Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wains Hotel Dunedin 3.5 stars

310 Princes Street, 9016 Dunedin, New Zealand

#48 of 57 hotels in Dunedin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2422 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it. Even had stairs for exercise if wanted😉

    Cosy. Comfortable. Quiet.... didn't get any street noise, no neighbours talking or water running.... so quiet!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small as was the bed. The bed was so hard it was difficult to sleep. We travelled as a group & paid the same for our rooms yet there were vast differences in the room sizes and beds. The breakfast was average

    The staff were friendly and managed to give our whole group rooms on the same floor which was great. The location was very close to the places we were going to.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the staff were trained to a level that you would expect at a 5 star hotel. I loved the charm of the old building (particularly the old lift). I thought the hotel represented excellent value for money and look forward to returning and seeing the renovations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love and like the comfort of our room 2 double bed is so good for us couple with a toddler. Our wee boy is so lucky to have a bigger size of bed. The breakfast was great and lots of choices so good. The location is great just about 5 to 10 mins walk to the shops bars and malls. Awesome staff very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst hotel ive ever stayed in. Dirty. The bath/shower was dangerous (slippery, water went everywhere, bath was up high) the products like soap etc were semi used from the previous person, the parking is ridiculous, the staff seemed grouchy, tiny tv, freezer tray didnt work. The list goes on. I do not recommend.

    Wifi was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The building was cold, the bathroom plug broke, and wasn't fixed when I was there as told to me by the assistant Patrons not having consideration for others, very noisy.

    Breakfast, the bed was comfortable. Loved it is an old building with lots of stories behind it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older bathroom (had no character), walls were a little dirty, decor somewhat outdated and no wine glasses

    I loved the vintage lift and the hotel had character. Additionally, the view was spectacular. hotel is a close walk to the city centre. Staff were bubbly and accommodating.. very clean crisp bedding

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is very old. It is due for a revamp, so it should create a better impression then. Don't like the shower above tub.

    Good location. Safe to walk at night. Friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel does need a refurb - and where slightly disappointed that our bed was not made when we asked for room to be made up. Check in staff could do with cheering up.

    Beds Comfy. Breakfast great. Close proximity to city centre. Check out staff lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. It's pretty hard to find parking (hotel doesn't have) 2. Room and hall don't look tidy (carpet is old and need to be replaced) 3. Eventually I have known that price at hotels's website was lower than on booking.com 4. Group of tourists from China made a lot of noise

    1. This hotel has very good location - just a few minutes walk to Octagon

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked this hotel thinking it would be a lovely oldy world hotel. All it really is, is old and tired. To be fair it does look like they are going to be doing some upgrades in the future, but have let it get to quite a stat before that. The first room we were put in was in such a bad way we had to be asked to move. The furniture in the rooms is cheap and marked. If you are looking for a hotel experience this is not for you. No one meets you at the car to help you with bags when you pull up. Considering we were in the ‘family’ rooms you would think there would be extra attention paid to the cleaning, we found other kids drink bottles and things under the bed. As I said just disappoint it wasn’t like the photos and not up to hotel standard.

    The front desk staff were lovely and helpful. Location is very good Our second room had lots of space.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertising for the hotel was NOT what we got! Falsifying pictures on the website and the disappointment apon seeing the room. The leaking shower,the poorly cleaned room! I will be telling my friends and family NOT to use the hotel.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was good, but parking was a mess. Also the building next door looked like a haunted house!

    Breakfast was good for the price. Rooms were quite comfortable although there was no view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing old style building which was the perfect fit for our stay in Dunedin. Location is central, the staff were friendly/helpful & the buffet breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't realise you have to prebook a carpark if you want to use the hotel carparking.

    Staff were really friendly and the room was nice and comfy and warm

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were steps from the lift to the level we stayed on that were difficult with heavy suitcases.

    Small, comfortable hotel that was close enough to the main part of Dunedin.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We drive past it twice & had to ring for exact location. Room was located next to lift & it was noisy when being used. Instead of one comfy chair could be 2, the bed moved a little when sitting on it.

    The room was spacious & the breakfast was terrific. Staff gave us great venues for dinner and easy to follow directions. Shower had great pressure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet gurgled when you flush it and the shower is a bit slippery even with the non slip mat down

    Liked the warm and cozy feeling when you walk into the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's comfortable, clean, helpful/friendly staff absolutely adequate for money spent. Ok, some stuff on the dated side but fully functional and comfortable. Breakfast good, parking easy on the streets around. Internet great. No complaints whatsoever!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your parking facilities could be better as we weren’t sure if we could park outside your hotel just to unload our luggage. It would be really helpful if you had a bright neon sign outside your hotel saying Wains Hotel as we found it really difficult to actually locate where you were especially late at night.

    We absolutely loved your elevator. It’s a classic and really sets off your hotel. Our room was excellent and the facilities available were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    General matience and attention to detail with house keeping.

    Room was very disappointing. When booking I ask for a lower level room but was given one on the very top floor. Room was extremely cold and the small oil fin heater did nothing to remedy this. The entire exterior wall was just a wall of damp, and the curtains could not be closed. Room was situated near the lift and was extremely noisy for most of the night. Housekeeping need to take the time to wipe the walls which where extremely dirty. I was very disappointed in the room as I have stayed here before in other rooms which where great. It seems the higher up the room the less attention it gets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I understand that the property is going to undergo a renovation which it needs.

    Great customer service nice breakfast options.good location and the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in a room for one night that was dreadful, extremely noisy, not very clean, no opening windows and it looked like a prison cell. Dark and dismal. When we complained they moved us the next day but as I booked months ahead I was disappointed as I had booked this as a surprise for my husbands 50th.

    Great location with all shops close by

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower leaked and was not overly clean, the headboard was filthy and it was very drafty and old. Needs a revamp. Also booked superior king room and bed was queen.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park is a pain as it’s off site. Need a new ironing board in that room as it’s as old as the hotel and comes off its runner.

    Love the elevator! Very cool feel to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better pillows!

    Great breakfast selection. Very helpful and friendly. Good central location. Loved the atmosphere. Upgrade about to happen. Hope they keep the quaint feel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk attendant was very friendly and helpful. So nice to be greeted with a warm smile and lovely character. The overall staff are very helpful and genuine. The rooms are spacious and clean, love the fact that although it’s a hotel they have a laundry service room. I will definitely like to stay there again if I visit Dunedin...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was perfect for two people and had everything we needed. lovely and warm and very quiet. We LOVED the manual elevator and it took you back in history. Great price and parking was easy to find just around the corner. Close to delicious restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Regarding the cleaning I found the bathroom dirty and not well organised. The bedroom was below the average.

    The location was the only thing that I like of the hotel (Close to the heart of the city).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s dated, but for the price that was fine. It was very clean and felt of a higher quality becasue of that. I would like to see all hotels offer eco options of not having towels changed or sheets, no plastic water bottles, maybe glass filled bottles, anything that shows concern for the environment but still quality.

    The staff were excellent. Professional but warm and seemed very genuine. I liked the central location. I like the old world look of the building. It wasnt too sterile feeling. A lot of hotels dont feel comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The office guy charged my account in error but got it sorted in the end.. the bathroom could be a bit more updated, starting to look tired around the shower etc and the carpet was stretched and had a big bubble roll in it. It was very noisy on Level 2 near the musicians club but overall it was ok. Probably wouldn't stay on level 2 again though! Parking can be a bit of a problem but we survived, it was ok. My partner didn't like the hardness of the bed but I found it quite ok.

    The breakfast was ok.. no sauces were supplied and a little light on what was left, this was at 10 am when we came down stairs for breakfast though. The staff were happy to top up when we asked them, which was good. Was tasty enough all the same. Pastries were delish and I did notice there was no veg option supplied with the cooked breakfast. ie tomatoes. Otherwise breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our window had a view of the air vents and fire escape enclosed by the building so it was totally dark and made a weird noise

    Large room and good sized bathroom. Pretty decent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled damp & electric balanket would hav been nice ,having oil heater to heat room was Noisy at night time

    Bathroom a bit old ,shower in bathtub ,water pressure very good thou

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very noisy, there was a fan on in the bathroom that stayed on all night, right outside the lift, also you could hear people walking around upstairs,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Look forward to the upgrade. Bathtub needs to be upgraded. . High to get in and out of. You can see the ware and tear which makes the tub look dirty which it wasn’t Please don’t increase the price for a single room when you renovate Elevator needed a vacuum

    Loved the classic old hotel feel. Comfy bed. Could open window. Tidy room. Easy parking for night. The new interior concept boards look great. Shame to lose the chandelier. Heater old but efficient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it feels dated & I had trouble with the plug not releasing in 514. I hate the milk. The fridge ice box needs defrosting some of the cubes wouldn't freeze.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I stayed in is overdue for some repairs and maintenance. The walls were patchy, the carpet was in need of shampooing and the plumbing in the bathroom needed some attention. It was a tad shabby.

    The hotel is centrally located, easy to find, and reasoanbly priced. The room I stayed in was a good size, well equipped and nicely decorated. The level of housekeeping is very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit dated and could do with an upgrade. Bar taking up unnecessary space as service was poor especially in the evening. Snack meal of toasted sandwich was cold and gluey, took half hour to prepare.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Someone opened our door when we first arrived and lying on the bed, which gave us a fright. We did not feel safe leaving our stuff there. The room is not sound proof. In the morning, there were constructions happening outside(or near our room), it was around 7am ish.

    The hotel was clean and the location was almost inside CBD

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    None.

    Located in town and walking distance to attractions. There is no private parking, but the hotel can reserve a paid parking for 15 NZD/d. However, you can park free at the street in front of the hotel between 6pm-9am. Outside this time is 1 NZD per hour (1 hour max per time). Breakfast with limited option. There is a lift, but , might need to carry your luggage if you get the room that stay between the floor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall state of the hotel was that it was extremely rundown. The room itself had an attic window so high the only view was that of the sky. Bathroom walls were dirty, with dirt runs near the floor in some corners. Shower recess was not cleaned during my stay. Toiletries were not replenished. Carpet very threadbare. Floors uneven and creaking. No wardrobe. Lift noisy during the night while trying to sleep and I was on a level above. Lift access to some floors not adequate if carrying heavy luggage as stairs required negotiating. I have stayed many many times over the years and really enjoyed my visits. This visit has soured my views and I shall not return. I would question if the reason I was allocated a substandard room was to allow the better rooms to be allocated to tour groups.

    Central location a real positive. Staff were very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have gone a bit better; sometimes felt under-resourced (one person trying their very best to ensure all customers had drinks, tables were cleaned, checking in customers for breakfast). Choices for food was generally limited.

    Location of the hotel was only a 5 minute walk from the centre; 10 minutes from the Dunedin railway station. The hotel is full of character; it's worth having a quick nosey at the lift by reception to go back in time! The room was spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has seen its glory days, not ideal for people with mobility issues, luggage unless a small one, lift stops between floors with stair option with luggage??

    Breakfast was ok, Staff are nice and right in the centre of city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight road noise outside for rooms facing Princess Street. Thankfully it wasn't to bad and didn't spoil my sleep. The card system for the rooms wasn't working but the staff always made themselves available to let us into our rooms at anytime.

    It's proximity to transport, cafes, shops and museums etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in was fine, we got to our hotel room after having to take our 20kg luggage bags down a flight of stairs, it was set up for 2 people and we had 4. It was dirty, we had stains on our pillows, rubbish under the curtains and very stained carpet. The bathroom had mould along the bath tub and tonnes on the ceiling. No heating or cooling, but an old oil column heater which collapsed when we went to move it and a dust covered table peddlestool fan. The phone didn't work which meant I had to go to the reception to ask for anything which was up a flight of stairs and down a lift- very annoying. There was broken glass windows in the hall way when we arrived which added to the shabbyness and giprock dust all over the floor from a supposed upgrade that was happening. We were suppose to be staying for 2 nights and immediately cancelled our second. If we weren't booked into see the penguins that evening and needed to stay we would have left immediately. Way way overpriced for what you get.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smallest room we stayed in during two weeks in South Island. With two cases on the floor there was nowhere to stand. Room was very cold and although there was a heater provided it wasn't up to the job

    Good location for central Dunedin

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Close distance to a lot of Restaurants and cafes etc. Away from the student areas of Dunedin so the noise levels were very good at night. Very spacious room with great shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were rather impressed by the value for money this hotel was able to provide compared to other hotels in New Zealand. The room was decent and rather large in size. Having all the appliances such as a heater, water boiler, fridge, and tea. Location was great, almost in the middle of the city and close to SH1. The elevator only goes up to the fifth floor, our room was on the seventh. Which is actually the sixth... somehow. So one flight of stairs but the hotel staff are more than happy to help you with your luggage. Now, you may say to yourself “Is this not common in hotels?”. Sure, but in our experience, not on the South Island unless you are looking at hotels in the 350NZD plus range.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location / staff

    The elevators didn’t reach the right floor and you then had to walk down through some stairs Restaurant was crowded and there was stuff missing , so an incomplete breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue we had was the lack of pressure from the shower and very tepid hot water. We actually got out of the shower colder than when we got in. What a shame☹️

    Great location and the rooms were clean and presentable. We loved the old style look lift. The staff were pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a bit of a walk and not great on a cold/rainy day but did not mind it if its a nice day. The anti slip mat for shower was mouldy.

    Bed was comfortable. Room was clean. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car parking was a test ! The shower over the bath was impossible for us to use because of being unable to overcome the height of the bath side. Also there was no handle for support. In other words it was a disaster for us oldies to use. Thankfully the staff understood this problem and changed our room for the following night.

    ALL of the Staff were VERY helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stay on Sunday. Can only park for free on the opposite of the hotel. Not really convenient. The room is smaller than I expected

    It is near downtown. The building is old style which is interesting for me to visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was okay but.... no natural light in the room, we had windows, but overlooking courtyard where there was the air conditionning... so we can't open the window ... tooo noisy.

    breakfast was just okay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    VERY noisy. The back rooms face the musicians club, load music till very late. The front rooms are over a main road.

    The rooms were very small. This hotel is old and tired. threadbare carpets in public areas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t tell me breakfast was included until the last day! Too far from the conference venue at the University. Bit noisy from night club at the back of the hotel. Wifi unsecured and kept dropping out.

    Comfy facilities, close to cbd, Vogel Street and Octagon. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was hard to find as the levels are all a little different, there was only 1 old style elevator working when we were there, however, this wasn't a huge deal.

    The staff were lovely, the location was great. An older hotel but clean and spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was not working and we were on the 7th floor. Carpets in stairwell and further up the hotel are worn and threadbare in places.

    Location is excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water all over bathroom floor after a shower. Need to test the seals occassionally! Asked for a quiet room but it was rather noisy. Bit of maintenance around balcony door would help heaps.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very accomodating with my late breakfast request. Staff were all extremely warm welcoming and helpful. Delightful House Bar and perfect Pink Gin! Room very comfortable and well appointed. Loved the old fashioned lift. Great stay, would return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner, we have to open the window. Very noisy at night, couldnt sleep. It claimed to be the largest room in dunedin, but ours were not. Only about 20 sq ft. No ventilation in bathroom.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is very old, so old that the lift we had to use get to our room appeared to be from the 1950's. The lift had doors on it that had to be manually opened and closed and the staff were continually assisting guests to show them how to use the lift. Also, there is still one of those old steel ladder type fire escapes running down the outside of the building that they tell you is not a "recognised" means of escape?? Kind of tells you the age of the place. And the floor of the room we had was not level. The bed kept moving away from the wall when we lay on it . . . weird. And finally, there is a restaurant in the hotel but they don't serve dinner . . . . mmm. This is the "Faulty Towers" of Dunedin. You expect to see John Cleese pop up from the front desk. DO NOT stay there.

    Nothing to like about this place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was 4x the normal price during Ed Sheeran, I paid $500 for a $119 room Dated rooms Poor cleanliness All parts of hotel dated other than entry Was given a room that wasn’t cleaned Bed not comfortable

    Location only

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs between partial levels could be a problem for people with limited mobility. Also children running up and down the ramp and stairs were very noisy.

    Staff were lovely, very apologetic when our room wasn't ready and offered to make amends. Clean and tidy if a little dated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we were there for the Ed Sheeran concert I am making the assumption that the prices were increased accordingly but the room was not good value at $380 per night. The room was on the seventh floor, it was a small room with a queen sized bed, no wardrobe, dated carpet & vinyl in bathroom and the only view was of the back of the hotel and adjacent building. Having looked forward to a weekend away for so long I was very disappointed.

    The staff were friendly, courteous & efficient. Great location. The room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed very expensive at $637 for two nights. Basic small doublebed room with minimum facilities. Website made hotel look better than it was. Believe prices were up due to a concert in town.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower over bath had hair (probably pubic) I was so disgusted I placed a towel in the bath just to stand on. The window was loose so had to use coffee sachets to wedge it so it didn't bang in the wind all night.

    Room was decent size. Staff were nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel breakfast wasn't a good value. Parking is off site, which is OK, but also limited in quantity which is not made clear at check in. Arrange your spot in the morning!

    The staff is great - friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable, if dated - but a renovation is planned. The location is easy and central in Dunedin with much close by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the idea of staying in an older hotel, so much character. Loved the facade, and having to use the original lift added to the quaintness. Staff were so friendly, nothing was a bother.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very small for a twin room, very stuffy. No ventilation in the bathroom and if you opened the window you had a large extractor fan noise to deal with. We did have a fan in our room though. The cost was over ott and we assumed it was because of it being the night of Ed Sheeran first concert that we had come to Dunedin for 😜

    Friendly staff, very helpful changing our cot bed to a pullout bed for our 11yr old 😀

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a room next to old style lift - room 312... the lift door was broke and so people kept smashing it into the wall. I had to get up 5 times to shut the lift door for people so they would stop banging it. The room was tiny and the beds were very uncomfortable. The management moved us to another room the next night which was much better, but the beds were still very uncomfortable. Also the WiFi was not secure

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lift was antiquated and maxed out at 274kgs. There were no windows in my room. I had to take my own bags up and down staircases (ie no lift access to floors 2,4 & 6). Got told parking available on street - its a very safe city - or pay $15 a night. TV only 3 Sky channels

    I liked the fact I got the booking at a reasonable price at short notice. There was a cafe attached to the hotel if I wanted to use it. 200m to city centre. Comfortable bed, clean room, good selection of toiletries and condiments

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Guest lift was out of order for our entire stay and our room was on the sixth floor. A service lift was available but this was inoperative half of the time because it required users to ensure the outer door was properly closed when they exited the lift.

    Breakfast was good value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dated and in need of some refurbishment. Carpets were marked in our room which appeared to be due redecoration. Breakfast was disappointing for this size of establishment.

    Good location in Dunedin just a short walk from the town centre. Comfortable bed. Large room space.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom not clean. Shower over bath with rubber mat. Hard to step in and out. Noisy in back room (club music which stopped around midnight and people in the street).

    Staff were helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Wains Hotel Dunedin traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: