a biggie but i do like my eggs :-)

    The front desk service was great, very efficient and friendly. The hotel is close to all amenities, great to have access to parking, wi-fi and the pool. The room was sufficient and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    8.8
    Staff were great and really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The picture online didn't at all match up with the room an found it misleading, yet the room was good for the price.

    Staff were great and really helpful. Loved the atmosphere, layout and overall design of the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    7.1
    Stay serviced its purpose - cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On entry to twin share room - used glass + wet used flannel on shelf. Day 2 bedside lamp not going - became unstuck from bedside table - had been attached with double sided tape and base filled with crumbling concrete type filler - housekeeping hadn't alerted maintenance or cleaned mess up. But had made the bed.Maintenance workers doing what sounded like major refurbishment 8 a.m - no notification of this - a little disturbing

    Bed comfy, cheap rate for 3 nights.Suited basic basic needs if only sleeping in room and out remainder of time

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    8.8
    Well-located, historic hotel with all the quality you’d...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walls are a little thin so you do hear some sound from other guests walking past etc. We were staying on the 1st floor near the lift so feel that this would be less of an issue depending on where your room was.

    Well-located, historic hotel with all the quality you’d expect from a 4 star hotel. Free breakfast was a nice inclusion.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    7.1
    The location of this hotel is outstanding, right in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room and bathroom were quite small, no fridge. Just not a lot of room to move. Although we weren’t in Wellington to sit in our hotel, we had just got back from two weeks of camping, so would have been nice to be able to spread out. Not enough towels. Loathe shower curtains, they make me think of uncleanliness too.

    The location of this hotel is outstanding, right in the middle of Cuba street, you don’t get more central than this. Good amenities. Iron in the room was helpful. Nice breakfast included.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    9.6
    Excellent staff, great hotel overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The booking.com details regarding the security deposit process are at odds with what the hotel requires, which caused surprise and confusion on our side. The security deposit was a per night rate, and the deposit will be refunded via deposit 3 to 5 working days later. The hotel was excellent. Booking.com needs to accurately reflect hotel policy.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    8.8
    It’s location, free breakfast, clean tidy room, en suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The street outside was quite noisy late at night

    It’s location, free breakfast, clean tidy room, en suite. Felt safe as a solo female traveller. Wonderful that you walk out into Cuba street with all its eateries and shops. Michael Fowler centre was at the end of the street.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    9.6
    Thank you C-Hotel. I've found my new base, for when I return to Wellington.
    • Solo traveler
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I'd have liked to have had a small fridge in the room.

    It would be easier to say what I didn't like. The room was great, the bed very comfortable, the staff unbelievably friendly and helpful, location great.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    8.3
    Good. Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a nice hotel but it seemed a bit neglected in the rooms. The bathroom was clean but it was old and looked dirty even if it wasn't . The rooms description was better than what it actually was. The flat screen TV was a very small monitor very far from the bed. The bed wasn't very comfortable as it seemed to have a top cover for the matress that didn't fit that well.

    The location is great and walking distance from all the main attractions. The staff was amazing and the facilities of the hotel were very nice too. There is a cafe downstairs and a bar that is very good. The room was ok. It is recommended for a couple nights stay as ours. We had a good stay and would sleep there again.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable, friendly and reasonably priced for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very basic breakfast included with the upgrade being massively overpriced.

    Clean, comfortable, friendly and reasonably priced for a central city location.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    8.8
    Room was great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water pressure in the shower was a little bit intense, and the room itself was a little bit hot some form of air conditioning would have been nice. Was sad that I couldn't reserve parking because when we arrived it siad that their parking lot was full. Ended up having to pay more for parking then intended in a different location.

    Room was great value for money. Very clean and tidy. Close to city centre. Very friendly helpful staff. Nice comfortable room

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    10
    Exceeded my expectations, which is fairly rare on my stingy budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being so central, there can be noise outside at night.

    For the same price as a souped up hostel in Auckland or Rotorua I got a nice room at a nice hotel, with a pleasant en-suite bathroom and nice looking rooms. Opposing hotels apparently call it "the museum" but that can be a good thing.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    9.6
    Hidden gem on Cuba - Affordable, Convenient, Clean & Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The cost for the continental breakfast is perhaps a bit pricey seeing as you get half the things you would on the express breakfast... - The varying bond fees - mine was $200, yet another couple was only charged $100.

    - Loved my room (it was clean and tidy); - Loved the location - super convenient and close to most things; - Loved the breakfast - the express and continental breakfasts were great; - Loved the helpful front desk staff - Loved the pool!! It was heated, which came as a nice surprise :-)

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    4.6
    Was in the perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    False advertising. Arrived to find out we had to pay an extra $30 for parking, $100 deposit. Then once we got to our room was extremely small and so hot but no air conditioning, had then pay another $100 to upgrade to a room with air conditioning. Breakfast was a have... when you breakfast is included you should say free toast. We booked this place to celebrate our 17th wedding anniversary and it was a real let down.

    Was in the perfect location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    10
    Enjoyable comfortable lovely walks into town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Enjoyed the location the service, can't think of anything I didn't like

    It was central loved the buzz around Cuba St., it was quiet, enjoyed the opportunity of having a swim, easy access to shops, sights, all within walking distance

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    8.8
    Good value for money. Needs some tweaking but generally good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Shampoo dispenser failed and was not repaired even though this and the TV were complained about, TV only had 4 channels regardless of "a serviceman had been to the apartment" and supposedly fixed the problem. The daily maintenance is not kept up - the bathroom door squeaked badly waking my wife every time I made an midnight bathroom visit. Little things that actually make or break a nice stay.

    Old age hotel with old age construction but modernized enough to retain that old age feel - solid wood, narrow-ish hallways, a bit of "ye old grandeur". Staff - although obviously employed for this season - were very accommodating, understanding and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    8.3
    A good value Gem in the Heart of Wellington.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were very small with NO air conditioning. The nights that we stayed were very humid, and it was hard to get comfortable due to the close atmosphere. There was very limited parking, and as we were very short notice bookers (our previous accommodation became unavailable at very short notice) it was touch and go whether we could find a car park on returning each day.

    Very close to town, very clean, and breakfast was included in the room rate, which was unexpected. The location at the top of Cuba Street made for easy exploration of the Capital's CBD.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    10
    Was clean, comfortable and refreshing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was clean, comfortable and refreshing ! The room was small but perfect size for 1-2 people if you’re only there for a couple of days ! Staff were friendly and always willing to help and the breakfast in the morning was lovely :)

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    8.8
    Good location- 10 minute walk to Te Papa museum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No safety deposit box in room and room will soon need some modernisation.

    Good location- 10 minute walk to Te Papa museum. Staff friendly. Secure parking (at an additional charge). Decent breakfast included in price.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    4.2
    Not great at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stupid light on bed head No service or clean towels Entry card had to be re set each day Def not worth the money!! Left early and after agreeing we wouldn't get charged extra, added $250 to my credit card. Stay away people

    great croissants

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    8.3
    The bed was extremely comfortable, the staff helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We weren’t able to get a park upon arrival so had to try to navigate our way around an unfamiliar city to try and find a secure Park, as it turned out we were able to get a good price on the parking (better than the hotels price per night) so ended up going with that. I also expected a fridge.

    The bed was extremely comfortable, the staff helpful and room service food was fantastic!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    7.1
    The one disappointment I had was that the pool was out of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The one disappointment I had was that the pool was out of order as I was told by a staff member. The main thing I look for when booking a hotel is do they have a pool and when I made the booking the site said they had a pool. But didn't mention it wasn't available

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    7.1
    The pool and location were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No aircon in the room, and provided with a noisy fan. The bartender served a disappointing mojito, considering it was the happy hour cocktail. There was a bit of waiting time at the lift, and this could become frustrating for a linger stay. Couldn’t figure out how to close the windows in the bedroom.

    The pool and location were amazing. However not the hotel needed to provide you with an acccess card to enter it. Cuba Street is amazing for food, bars, cafes and eclectic clothing. Overall great location.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    8.8
    Met our needs for a short term stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Website not clear in explaining rhat the hotel is in 2 sections. One section superior to the other. If you want more than basic accomodation please ensure that you book into the Q section of the hotel.

    Location was good, crntral with several restaurants and attractions within walking distance. Cleanliness excellent.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    6.3
    More effoprt needed from the management to bring up the quality a bit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room could have been larger , a small fridge is a MUST , the quality of the breakfast items not the best . The staff were very kind and polite , helpful and with a great approach , however, $30 per day for parking it is outrageous , maybe 15 per day , $30 for a long stayer ( up to 4 days ) etc , I stayed in cheaper Hotels in Wellington and they had NO charge for parking or a very small

    For a room with 2 single beds it was very small , no Fridge to keep a cold drink in ( Summer season )

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    6.3
    It was a nice location but staff ruined the stay and the room were just not the same
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were very rude, the rooms were tiny didn’t have room to move couldn’t open door probably because the room was to small, the staff were not helpful.

    I enjoyed the location, i enjoyed having the pool.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    5.4
    The location is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the rooms are very small and hot! No aircon and windows could hardly open so was very hot and stuffy. Also my room didnt look like it had been vacuumed in a while (there were nail clippings on the floor... not mine!)

    The location is amazing

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    5.8
    Could not wait to be back home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very small, had a little dinky fan instead of airconditioning and noises from the street provided for a restless night.

    The building has character and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    7.5
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The express breakfast was a nice bonus! Thank you.. Our room has everything we needed but a little tired with very small beds! The swimming pool area also looked like it could do with a good clean and freshen up. The location of this hotel is perfect and the lobby, cafe and bar were great. I would pay the extra to stay at the Q hotel next time though! Thanks for a lovely stay.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    10
    The room is not that big but very clean and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extra charge for car park, but you don't need a car in Wellington.

    The room is not that big but very clean and quiet. The location is super convenient, and the price is very reasonable. It is a historical building and easy to find. Walking distance to anywhere in the city. Safe and clean place to stay.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    4.2
    -shocking quality of customer service, definitely not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -rooms smaller than in photos -security deposit mentioned in terms on booking.com does not match property check in requirements -incompetent staff during night check in-the lady greeted us in something that looked like pyjamas, with wet hair and appeared to be disoriented-could not answer our questions clearly, starting with the location of the hotel car parking-"we are not sure where exactly" -breakfast "included" was tea/coffee/toast, everything else at an extra cost and that was mentioned by the reataurant staff after plating -dirty mugs at the restaurant, when we asked the staff if they were aware the mugs had lip/fingerprints on them, the answer was simply "yeah"

    Good location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    7.9
    Staffs are friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room doesn't have air conditioner but we were happily offered a fan. TV a bit small. The room is fine for travellers that are gonna spend more time outdoors. Not a good place for staycation.

    Staffs are friendly. I appreciate the effort they do to tidy up the place.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    7.9
    A comfy stay at a cheap rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms being hot - if there is no fan or AC available. The not so clean swimming pool.

    At first we were told that we would get a room with AC, but upon check in we were told that we wouldn't get it. Luckily, there was a table fan in our room. Otherwise I think it would have been hot. The manager was extra sweet, she offered and upgrade to an AC room for just 60 inside of 100 dollars a day. But we declined, because it was way over our budget. So she upgraded our express breakfast to a full continental breakfast for free. The swimming pool didn't feel so clean, but was fine, and the hot water jacuzzi was really good. I would really recommend staying there - if you get a fan during summer

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    4.2
    Unless I have to, I won't stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. At the time of booking I requested quiet and spotless room, it stank and it was noisy. 2. The bathroom was extremely small I had to stand sideways to be able to shave my beard! 3. I took the opportunity to have the included express breakfast during which I felt the restaurant staff were unhappy!

    The location.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    7.1
    Great for staying in the city at an affordable rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was fine, but we were charged for parking we didn’t use (now refunded after an email to management). We were also not advised that breakfast finishes earlier on weekdays.

    The location was great and staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    9.6
    Very satisfactory stay before getting on Picton ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking could be problematic, booking in hotel car park cannot be reserved, only first come first served. If no car spot available and it's over a weekday, street parking is not a viable alternative. Nearest multi storey car park is about 1 km away.

    Central location.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    6.3
    The location is spot on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. The rooms are super tiny 2. No AC. We couldn’t sleep from the heat. Though we opened the windows which isn’t convenient since you could see into other people rooms. Carpet is old and dingy The pool was the worst. Small stuffy. The only reason it’s a ‘hotel’ is because it has a lobby bar restaurant. But the rooms don’t qualify as a hotel. Very motel like.

    The location is spot on. If you’re not planning on leaving wellington , you probably don’t need a car. You could just stroll down Cuba street for anything and only ten minutes later you’ll find yourself in the beginning of cbd. Staff were super friendly The free breakfast was OK but it’s free. Nice cozy lobby. Definitely cooler than the room. I would sit there to cool off from the hot stuffy room.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    7.9
    Good hotel for short trips
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No mirror, bar fridge and ceiling fan in the room. The girl who took our late night room service order on New Year's day was so rude. Even though there was a floor fan provided and windows but the rooms were stuffy, maybe good during winter to be warm but summer nights not. Pool should be open 24 hrs. Limited after hours room service menu.

    The beds are comfortable. 2nd time we stayed there had a good size twin room with windows. The room and bathroom was clean. 24hr reception was helpful and staff were nice. Great location.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    6.3
    Not qoet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff at the reception is way below average, the "express" breakfast which is included in the room rate is very limited when it comes to variety and during one of the mornings - they were lacking the main part (croissants) 30 minutes before breakfast end time. I got the answer: "Unfortunately e are out of croissants this morning". Also, their SPA consists of only a kiddy pool and a tiny jacuzzi....

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    6.7
    Staff is nice, location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very noisy on weekends because of the night club or something downstairs. And the room is so small..doesn’t even come with a fridger.

    Staff is nice, location is good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    6.3
    Good location but HOT ROOM
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air circulation at the room was very bad. So it was very hot inside the room. TV was located in a position where you cant really see from the bed. Everyone slammed the door everytime, noisy. The toilet had no window, it was stinking.

    The location was perfect, close to all redtaurants and bar. Walking distance to the city attractions. The reception and staffs were friendly. The bed and other room amenities were okay.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    9.6
    Lovely comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful staff. Location was fantastic being in walking distance to most sites. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. And despite staying New Years night it was very quiet.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    9.6
    Overall a good and comfy place to spend a night at with good amenities around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was slightly noisy due to the foot traffic as our room was facing the road (Cuba Street), but we were too tired at the time so it did not bother us much and fell asleep :).

    The breakfast included in the package was good and as per expectation (from the options of breads, croissant, bun, butter, jam, juices, tea and coffee). We did order an extra meal, eggs on toasts, which was quite nice. In all, we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    7.1
    okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noise from guests on the roof in the evening. Room was too hot and if the key card was in, it emitted an audible hum.

    location in Cuba street, breakfast included. Easy to check-in.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    5.4
    Would not stay here agaib
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a box No air conditioning No comfort factor at all Needs a splash of paint and some colour No fridge Shower was for midgets Pillows too high King bed was 2 singles pushed together

    Location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    5.8
    Great location but next to noisy Cuba Street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed right next to Cuba Street. During our stay it was very loud at night and we were woken up at times.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel carpark felt safe and secure.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    6.7
    Good location, that's about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff upon check in letting us know a) there would be a sur charge to use credit card (aren't we in 2018????) And b) they was a pre-auth on a credit card of $100. AVOID THIS SCAM by paying deposit of $100 In cash. Breakfast is laughable - what you get is a breakfast of different breads and jams. If you don't eat bread, you have no breakfast... unless you want to pay for an upgrade costing $23 for eggs. Another scam. Not happy! Room was so small two backpackers couldn't put our bags down on the floor. One of us had to store our backpacks in the bathroom just to have room to get to the bed. Asked us to write what we had taken from the mini bar but there was no mini bar. Hilarious.

    Location.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    8.8
    Reservations about the room itself, but staff very polite. Pleasant stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room quite small. TV shelf over desk too low, hit head twice. Bathroom door opens wrong way, making access to toilet very awkward. In this day and age of minimising waste large hotels like this should be taking the lead in boycotting single use tubs of butter and jam etc

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    8.3
    Inclusiveness
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No tissues in tissue container and no plug by my bedside to charge phone

    Inclusiveness, meaning having staff that have disabilities working, playing meaningful roll, the panel of sign language in restaurant excellent

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    9.6
    One of the best locations in Wellington.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No negatives other than a few hairs in the shower on arrival

    One of the best locations in Wellington. Right in the heart of the very hip Cuba Street! Beautiful period building. Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2018

    10
    Easy, comfortable, fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing - everything was perfect. I'm coming back next week. The C Hotel is definitely my Hotel of choice now.

    I loved being in Cuba St. The staff were so friendly, welcoming and friendly. The express breakfast was perfect. Hotel breakfasts are often too large and too expensive. I also loved the decor and the historical ambience.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2018

    10
    All great apart from the access to a charger
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No access to Tesla chargers!!! 😩. Probably partly my fault cos I didn’t tick the box about needing access to the Tesla charging port. If I had maybe you would have put a cone in one of the spots. Anyway although the Tesla charging was one of the main reasons I booked with you luckily I had enough charge to carry on travelling today.

    Location, croissants were very good, old world charm

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2018

    9.6
    Great place for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    no long mirror in room and breakfast was a bit of a rip off as you pay for breakfast but all you get is some bread and instant coffee and have to upgrade. However, once i told the manager, he did upgrade the breakfast.

    rooms were very compact but had a great nights sleep

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    5.0
    Won't stay again.
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was small, (Queen size/twin).We had Number 208. Windows rattle in wind. Very basic, tired hotel we were in C hotel ( Its divided into C hotel and Q hotel). Nowhere to put suitcases . No water given and cold water tap had only warm water. We checked in during the early hours of the morning from from long haul ( about 1:30) and were tired. Husband in his 70's...breakfast finished at 9.30 (too early for long haul guests). We asked for a late check out as our next plane was at 4:00 that evening. We were offered a 12.00 check out ( 1 hour later than usual) or a payment of 50 dollars...we are Genius members of Booking.com. We were really not impressed with the inflexibility of the Manageress...it basically meant we were paying for 24 hours and stayed for 11 hours. Won't stay there on our return now as we felt we were treated impersonally and without due concern. It's away from the sea front on a shopping street. They stored our luggage for the 2 hours we would have preferred in our room for late check out and despite building works going on which put the entrance out of action, no help was given getting out our luggage through the cafe entrance which was difficult.

    Breakfast was good..though it's best to upgrade from the Express breakfast that may be included in your rate.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    8.8
    That the billing was unclear.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That the billing was unclear. I was charged for room and deposit on check in, and again for the room on checkout. My initial payment has not yet been refunded. VERY unhappy about this

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    9.2
    We had a great time and would happily stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first night we were in rooms overlooking Cuba St and it was quite noisy but the staff were happy to organise a change of rooms when we requested it - which we very much appreciated.

    Wonderful staff who were so helpful and friendly. Great location - right on eclectic Cuba St and easy to get to so many other places around the city. It was great having the express breakfast included - suited us perfectly.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    7.9
    Loved the location and the feel of the hotel, would happily stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only things I suggest could be improved are the bedside lamps which were a bit broken and shabby looking.

    Lovely building which has been really well renovated, great value for money and in an excellent location.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    9.6
    Superb location for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was on the Cuba St side of the building, so quite noisy, plus there was spotlight right ourside my window that was on all night, shining upwards into the rooms.

    Superb location for the price

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    7.5
    All other facilities provided by the hotel were satisfactory...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water blasting just outside our window on the street @ 6am in the morning and continued for abt an hour and a half. Couldn't get any sleep after a late night out anf we needed our rest. Reception said that they cannot do anything. Isn't it the hotel obliged to liase with authorities and stop this loud motorised water blasting happening outside hotel. It will be good to get a feed back and follow up. We had limited time and we ended up tired for our next day activities. Bad experience

    All other facilities provided by the hotel were satisfactory 9

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    10
    It has an express breakfast included in the price and also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet could be better and could be quicker.

    It has an express breakfast included in the price and also swimming pool and spa. It has amazing style, it is very cozy. If you want to feel like at home it is a perfect place.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    10
    Very clean comfy bed and pillows great breakfast friendly staff car parking and in heart of city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was very hot although there was a small fan to use ,an aircon would have been great But that's just me I feel the heat

    Absolute value for money

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More than 2 tea bags would have been appreciated and more than 2 tissues in the bathroom. The room was small but adequate.

    The location was very good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked our accommodation some weeks ahead of 6 December arrived approx 5.15pm to find no room allocated to us had to wait finally got key had to ask person on desk which direction we needed to go and then when we got to our room total disappointment. Felt we were just bumped off, no room allocated so just give them anything, tiny room, small bed. We booked here this time last year and had a lovely big room with decent bathroom that was our reason for booking again. Went down to reception to tell them of our disappointment but was met with "it the size of typical room" and that he would pass on my disappointment to management if I wanted him to. I said I did want him to but had no confidence that this would in fact be done. Will we book again, NO not worth the money

    Location was great

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    9.6
    The express breakfast is very good value and tasty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a bit noisy if you are on the street side

    The express breakfast is very good value and tasty! It's awesome to have the pool, spa and sundeck!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable, comfortable and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise at night from the road and an air conditioning unit.

    Comfortable, bathroom clean, nice fluffy towels and two face cloths provided! Enjoyable stay, great location close to Circa theatre, Te Papa, Michael Fowler Centre, cafes and the waterfront. Pleasant, helpful staff in the dining room and reception. Free WiFi.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    7.9
    Location is close to many cafe/restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room is small. Have to lift my lugage through stairs because my room's floor is lower than aisle

    Location is close to many cafe/restaurants. Only 10 minutes walk to Wellington waterfront

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    10
    Great location, very helpful friendly staff, clean room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't anything not to like here.

    Great location, very helpful friendly staff, clean room, facilities very good. Overall amazing value for money

    Stayed in December 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: