Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Harbour City Motor Inn 3 stars

92-96 Webb Street, 6011 Wellington, New Zealand

#49 of 54 hotels in Wellington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 625 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location and free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated decor. Rickety elevator and lump sinking bed with no duvet. An adult couldn't use the Toilet with the door closed. Toilet cubicle was too shallow for a door to open into

    Great location and free parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.6
    Needs an upgrade and is overpriced for the quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults) - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very tired and needs a major upgrade. It was not particually clean and the bathroom in our room had a rotten hole in the wall that had a piece of board over it. The beds were comfortable and the room was warm after we put the heater on, however the room was a bit dismal, overall the hotel is over priced for the standard presented.

    Good location and free parking under the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    4.6
    Out dated in need of repair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were out dated, there was broken plugs and wall sockets, the heating in one room didn't work and the other wasn't enough to warm the room

    Close to the city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.6
    I wouldn’t return or recommend to anyone - sorry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in had a very bad old smell, like damp/mould, it didn’t have much light, the room was just horrible! The lady at reception seemed friendly, she gave us two bars which I thought was a nice gesture, perhaps she should have looked at the expiry date as they were nearly a month out of date so we left these behind. My partner and I stayed as we were going to the rugby, I definitely wouldn’t pay $155 to stay here, I’ve stayed at much better hostels which are less than half the price. This place needs a massive make-over.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.8
    OK not value for money we paid,.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whole complex very outdated, long overdue for a good paint,refurbishment. heating didn't work, but had a portable heater on the floor, lightbulbs missing, toilet did not flush properly first time had to flush twice. 3 out of 4 electric blankets did not work, they did replace these. microwave had a whole in the door.

    Location was great for where we were spending our weekend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    good location, staff helpful, but cold and lack of heating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating very inadequate. Wall Heaters didn’t work. One plug in heater only got two rooms. One of the electric blankets did not work. Feeling cold made the stay quite uncomfortable

    Staff very nice. Ability to leave luggage

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    6.7
    It was nice easy overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the room had three heating options, the panel and fin heaters take a bit of time to warm the temperature so that option can be improved

    We only stayed there for one night but we really liked the location and facilities. Parking facility was really good considering it was city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    3.3
    Glad we got our money back to stay somewhere much nicer and more comforting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn’t smell nice, it wasn’t comfortable, there was a light hanging down from the ceiling, didn’t look anything like the photos. Very disappointed and had to demand money back.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Would stay there again. Close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults) - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to wash dishes in the bathroom. Need bigger cups for coffee.a toaster that doesn't burn the toast.

    Clean and comfortable bed. Good heater. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Served purpose for money spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As stated above

    The location was great and it was value for money. Howeverfacilities were average. Sleeping electric blanket didn't work on one side. The toilet flushing button press is too tight to press. My elderly mother and wife struggled to flush loo. I dare say children would have as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    Spoiled our Mother’s Day weekend away, it’s budget but not good budget and far far too noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was unbelievably noisy and we couldn’t sleep. The lighting was poor, there was a hair dryer but the only mirror was in the bathroom and no suitable power point there. The toaster hadn’t been cleaned out for quite some time. The place is very tired and needs a good renovation. We elected to leave after one night, when we checked out the manager told us to contact Booking.com who would arrange a refund for the night we did it spend there (we left before 10am-standard checkout time), I would appreciate your response in this regard.

    The location and easy parjing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Good for the price. Free parking, good location, but just don't expect 4 star new colourful decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have stayed at Harbour City twice before and have always found it to be OK. It is certainly better than the tiny budget rooms at CQ Comfort Hotel on Cuba (and they charge for parking at CQ Comfort). While there is nothing bad about Harbour City, the decor and general layout of the motel is 'average' and somewhat drab (not colourful). The Chinese family running this motel are very nice and helpful, and the price is fair especially when considering the free parking - so if you want a better, flashier looking place then you will have to pay another $40++ more a night.

    Free parking, friendly reception staff, location close to Cuba Street, decent size room (for the price), table and chairs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    Suitable if you want to be in the centre of Wellington.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Motel is quite old. Our room was good, but whole place needs a freshen up. Request a room away from the roadside, as there is a lot of traffic noise.

    Close to & within walking distance to city centre, waterfront and war memorial. Free on-site parking. Comfortable bed. Clean. Helpful staff. Asked for a room away from the main road, which was quieter. Elevator from car park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location, great sleep. Friendly staff. Motel looks tired inside and out. Ok value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults) - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are signs that serious money will need to be spent soon on the bathroom as the tiling is starting to fail. Patched hole in wall of shower, that has been patched for a while and not looking water tight. Toilet seat split. Bathroom let this room down. Kitchen area ok. Like the bathroom is tired.

    Beds great. Location wonderful. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location and price, and the fact it has covered...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are not a confident driver, then the parking lot may be daunting as it is a bit tight.

    Great location and price, and the fact it has covered parking in the middle of the city. These were the attributes we were looking for and that is what was provided. As a simple base for breaking up a long drive and ferry crossing it fitted the bill nicely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television was fuzzy and had only 2 channels we watched. Not enough kitchen utensils when cooking.

    Bed was comfortable. Unit was clean and close to Cuba St/city and bus routes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    After business was completed Harbour City was an ideal place to relax and put our feet up.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults) - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were there overnight on business from Australia. The room was well appointed, comfortable and clean. The location suited our purpose. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    Ok stay. But wouldn't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old. Lighting in the rooms is very poor. The water pipes banged an dripped every time you used the restroom.

    Handy location to Cuba Street where all the food places were. Within walking distance to waterfront. Wouldn't want to be any further away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.3
    Budget accomm at a not so budget price..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    language barrier very prevalent, lady on reception couldn't understand me very well when I asked questions.. bed was very uncomfortable and woke up both mornings sore and didn't sleep very well..unit poorly equipped re basics , ie only 1 teaspoon, no shower soap.. also asked reception twice to replace bulb in the bathroom as I am old school re shaving blades and this was not done.. very average experience and will not be staying there again. I travel to Wellington every 4 weeks for 2 nights so they have lost my business..

    access and location very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.4
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults) - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated decor. Ancient single shower control that was difficult to work and limited delayed hot water. Tv could only be watched in bed due to the angle of the screen

    Location. Close to work and entertainment

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location close to city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is showing its age, but it's clean, the staff are friendly and allowed us to park at the motel before check-in and after check-out for several hours each time, which meant we could go explore the city centre which is a 10 minute walk away down trendy Cuba street. This makes the motel a great location. There is lots of parking although the narrow driveway would not suit large camper vans.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Very adequate facilities. Would go back there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was facing the road and street noise was a bit intrusive.

    Met our needs and was very adequate. Proximity to freeway excellent. Comfortable walk to CBD.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.3
    We had a comfortable stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The overall standard of the Motor Inn was a bit run done and tired. Rooms, hallways, even the lift could do with refurbishing. Pictures on the website make it look more modern than what it is in reality. Our toilet smelled strongly of stale urine despite it looking clean.

    The bed was comfortable and clean with quality linen. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and had everything we needed. Location was handy to Cuba Street and downtown Wellington and yet was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.0
    Close to town
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was run down. Windows didn't seal properly tried to block with towels. Had a noisy night with the wind which was stucking the door - ended up putting the chain on as didn't want it to open up in the middle of the night. Car parking was extremely tight for a normal sized car.

    Close to town

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.0
    We were quite busy so we coped.
    • Couple
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything in the room was tired. It needs to be redecorated. It needs a new shower. The towel I was given was synthetic and had little drying ability. I had to ask to have the towels changed and then I was not given a clean tea towel. A lot of opening and shutting doors from where cars are parked to get to lift. It just didnt feel fresh and clean. I think for Wellington City the standard is not good enough.

    The view from the window so I didnt feel shut in

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.4
    Underwhelmed by the quality of the room & fittings but good location for our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired room, tv only worked on one fuzzy channel, very noisy, no aircon, had a bus load of guests arrive after midnight.

    Location is great. Good sized room for a family.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    For our one night stop over to be near the ferry port, the location was fine for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building very tired - looked pretty run-down from the outside.

    Staff on reception extremely friendly. The kitchen was well kitted out. New carpet was being laid on other pins so perhaps a re-vamp has started.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Bright comfortable relaxing and great pillows - what more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bright comfortable relaxing and great pillows - what more could you ask !! Great location and the chance to wake up to views of the Bay . Fabulous friendly staff who made us feel very very welcome . Will be recommending to friends for sure.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    3.3
    Would not recommend the hotel to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of difficulty trying to arrange an early check in time. On arrival the reception sounded like he was busy with a personal call. The head board of the bed had hair stuck in it. The TV channels were unwatchable due to the the bad quality of the picture. There was no spoons to make a coffee. The building itself was run down and in poor condition.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.3
    It filled a need, but I would not recommend.
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults) - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The motel is dated. The decor is very 70's and needs an update. The entrance from the car park is into a service area. At $179 for the night, for what it was it was expensive.

    The reception man was very helpful. The room was clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.3
    Well located but a little dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults) - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor lighting (except main bedroom). Property looking tired (carpet stains, tatty floor covering in bathroom, taps that wouldn't turn off without much force. Our room near the road and quite noisy on a hot night when the windows had to be open (no aircon)

    Quite good location. 10 minutes walk to the restaurants and bars in and around Cuba St. Good to have on-site parking. Fairly roomy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    Convenient, comfortable with the basics.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults) - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disabled shower needs a seat. Front door hard to open and get through with wheelchair. Basement access could be tidied up.

    Comfortable beds and pillows. Great location near cafes of Cuba St, walk to waterfront. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.5
    if you want a convenient budget stay close to the city then this could be it for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night

    very dated decor, toilet holder kept falling apart, very cramped room, fluff in corners so not thoroughly cleaned, but chose the budget price room so wasn't surprised that it wasn't 5 star.

    liked the price, location, parking, and pillows

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    5.4
    3 bedrooms apartment only has 1 toilet and 1 bathroom which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Misleading and wrong information about rooms while booking. And physical appearance is completely different.

    3 bedrooms apartment only has 1 toilet and 1 bathroom which is completely ridiculous. Booking.com has completely wrong & miguiding information on website.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    5.4
    Average ,Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Misleading and wrong information about rooms while booking. And physical appearance is completely different.

    3 bedrooms apartment only has 1 toilet and 1 bathroom which is completely ridiculous. Booking.com has completely wrong & miguiding information on website.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Bed's were really comfortable & while there was no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults) - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed's were really comfortable & while there was no air-conditioning or fans the windows could be left open - great location for where we wanted

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.0
    poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overpriced for the amenities which are tired and dated. There was no reception after 9:00 p.m. which was very inconvenient and given the price, there should be. I was told to hide the key under the flowerpot as there was no one at reception after nine. Shabby interiors and yard and the front door says it all: chipped flaked paint and dirty. The owners or managers just show their laziness or lack of awareness. This is a run down property and embarrassing as a wellington amenity.

    location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    4.2
    Would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room smelt pretty bad, made the whole place feel pretty unclean. The bathroom was laid out weird and was not very clean feeling. Extremely noisy outside, which was to be expected considering it was the weekend. The parking facilities did not seem secure and saw multiple people hanging out in that area. The price really did not match what we got.

    Person on the desk was friendly. Good location in regards to getting to the Interislander ferry terminal which really was the purpose of the stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    5.8
    Mediocre and very bad nights sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults) - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very uncomfortable as small electric blanket on king sized bed meant connections were right under where you had to sleep. Early morning alarm call at 3.18 not asked for or appreciated

    Proximity to town and ferry terminal

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    6.7
    mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults) - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We struggled to communicate with a staff member on our first evening over a minor matter like getting a working can opener then later with the same girl about when the front door was locked at night. She told us the opposite to notices in the room. Our room was hot and noisy

    Facilities were average.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.7
    A handy location, comfortable beds and amazing pillows! Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room looked run down upon entering ie. furniture was dated and worn - the headboard and bedside tables. Shabby wooden window sill which was decaying. The toilet roof had a hole exposing the lighting and cables above. Lacked basic things eg. a can opener, suitable pots for cooking - only a stained frying pan was available. No tissues for your face, the bowls were too small for cereals. No soap for showering, only a pump hand soap available on the basin. The shower had an empty soap dispenser. The bottom cupboards were dirty and dusty, the cultery try was dusty. Only two towels upon arrival when we booked for three pax.

    Friendly staff upon reception, the little bowl of chocolates were nice at reception. We stayed in room 26 and ended up staying for another night and they gave us a discounted rate for the second night. The beds were nice and comfortable, with fresh clean linen.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.8
    You pay for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults) - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a room with two single beds for my sister and I, but they gave as a room with a double. I went back to reception and they tried to charge me extra to put us in a room with a double and single bed.

    Free parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.3
    Motel with very basic facilities but it is old and stale, it really in need of some refurbishments
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staleness of the place, my wife complained of the bad smell and lack of lighting, plumbing work worked basically but they are so outdated.

    The place is not hard to find, packing is quite adequate. The facilities in the motel particularly the bathroom, bedroom, carpet, kitchenette are just so old, it needs a total upgrade badly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    3.3
    Leaving this motel was good
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This builing was not the one on line. Entrance was narrow for my truck.reception i had to call out for service no bell, lady gave room key then left us to find way to room. The room was small for 3 people. Glad to leave this toilet bowl of a motel.

    Leaving this motel was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.3
    Very friendly, helpful staff member. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities could do with a descent clean. Mould in the bathroom. A lick of paint would improve appearance and carpets cleaned or replaced.

    The location was great. Walking distance into CBD. Nice and handy to the ferry.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.0
    Sheets were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the staff members were on the phone in the middle of the night and she was screeching into her phone. She was standing outside our window. She was so loud she woke our whole family up, including our children. She was very considerate.

    Sheets were clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Good location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 bathroom for an apartment that would fit 6+ guests, no air conditioning

    Spacious apartment with balcony and private access to rooftop area, great kitchen facilities, a few minutes walk to Cuba St and within walking distance of restaurants and cafes

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    3.8
    Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty, had flea bites on myself and my family. Carpets looks like they never been cleaned. Room smells, heater in room was broken . It wasn’t value for money and would not go back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    4.2
    good location, crappy hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place is old, run down. Cigarette butts and ripped mats and broken tiles all along the balcony. Another guest got the wrong room and was able to access ours. Take the photos and realise its 75% worse.

    the location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.7
    well located but crowded place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no air conditioning

    The hotel is very well located but not very good maintein , our rooms were so hot so we needed to ask for a change but the staff were nice,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Good , might go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sun filter curtains are needed as pedestrians walking by the hotel could see us. Getting dressed with the curtains closed is not ideal.

    The location and the adjoining rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    3.8
    Dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very run down, dirty, broken kitchen equipment (gas cooker), lack of kitchen equipment. Cleaners came but only emptied the bin. It was not vacuumed. Mould everywhere. Shower door did not close. Difficult to close the front door, latch didn't work properly. Windows weren't secure. It was shocking. Particularly with a young family. Beds were old and lumpy and uncomfortable bit most of all it was the dirt that shocked us the most.

    Free WiFi and location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.8
    They advertised that they had a restaurant but they...
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    They advertised that they had a restaurant but they didn't and I had to go out to find dinner which had not been part of the plan originally and an inconvenience. Apart from this - it was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    4.2
    Basic accommodation at a basic price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place really shows its age due to lack of basic maintenance or any sign of an upgrade, a shame really, because a through clean, a coat of paint and new lighting, plumbing fittings and air conditioning would make all the difference.

    A reasonably affordable accomodation in a fairly accessible location to Wellington.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    5.8
    Wouldn't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price, compared to everywhere else we stayed on our Nth Island road trip, this place certainly didn't deliver. The room was incredibly small so we found ourselves staying out as long as possible to avoid being there. Having to shuffle past the toilet in order to close the door is never a good thing! The showerhead was pointed towards the corner of the shower and wasn't able to be moved. Advertised that there were laundry facilities, but then found that there was a pay washing machine (that swallowed our money then wouldn't start) but no drier available for guests. We ended up hanging our clothes over the ironing board in the room to dry them. The carpark area was really untidy, with old rusty appliances and junk piled next to the building. Same for the back entrance, boxes in the hallway by the stairs, broken furniture etc piled in a room by the laundry. Overall, the place is old, dated and in dire need of a refurb. Unfortunately as it is, I wouldn't recommend this accommodation to anyone.

    This property is a very short walk to Cuba St which is handy to go for a meal. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    3.3
    Sleep in your car over this place!!
    • Group
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was disgusting.rubbish in car park (old carpet, washing machine, fridge, bed base) Room - stunk (smoke). Blankets filthy with smoke burns pillow slips dirty. Had to sleep without blankets or pillows. Head board absolutely dirty covered in hair. Face cloths stained, one towel for two people. Roof in shower falling down. Would never stay again! Would prefer to sleep in my car over this place

    Close to the hospital. Free WiFi

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    The motel has seen better days, but is still functional and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some renovation would be nice. Dripping water taps are really a waste of water.

    The motel has seen better days, but is still functional and very well located in the city center. Separate toilet, good shower. Kitchen very basic, so we did not use it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.2
    Everything worked and I had privacy, just what I needed.
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults) - Disability Access
    • Stayed 6 nights

    situated in Cuba Street area and I loved the quirky shops and coffee bars. The accommodation was comfortable and private. I could have done with a larger coffee mug!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.3
    A quiet location with excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionists were excellent. Food was ready when we arrived, they ordered our evening meal for us and also organised our breakfast. Along with getting a taxi for us, they went the 'extra mile'. Well done. The bed was comfortable and a good sized room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    4.6
    Convenient for last minute booking, nowhere near worth what was paid though.
    • Couple
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated property.Massive cobwebs on ceiling, hair along headboard. Shower designed with very short people in mind.

    Location and parking available a bonus being in town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    3.3
    I would not stay in this motor inn again; it was dirty, the facilities poor, & far from the CBD.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor was old and not clean, the toilet paper single ply, the towels so thin they hardly soaked up water, and the worst was discovering long black hairs stuck to the shower cubical wall.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    4.2
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom lighting very dim; kitchen tap constantly dripping; small glass dining table chipped in 4 places. Room needed refurbishing.

    Bed linen and towels were clean and changed each day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    All in all an enjoyable stay in a hotel which was reasonably priced and close to town (an easy walk)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The arm chair in my room was a little hard, the lighting was not very bright which was a problem in the bathroom as that was where the only mirror was.

    There was a lovely young lady on reception who was very accommodating and nice to talk to. The room was a little tired but spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    2.5
    Very dissapointing for the 1 night & price i paid
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night

    Totally disappointing, very untidy this starts right from the front door to the bathroom. Bed was the most uncomfortable. Ceiling had horrible water stains & headboard was quiet stained , limited supply of shower gel.

    close to most places cuba street etc

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    4.2
    Handy location. Poor facilities, desperately need update! Untidy grounds, concern for vehicle safety
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor lighting in unit impeding enjoyment, we couldn't even enjoy a quiet read at night!!. Toilet not anchored to floor properly and was rather pongy Noisy neighbours fighting late at night

    Closeness to town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable, good location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults) - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet didn't flush properly. Room was close to a busy road, double glazing would have helped.

    Plenty of room in the bathroom, and bedroom, comfy bed, good facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.1
    ADEQUATE
    • Couple
    • Twin Kitchen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV RECEPTION POOR AND FUZZY

    EASY ACCESS OFF AND ON TO MOTORWAY ACCESS INTO BUILDING THROUGH CAR PARK ADEQUATE PARKING SPACE FRIENDLY STAFF PRIVATE QUIET

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.5
    Great place to stay, would do so again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults) - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately there was road works outside at 6.30am on Saturday. Nothing to do with accommodation though!

    The beds were comfortable, shower had great pressure, GREAT value for money, close to city, easy walking, great car parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant enough for one or two nights, but perhaps not the best for those longer trips.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only heating was an econo heater which is unfortunately not very efficient at heating room. The bathroom could do with some attention as mirror is rusty and whole room a bit grim - still serves its purpose find however!

    Had a decent view of street below and some baby pigeons on the ledge! Beds were clean and comfortable with an electric blanket and tea and coffee were provided. Good sized TV. Staff were very friendly and keen to help. Spare blankets, ironing board, hair dryer and more were all available for use.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    Convenience and onsite parking outweighed the facilities. Suitable for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Kitchen Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit tight for space ( they'd squeezed a 3rd bed into a double room) and the cooking facilities were compact - there was 1 pan, and the hob had no extraction. It overlooked the road and was a bit noisy - but for the price we didn't have great expectations.

    The accommodation fulfilled its requirements to be near the city with parking onsite, and had a laundry. It was basic, and the cooking facilities were also basic. But the bed was comfortable, and the shower was great, clean linen and towels. Just near the top of Cuba Street we never moved the car for the 3 days we were there. We were able to walk everywhere, including Massey Uni - where we went for a look round. A useful location if you were visiting your child at the Uni. A 20-30 minute easy walk to Te Papa, and the Cable Car.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Value for money, would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to ask for cake of soap for hand basin, lock on bathroom door didn't work.

    Comfortable beds, staff friendly & helpful, mentioned light bulb needed replacing - done immediately

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    3.8
    Will never recommend nor stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drunk vomiting neighbours. No back up from staff and and I'm sorry but don't care attitude. So expensive for a run down unclean apartment. Very disappointed.

    The space of our unit was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.9
    A great stay and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Kitchen Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's a main road close by so you have to put up with some noise. So if you are light sleeper then bring ear plugs.

    Good location and not too far to walk to Wellington CBD. Friendly staff with bonus parking on site. Cuba Street is very close for a variety of food and eating places. The price is affordable and value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.1
    Free car park!
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was noisy from outside, also we could hear when people were talking in the next room.

    Car parking on the site was very convenient. And I like the location, it was quite handy walking to cafes and shops.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    4.5
    The previous people had been cooking curry and the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The previous people had been cooking curry and the room was left with a really strong smell so strong we couldn’t sit a relax in the room . We were only there to sleep. Carpet bad walls have had bad water damage .

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: