Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Edgewater 4.5 stars

Sargood Drive, 9305 Wanaka, New Zealand

#7 of 27 hotels in Wanaka

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1387 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You can not improve on perfect

    The best scones you will ever eat, the bed was super comfy, the grounds are beautiful, the staff are wonderful, mind blowing views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Spa's are amazing, especially in June. Amazing Steak for dinner and the best scones. Eat them by the wonderful fire if you are going this winter. also a close walk to Wanaka Tree. The staff were so friendly in providing weather condition s for us- and after check out even gave us a nice bottle of water for our travels- small things made a huge customer service impact. Will Stay here again and recommend to all my friends and family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for 2 nights. Security chain was broken upon check in but no real solution was provided ...room service offered to come back the next day, which did not happen...we were told that this is usually a safe area so don’t need to worry....

    Location. Good value. Wifi speed ( limited data)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed at this resort for 2 nights and absolutely loved the place. We had a lake facing room which provided stunning views of the lake and the mountains. There is a lovely walking trail within the resort which runs along the lake and it also takes you to That Wanaka Tree - great place for lovely photos. Breakfast was ok. Wanaka has great eating joints around the town center. Would definitely recommend this resort - caters to all types of travelers - from honeymooners to families.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    We were upgraded to a mini suite which was very spacious and included a kitchenette and a washer/dryer in the bathroom. Magnificent view over the lake and glorious landscaping. Two televisions and various seating options. Good heating even in the bathroom which is unusual but certainly appreciated in the middle of Winter.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the bathroom was not as expected. It is comparatively smaller and not attached to the room looks as if you are sharing. Not so private

    The location, staff and also all the facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating in the lounge is inadequate because the windows are single glazed and the weekend temp didn't get much above 5 degrees. We found an extra heater on departure. Kitchen cupboard door needed attention. Heater in bathroom needs to be repositioned. The tap became very hot in a very short time and my husband found his gold chain became very hot while he was shaving resulting in a mild burn on his neck. Toilet paper holder needs to be repositioned. Keeps falling off. There needs to be some thought given to a safety rail for the bathroom over the bath. Not safe enough for elderly. We came back to our unit after being away for the day to find our door wide open. The lock needs attention.

    The room was spacious and Bed very comfy. The restaurant was very welcoming and the menu was great. Nick and Rachel our waiting people were excell entry.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Exceeded my expectations! Was pleasantly surprised that the hotel upgraded my room. The location of the hotel faces the lake and you can take a relaxing walk in the morning. The room was spacious (Family room) and the bathroom was huge! I highly recommend booking the Family room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in the restraunt for dinner, total stuff up, would not recoomend having dinner in house. Many good places to eat, at better range and price.

    The accomodation was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The playground needs updating with more features. The room photo on my booking form was different to the room we actually booked. It was disappointing as we needed the extra room.

    The cleanliness was fantastic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of good heatet

    The room was excellent with breathtaking views but the lack of a good heater let it down. It gets cold in Wanaka and the room heaters are not up to the job, otherwise it was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably due for a bit of work in bathroom. Tap leaking into WC but fixed immediately. Catch on bathroom window was very loose and could not be controlled to allow just a little fresh air in.

    Magnificent views of lake and mountains with warm and cosy room. Fantastic fire in dining area with great meal and wine service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The close location to lake Wanaka Spacious clean and comfy rooms with a great view of the gardens and lake. Would definitely recommend this property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was quite dated and had no ventilation. This meant a lot of condensation which tended to drip on the floor. The exterior of the buildings looks dated and very motel like rather than luxury hotel. The food was disappointing.

    The view from our room was absolutely beautiful . Very comfortable bed and nice living space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Amazing scenery is outside the door. Perfect living experience. Gorgeous view are around the hotel, it is close to Rippon winery.We are very pleased with everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    OK for one night but too far from town to stay longer. Some language difficulty especially waiter in restaurant. Bit like Fawlty Towers.

    Beautiful location on Lake Wanaka. Watch sun rising over lake.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment is kinda secluded at the end of the street. But however, if you are driving, it wouldnt be a problem. No shelter if it’s raining, thus we were slightly drenched on our way from the carpark to our apartment.

    Very clean rooms with a heater in the toilet! Much needed for Autumn and winter. We were lost for words when we found that the bed was warmed to our liking too! Super comfortable stay and we love it a lot! Friendly staffs at the front desk too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location!!! Views!!!! 20 minute walk away from town along beautiful Lake Wanaka. Sunrises were spectacular. We stayed in a two bedroom lake view apartment with living area, perfect for three people. Very comfortable accommodation and had everything we needed, including washing machine/dryer. We ate in the restaurant too, great food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some outdoor furniture on the patio would have been nice. People were dragging heavy armchairs outside to sit on. The checkout staff were inefficient. This resort didn't have much charm going for it.

    The location in the edge of Lake Wanaka was amazing as was the view from the Lakeview room. The cleanliness was of excellent standard and the bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have booked a lake view room, but unfortunately, you will have to go out of your room to enjoy the beautiful lake. I called the reception asking them if there was something wrong with my booking, there is no lake view at all. They just confirmed "it is a lake view room, but the view is not so good, as you know some rooms with better view than some others!", which makes me very unhappy.

    Receptionist guy is quite nice when we check in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff just barged into the room without informing the purpose. It was quite inappropiate and we all felt awkward. Appeantly he came to inspect the room before checking out. It is a bit strange for this to happen normally the check is done while we are checking out?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Of course the price... as always. However comparing other options it was worth it.

    The location is just stunning - the room was literally a gateway to the lake with a scenic view over the mountains and the forest. Wonderful restaurant with friendly and hospitable staff! Truly the best hotel in NZ from my point of view! PS: a special word of gratitude needs to be said about the beds - simply great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a little bit expensive ...

    Good location at the lakeside. It's 5 minutes driving way from the 'Wanaka Tree'. Very big living room for a family and the kitchen is well equipped for cooking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you want to order a $12 soup of the day, you have to pay $7 to deliver to your room. Otherwise, you need to pick it up by your self.

    Excellent location and you can see very nice view just in bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    menu in restaurant was disappointing, dreadful gnocchi dish and the smoked salmon (good) was paired up with a salmon mousse the colour of which was very unappealing and the taste was not far behind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a deluxe room with a lake view but our view was blocked mostly by the dining facility so we really only had a parfial lake view.

    Very spacious, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Liked everything especially being on the edge of the lake a little distance out of town.

    Great views of the lake. We were extremely happy to see that our room had a washer dryer in the bathroom. An unexpected bonus on top of a beautiful location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were having a weekend away to celebrate our anniversary but unfortunately didn’t get a sleep-in as hoped - we were in a downstairs room and it was extremely noisy when the people upstairs were in. They got up at 5am and we couldn’t get back to sleep. Also, wanted to treat ourselves to a cocktail at the bar but the staff member couldn’t find the cocktail menu and didn’t know how to make any. Not a biggie but a bit disappointing.

    Truly stunning location and fantastic facilities (lovely spa!), all comforts anticipated and appreciated extra efforts to recycle. Thank you in particular to the concierge who very kindly gave us his newspaper when we were looking for one.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchenette could have been better equipped

    Staff really helpful. We wanted to upgrade to an apartment and the staff especially Esther and Leon made it happen. The view was beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We hate to leave

    Beautiful hotel, you can walk from hotel to Wanaka Tree, Concierge (George) is very great. He book helicopter for us to go up to Roys Peak. The helicopter pick up us at the hotel. This is one of the best experience of our trip.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My only wish was for bigger cups and a larger plunger (French press) for coffee in the room. We made do with the tea sized ones and it was fine, just had to make two batches each morning.

    Our balcony overlooked beautiful Lake Wanaka. This location invites relaxation and a nice dinner onsite, a walk to town or a drive to one of the many beautiful areas for hiking and views. Next door is the Rippon winery, too, with others in the area as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slight negative was the lack of car spaces close by the unit. I think that one space per unit with the unit number on it would be a very smart touch. There were a couple of places where concrete curving' s were used and could easily be replaced by another car park or two to make every customer feel special with their own numbered space. No trackside on TV.

    We were upgraded to a different part of the complex because of a wedding taking place and they didn't want the perceived noise effecting our stay. Spacious complex, great bed quiet, got a good greeting from the security staff at 11.30pm when we came back to the unit. Great view of the lake. breakfast was good and quick, good toasters unlike some places. good coffee made quickly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy coaches at 10.30pm and early morning sitting with their engines on outside reception for 20 minutes while they collected or dropped off guests. They should be told to turn their engines off on arrival!!!

    Good to be out of the town in such an idyllic spot just 15 minutes walk along the shore to restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    Great room - wonderful lakeside location - quiet - comfortable walking distance along a lakeside path to Wanaka Resteraunts - superb bar and Resteraunt on site.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect!

    The whole experience was wonderful. The bathroom was big with double shower and a washing machine. Also had dinner at the restaurant by the lake which was delicious. Staff so friendly too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a single plate or utensils in the unit. No microwave, mini fridge. The place is designed to send you to the restaurant.

    The lake view is exactly as depicted in the photo. The place is very convenient for a walk around the lake as you have direct access.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have given higher marks, except for the fact that the room was extremely hot, and only had a fan, no AC.

    Beautiful location, friendly staff, updated room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • People with friends
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a tour guide, it is important to find hotels for my groups with that special combination of great location, comfort, beauty, charm and friendly staff. This ticks all the boxes! The concierge was extremely helpful!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in staff initially gave us the wrong room at check in. I had to point this out to him and show our reservation to him to get the proper room with a view.

    The view and room were very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty. Torn ripped curtains. Not ideal for families and would not recommend. No net curtains so privacy is an issue unless you don't mind everyone looking in on you just so you can see the view and have some natural light. All crockery, cutlery and pans were dirty. Cupboards were filthy. Had to clean everything before used. Needs a revamp although the bathroom had been refurbished the shower leaked very noisy as there was a corridor behind the room where the washing machine were. They were on all day and gone 11 pm. When we went to bed. Very noisey and can hear the other guests in their rooms. Did not stay the full duration of our stay. We moved on to another more suitable motel. I did complain to the owner. However did not really care. Started to argue then changed her mind after I pointed out all the faults. Very outdated and shabby on appearance. Would rate as 1* at best and over priced.

    There's not a lot to say about this motel. Apart from having a nice view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It went downhill after that. Cramped room with a single bed plus ours. No bedside table on one side. No outdoor table on tiny balcony. Smallest glimpse of lake. Annoyed to be asked to move our car in poorly marked inadequate parking area I.e 2 spaces for 8 rooms. This is not our first time at Edgewater, we were in the Edgewater Club and it was always superb. It will be the last.

    Perfect position and very helpful cheerful checkin process

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family suite is beautifully! The balcony door opens up to the grass and within 2mins walk you will be standing in lake wanaka. Often there are ducks coming at your door looking for food maybe and that was super cute. The only negative was that the family suite had a door connecting to the unit next door which also connects the nosies from the next door to our living room. As family suite has a sofa bed in the living room this is the only negative that I find which can be improved

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in a lot of backpacker places so this was our comfy night to do laundry and get clean. Wonderful grounds and view of the lake. Slept like a rock!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude, no air conditioning in the rooms. Buildings are old, no fitness centre despite advertising that there is one.

    Grounds were beautiful, location to the lake was fantastic and the bike/walking/running path access was perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of privacy, people are around on the lawn to back of your room and looking into your room.

    It was well located, but overpriced for a very basic room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Washing machine was good but even after getting maintenance to look at it, the dryer cycle didn’t work

    Comfy bed, good amenities in the bathroom and nice fluffy bathrobes

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from bars and restaurants in the centre of town.

    View from the room directly onto the lake. Large room with lounge and kitchen. Close to the path around the lake. Sauna and spa.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not of a 4 star hotel. The insects which have invaded our room have given us a poor feeling. No screens on windows??? How can it be?

    Nothing really

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very nice lake view and staff recommendation. If you like walking along the lake, this hotel would greatly fit :) Love this place, quite relaxing even though a little bit of drive from the city centerl. Good way to have a peaceful moments.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged my credit card after we had checked in without asking and we wanted to pay cash. They refunded the credit card charge and we paid cash, but it was really inconvenient having to wait for the funds to clear.

    The rooms were reasonably sized and the beds were super comfortable. The view of Lake Wanaka from the room was amazing! It is about 20min walk to town but we had a car so was quicker to drive. Enjoyed our time in Wanaka very much!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We checked in at 2 and our room wasn't ready until 3. But they did give us complimentary drinks and I asked for free breakfast and they kindly obliged.

    Fabulous location. Beautifully appointed room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very peaceful and relaxing stay. The room was well appointed, with lovely lake views. The staff were extra helpful and the restaurant served delicious food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast rather average given the quality of dinner dining. Coffee from machine seemed overly sweet.

    Superb location. Nice restaurant for dinner with good wine list (but beware of large portions!) Close enough to the town but far enough away to be quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two ground floor rooms and they are extremely noisy. Next time I would ask for a single level apartment. No insulation between floors

    Enjoyed the property. Good walking track to town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water was dangerously hot! The lack of a designated car park.

    We liked the situation by the pond, The Ducks were fun. The lawn and tennis courts were great having an 8yr old with us. A small table on the patio would have been a bonus. The ability to take a short walk to town was great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kitchen facilities/ utensils & space not up to rest of standard. Also were not informed wedding going on : we enjoyed the music but it rather removed privacy

    Beds including sofa beds were fantastic as was bath & bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    👎🏻Booking.com stated one bedroom studio as a suite (In Mandarin) and we thought our room will have a full kitchen. Upon check in, we found out that the studio does not have a kitchen. So we went all the way to the front desk and luckly the hotel was not sold out. 👎🏻A big insect on the pillow.

    👍🏻Shelly Chou was very professional. She helped us to upgrade our room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath shower in the bathroom, old and hard for an older person to get in and out of. No screens this was a little bit of a worry as we had mosquitos!

    Beautiful views. Food was okay but not great. Service was good but really could of been more friendly. Location fabulous with great walking tracks. Gardens are lovely and well looked after. Laundry facilities on site for guests.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A room with a lake view... which was a loose description due to the trees obscuring the view. I wouldn't say chop the trees down but be a bit more truthful about the view.

    Good clean room. We were informed of a wedding taking place across from our room on one of the nights we were staying, the manager offered a discount on the room for that night. The maintenance staff were very prompt in solving an issue with the safe.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought breakfast was a bit pricey ( but optional) .

    Fabulous location felt very spacious and airy as accommodation was in small blocks but well separated from others. Very handy and cheap washing and drying facilities on site were a bonus. Absolutely beautiful views, wish we had been able to stay longer, it was all very chilled and relaxed. Very friendly staff on reception.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unit was dated, balcony door broken so could not secure the lock. No air conditioning as was 30 degrees and very humid. Asked for a BBQ with a cost pet day but was never delivered so made alternate eating arrangements. Overall not good value for the daily charge which was significant.

    Location was good, away from the chaos of Wanaka. Grounds were nice direct access to the lake.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was NO provision of AC or Fan in this high value property. We were uncomfortable during the initial hours of night. Wi Fi was also NOT good. The price of property is over rated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    coffee machine coffee at breakfast wasn't very nice

    lovely staff. great location. food in the cafe part on the lake was great. really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner wasn’t that great compared to all the other restaurants we’ve tried so we didn’t bother with brrakfast

    The suite was really comfortable, had good space in the lounge, pretty much what you need in the kitchen and was on the ground floor so great to just walk outside into the grounds location excellent. Away from crowds in the centre butclukd walk into town or drive

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were run down and not very clean/comfortable. Looks like a motel from the outside.

    Located right by the lake on the quiet side of lake Wanaka.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed that the "lake view" room required stepping out on the balcony for maximum effect. From inside, the lake was visible only from one corner of the room.

    The beautiful lake-front property with a large lawn area. The reception and restaurant service staff were very friendly and helpful. Very comfortable bed and really nice consistent shower. We enjoyed a delicious dinner on the cafe patio and a nice brunch inside the bright café.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was uncomfortable

    Stunning and scenic views from the Rooms we occupied. The property is well located and surrounded by green grassy areas and a footway/cycle track which will take you to the town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many mosquito in the room, bathroom does not have fans and there is no fly screen on the window so we cant even open the window. Suggest to install fly screen.

    The place is beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to lack of air conditioning, there were many insects the flew into the room in the night. The flight of stairs up to second level was steep and tedious.

    The lake view was superb and the grey ducks on the lawn wonderful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its not that we didn't like it but the WiFi would not connect on one of our phones which was slightly frustrating & sadly the staff member we asked about it wasn't sure how to help as had a different model.

    The Edgewater was the perfect location, our studio room was lovely and clean with a lake view and the staff were welcoming & friendly. The food was delicious too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room is a kind of smaller. you need to carry the luggage upstairs by walking, no lift.

    a great garden and pond view from the room and balcony. the cleanness is good. the room is bright with big windows to invite natural light in. the electric kettle needs to be updated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked the room the picture showed a kitchen area with the windows facing the grassy area outside. However when we arrived we were given the first floor room. There are no lifts and we had to carry our heavy bags upstairs. To be fair, we were given a free breakfast as compensation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is nothing to criticise.Views spectacular. Everything clean and well appointed. The desk is so helpful. It is restful and quiet. Was ideal for the great Mother Daughter catchup we had!

    I live downstream from Wanaka. My adult daughter flew in from Auckland. Picked her up from airport. Drove over the Crown Range to have a "Girl Time". We cooked in our unit. Didn't use Restaurant this time but know its good..We love Edgewater.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pull-out bed was very uncomfortable & would not recommend this room type. We feel as if the listing should state more clearly that x1 bed would be the pull-out; we thought there would be 2 double beds based on description & images. The lake view from this room was only a partial or obstructed lake view.

    Great location! Easy to walk into town or up to Rippon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full with a Chinese bus tour. Breakfast was a bun fight. Very noisy until the early hour with guest shouting between rooms in a very loud voice. Great if you wanted to practice Mandarin into the small hours

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: