Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dorset House Backpackers 4 stars

1 Dorset Street, 8014 Christchurch, New Zealand

#74 of 169 hotels in Christchurch

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 542 hostel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    Great location, clean house, with an emphasis on being environmentally responsible.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tripping over the steps leading up the path at night, need to be remove in favour of a gently sloping path. Need evening access to reception staff, travel doesn't always neatly fit into 9-5 time slot,

    The close proximity to Christchurch gardens & the city. The bus stop to airport & city only 3min. away. The bed & clean room , the eco-heater, the ole world atmosphere, yet up-to -date clean showers & kitchen space.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Nice cosy place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfy small dorms. Hostel was quiet but social enough to make friends. Kitchen had everything I needed, WiFi was fast, lounge was comfy. 18mins walk to the centre. Free parking but if you park on the street beware the ticket officer does check this road so read the signs!, I would recommend and will stay here again when I visit chch!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.3
    Great location and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Guests using outside metal stairs late at night was very disturbing. Time for a few upgrades - kitchen facilities looking tired, mattress very firm

    Homely and secure environment. Within walking distance of many sights.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Very cozy and comfortable
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the door code were emailed to me. When my phone died I struggled to get in. The wifi password was given to me on a bit of paper which I lost. I think both of these would be a good addition to the key.

    The bed was super comfy. The tv was a nice addition and the place had a very homely feel., it was super cozy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Best value in Christchurch ♡♡
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking which meant sometimes parking on the street.

    Staff were super helpful. They greeted me warmly day after day and nothing was too much to ask for.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    Welcoming and wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a minor problem with the shower but I let them know and they had it fixed immediately. Awesome customer service. Very apologetic. Very approachable and welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Good place, staffed by freindly people. No bells or whistles but for what you pay, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Showers weren't great. not so easy to shower in them,. couldnt adjust nozzles easy and one room was out of order and another quite weak. downstairs one was much better. Place was as expected but I had one guy in our room who was...weird to the max. Great and friendly to talk to, face to face but was a tad mental. Slept with the light on but he covered his face with his sheets. He'd bang the window at 3 am, He'd get up to go to toilet and SWITCH OFF HIS LIGHT, let the door slam, come back in, get into bed, then SWITCH ON THE LIGHT. Not. Normal. He'd have animated conversations with himself, too and stare at his own face in the mirror by the door for 5 seconds before leaving the room. Yeah, otherwise the place was really good. So not really the place to fault but boy, nobody slept well in that room. or kept one eye open.

    Nice big kitchen so I could make a fry up each morning. comfy beds, spacious rooms. good common room with pool table and big tv. Vending machines for snacks was a good idea. Good location, right next to the park and short km to museum and arts centre, a little more to centre of town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Single beds in dormitories.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets are clean but a little bit smelly.

    Single beds in dormitories. Nice and clean.there is a super big park next to it. Closed to centre. Enough sunshine in rooms and kitchen.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Feels like home lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved this place a lot especially the house setup and the ambience. Reminded us of our home. Great kitchen, great tv lounge, and best of all just a stone throw from hagley park where u can do some activities there. We had tremendous experience when first time staying in christchurch. Recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely staff, nice room, nice stricture, good position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shared bathroom for the private rooms was freezing cold, being winter and lacking any kind of heating.

    Lovely staff, nice room, nice stricture, good position.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely backpackers, would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff, clean, bright rooms, great kitchen (well stocked with equipment and spices, oil etc) and wonderful location - walking distance to all of Christchurch’s main attractions with bars/restaurants nearby too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Recommend!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Warm room in these cold weather. Clean & convenient place. Provided hairdryer and hot shower, heater in room and bed as well. Recommend to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Close to the CBD
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hostel has been renovated from a beautiful old building. The kitchen is fairly spacious and is conveniently located. The rooms are warm and there are plenty of bathrooms. It is about a 15 minute walk in to town which is nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location, 20 min walk to centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom at the end of building near room 11 water never warmed up so I changed bathrooms.

    I liked the fact that the shower& toilets were a seperate bathroom like at home so not in cubicles like you get at most backpackers. Close to Hagley Park

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Value of money for this place and happy with the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Very friendly staff and help us to explain us around the town Clean toilet and kitchen About 10 to 20 mins walk to town Right next to the beautiful garden so you can have a nice walk from this place Yes recommended for the value of price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    I really liked the layout of this place, it didn’t feel as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would’ve appreciated lockers. Also pricier than my other New Zealand hostels.

    I really liked the layout of this place, it didn’t feel as crowded as many hostels. Also had a homier feeling.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.0
    Environmentally friendly hostel with good beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little far away from bus station to walk (30 minutes). Bit the walk is easy and nice.

    It has very confortable single beds and there isn't any bunk bed what keeps the number of people per room low. The kitchen has everything you may need and free spices. Restroom was ok. There is an atmosphere of saving the planet that makes it very special.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    Great place and location for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower temperature wasn’t great, fluctuated a lot or was just cold.

    The communal kitchen had everything you need, lots of space too. The room was cosy, bed very comfy and a heater was supplied too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Very nice, quiet and clean hostel with great wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The house is a bit noisy - you can hear people going up and down the stairs / walking in the room above us as well as the staff washing machines in the morning. The center is a fair walk away - supermarket / shopping center even 40 min.

    Very nce quiet hostel with very good Wifi, friendly staff, everything is clean, the kitchen is well equipped.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Very nice place to stay in Christchurch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff werent very welcoming. Kitchen needed cleaning more often.

    Large lounge area with free pool, games, dvds etc. Lots of clean bathrooms. Well equipped kitchen. Nice comfy beds, no bunks! Close to nice park and short walk to town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Location is ideal so close to all the main nightlife of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is ideal so close to all the main nightlife of Christchurch and right on the main road so easy to find your way around if it is your first time driving. The hostel is clean and quiet and the staff are brilliant and very accommodating!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    I liked that there were not bunkbeds for once, so I had my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked that there were not bunkbeds for once, so I had my bed and space which was lovely. I arrived there late, left very early so didn't get to use the facilities much.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent cosy and homely hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only ever spoke to one lady on reception but she was fantastic - so friendly and helpful. The beds were really comfy and was a luxury to have my own bed and no bunk beds, as well as a bedside table and lamp - makes a huge difference.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay in Christ Church, NZ.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location! Easy walk to City Centre and botanical gardens. Lovely staff who were helpful despite our brief visit. Quiet night, uninterrupted by the comings and goings of guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    The building was lovely and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was lovely and clean. The facilities we're good and the staff really friendly and helpful. Well located as well since it is soclose to the botanical garden.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    Great lovely hostel, super friendly helpful staff :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my second staybat Dorset house, I had find every perfect the first time so I decided to book but unfortunately this time there was one thing I didn't like so much. The only negative (which didn't happen on my first stay) was that for some reason the plugs were on a timer which meant I had put my phone to charge overnight but it wasn't actually charging. I was in room 14 outwith the main building, this wasn't an issue when I stayed in room 1 on the main building. Other than that it was perfect and I'll happily stay there again.

    This is a very cosy hostel in a quite good location. Is within walking distance to the city center, just 10-15min walk to the Botanical Gardens, The Canterbury Museum and the Art Gallery and right on the airport bus route. The rooms are spacious enough, I like that is beds and not bunks, the kitchen is big and well equipped and the lounge is a very nice common area. The staff are lovely and super friendly, and their response on email was super quick. I emailed in advance asking for some laundry powder to be left for me with my key (as I was arriving later than check time) and they made sure I could wash my clothes :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure low and took, honestly, about five minutes to heat up enough for a shower. I'm sure there are good, save- the-planet reasons for this, but cd they not bear that in mind before plastering the walls with their plea for the guests to minimise their water use? Take the guests' experience into account? Likewise with the questionnaire - it is written at the top : ' Thanks ... it allows us to focus our attention.' On what? Unnecessary and written by someone with little command of English? Pointless! We know why you'd want a review questionnaire completed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    A lovely hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms had almost no ventilation. Fortunately, it was quite warm outside so we could sleep with open windows all night. No female dorms. No 24hr staff. The bathrooms could've been cleaner. A bit difficult to find parking. Half of the parking spots were reserved for the staff which meant I had to find parking on the street. And the street was full with cars.

    I loved the building. An old house built in the 1880s, high ceilings, big rooms, big windows etc. Free wi-fi. In a nice area, close to the centre and the park. Quiet house/area. Normal beds - no bunk! The hostel didn't feel like a hostel but more 'homey'. Accommodating staff. I checked in after hours and they left a letter for me with instructions and gave me the door code over the phone. I'd stay here again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly host had our room ready by 10am, which was amazing after a red-eye long haul flight. Large and fully stocked kitchen, lots of common areas, within walking distance to city center

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.5
    One of the better hostels
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The problem here is the reception closes at 5pm and keys are left for late arrivals. The door code is texted / emailed to you. There is no one to contact if there is a problem. Some girls who had booked in good faith arrived to find no keys and had to sleep in the lounge. Guests were leaving the external doors propped open so there was no security, and drinking on the balcony went on late making it noisy for anyone in rooms underneath or next to the external stairs. Due to the age of the property, the rooms are tired and floors very creaky.

    The hostel is small and quieter than others. Close to the botanic gardens and Canterbury museum. Staff can help with transfers and local attractions. Hilde was very helpful. Thank you!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door access to rooms 14-17 was right next to my room. The guests staying in those rooms would allow this access door to slam shut which disrupted my sleep a few times. Suggest the accommodation add to the sign they have on the access door 'keep door closed' - add 'please close gently in consideration of other guests.

    Clean rooms and very clean showers. Comfortable room. The staff went out of their way to help in any way they could which was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    It was nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was nice and clean. Room is clean, nice and small. As a backpackers motel I would say it is more than expected. The place is nice, you can just walk to the city center which is 10 to 15 mins walk from this place and also there is a bus stop in 3 mins walking distance which goes to the airport and city. You will find enough information about the city in the reception. Toilet and shower are shared but it is clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More space in the kitchen for food storage also if it was raining there would be limited eating space.

    The location was great very close to the Botanical Gardens good for an evening picnic if you don't want to dine in the kitchen

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.9
    If anything probably needs replacement of carpets. Decor dated in places. But its fit for purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly. Clean. Decent facilities all round. Spacious communal areas. Wanted for nothing. Home from home. Large Kitchen area...well stocked with crockery / cutlery. Totally equipped for cooking a meal!! Fridges coped with guests labelled foods with name and leave date. Great idea!! Receptionist was lovely and welcoming. So nice. Perfect location... walking distance to town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    6.7
    The facilities are very clean and the bed is not a bunk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had a very unpleasant experience at this hostel. I checked in at night and found an envelop which contains a key, an entrance door key, not a room key and a code to the entrance. I locked out of my room one night. So I called to one of the staff. She told me I might pay the cost to open the door because it was out of business hours. However, it was not my fault at all. They didn't give me a key to the room. Fortunately other people who shared the room came in and opened the door! It was an really awful experience.

    The facilities are very clean and the bed is not a bunk. It is a single bed and comfortable. But the frame is steel, so you should be careful not to be hit at night. I have some bruise on the thigh.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    Really pleasant, quiet, and comfortable, friendly and accommodating staff, good people.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit of a trek from the centre of town; around 20 minutes' walk to the Canterbury Museum and Bus Interchange if you know where you're going, longer when you keep running into construction zones.

    Really comfortable and lovely historic house, right on the park, with soft beds and ample facilities. Would happily have stayed longer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.5
    Good location near Avon River for a walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tables and chairs on roof top could have been cleaned and broken ones removed. They were only plastic and I sat on one with a cracked leg and back - lucky I didnt fall and hurt myself.

    Lovely gardens, good kitchen area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Had a great time, will recommend to friends and family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfy, showers were great, clean well cared for property with a beautiful garden! Location awesome with plenty of eateries nearby! Friendly helpful people.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful old building in a quiet neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was just awful, going from piping hot to icy cold every few seconds. The bathroom ventilator also caused significant noise in adjacent rooms. I also think that this hostel should place longterm guests in separate dorm rooms, as most other hostels do. There was a longterm guy in our dorm who had zero interest in any form of communication (understandable if you are there longterm but why put him up with short term people?), whose stuff was everywhere, had a very loud alarm on for 5 o'clock every morning, snored and managed to drench the entire room with the smell of his sweat that the wide open window could not counter. The hostel of course can't always control what guests do but this could be prevented if longterm guests have their own dorms.

    Located in a beautiful old building in a nice and quiet neighbourhood. The living room was huge! Bit far from the city centre but close to the botanic gardens and right next to a bus stop. The staff was friendly and helpful with solving problems. Nice outdoor terrace as well! The dorm itself was quite nice, with only 3 beds (no bunks!) and an open window for fresh air.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place:))
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a beautiful place. Everything is so clean, you don’t enter the kitchen fearing for food poisoning like at other places. I really enjoyed my stay:)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.9
    They have single beds not bunk beds so it's better for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a walk (25mins) from intercity station so you need to take buses. But buses in Nz are not frequent and not always on time.

    They have single beds not bunk beds so it's better for sleeping without worrying about being disturbed by others. Very nice staff!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.5
    Basic, cheap, nothing special but fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic. Fine though. Room right by a door to outside but there wasn't much disturbance as other travellers were chilled. (Was in room 18) Garden def ain't as big as it looks in the pictures! Could do with a fan in the room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.5
    Location is good, although it is a decent walk from where you normally would catch the buses!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked the single room because I wanted to have some quite space...however the single room was next to a shared dorm-room and it was not very noise-proof. I could hear quite clearly of the noise from next door. Plus there was no table and chair in my single room as usually you'd expect single rooms to have. I needed that little private space to work on something quite important but my plan didn't work out due to the room limitations :( I hope they can improve on this.

    The staff is friendly and helpful - upon my arrival I asked where I should go to explore more of Christchurch she was so nice and patient and recommended the gondola for me and i absolutely enjoyed the experience! She also helped me out with recommending local supermarkets and transportation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed my stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In one of the bathrooms the shower didn't get warm - some maintenance work here and there could improve the place. Not the most central accomodation, approx. 10min to Canterbury Museum/Botanical Garden, approx. 20min to Cathedral Square.

    Old and charming house. Nice common rooms! Very comfortable bed! Quiet! Very convenient for the Airport bus (bus stop only 2min from the house)! Easy to meet people.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.8
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like how the walls and doors were so thin that you could hear every footstep that passed your room and you could clearly hear people talking in the next room, even though people were talking at a normal volume.

    The room was small but a very decent considering how cheap it costs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.5
    Fine for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall this place is pretty worn around the edges. The common room smells weird, so no one really hung out there and it was hard to meet anyone who wasn’t in your room. The plug in my room was also weird, it was on a timer so you couldn’t just leave your phone to charge, you had to keep turning it on which was annoying.

    This hostel was fine for what it costs. Perfectly serviceable, and it was nice there were so many bathrooms and showers. Wifi was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.1
    Stayed at nicer backpackers for less
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking, you have to be quick to get a space. The whole place felt a bit run down, could do with a renovation. Kitchen is small and gets really crowded. Also the kitchen hob is so hard to use, as the numbers have worn off and the knobs have mostly broken. Room was pretty small and the furniture just seemed worse for wear. Annex shower is pretty bad, literally takes 5 mins to warm up.

    Location was good, short walk to Botanics and museum. Internet worked well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay, lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Kitchen facilities a little dated, although has everything you would need.

    Cosy and quiet location within moderate walking distance of main part of city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    Overall, the stay was great!. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot water pressure was not adequate for a proper shower. If the pressure is good then guests will tend to use less water. The kitchen should have the basic spices available. Most were about to finish. The rooms were not serviced with new soaps everyday. A bit of leniency with checkout time for long distance travelers would be wonderful.

    The staff were super friendly. They allowed us to leave our bags at reception after checkout at 10am as our flight was at 6pm. Freezers and cooking facilities available guests were great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    6.3
    Great place small.adequate quaint accesible from.bus transport 29 airport bus quite area !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shops were a walk away to get food 17mins approx ok I was lucky weather been fab all week i think female and male toilets would be advantage .kitchen some people just hogged it every night and a fight for the kettle!!!people seem.to congregate in there alot other users of Dorset house not a lot of room when everybody was in !so I took my food to my room Evening meal

    Pretty little place near the river avon small quaint accessible by bus quick.to get into city centre!! Bus 29 straight to and from.airport outside kens photography shop main road very convenient !!a quite spot very homely

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Good choice in ChCh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's not the accomodation fault, but somebody stole our food from the fridge, although it was labeled with our name, room number and check-out date.

    Good choice for a double private room. The bathroom is shared, but not crowded (went in autum) Clean. The kitchen was huge and with all you need. Short walk to restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    My stay was peaceful, comfortable and pleasant- I will return!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t have any negative feedback to offer- it is backpacker accommodation so bedroom and bathroom facilities are generally basic, but absolutely everything I needed was provided, including bath towels.

    The house had history and character! My room was comfortable and peaceful and the location was central- so easy to get to everywhere! I loved being right next door to Hagley Park and the botanic gardens. There were plenty of bathroom facilities and good kitchen facilities. Access was nice and secure, both to the house and to my room. Staff are friendly and helpful- I was able to stow my baggage for a few hours on checkout too. The free wifi is also a fantastic service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    The kitchen had all the spices you needed for cooking and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 7-Bed Co-Ed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to walk a little bit to the city but you know that before booking , so not really negative.

    The kitchen had all the spices you needed for cooking and everything was really clean. The lounge is really nice to hang out!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    It is like coming home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 7-Bed Co-Ed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some kitchen equipment needs a replacement. But it is my favourite place in the south island!

    It is like coming home! Cute old cottage! Friendly staff, especially Hilda was so lovely and helpful. Your can book all your activities and transports directly in the Hostel. No bunk beds and perfect WiFi!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    Very comfort stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 7-Bed Co-Ed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not very convenient for me. Not many restaurant and shopping places to go nearby.

    I really like the bed in the dorm room. It's 5 single beds not the usually bunk beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.8
    Clean hostel close to the park
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint was unfortunately another guest. An older fellow, who I think was a long term guest, could be quite rude and passive aggressive. Who has a nap in a common area and gets mad at others trying to enjoy the space? Also, the mattresses were not the most comfortable.

    Clean hostel close to the park

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    Got what we paid for. Next time we'll spend more money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV couldn't seem to get TV One so we missed the leader's debate. The kitchen had no oven and this is not mentioned anywhere. We waited for 13 mins for someone to come to reception so we could get our bags and missed our bus and barely made our flights on time.

    Location. Price. Style.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Ideal budget spot with a casual vibe
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water temperature in shower was fussy. For those who need to know, the cash fare for the bus to the city center is NZ$4 one way.

    The staff was really nice. The wifi was good. The common room was a decent place to chill. The location is just down the street from the buses that go to/from the airport and city center. Decent food options nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    The staff were awesome to deal with, they were kind,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were awesome to deal with, they were kind, friendly and informative. They allowed us to store our bags at the backpackers before we checked in. We also really like our room it was clean, tidy and a relaxing place to stay. We would like to stay again someday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Good hostel in an older building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no markets within walking distance

    Good hostel in an older building. No rooms with bathrooms. On our stay one of the public bathrooms was out of order, limiting the bathrooms. Shared kitchen is large and bedrooms are small. Very close to bus stop

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    We stayed in a double room for one night. The room was clean and bright. Size is almost perfect for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in a double room for one night. Size is almost perfect for two people, however, felt a bit tight. Some of the showers did not have hot water which is not so exciting on a chill winter night or morning.

    We stayed in a double room for one night. The room was clean and bright. You can find everything you might need for cooking in the kitchen and it is really clean. People and staff we met there was friendly and helpful. It is a good 10 mins walk to the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Comfortable. Good Wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get to the property the first night due to roads being blocked out of my town due to a state of emergency....still had to pay though...would think there'd be some leniency in this regard based on the circumstances; apparently not.

    Cool place that used to be a girls college. Nice facilities. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    I was able to check in early (after arranging it prior to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast, however you can buy eggs on toast for three bucks

    I was able to check in early (after arranging it prior to arrival) and the lady at the desk was really lovely. All staff was. Comfy beds, close to museums, MT Victoria and marina. Plenty of showers and toilets.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.5
    overall its really good =) worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hot and cold water of the shower is not very stable sometimes

    The old school design and decoration of the historical building is really astonishing !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    my room is a little bit underground. Some bathrooms are super tiny and not enough hooks for hanging clothes.

    the price is reasonable. the location is good. people are nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Cosy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Double room a little bit small, if you carry more than 2 regular luggages, you might have trouble

    Quiet atmosphere good internet great common facilities awesome location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    BEST HOSTEL EVER
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I LOVED this hostel. It was warm, clean, and cozy and in a great location. The staff went above and beyond when I needed help, and I honestly wish I could have stayed longer. I will definitely stay here the next time I'm in Christchurch and seriously cannot recommend it enough.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    LOVE this Hostel!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant, friendly, homely Hostel with a great vibe and a very good kitchen! Rooms are lovely, we even had an electric blanket which we used every night! Everyone is really nice and it was so cosy! Can't recommend enough.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.3
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were super friendly and helpful, hostel felt like home for the days I was there which is always nice. Right next to hagley park which is great if you like to walk/run. Within walking distance to everything you'd need. Wifi is good also.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    6.7
    Beds were comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weird smell to the room and shower rooms didn't feel clean . (But that less to do with staff and the other people your sharing with.) Annoying internet logged out every 4 hours. No lockers in room.

    Beds were comfy. Shower room instead of cubicles. Internet was OK. Easy to get to and from the airport.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.5
    My stay at Dorset house was a pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was opposite the kitchen and I got woken up at about 2.30 am by people in the kitchen talking.

    It was only a short walk to the city. It was a quiet location. The place was clean and tidy. The staff were friendly. I liked that they had private rooms for people travelling on their own. I also had a TV, heater and an electric blanket.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    It was a very quite homestay feel, that meets the vibe on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    It was a very quite homestay feel, that meets the vibe on the city. It has everything you need. Phil made you feel very welcome and the accommodation was super clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    fantastic stay in Christchurch
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find something to complain about... perhaps login again in the WiFi every 4h? Honestly it was perfect!!

    Everything! People were nice, kitchen and lounge were spacious, clean and well furnished, bed was comfy, the room was huge and well furnished, ecological place, perfect bathrooms, lovely house and decoration!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.5
    Standard enough hostel. Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice in the kitchen. There were traps so this was being rectified.

    Single beds rather than bunks were a huge plus. Good value and short distances from all CBD sites. Cute old building too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Co-Ed 5 Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy access from Chch airport by no29 bus. Great location, clean, comfy bed and great stuff. Enough plugs, each bed has a light and a small table. Wifi works pretty good. Actually I stayed 3 times during my trip in South Island trip!:)

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: