Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Copthorne Solway Park, Wairarapa 4 stars

246 High Street South, 8713 Masterton, New Zealand

#9 of 14 hotels in Masterton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 734 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately company policy is to charge $18 a glass of wine even if a $10 glass is requested. I think this is overpriced and unfair. The customer next to me also queried this.

    The facilities are no doubt great. The reason for going for a 3rd time. However will be last as the average customer is being priced out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three rooms booked but all long way away from each other. Only one car park which another car was parked in. Facilities very busy.

    Enjoyed driving range

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car parking directly in front of room 605 so I improvised & made a car park anyway especially given the torrential rain. Also the rubbish bins weren’t sufficient for two people especially being women who make a lot of rubbish - needed bigger bins. I prefer electric blankets than a heat pump otherwise it was very cosy so thanks for a very enjoyable stay!

    The seclusion/privacy of the room, the amenities and the cleanliness of the room. Cleveland’s Service at the service desk was also excellent as he received us well and proceeded to let us know of the ins & outs of Masterton!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here with my children 6yrs and 4yrs... they both had an amazing time here. So much room to run around in and the pool was awesome. Room spacious cosy they had their own space... will definitely visit again...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food was very average. The menu was inviting and the presentation was very nice however the food had no flavour. So little flavour that I stopped eating my main (slow cooked pork belly with parsnip and apple mash). At $38 for this main, it was a huge disappointment.

    Plenty of car parking. Gym and heated pool were easily accessible. Room was clean and warm. Comfortable bed. Check in staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff communicated all the time how busy they were and the whole place was empty! It is not good customer service to highlight how busy you are. There was no attempt to make us feel special by any way. Especially the restaurant was poor with offering solutions for our diet.

    The room was nice, warm and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast special

    was happy with room even though we booked a standard room good parking outside your room but can still access main corridoor stayed for 2 nights would have been good to have breakfast but found breakfast but was too expensive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property badly in need of repairs and maintenance. Out dated rooms. No courtesy vehicle available as only one staff on and could not leave reception to drive.

    Facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heard that they are updating the rooms 👍definitely need to renew some of the beds. We stay there a lot and sometimes they can be uncomfortable. But in all a great place to stay.

    Parking outside your door, good size rooms, restaurant and bar on site. Lovely park to have a wander around and great for younger kids to run around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could do with brightening up and corridors a little on the cool side.

    Amenities and Restaurant were pleasant and relaxing with carparking outside the door

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of the general cleanliness of both the room and the public areas was far from satisfactory with food scraps in the pool area and mould and cobwebs in the room and bathroom evident

    Setting was great - housekeeping VERY POOR.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When checking in, front of house staff should ask if you plan to eat at the restaurant and advise you to make a booking. We went to the restaurant for dinner at 6pm and were told it was booked until 7. Not great when you have a hungry child.

    Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superior room decor old. Wallpaper hanging down off the walls. Pillows hard. Broken pool table. Food and alcohol very expensive. Not really resort type accomodation.

    Comfy bed. Shower clean and tidy. Parking great. Yummy food.Nice selection of wines and beers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    hard pillows, really thin toilet paper, only 1 movie channel. Meals at the Grill were ok but not worth the price paid - other bar restaurants in Wellington make much nicer (and cheaper) meals

    large clean room, no noise

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    The Bed was comfy, The rooms updated and kept clean and well repaired, ie nice bathrooms presentation. The Restaurant is nice and handy to walk to for a top notch choice of meals with out having to drive elseware. We came to stay a year or two back and were pleased with the chef restaurant menu choices. The wine list has a good choice too although a little higher by approx $5 a bottle than we expected. On the other hand you can expect to pay this for nice quality wine. All in all a nice relaxing stay and helpful staff, top marks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was terrible - glass screen wasn't flush and water leaked all over the floor. Also no pressure so rather than being eco, we had to bath our children. Also no heated towel rail so hard to dry towels and had to request new ones. No sound proofing either so lots of slamming doors.

    The facilities for children were really good - indoor pool, playground, tennis/squash court etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure you ask for two swipe cards for the room encase after is doing different things to Mum and the kids.

    Spacious room that lead out to the patio and pool. Lovely and sunny in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor and bed linen is dated and the corridors and rooms are dark and sombre.

    The pillows were very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor cellphone reception in rooms, needed to go out to car park to talk. Toilet seat had a crack which then broke during our stay.

    Beds great. Room fresh and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely Breakfast, Friendly Staff and Comfy beds. However the hotel is a wee bit dusty, my partner has quite severe asthma and he was quite weezy the whole stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior of the accommodation area probably needs a tidy up to make it look more modern

    Comfortable bed, big room, modern room, good parking, access to pools, gym etc

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our shower didn't work, so we had to walk and walk to the pool to have a shower. The Wifi system didn't remember our devises; we had to keep signing onto the Wifi if we went off of it, which meant we had to locate our individual slips of paper that prescribed our username and password. Also it was far from the downtown area.

    The rooms have been fairly recently updated. Lots of activities and facilities in the hotel complex - two different pools, gym, driving range, large green space. Would be great destination for the family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor surrounding the spa pool had algae and something strange floating on the top of it. The pool area also had an unpleasant smell to it

    There wasn't enough cutlery, given the occupancy, however everything else was perfect, thank you!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are nice but doesn’t really show much of costumer service

    The rooms are nice and clean. The pool and spa are great. having a big playground for kids is a big advantage compare to other competitors. Definitely coming back to this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is in great size, with two double beds and the hotel put a cot for our 5 month old. There’s still rooms for us to bring the pram for feeding. Outdoor activities are excellent. Everything within few mins walk . My 5 years old boy enjoyed a lot. The staff are very friendly, did everything I put in my request, made the stay easy for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not at all maintained ... wallpaper peeling off at skirts and ceiling. Tired and cramped for the price. Bed very hard and uncomfortable.

    Where ww needed to be.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like!

    Really appreciated The Grill dining experience, fine food and splendid service. The room was quiet, very well serviced and comfortable. My overall comment would be; with clean pleasant facilities and particularly helpful and gracious staff, our stay was a pleasant one. Thankyou.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s tired and in desperate need of an upgrade. I was on my own and placed in the unit most farthest away from reception and facilities. I felt isolated!

    Not a lot!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Friendly staff n Mature staff. Easy n positive to talk to. Plenty of Space n many activities available. Restaurant meals were absolutely devine. I havent had a good steak for a long time n the veges were very yummy. I really enjoyed the bircher for breakjy. Vey nice local wine .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ate in the restaurant in the evening. We waited nearly an hour for a very poor meal. My husband ordered an orange and fennel salad. The fennel was supposed to be shavings, but was so thick that you had to be a camel to chew it! My wedges were half cooked, half raw! Dreadful meal. The young waitress was untrained and very much out of her depth. Reception cleared everything very elegantly next morning

    Room was fine, value for money. Location was good. I would stay there again, but NOT eat there! Pool and hot pool were good. Staff were very friendly and happy to help.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    however the Shower wasn't overly clean around the bottom but that didn't hinder our stay.

    The stay was great, we were lucky that the lady at check in organised for us to be able to check in early due to having a wedding to attend which we greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I objected strongly to being treated like a suspected criminal and having to pay my accommodation in advance before I had even seen my room, you already had my credit card number when I booked!! This is the type of BS you would expect in Auckland, not Masterton!! Consequently I went elsewhere to dinner and breakfast.

    Nice quiet room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both the first and the second room we were moved to wasn't designed for 2 adults and 2 children. There just wasn't any room to lounge or even to move around freely in. There wasn't a microwave or even a toaster. Only had 2 cups, 2 glasses, 2 seats etc. I did State I had children hence the room change from the laundry room view to a view of the playground. According to reception there weren't any pool view room's left even if online booking would disagree. The mattresses and linen need updating as I kept struggling to fit between the springs.

    A lot of great onsite activities/facillities. Staff very friendly and accomodating

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a small couch/sofa, but I actually didn't ask if the rooms had that extra method of relaxing at night as some of the other may have had that option.

    The exit through back door in room was good for indoor outdoor flow.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being exposed to cigarette smoke which wafted under our door from the corridor. Had to leave our external door open for most of the night to clear the air.

    The dining room staff quick, professional, friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. On our next night, i booked in for dinner for two at "The Grill" with the receptionist at reception, not the restaurant. It was about 8.15am in the morning. When we arrived after being at the Bar for an hour, NO booking had been passed on. It was awkward but good staff at "The Grill" helped overcome the difficulty. 2. At the same time as making our evening booking for "The Grill" i requested from the same receptionist that our Suite 301 be serviced by noon and could she advise housekeeping of that request. Returning at 12.15 the Suite had not been serviced and the lovely service girl said she had not been advised. 3. On two afternoons, along with other guests, we went to the indoor pool about 4.30pm only to be informed that the swimming classes would not conclude until 5pm. It ruled out use by guests ?

    A well presented Valentines Day dinner

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rubbish had been left in a drawer.no dishcloth or tea towel in kitchenette area.only two towels should be at least four for two people,but I asked and I did get more.restaurant was lovely but our waiter wasn’t that great,spoilt things a bit,and it was very obvious the waitresses serving the other tables were far better,maybe he was new?the main meal was the best but the par baked bread roll spoilt it,which was a shame.

    Peaceful,comfy bed,great bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the beds in the room was very saggy (you could clearly see it had a dip in the middle), and some of the décor quite dated.

    Great variety of facilities. We have stayed here a number of times over the years. It's a destination in itself for families with children, plenty to keep them entertained. House staff always friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It felt very dated compared to what I saw on their website. Cleanliness can be improved & could definitely use cosmetic updates everywhere. It does have more of "motel" feel rather than hotel. There are fun amenities, but outdoor pool was too cold even in the middle of the summer. Not sure if I'd call it a "resort"

    Outdoor playground with fun play structure for kids (and adults) all ages, located on massive field. Super clean and well maintained indoor pool & gym. Onsite restaurant (The Grill) had good quality food although quite over priced. Family suite was roomy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had bigger range for breakfast and need a bit of a revamp. Also fridge was off when we arrived.

    Loved the air conditioning and the pool was great. Comfortable beds. Clean and tidy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise levels in the corridors as doors were closed quite noisy at night

    Easy access to the swimming pools. Bathroom was modern and spacious Wine menu at the bar showcased a variety of Wairarapa wines

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First put into a superior room that didn’t face the pool yet it was on picture at booking. So got room moved. Rooms very dated, wallpaper coming off. Lamp hot point wasn’t working. No bed side lamps. Patio table with only one chair and the set didn’t match. No sky sports pop up channels.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall a very comfortable stay and great holiday especially for families. Great facilities for children and adults alike. Family rooms are newly renovated, spacious and clean. Also Friendly staff. We had a lovely holiday not even needing to leave the hotel much at all.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Junior suite came with a tiny kitchenette which did not have a sink in it which made it hard to wash cups, they had to be washed in the bathroom sink. For a suite for 4 people it was cramped.

    The pools were good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in the corridors at night was terrible, doors slamming and kids and adults shouting, it felt like a hostel for back packers.

    The room was spacious and there was plenty of activities for the kids to do

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entire premises would really need a decent spring clean. Wifi in the room was veeery slow. The room and staff - well let's just say were OK, nothing extra to make you feel more comfortable.

    Great number of facilities on site. Heated pool was great. Good location when travelling and in need of overnight stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under floor heating stuck on in 30 degree heat. No Wi-Fi. No cellphone signal. Overall disappointed. Won't stay here again.

    It was pretty quiet and the room was clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed the week before in a new room, arrived this time two weeks offered a tired old room, had to pay more for the new room, which is nice but not outstanding!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant buffet evening meal was atrocious. Our room smelt of cigarette smoke - they couldn’t move us so they came in and sprayed air freshener. I felt the reception staff could have done more.

    The cafe was lovely and the team were very polite and great service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I expected a resort type experience and it felt more like a retirement village or a cheesy holiday camp. The halls went on for miles internally and the external access was shabby and did not offer a view or privacy.

    It was alright for a night on our way through to someplace else. The bar was nice. Not worth the money, I would have been better off saving money and staying someplace cheaper and just as nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the shower, cold to extreme hot so basically had too hot shower, our room didnt have a kitchenette which i thought would have come with one with the price we paid room took a while to cool down, the air con is right by the outside door?

    Food and the staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We felt the whole place looked tired and in need of redecoration - wallpaper in our room way past its best. Too, the lights were hopeless - no bedside light, too bright overhead lights, too weak lights each side of the TV, switches in difficult places. The bed's pillows were not comfortable.

    Easy access. The cafe meal was quite good and served promptly. The staff there were courteous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable and pillows definitely needs upgrading to softer ones. These were small and very hard. Thankfully I brought my own.

    Family friendly, driving range, pools,gym and restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wrong information re Solway Cafe. Read open to 7.00 pm Sat, Sun and School holidays. We turned up for meal at 5.30 pm during school hol and it was closed.. This meant a trip into town with two small children. Not what we really needed!

    Indoor pool and spa

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was poorly prepared and no taste. Shower didn't work well; bed uncomfortable; peeling paint on walls and general feeling of dampness in building.

    Staff were mostly friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is old and in need of maintenance. Not much privacy with outdoor seating area associated with room.

    Convenient location travelling from the South Very nicely kept grounds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was tired looking except at the front, it all smelt damp and was very cold we had to have the heat pumps on 30 degrees to stay warm.

    The lovely lady that cleaned our room, she was fabulous. Very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to have seen cafe option opened later due to having my daughter with us the main dining area allowed minimal and formal offerings only.Although lovely sometimes nice to have a more relaxed meal.

    We had an evening meal which was amazing and staff were very welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indoor pool had been pre booked for Pilates and not available for lane swimming.

    Cleanliness, service and facilities. Front desk welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Sky TV channels.Driving range cubicles need to be wider. Couldn't do a full tee shot. Damaged my club. Bird droppings on ledges needed cleaning.

    The facilities were very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Waiting 1/12 hours for a starter is not ok. Then the standard was very poor. It turns out they were short staffed. If they had said, we would have waited happily in the bar but not at the table waiting for food with all staff ignoring us. When the food arrived, for the high prices, NOT value for money and extremely disapointing.

    The accomodation was fine and, as expected, clean and tidy. Restaurant was not ok at all!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    My request when booking for rooms close together was not followed up. Fabulous meal at restaurant though it was a long time coming.

    My room was very comfortable. Kids loved the pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pricey restaurant and the food was terrible. I ordered lamb, it was tough. That is why I have given a fair rating. Perhaps Monday isn't good for food. Otherwise I enjoyed my stay

    Nice big bathroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food selection - café was closed for the evening and meals in the restaurant were too expensive for families.

    Room close to pool and playground. Friendly staff. Parking at room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a superior room thinking it would be a bit more spacious but apparently the "superior" room just has a bigger bed in a smaller room.

    Nice apples at reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were travelling by train and were disappointed there was no free transport provided to and from the local station (especially as it was raining). I believe older people would be more interested in travelling over from Wellington on their Gold Cards by train and staying at Copthorne if there was transport provided. It is the only thing that puts me off coming again. Also being Father's Day the Cafe was booked out for lunch. As we were guests with no car, where were we meant to eat our lunch? Guests need to have food available.

    Everything 😊

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pam at the reception was very welcoming, helpful and kind😊 Thank you Pam😊 The pool was a great surprise to my family 😊💖 We definitely will come back again. Regards, Rita

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hi I booked this for my parents to have a relaxing weekend away. And they haven't stop raving about how wonderful it was there. And my dad loved the shower and bed. They loved there night away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi reception not good Was expecting mushrooms with the breakfast

    The pool was convenient The maintenance man was prompt and efficient Good team on for check in

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were plenty of free activities, the pool, gym etc. The cafe is very reasonably priced and the food lovely and staff friendly. We couldn't resist getting a bucket of balls from the driving range for just $5 a good way to spend some time on a wet day. We were rubbish but it was fun. The restaurant menu looked lovely but a little outside our budget, maybe next time or for a special occasion. The hotel is easy to find and a great base for exploring further afield. We had a lovely drive out to Castle Point, We'll worth the drive on a sunny day. Would recommend hotel for families as plenty to keep the children amused.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiters in the restaurant need to be more aware of customers. They forgot to serve us for about 15 minutes after going to get us menus.

    A great indoor pool and some fantastic meals at The Grill. Ample parking and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a great problem, unit very clean, but ants running on bathroom floor. Staff sprayed to good effect. When we tried to watch reply of Super Rugby final on channel 2, no signal. finally got problem sorted at half time. There were others in the Hotel who rang reception with the same problem of accessing the programme. Otherwise a pleasant stay. Great dinner meal in dining room. Good service too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No covered outside area, I wanted to sit out side but it was raining so couldn't due to the area not being covered

    The service was fantastic, very discreet professional and the all night room service is amazing we arrived late 10pm and ordered off the breakfast menu. Would stay there again anytime I'm there

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meal came out the same time as the entree plates were collected, we didnt have any time inbetween courses. Hence we were too full for either of us to finish our mains. Our rooms decor was a little dated and the tv was too small.

    The restsurant food was lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the beds was saggy. Could have done with a bigger or 2nd spa on busy days at the pool. More TV channels, variety would be good. More double room options. Would have been good to have a cheaper family Dining option.

    Free pool, wi-fi, nice bathroom, close to town, good playground, good room service

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: