Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Earnslaw Lodge 3.5 stars

77 Frankton Road, 9300 Queenstown, New Zealand

#43 of 71 hotels in Queenstown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 622 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to leave.

    We walked to town and was great for the body to exercise and felt great both ways. Staff were friendly and helpful especially the front reception counter. Would recommend for great value to all friends and we will be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Facing Kitchen Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything, bed was comfy,and room was lovely,a little out dated but still very nice. We really enjoyed our stay, Steve and Vicky were lovely hostess,and we would go back again. Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The phone in reception that was to be used to contact staff when reception wasn't attended didn't work

    Friendly helpful staff, room was very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - No Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location for all the shops and the main heart of Queenstown, only a 10 minute walk or 15 if you take the route through the park. Bus stop right outside on both sides of the street for town and airport/arrowtown routes. Our welcome was good, friendly staff member who greeted us and showed us to our room. Room was lovely and warm even without the heating on which was nice as it was starting to get cold in queenstown. Tea, coffee, kettle and a fridge in the room which was great and was very well stocked. TV was great with all the main freeview channels. We didn't go for the breakfast as there's heaps of great options in town for food and coffee. Overall pleasent relaxed and warm stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Facing Kitchen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking lot was a bit tight. Our room was a bit tired, but they seem to be renovating the hotel, other rooms looked better.

    Great view. Big room. Wifi was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio - No Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was just a bit too soft so felt the springs - Nice and cosy bedding and good heating in the room for those that need it. I could hear traffic in the evening and although a light sleeper did manage to sleep quite well.

    Had an unexpected view of the lake which was very nice. Room was clean and tidy with toiletries/fresh towels every day. Dining area looked lovely and hosts were very pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - No Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found the hotel overall could have done with an update. Also there was no powerpoint in the bathroom, which made drying your hair rather difficult as you had to find a powerpoint in the lounge room. There were also no facilities for you to wash and dry your cups after your coffee, unless you washed them in the bathroom, but no tea towel to dry them.

    Only short walking distance of 10 minutes to the centre of Queenstown. If you are booking at the Earnslaw Lodge make sure you book a room with a lake view, they are so much nicer rooms, fresher and alot more modern than the room that we had. When we booked, there were no lake views rooms available. so when we arrived we did ask if there had been any cancellations for the lake view rooms, but there had not.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views from our large studio room were amazing. We saw gloomy rainy days, fresh snow on mountains and clear sunny day. Room is large, beds decent, has frig, hot pot and microwave. Daily cleaning service. Staff was pleasant. Wifi a unsecured but we used our phone data. Place is about 15 minute pleasant downhill walk to town. Stay here for the VIEWS! It's worth it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was very soft. Noise level from surrounding rooms was high. Cleaners talking, banging doors etc at 6am. Lakeside balcony open to all, we had another guest come walking past and admiring the view outside our window. Bathroom was very tired and flaking paint. Room heating is by a very large radiator, but was difficult to get it to the right temperature as it was either too hot or cold, not on a thermostat control.

    Excellent view and good location not too far from centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Building is very old and dated, I do not suppose they can do anything about it. the room was spacious and clean. they also provided me with a rolling rack to display my ranges which was awesome.

    location and staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down facilities and outdated decor. Lack of professionalism from front desk. Poor use of room space. Overall a disappointing experience.

    Only the view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I didn't like was the toilet paper in the bathroom (I know this sounds super picky) but it was the little squares that come out individually which aren't very soft.

    I loved this place! We booked a room with the lake view, which is a must! It was so nice sitting out on the balcony watching the sun go down. The owner was lovely as well, would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room (3) was a bit tired and needs a refurb. Lots of scratched wood and a crack in the shower floor.

    Location was good, a 10 minute walk out of town. Great views on lake Wakatipu The manager was extremely helpful and lt us leave bags their while we were away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Facing Kitchen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room could hear the washing machine but it didn't run too late. People would walk by the sliding glass door if you are on the lower level.

    Great views overlooking the lake. About a 10 min walk from the center of town but it was pretty easy. Rooms were big and was nice to have parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment was rather tired looking and bathroom towel provision was poor just one smallish bath towel each and minimal toiletries. In general needs modernising . The staff were excellent and very helpful .

    The views from our apartment were spectacular

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I can fault is tv sky news and sport channel would be good to have a look at and would be good for young kids to have cartoons for future trips. This is the only thing I could fault . Really great place with great service

    Bed was awesome , view second to none and great staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, room had an amazing view and all facilities required.we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return and recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit of a walk back up hill at the end of the day but only takes 15 mins so not a problem

    We had the most fabulous views from our room overlooking the lake 👍

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For those with physical limitations, there is no elevators to 2 of the 3 levels. You must walk up/down a flight of stairs.

    The studio lakeside room was awesome. Like owning a small apartment with a million dollar view!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - No Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can only comment on the room we had!(Room 4) Bathroom was very poor! The sink was stained, the hot water tap was almost impossible to shut off, the shower was old and fell apart and the facilities for the bathroom was non existent! The main room was windowless it only had a window onto a walkway which any person could use. This meant we had to have the curtains closed at all times whilst in the room or be on parade to everyone. This window was left wide open by the cleaners when we were out which meant anyone could have gained access to our room, the hotel was not locked off to the public during the day and the reception often left unmanned. This is worrying regarding security of your belongings!

    Not a lot! Good parking I suppose!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - No Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel rooms are a little tired but I think that is reflected in the price.

    The location was really good just a 10minute wall into the centre of Queenstown and 2 minutes from the lake.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lake Facing Kitchen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints. Good price, good location, friendly staff!

    Room was very spacious and clean. The photos of the rooms looked smaller, so to see them very spacious in person was great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio - No Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For Room #4: Shower water pressure unstable in room no. 4. WiFi not able to login in. For Room #12: Shower water temperature not adjustable accordingly in room no. 12. Rooms with slightly damp smell.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio - No Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom facilities are not that smart.

    Very close to the main highway and is only 10-15 minutes walk to the city centre. Can view the skyline restaurant from this place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lake Facing Kitchen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great motel! Stayed 1 night and it was clean and the bed was ok. It was a little expensive but it was valentines so guess that’s expected. The views over the lake were brilliant!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Patio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about my stay was great apart from my interaction with one of the staff members,(possibly one of the managers/owners) I think his name was Steve. Maybe he was just having a bad day but he was quite unpleasant when approached at the front desk, which was my only interaction with him.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - No Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a room with a shared balcony which asks many questions regarding privacy and security.Also being at the road side room was not exactly peaceful

    It took 15 mins to walk into the centre of Queenstown and for those lucky enough to have a lake view room the location is ideal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio - No Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room can be very stuffy in hot days. Even opening window does not help. Super super noisy as it's next to a very busy road. Even with window closed, you still can hear traffic.

    Very convenient location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - No Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed not to have view of the lake - the advert says “most rooms offer Lake and mountain views” so guess that was an assumption on my part - I was told I hadn’t requested one and as the hotel was full it wouldn’t be possible. The advert also said there was a bar but this didn’t seem to be open. The room we had was tired but reasonably adequate.

    The location was close enough to Queenstown for convenience, but far enough away to be quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service. The manager was away and her husband was managing the property. It all started when the tolite was never working from the beginning. We mentioned it to the manger and he couldn’t fix it. The water continued to run and there was no pressure. We got up one morning and the water was not working, the manager said he thought that everybody was out, so the plumber shut of the water to work on it, he was wrong. We left one morning and mentioned to the manager to make sure they cleaned the room, and said sure sitting there with the staff, they didn’t When the wife can next day it was better, but not for the price..

    The bed was the best part of the hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kitchen facility is slightly old. However, it does not bother us at all.

    The lady who checked us in was really nice. The view is stunning, cannot expect more. 15 minutes walking to queenstown center. 8 minutes drive to airport and countdown supermarket (woolies). Free parking available onsite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A reserved parking space will be better since there are 2 separate areas where you can park.

    View from our lakeview studio room is wonderful. Worth the price difference from the other room and I reckon if it is available, do grab it. Room is spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lake Facing Kitchen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My tv in my room wasn’t working , ie static. Mind you with a view like that you’d rather look out the window than watch any tv. However at night the tv would help

    Room with a view of lake wakatipu. Got to see parasailing and jet scooting and all sorts of water activities from my room. Love the view. Kitchen facilities was good, lovely power shower. Spacious room with ample place for luggage or for eating

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Facing Kitchen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have preferred a balcony but not having one wasn't a problem.

    Good customer service and greeting upon arrival. Very helpful and pleasant to deal with. Room very comfy and facilities were just what we needed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the first hotel that charged me extra for s credit car transaction. Also the room we had was in the basement floor , broke all outside the window . There were other rooms that were on a higher floor - ground or first which had lovely views . I find we are sometimes given the worst room when using booking to com. Probably because of the price obtained but I would rather have paid s little extra to get a better room.

    The location is good . Screws easy to walk into town. The lady on the desk was very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio - No Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed here at the start and end of this Trip...Have stayed here previously...Handy Location Clean Rooms and Friendly Staff....Parking is a slight issue,but is everywhere in Queenstown.Stunning views from the Lakeside Rooms...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lake Facing Kitchen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak WiFi could only be accessed from far side of room or from hallway. Manager did suggest we could call the WiFi provider but that was inconvenient for us.

    Lovely view of lake from spacious room. Cooking facilities appreciated. Convenient for town - 15 minute walk. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Looked a little dated and our room had a really odd shower which was fine once we worked out how to use it.

    Staff were very good. We paid for breakfast which was fine. Large room with fab views of the lake and comfortable bed. It is expensive compared to other places we stayed but so are a lot of other properties around this area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit tight and awkward but we did have a big car!

    Only stayed one night but wish we could have stayed longer. Absolutely gorgeous view and sunset from our balcony.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - No Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleaning staff were ordinary, to say the least. I came back to the motel after an entire day out, to discover they had left the room door wide open so that anyone who wished could have walked in and helped themselves to my possessions. When I left that morning I locked the room. Also, on the same day, I noticed on my return that some small drink spills on the counter from the previous evening (coffee) had not been wiped off, in at least two places, showing that nothing was done to wipe down any of the room surfaces, and there were still some make-up stains in the bathroom basin from that morning. This is an absolute must as far as I am concerned, and something I have not encountered elsewhere in many years of travelling all over the world.

    The room was comfortable and roomy, with plenty of space. Bed was comfortable to sleep on too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insects but guess it is how it is in Wanaka. Nothing much to do with Alpine Motel. Note that property is near Wanaka Lake but does not have a lake view.

    The hosts are nice. Provided us with a lot of information regarding Wanaka. Gave a bottle of milk free every day for the kids. Even provided hot chocolate in the room when there is none in the last 3 accommodation we had.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Lake Facing Kitchen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Trying to park a mini van was quite difficult , as the parking is limited and is more suited to cars and smaller vehicles.

    The rooms were very comfortable and had cooking equipment, which we found to be useful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities really need a facelift, very clean but shower a bit disappointing and no cafeteria. Wifi limited.

    The view was just fab (make sure you get a room at the back) and an easy walk into the town centre. Very welcoming staff and the room size was spacious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suited our needs for the time we were there. Walking distance from town alittle hard walking back due to the steep hill but it meant we didn't have to drive into the town centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    High price for average facilities. No iron, you have to get the only one from the laundry, tapware is lose & moves around, TV reception poor with few channels, no plug for hair dryer in the bathroom

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - No Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An extra couple of hooks for clothes in the bathroom.

    Good breakfast. Good views. Short walk to town centre. Plenty of parking. Wifi connection was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - No Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was hard and uncomfortable which gave a poor night's sleep so we did not feel rested and refreshed in the morning. Are all the beds like the one in room 7?

    Close to town and able to access town on foot. Clean facilities just worn and dated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - No Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuffy air quality. Manager found a fan for us, which helped. The only other thing to do was open the door or window, both of opened onto the main highway and therefore allowed too much road noise into the room, plus made us feel a little insecure being open to the sidewalk at night. To avoid this, be sure and secure a room which opens onto the lake!

    This Motel is walkable distance to downtown and to a nice park. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - No Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in the shower was poor and the temperature was not consistent. The bathroom vanity was worn. A bit of attention in the bathroom would make a difference although it was very clean.

    We were made to feel very welcome. We had a room with a beautiful lake view. The accomodation was very clean and it was really warm with nice touches in the decor. We were walking distance to town so didn't have to take the car. It was good value for money and we would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At times for resting and relaxing turning on the TV only gave us channel 1 and 2. No other channels avaliable or working.

    Was close to town. Great staff friendly n informative on arrival as we had never been to Queenstown before. Perfect the bus stopped right outside. Great view from balcony. Good price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hard to find a good balance with hot and cold water in the shower. Other than that, no complaints whatsoever. The view from our balcony was to die for.

    The location was ACE.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - No Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know Queenstown is expensive but for the money we spent I would expect a bit more TLC. Also only 3 channels worked... WiFi is limited per day

    Was allowed an early check in which was very appreciated, laundry facilities are good. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great value for money, in a wonderful location. The owners Vicky and Stephen were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and the kitchenette was well equipped.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised as 2 bedroom apartment, when in fact it was a studio apartment with an adjoining room. This should have been advertised as family accommodation. The sitting area was only two chairs in with the beds. There was no balcony, instead it was a narrow walkway for anyone to use. Toiletries a joke- only poor quality sachet shampoo provided. Servicing of the rooms was minimal.

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On website Earnslaw advertises that they have a restaurant and bar which is one of reasons I chose it. They were both NOT open during our stay. False advertising. When lying in bed; tv was NOT on wall opp us; 7 channels but only 4 working. Hair dryer supplied but no power point on bathroom. Power points in living area but mirror is ridiculous. Over a metre tall but width was only about 10cm! I burnt my ear trying to do my hair with my straightener. And the guy who checked us in; really gruff and rough looking. No customer service skills - did not like him. We had booked for a week but I wanted to check out after one night but my husband convinced me not to.

    Room was huge; view was amazing; we had single bed and double bed. Single bed was really comfy. The lady who checked us out on our last day was really lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift down to this room, but it was fine for us carrying luggage down. Might be difficult for others.

    Spacious triple room with kitchenette. Great heating and electric blankets.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance was average and the location of the downstairs room was a little hard to get to.

    The bed was very comfortable and the rooms were spacious and well presented.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a bit of a puzzle to turn on but once on was nice and hot

    The room was big and the view amazing! Earnslaw was much more than we expected for a reasonable price. The location was great too - walking distance to town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio - No Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't anything to dislike

    The large size room, warm and comfortable bed, pillars where dreamy. The owners where so helpful with all of our questions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Facing Kitchen Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower had a mind of its own with fluctuating temperatures. On the photos the lodge looks a bit more modern and we think it could do with a spruce up. Maybe not an easy job when it is always booked out? An upgrade to SKY (or similar) would be a good idea as there are only 5 channels available.

    The size of our room was great and the lake view superb. Easy access to the parking lot at the back. Friendly and helpful staff and we appreciated that the room got serviced daily. Comfortable bed with snug bedding. The heating in the room was lovely and made it cosy in no time. Everything is there: kitchenette with microwave, fridge, cooktop, rangehood. Big wardrobe too. All in all a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed needs updating obviously very old mattress and quite uncomfortable. Bathroom extremely outdated and run down. Could use a facelift. Small tv for such a large room and only several channels and not clear pictures. Very basic outdated room for the price we paid but the views were amazing but would be nice to not have to share the whole balcony with every other guest walking past our room with the large windows

    Views were spectacular!!! Couldn't have asked for a more beautiful clear view of the lake and mountains. Fantastic large window and sliding door to enjoy the views Room was larger than most hotel rooms. Heating was excellent. Heated towel rack was great as we visited in winter ! Service and staff were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our heater kept getting turned off so our room wasn't warm when we come home. We had a pack of brand new unopened socks go missing. The toilet didn't flush properly.

    The view and location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Patio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.....

    They upgraded our room to lake view for 3 nights as it become vacant for 3 of our 4 nights, then into a patio room that was booked. Such a amazing view.Greatly appreciated. Helpful and friendly staff. Bus stop across the room and a short walk to the main center .....Many heartfelt thanks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are not flexible for eg: I wanted my bill under my wife's name as she was travelling with me. As per the gentlemen it's not possible as she didn't pay for the room which was a disappointment as I stayed there for three nights. Room heating doesn't work properly If u ask for extra toiletries/ammenities, You get a uncomfortable stare. Always book room with view as I was in the basement staring some broken wall

    Free wifi, parking, kitchen facilities, 15 mins walk to the city

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs...especially when you have many heavy bags to carry. Also the smell in the room - weren't sure if it was the air freshener but it smelled a little stale.

    The view from our room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a lake view room and the view is absolutely amazing! Perfect to wake up to :) It is also very close to the busstop, just 1min walk. The room is spacious and the bed is comfortable. The heater in the room also made sure i was warm through the night :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom could do with a renovation.

    The view of the lake was magnificent, and the property is a short walk to town. The property is not perfect, however putting the cost into perspective with the view, and comparing to other properties in Queenstown, I am very happy with our choice on this property. The room was warm and cosy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs does not help for elderly people like my parents. Price does not consummerate with the overall quality of the hotel.

    The view from balcony is awesome -lake and mountains. Location is very (walking distance) close to town centre. Parking is very convenience. Although an old-style (retro) motel, yet everything in the room is working well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is a bit low but good water pressure and heater

    We had a very fantastic view from our room. Very accommodating to their customer's request as I requested a lake view room and we got it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio - No Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really friendly and helpful, and the room nice and warm. Location was really ideal, just a couple minutes walk to the city center. Will definitely come back and stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Outlook from our accommodation was excellent with snow capped mountain peaks as well Lake Wakatipu. Early morning walks to Queenstown Gardens and return before breakfast. Vehicle parking was easy, plentiful and secure. Rooms spacious and clean. A short drive to shopping centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - No Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff initially seemed uncertain, not able to respond well to regular queries (may have had someone temporarily on reception at the time)

    Very cosy, comfortable accommodation close to town

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints

    We took a two bed two bath accommodation sharing with friends. Our rooms were ready even though we were a little early. Good size rooms with balcony & magnificent view of lake & mountains. Good kitchen facilities, comfortable furniture & very comfortable beds. Pillow so good I purchased one to take on rest of journey. Gentleman on front desk friendly & helpful. Our carpark was right outside our door.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    one bedroom has no door, the other bedroom was actually in the living room with kitchen together.

    we arrived late but still they were waiting to assite for check in. although it takes 15-20 mins to walk to skyline and TSS, this place has a pretty good view of lake wakapuki right out from our balcony.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Studio - No Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was not cleaned properly during our stay. Coffee cups not washed and coffee marks not cleaned. No cloth for us to do it ourselves

    Queenstown is lovely

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: