Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Heritage Christchurch 4.5 stars

28-30 Cathedral Square, 8011 Christchurch, New Zealand

#24 of 169 hotels in Christchurch

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 521 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    I loved the quality of the facilities, the wonderful staff...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was an extra $20/ night

    I loved the quality of the facilities, the wonderful staff who could not do enough for us and the really comfortable beds. It really was luxurious

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Everything is good !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only give 2G WiFi per day .........is not enough

    Everything is good ! The room is big , the restaurant is very good , the staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice but a bit exy for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is nice, but not as nice as expected. If I had paid full price I would have been annoyed. We stayed in suite 45, it needs a bit of work in the bathroom. The receptionist was lovely but it seemed like she was the only one working. V

    Great location though, awesome menu and very comfy bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Great location,friendly staff, one of the most comfortable...
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location,friendly staff, one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in, clean and well appointed d. I would definitely stay here again - a real treat!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    Well located hotel, perfect for those who prefer hotels with character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was far too soft for my personal taste

    The staff at reception and at the OGB Bar were fantastic. While the menu at OGB was limited, the food was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    Was disappointed to have run out of hot water in our room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was disappointed to have run out of hot water in our room, after a bath was taken so had to go use thew shower in the gym and then the shower in the gym ran cold as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    love love love the Heritage and everything about it!
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only issue we had was a child running around directly above us at 7.30am on sunday morning and it was extremely loud!

    everything was excellent from the gorgeous room, comfy bed and the staff were wonderful and very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.3
    Could have been grand
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all was a bit unloved with some of the public areas feeling grimy. The staff and some of the service received was very ordinary. Bath towel - big hole where fabric had worn through, extractor fan and some lights (bulbs) not working, mould in the shower. Room service was great but serviettes would have been helpful. None found in the kitchen. Difficulty in checking out as front desk could not walk over to cafe (less than 5 metres) to get breakfast chit so bill could be paid! Could have left without paying for either mini bar or breakfast.

    the location and the grand old building. Room well appointed and set out. Not fussed on the kitchen and laundry facilities but there if needed. The only staff member to impress was the lovely lady from Manchester who was on the breakfast service in the cafe.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Impeccable Service in the city Center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was an old government building. So it was quite old. Need to renovate and modernise equipment.

    Service of the hotel. Fast check in. Valet service. They bring your car in and out of the parking garage. They booked our restaurants. Shopping and supermarket were walkable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    We will be back.....Heritage you were Fab!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows didnt have double glazing and there was only a wall heater so down stairs was cold but the bedrooms were warm

    Fabulous hotel full of character loved OHB and the parlour fantastic food and cocktails and the staff were lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Best stay yet in Christchurch 🌟
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Free up grade to a luxurious 3 bedroom 3 bathroom apartment. Daily servicing. Excellent quality tea and coffee provided. Top quality washing machine and dryer in 3rd bathroom. Exceptionally comfortable beds and pillows.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    It was a short but pleasant stay. The staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a gracious, elegant old building, right on cathedral square. We had a spacious apartment with a sitting room and kitchen and a mezzanine bedroom and bathroom. Old architectural features had been skilfully retained and we were pleased to know that the building had been reinforced to withstand earthquakes. We had a very good breakfast--excellent eggs benedict.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our visit very much - New Zealanders are very friendly and the South Island is beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would be nice if the parking was included in price.

    Room was beautiful - we loved the original character! Loved the pub and outdoor seating although the weather didn't cooperate! Front desk staff was extremely helpful and professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Truely repeatable loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like had a awesome time.

    Loved the heritage, A true Canterbury experience from yesteryear! Absolutely loved the grandeur, staff and facilities, would definitely stay here again. My bed was a lil soft but hay that’s personal preference!! Really worth a stay would recommend to everybody. xxx

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Loved my stay and definitely would stay at The Heritage next time I visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The big lamp posts outside lit up the room a little too much for my liking but fortunately I carry some eye covers so ended up ok.

    The staff were very friendly and informative on my arrival. The bed was very comfortable and the room was lovely and clean and well presented.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    wonderful old world charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the hotel is rather sad, surrounded by high rise, and semi demolished buildings, from such a grand room it is disappointing to look out the window at a car park, in the suite, the TV/s were a little small, and the rooms are not easy to heat due to their size. and i would have expected slippers to go with the robes, also bubble bath with the toiletries would be nice. however i am being picky...

    very well priced. Excellent value for money. Wonderful big suite, excellent bed, with a choice of first rate pillows. well stocked mini bar, very good, and quick room service, fast valet parking, cheerful helpful staff Excellent hotel, and very quiet for such a central location no street noise at all. The building is amazing, and the booklet in the room describing its history is well worth a read, if you want to have a bit of old fashioned luxury this is the place for you...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable stay in the centre of Christchurch, very inviting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its a beautiful old building from the beginning of the 20th century in wonderful condition. The proportions of the suites are generous and the height of the ceilings mind numbing. Very well preserved, very comfortable and relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable, had enjoyable evening, most of the staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check out person was there just to do her job, not very friendly it seems a hassle to arrange my car to be brought round .

    The bed was very comfortable , it was clean, the restaurant staff were very friendly , great service and food at the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Old World Charm
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat in the room made the mezzanine bedroom particularly hot so was a little uncomfortable.

    The Old Government Building makes for that old world feel. The conversion to hotel is done well. Room had living and kitchenette with mezzanine bedroom and bathroom. Nicely laid out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not enjoy the early 5am wake up with the rubbish truck out side our room. I paid for off street parking as I was not explained or asked by any of the staff. Staff at the counter were not at the calibre I was expecting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Overall, I had a superb four night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    he one flaw in the system is the link between the hotel and the other facilities in that it is difficult to order alcohol to your room, particularly after a certain time which is not made clear. However, the night manager, Neil, was superb, and came up with at least two work-arounds for issues I had and should be recognized for doing an outstanding job when the day staff are not around to see.

    Overall, I had a superb four night stay. The property is immaculate, with a wonderful bar, superb restaurant with such great staff, and a fully-licensed barber shop! This was my first stay ever in New Zealand, and the hotel gave an amazing first impression and ensured it will not be my last.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.8
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel felt & looked very dated. Staff uniform in restaurant quite odd. Restaurant menu very limited. Could be a fantastic hotel if updated/renovated - it looks stunning on the outside, but once you get past the front desk it loses its charm.

    The bed was comfy, the rooms spacious, the location perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.1
    Outdated not Heritage
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "Suite" was an unusual blend of modern, heritage, outdated and worn. The couch & furniture downstairs was worn and outdated, the beds were lumpy and uncomfortable. It had a full kitchen but not cooking utensils apart from a knife. It was an apartment for 4 people with a 2 person couch and a 6 person dining table?? Both the TV's were extremely old and tiny. Only one small travel hair-dryer downstairs (should have had one in the upstairs bathroom also and spent more than $15 on one!) the staff were lovely and friendly but upon checkout they seemed lost and confused?

    The amazing building and the staff were lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Best location in Christchurch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The booking site said it had parking - but didn't say that it was $20 per night (not included) a little misleading. The bed was a double (or small queen) - was probably expecting a roomier one for the size of the room!

    The Heritage was extremely well located. Close to City parks, Museums and shops. An old Government building with lots of charm. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had a suit that provided plenty of room. We were greeted warmly and enjoyed a snack and drink at one of the casual dinning areas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Great stay and I loved the the history and will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The initial check in was a little tricking due to two different bookings made by myself. I think you staff member had trouble understanding English. Fortunately you senior staff were able to sort this out at a later time

    Restaurant and bar staff were amazing and I loved the food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Loved the location and ambiance, but not sure I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apartment was cold on arrival and although efficient the heater dried out the air - woke up several times in the night with dry throat and hands. The bedroom and bathroom felt cramped, the bed was small and too soft and I would have expected a hotel in this price bracket to have a walk in shower and one with with good shower pressure.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful and the apartment was clean, quiet and pleasant. The location was superb and breakfast at OGB was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really were pleased with the heritage. We had a one bedroom suite and it had everything one could want. The entire hotel was in beautiful condition. Truly a magestic classic hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Excellent value especially the suites for 2 couples with the living room and kitchenette
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rainy weather

    The staff were super friendly, to the point of going out of their way to help, all with smiles and goodwill. I can’t begin to name them as this was the same with all of them, including the bar staff who are technically a different company.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    An excellent ambassador for New Zealand tourism.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t find one problem the whole time we were there. Couldn’t fault the place.

    The facilities were excellent, location ideal and staff extremely friendly and helpful: especially Rona who looked after our rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    A grand hotel in a central location for a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gym and pool are very limited.

    The building is amazing - thank goodness it survived the dreadful 2010 and 2011 earthquakes. The rooms are enormous and well appointed. On our first stay the bed was too small and too soft but on our second stay it was great - bigger and firmer. :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely reception staff. We were also upgraded to a two bed suite. My husband found the bed too soft but I thought it was lovely. Good location for seeing Christchurch, although sadly it is s city with no real centre right now.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Location and historic building with rooms with beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot to do directly around the hotel. Construction going on everywhere in the city.

    Location and historic building with rooms with beautiful high ceilings.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing night the hotel, food and staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had my birthday here in the Celler Room, and my family stayed overnight in two of the double rooms. Probably one of the best Hotels in Christchurch - the building itself is just beautiful. Staff were amazing especially the two staff members that looked after us in the Celler Room for my party. Food was done by the kitchen / chef and again was excellent, the double tiered birthday cake was just amazing. Would highly recommend for staying here or a private function.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Very satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check in staff didn't tell us that our room key was a swipe card for the gym and pool. We ran out of English Breakfast tea bags which were not replenished.

    The hotel is very elegant and stylish. Suite was well equipped.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely historic building in prime location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior window frames of the apartment were really quite filthy with black dirt. Probably a build up of outside building dust when windows are left open but they should be cleaned in between guests. The view from our window was awful, an extremely close neighbouring derelict damaged building with graffiti and a multi story car park so we had to keep blinds pulled down.

    Loved the historic aspects of the hotel and the spacious apartment. It’s in a prime location even though the area is undergoing extensive rebuilding work due to the earthquakes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    6.7
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a little tired. No air conditioning in the rooms made the bedroom very warm. The staff did put a small fan in the room for us but it was inadequate.

    Location was perfect. Well appointed rooms would have been great for a longer stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Staff were very helpful. Great location. Get some air con, former beds and better lounge seating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a little soft and there is no air conditioning. Only a ceiling fan, this is not enough to keep cool at night. We were proved fans which helped but this property would be greatly improved with central air. Also, this is a two bedroom apartment. There was one sofa that seats two people in the living room. I don’t think the 6 seater dining table was particularly needed. How about putting in a more luxurious and comfortable seating area for at least four people rather than wasting space with unusable and uncomfortable occasional furniture

    Very spacious room, amazing location and the building is outstandingly beautiful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Loved the building character, plus the space and amenities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a hot weekend but there was no air conditioning in the apartment so we had to have the ceiling fan running the whole time we were there.

    Loved the building character, plus the space and amenities in the apartment. It was in the centre of the city and within a short walking distance to shops etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.8
    Nice but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was central but very noisy at night, road sweepers and drunk people making a noise in the street.

    Comfortable beds , but bedroom area was very hot as the windows didn’t open very far.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Walking distance to many restaurants and the botanical...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walking distance to many restaurants and the botanical gardens and pretty much most of the central Christchurch shopping. Also the bar in the hotel had live music and was very popular. This is a fantastic place for a walk-about stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    Great stay but very sorry ending.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived for breakfast we explained we needed to be done within 45 min. Only one other table was occupied. After 20 min we asked about food. The waitress said the computer didn’t work right and nothing was ordered. Kitchen was about 20 feet away. So, we said we’ll have anything on menu that is fast. Or we will use the buffet. She said food momentarily. 20 min later food arrived—well done poached eggs. Still only three tables occupied in restaurant. My wife had already left and I ate only part of food. I spoke w front desk about $35 breakfast which we basically missed and asked to not be charged. FrontDesk person said they couldn’t say whether we would still be charged. Don’t know yet-awaiting credit card. Sorry to report this since other restaurant staff and food was so great other days.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    Our stay was for a special occasion and certainly would repeat the visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The extra comfortable beds. Attractive and well equipped room. We enjoyed the generous space including the mezzanine. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was no delay in valet parking on arrival or departure. We were met at the entrance and instructed where to park our vehicle while we unloaded it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely period hotel in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning.

    Great central location. Rooms are large are very well-equipped. Full self catering facilities including washing machine and dryer. Service was good and staff helpful and friendly. A very individual sort of hotel with a barbers shop near reception but a lovely quirky feel about it. Lots of period features and very spacious. Although there is a lively bar/restaurant area at the front of the hotel the rooms are very quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    Very beautiful premises and that goodness it survived the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It seems the South Island generally has no air conditioning, I suppose it is because it is generally cold, but it was warm while we were there and it would have been nice to have air conditioning, especially as it is an apartment where you can cook and that just made it hot inside.

    Very beautiful premises and that goodness it survived the quakes while everything around it didn't.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.9
    It was okay, not great unfortunately.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to drag our luggage through the outside bar restaurant and up quite few stairs,the reverse when we checked out. In our suite, we had to once again carry our bags up to the loft bedroom. Also in the restaurant, we were seated looking into the kitchen. When we asked to change tables, one staff member found our request a big problem. All she had to do was set one of the empty tables. Our waitress was great though.

    The location was great, close to everything. Food was good in the restaurant as well as the bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    The hotel is absolutely beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is absolutely beautiful. Staff were incredibly friendly, professional and accommodating. Location is perfect, central and easy to access. The O.G.B Bar and restaurant on the ground floor is amazing, some of the best food and service we experienced across New Zealand.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.9
    Hotel resides now in one of the oldest buildings in town, if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms (here Suite) look a bit tired but are clean and comfortable. Internet is slow on lower floors.

    Hotel resides now in one of the oldest buildings in town, if not the oldest at all. Location is fantastic and couldn't be more central.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Extremely comfortable stay in an excellent location for the whole family.
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet connection in room was patchy.

    Spacious suite but limited room for suitcases in bedrooms. Lounge, kitchen facilities and staff all excellent. Valet parking worked well - even in early hours of the morning which was appreciated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.8
    Great central location and huge well appointed room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no a/c and while we were there it was very warm!

    Great split level room with full kitchen and washer and dryer in the bathroom. Fabulous location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay in a well-positioned beautiful building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    A minor gripe - the shower leaked outside the cubicle around the rest of the bathroom.

    Great spot, walking distance from everything. Beautiful old building! Very comfortable bed. Staff lovely and managed to book us a table at a great restaurant despite it being New Year's Eve. Brekky at the on-site restaurant was outstanding.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    The best possible end to a wonderful holiday in NZ
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!the best possible

    The staff went out of their way to help and very friendly. The room was incredible and food excellent. Perfect location and very acc sublet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Heritage Christchurch Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on the front desk need to have some additional customer training especially when paying these kind of prices.

    Great room and the OGB bar was excellent and the staff behind the bar went all out to make our visit very enjoyable. The OGB restaurant was lovely for food. It is in a great central location for lots of tourist attractions, food and entertainment.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    Christchurch is a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Christchurch is a beautiful city. The city is under re-construction. New buildings are set up among the old. It's sorry to find the great Cathedral severely damaged during the earthquake. Yet we found the city is returning to life.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.5
    The staff, Ogb downstairs etc excellent and fabulous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff, Ogb downstairs etc excellent and fabulous loaction, the main entrance, character etc stunning, Obviously just die to Chch earthquake but the view wasn't great, straight out onto a broken building wasn't a good look.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.8
    A grand stay in a grand old building. Great location to explore the centre of Christchurch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kid friendly meal options at the restaurant

    The heritage building was amazing, lots of original detailing. Beds and pillows were super comfy. Reception recommended a fantastic restaurant with kid friendly meals and even booked a table for us

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    I was very happy with everything about the hotel I was able to get around very easily from there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steps at the front made it difficult to get my bags up to the foyer. Also because of the restaurant right at the front it was very busy when I arrived. One of the restaurant staff did rush over to help me with my bags.

    The bed was wonderfully comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Exceeded expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very helpful, the hotel is gorgeous, the rooms very spacious. There were two groups travelling together and we were situated in rooms opposite each other which was very convenient. Hopefully on our next trip we will stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.2
    The room was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and it was quite warm on during the 3 nights that we were there.

    The room was amazing. Two bedrooms and two bathrooms with washing /drying facilities. Full kitchen, dining and lounge area. Very spacious. The pool and spa were a nice way to relax at the end of the day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Lovely grand hotel in good location. Excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All good

    Upgraded to 2 bed suite. Bedrooms were upstairs, had washing machine and dryer and 2 bathrooms. Spacious wide corridors and fabulous staircase.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negatives were the uncomfortable overstuffed bed pillows and bedrooms got stuffy.

    Beautiful building and unique suite with two floors and two separate bedrooms. Outdoor bar area was great for a relaxed drink and snack.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.1
    Old building with some pros/cons
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cramped bathroom. Window at 5 meters high impossible to close at night. Old building, needs some refurbishment to rooms (example: water pipes).

    Great staff, in room laundry, large spacious rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    Rooms have bedrooms on second mezzanine and despite enormous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms have bedrooms on second mezzanine and despite enormous roof fan, bedroom is stuffy and hot. No ability to open huge old windows so no fresh air nor air conditioning. Otherwise we enjoyed ourselves a lot

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay, great location and services
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Heritage Christchurch is centrally located in a renovated heritage building. We stayed there for one night, and loved the great vibe and fantastic services offered by the hotel. The room is very clean and spacious, and there is a washing machine in the penthouse suite which is a bonus point. The bar outside the hotel is really cool and quite popular among locals, make sure to pay a visit!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed the stay, would recommend to anyone. Great position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no information as to where you could park your car initially. We had to find a park and walk into reception only to be told that we should have parked just out the front of the premises as there was concierge parking. It just needs to be high lighted for people to know.

    The place was great, location was ideal to be able to walk to everything. The staff were terrific and very helpful. We had a double room and they were enormous with all of the facilities that were required. It was nice to have our car parked and returned as required straight out the front of the premises. Would definitely recommend for a stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    As above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beds very comfortable, room spacious, valet parking excellent, food in restaurant beautiful, staff very friendly, loved the bar! Just a bit of difficulty getting to the hotel because of all the building works, but great location once we were there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    I love old buildings with character and the Old Government...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I love old buildings with character and the Old Government Building did not disappoint (it reminded me of the Empress Hotel in Victoria BC back in the old days.) The rooms are large with high studs and tastefully decorated with a fully equipped kitchen. We had a dinning room table which seated 8 and there was room to spare. The apartment came with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The staff were friendly and eager to help.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Perfect heritage in Christchurch central
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect.

    Brilliant accommodation in central city Christchurch, with great food in the restaurant and bar, outstanding rooms and terrific staff. Rooms well fitted out for a business traveller, great wifi and super comfortable beds too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Would have thought we were staying in a grand old hotel in Europe-a wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a 1 bedroom apartment and were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment, the space was huge. I doubt you would find another hotel in Christchurch as large or offering a full kitchen, washing machine, dryer and 2 full bathrooms for the rate we paid. We were also blow away by the grandeur of the building, & the staff were just wonderful. Would have thought we were staying in a grand old hotel in Europe. LOVED our stay & would recommend to anyone

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location staff and amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could see the loft sleeping arrangements not being good for everyone but I loved it

    Great staff and excellent location. Having a free washer and dryer in the room was fantastic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    5.4
    beautiful building, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given an upgrade, one would like to think that it what a bonus. Upgrade from one to 2 bedroom, unfortunetly it wasn't. The wrong bedroom had been set up as the master, no tv, smaller bed, cramped. Yet the other room was bigger, with tv, yet only had single beds.

    Great place otherwise, just check out the up grade before you accept it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff and spacious suites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had planned on using the health club/pool shower and change room facilities as we had a late checkout and wanted to freshen up before heading out to the airport. However, the ladies facilities were VERY run down, the floor dirty and everywhere, including the bench seating, soaking wet. Trying to get a pool towel was a drama. In the end we decided against using these facilities.

    Our suite was spacious, spotlessly clean and had all of the amenities one would expect from a hotel of this class (including a washing machine and dryer in room). The bed was really comfy and the toiletries provided were of a good quality. The location was excellent, within easy walking of everything the city has to offer. Staff were very accommodating and friendly. As the suite had the bedroom and bathroom facilities upstairs and the living areas downstairs, the suite would not suit mobility impaired travellers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.3
    Good hardware and bad software.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water when taking shower, and we call the reception, someone told us that we have to wait for ten to fifteen minutes for heating the hot water. And I wait for more than twenty minutes. But still have to use cold water to take shower in a cold weather in the midnight. It's really bad experience. Furthermore, the Hair dryer doesn't work. Parking fee is so expensive and service is unexpected. The parking service they provide is only drive the card to the front of the labby and give the key to you. No one helps for the baggage in a raining day. And no any warnings or reminders or the route. Its neighborhood is reconstructing, many of the road are blocked. Many of u turns and redirection should be avoided if the reception could give more information about the route. It could save us much time.

    Building and decoration is really good and special. Large space in the suit. A cozy living room and kitchen and dining table. A good place for family or friend gathering.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    A great stay right in the heart of it all. Modern with amazing historical charm and details.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I hated that you took the money from my credit card as I understood that I would be able to pay cash onsite. Your website stated that you only needed my details to reserve the booking. We were left with a lot of cash that we had to pay to get exchanged to Australian dollars. I would never have booked through you if I had have known you were going to do that!!! :( Bad form Booking.com!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    An enjoyable stay, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A separate shower would be great rather than over the bath.

    A very spacious unit, bed very comfortable and everything spotlessly clean. Well located and very easy to walk everywhere. Enjoyed a great dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. Staff in both hotel and restaurant very friendly and welcoming. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Location excellent. Facilities Excellent. Great Service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well. Housekeeping needs to keep an eye on expired stock. But that's just nit picking. The room was superb and comfy, stylish, huge.

    Reception were super friendly and fun. The facility has a great bar and friendly staff and owner. THere was an issue with Room Service not connecting after hours but once that came to the attention of the Restaurant Owner/Manager who also owns the bar everything was smoothed out.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: