Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Copthorne Hotel Wellington, Oriental Bay This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

100 Oriental Parade, 6141 Wellington, New Zealand

#7 of 54 hotels in Wellington

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2695 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, close to the waterfront and restaurants, you will love the views.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner in the Resturant was very good, the food was excellent and service great, albeit a little expensive, we could have eaten in other local restaurants for a lot less where the food just as good and the ambience as part of the experience. Parking was also a little expensive per night, but well managed by the staff.

    We had a balcony room that opened up onto full view of Oriental Bay, it was fabulous, we were fortunate to arrive on the weekend of the fireworks so we were treated to a spectacular display. The staff were fantastic and very accommodating, the restaurant was great for breakfast and our room very comfy. The mini bar was well stocked and house keeping each day was timely and well done. It’s a great location to the waterfront restaurants, museums and the local markets and super markets, easy walking distance to everything in Wellington’s great city, you will love this location and Hotel, take time to walk around the city, there is plenty to see and do, very friendly people and very safe for night walks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    9.6
    Proximity to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No bottle opener Valet parking wouldn’t take the car from across the road when there was no space out front so had to wait around for space to bring the car across the road

    Proximity to town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful :-0
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little bit softer and smaller than we're used to :-)

    The welcome at the front reception area was brilliant. the facilities were very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    10
    Best view in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Harbourview Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Most amazing view looking out across the water to the city from our 6th floor. Clean, well laid out room. We had a harbour view twin room with one king and one double bed great for travelling with a teenager as it had a separate sleeping area with super comfortable beds. Great location easy walking to Te Papa, Cuba Street, Embassy movie theatre and a local supermarket.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.6
    This comfortable and friendly hotel enhanced my wonderful stay in Wellington.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Harbourview Twin
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel has a little character which I like. It has a some lovely touches such as a secluded reading area on the 9th floor. I loved the view over the harbour and the proximity to the centre of town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice stay, close to Wellington attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bathroom, limited TV options.

    Lovely bed, great view (10th floor), a little wind noise in a Wellington storm, but no more than you might expect.. .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    10
    A great place to stay, so quiet , comfortable, what a view!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Harbourview Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was so comfortable. The view too lovely to close the curtains at night! Valet parking and staff made it very easy! We were well looked after. Thankyou

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    10
    A+ for customer service
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A great hotel and the customer service was excellent. The room was very nice and the location was close to the city with the water view of the harbour. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    9.5
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Harbourview Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were discounted for our breakfasts with our booking but got charged the full amount .

    Yes view over harbour great walking around the water front fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    10
    Great location great room and great price will definitely be...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location great room and great price will definitely be booking again. Room was very clean and modern. Bed was comfortable and room was very quiet. Fantastic water side views and lovely and close to town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointing, not value for money, won't be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Harbourview Family
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were my biggest disappointment. We had so many options of accommodation but we chose the Copthorne for it's 4.5 star rating and website.very disappointed, no pool, no spa, no fitness centre, all of which were advertised as part of the facilities. I could have overlooked all of the above if staff had been more helpful and friendly. One staff member Fiona was lovely and I would like To acknowledge her but the rest of the staff need a lesson in customer service. I also noticed that regular patrons seemed to be treated in a higher regard.

    We were in the family deluxe suite,lovely decor could be bigger. Breakfast is great and the chef very accommodating and friendly. Wish the same could be said about the rest of the restaurant staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    7.9
    Return visit to one of our favs!
    • Group
    • Deluxe Harbourview Family
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar was closing at 11pm and we rushed back to our hotel to relax after an All Blacks game. If there are lots of people in the house bar, you should stay open.

    The view over the water is a great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    8.3
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Harbourview Family
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Family room did not have door/partition to close off children. Valet parking additional cost.

    Location was excellent. Staff helpful. Family room was good size

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    Great stay and easy access to and from Te Papa. Enjoyed walkways and access to waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That water could only be accessed through the taps over the washbasin in the bathroom if I wanted to make a hot drink or cold drink.

    Independence and choices available, especially relating to eco-friendly options. Loved choices at restaurant. Liked fact room heated and that fresh air was available through secure window. Plenty of towels too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable OK Hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is just a bit tired now and ready for an update. Bathroom was a bit tight but functional. Breakfast prices seemed high - I would rather walk out and find a local café for a better experience at much more affordable prices - but that is just me.

    This is an all-round OK hotel. I wouldn't say it is anything special but if you are looking for a comfortable bed in the inner city with a good view and location, then this would do the job. Room has everything you need.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    7.1
    Comfy beds, staff were nice and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Went to have a beer from the mini bar and both bottles had expired. The furniture in the bar area needs to be replaced as is well worn

    Comfy beds, staff were nice and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    10
    This is the place to stay!
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stay here every year when we come to Wellington for the Matariki Habour Challenge for Waka ama. The location is PERFECT! Only minutes away from our race. And so close to Courtney Place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    8.8
    Room overlooking the bay was very comfortable and sunny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cooked ( buffet) breakfast which was included in the rate was not very good. Bacon and breakfast sausage poor and scrambled eggs average.

    Room overlooking the bay was very comfortable and sunny. Happy hour at the bar prior to going out was very convivial.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    8.8
    Weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was spacious with great views of the harbour. The bed was comfy and huge. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The location was great as it was a short distance to the main part of town. Plenty of brunch places nearby if you didn't want to eat breakfast at the hotel. Parking was fine as I didn't use the valet service and parked for free at the weekend across the road.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    9.2
    Great location, excellent customer service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Harbourview Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dated bathroom fittings in direct contrast to the fabulous eoom decor & furniture

    Super comfortable bed! Excellent custo.er service, great central location with harbour view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    7.5
    Close to CBD and outlook over water.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Harbourview Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar on 7th Floor wanted to close early after All Blacks game and there were lots of people still in bar wanting drinks. Thankfully Someone managed to convince the bar staff to stay open a bit longer.

    Close to CBD and outlook over water.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    8.3
    Very well located, walking distance to main attractions by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Harbourview Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Floor arrangement is odd, so you take one lift till the 7th floor, cross a lounge bar full of people while dragging your luggage and then take another lift to your final floor. Little bit inconvenient, but nothing major either.

    Very well located, walking distance to main attractions by the Bay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    5.4
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Harbourview Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tired, tatty, dirty floor, smelly bathroom, room was small/ cramped Understaffed at Front Desk took 4 hours for someone to respond to request from the room for coat hangers. Noisy guests at 11 pm after rugby. Disappointed as I expected more for the price.

    The view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, nice hotel with very comfy beds and a great view from the deluxe twin room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Harbourview Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Décor/furniture just a little dated.

    We has a deluxe twin room, very spacious, and clean bathroom. Had a fantastic view of the harbour, and when doors shut very quiet. The bed was super super comfy. The hotel in a fantastic location, have to pay for parking but worth it for the least hassle and its valet parking. The furniture in the hotel is now getting a little dated, but the room was still very nice. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had breakfast included and there was a very good buffet put on. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    5.8
    Good location, great food but room was overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was extremely overpriced for where it was situated! For the price I think a waterfront room would have been a given. It was also next to a staff room so extremely noisy at all hours of the night. $30 for parking is quite expensive for it to be outside in an unsecured carpark.

    Bed was comfy, breakfast selection was fantastic, bar staff were friendly. Location was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    3.3
    They left my room open after cleaning it for over an hour...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Harbourview Family Breakfast Included – Family Package
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They left my room open after cleaning it for over an hour while I was out, anything could have been taken. Staff blocked our wedding car in & had to reset room key numerous times

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    9.2
    The room was spacious, quiet, clean and comfortable, with an amazing view and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite the room being generously sized, the television was positioned on the wall opposite the bed. As there was only one easy chair in the room, the bed had to double as seating. However, we requested an extra chair to be brought in, which they were happy to do.

    The room was spacious and tastefully decorated, and the view over the bay was magnificent. Oriental Bay is a lovely part of Wellington in itself, where you could easily wile away the hours in a delightful waterfront setting, but this hotel's location has the added benefit of being within walking distance of many of the popular Wellington attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    9.6
    A great quick trip to the Capital.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think this is just an individuals preference. The pillows where hard.

    The location is fabulous with a great view over the harbour. Easy walking distance to Te Papa and the CBD. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was very enjoyable with a great selection of yummy food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    7.1
    Room and decor were pretty good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car park view from room considering the price paid. Not great value. Bathe was old and small. Carpet a bit worn near bathroom entrance.

    Room and decor were pretty good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    9.2
    Great Value & Quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The armchairs were not very comfortable in the rooms. So to sit and read in them was no good I thought. So a couple of comfortable chairs would be a great improvement

    Rooms were great lots of space fabulous bed. The pool and hot tub in the exterior area was a great benefit especially after a day out exploring. Great location walk into the main auckland shopping area. Local bus gets you there too for $2.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    10
    View spectacular
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to track through the dining area to get to the 8th floor felt a bit intimidating when first arriving as we arrived at dinner time but got over it once we got to our beautiful room

    Views were beautiful and staff lovely. Loved the close proximity to museum and city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    9.2
    Great place nice people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a room that was supposed to have a spa but didn't it didn't have one. Staff made it right in the end but was a huge disappointment to get to a room after along day of walking and expecting to have a nice relaxing spa but didn't happen

    The staff were amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    6.7
    A pleasant stay overall, but needs an update and soundproofing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately there is no sound proofing so we heard guests doors being knocked on, alarm clocks going off, conversations in the corridor and other guest walking across their floors. The bed seemed to be pushed into the the corner and the bathroom was tiny. The decor looked tired and ready to be updated. Rather disappointed with the “balcony” which was standing room only.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean & tidy and the heater worked a treat. The location was awesome with a great view of the harbour. Easy walking distance to the cbd and short trip to the airport. Due to lack of sleep we didn’t make breakfast so unable to comment on the food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    10
    It was the perfect brief visit - everything was convenient (the weather was also fantastic).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable bed, and perfect location for a visit to Wellington. The hotel is only 10 minutes by taxi from the airport, many of the rooms have stunning harbour views (ours didn't this time), and it is 5 minutes walk from Te Papa and about 10 minutes walk form the centre of town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    8.8
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed mattress was too soft. Long way to reach room (two elevators and walk with luggage thru restaurant

    Location was perfect. Staff was exceptional friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    7.5
    Convenient place to stay at reasonable cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast dining needs to improve. Cold water in tea urn (wasn't turned on), slow toaster (wasn't turned on!), chipped cups, sour milk (blamed on supplier - perhaps the kitchen staff should read the date on the bottle), cracked handle on milk jug.

    Location, ease of access, views,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    7.1
    Excellent restaurant
    • Group
    • Superior Harbourview Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had booked for a room on levels 5-8 and was told that this was exactly what I would get (in writing) roughly one -two months in advance. On the night I got there they put me in level 3, with really bad views of the sea (two massive trees blocking it) and loud traffic noises; there were carpet stains, one of the beds was extremely lumpy and the bathrooms looked nothing like the pictures (extremely old!). I was only going to be there for 2 nights and had booked ahead, excited for my trip. I was told by the manager/staff on duty that night (mark?) that they didn't have any rooms left. I felt really disappointed! I mentioned this and was ignored. They literally lied to me - so beware. The manager Mark (I think it was mark?) was the worst and made me feel extremely uncomfortable, enough to want to leave the hotel that night! The following day the manager on duty then, rectified this and put us in level 6 as per the original plan. That room was what I had booked - modern bathrooms, excellent views with no obstructions and no loud traffic noises!! If my booking was made correctly in the first place, my stay would have been 10/10 and I definitely would have come back/extended my stay. On that note, the room service brought food up from the restaurant and it was delicious! Very friendly restaurant and bar staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were celebrating our 26th Wedding Anniversary on the weekend of our stay and it was a lovely surprise to find a complimentary bottle of wine and a card in our room on our arrival. The buffet breakfast was excellent and the food was freshly cooked and hot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    Great bed, view and staff!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing!

    The bed was extremely comfortable. I looked forward to going back to sleep in the bed every night! The view from the room was excellent. The hotel room was clean. The best part about the hotel was the staff. The manager Alex was great. Mitchell also, he gave really good food recommendations which we appreciated. I would definitely recommend this hotel. I was attending a conference at Te Papa Museum and it was about a 5-minute walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    8.8
    OK hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Harbourview Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was good, within walking distance from the museum and a very short drive from the zoo, and we ended up being able to park for free across from the hotel, which was a nice surprise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.6
    Our one night stay was comfortable and effortless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is excellently located for visiting Wellington's wonderful Te Papa museum. It is a pleasant 3 minute walk away, around the harbour side.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    7.1
    It was ok but not fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were not enough/thick enough blankets which meant I was cold throughout the night. The heating system was broken too which meant I had to choose between no heating and it being freezing cold or super hot at 25.5deg with no setting in-between possible. Very uncomfortable indeed.

    Loved the view from my room. The staff were friendly. Convenient to town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    9.2
    Adequate stay for a business trip
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parts of the hotel are starting to look a little tired and many of the communal areas were not heated adequately. I was disappointed to be allocated a room overlooking the street when my other colleagues were allocated rooms with stunning sea views and we all booked and paid the same amount, One of my colleauges along with me had a room facing the air conditioning units. I little disappointing when we visited our colleagues rooms to find they had amazing views of Oriental Bay!

    The room was clean and bed very comfortable. The hotel was located very close to Te Papa Conference Centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    8.8
    My go to place in Wellington
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Harbourview Family
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Such a comfortable bed and love looking out over the harbour to the city; fantastic whatever time of day it is. The family room is perfect for three or four.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable over night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a very long distance from the lift which made it difficult as I have fatigue problems and low vision. Thought the room had a better view.

    I loved the comfy bed and pillows. The bathroom facilities were very nice too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    10
    Comfy hotel, and great location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Wi-fi was good - when it connected! I had problems entire stay. 2. I kept having to get my key card activated - not a big deal but annoying

    The room layout was great, beds comfy. Service was prompt and friendly. Excellent location - walking distance to cafes, restaurants, Te Papa, museum, supermarket ...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    7.5
    overall, it was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit upset about the hair drier was not supplied because it was showing included on the website.

    The room was really clean and the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    8.3
    enjoyed the stay and will use the hotel again in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff member on duty when we paid our bill could have been more friendly and did not ask about our experience of the stay .

    The bed was lovely and comfortable. The view from the room was beautiful especially at night-time. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    10
    My husband and I had three nights at the Copthorne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My husband and I had three nights at the Copthorne. It has a fabulous location within walking distance of the city and all it has to offer. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast has a generous offering and it is lovely to look out at the city before you start the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable room;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My credit card was charged with the accommodation fee the day before we arrived and a week later it still has not been reversed. Not knowing that the card had been charged we paid the fee again on leaving the hotel. So, we have paid twice. When phoning re this we were told that it would be reversed in a couple of days. A week later still not happened.

    Comfortable room; good views over the city and part of the harbour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    6.7
    The Deluxe rooms are far better and definitely worth the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I initially booked the superior room which didnt have aircon, felt dirty and musty. The hotel thankfully upgraded me (at a reduced cost). I was far happier in the front part of the hotel, overlooking the bay. The hotel staff were very accommodating and this made me much happier with the situation.

    The Deluxe rooms are far better and definitely worth the price difference.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    6.3
    Good hotel, poor payment protocol
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Harbourview Family
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They added a payment hold to my credit card for the full accommodation cost prior to check in (without informing me). Then also asked for full payment on check out (so I was double charged). Numerous days later the payment has still not been removed. Very unimpressed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.6
    Convenient, surprising & picturesque location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Harbourview Family
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was a bit tricky to regulate room temperature at night...even tried turning off unit all together...but this is a common problem in hotels...we survived! Wished there were on demand movies or a few more channels...Haha

    Very comfy bed. Family room configuration is PERFECT! Staff were lovely and accommodating, moved us without question when I raised concern over being right in front of elevator. Night manager happily charged my big camera battery at 6am when i was in lobby chasing sunrise photos! Complimentary bubbly delivered just after arrival for our anniversary was SUCH a great gift!! Room clean each day was thorough and above average. Block out noise from street below was surprising. Only wish there was gym/pool onsite for kids & hubby, but not a huge drama. Thanks for having us...will definitely recommend...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    7.1
    Definitely one of my favourite hotels to stay at in Wellington and I will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friends of ours were staying at the hotel also, it was my birthday and his. They had their room upgraded and got free parking due to it being their birthday... when I told reception my 40th was the reason for our stay the lady didn't acknowledge it...

    I love the location of the hotel and the bed was super comfortable! The balcony although small was also a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel that was just what we were looking for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Harbourview Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    The towels were pretty worn

    The bed was amazing and the pillow menu an extra luxury. The welcome from reception and room service staff were super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    10
    We had one night to squeeze in a little anniversary celebration. I’m so glad we stayed here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was amazing, so comfortable. And the view was stunning. Decor was also modern and nice and staff super helpful. They could help us with toothpaste at 11pm!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    6.7
    Not bad, shame about the restaurant letdown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to queue for breakfast along with folk who were not guests and I think guests should go first, this was a let down.

    The room was comfortable and lovely view of Wellington waterfront

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    10
    Unbelievable view, handy walk to so many places, very comfy...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Harbourview Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor maybe a bit tired, could do with a refurb, no air conditioning in room

    Unbelievable view, handy walk to so many places, very comfy bed, very friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No bad comments to be had at all

    Excellent service. Staff very helpful and friendly. The free upgrade was a pleasant surprise. Breakfast was lovely and we will definitely be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    10
    The staff were pleasant and obliging. The hotel location was very convenient. Happy to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A salt and pepper shaker with breakfast would have been appreciated. A tea towel in the room would have been helpful.

    The bed was very comfy and the room warm. Loved the view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.6
    Had a great time. The front of house were so accommodating and lovely. Would return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Random smell in the bathroom from the drain.

    Close to the waterfront, close to cafes and supermarket and walking distance to town. Comfy bed with great views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.8
    Looking forward to coming back, great facilities and fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The evening meal at the restaurant (steak) wasn't of the quality the price reflected.

    Breakfast buffet was excellent, staff friendly and helpful, room comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    10
    The location was fantastic we could walk to everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was fantastic we could walk to everything because it was so central. The room was very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Upgraded to seaview room however only 1 bed. Son had to share with us. Parking expensive. Hotel holding fee of $100.

    Comfy room with sea view. Breakfast included in price. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable and pleasantly relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Harbourview Family Breakfast Included – Family Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small paint chips on dark furniture could be touched up now and that would make the polished wood panels look new as well as some touch up of the white on the walls before it is too late. Just a recommendation not a complaint from an ex hotelier.

    Extra comfy bed, reception staff great attitudes and friendlyness, room service spotless. Access was very good at entrance for Taxis to collect, good visibility from reception area. Lovely ocean views over marina from room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    10
    Walking distance to museum and city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Vegetarian dinner options. As with most of NZ only one vegetarian meal offered, so no choice.

    The view from the room was stunning overlooking the harbour and marinas. The room was very generous with a comfortable king bed. All facilities were of a high standard. We were able to walk along the harbour boardwalk to the Museum and Cable Car, which was extremely enjoyable. Our meal in the restaurant was large and very well presented.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    8.3
    Brilliant views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Free wifi very slow, aircon a bit noisey but I would stay here again

    Great location and views. Nice big room. Very comfortable Booked well ahead so got good rate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable room with a great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that we had only one dining chair. One of the lifts was out of service and it was virtually impossible to use the stairs - not good if there had been a fire

    The size of the room was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    8.3
    awesome place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Harbourview Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i thought i was booking a room including breakfast it wasn't till check out that i found it did not include breakfast the reduced they rate but still not happy as i would not have had breakfast everyday in the restaurant at $22 per person per day if i had known - will definitely check my booking confirmations correctly next time

    bed was amazing, loved the views and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed one night in a deluxe sea view room.. room was excellent, lots of space and amazing views. We also had an excellent breakfast delivered to the room - on time and delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable and loved the drink coupon on arrival
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Harbourview Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room 921, bed clean and comfortable but small. Didn’t have sound sleep

    Flexible staff, enabling us to leave car parked at hotel on departure date while we could spend the morning in Wellington

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    8.3
    Would stay again but not eat there
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant food and service was the worst we’ve ever experienced. The evening meal was less than pub grub! The breakfast was terrible, in fact we couldn’t even eat it and went to a nearby cafe for breakfast which was outstanding and cheaper than the hotel.

    The room and location was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    7.9
    Great location on the harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was not easily accessible. The window in our room was nailed shut, obviously broken .

    The location, the reception staff and porter were very friendly and competent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    8.8
    I was disappointed with the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed with the breakfast. We arrived at 9am and there were far too many items that had run out by the time I got to the buffet breakfast bar. My view is that whether you arrive at 7am or 9am you should all receive the same choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    9.2
    Great location, fantastic views from bedroom, will definitely stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Harbourview Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really, all very much as expected.

    All very good, staff very friendly and helpful. Comfortable bed, breakfast great, had a lovely dinner in restaurant on one of the evenings! We were having a weekend away to celebrate my friend's 65th Birthday and the staff gave her a bottle of bubbles ... which was a really nice surprise!

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Copthorne Hotel Wellington, Oriental Bay Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: