Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga 4 stars

334 State Highway 12, 0444 Opononi, New Zealand

#2 of 4 hotels in Opononi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 772 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Paid WiFi

    4.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small thing, the bath tap didn't seem to work so had to fill my bath from the shower. There was also quite a lot of road noise audible overnight- only a minor comment.

    We were given a room with a beautiful sea View unexpectedly. Had a great evening meal & breakfast buffet in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Throughly enjoyed our dinner and the service in the restaurant. Our room had a beautiful view and plenty of room with a nice veranda. We didn’t want to leave😀

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The initial book in could be a little brighter.

    The room view was fantastic once we were allocated the right room. The food in the restaurant was yummy, the staff were welcoming and lovely although a little too willing to check if everything was O.K. with your meal. Peaceful and restful place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Messy to try and load internet and I thought there was a gymn - there wasn’t ..

    View was amazing from upstairs rooms . The roads were flat so you could walk to Opononi safely,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, it was fantastic

    The beds were comfortable and the place is located in a beautiful spot and the staff were very accommodating and customer service was on point.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was in great need for an update. The beds were not too comfortable. There was no free WiFi. The restaurant is a joke, awful food and very expensive.

    The location is just amazing right on the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would only take a little more effort by the staff to make this an excellent accommodation venue. Some staff just need a little more training.

    The view from the room was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location on the shores of the Hokianga harbour was a bonus. The friendly staff made us welcome and talked about the area's history. The resort is handy to the Waipoua Kauri forest and Tane Mahuta and Opononi and Rawene to the east.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't find a steak knife for me at the restaurant - but they were nice about it.

    Terrific view from the room and outside area. Could walk straight out to grass, tree,seating,beach and jetty. Faces west so a great sunset to see over the entrance to the Tasman sea. Roomy. We ate on site as there wasn't a lot of selection in the area. Had a game of pool after tea.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom, kitchen and room quite outdated/tired - very different to the photos, so obviously some rooms have been done up. Staff at reception lacked enthusiasm. Continental breakfast buffet was disappointing, coffee not acceptable and unfortunately no option to get barista coffee. Breakfast room had not been vacuumed from previous function.

    Beautiful location. Comfortable mattress and pillows. Easy parking right outside the door. Some of the staff were very helpful and friendly. Very clean room. Coffee in bar was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no cutlery to use, no dish washing liquid or cloth to clean up with. Each unit should have a microwave so you can at least heat something up as not everyone wants to go out to dinner every night.

    The location of the resort, the bed was comfortable and the unit was warm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the outdoor space in front of the studios, but I can't see how this could be made any larger. Minor remark.

    I liked the quality of the beds. Kitchenette and bathroom could use a bit of an update, but otherwise fine. Property was well manicured, lovely to walk around. Can highly recommend. I have been here quite often and most times is was a fantastic experience! Cheers B

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a small comment that more cutlery/crockery would have been useful as we stayed a couple of nights and ate in our room as well as at the restaurant. We thought the price in the restaurant for the fish and chips meal was too expensive for the rather average meal provided.

    We were upgraded to a new villa which was a lovely surprise.The villa was privately set, but did not have a view of the sea. It was very well equipped with a bath and 2 showers and a spa! so we felt spoilt. The bed was great and the nespresso coffee was much appreciated, thank you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in need of maintenance tiles broken around toilet and bench top around hand basin was cracked and warped. Windows looking out onto ocean were salt covered and dirty. Buffet breakfast not hot it was very slightly warm. Also no aircon in the room so was a hot couple of nights. Wifi connection costs an additional $10 per 24hrs which I thought was poor

    The dinner in the restaurant was good also the bed was comfortable and view from the room was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The filthiest dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed at. I had a mother who was staying after chemotherapy. This potentially could affect her health. Appalling for a Copthorne Hotel. 1

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very tired and needing some maintenance. The window latches on one of the bedrooms were loose and you could either have the windows shut or wide open - no in between.

    The unit was spacious with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough lighting in the room - extremely dark Also should not advertise all rooms with a balcony as we had a tiny entrance way space, enough room for one chair - facing the car park :-(

    The bed and the pillows were so comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom, especially shower, very tiny. Very few kitchenette supplies in the kitchenette.

    Location, location, location. What a beautiful spot, even in the rain! Room was quite comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard of the bathroom was disappointing;although very clean it needed an upgrade.A very small hand basin with no vanity and a shower for the disabled that leaves water all over the place no matter how careful you try to be.

    Location,location,location.The view whilst lying in bed having a cup of tea was what dreams are made of! Dinner in the restaurant was excellent with my steak being beautifully char grilled.My husbands lamb rump was also perfectly cooked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no free wifi, you have to pay $10 for the use, although you can get bad free wifi at reception. Same with movies, all extra. Despite having a small kitchen there were no bowls or cutlery

    Being on the beach front, but it was so windy and wild we didnt get close. The vegetarian option at the restaurant was not too good, and the fish and chips my husband had was average and we were both still hungry afterwards

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we booked had no view. Should book a room with a view to enjoy this hotel best asset.

    Location. Location. Location! Amazing!!! Right on the beach over looking one of the best views in New Zealand. Excellent, efficient and friendly staff. Great food, wine and cocktails.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean but level of cleanliness did not extend to the verandah. The restaurant meal was not the best.

    the room was very large with wonderful view of the harbour. The hotel is right on the beach. The gardens are well maintained

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately dinner wasn't that great, timing of meals was way off even when booking in advance. Breakfast ok for buffet offering. Although staff friendly and welcoming, not once were we asked how everything was. A little more customer service training would go along way.

    Staff were friendly and welcoming, amazing view and location. Clean, comfortable and great facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price of the room, the wifi in the room would have been much appreciated. It is currently possible to pay for wifi, but it's quite expensive. The wifi is free in the lounge, but I don't think it's enough for this price.

    The proximity to the beach is great and the restaurant has an amazing view this way. The bed is super comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting in the rooms was a trifle under powered for my liking and the shower / bathroom was a bit dated but had everything in it and working well. In this day and age I feel that paying extra for WiFi was a bit of a down side but for short stays no major problem

    The outlook from the apartment was superb nicely cut lawns leading down to a private beach area, the restaurant provided very good food at a keen price served by very friendly and efficient staff. The moody photo below is from the apartment patio.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for internet, archaic concept! Some small food preparation facilities would be handy, plates and knives for in room snacks.

    Bathroom fantastic, obviously newly renovated. Bed very comfortable. Private location, free parking at door.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outside night light to room (10-14) non existent as porch and stairs painted dark brown and shaded by bamboo. Okay in daylight. Board above kitchenette sink requires an indent as potential to hard knock forehead if not concentrating.

    Excellent food. Interesting, friendly, approachable staff room attendants included. Beach right beside the hotel. Comfortable setting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor standard of room for price paid. Staff service could be improved with training and more accuracy and following through & not leaving you waiting.

    Bed and food and location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linens and bedding are fine but room including bathroom could use a deep clean. Luggage racks, move router from behind fridge fridge so it serves entire unit, some artwork on the walls would improve look. You pay for wifi but it is very spotty.

    Fantastic restaurant, service, food and ambiance. Grounds are lovely right on the water. This place could be exceptional but needs some serious tweaking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ONLY downside was the very low pressure of the shower - hard when trying to wash out sand etc and wash hair

    Beautiful location, amazing staff, room was perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location excellent but the overall state of the room was disappointing considering the cost. Each room had a number of spider webs with spiders that needed removing. The bathroom wash basin would block constantly and the fridge was old and tired. Overall linen needs replacing and generally the room is overdue a make-over.

    Spectacular views from the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost paid for a meal we didn't have,as it was on the bill presented to us at check out. Luckily my wife spotted this before we left the hotel, and the necessary refund was quickly arranged

    The location is fabulous as was the view from our room and balcony. Restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee for breakfast was cold and weak..... espresso coffee should be on offer in this day for breakfast. The bathroom had no lock which was embarrassing when sharing a unit with friends.

    The meals were excellent but we had such a wait one evening for them it was embarrassing both for us and the waiting staff. The pool was lovely and the gardens fresh and well looked after.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If not see view room, not very good. It’s very different if the room is sea view or not. And also Bathroomis a bit too old, nothing to put personal bath things in bathroom. Better to have shelf for put personal bath things.

    The hotel location and view from Restaurant is fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    What hotel does still charge for Wifi in the rooms.!!!! Also please get rid of Sky tv in the rooms and install Freeview with decent picture quality and acceptable selection of viewing channels. Reception check in was grumpy and missing any of the normal Maori warmth which can be so welcoming.

    dinner was great in a magical setting with the view over the water and the sand dunes. Nice beaches nearby for sunning and swimming

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not very clean. Lampshades were very dusty, corners of floors had dust/dirt. Overall appearance of the room we were given was shabby. Parking was a nightmare. There were not enough spaces for all the cars. The dining room for dinner had a very long wait even with prior booking.

    The location of the hotel was perfect. The breakfast was nicely presented with variety. The room was a good size with access to seating outdoors.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise was horrendous- couldn’t get to sleep till 1am. Toilet in bathroom very old , rickety and far from our expectation. Coffee cup had signs of not being washed (dried coffee)). Water temperature in shower fluctuated. Barely warm!!! For $180 for the night we expected a little more.

    Food, drinks and service excellent. View from patio outstanding.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    air conditioning would be beneficial , unfortunately the pool was out of action, curtain in the room I was in needed to be dry cleaned

    staff were extremely helpful room size excellent bed was superb

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon in room, TV selection Very poor for this era, dated rooms, 90min wait for dinner, room set up different to booking. Wifi not free, or at least a starter usage.

    all staff were lovely, great customer care, especially Scott on the bar who had to wine and dine us whilst we waited 90min for dinner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Wifi not available in the room by default : have to request it via TV system (annoying) and pay an extra (10$?) - Swimming pool was not available during our stay : no information recieved prior to our arrival -Do not expect a smile when you arrive

    - View from the bar/restaurant area is amazing. - Nice garden/grass area in front of the beach from which one can profit from the view -Interesting wine list in the restaurant/bar

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else was great.

    We did not like the original room we booked for $160 as it was very dated and smelt musty. We asked for another room and we were offered a room in ‘the heads’ new complex as a one-off reduced rate. While this cost extra it was well worth it as the villa was modern and finished to a very high level and very private and comfortable. If you want luxury and a special night, then we highly recommend these villas.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ac or ceiling fan and because there are no bug screens on windows you couldn’t leave window open to create a through breeze without risking mosquito or midge hell. Very hot and humid as a result. Room was very dated and not very clean.

    Exterior , gardens and view were lovely. The menu was a bit unimaginative but food was nice enough. Wine menu seriously overpriced.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check in, the person behind Reception was swaying constantly. He wasn't particularly inviting or friendly. Water pressure in the Shower was pathetic. Meal was expensive and creme brulee didn't even have a crunchy top, had to send it back.

    The view and room configuration worked for us

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was that the shower was very noisy on some of the flow settings but still perfectly functional.

    There were beautiful views, friendly staff and good food. The pool looked nice too but we instead ended up jumping off the warf. Excellent spacious rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    DREADFUL check-in staff: surly, unwelcoming, offhand. Dirty bathroom fittings. Having to pay for room internet. 1.5% credit card levy. Poor lighting in room No stand for bags - had to leave on floor.

    Views. Restaurant staff. Towels. Bathroom amenities. Size of room and balconies.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Standard rooms basic, no view and nowhere to sit. We upgraded, I suggest go to the motel down the road rather than book a standard room

    Comfortable room with beach view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is a little dated and not a lot of atmosphere in the restaurants. The pool was closed which was disappointing for my son as the pool was the main reason we decided to stay there.

    View was great and facilities would have been great had the pool been open. We did get an early check in which great considering it was raining.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom cabinet needed repairing. Was a bit unsightly. We could not connect to Wi-Fi via the TV, asked reception twice, the second time they said they would send someone, that person never arrived. We ate a lovely meal at the restaurant, charged it to our room, and when we went to check out/pay (twice) there was no one on reception both times! So just left the key.... assuming they will charge our credit card.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning would have been nice. The TV wasn't working on the second night - there was a problem with the service provider.

    Fantastic location. Breakfast was very nice - full buffet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning, not keen on the assembly area for evacuation of rooms being right next to the gas storage unit especially if there was a fire.

    very comfortable bed beautiful views from room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super soft mattresses. Had back pain for 2 days. Shower without pressure. No A/C. Expected a bit more for 265/night

    Beautiful setting. pleasant lay-out of apartment.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food and breakfast overpriced, bland, probably frozen.

    Restaurant food very disappointing, verging on bad. The location and staff are wonderful though.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool closed for most of the time we were there, tv didn’t work properly, ants in kitchen and bathroom, broken dryer, tired appearance of rooms.

    Comfortable bed, lovely meal, very helpful and friendly staff, great bar and restaurant service with a beautiful outlook and very enjoyable meal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only had a standing fan, evening was so hot. No air conditioning! No Free internet

    Just relax and enjoy.. Amazing views! Staff are so friendly and very helpful. Enjoyed the free entertainment, live band Sunday afternoon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool, closed for a week. Staff at front desk very uninterested We travelled from Kaitaia on the Wednesday to Omapere to enjoy the serenity and we’re particularly looking forward to the pool at the Copthorne, much to our dismay on arrival the pool was closed and had been for a week....why wasn’t this commucated in the website (booking.com)?....poor...very poor

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the older motel style rooms which were nice enough but room 14 has views of the bush in front of the room and and the car park.

    It's a beautiful location - on the beach - with a swimming pool! The room was clean and the bed very comfy - but the pillows were too hard.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking had been cancelled so problems at checkin! Took ages to get child bed. Charged $10 for some cucumber. Always waiting at reception for a long time to make requests.

    Great Seaview apartment. Great memories of wedding 9 years earlier. Friendly cleaning staff. Very relaxing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awesome place to visit. The staff were very friendly hotel was amazing value for money. Stunning pool area and view. We also had dinner at the restaurant and the food was delicious :) Would return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The menu needs to be updated in the room...was different to the restaurant. One stained pillow I mentioned to room service. Maybe leave bottled water in the room so people dont have to put the electric jug under the tap in the handbasin

    The beautiful view and location. The Breakfast was lovely...and the waiting staff were all lovely...Tena koutou katoa

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service as above was slow, but the people were wonderful, friendly and obliging. If on holiday we should all slow down to rebuild our energy especially if in stressful positions when at work.

    I liked the way everything was so relaxed. There was no rush to do anything. If you want amazing friendly service but also don't mind that it is slow then this is the right place. Don't stay if you are not wanting to relax and be patient. The people are lovely and will go out of there way for you, but speed is not priority, hence making me slow down which was a good thing as I never stop.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dark and hot with no AC, just a cheap pedestal fan to circulate the warm air. No net curtains, so leaving the windows open to cool the room down wasn't an option either. The shower flooded the bathroom. No cutlery or washing liquid in the "kitchenette".

    The location is great as the hotel backs right onto the beach, so the view from the restaurant is beautiful. No complaints about the staff, they were fairly competent and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of my room in the resort! No Air Con in the room! They gave us an extra fan but both the fans didnt make any different as there was No Air flow in the room, it was too hot!

    Location of the property.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aside from the wifi - Having to leave!

    We loved the location, view, room, restaurant and the food was great! The music was an absolute bonus with singer Jack and the staff went out of their way to be helpful - especially Annie!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Heads Villa - Opening Special
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff couldn’t find the reservation on arrival so the room wasn’t ready. Also if the place was fill there wouldn’t have been a room available. We have had problems with reservations here before, so suggest you phone ahead to confirm even if you have an email confirmation. The heads rooms are very nice but I would expect some sort of outlook for $500 per night.

    The new heads room was very comfortable and the bed was excellent. The spa was up to temp and ready to use.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon or ceiling fan. Although the room was very spacious, the space was not used efficiently and the room was very bare, compared to other places I have stayed for a similar price. Wifi was extra and so were most movies. TV channels were limited. Also the hot water and water pressure was hit and miss. Sometimes the pressure was so powerful it blew you out the door, othertime it’s was barely a dribble. The room was nice, but overpriced for what we actually got.

    The view was wonderful, the room size was massive and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were lovely and helpful. Being right on the beach was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not overlooking the water, how we thought from the pictures. And the two rooms were not as comfortable as on the pictures. The 'balcony' was the small wooden strip in front of the entrance with a single chair on it.

    Clean rooms, nice pool, friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a bit tight around the villas, villas get a bit hot

    When we arrived and saw the view we were amazed, and the bed was really comfy which is the most important thing to me, its in a gorgeous location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi considering cost to stay at property. Shower was tiny! Water control either hot .. or cold. Conflicting information on websites implying there were cooking facilities.

    Staff were friendly. Restaurant food was good quality, environment is beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a shame that there were numerous cobwebs on window sills and corners of rooms

    Fantastic Views and very friendly efficient staff. Restaurant good serving an excellent menu.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was awesome. Rooms are looking a bit tired but was very clean. Food in restaurant was delicious but we had to wait over 2 hours for our meals to come out

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked two rooms, both of which we had to ask to be cleaned properly as bathrooms hadn't been. We ordered two steak dinners which the chef had hacked through to determine sufficient cooking, fries were undercooked and salad was undressed.

    Polite staff happy to help and a stunning location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unit was a little tired - bathroom could do with a refit.

    Christmas dinner was good value, variety and standard. Bed was extremely comfortable. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We understand we had a standard room but it was situated around the back with a tiny little deck barely a metre wide covered with plants facing the car park. It would have been nice to have either more room or ideally a room with a view. The shower was difficult to use as the shower cubicle wall was approx 250mm above the floor. This meant that unless you had the shower head pointing at head height the water would go straight under the wall and flood the bathroom floor.

    The restaurant location was fantastic with stunning views of the Hokianga harbour. The staff were friendly, especially our waitress Sama who could not do enough for us. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room (12) was dark and rather gloomy - and the lighting was inadequate.

    Excellent service from all the staff, especially in the dining room as we sat on a magical night on the terrace overlooking the beach at sunset. One staff member (dining manager?) in particular obviously loved this area and shared her extensive knowledge about it - we loved her enthusiasm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only food available in the restaurant was a Christmas dinner buffet. We arrived 1/2 hour before the end and the food was cold. Another plate was provided, but this was also cold and there was hardly anything left. The staff provided a free breakfast and free wifi for the following day in compensation, but if we had been told there was another pub/restaurant nearby, we would have gone to that one (rather than have a cold Christmas dinner that we could not eat).

    The room had a fantastic view, overlooking the beach, with an outside table and chairs. The room was clean and the staff were friendly. Parking is outside the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: