Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Falls Chateau 5 stars

12 Chateau Crescent, 3770 Taupo, New Zealand

Review score

Based on 450 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Room service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man who met us at the start was not very friendly. He didn’t introduce himself, he didn’t welcome us. He was not personable. We felt like a number. He never took an interest in us or wanted to make any small talk. There were no pleasantries exchanged. We felt like we we’re interrupting his life.

    Room service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Would totally recommend this place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s only a little thing but the Property Manager promised to send me through a gst receipt and as yet I don’t have it and don’t have any details on how to get hold of him

    Excellent value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.0
    Unfriendly and cold rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived 215pm would not let us check in. No flexibility. Rooms cold. Hear pump restricted to 22 which then took 3 hours before place warm enough to take my coat off

    Facilities were nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Too brief!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oh, as mentioned above, just the wall sockets, the garbage bins and the television needing directions to operate.

    House was amazing! Really beautiful! Plus the free unlimited wi-fi was a big bonus, thankyou! Only issues were a few of the electrical wall sockets looked unsafe, and the pedals on both garbage bins were broken. Written instructions on how to use the tv would be a good idea, too. But other than that, the view, the beds, the lounges, the space! were absolutely wonderful thankyou. My family and I were thrilled to stay there overnight 😁

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    It was really nice, cheap and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really hard to find, no signage so not like a traditional hotel or motel. No reception just a big house divided into apartments.

    It was really nice, cheap and very comfortable. We would stay again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.5
    We booked this property around 2 or 3 month before for 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this property around 2 or 3 month before for 2 nights. 5 day before check in, i received mail says that there a mistake with booking...day 2 is fully book....i have to find other property for that. They give refund for 1 night...but still not good experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Just gets a pass mark but we are unlikely to return .... even at the price offered
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little thought to 'very cold nights'. Apart from heat pumps, set at low max there was inadequate bed linen and no electric blanket s or the like. Appeared to us that it was set up for summer stays.

    Location and price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    probably wouldn't stay again,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was a little hard to find as it was in a residential area. photo discription didn't show the room we were in very clearly, No microwave to heat any food we may have had, Bed hard, and bathroom ok lacked a few shelves to put things on, Could hear neigbours in next room and assume that they could hear us to,

    Awsome view and very quiet area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.0
    s
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the owner/manager was so rude to us and to our friends who came to see us. the property is so difficult to find because there's no proper signage and no proper lighting.there was no lights on the way to our room.the room has no microwave oven.there wasn't any chocolate drink for their guest. i regret booking on this property.

    s

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Not what we expected! Got impression from name that was part of larger complex
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Instructions on how to use heat pump; better signage almost impossible to spot on dark wet night; better tea bags cheap variety and were some drops of water spilt in container which had stained some of bags a bit off putting.

    It was clean & tidy. We arrived in the dark and rain and it was torrential when we left the next morning but could tell the view would have been great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    First impressions were great. I would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The large kitchen had no cooking pots or pans. You could not even boil an egg for breakfast. No laundry facilities for such a large unit. OK for a short stay but I wouldn't stay longer. Plus you could hear the people in the connecting units and they could hear us.

    Location is convenient. It was spacious. Easy to find. A short drive to the town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Pleasent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would like a small table & chairs and sink. I understand these would be included if a larger family section was booked.

    Quite roomy, clean, seperate bedroom and living room walk in robe & ensuite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Sweet and sour.
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Caution advised!! This is NOT a hotel or motel it is a large luxury home and common areas are shared. There is no reception or people on site. That said I also had the home to myself. I however could not find the place, it’s in a residential area and my GPS navigator took me outside it but no signs just a home with a for sale notice. There was NO prior notice it was a residential home when I booked, so I could not find it.

    Huge luxury home to myself with fabulous views. (Photo is the view of the balcony just after dawn)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    nice place but I would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    got upgraded - but couldnt use kitchen in case we made a mess - dont rent it out then :) only cuppa's. nice rooms but you can hear other people's conversation in next room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Much needed rest at Falls Chateau
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival, we were greeted by the proprietor who explained the procedures for our stay. It was an overnight stop off in transit to our home destination. The apartment was well adorned, clean and comfortable. We appreciated the extra blanket provided on what was an extremely wet and cold night. In our instance, it was value for money and a much needed rest after a day of work and travel,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.4
    Great size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was around back of house which had no path and had been raining so was quite muddy. The bed was very uncomfortable and squeaky when ever you moved. No nets on the windows meant neighbors could look in so we have to shut the curtains early but would have been nice to have natural lighting. Room itself was dark. Very small TV in a large room was quite hard to see from couch. Heater was hard to work so we sat in jackets and under blankets

    Great size. We accidentally showed up the day before our orginal booking but staff was friendly and allowed us to stay and cancelled the booking for the next day. Reasonable price however I doubt we would return

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    I have stayed at this hotel several times and am familiar...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed at this hotel several times and am familiar with the rooms. So was able to very specifically select and book the room that I wanted - that had a view. Very dissappinted that I didn't get that room, and the unacceptable reason I received. Had the manager been immediately apologetic it may have been more easily digested.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.8
    Not a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating capped at 22 degrees therefore it was cold because of space to heat up, no curtains therefore no privacy, not told about the stairs, only enough hot water for one of us to have a shower, no written instructions on how to operate the TV, no sound proofing between the units (we could hear everything going on in the other units).

    The view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value for money.
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear the toilet upstairs flushing and the shower going from our bed. We arrived after dark and there were no outside lights down the side of the building where we had to go to get into our room.

    Room was a great size with a huge bed and very soft and comfy couches in the lounge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    A bonus to have upgrade to apartment, lake views from upstairs, shame about uncomfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One large downstairs door hadn't been secured, lucky we did a check. Bed we had was hard, a comfortable bed topper would work, other beds may be different.

    Arrived to find our room was overbooked. Upgraded to a two floor apartment! Only used one floor as lounge/bedroom/bathroom all we required, other rooms locked off. Lake views from upstairs. Very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish we had more of a view (but obviously it’s never guaranteed). Maybe a more clear direction of where each room and entrance to room is located

    Everything was super! I’ve stayed before & I’ll always come back here! My partner and I loved it. Thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    A modern property and great value for the price.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A modern property and great value for the price. This property would suit independent travelers who aren't extremely fussy. Some of the reviews are quiet over the top. The place is in great condition considering its purpose.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    I'd happily return to Chateau Falls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great bed, great location for the Falls. A short drive into the town. Staff was there upon arrival ready to hand over the keys. I had a choice of rooms due to an early arrival. Lovely view of the lake. Ample parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little chilly for our early morning start - the underfloor heating was not working and there was no heated towel rail or heater in the bathroom to mitigate that.

    Well presented, comfortable, apartment. The bedroom and living both had heat pumps. Especially appreciated that Sky TV included Cooking channels, not just sport. Enjoyed the 25 min evening walk down to town for a meal - and even the walk back up again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    Great Location close to Huka falls and approx 5 minute drive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No microwave as advertised in photos, bed was quite uncomfortable and very squeaky.

    Great Location close to Huka falls and approx 5 minute drive to town centre. Apartment very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    The accommodation was spacious and clean, however, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation provided was not what was booked. We were given the house instead which had two levels, and my partner has great difficulty with stairs, so not ideal, and we were not made aware of the switch until arrival. In addition, the lovely bathroom had NO plug for the bathtub.

    The accommodation was spacious and clean, however, the accommodation provided was not what was booked, we were given an "upgrade" at no additional cost, but we were told only upon arrival our booked room was not available. We were given the house instead which had two levels, and my partner has great difficulty with stairs, so not ideal. In addition, the lovely bathroom had NO plug for the bathtub.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed ouy stay, and have already recomended this accomodation to our relatives
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like

    This was a very positive experience. The night manager was there to meet us & was most helpful. The apartment we stayed in was lovely & spacious. We loved the views from the balcony, and would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.4
    Good size space for 2 people and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was terrible. Thin walls. Bad communication, had to wait for someone when we arrived and we were just given the key and showed us the door and that was it.

    Good size space for 2 people and good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Very nice. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was abit of a grump and booking.com didn’t teally classify that this wasn’t a hotel but more of a house situation. Was not what we were expecting.

    It was a very nice house. Very clean/ modern.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely property but not that pleased with communication and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded to an apartment. Originally booked queen room but none available on arrival. Apartment was cold and as we were asked to restrict ourselves to upstairs and bedroom we didn’t have any heating or lights downstairs. We were also asked not to use kitchen. If you can’t provide the room we booked (about 3 weeks in advance and confirmed) then I think you could at least have allowed us to use the facilities we found ourselves in

    Clean spotless conditions. Lovely decor and furnishings

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.1
    Reasonably comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place could have been a little cleaner, and the furniture is chipped, and the lounge suite old and shabby. Overall the place could have been a little cleaner throughout

    Comfortable bed, towels could have been fresher,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.1
    Beware of being “Upgraded”!!! It’s a scam, you’ll be put downstairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room with a mountain view and when we arrived were told we had been “upgraded” and told our room was downstairs and around the corner. There was no explanation- just simply told!! So no mountain view. If you wanted to put water in the kettle you had to get it from the bathroom!!!! Our room was nice BUT NOT what we booked and paid for so we would NOT recommend this accommodation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money for a family of four.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not really a negative, but more a bit of advice for the owners, when booking the room the facilities were not particularly well described. For example the two bedroom apartment we stayed in stated it only had one double bed so we weren’t entirely sure what to expect, but it was all good in the end.

    Great size, well furnished, great outlook. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    We have stayed here a few times when in Taupo over the years and will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is very hard and needs replacing. Some of the power points were coming away from wall. Bathroom switch is broken internally the right top hand side.

    We were up graded. Amazing place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    4.6
    Not impressed with stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave. Lack of info about facilities. No contact person to speak to when loud screaming from unit next door occurred and continued in early hours of the morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    4.6
    Kitchenette a laugh. Had to go to bathroom to get water/wash cultlery/crockery or boil a kettle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Host not very pleasant/welcoming. Might as well have thrown the key to us out a window before shutting it. Made us feel like a nuisance rather than paying guests. The TV remote wasn't working so had to ring for batteries- he just assumed we had no know how on working a TV! Also we had to walk through a wet grass passageway in the dark to get to the entrance door. No written instructions about anything in the room - air conditioners. Bedroom was dusty. No lamps just overhead lighting- made the place most uncosy. Not enough power points for charging devices. Has a fireplace but isn't utilised due to previous prawn cooking international guests apparently!

    Spacious living and bedrooms,nice linen/ towels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    They went out of there way to accommodate us a lot earlier...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They went out of there way to accommodate us a lot earlier than initially expected. We definitely appreciate what they did to get us in, A big thank you to them all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    Spacious room, clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish there was a microwave in the room as all apartments would give that facility. My queen room didn't have. I realised this after booking, so couldn't do much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    4.6
    Weird experience - would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was not what we expected (it's a house in a residential area) and was very difficult to find as it's set off the road and there's no signage until you pull into the driveway. Upon arrival, a man (owner?) appeared from the bushes to give us our key, but did not introduce himself or even show us inside. We were "upgraded" from a queen room to the apartment, but this just meant we were basically banned from entering certain rooms and were made to feel like we were an inconvenience. We weren't even given a map of the area or any information (luckily in our troubles finding the place, we stopped off at a different hotel, and they provided us with a map). Couldn't get the TV to work, and there were no instructions provided. Bed was very uncomfortable and overall the whole stay was unpleasant because we were worried about breaking one of the many rules that were imposed on us.

    The views from the balcony were nice. Free parking and wifi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Spacious and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although it is advertised as boutique style accommodation we didn't realise it would be a massive house converted into apartment style accommodation which appeared to be the only thing separating us and other guests was a locked door ( I could be wrong). This and the many typed instructional labels on windows, shower screens etc. made us not feel we could truly relax. We were just passing through for one night on our way back to Auckland so it was very comfortable and clean but we wouldn't chose it for a lengthy stay as it's not our style of accommodation.

    The accommodation was spacious and bed very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommend, great value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't get the heat pump to go

    Very Impressed, really nice large rooms. Couldn't get the heat pump to work as there is a sticker on it saying over certain amps it fails but no instructions on how to reset it so was slightly chilly. Otherwise excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Reading other reviews I wonder whether they stayed at the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scored the biggest area in the house and there were 2 negatives in it. Firstly there were no curtains in the living areas at all which meant the sun got a bit annoying at times. Second was every time someone walked across the upstairs area the whole place shook and if a truck went passed it felt like an earthquake.

    Reading other reviews I wonder whether they stayed at the same property!!! Some are complaining the beds were hard....rubbish!!!! The most beautiful sheets I've ever lain on and the bed was more than comfortable. One silly person complained you drive over another person's property to get into the place..obviously that dipstick never worked out what a corner section access is like nor where the boundaries were. This place is MAGIC and the view over farmland to the lake spectacular!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property has an over the top cancellation rule...no refund under any circumstances! Travel insurance is highly recommended & I suggest anyone considering booking to read ALL reviews wherever available on the property.

    We were given an upgrade to the apartment so we had the use of a microwave however there are no proper dishes you can use for this. Thankfully having read reviews I did bring my own!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    4.6
    It is ok. We would not go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C was broke and the staff did not tell us about it. Also the rooms were charged to my card 4 hours after booking even though it said we could pay once we arrive. So be aware. Also all of the bathroom towels had a bad mildew smell.

    Many nice restaurants and Haka falls nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.7
    overall good, although basic offerings, but would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hard to know where the office was until we saw the sign as we were looking for 'Reception'.

    I liked the view and location, peaceful and lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    4.2
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. The attitude at reception was poor and rude. He promised to provide wifi password via text msg but never did. 2. My credit card was charged additionally without authorised consent and not explained for the reason. Even after contacting the owner through booking.com, I never receive any reply from the owner. I had to complain to master card which ended up with more inconvenience as I had to wait for a replacement card. 3. I was also disappointed that it was just a house in a residential area and split into a few apartments, not as expected by the name.

    Clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    Not what we expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The name 'Falls Chateau' gives the impression you are in a grand building in a luxurious location, this is not the case at all... The building is actually a large house converted into apartments in a housing estate. You have to drive across next doors driveway to access the parking. The picture of the building from the outside is actually very deceiving because you cannot see the houses either side and what you can see of the building is the side you do not see on arrival and when accessing the property. Very disappointing to arrive to when you are expecting something very different. There are no curtains apart from in the bedroom, this may sound like a minor point to make but it meant you can't have that cosy evening feel if you just wanted to snuggle up on the sofa and close the world out. Also it meant that you cannot watch the tv in the day time due to the reflection from the sun off the tv screen. No outside furniture on the ground level of this apartment. We are sure that this is because the balcony above leaks water all the way through when it rains. The decking is very dirty and needs to be jet washed. The furniture outside on the balcony consists of four rusted chairs and a small matching table. Also if your a smoker you are forced to go outside downstairs with no where to sit, under the leaking deck to smoke as there is a sign saying no smoking on the balcony. Or you could go out the front however you are then very close next to another apartment's bedroom window. Overall lovely inside the apartment, not really what we would have chosen to book given all the negatives.

    Before commenting I must state that for some reason we had an upgrade to the deluxe apartment although we had only booked the regular apartment (although after booking the regular apartment the pictures indicated that we had a large kitchen not a kitchenette, so before you book make sure you read throughly the description! It is only the deluxe apartment that has the kitchen, the other two regular apartments only have a microwave.) The man who greeted us for checking in was fantastic at his job, he showed us around the place and couldn't of been more helpful! Honestly the best check in of all accommodation we have stayed at. The deluxe apartment was huge, all furniture was comfortable as well as stylish and modern. The view from the upstairs balcony was lovely. The cleanliness is of an extremely high standard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    A lovely find, well priced and comfortable and a just a few minutes drive to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the accommodation to be tastefully decorated, very spacious with comfy furniture and we were upgraded to a larger room. The free wifi was greatly appreciated. Certainly value for money and I would gladly stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Well presented accommodation, closely placed to Huka Falls. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos on the web show an impressive picture of Chateau Falls from the front. However, guests can only access the place from the back so the grandeur was lost. There were no kitchen facilities which would have been useful. The entrance to our room was across a small lawn. As there as no path , it probably would have been better if the grass was kept cut well down.

    We had a lovely room which was very well presented. Chateau falls is in a quiet area. The ?manager? was really helpful and informative. He sent through our Wi-Fi password within 5 minutes of our arrival. There was no paperwork to tend to as you often do when arriving at a Motel or hotel so we were quickly into our room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    6.7
    It was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was very difficult to find - we spent an hour looking for the property - it is within a residential area. Also the rear room had NO external light. You had to walk round the back over the grass in pitch black, dodging the shrubs and steps.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.5
    It was described as falls chateau which was misleading it should have said part of regular house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was basically in the middle of a housing estate. View outside was of a fence of trees Deck had moss growing on it Kitchen was inadequate, no sink to wash dishes Could hear other people on the other side of the door really clearly when they were speaking in normal voices

    Larger comfy bed Large comfy lounges

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    A very nice accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no food cooking or microwave facilities, no washing machine or drying facility in the room. Could have used a Microwave, chopping board and a preparation knife if you wanted to prep a light meal.

    Room was quiet with a view of lake Taupo and the hills from the living room / kitchen. Nice quality building and bed suited us. We had an upstairs room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    4.0
    was ok - loved the location and the views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed was really hard, the bathroom needs upgrading and the whole place could have been cleaner. The patio chairs were rusty and uncomfortable to sit on. There were barely enough cups, cutlery etc and the manager was very specific about no guests so we think the plates etc were only provided as enough for 2 people. Extra bedrooms were locked off as if people were not trusted

    location was very quiet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    5.4
    It was a weird set up- it is a big single home with 3...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a weird set up- it is a big single home with 3 separate sections to stay within the house (multiple doors are boarded/locked internally all around so you cannot enter the other persons separate rooms of the house etc.) - i do not think this is part of the initial description...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.7
    Great views - needs a new bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hard to find. The bed was extremely hard, uncomfortable and creaky. We ended up lifting the mattress and sliding the boards to the foot of the bed which helped stop the creaking. This is not a hotel, there is no front desk.

    Nice quiet location. Awesome views.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    Quiet location and large rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price, better quality bathroom amenities. The bin had rubbish from the previous guest. Bottled water would have been appreciated.

    Quiet location and large rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.6
    One of the best places I've booked. Not kidding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That it is advertised that we pay at the property - when in fact the money is taken immediately. I booked 2 days in advance of arrival.

    This was a great stay for the money. Good location, well maintained, modern and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    2.5
    We wrote to in booking assistance about the complaint we had...
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wrote to in booking assistance about the complaint we had with this property. I also sent a second reminder that the response from the Falls Chateau was incorrect. I have not had a reply from you. Can you please sort this out ASAP.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.7
    poor
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the owner was rude. he had a attitude on reception. I had booked for 6 guest only to arrive sort of 2 guests one room. Had I not demanded with proof of payment we would not have been accommodated. He provided us with a up graded room, and locked off certain areas which meant we had no access to a kitchen.

    Like the decor

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.8
    We were disappointed with facilities, however the accommodation was large, clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the representative. There was no information pack. No facilities to wash cups etc. Poor WiFi and the log in number written on the back of a receipt. There was a smell of sewage outside in the morning.

    Clean and tidy, in a quiet area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.8
    A spacious chateau
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to use the kitchen

    Very spacious and comfortable, with a luxurious feel about it. This was in a quiet location and was ideal for a rest from our travelling.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.6
    Relaxed, easy and very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The junior suite is accessed by walking around the side of the property, and it would be good to have some pavers there.

    It was spacious and well-equipped. The slight distance from the centre of town was an advantage since we didn't get stuck in traffic. It was nicely furnished and everything was very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Just wish we had booked a longer stay here. A very peaceful environment with fabulous views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Professional and friendly staff. Immaculate presentation - very comfortable. Spectacular views if you are lucky enough to book chateau with upstairs verandah. Very close to Huka Falls and town centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    6.7
    Falls Chateau was fine for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was squeaky and no little extras, tissues, biscuits etc. Also was advised wifi passowrd would be text through, not received.

    The place was clean and tidy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Spacious room, well equipped kitchen, very clean, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think a 3pm check in is quite late 2pm would be better

    Spacious room, well equipped kitchen, very clean, nice location (for us if you want central it's a 5 min drive out), check in easy, lovely view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.8
    Great location - worst bed ever to sleep on!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kitchen was only tea/coffee. Had microwave but not one container to cook anything in. Bed was the most rickety, squeaky, uncomfortable bed I have EVER slept on!! or tried too!we couldn't make it through either of the 2 nights on it - even after putting the one blanket in the room underneath us!! Was only 8 degrees but owner wasn't that keen to put heating on as heat pump set for summer - heat pump set to only 22 degrees and then cuts out. Heat lamps in bathroom didn't work either.

    Great location, quite roomy - comfortable couches in lounge, shower had really good pressure.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.7
    Nice place but not a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not clear from the description that this is actually a two bedroom house set in the suburbs of Taupo and not a hotel.

    The house was very spacious and the proprietor very helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.2
    Really nice place to stay, lots of room, great views over the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kitchen was minimally equipped - just what you would expect in a hotel room and less than a motel unit, although it had full kitchen.

    Lots of space, far bigger than a hotel room. Easy access to everything if you have a car, quiet residential area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    5.0
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave or internet connection. Contacted 3 times about internet. Indicated it was the weather. This was not true as I was able to connect in the town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    5.0
    Poor
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hard to find the map we received was not helpful, no one there even though though we did arrive at 9 pm, it was dark and just impossible to find, very frustrating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    A perfect night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We arrived and were lucky to be up graded to a larger room. The whole experience was extremely relaxing, and the view from the balcony exquisite. We had previously read some poor reviews of the property, however we did not experience anything of a negative nature.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    Modern, clean and well mantained in a nice residential suburb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike, as most guests will have a car to travel into Taupo.

    This is newish house in a pleasant residential surburb a few minutes drive outside Taupo. We had a a well equipped, well mantained and clean unit/flat to ourselves within the house, without having to share. Very comfortable with nice views.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    5.8
    The best thing was the location and the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly it is a house that is divided into rooms. A gentleman met us & gave us the room key, and that was it. There was advertised to be a kitchenette, but it was only a fridge & microwave. No proper cooking facilities. The little freezer in the fridge was so iced up you couldn’t fit anything in it. The bed wasn’t comfortable and every time you moved it creaked so loudly that it sounded like it would collapse. There are little stickers with house rules on the walls everywhere. Bathroom toiletries were in tiny old refillable bottles which didn’t look very nice.

    The view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    4.6
    Not sure if owner but they were very rude with us upon us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure if owner but they were very rude with us upon us entering the property, free wifi only worked the first night then stopped working the rest of the time, and the place was not child friendly even after asking for a cot for our baby

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    Location very good for our purpose to visit wairakei...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shops or food near by. TV system difficult to use without instructions. Bed a little hard. Wifi password not readily available. No bowls and spoons for breakfast.

    Location very good for our purpose to visit wairakei terraces. Nice views and morning sun on deck. Cups for tea.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: