Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier 3 stars

11 Cook Flat Road, 7859 Fox Glacier, New Zealand

#15 of 17 hotels in Fox Glacier

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 188 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Musty smelling rooms, need to traverse stairs with luggage - no lift, breakfast buffet at $25 is overpriced for what was on offer

    It is close to guiding and bus stop

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive, since it was room only and limited facilities in room. %tage charge on card payments. Room not directly attached to hotel, although you could walk through a covered way. Neither a hotel or a motel Extra wide bed meant it was directly under protruding headboard light so you had to be careful not to catch head on it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room extremely clean, spacious and comfortable. Staff were helpful in tracking a jacket left behind. A light bulb was replaced only a few minutes after being reported as not working. The restaurant had a wide choice of cuisine. Location was excellent as it was close to Franz Joseph Glacier Centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having travelled the length and breadth on both islands of NZ, this property simply does not represent value for money. For example, that price gave us 2 nights in pure luxury at Hanmer Springs.

    Requested Double or Queen bed, but got 3 singles....!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are very thin... Can hear neighbours... Talking.. Watching Tv... Using bathroom... If possible request a room that has a vacant room next door.

    Clean room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No bedside lamps!

    Comfy beds , no bedsides lamps which I queried at reception, and was told none were supplied in our rooms. The rooms were clean and although the bathroom is basic it was clean. A convenient stay near shops and cafes, it suited us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny room, only place to sit and relax out on shared balcony with rusty table and old plastic chairs. Breakfast was very poor no hot food left , pastries and muffins stale.

    Comfortable bed and clean room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived New Year’s Eve after a long drive and hungry only to be told once we went to the dinning room that the restaurant was fully booked and we could not be served, even after we explained that we were staying at the hotel and that the town had few alternatives. Once we talked to the manager, we were told that we could be seated in the bar and served as a table became available and were treated well but the initial experience was very off-putting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was disappointing. We were there at 8.45 and there was not a lot of choice left. coffee was cold!

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The meal in the restaurant was very good and the waiting staff were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    double room with two beds is just twin beds - was expecting double beds. Photos were at an angle that it does not become clear that beds are small. It was a cramped night.

    Location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no wifi available to our room and no alternative room was offered. The matinence man came in while we were in the room to paint some areas which would have left wet paint and a smell as well had we not already arrived. Manager was very rude about it and tried to blame the young receptionist .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were so thin, could hear everything in the next room. The staff were terrible. The reception stunk of cigarettes. No staff welcomed us when we walked into the hotel. Terrible service. I won't be coming back

    The room was nice and spacious

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    King bed is really 2 twins pushed together and the mattresses are junk. The center was so hard you just couldn't lay there. Ask for a queen?

    Breakfast was good, location is central.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was 2 singles together and there was NO crossing the hard ridge down the middle. There was only one drinking glass in the room and it wasn't easy to fill the kettle in the basin.

    Friendly staff. Nice pub food. Lovely local timbers and an explanation of them in the dining room. Easy walking distance to other eateries and activity operators.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was put in a room out the back of nowhere! I had stated in my booking email that I couldn't walk long distances. I was in tears by the time I got to my room! Also, I had asked that my friend's room be near mine. She was put upstairs at the front of the hotel! Also, all the pillows in our room were too high. I had to sleep on a folded up towel.

    The bed was okay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were too high & there was no full length mirror.The restaurant for breakfast should've been open until 10am. We got there at 9.45 & it was packed up!

    Very clean. Good amenities in room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    coffee cold, tired decor, no lift.

    very old and tired hotel. no lift so bumped suitcases up stairs. breakfast was awful, no food left at 8am..seem to only cater for bus travellers. cold coffee had to ask for it to be microwaved.go to nearby Hobnail cafe for food.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room that we had was above the kitchen At 5 am when the kitchen staff come in and turn on their loud Indian type music ..so loud through the floor boards it woke us up We felt that the some of the bed linen was not fresh This is an older hotel and didn't feel that we got value for money .. Sorry...

    That we had a room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An Indian front desk treated us very impolite. He talked to us frivolously and threw my room key on the desk. He became very respectful when facing two western people next to us. I WILL NOT recommend any Asian people to live here.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken shower, malfunctioning air con Disgusting burgers in restaurant but on the whole the rooms were clean modern & comfortable & manager did apologise & try to make things right.

    Ease of access to ammenities for schedualed trips

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our standard room was small with little storage. Fridge did not work even after complaining. Window was dirty even after complaining. No air conditioning. Sink did not drain properly. Loud music from bar kept us awake till late first night, then drunken singing heard through open window woke us the second night!

    Lively attached bar and restaurant serving decent food. Excellent location in centre of village. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get the room bedding specifications we booked online. A room with two single beds was supplied. We requested a room with two large double beds and a single bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although an older building, it was well kept and well appointed. They had all the necessary amenities in the bathroom along with a little bag to take the ones you didn't use up with you. Nice touch. Comfy bed, good towels, clean. No elevator if that's an issue for you.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First of all the room pictures on booking.com are deceiving. I booked a room for 3 people, believed it's a double bed+ a single bed in the room. When I checked in I was told they ran out of triple rooms and I was blamed for not leaving a message stating my requirement. The staff at reception are not as warm as I've seen in other kiwi hotels. Last, there isn't any cooking facilities in the room, and it's an expensive town to eat out. If I were to visit the Glaciers again I will pick Franz Josef instead.

    Location (well, it's a small town so I guess anywhere is close) Rooms are average, as what you expect out of a normal hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The external room blocks looked a little military camp style but the rooms inside as stated were excellent.

    The room was newly refurbished to a high standard. The little touch of a gift bag for the toiletries was pleasing. The restaurant served excellent food at a reasonable price. The hotel appears to be well managed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view wasn't so great, and the room itself was quite dated.

    The room was small, but comfortable and clean. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The café adjacent is abysmal. Lovely one (and visitor centre, at Lake Murchison, a couple of miles down the road though. The weather is hit and miss - I've been once and it was brilliant, and once when it was awful. You take your chances, it's the west coast.

    Clean, comfortable, good steak and staff, very reasonable. Central in Fox.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fox is a wonderful place were sad to see building roofs instead of windows over looking nice scene of Fox we had booked room for 2 Adult 2 children and advised our kids were 10/8 yrs age still had one single one double bed comfort?

    Has overall good friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a Suite so we expected something above the rest. TV, only 5 channels, all rubbish Wifi very slow less than 0.5 Mbps wardrobe very small, only 30 cms wide to hang cloths. Lacked comfort. Bed linen discoloured. Very poor for the price paid. Staff not up to scratch. Hotel needs complete revamp, its in poor condition.

    Nice and warm in the room. Clean bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old fashioned needs updating. Clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Clean and bright

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the hotel should pay attention on cleaning room. Somewhere are a bit dirty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a bit expensive though.

    location is perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small Rooms, not too clean, couldnt smoke in front of hotel. Pick a motel any time !

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost, no fan/aircon and fridge didn’t work well. Male receptionist not friendly.

    Expensive and limited facilities in room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and helpful staff. Clothes washing facilities was a bonus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would stay there again. Staff most helpful. Good evening meal. Character/history of pub.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive for a rather old hotel, the room itself was nice though

    Very nice staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. You get what you pay for

    Average, no-frills hotel well suited for a short stay to visit the glaciers

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not ready upon arrival and we left an item and when we called they hadn’t found it even though it wasn’t a small item.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, whether just passing through or for exploring Fox Glacier.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, thin walls so you can hear the music from the breakfast room

    Help the get the luggage upstairs, nice bath, nice patio

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful spot with a comfortable room and friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of facilities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfy and close to the sights we wanted to see

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locks to doors as they opened from outside from balcony.

    Restaurant was very good value for money and food was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal was ok. Breakfast was disgusting

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm & comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, spacious room. Near to bus stop drop off and pick up point.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little expensive.

    Availability of vacancy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant lacks ambience being quite a large open space but the staff were helpful and friendly and the food was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating a bit dated.

    Convenient for one night stop. Central location in fox glacier.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive for small double. Good bathroom. Had to go downstairs to lounge area to read as no desk or couch area.

    Not a lot..

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit pricey.

    Good location close to township and Lake Mattheson.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning and making up room was none existent in the 3 nights we stayed.

    Location was really good for trips to Fox Glacier.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for what you got

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing more can be said

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location room comfortable staff pleasant

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No work desk. Limited seating in room

    Great location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Table ad chair in room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dangerously hot even with all the windows open which resulted in an influx of biting insects.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor soundproofing in the rooms - there were gaps around the doors so a lot of noise

    Good pub adjacent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was too tiny and dusty

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    Very tidy hotel and room. Friendly staff. Would go there again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location, good staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is small but suits the stop over need.

    In the town, very close to the Heli Hike Office

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over price

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic colonial style hotel,Good location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was too hot

    Dinner was very nice in the dining room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small and property in general needs updating.

    Fox glacier is a small quaint town. Staff at the hotel were very helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a terrible stain on the carpet and mould on the bath/shower tiles.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced.

    Room of a good standard,near to restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: