Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay Of Islands 4 stars

1 Tau Henare Drive, Waitangi, 0293 Paihia, New Zealand

#35 of 46 hotels in Paihia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2307 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Paid WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff who accommodated my mum with arthritis, by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few areas of improvement. The spa pool didn’t open until 730 and when we did go for a spa the pool guy asked us to hop out while he put chemicals in it. This could’ve been avoided if he did it at 7am rather than when guests are using it. A little inconvenience. Another improvement would be the soggy hash browns at the buffet breakfast. These need to be kept in a dry warm spot under a heated light or something, as the steam heater makes them all soggy and yuck.

    Friendly staff who accommodated my mum with arthritis, by giving us a room close to the pool and restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Wish we could've been able to stay longer. So much to do in the area but our time was limited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stay was too short.

    Beds were extra comfy. Free WiFi was great. Food very very high standard. We have and will be recommending to family and friends to stay here.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    2.9
    the hotel disappointed me a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel disappointed me a lot. the facilities are old and untidy. quite a few bugs were flying in the room all the time, dust could be found at the corners of the room. breakfast buffet was very simple.won't be back again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    6.3
    Staff were friendly but accommodation not worth the money spent. Rooms were tired & could be cleaner
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast lacked, very disappointing, everything was empty needed fulling more regularly...definitely not worth the upgrade in accommodation $$ we spent. The ceiling fan was disgustingly dusty, not a good look. Also the glass panelling on deck could do with a clean.

    The bed was comfy, the view was beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    5.4
    The Seaview, the pool was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom shower head was broken in our room and maintenance team seem to finish early on Saturday. The bathroom lock was not working in the room. Also bathroom extractor fan was too slow to clean mist for second person to shower. Did not have any water jug to get water for drinking at night.

    The Seaview, the pool was okay. Would have been better if it was heated for a all season pool.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing ‘superior’ about this room. Suggest hotel discards photoshopped images and is honest about the run down state of the accommodation. Walls are paper thin, so if you’re looking for a relaxing trip, try one of the many other options locally.

    The location is great, and paihia spectacular

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful position bed was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a paint and general maintenance and then it would great. It looks weary and drab especially the long corridors with the drab colours

    Wonderful position bed was lovely. Convenient

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.1
    Great location and beautiful grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately some of the staff were a bit flaky, particularly in the restaurant and some of the other people staying there left a fair bit to be desired. A spa full of noisy children is not relaxing...

    Great location and beautiful grounds

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.2
    Spacious room and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed here a few times in winter and really enjoyed the hot pool in the evening. Unfortunately on our last visit the experience was very disappointing as the temperature of the water was tepid and the lighting so insufficient in the pool complex, it was dangerous. When I told staff about our experience, there was very little concern.

    Spacious room and comfortable bed. Great having outdoor access from room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.6
    always a great stay, kids love the spa and pool and had fun playing with cousins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked movie nights for the kids which they weren't running in the first week of the holidays.

    the kids love the spa pool, its the best one in Paihia

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.2
    Great sale, short staffed?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Third floor with no elevator. Bathroom needed renovating. All calls went through the front desk, with wait times for responses.

    The staff we met were excellent. Location and grounds were very nice. Great view.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was the bathroom - a little bit of reno needed to make it look better

    Amazing location between Waitangi and Paihia. Free parking was great. Comfy beds. Delicious and quick room service. Beautiful patio leading to the beach only a few metres away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Return to Copthorne Waitangi, a great location to stay in the Bay of Islands
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The buildings are somewhat dated and though they were refurbished around 8 plus years ago, some parts are showing their age. However, value for money amongst the Paihia accommodation providers they fit well in the 3 to 4 star category.

    We have stayed here before and we are happy to return. The location near the Waitangi Treaty grounds is unique to Copthorne Waitangi. It offers many services, including a complimentary shuttle to Paihia, about 3kms if you choose to walk, we did as the walk overlooking the Bay of Islands is lovely. We got a complimentary upgrade to an Ocean view room which is very nice. The buffet breakfast is very good. We choose to have our dinners in nearby Paihia, which has a reasonable range of restaurants and takeaway options. The location is great and there is a large range of leisure activities available both at the Copthorne or nearby Paihia, then Kawakawa and Kerikeri.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The late night pizza was a special treat. The kitchen was super busy due to an event, but they made time for us. The warm pool was another treat, especially in the rain, and the view from our room despite not being on the waterside was really nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.4
    I wouldn’t recommend it to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the front counter were friendly but any other stuff we encountered around the hotel were rude and unpleasant. There was also a lot of stuff missing from the room such as a bath plug and the tea and coffee bags. They also charged us twice for our room and we still haven’t received a refund. The spa pool is very nice but it has rusty nails sticking out of the bottom that cut my left foot open.

    The room was nice and I loved the seperate indoor area by the doors and the pool was beautiful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Friendly personnel, Cool hot pool.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel was quiet in the evening, and you're still somewhat far away from town.

    Friendly personnel, Cool hot pool... Close to Waitangi Grounds and walk through the bush to the falls.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Top Spot for Bay of Islands Stop Over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tired in the kitchen and bathroom areas. Otherwise nice. Makeover of these areas will seriously improve customer satisfaction

    Location, partiality and pool area - although it was wet given time of year for visit. Rooms were clean. Good food and reasonable price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Excellent location, very relaxing stay - staff were fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fan in the bathroom was excessively loud and the power point in the bathroom wasn't working

    The staff were fantastic, food was good, service was excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property is clearly very old and not renovated any time recently. Service was poor, at checkin time , only one staff member to check guests in and a long queue. Other employees walk in and out and don't acknowledge anyone. Carpark was full with event guests and there was no carpark spot for us with a room booking. Room was cold the whole night. Bathroom old, and even though it must be clean, it looks not 100% clean. Noisy early Sunday morning from 7am.

    nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our time discovering this beautiful part of NZ
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not too welcoming at check in or check out. Had to wait quite a while to be seated in the restaurant, but the meal and the waiter/waitress service did make up for this small glitch.

    Comfortable bed, lovely grounds, great location and delicious meal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Happy travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything!

    My partner and I really enjoyed the friendly staff and atmosphere, the rooms were well presented and the location was perfect , also loved how big the spa/pool facilities were

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff overall we had a pleasant stay and value for money 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think perhaps the bathroom could do with a bit of an upgrade , looking a little shabby , clean, but tap with no handle on bath cracked tiles

    The shower was amazingly strong best I've ever had also loved my bed it was just right 😊

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was located on the west wing and we had a slight view of the harbour but were exposed to any passers going towards the wharf.

    The staff were friendly and the location was good. The outside spa was great. Waitangi Treaty grounds was a few minutes walk away from the hotel. A 4-5 minute drive to Paihia Town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Great location, value and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, comfortable rooms and good facilities. Enjoyed my stay so much I did an extra night. Good proximity to town and ferry services also amazingly close to treaty grounds which are well worth a visit. Resturant also has a good range on the menu with friendly service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Delightful stay with nice weather and so relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would love to see the removal of baths and just have showers in bathrooms so dangerous over a bath.

    The beautiful position. The lovely gardens and grounds. Easy access to town. The food was great at the restaurant. Friendly people.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.7
    Be careful with good deals or you could end up in a bad room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room that we has the disabled toilet. This is normally a good thing due to the extra space you get to accommodate the size of wheelchair or other mobility, but this particular room is rather messy. The shower does not have any partition or elevation on the floor so the floor ended up being flooded almost entirely, it was messy. My wife and I thought that it's actually dangerous as someone could easily slip walking on those. I called up the reception and asked if that's all the room they got and was told that we were in fact upgraded. I guess he was saying we should be thankful but the toilet just ruined it for me. I should say that we got the room for a really good deal but I don't think that means you don't put an effort to make your customers comfortable because I didn't feel that thay did.

    Full breakfast has good choice of food and drinks, the new view overlooking the sea is a nice touch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold, air conditioning unit not sufficient for room and no extra blankets provided. Cooked breakfast was cold.

    Good variety of breakfast and easy parking also a surprise upgrade was a real treat.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in restaurant isn't as good as it used to be. I've been coming to copthorne for 8 years plus now and that's my main complaint as such

    Good service..staff were helpful and courteous. Rooms were clean and tidy. Spa is awesome

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    Large hotel, quite old but clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Facilities are old, the bathtub don't have stopper so we can not use it. They do not provide sandals, No teeth brush, No aircon but offer heater. Room is quite small actually. The outdoor chairs out of room are dirty.

    Large hotel, quite old but clean. View is good and you can easy to access to the Waitangi Treaty easily. Need drive to town center or might need at least 10-15mins walk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.7
    There seemed to be a queue at the bar - only 1 barman and he...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There seemed to be a queue at the bar - only 1 barman and he was also managing the restaurant patrons. The closer on the room door caused the door to slam. Heater didn't work.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful location, good for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintenance of the rooms was a little lacking. Our porch lights didn't work, the seat fell off of our desk chair, the bathroom door was chipped and the toilet seat was very wobbly. The bacon is very very over done.

    The spa/pool area is great for the kids. The location is absolutely stunning overlooking the bay. The bike hires were a lot of fun. There is a large selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.4
    Pillows very hard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows very hard. Blankets are very thin, the duvet felt like a sheet. Had to use both extra blankets at night. No heating in room only a fan for hot weather. Room is outdated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    I went with 3 girls for my daughter's 12th birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I went with 3 girls for my daughter's 12th birthday. We got a room upgrade and they left balloons, chocolate and a card on the bed for her. The pool is brilliant, the staff were great, and the breakfast was fabulous! Not a single complaint from me😊.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    A trip across to Russell to dine at the Duke of Marlborough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Copthorne Waitangi needs a serious update to compete in the International market.

    A trip across to Russell to dine at the Duke of Marlborough Hotel was the 'highlight' of our visit to Paihia. The Bay of Islands is a magical area of NZ to visit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous location, lovely view of the bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could never get in hot tub, was full of bouncing children all day every day. They need a separate pool for children

    Fabulous location, lovely view of the bay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    The lady on the desk was very helpful, friendly & we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady on the desk was very helpful, friendly & we were upgraded to a ocean view room which was just great, over the years we have been to the Copthorne on many occasions & we were very pleased it has not lost it's charm.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very dated. In need of new carpet. The hotel needs a lot of little fix ups, like rotten weather boards, bird poop cleaned, broken trellis between rooms. General maintenance issues.

    Fantastic place to stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.9
    Great value for money, great facilities, great staff - Can’t fault this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was great! We only wish we had stayed here longer!

    Great value for money! Super comfy beds, great hot pool, nice restaurant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.1
    smoking neighbours, people looking in whilst walking past.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    smoking neighbours, people looking in whilst walking past. chain/lock on door old fashioned and off putting. I thought the pools would have been heated. Only heated pool was a tiny spa which was constantly crowded - eeww

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    All the bonuses of a high end hotel but still with incredibly friendly service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wine selection could've celebrated some of NZ's better wine areas, there seemed some odd choices and, to get the wine I wanted at dinner I had to order a bottle! Easily remedied.

    The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the room was nicely heated on a cool winter evening. The sea views in the morning were a total bonus. The staff were wonderful throughout - from check-in, restaurant, bar, housekeeping. A bonus is the shuttle to and from Paihia, most appreciated, although it is a lovely stroll to town on a sunny day,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous, fantastic , relaxing midweek break away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe to look at the doors . Can hear the banging of doors as front door is hard to open and close.

    This place presents a majestic, peaceful atmosphere . Staff are all very helpful and extremely friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.4
    The views are beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we went to get into bed the sheet had blood all over the top of the sheet. So I told reception and the lady said Im sorry about that I will speak with housekeeping. Then when the supervisor for housekeeping came to my room she said Im sorry the girls must of forgotten to change the linen!!!! Unacceptable...I should'nt have paid for that night's accomodation.

    The views are beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Everything amazing except staff communication needs work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was confusion about our checkout. The night before we had arranged a late checkout with the staff at reception however in the morning the cleaner came into our room while we were still in there, and 20 minutes after that we got a call from reception asking why we were still in the room. My partner explained we had a late checkout the receptionist then questioned whether this was prior arranged.

    The bed was amazing. Staff at check in were lovely and helpful. Room service was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is situated in a beautiful place and the pool area...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered room service pizza and it wasn’t very nice, I only ate two pieces. It was cheap though. I hope that they renovate the rooms soon because I’ve stayed here a few times and over the years not a lot seems to have been done in terms of updating bathrooms and getting aircon into the rooms. It’s such a good hotel it would be a shame for them to let it slide

    The hotel is situated in a beautiful place and the pool area gives it that real resort feel. One staff member in particular stood out. I had requested prior to arrival that I had a quiet room far from the lifts. They emailed back and said that would be provided on arrival. It wasn’t and I had booked a room with a king but got two double beds. I called reception and spoke to Te Awhina who rectified the situation and found me a much better room. She was friendly and apologetic and made the whole process a lot better

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Perfect location, great view definitely worth upgrading.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Went for business booked a standard room and we were upgraded to a deluxe ocean view room it was awesome. Have already booked to return with my husband for New Years Eve.so thank you for an awesome stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    It was a nice break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I put my breakfast card on the door no one came and got it the night I stayed there. So I call reception and I brought it down I wanted breakfast in the room. It did come to the room but it was cold.

    The warm room and relaxing in the spa

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Family friendly hotelk
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much not to like. Didn't eat at restaurant so cannot comment on that.

    Great location for a fun family holiday. Easy walk to Waitangi grounds. Spa pool was great for kids. Movie nights held in school holidays was a great idea . While family room not huge, it is excellent value for great location to explore what Bay of Islands has on offer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    We had a fabulous stay being central to everything but far enough away to feel like a holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa pool was good but a little tired and in need of some tlc. We used it every night and by the 3rd night it was full of floating bits and had a few unsupervised kids in it jumping off the rocks so a little annoying.

    The location is amazing and the close proximity to everything in Paihia. The restaurant food was nice and good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    Te Awhina who was at reception was very helpful as for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Te Awhina who was at reception was very helpful as for the other staff they didn't know how to greet guest that are Maori, that was what I felt they couldn't even make eye contact very disapointing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    My wife and I fell inlove all over again. We loved our stay at the Copthorne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I was to really nit-pick, the kitchenette area could be better equipped. 150 - 200ml Glass bottles of milk instead of single use plastic milks that require 2-3 to make up one cup of tea. Waitstaff to be more involved in conversation and attendance to the tables for dinner service.

    I really appreciated the Gluten-free section of the buffet breakfast and the helpfulness of the staff for this requirement. I loved the reception staff, I found all of them to be knowledgeable, professional, polite and well presented. I loved the outdoor pool area and tea selection in the room. Overall a lovely stay and will be returning again soon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    gorgeous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    dessert was too fancy for me would settle for a warm choclet mud cake with plain vanilla ice cream

    big breakfeast buffet , big spa with gorgeous lookout on the beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Not a 4 star establishment in International standards!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom floor looked as if it was not washed and vacuumed. Sticky marks around the toilet and random hairs, not mine. The passages must have wooden floors, kids were running up and down the passages making a huge noise.

    The breakfast was plenty

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Affordable luxury 😊 Absolutely amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only fault I found was that the spa area was quite small especially around 7pm when it became really popular and the main pool lights were out.

    Absolutely amazing time here. Room was immaculate and the perfect temp the whole stay. Staff were awesome. Am definitely returning here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful place to stay, very clean and beautifully...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint would be we didn’t stay longer

    Wonderful place to stay, very clean and beautifully presented, amazing view, staff were wonderful, lovely food in the restaurant, will be returning as soon as possible. Would be a great place to stay with family as the beach and pool are all on the door step

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    A perfect place for a break from anywhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not anything I can think of.

    Location - easy to find. Close to town but not too close! Beautiful view from lawn. Friendly and efficient staff. Great food. Room very clean and very comfortable - loved wider than usual TV screen. Even a lift to our second floor room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location suited our necessary short term stay.
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pity that breakfast was spoilt with luke warm coffee prepared in a too common press button coffee machine. If staying again, would bring my own coffee machine.

    A pleasant overnight stay, a nice upgrade room, quality bed. Great water view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Great value. Would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa looked like it needed a clean. Coffee at the buffet was Luke warm not hot

    The beds were so comfy. The pool area was spectacular..would be amazing in summer. Breakfast was substantial and very good value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    This is a nice hotel with great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast dining area was rather chilly during our July visit.

    We arrived at dinner time and were delighted that they had a nice restaurant on-site. Room was nice. We had a beautiful view of the bay out our window. We were delighted to learn that they did offer self-laundry facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room was incredible, me and my family stayed last minute as we decided to visit Paihia and we could not have been anymore impressed with our room....nearly stayed another night! Check in and out was swift...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Loved our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect, nearby everything. Awesome buffet breakfast every morning! The staff were friendly and being able to hire the bikes was a nice touch. Beautiful pool and spa area!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.3
    This hotel is in a great location but needs some urgent TLC to be a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Copthorne is tired and needs a refresh. Cleaning could be a lot better, especially in bathroom areas. I had a downstairs room and could hear every footstep of the people in the room above.

    The location of this hotel is wonderful. It is peaceful and quiet with great views and excellent flat walking access to very interesting and historic local sites. The bed was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful place in Paihia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location of the resort is wonderful. Like the view from the room and the restaurant, the spa pool and the breakfast. My room got upgraded free. Really enjoy the stay and will be back definitely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.4
    Don't want to go again even my room was superior sea view room but....so...what...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not heated pool We booked for kids And water was freezing N so many noisy whole night Early morning Through the garden to restaurant door not opened It is winter...was cold all the way around n go inside It looks like no ready for customer at all

    Just be comfy that is all

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Can't wait to go back again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was a little disappointed in the meal portions from restaurant, but the quality of the food was of a high standard and reasonably priced

    We really enjoyed the scenery and pool area (even though we visited during Winter) The friendly/accommodating staff made the stay even more comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Internet speed is understandably slow in Paihia (no fibre),...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet speed is understandably slow in Paihia (no fibre), however the data limitation the Hotel enforced on the Free offering was a bit disappointing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Loved it and will be back but would request a sea view room on booking in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Initially we were assigned a room facing a dark wall at the back of the facility. Ridiculous when you have the option of giving your guests world class views. We complained as we didnt go there to miss the view and were given a lovely room facing the sea.

    The location is second to none. The rooms are well appointed and have everything you need. Beds very comfy, staff friendly. Breakfast was great as was the set menu meal we had at the function we attended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    2.9
    Avoid the hotel, but if you are ok with mosquitos then it's fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, full of bugs, spiders and mosquitos. We called the reseption and they send a guy with Mosquito Repeller canister and start spraying. Killed almost everything but we we're left alone to pickup the dead things because the hotel didn't have cleaning staff. Around 11 pm, two rooms away a group of young people (around 10) gathered and started drinking and music started. We called again the reseption and they sent the security who told them to stop. They did after 30 min.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    It was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little uncomfortable, bit hard to sleep.

    Seafood chowder was amazing. As was the pools and spa. The customer service was absolutely beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    My sister loved the croissants lovely and fresh/Food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My sister loved the croissants lovely and fresh/Food rated very highly/ Breakfast was great and plenty to choose from. Lots of pillows / Great beds / Room lovely and warm when arrived heater turned on for us-thoughtful Staff all very helpful Pool great but needs a little more lighting as ground around pool uneven and hard to see at night Your pool towels are not that great need to be pool size not bath size please. On arrival was told that the $50 extra per night would be put back into account within 3-4 days after leaving. I was ok with that, I left my phone charger in room and phoned that I would pick it up later in the week as travelling up that way. Was then told that I never came to reception on departing to get the $$ reimbursed. I did come to the counter as I gave my swipe cards back for the door. Handed them to the lady at the desk No one said anything to me about any $$. I think you all need to be saying the same thing to your customers not different stories please when it comes to money. Other than that we had a lovely stay and staff were friendly and always helpful. Will be back again Thank you Donna Laurenson

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please make sure operation team organize the bookings based on request from OTA

    Bed Configuration is incorrect when first time check in. But the reception staff provided kindly services with efficiency. Good Job! Breakfast looks normal. But thank you for F&B staff allow to entrance at last minute.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    The spa pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant area was rather large . We would have liked some smaller areas. On the first night we ate in the bar which was much more intimate, quieter and pleasant.

    The spa pool. Location in Waitangi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    The lady on reception was helpful and knowledgeable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty disappointed with the spa being barely warm and the meal in the restaurant was underwhelming. The bathroom, specifically the floor of the bath needed cleaning. I ordered a Mojito...not sure what it was that turned up... something with gin. The waitstaff in the restaurant lacked knowledge of the menu and specials, couldn't say what the soup or fish were.

    The lady on reception was helpful and knowledgeable. Beautiful view from the room, comfy bed and nice decor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    I won't be returning to the Copthorne Bay of Islands resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My cousin and I had dinner at Jimmy's Cook on Friday. The Calamari was yum and our waiters were loving (the twins Richard and Harry) thanks for being awesome guys!! Unfortunately we were both disappointed in our chicken open sandwiches. The chicken was over cooked and we both had pieces of chicken we couldn't chew as it was that dry and hard. For $24 per meal we did expect better quality. The leg on my bed was broken and the first night I slept on a lean. At this point I didn't know the leg wasn't there. The next evening when I realised it wasn't there, I let reception know. When I got back from dinner the man at reception said the problem had been fixed. I checked when I got back to the room and it now had a leg. The leg kept popping out all throughout the night. I ended up sleeping on a lean again that night which wasn't good as I have back problems. I was upset at the response to my bed issues when checking out. The woman was aware of my bed issues (she said she was told in her hand over) and when I told her it kept falling out all through the night all she said was 'oh no, sorry about that' and that's it's. I was disappointed that my bed and back problems were disregarded as if they didn't matter. I wish there were microwaves in the room. While at dinner I ordered a pear cider. There was a miscommunication between Richard and the guy at the bar who had opened an apple cider on accident and then opened a pear cider. Being humours, I said I would have the apple cider but for free (and we laughed). When I was asked if I actually wanted the apple cider I said no thanks, i'll just stick to my pear cider. When we got our drinks that bought the apple cider over as well. I assumed it was a complametry drink as I had told them clear as day I didn't want it. When paying for dinner I was charged for both ciders. The salt shakers!

    - The calamari entree was yum! - Richard and Harry were awesome waiters - The man working the bar on Friday night was very kind and helpful - Shower water pressure is amazing -

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    3.8
    Beautiful setting but very dated property in need of refurbishment.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We travelled as a family - 3 adults. We wanted a two bedroom suite and thought this is what we booked BUT the booking site wording did not reflect the actual room/accomodation. What we got was a small, totally inadequate 1 room with 2 double beds which took up the entire room leaving no room for any general relaxation. Small, cramped bathroom with a damaged door and pealing paint. Dirty towels on arrival needing to be replaced. Mould and broken tiles in the bathroom. Meals too expensive. After 10pm room, meal service was inadequate. No curtains on exterior window. No air conditioning.

    Location and sea views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    A good weekend in spite of the weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An elephant herd was booked into the double apartment above, and they stomped around late into the night, and early morning.

    Bed was comfortable. Unit clean. View fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: