Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Heritage Gateway Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

State Highway 8, 9448 Omarama, New Zealand

#4 of 6 hotels in Omarama

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 496 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    7.1
    food was great, staff were great, great place to stay still
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortuantly our room hadened been luxed, the floor was very dirty, even have toe nails on it beside the bed. yuck

    food was great, staff were great, great place to stay still

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    2.5
    Room stunk, dirty and out dated, disgusting meals at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room stunk, dirty and out dated, disgusting meals at restaurant and over priced for what they were, very unhappy and will not be going back or even recommending again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    8.3
    Booked late but no problem - very user friendly - highly recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i was running late but the staff assisted and sorted it out - much appreciated... easy access to do what i needed - easy to find and well located everyone was helpful and i will stay there again as it breaks the journey south and it well priced to be able to do this...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    3.8
    Not much really staff not helpful at all and lie to you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tv channels were not available one chair in the room and it was because of the front desk girl that we didn’t eat at the restaurant wasn’t going to trust it ... I guess we would have been treated better if we were Asian

    Not much really staff not helpful at all and lie to you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    6.7
    The staff on check in were friendly even though was late at...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too far from any power points so we had to move it to make use of the electric blanket. The heating was very old and noisy.

    The staff on check in were friendly even though was late at night

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    6.7
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was very dated, definitely needs an upgrade in carpet/ style/ bathroom. Smelt old. Bad lighting.

    Loved the food at the restaurant, staff were nothing but amazing! Had a good view from our room. Was very quiet considering it was on the main road. Short walk to everywhere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    7.9
    Older style holiday hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No microwave or stove. Bed was soft, old, uncomfortable. Two heaters provided, one didn't work, it wasn't needed but was plugged in and turned on when we arrived.

    Self-contained and warm room in older styled holiday hotel. Has own restaurant but also close to the public bar that has great food. Nice hosts and lovely garden property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable stop to break a journey up, and enjoy the local hot tubs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very warm and struggled to cool it enough to be comfortable. Limited TV channels which when your just having a rest on a trip it is nice to have channel options to pass the time.

    Comfortable stay to break a journey up.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    8.8
    Suitable for our overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked a more casual meal to be available. The heritage meal was okay, and our other choice in Omarama was another pub style meal.

    Large, comfy room- lovely fresh linen on really good bed. Quite quiet, even though we were close to the road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    5.8
    sleepless night, as the guests next door had their radio going all night, but the shower was good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were only 2 mugs and 2 teaspoons in a room with accomodation for 3 people. not enough milk, and no water glasses. I think for the price guests could have had water glasses and a saucer under their mugs of tea please.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    5.0
    Very average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor choice at the bar - bar snack promoted in room booklet on hotel facilities but ‘bar snack’ consisted of choice of nuts - peanut or cashew. Meal was smorgasbord/buffet only. On check in- 4pm - we were asked if we could decide ‘now’ if we were having breakfast at hotel and if yes what would we like. So much easier to say no and go elsewhere. Also the electric jug is impossible to fill usin the only tap available. I wonder if any staff have actually tried to fill it?? The only way is to fill by mugs full - the tap is too low for jug to fit under! Pretty ridiculous really. The allocated parking outside each room has a marked area that only a mini would fit in - each car overlaps the space of the next - and so on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    They were the best, we arrived super late, post hours and they had said how we could do the checkin, but it turns out they just stayed up late for us... The room was lovely and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.2
    Staff very friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff very friendly & helpful. Buffet was very good. Room was clean & comfortable. Would definitely stay again & wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    7.9
    Overall a great place with good service will definitely return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Went to restaurant for dinner but was offered only the buffet to have for $25pp and told we couldn't order off menu, a little disappointing.

    Great hotel with friendly staff throughout the premises

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    5.4
    Ok for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dated, needs to be renovated, decor old. Small bed. Staff communication not always clear with what needed from us.

    Location is great for a stop off between Wanaka and Christchurch. Great township with great atmosphere at local pub. Had everything we needed at hotel. Pretty quiet, just heard early morning guests leaving.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing to have to spend so much more than other similar places we have stayed at. We dont min
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Initial reception was not very welcoming/poor. No communication about restaurant being closed. Room was basic and tired and totally over-priced. But the place was full of bus tourists so no doubt the answer will be just that - they're always full. Badly needs some competition.

    The location is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    6.7
    Room rate expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rate too expensive, not worth the money, free Wi-Fi at the lobby and dining place only, need to pay rent for the cooking utensils and plates

    Kitchen is large, location is convenient

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    8.3
    It was a lovely room and friendly reception staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Went for dinner as soon as we took bags to our room and at 8.25 we were told the restaurant was closed, we had read in the room the restaurant was open till 9pm and winter 8.30 so after a long day travelling we were told by waiter to go to the "Pub" was a bit disappointed at this but had a lovely dinner and wine at the local

    Very clean and spacious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    5.0
    It was a very basic facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy as we were assigned rooms on the highway side beside a 24 hour gas station. There was nothing in the room that you could use to even eat a bowl of cereal in the morning, nor any cutlery....so you we’re forced to eat in the dining room.

    It was a very basic facility. Rooms were very large but not all the same - we booked three. One of the rooms had tub chairs so at least you did not have to sit on the bed. It was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    8.3
    not brilliant, but okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel is not young and needs a good spruce up. probably gets trashed in ski season and has tourist buses stopping overnight.

    good location, large room. didn't try restaurant for either lunch or dinner. staff okay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    5.0
    It was an okay stay for a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very basic and a bit out dated. No elevator so if your room is in the second floor you will have to carry your luggage up the stairs. There are only couple of restaurants around the hotel so options are very limited and basically you will go to bed empty stomach if you try to find food after 8:30pm.

    It was easy to find and both check in and check out was easy and quick. Nice helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    5.4
    Very pleasant stay overall and will stay again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pumpkin SOUP it was very watery and no taste. I even heard another couple comment on the soup to the barman. Not enough cutlery and glassware etc. and TV reception very poor and too small for room.

    Food buffet was very good and staff were friendly. but the soup was dreadful . Bathroom in complex was great and bed was comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    8.3
    Great staff, good clean accommodation and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms a bit dated and had to close curtains as no net so you could see straight into the room which wasn’t very private

    The staff were excellent very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    7.1
    Could be better organized, otherwise a comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was on the 2nd floor and lugging up heavy suitcases was probably not ideal, nor was help given or offered for the luggage. We were a family of 3, however only 2 towels and 2 mugs were provided. Which meant climbing up and down the stairs twice more when we didn’t realize what we needed. For a young person, the stairs would have been no issue, but for a senior citizen with arthritis lugging up heavy luggages and climbing stairs twice more for missing towels or mugs was perhaps jus inconvenient on an already very tiring day from traveling. WiFi information could also be reported when we check in rather than later when we discovered in our room that we needed WiFi password.

    It’s a standard fare hotel. The guy that covered late night reception was a nice guy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    6.3
    Adequate but would not have stayed longer than one night. Staff not overly friendly or helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was very uncomfortable. Noisy outside and constant people walking past window. Air con would have been useful so that window didn’t need to be open.

    Room was large and good shower. Restaurant on site was a bonus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    9.6
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived on check-in and were allocated a room. We went to the room but it was still occupied. We reported this to the reception staff and a new room was allocated straight away. Challenge dealt with very professionally and quickly.

    Spacious room with air conditioning. Quiet with ample parking. Ideal location for visit to Mt Cook and Lake Tekapo.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    5.8
    To darn hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioning. In essence everything fine except this. It was a hot day and the room at 10:30 pm was still unbearably hot. Got spare pillow out of cupboard and it was hot to touch. Go figure. Left window open and suffered early morning raisers noise.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    5.4
    Was handy to town but not a comfortable stay facilities in room disappointing but clean and fresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air con room very hot too hot to sleep, tv too small fuzzy channels quite disappointing for a large hotel in a lovely location

    Lovely staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    8.3
    Recommended for 1-2 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not usual to pay a fee for credit card payments at a big property! No elevator if you have heavy bags.

    It's much bigger than expected from Booking description. Large parking, big restaurant for breakfast, good location to visit Mount Cook, much cheaper than anything in Queenstown during holidays.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    5.0
    Did not meet our expectations of Rydges standards. Felt this was very overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dated décor, no air conditioning, bath not cleaned, toilet leaking, ranch sliders unable to be opened or locked. Felt the kitchen facilities and staff could not cope with the number of guests at breakfast. Ordered room service dessert and cancelled after waiting for an hour.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    4.6
    Will not stay or eat at this hotel again. Was very put off by the whole experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    overpriced, dark and dirty, dated. The restaurant on the premises was misleading as I ordered Pork medallions with a creamy mushroom sauce and got pork schnitzel with a dark brown gravy with mushroom chucked in and on top of that had a big bit of plastic in my food. I had to ask myself for a discount/refund as they were not keen on doing it. I also got charged twice for my drinks and then charged again on my credit card for the meals that were paided for the night before. Wasn't impressed.

    that it is walking distance to the town ship.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    7.5
    Great location and very reasonably priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In the middle of Summer with only one opening window and no fan or a/c the room was very stuffy overnight

    Great location and very reasonably priced

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    7.9
    OK nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the price, it was disappointing to find two lights not working, tv reception poor, other people allowed to park immediately outside our window.

    Standard motel like accommodation

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    7.5
    a spacious, clean motel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    its a motel, so furniture and rooms - the overall quality is basic. but we went in peak season and it was the best available. got a good night's sleep, so its fine.

    a good quality motel; clean and big rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2018

    7.5
    Efficient friendly.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hand rails on stairs and balcony are too low. Could be a hazard. Lack of plates and knives and forks. We were too late back to use the restaurant

    Efficient friendly. Staff at check in. Good bed. Would use again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2018

    7.5
    Their buffet breakfast and buffet dinner is fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They are a bit understaffed and cater more to buses. Though they are very helpful team.

    Their buffet breakfast and buffet dinner is fine. Location of Omarama is quite central - you can do Mount Cook from there easily. If weather was ok you can do star gazing at Tekapo too

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2018

    6.7
    Great for a pit stop
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is set up perfectly for winter travellers but not so much for those of us travelling in the summer. The room got very warm and stuffy during the night and leaving the windows open wasn't always a good option as there were a lot of others guests going up and down the stairs outside our room. Maybe supplying a fan during the warmer months for guests comfort would help

    The room was a lovely size and the bar and restaurant onsite were a great option after a long day of travelling

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    9.6
    It is a block of units so therefore has a balcony going past...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit dated and the bathroom was showing its age.

    It is a block of units so therefore has a balcony going past each room, so people can be walking past your unit at any time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    5.0
    Essentially what you paid for but it's a Motel at best (don't be fooled otherwise)!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed sank away like it had zero give left. The room left us feeling with a sense of it being a little dirty and we had issues with confirming the amount had been pre-paid at checkout. Even though we provided the confirmation booking that showed it was pre-paid, the hotel still wasn't satisfied, so we had to show evidence of the original debit on the statement before they would accept this. It wasn't the hotel's fault per say, but it was still extremely frustrating to be told that you wouldn't have paid. Also the restaurant is a little underwhelming when we tried it, so I'd probably recommend lowering your expectations (seemingly set by the restaurant itself) or try somewhere else.

    Location was good as it was on the main highway/road passing through. Parking was really easy and relatively fuss free.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    10
    Would recommend to family and friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room with our own balcony and could leave the door open for fresh air. The room had a seating area to watch TV which was excellent for a wine and nibbles. Even though the Hotel was full we didn't hear anyone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    6.7
    Rooms were large, big beds and bathrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We found the door of my parents room open and it seemed to have been broken in before into that room (before our stay...) the door to our room opened by itself, as ypu were not able to lock it and it kept opening we had to put our suitcase against the door to keep it shut. It didnt feel very safe...

    Rooms were large, big beds and bathrooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    5.8
    Ok for a journey break but not for a lengthy stay. Next time we'll stay at Twizel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom sink was too low even for a child. The loo seat was broken. The food in the restaurant was appalling to the extent that the staff issued a 100% refund.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    6.7
    It was an okay stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite hot. Fan was not provided. No receptionist after hours. Group of people arrived around 12 AM and lot of noise, could not sleep properly. Checkout time was quite strict. Reception staff was quite strict about checkout time.

    Bathrooms were clean. Staff was nice upon check-in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    4.2
    It’s a get by accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We are suppose to chkin at 2pm and we waited 35mins to be accomodated coz the receptionist said rooms are not ready yet.We came on summer season and no fan or aircon. No rubbish inside the toilet. It’s a get by accomodation.

    Room was spacious

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    6.3
    No privacy. Noisy traffic. Lucky to just stay one night there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy room and lack of privacy. Deluxe rooms are facing the main road and petrol station.

    Booked a deluxe room and horribly found out that all the deluxe rooms are facing roadside. Our room was right open to the petrol station, that you can see all the actions there and vice versa. It was so noisy when a truck passed by that literally would wake you up in sleep. We tried to get some sleep by closing the balcony door but there was no air-ventilation as there was no air-conditioning in the room. Finally we opened the door (chained) and moved a chair behind it for security, then managed to have a quiet night. Luckily we just stayed there for one night. Won't stay there again, for sure.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    8.8
    Perfect roadtrip stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe a little dated.

    For an overnight stay on a roadtrip for a family of 5 this place was perfect. Plain, simple and in a great location it was clean and the staff were lovely. Great value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    7.1
    Rooms could do with a bit of an update
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The photos didn't quite depict the room accurately as the room was a little old and furnishings were a bit tired

    Great to have two separate bedrooms in our unit

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    4.6
    Looks impressive on the outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The apartment had a bad smell. The toilet was especially old and had some broken fixtures. The washing basin provided one hot and one cold tap. Bedrooms looked old and dreary. I will not want to return to stay again.

    Looks impressive on the outside. Good size apartment for 4 persons.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    6.3
    Just needed to break the driving up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was like a sponge, for me and my wife that was not comfortable. The breakfast is definitely not worth it, you are better off going down the road to a cafe which is cheaper.

    The cleanliness of the room was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    8.3
    Good motel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility had problems with my credit card that I had supplied to Bookings.com. Had to use another credit card. Could have done with a microwave.

    Good size room. Very comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    7.1
    Worked well as a bookend to our day in Mt Cook National Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room very hot and stuffy, even with window open. No water for a few hours in the evening.

    Stayed two nights, with intention of spending the day in Mt Cook National Park. Motel conveniently located for that. Just over an hour's drive to Mt Cook park, with easy drive to Dunedin the following day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    10
    Had a comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A toaster would have been appreciated.

    The restaurant at this motel was fabulous. Beautiful food and atmosphere. The motel staff were very helpful and the room clean and tidy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    5.0
    A little dissappointed in the Heritage, I wouldn’t stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Even though this was a small studio unit I would have thought there would have been a plate or two and maybe a toaster or microwave. However there was only a kettle, and a small tv about the size of a laptop computer screen.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    9.2
    Happy with the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was noisy with reception directly below us. The self opening door didnt allow a good sleep in. Went to pay reception and they asked for $40 more than we were quoted. The receptionist sorted it and charged us the correct amount.

    Happy with the room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    7.5
    Vegetarian lasagne was my favourite menu!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was great but funny how it had an electric kettle and tea but no water tap to get the water from.... or were we supposed to get water from the toilet? hm... Hotels usually have free milk and water provided in the fridge... at least the ones I've been to had these. This hotel wasn't fully facilitated with hair dryer or iron board etc. Also, I've seen on the website that the restaurant menu was either a la carte or buffet, but buffet wasn't even available when we got there apparently because not many people made the booking. I mean, it is understandable as you wouldn't wanna prepare a whole buffet course for just three people, but still they should've made a note somewhere on the hotel website explaining this because we were expecting buffet dinner and was completely let down!! (Although a la carte menu was delicious too)

    It's a personal thing, but Heritage Hotel gave me a unique and unforgettable memory because it was located in the middle of nowhere and it felt great to be away from city lights, noise, pollution, etc etc. To be honest, I didn't expect anything much from this place because the photos and location made me expect one of those expensive but dodgy accommodations that try really hard to fit the hotel criteria but fails to do that. And yes, it was kinda expensive compared to other accommodations I've been to (and I've been to EVERYWHERE) but the beds had clean sheets and was very comfortable, and it was such a relief to be sleeping in a clean warm bed after such a long day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    9.6
    A Little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We went to checkout and pay by eftpos but they'd already charged my credit card meaning I had to pay the surcharge and transfer funds, given there us a sign stating you can pay a variety of ways I found this inconvenient.

    We received a free upgrade (always a bonus).. Lovely spa bath and comfy beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    3.8
    Terrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Six long strandstory oh hair in Bath. Piece of soap lwith in plug hole in hand basin Bed mattress very hard and uncomfortable No breakfast

    Booking out

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant, clean and convenient for a one night stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is more like a motel than a hotel in that both sides of the room open to the outdoors although one to a covered walkway.

    Large room. Clean and with adequate condiments. We were able to have the vehicle parked right outside the door so easy to unpack/pack.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    4.6
    The hotel is shabby and tired. I was expecting much better considering the cost of staying.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot could have been better. . . . . Ordinarily, I don't comment if I don't like the places I stay at, but this was one of the worst. Paint and wall paper is peeling and stained, being single glazed there was considerable condensation and it was cold. The heater and fridge were so noisey, I had to turn them off in order to sleep. Walls are thin and poorly insulated from neighbouring noises. There was only one TV channel with clear reception. The bathroom floor was dirty and in the shower were dark coarse curly hairs. Dinner was very average. The whole place looks in bad need of a big make-over. It is expensive for what it is.

    The view and natural light colours were beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    7.9
    Nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the hotel could do with a bit of upgrading, its clean and time but just looks a bit old. Its quite expensive in my opinion.

    The staff were really friendly and very helpful, they also upgraded our room which was a nice surprise. The location is good, its close to shops, petrol station and restaurants. Food in the hotel restaurant is very good and pretty good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    7.5
    handy location for a stopover while visiting Lake Tekapo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel is a bit old fashioned and could do with some updating/refurbishment but overall it was good

    handy location for a stopover while visiting Lake Tekapo area. large rooms which were clean and comfortable, staff very friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    10
    I would come back again definitely.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was over the bath and for anyone with health issues it would have made it very hard or impossible for them to shower. Also, there wasn't provision to have breakfast in your room.

    The food at the restaurant was very good and the room lovely and big. The bed was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    7.5
    it was a very good stay and I would come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought the shower was difficult to get into as it was over the bath and if you were older or had health issues it would be very hard to get into the bath to shower. Also, more towels and pillows would be helpful.

    The food was delicious at the restaurant, the staff was efficient and helpful.The room had a view and was lovely warm and big.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The units was from the 80's and very much in need of a revamp. Entrance door to room, didn't close well. We were woken at 7.15am by the sound of a Tour Bus warming up. This was to last for the next 2 hours. Not happy! Value for money, No!

    Walking distances to food outlets and hot pools

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tap in the bathroom didn't work properly and the door into the bathroom was noisy and stiff to move.

    The beds were comfortable. Location good for a stopover on route. Restaurant was good value and delicious food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2017

    8.3
    Very happy with our stay facilities were 'Top shelf' !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The large dining room was a bit overwelming with a lot of people but the food and staff were really good

    We had cycled 80km that day so to arrive and have a great room was a real bonus.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2017

    7.1
    Okay stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was in a weird location and was outdated.

    It was an okay stay for Omarama. Very small town, but staff was friendly. The restaurant/bar was decent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2017

    6.7
    Hungry with no where 2 go!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walked in the rain 2 the local hotel for a meal and we were well looked. Receptionist moved us 2 room 115 so we didn't have to deal with the truck parked in the door way of 24.

    Car park by room 24 had a large 4wd filling the entire door area. Minimal room available to access the room. Went to get a meal at 8.25 pm in the dining room and meals weren't available.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2017

    5.8
    Comfortable but basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleanliness - toilet not clean when we got there. Breakfast table not clean

    Breakfast was lovely but the advertised bar meals aren't available any more. They need to update their compendium.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2017

    7.5
    Adequate for our requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast finished early in the hotel.

    It was a convienent stop over place on our road trip. We used other services in the town for breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2017

    8.3
    The bed was a bit too soft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was a bit too soft. The web site did not say there would be a 1.5% surcharge on credit cards. Luckily we hadn't spent all our cash. Maybe they could change that.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2017

    6.7
    Looks can be decieving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is some misleading aspects to the advertising. They show the picture of the main restaurant, not sleeping facilities. The picture on the internet shows a swimming pool and while it did not say there was one it gave the impression there was and that was disappointing when there was not. I was also upstairs and not told this or that I was not in the front building because you could not see that on the picture anyway. The menu was nothing special at all and in fact I ate elsewhere.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2017

    7.5
    Staff and Location where great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Vinyl wall lining around the spa bath was comming off the wall. Could hear everything that was going on in the room above.

    Location very good and the staff at reception was polite and friendly. Room was big and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2017

    5.4
    location was very handy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beds are petty firm; room very airless - shame they don't have a high up window on the back wall to provide airflow. Fan & light in the bathroom operating together - a bit noisy when toilet used during the night.

    location was very handy. Nice grassed area opposite our room but would have been lovely to have a chair and table to sit at. Overall though we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2017

    5.4
    A comfortable but basic and noisy overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quieter area in dining room, several coats of paint to stairs and doors etc all look rather tired. Many coaches started leaving at 06.30 with accompanying disturbance and noise

    Friendly restaurant staff but everyone else was disinterested, and not quite as friendly as expected. It would not be our first choice as it is a staging hotel catering to large numbers of passing coaches therefore doing noisy and extremely bland

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: