Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco 4.5 stars

6 Point Road, Monaco, Stoke, 7011 Nelson, New Zealand

#18 of 53 hotels in Nelson

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 883 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Little England
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ambience. Had open fires but not lit. No where to have a drink on comfy lounges. Restaurant said dinner only. Too hot during night due to heating being left on. Couldn't turn off.

    Amazing view amazing place. So authentic.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.3
    Family friendly space
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet seat in one bathroom was loose. Washing machine instructions confusing. Cobwebs in bedroom.

    Great amount of space and warm. Kitchen well equipped and user friendly. Cottage was clean. Quiet area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    great place, will be back
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist forgot to pass on our booking for dinner - but Tommy made us welcome anyway.

    Tommy in the restaurant was such a superb host - the food was absolutely excellent, top class, would definitely go there to eat again. The view and the service was great, enjoyed MTK restaurant very much

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Great overnight stay, would love to spend more time there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable but very open plan. Seemed to echo a lot. No spare blanket or pillows in room but were provided on request.

    The property is great. Very much a resort style. Our room was upstairs overlooking the courtyard. We needed extra blankets which were delivered on request. So close to one of the local bays was remarkable. Fish and chip shop up the road was fabulous, too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Dishwasher in the room, separate bathroom for each room too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a large older style room so heating wasn't fast. The traffic is only one way throughout the property so the entry/exit was a bit more effort. That's all really.

    Dishwasher in the room, separate bathroom for each room too. Gas fire was pleasant and the heating for each room was great. The views were amazing in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Accommodation was clean and well presented, the staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room temperature was uncomfortably warm at night due to under floor heating.

    The location was great, the staff were welcoming and friendly, accommodation was clean and well presented and the premises had fabulous views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel to stay in Nelson!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we only stayed there 2 nights

    Very clean, parking in front of the house, British atmosphere, en-suite bathrooms for both bed rooms. We really enjoyed our stay there. Very close to the center. Should we come back to Nelson, we’ll definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Nice stay but second time around I was disappointed in the pricing for the same accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floors were tile throughout. including the stairs and in the bedrooms which is not preschooler friendly. The staff were advised we had a 4 year old with us when we booked so the carpeted option would have been preferable. The heating was obviously not working so we had a range of heaters placed throughout which couldn't be used overnight as very noisy and the gas fireplace was not able to be used as not working. No microwave. The pricing was more than when we stayed only 2 months earlier in the same two bedroom cottage and there was no tv in the master bedroom as had been in the cottage on our previous stay. Our previous room was much nicer as had carpets, working heaters and nearly $50 cheaper. Still no response from Booking.com with the price guarantee either and I've sent a couple of emails and completed the necessary form online. Disappointing.

    Rooms are well sized, very comfortable beds and pillows, clean and tidy. It's a good quiet location and very quaint style. Staff very friendly on check in and check out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    2.9
    Better places in town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price it's not worth it. It looks very nice from the photos but the rooms are nothing special. Quite old furnishings in the room too. Reception wasn't very friendly, they told us we booked for 3 people when we booked two and she felt the need to correct us and make sure we knew we made a mistake and booked 3. We checked the confirmation upon arriving at our room and saw that we booked 2. We also booked twin beds and got a double bed and a roll out bed.I expected a lot more for the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    Peaceful, easy and plenty of space with lots to do inside and outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication and clarification on particulars between booking.com and hotel varied

    Nice amount of space and furnishings. Comfortable. Set in a cute village medieval township type setting with lots of facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cutlery was not clean, room was so cold we had to turn the elements on took 3 hours to heat the room, got room service cost $55 for one lamb shank and mashed potato that had been reheated in the microwave was disgusting the king bed was a single beds put together would not recommend this place

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Loved the old English themed setting, our cottage was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved the old English themed setting, our cottage was comfortable and well equipped. Had a washing machine and dishwasher in our room which was great and both bedroom rooms had their own ensuite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Super cosy and great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We missed Tommy's shift at the restaurant (he was the star of our last stay) but the other staff did well.

    Very easy if you have a car - parking right outside the door. Our room was upstairs from reception, so really warm and cosy, with a sea view. You can watch the planes land at the nearby airport (noise no issue though) Big bathroom with a spa bath and separate shower. Everything very clean. The restaurant is really convenient. Thanks to AccorPlus we had free drinks and a good dinner for half price! Recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Will be Back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was too nice so I over ate :)

    Each staff member I dealt with from the wonderful ladies on reception to the awesome kitchen / restaurant staff were simply fantastic. They were all friendly and helpful. For me I tend to get at least 1 staff member that shouldn't be dealing with the public when staying at motels but not this place. Bloody brilliant!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    The bathroom and hallways had underfloor heating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you were staying for a number of days the room may be a little small but for our one night stay it was good. Lacked shelf space in bathroom.

    The bathroom and hallways had underfloor heating. Everything worked. Good bedside lighting. Kitchenette in hallway just outside our room doorway was very convenient for making coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    The staff were excellent and arranged to send my kindle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather

    The staff were excellent and arranged to send my kindle that I had left behind to the next destination we were travelling to. Thank you front of house girl.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Washing machine in room didnt spin therefore clothes were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Washing machine in room didnt spin therefore clothes were very wet. Cost alot in dryer coupons to get dry. No oven just microwave. Aside from this the place was lovely and very comfortable. Beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Had a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location showed it a different property and when we want we found out it was the restaurant they were advertising.

    The staff was very good. Location was also good. Quite far from the city but quite and good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    lovely - great room and very charming warm place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the restaurant wasn't what I was looking for. Was after more of a pub feeling - but this isn't a criticism

    charm of the decor and beautiful location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Overall, great stay. We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My pillow was very flat.

    The fireplace was lovely, a very special touch. It warmed the room very quickly. Great with a glass of wine. Massage was brilliant, should've had a longer one.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Relaxing at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked to whole of the experience really liked the amount of parking.And the idea of a whole village was what impressed us the most.It was close to the event we attended at the Saxton oval. We were surprised at how peaceful it was given it's proximity to both the airport and the motorway. Will recommend to others and use again. Many thanks Terry and Ann

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    A step back in time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV remote was broken and our fridge froze the milk - we complained and were surprised with the response of 'oh you're in 'that' room' like they knew about the problems (not the response we expected). We moved room as we were staying 4 nights however we had to ask to move.

    Lots of room for a family, easy parking and the double shower heads were amazing. The restaurant was awesome with really friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Highly recommended staying here, clean, lovely and warm, comfy bed and totally professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I didn’t stay longer!

    Professional receptionist, explained things clearly. Bed was amazingly comfortable. Room was very clean, ambient and warm. Beautiful location. Would definitely choose this place when I next visit Nelson!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Mixed review
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Has an issue with the tv and fridge not working however we moved room to sort this out. Sounds weird but the rooms were really hot.

    Very handy location although a bit noisy being close to the airport. The restaurant is really good and Tommy is a star!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Home comforts away from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed here as part of our honeymoon and we were blown away. The room was amazing - very cosy, comfortable, spacious and very clean. Lots of home comforts were at hand and made for a homely stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    an English garden paradise where you will be welcomed and feel at home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is such a charming place! The buildings are brick with beautiful gardens and patios surrounding them- like an English town. The rooms were so tastefully decorated and the bath was a spa. We felt so pampered. Their restaurant served delicious food for breakfast and dinners. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Awesome stay with quality accommodation and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in my mind

    Room upgraded to a better two-floor suite after our complaint of the noise from a party. The service was awesome and the staff was helpful. Location was not a problem for us since we had our own car there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.4
    This is below the standard of a Mercure / Sofitel chain from the ólder staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Restaurant seemed unhappy to have many people eating there. I am not sure if there is an issue with the Head waiter (male) or with the Kitchen staff. On both occasions we ate there there was a young woman on both occasions who made the experience bearable with their bright nature. Reception said they would do things which they didn't until I got a trainee who was delightful, obliging and successful in answering our request.

    The second stay the room was much better and çosy. We had a late flight on our first stay so we seemed to be put into a pokier cottage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    The setting was beautiful and the rooms were very period...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Issue with charging for the room. They were very helpful but it's a bit annoying to have to sort it out after the fact.

    The setting was beautiful and the rooms were very period style.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.3
    The photo on the website gives the wrong impression the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photo on the website gives the wrong impression the photo looks like it is by the water where in fact there is a road in between and there is just a small lagoon by the front

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Overalll good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos on the internet don’t do your property justice, I almost didn’t book it, when I arrived I was amazed how cool it was. Your restaurant needs to be more like the pub across the road

    Lovely character

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    Very well presented accommodation, lovely view from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit too far out of the town centre for my liking however this is not a big deal if you have a car

    Very well presented accommodation, lovely view from the hotel room and great facilities/service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Meeting up with Long Lost friends from New York City. Ideal rendezvous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only suitable for self-travellers or groups as you need transportation to get into Nelson and to tour the region

    This hotel is a special place for partners or groups of friends who just want to spend time together.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    A beautiful property, something quite different.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little more crockery/cutlery.

    The old english look of the outside and inside is beautiful. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom is luxurious. The gardens are beautiful. Location is next to the sea and Th Honest Lawyer Pub.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Great room, but would not dine there due to the high cost of food and beverages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is expensive. The food was ok, but fairly highly priced for what it was. Two adult mains and two kids mains cost $112. Then on top of that they charged us $18 for two children’s ice creams, and $25 for two cokes and a kids apple juice.

    It is quiet and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Very convenient spot for early flights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool is not up to standard and too cold to swim. Free shuttle bus only operating weekdays at office hours

    Close to Nelson airport Great cycling tracks to city and Richmond

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Superb value, English brick buildings, stunning landscape...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb value, English brick buildings, stunning landscape and excellent facilities for what the accommodation can offer, will definitely come back for our next stay in Nelson

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.9
    Overall we had a lovely time away. The pool made the weekend go to the next level of relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower when at full power nearly floods the bathroom and touches the carpet of the room. We had to use towels the first day and the second turned the power right down which defeated the purpose of an incredible shower. Also the staff left the bathroom window open after servicing. We left it close, a secure room is best.

    The pool. And outside area near reception. The style of the buildings and interior was lovely as well. Staff at reception were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    This hotel is on the cycle track of the Great Taste Cycle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedrooms upstairs and no toilet downstairs

    This hotel is on the cycle track of the Great Taste Cycle and easy to find. Great for a family or friends and the grounds are beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful accommodation in cosy character-ful cottages in a beautiful village style setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not happy about the free wifi not working in our room while we were there, and I think carpet in the bedroom area would feel nicer than the tiles.

    The cottage style of the units was quaint and they were very comfortable and cosy inside like a home away from home. I loved the old-fashioned look with the dark beamed ceilings and the cosy fire in the living area, and the spa bath was wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice design of hotel - like England in NZ.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was overheated at 25C when the outside temperature was 14C, and there is no individual room thermostat. Reception said they would have to wait for a technician to come in the next morning to adjust it. Had to leave the windows open the next evening to keep the temperature down...closed on going to bed due to traffic noise. No fridge and restaurant won't accept freezer packs. Have to walk outside in the rain to the restaurant to get ice. Quite far from any other restaurants and cafes.

    Good sized room, nicely decorated, very nice bathroom, comfortable bed. Nice reception atmosphere and pretty landscape design/ layout.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    Gas fire in room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cooking smells - apartment smelt really bad as closed up - had to open all windows! Left laptop charger behind - but no one has replied to my emails!

    Gas fire in room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked 2 bedroom cottage, the most exciting thing was finding out that there was toilet/bathroom in each of the room. The whole experience was amazing, a very well maintained place. Staffs were very friendly too. Nice garden to walk around, sit and enjoy. The cottage had everything you need from dishwasher, washing machine, cutleries, plates, cups, glass, cooking pots etc. You name it they got it!! Very close to the airport. We would definitely come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.3
    A little too quirky for us unfortunately.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really found it difficult staying here with two young children due to the layout and furnishings. Hard tiled floors and stairs with few mats or soft furnishings. Particularly concerning was the stair access near the children's bedroom (upstairs). It also felt quite dated and an unusual retirement village feel to it. You will need a car to access the city centre.

    Generous sized rooms, good quality linen and a comfortable bed. Lovely foyer /sitting areas near the reception for enjoying the sunset.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    The feel of Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't put my finger on anything.

    The feel of the place just has a lovely, atmosphere of Europe. The complex was quite full but in saying that was still very quite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    The room was way bigger than I expected and the spa bath was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was way bigger than I expected and the spa bath was just what I needed. Again, it was so easy to deal with the staff, they were very accommodating to our requests. I was able to leave a bag while we did the Heaphy track and it was ready for me again when I checked in after the tramp. The spa was so nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    A really nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had our daughter and her partner with us, and we both had rooms with ensuites. I was contacted after booking to determine who would be with us and if two double rooms were required. The kids very much appreciated this, thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Like Arnie, we'll be back. Fourth time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Cottage (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. I did notice a little bit of maintenance required to the building (some missing window sill tiles and a bit of re-pointing required to some bricks), but on our drive through the complex after our stay I noted quite a few tradesmen doing their stuff, so I'm guessing the owners are looking after their superb asset.

    Just a great little place. Extremely well appointed. Atmosphere is great. Location fantastic if you go and look around... a walk around the Monaco peninsular, a bike ride into Nelson or Richmond. The Honest Lawyer tavern across the road. Happy staff. Here's one place where you actually feel as though you're having a great holiday!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    A comfortable stay. Lovely dinner. Some of the staff need to improve their job skills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our first point of contact was the receptionist who quite frankly was very grumpy. She didn't smile, greet us enthusiastically and made us feel as if we shouldn't be there. She did get us rooms as close to each other as she could. I then asked about booking a table at the hotel restaurant for the night and I was told by her that there was only a table for two left. This proved incorrect as I went to the restaurant to buy a bottle of wine and found I could get a booking for 4 at 8.00pm - perfect for us. The restaurant was not full when we went there and the outside was not even used. The food at the restaurant was delicious. The waiter was very nice but seemed like he had never been trained - made the BIG mistake of clearing plates before we had finished eating, then stood next to the table to wait for us to finish. It was a bit of a comedy with the staff there but we enjoyed our meal. One last thing no towels at the swimming pool! Only tiny gym towels. Not good.

    I have stayed here before and it is a lovely place to stay. It is close to the airport, which is why we chose it, but also the rooms are spacious and comfortable. We had a studio room which was perfect for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    Generally OK, but lack of sleep due to planes didn't help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Much nearer to airport than I realised, with a lot of late & early flights, could hear clearly the engines waiting to take off and when taking off. So disturbed nights sleep

    Nice comfortable room, good restaurant with very helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Totally awesome experience :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were awesome, early check in was available, the food at the restaurant was delicious and I got a free up grade ! I will definately be back and highly recommend The Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco to everyone

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Pleasantly surprised by the look and feel of the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall look of the resort is very interesting with a ‘quaint’ feel. Easy to get to Nelson town centre by car, but enough removed in Monaco to be quiet. Separate sitting room was great, WiFi was strong, and kitchenette was handy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.3
    Good, then not good......
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As night fell, the lack of air-con on a sticky night forced me to have the windows open and that meant a fair bit of road noise, plus other guests enjoying a later night than me. The bed springs literally 'boinged' every time I turned over, which was often in those first few sleepless hours. Style over substance for me, I'm afraid.

    I loved the location and the quirky room, and the outlook was spectacular, as was the room service meal I ordered, totally delicious!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful and relaxing setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The layout of the accommodation creating a village atmoshere with outdoor seating.Comfortable and spacious ,in a quiet setting. Restaurant on site was very good too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shame the pool wasn't working.

    Another great stay, have been twice before and would stay again. It is just nice to stay somewhere with a bit of character. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.1
    The extra bed put up in room was not very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra bed put up in room was not very comfortable. For a child it would be fine but not good for an adult. Breakfast needs more sauce with pancakes it was quite dry

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Loved it and will be back.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the glasses was dirty and there was mould under the headrest in the spa bath

    Beautiful room and spa bath! Very nice décor and had a brilliant night's sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy wedding on, room was not ready for me at 9pm at night! Staff were ok, smelly tidal estuary out front. Definitely not returning and it is nothing like an English hotel

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Such a beautiful location , it feels like you are living in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a beautiful location , it feels like you are living in a small English town due to the gorgeous design. The cottage we stayed in was clean and quiet , and had all the facilities to make our stay a comfortable one.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    It was good for one night. A short distance from the centre of Nelson.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridors were dark. No fridge in the small room. No breakfasts. The restaurant seemed to serve only small plates of fast food nothing for anyone requiring a special diet..

    Comfortable bed. Good shower.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Little village Big Thumbs Up
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly everything was absolutely great there was nothing that anyone could do to change my opinion on how wonderful my stay was here

    It was like a little village it was amazingly comfortable i loved it it was very homely and was equipped with everything we needed even a washing machine i was extreamly happy with everything here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.7
    Bathroom was nice and the pump handwash and cream etc were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot and no fan or A/C in room. Also was no coffee in our room other than decaf. Staff could be a bit more welcoming.

    Bathroom was nice and the pump handwash and cream etc were nicer than the usual packet ones you usually get in hotels

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable, lovely room!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t realise it was so close to the airport, so the sounds of the planes coming in/taking off was a bit off putting.. I couldn’t keep my windows open because of that.

    Amazing looking place, very old English style. Beautiful views from my window.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    5.8
    Ok. The enjoyment of staying was ruined by back to back weddings that were fare too loud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel held weddings 2 nights running. The noise was unacceptable and the hotel did not seem to care about the impact this would have on guests. It went on to 11.30 but we go to bed about 10pm.

    The facilities were nice and the place was pretty. Nice little gym, but the treadmill stopped working for me twice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    loud unrestful time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    asked for a quiet room & was put in a room next to were a 2 day loud outdoor tent wedding was held & I was not informed of this before hand so I could change my reservation

    kitchen

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Excellent location for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The was nothing not to like.

    Excellent location for us. Our unit was well laid out and very comfortable. We made good use of the pool and the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.5
    Was a memorable experience... My family thoroughly enjoyed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking not in front of room, but it was in the complex ... WiFi was good .. but it can always be improved.

    Staff were awesome, the place was Botiquish .. it was really nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    I would definately recommend to family & friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the noisy guest at 3.30am - but the "loud" conversation was short lived.

    Loved the interiors, the gardens and landscape, the personnel were very friendly and accommodating, the beauty shop (massage) was a bonus surprise.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    Maybe quaint, possibly cute, but never again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long wait at reception. Had to carry heavy bags upstairs b/c no lift and no offer of assistance. Dim lighting hard to see room numbers in hallway. Dim lighting in the room . Small pokey room. Positivity would say quaint decor but perhaps better described as old fashioned. Bathroom door stuck so to avoid sharing bathroom happening with partner had to slam door to shut it.

    Comfortable bed and awesome shower. Nice body lotion. Reasonably quiet but for the airport near by

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable place to stay if need to be close to airport; good restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms are 'tudor' style and have small windows so the rooms are dark and need the lights on even in the daytime. The small round table area is not the best for working if travelling on business & lighting is poor.

    The Monaco is close to the airport and has a good restaurant on premise & pub across the road; it is clean, comfortable and the food at the restaurant was good. Room size was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.1
    Great place to stay but not so comfortable in the heat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of air conditioning; noisy fan not adequate to cool the room without the window open. Unfortunately mosquitos too abundant to keep the window open. Lack of luggage rack and odd set up with empty fridge in luggage/ wardrobe area.

    setting , decor and view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    Helpful staff, beautiful surrounds and an easy place to relax on holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dishwasher in our room wasn't working, however the housekeeping staff did a fantastic job of cleaning up after us so we didn't really miss it. It was exceptionally hot while we were there, and although there were fans in the bedrooms, air conditioning would have made our sleeps more restful.

    The grounds and landscaping was beautiful. It was joyful to be surrounded by such prettiness. The pool was fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Nice location, great facilities and layout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom House with Terrace (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not have aircon which is normally not a problem, but hot night and leaving windows open bought mosquitoes in.....

    Beds really nice and each room had its own ensuite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    We really enjoyed our stay. It was really relaxing. Room had every thing we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fan or air conditioning in the room would have been great

    Quiet and relaxing. Restaurant was amazing. Room was tidied every day when we got back. Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    4.2
    never again.
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    the dirty, dusty grubby carpets and room interior. it would do the establishment good if the cleaners actually bothered dusting the furniture, curtains and under beds etc.

    the day we checked out

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: