Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Queenstown Lakeside 4 stars

Cnr Earl St And Marine Parade, 9197 Queenstown, New Zealand

#25 of 71 hotels in Queenstown

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1118 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Paid WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Loved the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door from the balcony was freeeezing! Didn’t appear to have double glazing. The cold air came straight through the curtains. Also the bathroom was a bit old and tired. But is was very clean.

    Loved the location. After staying in an apartment out of town, it was great to be right in the heart of Queenstown. Walk to everywhere

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Great comfort and easy access to central Queenstown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Soundproofing of walls could be better.

    Amazing location right in Central Queenstown next to the lake, made it extremely easy to get around. The bed was very comfortable and room cleaned regularly every day well. The price I paid was reasonable for what I got. Would recommend!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay and we would recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight issue with a payment problem at check out but we were very happy with how it was resolved by staff.

    The location was perfect and the staff were very friendly. We liked the room and amenities also, very comfortable stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Great location and the beds are super comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The water didn't drain away from the shower too well so would flood the bathroom a bit but we had plenty of towelling and heated towel rails. Only a minor. Everything else was so good.

    Great location and the beds are super comfy. The staff went the extra mile and put a fruit platter in our room for my partner's birthday. Really thoughtful. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    it was a good short stay there ^_^
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    room size was a bit small

    The location was excellent, right in the city centre surrounded by the Alps and lake and shops. The rooms were a bit small but still not too cramp.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Cosy and warm in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was fantastic and they were all very attentive. The room wasn't as nice as expected. Older than it looked in photos. Comfy beds and great pillow menu. Though we were told when they got to our room that they didn't have the pillows we wanted :( she gave us alternatives which was nice. Great location and FANTASTIC price for a last minute booking during winterfest!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    I recommand this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very great hotel with great place in the heart of Queenstown. We stayed only one night but we would stay longer if we could. The lake view is beautiful, very lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Overall it was good, very comfortable beds, was just a bit disappointed with the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was quite disappointed with the view from our room tho. We were facing at the car park. Didn’t even go out to the balcony

    The bed was very comfortable, room service was really good as well. We requested for a high level room and we got a room on the 4th floor which was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff were lovely, but where were our Kiwis?

    We really enjoyed the breakfast -best ever. We also loved the bar on the way back to our room to grab a coffee - and they really know how to make an Irish coffee. The room was smallish but very servicable for our 7 day stay. We even squeezed in another bed for a few days as our teenager daughter stayed. Fantastic location - right on the lake and right in town. No lake view but central location was more important to us. Would be back tomorrow!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Everything perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The to soft bed but this is my special need.

    Everything perfect. Very nice staff, qhick chwck in and bery early check in without any charge! Breakfast was unbelievable. Fresh fruit juice... Room big, bathroom very nice. Location perfect. I loved it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Perfect location, clean with friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff where really good, the valet service was extremely helpful regardless of the number of times we re-parked which was convenient. The room was nice with a sweet sized TV.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.0
    Pleasant staff..warm hotel and great showers. Very noisy heat pump unit on outside wall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checked out of hotel..to catch flight to chch. Flight was cancelled and I had to rebook another night. Same staff on..no one even realised that I had stayed the night before. Both check in staff were asked to look up my Accor number from my email. Even on second checkout membership number still not confirmed. No welcome drink or facilities explained...just directions to lift On return asked for 30 min spa time...only to be told none available as was out for maintenance. Staff pleasant but no personal interaction.

    Great beds..warm rooms...great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Wish we could of stayed longer lol
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Have been there three times now. we wouldn't stay any where else in Queenstown. Lucille from the restaurant is amazing and so friendly. Everyone was lovely. Thanks for having us.Don and Jennine Edwards Australia

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice, location great, views not as spectacular as write up, friendly staff, all of them!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Alpine View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    conf center not like the photo! Food for conf was ok but could be better - timing not that great either - first morning we were called back to the lecture as the cake arrived for morning tea! oops Mountain view room looked straight at shops - oh yes...there are the mountains waaaaay up there! Hmmm...maybe an exaggerated advert?

    location, staff helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Great spot to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Alpine View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant was noisy, so we did not eat there. Some patrons were in the habit of talking loudly and knocking loudly on doors in the early mornings (3am)

    Good beds, top floor location facing the town. My daughter and I asked for and were given rooms together, with a connecting door. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Love the location, the rooms are clean, and the location from the bed to the TV is the best! ha!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On Saturday night there was a group of school kids running around and screaming in the rose garden at 2AM, when my friend rang reception she wasn't very helpful saying "they are excited because its their last night at the hotel" Not the response we were after.

    The woman on reception when we checked in was lovely and moved my room and my friends so we could be next to each other. I appreciated that.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Novotel made my visit to Queenstown an absolute joy and I will be back, thank you to all at Novotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were most helpful. The location was the best in Queenstown being so close to everything. The hotel interior could do with a little upgrading/modernizing but everything else was fabulous and I would definitely book again at Novotel for my next stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.8
    Too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room’s walls were dirty, needing to paint. Too much noise in the hallway. Very expensive, it wasn’t worth the money paid.

    Good location, excellent concierge

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Convenient location with lakefront views, and close to Queenstown gardens, town, shops, cafes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds - Lake Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The money spent on this room was definitely for the view rather than the size of the room. It was quite small, but worked ok for two of us for just two nights.

    The best thing about this accommodation is it's location - walking distance to town, the Queenstown gardens, and lakefront views which are breathtaking. We had a ground level room with access to a small balcony looking out across the lake which was lovely. Our room had it's own heat pump which was appreciated in the cold snap we experienced while there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.0
    Queenstown is an amazing destination and my boys did "everything"!!! Safe location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Used to having a view when I travel to Queenstown

    Didn't eat at the hotel. Bed comfy, room clean and fresh looking. Grandson enjoyed reception area Playstation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable quiet room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing. This hotel was perfect for us though we were only there one night.

    Small, but very comfortable room. Quiet on the top floor facing the back of the property. We ate dinner at the restaurant and it was very good. We left luggage while we did a 3 day hike and the hotel was very accommodating. I only wish we had stayed here when we first arrived in Queenstown. Location is great, on a quiet street but close to restaurants. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    The room is a bit small, but overall great, would most definitely come stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds - Lake Side
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms were really small, the size of the room is smaller than other 2 queen bedrooms that we have stayed in other hotels around the world.

    We booked the room with breakfast included everyday while we were there. The breakfast buffet was surprisingly complete with an omelette bar, a juicer to make our own fresh juices, and a waffle machine! It was really amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location. Excellent breakfast. Corridors felt a bit like a rabbit waren
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mention of parking fees. Was charged $22 per day valet parking Or pay for public carpark a block away which wasn't a option with luggage

    Location. Full buffet breakfast was amazing everything you could possibly want. Light and airy Foyerand bar area. Helpful and friendly staff. Clean public Laundry facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect oasis to come back to after a day of sightseeing or adventure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Alpine View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous lakeside location in the heart of town but not in the fray and noise. The room was modern and clean with a great bed and terrific balcony views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.7
    Yeah it was nice but not what I was expecting for the amount of money it costed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi, no tv to watch, toilet paper roll holder is in a prick of a spot and bath/ shower to small

    Breakfast was good,beds good,staff are good, room nice and clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous mini break, gorgeous Queenstown, plenty of lovely places to eat and drink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Alpine View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, knowledgable staff. Excellent location, walking distance to all the attractions with a fantastic bus service for anything out of town. So much to see and do, plan ahead to make the most of your stay... or the excellent concierge at the Novotel will help you with your plans 😁

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.1
    Great location and good for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds - Lake Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, near the lake and you could walk into the lake side through open your window door if you are having the first floor room. There is a playground near the lake and kids loved it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, spacious room, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a lake view room for our parents. Unfortunately there was alot of people hanging out and playing loud music on the lake side. Tip: Book lakeview rooms in winter and avoid it in summer time unless you enjoy people watching and hearing 5 diffrent songs playing at the same time, coming from different locations.

    Location is just outside the and steps away from city center. Our Room was spacious with a nice garden view and partial lake view. Parking is valet $22 a day. Very convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.0
    Staff was rude, asked for 2 cups of milk as 1 was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Behaviour of housekeeping, Reception people were very nice and helpful.

    Staff was rude, asked for 2 cups of milk as 1 was complimentary and housekeeping said bring your own milk as they provide only for tea/coffee. We arrived only 1 night before late evening and next morning kids wanted milk so didn’t knew anything about markets. Housekeeping service was real poor as requested for toothpaste and they bring after 40 mins and 1 small toothpaste. If you are charging according to 2 Adults and 2 kids provide the facility accordingly please.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced and outdated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the windowless bathroom was unclean, very dated and musty smelling. Parking & wifi available- but overpriced. The location was good in theory- but we would recommend staying elsewhere and just walking a bit further to get in to town.

    Short walk to lake/restaurants in area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.0
    OK for business travel, wouldve been upset were I on vacation/spending more time in room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room - Lake Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price, room was small, especially the balcony and furniture was sad and worn, old flooring carpet and tiles were in need of a upgrade. The area outside the window was over run with revelling back packer/student types laughing and pushing each other into the bushes until late into the night, not so serene :(

    the lamb cassoulet I had via room service was very good! as was the salad. the lake vista was great all the staff were friendly including the housekeeping staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't really fault anything

    Beds were comphy, the staff were lovely wishing us a happy morning, offering to take our bags, it was the first time we have stayed in a hotel with the boys and they thought it was great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    we highly recommend this hotel for a great vacation in queenstown!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    spacious well-appointed room, clean & comfortable bed, nice bathroom, good quality tv & wifi, ample adaptors for convenience outlets considering we came from overseas, landscaped courtyard with easy access to the lakefront

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.5
    Satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet and fixtures showing their age. Bath rooms need up dating. Poor wheel chair access to dining and garden seating.

    Well positioned on the edge of the lake in the town center. Good service . Clean rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.5
    Overpriced. Would do once.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Lake Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the views, however the troupe of slackliners camping outside until 430/5am each morning were a bit much. They were entertaining in the evenings, but could have done without their late night antics. Overpriced I thought compared to similar in Auckland, or in the States. We arrived and asked to park our car in front for 10 min to offload luggage before returning the rental car. In that 10 min they lost the car somehow. Bit disorganized.

    Lakeside view room with king bed. Nice spa pool. Stellar location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.5
    Mediocre room at extravagant price. Not what I booked!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above. Liked the general location. Would not recommend unless guaranteed goood room.

    We booked an expensive lake view and got a dark side sad view. Totally disappointed in our room. One night to see the place and over $300 US. NOT WORTH IT!!!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real spa department. Some hotel rooms can be noisy, if they are close to the bar. They kindly moved us to another room.

    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, very good all in all.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.6
    The location is excellent near Lake Wakatipu!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The price is a little bit expensive.

    The location is excellent near Lake Wakatipu! The staff is really nice. I found I left jandals in the room after coming back, they post it to me after I contacted them.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Honesty of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honesty of staff. Accidentally we left the laptop in the room. We called the hotel next day. The laptop has been collected and was safely stored until we returned to Queenstown. Our full respect and appreciation to all honest and trustful people working at Novotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn’t recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds - Lake Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould around bath tub. Requested milk from reception, didn’t turn up for 12 hours, reception phone continually engaged, concierge didn’t answer. Spa closes at 9pm and was booked out. Very limited view of lake from lake side room. No 30 minute free wifi, $10 per day.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful rooms, nice and clean, helpful staff and close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was reserved for all days, we where there for 4 days and didn’t get any appointment.

    Beautiful rooms, nice and clean, helpful staff and close to town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    great experience , will definitely come back again
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking system needs to improved. When there are a lot of people check out at the same time, staff are not enough, and there are full of empty cars waiting to be parked or driven away outside the entry. Would be good the hotel can provide 24hr carpark entey-card, then we can park our cars by ourselves.

    TheeThe envirenvironment and the location are great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay, great location. Would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Alpine View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tour desk was not very helpfull. Told us about zip lining from the top of the gondala, but failed to mention that we could buy tickets that skipped the queue or that maybe we should go early and do the luge.

    Great location, good size modern room, very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    Don't book at hotel. Use Booking.com
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked one night through Booking.com and then the second night direct through the hotel and had to pay another $20 extra. Should have booked second night through Booking.com while waiting at reception. Parking is overpriced as usual.

    Great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.1
    Great location and staff, expect to fork out more if you want to park a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit cramped and given the high price paid, I don't think it was unreasonable to expect some form of free in-house parking.

    Great location, staff were friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds - Lake Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food could have been much better... need to improve on flavors in the food ... it was all bland ..

    Location ... conveniently located near the lake.. very lively environment ! Love love loved the stay!! Want to come back soon...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Excellent for everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    The location of the hotel is excellent which is just in the town centre. They are four pillows for each bed and are very comfortable. The size of the twin bed is double bed. I have bad experience in most of the motel in New Zealand of their mattress which is too soft, ended up of not having a good sleep at night, but I was enjoying the mattress in the Novotel Queenstown which is firm but not hard. The hotel shampoo is good quality and the room is clean and there are slippers in the room. I am happy of everything in this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.6
    We felt comfortable and at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Alpine View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had one sleepless night due to noise from a local club. Could not get an evening meal, on one of the nights because a function was taking place in main ding room,and no tables were available down stairs.

    Great location and staff. Rooms and hotel very comfortable and welcoming. The overall experience was very good, we would certainly stay at Novotel next time we visit Queenstown.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.5
    A average hotel with a lake view, but public pathway an green area between hotel and lake .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff said it was a upgrade but it was a stardard hotel room . View of lake, but a public pathway outside room.

    Bed comfortably , a standard hotel room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.5
    For gods sake provide free unlimited wifi in the rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    With a hotel at the standard that the Novotel markets itself, there really should be free WiFi included. Whatever there is (or apparently is) at reception, is useless and it is a hefty fee if you want it in your room.

    Excellent location!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    4.6
    Great location but I wouldnt choose to stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds - Lake Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is tired and is in need of some TLC. We traveled as a family, 2 adults and 1 child and paid extra for a lakeside room. Upon arrival we were greeted with a small balcony with only 1 chair, very sad when there was 3 of us. The bathroom is tiny, only space for one person at a time.

    The location, it was fabulous :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.1
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was told at check-in that parking is only available as valet parking at extra cost (20 or 25 NZ$ for 24 hours). it's not a lot of money and I paid it instead of having to fight for a parking spot out in the street and keep feeding the meter, but this should have a mention in the description. The room I had was right opposite to the laundry room, I heard the noise until quite late.

    location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location all round. Highly recommend Novotel for a great stay in Queenstown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Alpine View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit challenged for space.

    Location perfect. Beds super comfy. Staff awesome and the fastest room service ever! Definately would stay again!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room - Lake Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior of property a little tired but did not affect the comfort or cleanliness or property.

    Could not ask for a better location. Definitely worth paying a little bit extra for “lakeside” view room. It was our 20 year wedding anniversary and the Novotel had a heart shaped helium balloon, chocolates and heart-shaped bath towels laid out on our bed. Was lovely gesture.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location - valet parking for NZ$22.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds - Lake Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Construction works outside our room on day we stayed. Interestingly I called on the day we stayed and they said they were full, with no availability, - I then went on to Booking.com and found availability for a number of rooms and was able to book and stay.

    Position near lake (no real view though because of trees) and near centre of town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Great hotel - impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. Highly recommended.

    Very impressed. Decided to stay in Queenstown on a whim so it was expensive but that was expected at short notice. Location excellent, staff great, valet parking handy. Shower was great - hot and powerful. WiFi not superb - I paid for the expensive option and to their credit, a letter was under the door offering to reimburse. Self-service laundry very handy. Good customer service - quick and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.8
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room - Lake Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    loved the bed and the beddings, location was the best right at the city center, plus for the pillow menu. i had a lovely view of the lake and loved that it was by a park and right next to the mall.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Love location but seen better for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel looking a bit tired. Tiny gym, restaurant and bar needs make over

    Great water front location,park and restaurants. The valet parking service was a plus!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    Handy and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complicated instructions about WiFi. Free or $10? Not clear

    Comfy room cosy and easy to ventilate with door Simone (male) at bar was extremely helpful and charming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Valet parking should be included in the room rate.

    The location of the hotel was brilliant, close to the lake and walking distance to restaurants and bars. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful location that can’t be beaten.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is looking a little tired. The rooms are small and are due for at least a soft refurb

    The location is fantastic. Level walk to the shops , transport, lake and gardens.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location and staff are very helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was two sheets in between the Doona and there was no quilt cover on it.

    The location was great and facilities were excellent too! Would definitely come back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Best location , bathroom could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is too small, the wash basin is the smallest I have seen in any hotel, there is no hand shower, the water splashes everywhere after a shower and it stays stagnant near the closet , this was a big problem in our room, 1st time in queenstown then you should know that there is no free parking in the entire town , the hotel charges 15 NZD for a 24 hours which is good but Novotel should take care of the parking as most ppl would hire a car in Newzeland

    biggest plus of the property is the location, breakfast was really good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    oveall is good except for the shower area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    since the shower room has just a half glass shield, the water gets thru the toilet area and suddenly the whole area gets flooded easily. floor is slippery because of tiles and not safe to children. my little one slipped on the floor.

    i like the breakfast, got plenty of choices

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    Modern property in with beautiful views, peaceful and quiet yet in ideal downtown location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You couldn't ask for a better location than this hotel, my wife and I stayed here recently and loved it! Overlooking the lake and Queenstown gardens it feels like a little oasis in the city, however once you step out your door you're in the heart of the action! The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing and definitely not accurate with the reviews.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel over rated and out dated. Room 204 noise above, below and all around. Over looked other side of hotel windows. Would never stay here again. Over priced and there a lots of other better choices.. Booking.com reviews were not accurate. And I am really glad I only had one night there.

    fresh sheets and comfy bed,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.4
    Very disappointing - poor planning, consideration and lack of organisation by Novotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As a couple you don't expect to be placed in a corridor filled with a family group of around 20 who use the hall as a communal area, talking loudly and encouraging their small children to run around. Doesn't seem logical to place couples next to family groups, or to place large family groups on the top floor (felt sorry for anyone in the rooms below too) but if you have to allocate rooms that way then at least check groups are being quiet & showing consideration to other guests! It really shouldn't be down to guests to point these things out. Toilet flush worked intermittently, usually failing late at night or early morning. We booked an extra night directly with Novotel a few weeks before our visit but at no point did they tell us we would have to get a new set of room keys after our first night, so we came back from a walk in the pouring rain to find we couldn't get in.

    Staff were all very attentive and room was clean. The guys on the bar in the evening were great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.7
    It was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Faster internet, it was terrible and unusable at times. Shower design is bad and floods the bathroom floor. No USB charger ports. Spa was small and had to be booked.

    Had a good view of queenstown hill on the fourth floor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Beds and pillows were amazing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and pillows were amazing .. considering close to town very quiet ,I slept well every night .. breakfast was great ,but service was a bit slow st times . Enjoyable stay ❤️

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location in the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of room was next to the loading bay so our curtians had to remain closed the whole time. Bathroom was also a let down as the shower was not enclosed and would flood the floor.

    Perfect location in the city center. Clean room and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic staff, location, and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Alpine View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The self service laundry left power/fluff on clothes. That's about the only complaint I can come up with after 12 nights stayed in 3 different room types.

    The staff were the best of any hotel I've stayed in Queenstown. The buffet breakfast was amazing. Great location. The hotel had a diverse spread of guests, rather than one particular ethnicity. The front desk staff helped with many different requests over the stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location! Would recommend staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff at reception and restaurant were quite disappointing. not much personality and not very friendly. Receptionist provided us with a drink card and said it would cover both of us, but restaurant said no we needed two cards very rudely like it was our faulty? The food was really good but the attitude of staff made you not want to dine there again. Also, activity desk rarely had staff there so we just didn't bother

    Great location! This is the best thing about the property as it is within walking distance to everywhere in Queenstown CBD. Room was nice, basic, very comfortable and was serviced each day. The restaurant had great food but unfortunately staff were quite disappointing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Overall a great place for a short stay in Queenstown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception and the rooms are very nice and modern but the corridors look like they haven't been renovated since the 70's. This lets the property down a little.

    The location is excellent, the beds are really nice and it's very clean. We didn't eat in but the bars and the restaurant look good. It's not cheap but no-where in Queenstown is. The concierge was very helpful with dinner recommendations and advice on the snow conditions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.8
    I am determined to come back to Queenstown with my daughters for a 'girls weekend'.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Alpine View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Why do you not have rooms with single beds/ we were 3 ladies travelling together and 2 had to share a bed. Not good for friendly relations!

    The room was beautifully clean and the bed was comfortable. All the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    very happy with it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very happy with it

    convenient location, friendly staff , room clean and shower strong, heat pump works well and temperature comfortable. Car parking very convenient, staff recommendation of restaurants were very good

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: