Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Airport Gold Star Motel 3 stars

255 Kirkbride Road, 1010 Auckland, New Zealand

#140 of 161 hotels in Auckland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2570 hotel reviews

6.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.7

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    5.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.0
    Expect nothing so what you then get is a bonus
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    We rang the shuttle to pick us up as instructed but the man taking the call was very abrupt and rude. We couldn't have a good conversation with this man. He seemed to have limited use of English because he kept on asking where we were and telling us that if we weren't there when he came, he would just go. I handed the phone to my friend and at one stage he was yelling to her. That's not the kind of reaction you expect from people in that line of work since they boast a 24/7 service. When we came to our room, we died for a cup of tea but the jug didn't work. We felt that we couldn't ring him up telling him that at 11pm, so just left it. The bath was def not clean - once again, we passed on the shower.

    A bed to sleep in - we were so exhausted after being on the airport all day to see my daughter off to USA and only to get to motel at 11pm was pure bliss. To be honest, whether the bed was good or not, we slept like babies.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.4
    Bed was comfy but a lot of traffic noise.
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very shabby and badly needs updated. Very cold, the heater was working but sounded like a freight train. Parking was difficult with the motel full.

    Price is a budget motel and did not expect luxury but I did expect it to be clean. Disappointed with the cleanliness of the room and bathroom. Only stayed one night and would not go there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Don't think I will stay there again.
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn't very clean and bathroom door didn't shut properly. The outside grounds need some TLC and the inside of the unit needs a serious upgrade. The glass coffee table was broken.

    The staff were friendly and obliging. Free shuttle service is great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    I would recommend this as a place to stay before flying. Good value for money, free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite noisey outside during the night, but I am a country person so not used to noise. The units could do with a makeover but were clean. Book your ride to the airport a little earlier than needed as they were busy the morning we were going to the airport and got us there 30 mins late.

    The motel itself is not flash, but a very good deal. Close to the airport. Free transport to the airport and back and free parking while i was away. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.6
    i suppose,i paid very cheap for the 2 night stay,- & that is what i got
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the heating in the room was poor, had only 1 heater, the wall heater only went from the time we got there,for about a half hour, clean- no

    Staff was very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    Just a short overnight stay, convenient location to airport and provides a shuttle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no electric blankets, the electric jug didn't work but we were able to heat water for coffee in the microwave and water in the toilet cistern ran all night,

    It is close to the airport and they provide a 24 hour shuttle which certainly saves the hassell of finding your own way to accommodation if you have a late flight.,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    3.3
    Would never suggest or stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For $120 the room was disgusting. There was dirt everywhere, chewing gum on the heater, heater only blew out cold air, mold was all over the curtains. Vanity in bathroom was starting to root away.

    How close the motel was to airport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    3.3
    Appreciated Shuttle pick up and drop off the next morning.
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    sorry to say very disappointed carpets were well worn and stained as was one of the blankets. blankets were very thin with no warmth nor was there any extra covers to add to the bed. The bathroom fittings etc were extremely which Did not give this property a good rap. We had jus come from the Outrigger Resort Consequently differences between were extremely stark

    Appreciated Shuttle pick up and drop off the next morning. Staff on Arrival was pleasant and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Staff member was very friendly and obliging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room photos were deceiving. Had a bath in the room but taps didn't work. Very basic but suitable for our short stay.

    Staff member was very friendly and obliging. Airport service and car storage was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Beds were comfy and price was good for meeting our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance easy to miss lucky we had gps. Parking was not very good. Maintenance needed paint chipping off walls.

    Beds were comfy and price was good for meeting our needs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    For the money and location one can’t complain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the money and location one can’t complain. Free airport shuttle and location were a bonus. I would call this place budget accommodation. Rooms were clean and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Cheap place to stay for families close to airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Original 1970's standard on the facilities. Staff didn't read or respond to my booking comments so we had to wait several hours on the airport before being picked up. Listing says 24 hours service.

    Close to airport. Large family room. Beds are ok. Cheap option for families near airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    3.8
    Couldn’t finish soon enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation very rundown and surroundings terrible. Kids were having meltdowns about state of accommodation. Way overpriced for what you got.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.4
    The free pickup from the airport was appreciated, although...
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heater didnt work. The kettle was faulty and an electrical hazard. Very minimal comfort in the room. The shower was at chest height. No hairdryer

    The free pickup from the airport was appreciated, although we did have to wait a long time. The staff seem overworked - the same staff member picked us up at midnight and was still working in the office the next morning. He was very helpful with car hire

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    4.6
    Necessary but probably never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise was unbelievable, the property is on a main road and close to the airport, however it is obviously not double glazed so every sound was heard all night - no reprieve at all. Unfortunately this property is a lot older than we had thought and is in need of some maintenance, a massive clean and a possible refurbishment.

    The shuttle to and from the airport at 4am was the bonus. The bed sheets were clean and the bed reasonably comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Proximity to airport with pic up/drop off service and as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit cold took long time to warm up

    Proximity to airport with pic up/drop off service and as late arrival appreciated being taken straight to room and check-in done next am. Also allowed us to stay a little later next am. Helpful info given re nearby shops so we could get food for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    As it's a 3 star property I really wasnt expecting...
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unless you are travelling overseas and need close approximation to the international airport DO NOT STAY HERE! We had to wake at 3am and as it was no one got an ounce of sleep with the constant coming and goings of other guests at all hours of the night, CONSTANTLY..... Car headlights, even though all the curtains were closed, streamed into the room lighting it as if it were day, people heading off to the airport dragging their luggage past the rooms at all hours, constant opening and closing of other motel room doors and banging inside other rooms, again due to people constantly coming and going. Then to top it all off there is a hall next to the motel that obviously caters to some kind of zumba type exercise group and music was absolutely blaring all sunday morning from about 7:30/8am for almost 2hrs and it can be heard crystal clear throughout every room. Other guests were coming out to see what was going on and no one was happy about it as no one knew when they booked that this was an occurance. Even in desperation I would not stay here again.

    As it's a 3 star property I really wasnt expecting anything fancy. Its a very basic no frills type accommodation just as expected and for my 1 night stay that was fine. Kitchen facilities are adequate and the room had plenty of space for a family with children with comfy beds. We stayed during winter and the room provided great heating options for warmth.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    2.5
    Wouldnt put my dog in there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything, This is the worst place I have ever stayed, I had my adult daughter with me. Two woman in a dodgy motel that the ranch slider could not lock, when I spoke to the man in the office he said nothing happens there. The door had obviously been wrenched of the door frame and the secure lock bolt removed. We barricaded the door. A heater was half wrenched off the wall, left half hanging, not useable, maybe a risk to children. There were no towels. No under blanket on my daughters bed. Long black hair in bed. need I say more. DONT STAY THERE UNLESS YOU ARE DESPARATE.

    nothing, it was shocking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.6
    Neglected Motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The motel is very tired and run down. The whole place has a feeling of neglect. It looks like there is only one person doing all the work therefore we had to wait 15 minutes in the carpark before we could check in because he was doing a shuttle run and it also meant having to wait 30mins at the airport when we were ready to be picked up.

    We liked how close the motel was to the airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.7
    Not too shabby on prize great on comfort
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towels in room and no one at reception to enquire. Had to dry myself with my dirty clothes as in a rush to get to a meeting. No free wifi

    Although a little outdated the facilities were good. I like the size of the TV and the guy gave us a bigger room than expected which was really good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.3
    Overall it suited our purpose quick stop before we flew out
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside had alot if rubbish all the way around the motel. Plug points one was very loose. No flannels and shampoo sachets was not enough for 5 people. The shower creaked every time someone was In there

    Beds were nice and comfortable and nice clean sheets. Room quickly heated up

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.4
    Friendly staff but dissapointing and well over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t that clean, very run down and although the sheets were clean - the outer blankets were stained. The room was also freezing cold.

    Check in late at night was easy, they even tried to find me some of their own milk for the baby

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Bad start but good ending
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The driver that picked us up from the airport was shockingly rude. We were screamed at in public to get into the car. Later when driver found out we were upset while loading the car, he even asked us to cancel our booking. Unacceptable behaviour to welcome guests that had just arrived from overseas. We had to tolerate the nonsenses because we were a big group of 9pax including 4 kids and a senior. If I was travelling alone I would have gladly cancel and pay more elsewhere. Waited more than 30 mins outside in the cold for the pickup. The motel is very dated and old. Bad water pressure. Will not stay here again.

    Free airport transfer. Convenient for an overnight stay to catch an early flight the next day. Transfer to airport was punctual.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.6
    Would never stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very tired and below average. Parts of the room were disgusting and really not suitable for paying guests. As a property owner myself this was an embarrassment to the industry.

    The staff member on duty was helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was rubbish and slag in the room. Not enough coffee and tea for a family, very loud music being played next door neighbor music stopped around 10 at night and started again around 7 in the morning. Staff picked up the keys on way out to drop some gust and told him I needed to speak with someone regarding the room, told me to wait for 10min, we waited for 15 minutes and he didn't turn up so we left

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.2
    Will Not Stay Here Again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    * We stayed for two nights in a one bedroom unit. My daughter, husband and I were in the lounge. The first night we had minimal sleep due to people coming and going and cars reversing into parks which were right outside the unit and there was no curtain covering the doors so lit up the whole room. This was happening all hours of the night. The second night we stayed, I ended up using the spare blanket to cover the door and window. * There was an empty sprite bottle under the bed, cigarette butts on the ground and in some sort of bowl outside the door. There was mould on the walls in the bathroom and fingerprints marks on the wall, not quite sure what they were smeared in :-/ * The single beds were very old and hard. * There was a note asking you to do your own dishes which is fair enough only there was no plug to do so. The kitchen also had no cooking utensils or a dish brush. * Our room was "serviced" during our stay but they took 2 of the 5 towels, the bath mat and hand towel and never replaced them or the coffee so we had to go reception and sort our own. * We booked a family unit for 5 people but there was only 3 seats to sit and have a meal so the rest had to sit on the bed. * Went to watch the Rugby and the Sky Channel was fuzzy (See Photo)

    The location and the queen bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    We found staying there made our trip easier and will definitely go there again.
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well used and a little well worn - but for what we wanted was excellent.

    Warm welcome, practical but comfortable bed, lovely hot showers and good layout. It had all we needed for a brief stay on our travels. We appreciated that as we were continuing on by Air, we were able to leave our car there and be taken to the Airport. Made our travel simple and easy and we were able to travel on refreshed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    3.8
    Unpleasant!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unkempt, dirty, uncomfortable bed woke up very sore. Dangerous, power points & lights not working, shower dirty. Toilet not working properly Threadbare and dirty carpets. Would not stay or recommend ever.

    Close to airport

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing

    We have been in alot of motels. And this one was by far the best value. The TV was decent as. We got to watch the rugby. Other motels lil screens. The kitchen cutlery and everything pots pans. Dryer facility. We absolutely loved it. Thankyou Renee

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was rather unclean. There were scuff marks on the walls and ceiling. I saw a cob web on the ceiling. The white towels had brown marks on them. The shower floor was squeaky and there was visible mould. There were no bath mats provided. The room was very cold, there were heaters provided but these were insufficient for the size of the room, also would have been nice to have some electric blankets. The front door was glass, with no curtain so this didnt allow heat to stay in. The power points were loose and fiddly and one didn't work. The noise from the carpark and road could be heard. Being close to the airport, could also hear the planes which i understand is out of the motels control. The bed and pillows were uncomfortable. The main bed had wheels, this caused it to move everytime i got in and out of the bed. Would not stay here again.

    I didnt deal with the staff much but they were friendly. The kitchen facilities were good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    3.8
    Adequate
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould in the bathroom Overall presentation of units is poor Bed was not made when I arrived at 8pm.Helped the staff make the bed.Unit was cold only had a tiny heater.Bed spread looked like it was 20years old.Bed seemed older.

    Overall ok,bed was will used not comfortable,seen better days.Bathroom was pretty grotty mould in the shower and needs major revamp.Cold tapp nearly blown apart with air bubbles in the pipes. Would only use this motel if I really had to,overall care of building is bad as though no body really cared.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.4
    Walkable distance to supermarkets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater is way too loud for using, the bottom of the wall is broken. The mattresses are too old, u can actually feel all the steel coil springs from your back, and the sounds are annoying.

    Walkable distance to supermarkets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    Gross
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot!! -the heater didn’t work -there was only one roll of toilet paper -there was no hand soap or shower soap - no plugs for the bath nor the sink so I couldn’t have a shave -my wife pulled back the bad cover to tuck or daughter into bed to find blood stained covers! -the light in the bedroom didnt work - the light above the mirror didn’t work - there was rubbish under the bed -there was old peanuts and crumbs in the bedside drawer -the top drawer is broken and nearly fell on my young daughters foot - just outside the sliding door towards the kids playground is lots and lots of old cigarette butts. We actually nearly packed up and went and stayed with friends it was that disgusting. The building is in need of a lot of work. Never expected it to be flash but expected clean!

    The guy running the place was very friendly. He was on time early in the morning to take us to the airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Am awesome place to stay with very obligingly host!
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Everything was just what Iwould give any traveller !

    Host wet out of his way to open up the guest laundry after hours for my partners use & gave excellent travel directions ! Room was comfortable cow with all ammenities that was clean & tidy! Only wished I had checked in there before hand instead of staying at Forest view which wasn’t value for money!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location for our one night stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a little dated, needs some new decor and a paint

    Staff very friendly, picked us up from the airport with no issues Location was fine for what we needed with our toddler Room was large enough for two adults, toddler and a lot of luggage

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.8
    Good spot close to the airport and shuttle free parking was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait over an hour and a half for shuttle service to pick us up on return and when we tried to phone the number on the website it was off.

    Good spot close to the airport and shuttle free parking was a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    3.8
    Happy I was only there to sleep before early flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very tired, unattractive, all furniture needs replacing looked dirty but probably just worn and even a coat of paint would not improve this place. It is only 6 minute drive from the airport, however it takes 30 minutes to be picked up, so call as soon as you get off the plane.

    The bed was comfortable. It is only 6 minutes from the airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a party in one of the rooms that went all night. We all had sinus from the motel spray. . The whole place needs a make over. I have stayed here before about 8 years ago. I can't believe how much this motel has been run down Do yourself a favour stay somewhere else.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    Adequate for purpose and reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy when arrived a nightclub nearby music til late.

    Stayed motel for travel purposes. Transport to airport and car parking . Very very basic facilities but adequate for a night. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.4
    lone manager has to run reception and pickup or deliver...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    badly needs upgrade kitchenette very poor table unusable with microwave stuck on it badly needs double insulated windows as on main road no bath or basin plugs

    lone manager has to run reception and pickup or deliver customers from/to airport needs a medal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    The young man who picked us up was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property needs upgrading. Everything is very old. You could hear the conversations next door. The grounds were not kept up.

    The young man who picked us up was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    2.9
    It was like staying in an abandoned motel from the 70's. Not nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so old and rundown. There was water damage to lots of the bathroom, the shower was in very poor condition, I couldn't bring myself to use it. The bedspread looked like it had been used for about 40 years it was ripped and matted. And the heater was so loud I had to turn the tv right up to hear it while I had the heater running. The toilet seat was loose and bedside table was sticky and had some water damage too.

    I liked that there was a airport shuttle included, even though it was running late.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.4
    Not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had someone’s dirty underwear left in our room after it had been ‘cleaned’ the bed was hard and the place felt old and dirty.

    The location being close to the airport and the free shuttle

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.2
    Stay elsewhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very tired facility, with broken or badly worn fittings . If it wasn't for the staff member on duty I wouldn't have given it ANY rating

    Staff member friendly & helpful, picked up promptly from Airport, knocked on door the next morning exactly as arranged

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above

    The bed was very comfortable.The staff were friendly & helpful The curtesy collection from the airport very good. The rooms were clean. The building itself is run down & shabby, & needs modernising.No plug in the bath...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location - close to the airport and had a free shuttle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location - close to the airport and had a free shuttle. Room large but a little dated however we only stayed one night and it was up to the task. Clean sheets, clean towels and hot water. About a 3k walk back to the shopping mall so limited food options unless you go for a delivery or like a good walk. Would stay again if needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.3
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a noisy party in some units and manager couldn't get them to quieten down till noise control come after 3.00 AM. NOT GOOD. Unit are old and bathroom not clean

    Airport pick up and drop off was first class

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.4
    We paid $20 more to stay at the Heritage tower in the city in a luxurious room.
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very dirty. There was no SKY even though it was advertised with sky and there was a sky brochure in the room. We were not given any wifi information.

    The bathroom was very dirty. The room was quite run down and needs a facelift.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    The staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out dated, kitchen is too tight, when we moved a bed around in the room in order to see tv to watch the royal wedding IT WAS DISGUSTING need to clean under beds. The glass table was shocking too. The parking was too tight.

    The staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    The parking area is too small but everything else is good.
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The thought the using of the washing machine in the motel is free to the guest but no we have to pay it. Thank you

    The parking area is too small but everything else is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    Clean units properly and make sure Electrical equipment are able to work properly.
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the power points didn't work which made it difficult to boil the jug. One of the cups was dirty too. The toilet seat was insecure. No face cloths - so how is a person to wash themselves? You need to advise on your website.

    The bed was comfortable The water in the hand-basin was hot enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    Alright
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a key to a room but when we tried to go in, we were advised by the cleaner that it was not ready. We waited for about 10-15mins till we could go inside. The room was very old looking. The kitchenette was small and again old fashioned. The bathroom was extremely old fashioned - but not in a cool retro way, it was just not the most welcoming room.

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    4.2
    I was accused of not leaving the key in the room when I left...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was accused of not leaving the key in the room when I left and threatened with $100 cost. Now I KNOW I left it on the table just inside the room. I have a long held habit of the motel key only being on the table so I always know where it is.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Good price for a stay/Park/fly option - $120 for a room, 7 nights parking and a shuttle to and from
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was pretty uncomfortable and the early morning driver was grumpy

    The location is really close to the airport and the shuttle service is nice and convenient. The reception guy also recommended a great restaurant for us to try Provided a guest laundry that was coin operated and very generous on drying time

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    4.2
    The shuttle service was very good.
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was over the bath and generally the bathroom needed upgrading.

    The bed was reasonably comfortable and the bedroom/living area was a good size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    4.2
    Or what it showed when choosing it was not what we received andvwss not a good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unit was not cleaned to a high standard. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and was obviously old. The unit need maintenance I.e. toilet seat loose, and the unit needs to be spruced up. The cost was way over the top for what we got.

    The location was close to the airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.7
    The unit did its purpose,cheap and close to airport,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old warn out bathroom,needs a paint and tidy up,carpet worn and wrinkled.Think the place needs a remake,Toilet squeezed when you sat on it

    Comfy Bed, Good location,Helpful staff,Parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    Worth Place to Stay, Definately will come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kitchen area is too small for us as we like to cook and prepare our own food.

    Great Staff which was helpful and pick up us from Airport when our Car Rental Pick Up is delayed due to closing hour on night time. The staff there was quick to come within 15 mins to airport and send us to the motel. The location of the motel is near to the Airport, and this price is reasonable for staying.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    Wont be using this accommodation again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had cobwebs in the corners, The bathroom and shower were really dirty. The general atmosphere of the facility was one of being rundown.

    Airport transfers were included and reliable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Decor is dated but it serves its purpose.
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt mouldy, the phone didn’t work and couldn’t even get through to reception.

    The outdoor area is really nice and great for children. It’s close and convenient to your main necessities and also motorways so it’s easy to access.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.3
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was getting very tired and scruffy. The bathroom was very stained. In need of renovation.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The airport drop off and pick up and free parking were fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    Served a purpose for a one night stay to be at the airport early would need to be alot cleaner too
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not very clean no water pressure in shower, Leaky teapot Rooms could do with really good clean found a tude of toothpaste under bed

    Being close to airport good value for money for two rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.4
    Old accommodation that isn’t as seen on the photos
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With the condition of the room facilities, accommodation was overpriced. The heater did not work, no bathroom mat, and dirty bedsheets made my one-night stay before going back to my country was not that enjoyable.

    Close enough to the airport, the room was quite spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff barely understands english, u need to repeat it to them, what exactly u want from them, rest not a problem.

    The property really close to airport, decently big space for family, decently priced, clean, overall would recommend ppl if u need a hotel near airport one of good choices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    3.8
    The room was a disappointment
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room seemed old, the curtains were dirty, the room smells old, the kitchen facilities looks like no one has used or cleaned them in years!!!

    That the motel was in a convenient location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    We had a short overnight stay with 3adults and 2 16yo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good kitchenware for a family.Value for money in Auckland. My sisters family of 5 stayed and Goldstar were able to place us next to each other. Very obliging. Close to Mt Smart as we were there for the Warriors game. Free shuttle for my sisters family who left at 5am the following morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    It's an ok place if you need to be close to the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The oldness of the facility but to be expected.

    This motel was very dated and old, the furniture was second hand as was the kitchen BUT it was all reasonably good just old and dilapidated and the gal that cleaned the room was fantastic as she made something old a livable place, it's proximity to the airport and price make it a no-brainier.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    convenient comfortable place to stay with courtesy vehicle to and from airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to really complain about. Would have been nice to have been a bit cheaper as I was really only there to sleep.

    Handy to airport,Courtesy vehicle, Polite courteous and helpfull staff. Could have had more milk in fridge for coffees etc instead of a few little capsules.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    4.6
    Really, glad it was only one night.
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was ugly, no microwave, one towel had someone else's long hair in it, spiders in the bath tub, used soap, traffic was kinda noisy even after the doors n windows were shut. Woke up to ants on the kitchen floor. No electric blanket coz it was cold but had that heater in the wall and it was noisy as. No extra blankets so lucky we had ours. A little 2 seater sofa would've been alright. And the single bed under the TV!!! What is that???

    We were downstairs so was good the little table n chairs to sit out there. Free shuttle to the airport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.8
    Quick stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls and surfaces were not wiped obvious smudge marks. Even lipstick on light switch. Oven didnt work. Pillows very flat. Our free shuttle slept in lucky we allowed time for any deviations. Not enough towels only one towel for 3 people. No coffee, old tea, not much supplied no soap

    Friendly polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.8
    Sheets clean.
    • Group
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very dated. Said 24 hr reception but this wasn’t the full story as I arrived late and the door was locked and the person in charge didn’t have a key to let me in. Checked out early and no one was in reception.

    Sheets clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    3.3
    Yuck!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the first things that indicated the type of place we were staying was the 22 ants trailing across the flooring. I was glad I had some spray (to combat the New Zealand sand flies)...it came in handy to use on the ants. The bathroom was disgusting. None of us showered there as the seal around the tub was partially black with grime or mold. The pictures when booking the room looked nice...but beware, its deceiving. After arriving we were hungry but the only food we could find was a 2.2 mile (round trip) walk. It was 8:30 and we didn't have a car so we walked. It's an industrial area and there's nothing around. I can't believe I paid $175 for one night.....especially after paying at least $30 less for most of the nights on our vacation and those were wonderful places with great amenities.

    The owner/shuttle driver came to pick us up and drop us off from the airport exactly when he said he would.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.3
    Free transfers to and from airport, friendly manager,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated and some maintenance was required as well as some intense cleaning in the bathroom

    Free transfers to and from airport, friendly manager, adequate facilities for a nights sleep before flight at a reasonable cost

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    4.6
    Cleaner threw out child’s teddy bear by mistake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaner threw out child’s teddy bear by mistake. Denied with little assistance from staff. We ended up searching skip bin finding it ourselves. Poor property in run down tired conditions

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.0
    Rooms comfortable and clean.
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airport shuttle that was booked by Reception did not show up and no communication provided. Had to take an Uber to the airport. Reception not 24 hours. Window in room did not shut securely.

    Rooms comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Airport Gold Star Motel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: