Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gulf Harbour Lodge 4 stars

164 Harbour Village Drive, Gulf Harbour, 0930 Whangaparaoa, New Zealand

#9 of 9 hotels in Whangaparaoa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 188 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    3.8
    Dissapointed for money spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were dated and old. We stayed there 16 yrs ago and nothing had been updated since then. Bed head was dirty. Bath/shower was mouldy, paint peeling off roof with no extraction fan.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Loved the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower head. Lack of TV channels and no wifi

    Good location easy stroll to Cafe's. There was no wifi no skye very limited TV channels. Bed was comfortable A sliding shower head would be a great improvement. Rooms were clean and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Would stay there again for its location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property could do with an upgrade - carpets very worn and decor very outdated

    The views and location were great - good restaurants and bar close by

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.4
    Not much sleep thanks to noisy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got little sleep thanks to noisy fan in bathroom with broken switch : that spoiled every thing else. No staff available to talk to when we checked out.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Enjoyed overnight stay and would recommend this lodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No one at desk when leaving

    We had been upgraded to a suite, overlooking the water. The suite had a kitchen with microwave, fridge, tea & coffee facilities. Large king bed in bedroom, bathroom, lounge, dining area and balcony. The suite was clean and well equipped, extra pillows and blankets, fan and aircon. This facility is a bit tired but it is functional and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.3
    Clean but dated d
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in room No mugs in kitchen No tissues provided With no air-conditioning the tariff was a bit high

    Nice view from balcony Great water pressure in shower

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    2.9
    Will never return to Gulf Harbour Lodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody at Reception on arrival. Kitchenette poorly stocked. Carpet old and dirty and curtain and bedspread torn. No Sky TV. So called Premier Room (for two) cramped due to extra single bed which made it difficult to reach balcony. Bathroom spartan and, like the whole unit, in need of some serious care and attention.

    Cannot think of a single thing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the accommodation was good and very clean, it is looking a little tired (mid-eighties) and could probably do with a bit of a makeover in the near future.

    The beds were comfortable and adequate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.3
    Very relaxed and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furnishings tired and a bit shabby. Bathroom could do with refurbishing, in fact the whole place could.

    Very big room. Very comfy bed. Great location. Nice view from balcony. Unexpected bonus of kitchen facility. Not mentioned in booking site.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    5.4
    Was lovely location unfortunately for price of the hotel it certainly didn’t meet the standards one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, musky. Rather dirty. No airconditioning. Lumpy pillows.

    Hotel is old and very musky. No aircon in room. Unfortunately there was no one to meet us at reception. We had to ring a bell and wait. Then they couldn’t find our key. Upon getting to room we found one of the towels with dust and dirt over it. Bed was uncomfortable and pillows lumpy and thin.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    2.9
    Would never stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the most disgusting property I have ever stayed in. The room was filthy. Not even vacuumed on arrival, someone had a shave and left hair all over the mirror, even the cutlery draw had hair in it, there was even poo on the toilet seat when we arrived along with so much mould and dust. Think they had made the bed and that was it. Worst ever stay anywhere! Even the stairs going up to the room had broken plastic making it a tripping hazard. This place should not be advertised the way it is. So misleading.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.1
    Such huge potential in the property - owners are obviously not interested in upgrading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very dated and tired. Curtains coming off railing. Bed/pillows hard and uncomfortable. Service was great, although took days to get a reply from voicemails/emails. desk is not manned and customers rely on call-backs.

    Proximity to our event. Being close to the water. Bar/restaurant downstairs. Great Four Square store adjacent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    5.8
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not welcoming. Nobody ever at reception. On arrival had to call a number and wait for a lady to come - in tee shirt, shorts and bare feet. No service in room, a nice lady did come in the afternoon asking if we needed towels. Although the suite was clean, the passage, stairs and common areas were not clean.

    Suite was spacious with nice balcony overlooking the harbour. Very outdated furniture but comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Staff were helpful- we arrived in Auckland late and they...
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need new pillows, the ones provided were flat and hard. Room was less modern than I expected for price, but still affordable.

    Staff were helpful- we arrived in Auckland late and they were able to stay on site to check us in late. Really appreciate the extra effort. Great shower.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    5.8
    Staff were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dated. Sheets smelled and I had to ask for them to be changed. I was also told that the bed coverlet is not washed/drycleaned every room change (eww!). No mini bar which would have been handy as I got in later than expected and no shops/restaurants were open. There were only chairs on the balcony, no table. At NZ$180 this was not good value for money.

    Staff were helpful. Lovely view of the water.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    6.7
    well we were pretty tired and grumpy !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Surprised there no toiletries There is a bar opposite and it was pretty noisy with kareoke. Fortunately it did close down at 12 (maybe reception should have told us when checking in -- we had been allocated a different room which would not have been so noisy so not sure why we ended up in the firing line!!). some guys partied on until 2am and kept us awake--that of course can happen anywhere.

    the room was spacious with a comfy bed. Enjoyed breakfast on the balcony and its a lovely view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    5.4
    Comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sign at the roadside, so really hard to find, and we stumbled on it by accident, while looking for it in the general area.

    Comfy bed. Breakfast was not provided.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.3
    Lovely place with beautiful beaches and this was a comfortable stay with a peaceful environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the quality of staff in the kitchen can be improved, i.e I shouldn’t be calling the staff to provide me with the morning milk for my coffee ( it’s not convenient) Overall was a good trip as we stayed here for a night.

    Was a beautiful view with friendly staff. Easy access to nearby shops

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.8
    Very relaxing and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There could of been better information on facilities and transport around the area. Things like are there taxis available or Uber available and the wait times.

    The helpful staff and professional service that was given.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed overnight while visiting cousins it was Boxing Day nothing was open no cafes no food we managed to get a coffe over the road at a bakery and some bakery food their needs to be some coffee at least on offer

    The property is very comfortable with beautiful views

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room poor, needs redecorating and some air conditioning. Lots of loud music from the pub downstairs on friday night, not good when we had an early start on saturday morning!

    Lovely, friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.3
    We had a nice stay and were grateful for having the extra bed in one room, thank you for doing this
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the late night noise from the bar, and the pillows were a little hard and flat and there were not enough of them.

    the location was awesome and the cafes etc below the motel were very convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    3.8
    Never ever again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of smoke in the lift and hallways. A musty smell in the bedrooms. Although advertised as having sky tv and having instructions on how to use it in their "welcome" manual they in fact do not have sky. We like a firm bed but this one was ridiculous.

    Not much- in fact nothing. The receptionist tried her best but even she cannot make a silk purse out of a sour's ear.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    It was an interesting place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right above a restaurant and the smell was coming straight into our room. Lucky it wasn’t unpleasant smells but could have gone without. And the place was a bit of a ghost town, hardly anybody around!

    Room was tidy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.3
    What should have been a nice night away - was not - nice hotel - slack service and NO HOT WATER
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water was not hot enough to shower or bath - only ran luke warm which is not ideal for winter months -Asked them to look into it but it never got any hotter so don't know what was done if anything. Did not like that there was never any one on reception desk - you had to phone them and we got the impression that this was a total inconvenience to them. Was going to speak to them on check out regarding everything - but again - nobody there - so we just packed up and left - they had our money already and don't think they really cared

    Furnishings were lovely and view overlooking part of the Marina and clock tower lovely in the morning

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.3
    The room felt very grand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were renovations happening in the hotel in the hallways. we felt as if that should have been reflected in the price

    The room felt very grand. The bed was super comfy and the views were great. I would highly recommend the Indian Restaurant, Le Taoas. Fantastic food and service. Overall a fantastic night away from the kids. Will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    3.8
    Restaurant nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not cleaned very well. When showering the water didn't drain away. Only one coffee mug. Tea not topped up on second day. Caretaker using blower in morning when people still asleep. Worse still blowing rubbish into tidal lagoon.

    Restaurant nearby. Location ok

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    5.0
    Destination fell far short of expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desk not staffed when we arrived and on other trips through the lobby. Staff was curt and responded poorly when we asked for a second key (we didn't get one). Room hadn't been upgraded since the complex was built. The bathroom door didn't latch and therefore couldn't be locked. The ground floor was meant to be vibrant with small shops, but there were no shops and the storefronts were filled with boxes of supplies - very unappealing. The Italian restaurant was over priced, the bar had a few customers but was unmanned when I looked around. Fortunately the Indian restaurant was friendly with excellent food at a reasonable price. It looks like the developers made their money and moved on. The hotel/restaurant complex is now in the hands of accountants rather than hotel operators who want to make it a premier destination resort.

    Beautiful location, clean, nice view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    5.0
    Room wasn't worth $180.00 big stains on the carpets and cutlery was dirty, lack of toiletries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we where given was right above the bar so it was very noisy ,big stains on the carpet, cutlery was dirty,lack of soaps,shampoo,

    Nice area ,safe to walk around in the evening

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    3.3
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom door would not close, cutlery only included 1 fork (although 2 of everything else), there was no milk provided although coffee and tea were sufficient, room smelt of the Indian restaurant downstairs, lighting in the main room was very poor with no overhead lighting and only 2 shaded bedside lamps, ventilation fan in bathroom could not be turned off and ran all night, wi-fi kept dropping out, pillows on bed were very flat, general upkeep was tired with flaking paint in places, accommodation definitely could not be considered "luxury" and was not "furnished and equipped to a high standard" (as claimed on their website). Very basic overall and not good value for money (even at discounted rate).

    Bed was big, view from the balcony over the water was pleasant, shower and bath functioned, microwave, toaster and kettle all worked.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.1
    Great Little Getaway Just Outside of Auckland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath was blocked, when the shower was running the bathtub would fill with water which was a nuisance. The duvet on the bed was somewhat ripped but this is a minor gripe. We had a bit of rain during our stay and water leaked onto the carpet from the balcony wall. This didn't really affect our experience but does hint at a lack of basic maintenance. We thought there was a wall mounted heater but it only blew cold air, not ideal when we had sudden temperature drops and wanted to warm the room but maybe it was just a fan...

    We stayed in Room 7. The room was basic, but clean. The decor made it feel like we had stepped back into the 70s, but we found this kind of quirky and pleasant. The bed was super comfortable, which is always nice. Our view was magical, the surrounding buildings with their almost Mediterranean feel coupled with the Clock Tower and rotunda sitting on the water made us feel that we might have been in another country. It was very peaceful and relaxing, just what we were hoping for. Good shower pressure, there was plenty of milk in the fridge for our coffee and when we went out for the day we returned to a made bed and shampoo/bodywash/soap replenished etc. We were happy with our stay and will likely return.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.9
    Great place to get away for the nite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really!

    This place was great for us being apublicholiday also the bars and clubs were closed nice and quiet if they were open you would need to be young to handle the noise through the night.Easter Friday.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    5.4
    beautiful place, could do with a little TLC
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt as we had booked as a tour company the staff where not up to speed with dealing with our clients on arrival and it simply wasn't a proffessional image presented which was disappionting considering all the communication we had sent through. There was a high degree of interest in being paid yet although we had asked for an invoice to be sent prior so we could pay online which wasn't sent. In fairness the woman that served us was certainly trying to make us happy and I felt she was unaware the others guests were infact our guests and it was our rep on the line.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.5
    Relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception - when we came there, nobody was there.I had to call to receptionist and wait her. For me it was unfriendly.

    Very nice place ,close to the harbour.There is big supermarket no fare.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    5.8
    Couldn't recommend,rundown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    VERY dated room as mentioned by most reviewers.Level of cleanliness questionable:carpet,chairs and ironing board cover very stained.Black hair on the blanket,not sure how the cleaner missed that , Shower fitting hopeless,would not stay up on slide.The recommended restaurant Carpe Diem was average at best.

    Well sited for playing at the difficult Gulf Harbour cours.Our receptionist on arrival was friendly but nobody around in the evenings and no receptionist in sight when we went to leave.Large room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    My Son's Wedding.
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    JUST THE POSITION OF THE TOLIET ROLL HOLDER - NOT VERU USER FRIENLY FOR OLDER PEOPLE WITH STIFF JOINTS TO ACCESS WHILST SAT ON THE TOILET

    The outlook The location and the general friendliness and the cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    6.3
    romantic little stay but who wants to clean when they are away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the evening i find black hair all over the bath, on the floor walls, I'm blonde so before having a bath needed to clean it which was a dissapointment. Then to realise we had the toiletries there but only for 1 person. The door to toilet didn't close, and the door on the deck was jammed so could not open both doors to see the view nicely from the bed. Was just these little things that really made us dissapointed about our stay.

    We arrive to find I lost all identification :( but they were so cruisey about us and within 5 mins was catching the lift to find our room. Find our room jump on the bed AMAZINGLY COMFY turn tv on music chanel, partner and I dance on deck cute view so beautiful day or night low or high tide. Restaurants right there, 4 square, parking at entrance of lodge close to some great activities amazing pressure on shower! Very relaxed even seen big snapper in the harbour and fish jumpin, hubby wanted to fish of the deck don't worry he didn't, nice little walks also.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    4.2
    Below average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting at the reception for a long time to get checked in. Given a room that had no hot water. Also water was brown from dirt but it was also the weekend of the bad storm. So there were problems already they were trying to sort out. No on site manager and inexperience staff were left to deal with disgrunted customers. Very disapointing

    Upgraded to another room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    7.5
    Very comfortable place to stay, but could use a refurbish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are a bit worn and dated for the price-tag. Restaurants are not convenient, except for one on-site which was average.

    Nice setting. Very friendly check-in. Room was quite nice and large. Bathroom was great and bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.5
    awesome location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was directly over the bar downstairs so very loud at night. They should state this when you book online.

    Bed was comfy. Location was fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    6.7
    not great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    for the price I would have expected sky TV airconditioning, there was no reception or room service, we had room above the bar and that kept me awake til about 2 am when it closed.

    the room was very comfy, nice balcony and good bed.close to shop and bars

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    6.3
    Good location but tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather run down - needs work doing to it big time... apart from that it was ok

    Rather run down - needs work doing to it big time... apart from that it was ok

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    8.8
    Nice harbor view, quiet night/good sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too busy in the area -- hoped to take tour out to bird reserve island but no space available. Lots of driving to this hotel unless you have a reason for going to that area.

    Pretty location, restaurants nearby, harbor view pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    7.5
    Excellent apart from the above mentioned concern -
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was somewhat concerned that the Reception desk was unstaffed after 5 pm with only a dial number for a "hall porter" who never answered. As it happened, I sorted the problem myself but just wonder what would have happened in an emergency.

    Perfect location and a delightful restaurant - Carpe Diem

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    3.3
    Don't stay there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While all of the rooms have a marina view, what they don't tell you is that there are 2 bars in the courtyard that the room balconies open on to, and there are outdoor speakers broadcasting very loud music. Plus the noise from the bar patrons is very loud. The noise doesn't stop until midnight or 1am, so very difficult to sleep. The hotel needs paint, new carpet and new linens on the bed. The pillows were hard and flat, the bedspread had a tear in it. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. The refrigerator was dirty, I had to clean it myself as no one was answering the front desk phone. The room had either a very musty smell or it smelled like a dirty dog. We bought air freshener at the store and kept the balcony door open as often as we could. I would have left after the first night, but this was the only hotel in this small town. I tried calling the front desk several times, no answer. They clearly need more staff. We asked for ice upon our arrival, they had to go next door to the bar to get it, OK. The next day when we asked for ice a different girl told us they don't have any. We informed her to get it from the bar next door, which she did. The third day my son went to the bar himself as no one was answering the front desk. The 3.3 score that this review calculates is inaccurate! I wouldn't even give it a 1!

    Location was good as we were visiting our son who's boat was moored in the harbour

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    5.4
    Poor service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having paid for a premium suit we found on arrival the room was not that clean, there were no fresh towels and had to call reception to ask why. The second day our room was not serviced, the rubbish was not removed the bed had not been made , shower gels and shampoo had not been replenish. This was our third stay here and by far the worst. Very dissapointed with the service we received.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Our room in the suite wasn't cleaned daily but unsure if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Water View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room in the suite wasn't cleaned daily but unsure if that is not part of daily service or wasn't included - not a big deal though, was still happy overall

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    5.8
    Lovely location...... but ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff uninformed and disinterested. Pillows extremely flat. No soap to wash our hands. No wine glasses. 1 coat hanger.

    Beautiful position. Close to restaurants nd grocery store. Quiet. Easy parking.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    8.3
    clean place, friendly locals, surrounded by beautiful beaches, comfortable bed, lots to see and do
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi was only 200mb at a time,and the place was initially hard to find had to stop and ask locals for directions

    place was spotless bed was like a cloud locals were friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money but dated property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mini bar and sky tv not available as per booking info. Difficulty checking in....took staff over 10mins to come to reception when paged. Could have used another pillow but thats personal preference so not a criticism. Property is dated.

    Good value for money

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.0
    Great place to stay would go sgain
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked two rooms but on arrival were told only one was booked! It ended up that two had been booked but the whole arrival was spoilt.

    The bed was very comfortable the room spacious with nice view

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    3.3
    Get me out of here.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want to be kept awake until after 1am each night due to the music / karaoke from the the bar then this is the place for you. All the rooms here face into the court yard where the bar is located so all rooms will be noisy!!!!! Then you will have to listen to guests singing in the hall ways no staff to be found to stop them. The lodges decor needs to be brought up to date its very tired. This lodge and surrounding area looks better from the outside than inside.

    The room was a good size.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    4.6
    Pleasant but would love to see the place lifted with more modern decor and a
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room though pretty clean, the decor and facilities a little dated, worn out and tired looking. The staff Were polite but hard to tell who was in charge as there was no apparent uniform for Lodge staff. Room smelt awful, like old vegetable oil cooking smell and airing room with all doors open for a few hours did not seem to lessen the smell. The ceiling above the microwave looked yellowed and the air con was barely coping and vents need a clean. The shower hose was leaking but it did not affect the water pressure too much. No chair proper chair for the writing desk and not much info on the hotel and surrounding g business ammenities I the two folders in differ drawers. Only given one key between us.

    Bed comfy but mattress was old as far as sleep innovations that prevent movement disturbance. Our room was spacious and views interesting and pleasant. Staff polite and helpful when asked. We loved the cafe recommended to us. Plenty of parking and good standard of eateries nearby.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.1
    Nice view, comfy bed, lovely helpful lady on reception, quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower over bath sprayed water over floor and bathroom door, for price should have had coffee plunger and ground coffee, hole in curtain.

    Nice view, comfy bed, lovely helpful lady on reception, quiet

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    5.4
    Easy walk to eatery for breakfast, residents helped us check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking cocked up, no room ready, no staff on duty, noisey pub patrons outside, dated furniture & fitings.

    Easy walk to eatery for breakfast, residents helped us check in, as no staff present

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    7.5
    Happy Customer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Water View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were really flat but there were a few so could couple together

    Loved the victorian style of the suite and how it overlooked the water it made you feel you were in another country, shops very close walking distance

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    5.0
    Clean but not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had several reasons for not being satisfied with my experience 1. The keys were missing for my room and they had to scramble for checkin. This was probably the least of my concerns though it just showed poor planning 2. Staff was not on time for checkout. It also started at 9am. So we had to wait for 9am then I had to call the after hours person just to check out 3. The room was above/beside a bar. Or room was shaking literally with the music. Drunk people yelling and the music kept us up well past 2am. Now this isn't the places fault per se but those rooms should have better soundproofing!

    The place is was large and clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.1
    comfy bed and beautiful surroundings, nice cafe downstairs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    windows were pretty dirty and although the room was clean it had a funny smell.

    comfy bed and beautiful surroundings, nice cafe downstairs and a few other shops closeby.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Spacious room and a lovely view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise from the restaurant downstairs in the evening

    Spacious room and a lovely view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.7
    A nice stay in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The basic style / cleanliness of the room.

    The location is beautiful but the room could have been cleaner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    5.4
    Fair but patrons fighting from local bar tainted the stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    Staff were extremely accommodating, friendly and helpful :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor a little dated, but still comfortable :-)

    Staff were extremely accommodating, friendly and helpful :-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable, nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff not overly friendly

    Good size comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Roomy suite, Quiet, comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    I was in a suite - it was quiet and extremely comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in a suite - it was quiet and extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.0
    the room stank when we opened the door
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room stank when we opened the door no air conditioning or fan - we had to sleep with the doors open it needs a reburbishment

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    5.8
    Nice area and cosy atmosphere in the courtyard by the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smelt of stagnant water and there were hairs on cistern and toilet seat.

    Staff dealt with complaint about room cleanliness promptly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    6.7
    The room was fine, very spacious - air con would have been a...
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was fine, very spacious - air con would have been a bonus, hotel is fine if not a little dated

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    3.8
    Very poor experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean. Could not open doors for fresh air as smokers smoke entering room. Hair on sheets under blanket. Dirty bath.

    The location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.0
    The place was dirty could do with a proper clean hair...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was dirty could do with a proper clean hair everywhere toilet stunk of urine. I personally would not stay here again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.4
    satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi cannot log in. The room has plastic burning smell due to the heater plastic was burnt out before we check in.

    The view was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything we required was available. Tidy inside, but have to say, the location and views were brilliant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved all of it

    Love the room, although couldn’t lock it. The amenities needs a decent knife to cut bread and fruit, and needs a second mug.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi !!

    friendly lady staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.1
    Veiw
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Water View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed

    Veiw

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: