Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fitzherbert Castle Motel 4 stars

124 Fitzherbert Avenue, 4410 Palmerston North, New Zealand

#15 of 49 hotels in Palmerston North

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 176 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike about the motel at all

    The owners are a delightful couple who cannot do enough for you to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. We would always stay there when over from Adelaide Thank you both for looking after us so well

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of a kitchenette or just a tap and sink in the room was a big let down, filling a jug or glass of water in the bathroom just feels wrong, plus no sink for dishes is just inconvenient. The shower facilities were cramped and pokey.

    The reception staff was friendly and warm, and the suite was comfortable and clean, the bed was lovely, plenty of car parking is always good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything you need, very well set out and maintained, and easy walking to the centre of town with all its eating and entertainment options. Its not the newest, but lots of thought and attention has been put into making the rooms very functional and pleasant- I liked the attention to detail.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only thing lacking was dishwashing liquid to clean dishes.

    Ease of reservation and communications with the motel prior to checking in, convenient location, comfortable room and bed, cheerful friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I thought that calling the cooking facilities 'kitchenette' was probably a stretch. I had a microwave, a toaster and a kettle. No kitchen equipment/cooking utensils and no sink.

    The bed was amazingly comfortable! Made it hard to get up in the morning!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    room didn't have AC but was comfortable enough,

    on the whole a good motel,friendly staff,great for location,50 channel sky for those rainy days good parking nice area,good value for money,loved the original furniture was probably 1970s but made it feel a little special and not just another motel room,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a room with a bath but didn't get one. They just said oh well we took heaps of them out and we could have moved rooms but we had already unpacked and they had no vacancy. Need to update website as spa bath was what I searched for and chose this place specifically because it had a bath. No where to wash dishes. Could have stayed somewhere cheaper and got the same service. Also charged to have our young baby with us which we brought his own bed and he didn't use any linen as there was no bath.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having somewhere other than the bathroom to wash dishes and no receptacle to put the dirty ones into My iPhone would not connect to wifi

    Very convenient to get to restaurants and shops by foot Clean comfortable and quiet

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff, nice and quiet, breakfast was great ( bacon & eggs, sausages, tomato, hash browns ) , and would have to be the cleanest we have stayed in, will be back for sure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not a negative but rather an informative so people know what to expect. The décor and interior of the room is a little dated. But all is in good condition, tasteful and clean. We loved out stay at this motel. Most convenient.

    Good central location. This is a very well appointed studio room. Very well thought out with everything you could possibly need. Even a coffee plunger! Great to have a King size bed. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only negative was size of 'work bench'. Very small space and only really room for jug . But 'twas okay.

    We liked the arrangement of the room and accessibility. Wife especially liked the spa bath. Owner very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I woke to a mouse in my bed. As it ran over my face, it scratched me. I also found a mouse in the pantry and the motel management gave me a different room which didn't have the facilities I had paid for (No kitchen, no spa) It was incredibly inconvenient, we had to use minibar water to make a coffee unless we wanted to use bathroom water. I was not refunded or compensated in any way. It absolutely ruined my stay. The manager/owner was quite rude and kept cutting me off when I was letting him know what happened. He kept trying to justify that it hasnt happened before. He suggested the mice came from a nearby recently demolished building. Whatever the case it was disgusting. I emailed the motel several times but received no resolution or apology. Would not recommend this motel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Diane is a very accommodating host, extremely pleasant and helpful. Fitzherbert is a very good location for the town centre and the bus stop for Massey University is directly across the road. All in all, a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were some people staying in the hotel that were a little loud at 2am. I could hear the water running in the upstair apartment at about 6am in the morning.

    The Staff were lovely, I was just there overnight and the hotel was very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was bad. The stepping into the shower was a bit tricky as it's a very deep bath and I have short legs, but nothing at all to complain about. (:

    It was very clean and the bed was super comfy. It was our wedding night and we were both shattered and a comfy bed was great! Also, we were given a late check out, which was great. (:

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com photos make it look like it's in a more secluded location than it actually is. It also looks more castle-like and more new in the photos! It's pseudo and the castle-like frontage is where it ends! Although the room was very spacious and very comfortable, it is a little bit dated looking.

    Easy to find, very spacious room, spa bath, very comfortable bed, Sky TV! Our room was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really handy for shopping. Clean comfortable room. Having both a shower and bath was great. Quality coffee and tea supplies and a generous supply of milk. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guess the stairway is a bit tricky with a big bag - a lift would be great !! Heck I hope the motel doesn't allow pets otherwise I will be looking for somewhere else to stay

    We usually stay in the end room and we like it - suits us ! The spa bath is very good and is big enough Good that cooking facilities are limited otherwise some folk cook and leave motel with overpowering cooking smells - have had lots of smelly motels as result - hard to rid units of cooking smells

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    would have like to have sink near tea making / fridge area.

    friendly welcome, great facilities, easy off street and secure parking, Sky TV recorder,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    What can I say the Hosts were just great as always, the unit had all you wanted clean bedding, bath room,my Ski, Tv, heating. It has all you would need that's why we always we stay there when we visit Palmerston North

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, beds, convenience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing service, warm rooms, good shower presure. Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only had 2 sachets of coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet is really old and needs updating

    Handy to town and meeting. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all good

    handy to everything and good value, nice hosts

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great rooms and quiet place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really was nice and clean & tidy

    Comfy beds good location Not too expensive

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large bathroom and lots of storage space, friendly staff, comfortable bed, plenty of power points.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, relaxing and location so close to town

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The friendless

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Blinds on the window for extra privacy from the building opposite.

    comfy bed, clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very comfortable, excellent service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room clean feel relax

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not many facilities at venue.

    They allowed us to have a late check out. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi constantly disconnected

    Great location, easy parking, nice and quiet, friendly staff, loved it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The downstairs' room is too small for three people, the bathroom is tiny and old. A motel without cooking facility.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really accommodating Host. Really enjoyed the option of being treats in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather ah ha

    Easy access and handy to our event

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and modern. Best range of Sky channels also.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - I would book this site again!

    The service was above and beyond with owner drying my washing and delivering to my room!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fast, friendly and efficient service. Staff knowledgeable about surroundings. Great recommendations given.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    n/a

    Close proximity to town/restaurants and bars, that I walked and left my car at the motel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    It was a comfortable and warm unit with all the facilities that I needed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    nil

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lady asked if we wanted milk, in which I said I would just get some at the supermarket.

    Was handy to town. Loved the spa bath.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV is smallish and tile floor in bathroom is really cold.

    Attractive and clean with large jetted tub.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When ever the upstairs guest used their shower the sound would magnify into my room, was very loud at 11.30 at night.

    The bed was super comfy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Nice, quiet and very clean. It was warm and photos represent the motel well. Motel is close to town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Eggs Benedict were very nice .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room. Comfortable and well equipped. Friendly and helpful hosts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a bad thing to say

    Great location.Lovely owners. Very clean and spacious room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Enjoyed and appreciated the stay in a superb motel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows.

    Clean, and a convenient location close to town centre and far enough away to walk off the evening meal :-) Shower was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed very large and comy. spa bath huge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Does not have proper kitchen facility as a normal motel. We have to wash dishes in the bathroom.

    Very convenient location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff, room was immaculate, loved the little glass bottles of milk

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom

    Great location, nice big bed, clean and tidy but very basic room with tiny tiny bathroom

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs updating from 1970's to 21st Century

    The studio room configuration was great. Plenty of room and grea ventilation

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bath was nice and big, bed was comfortable - service was excellent !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The WI-FI access was a bit clunky - 500MB a time needs to change

    Overall the location was fine and the room was clean and modern

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely room with views of trees, very spacious and quiet and staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    didnt know that money was coming off my card, it was in the fine print under a ? mark web sight needs to be clearer

    the room was very clean

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable room, friendly reception.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed comfy.We arrived late at night but the staff memeber who wait for us was still friendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hosts, very close to city, no noise, very clean,

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and the room was large, comfy bed, good shower and even a spa bath!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast and helpful staff.comfortable bed and nice view of trees outside window.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service excellent. Very clean and comfortable. AWESOME breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful. I appreciated the gluten-free breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower over bath.

    Good location, room very comfortable, well appointed.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Fitzherbert Castle Motel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: